Get exclusive deals delivered to your inbox!

Start saving today. »

We're sorry, but this item is no longer for sale. However, there may be more Internal Hard Drives and SSD items available.

This was an Open Box product listing. For more great deals on Open Box, Refurbished and Used items, keep an eye on our Garage Sale page. Or join our email list and be the first to know when new items become available!

We sell this item brand new for $44.99, view our listing.

OWC

250GB
Mercury Electra™ 6G SSD
2.5" Serial-ATA 7mm Solid-State Drive

Demo Unit | Open Box

For High Speed Performance and Reliability
Mercury Electra SSDs deliver the latest in flash NAND and controller technology, utilizing SLC and 3D NAND for long-lasting, power-efficient performance. They offer a powerful combination of performance and reliability for demanding everyday computer users.
The Mercury SSD line features a suite of industry-leading controller technologies for performance and reliability:
  • Global wear leveling algorithms automatically distribute data evenly and manage program/erase count, maximizing SSD lifespan.
  • StaticDataRefresh manages free space, gradually refreshing data across the SSD over time, preventing data corruption.
  • Hardware BCH ECC corrects errors up to 66-bit/1KB for superior data retention and drive life.
  • S.M.A.R.T and TRIM command support.
  • Standby power benefits to extend battery life for laptop road warriors.
No Risk, No Hassle 30-Day Money Back Guarantee.
For more information on OWC return policies, click here.

This 6G SATA SSD delivers fast, reliable performance. It works as a hard drive upgrade internally and in bus-powered or self-powered external enclosures (any Mac, PC, or enclosure that supports 2.5" SATA drives, must support 7mm drive height).

With sequential reads up to 506MB/s and random reads up to 90K IOPS, the OWC Mercury Electra 6G SSD line delivers unbeatable performance.
High Performance Internal Storage
OWC SSDs have no moving parts, resulting in a quiet, cool, highly rugged storage solution that also offers near instantaneous system response.
Special note for specific 2009 iMacs, 2008-2010 MacBooks, 2008-2009 MacBook Pros & 2009 Mac mini.
We highly recommend the use of a SATA 2.0 (3Gb/s) SSD such as the OWC Mercury Electra 3G for the following Macs:
iMacs w/ Model ID:
How to find the model ID
  • iMac9,1
  • iMac10,1
  • iMac11,1
MacBooks w/ Model ID:
How to find the model ID
  • MacBook5,1
  • MacBook5,2
  • MacBook6,1
  • MacBook7,1
MacBook Pros w/ Model ID:
How to find the model ID
  • MacBookPro5,1
  • MacBookPro5,2
  • MacBookPro5,3
  • MacBookPro5,4
  • MacBookPro5,5
Mac minis w/ Model ID:
How to find the model ID
  • Macmini3,1
  • Macmini4,1
While a 6G SSD does function, it will only do so at SATA Revision 1.0 (1.5Gb/s, 150MB/s) speeds rather that the SATA Revision 2.0 (3.0Gb/s 300MB/s) speed the computer can deliver.
The Mercury Electra 3G SSD is the OWC recommended upgrade option for the Macs listed in the special note above.

This OWC SSD Model is compatible with nearly any Mac or PC model with a Serial ATA connection (SATA, SATA 2.0, or SATA 3.0) including: Learn how to find your Mac's model ID
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (15-inch 2012)
(June, 2012)
Model ID: MacBookPro9,1
2.3GHz, 2.6GHz, 2.7GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (13-inch 2012)
(June, 2012)
Model ID: MacBookPro9,2
2.5GHz, 2.9GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (17-inch 2011)
(October, 2011)
Model ID: MacBookPro8,3
2.4GHz, 2.5GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (15-inch 2011)
(October, 2011)
Model ID: MacBookPro8,2
2.2GHz, 2.4GHz, 2.5GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (13-inch 2011)
(October, 2011)
Model ID: MacBookPro8,1
2.4GHz, 2.8GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (17-inch Early 2011)
(February, 2011)
Model ID: MacBookPro8,3
2.2GHz, 2.3GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (15-inch Early 2011)
(February, 2011)
Model ID: MacBookPro8,2
2.0GHz, 2.2GHz, 2.3GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (13-inch Early 2011)
(February, 2011)
Model ID: MacBookPro8,1
2.3GHz, 2.7GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (17-inch Mid 2010)
(April, 2010)
Model ID: MacBookPro6,1
2.53GHz, 2.66GHz, 2.8GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (15-inch Mid 2010)
(April, 2010)
Model ID: MacBookPro6,2
2.4GHz, 2.53GHz, 2.66GHz, 2.8GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (13-inch Mid 2010)
(April, 2010)
Model ID: MacBookPro7,1
2.4GHz, 2.66GHz
MacBook Pro
MacBook Pro (17-inch Late 2008)
(October, 2008)
Model ID: MacBookPro4,1
2.5GHz, 2.6GHz
MacBook Pro
MacBook Pro (17-inch Early 2008)
(February, 2008)
Model ID: MacBookPro4,1
2.5GHz, 2.6GHz
MacBook Pro
MacBook Pro (15-inch Early 2008)
(February, 2008)
Model ID: MacBookPro4,1
2.4GHz, 2.5GHz, 2.6GHz
MacBook Pro
MacBook Pro (17-inch Mid/Late 2007)
(June, 2007)
Model ID: MacBookPro3,1
2.4GHz, 2.6GHz
MacBook Pro
MacBook Pro (15-inch Mid/Late 2007)
(June, 2007)
Model ID: MacBookPro3,1
2.2GHz, 2.4GHz, 2.6GHz
MacBook Pro
MacBook Pro (17-inch Core 2 Duo)
(October, 2006)
Model ID: MacBookPro2,1
2.33GHz
MacBook Pro
MacBook Pro (15-inch Core 2 Duo)
(October, 2006)
Model ID: MacBookPro2,2
2.16GHz, 2.33GHz
MacBook Pro
MacBook Pro (15-inch Glossy)
(May, 2006)
Model ID: MacBookPro1,1
2.0GHz, 2.16GHz
MacBook Pro
MacBook Pro (17-inch)
(April, 2006)
Model ID: MacBookPro1,2
2.16GHz
MacBook Pro
MacBook Pro (15-inch)
(January, 2006)
Model ID: MacBookPro1,1
1.83GHz, 2.0GHz, 2.16GHz
MacBook
MacBook (Late 2008)
(October, 2008)
Model ID: MacBook4,1
2.1GHz
MacBook
MacBook (Early 2008)
(February, 2008)
Model ID: MacBook4,1
2.1GHz, 2.4GHz
MacBook
MacBook (Late 2007)
(November, 2007)
Model ID: MacBook3,1
2.0GHz, 2.2GHz
MacBook
MacBook (Mid 2007)
(May, 2007)
Model ID: MacBook2,1
2.0GHz, 2.16GHz
MacBook
MacBook (Late 2006)
(November, 2006)
Model ID: MacBook2,1
1.83GHz, 2.0GHz
MacBook
MacBook
(May, 2006)
Model ID: MacBook1,1
1.83GHz, 2.0GHz
Mac mini Intel
Mac mini (Late 2014)
(October, 2014)
Model ID: Macmini7,1
1.4GHz, 2.6GHz, 2.8GHz, 3.0GHz
Mac mini Intel
Mac mini (Late 2012)
(October, 2012)
Model ID: Macmini6,1 & Macmini6,2
2.3GHz, 2.5GHz, 2.6GHz
Mac mini Intel
Mac mini (Late 2012 Server)
(October, 2012)
Model ID: Macmini6,2
2.3GHz, 2.6GHz
Mac mini Intel
Mac mini (Mid 2011)
(July, 2011)
Model ID: Macmini5,1 & Macmini5,2
2.3GHz, 2.5GHz, 2.7GHz
Mac mini Intel
Mac mini (Mid 2011 Server)
(July, 2011)
Model ID: Macmini5,3
2.0GHz
Mac mini Intel
Mac mini (Mid 2010)
(June, 2010)
Model ID: Macmini4,1
2.4GHz, 2.66GHz
Mac mini Intel
Mac mini (Mid 2010 Server)
(June, 2010)
Model ID: Macmini4,1
2.66GHz
Mac mini Intel
Mac mini (Mid 2007)
(August, 2007)
Model ID: Macmini2,1
1.83GHz, 2.0GHz
iMac Intel
iMac (27-inch Late 2013)
(September, 2013)
Model ID: iMac14,2
3.2GHz i5, 3.4GHz i5, 3.5GHz i7
iMac Intel
iMac (21.5-inch Late 2013)
(September, 2013)
Model ID: iMac14,1; iMac14,3
2.7GHz i5, 2.9GHz i5, 3.1GHz i7
iMac Intel
iMac (21.5-inch Early 2013)
(March, 2013)
Model ID: iMac13,3
3.3GHz i3
iMac Intel
iMac (27-inch Late 2012)
(November, 2012)
Model ID: iMac13,2
2.9GHz i5, 3.2GHz i5, 3.4GHz i7
iMac Intel
iMac (21.5-inch Late 2012)
(November, 2012)
Model ID: iMac13,1
2.7GHz i5, 2.9GHz i5, 3.1GHz i7
iMac Intel
iMac (27-inch Mid 2011)
(May, 2011)
Model ID: iMac12,2
2.7GHz i5, 3.1GHz i5, 3.4GHz i7
iMac Intel
iMac (21.5-inch Mid 2011)
(May, 2011)
Model ID: iMac12,1
2.5GHz i5, 2.7GHz i5, 2.8GHz i7
iMac Intel
iMac (27-inch Mid 2010)
(July, 2010)
Model ID: iMac11,3
2.8GHz, 2.93GHz, 3.2GHz, 3.6GHz
iMac Intel
iMac (21.5-inch Mid 2010)
(July, 2010)
Model ID: iMac11,2
3.06GHz, 3.2GHz, 3.6GHz
iMac Intel
iMac (27-inch Mid 2010)
(July, 2010)
Model ID: iMac11,3
2.8GHz i5, 2.93GHz i5, 3.6GHz i7
iMac Intel
iMac (21.5-inch Mid 2010)
(July, 2010)
Model ID: iMac11,2
3.6GHz i5
This OWC SSD is compatible with the Mac Pro models listed below when mounted with:
- NewerTech AdaptaDrive 2.5" to 3.5" Drive Converter Bracket only $14.25
Mac Pro
Mac Pro 12-Core
(Mid 2010-2012)
(July, 2010 / June 2012)
Model ID: MacPro5,1
2.40GHz, 2.66GHz, 2.93GHz, 3.06GHz
Mac Pro
Mac Pro 12-Core
(Mid 2010-2012)
(July, 2010 / June 2012)
Model ID: MacPro5,1
2.40GHz, 2.66GHz, 2.93GHz, 3.06GHz
Mac Pro
Mac Pro 8-Core (Mid 2010)
(July, 2010)
Model ID: MacPro5,1
2.4GHz
Mac Pro
Mac Pro 6-Core
(Mid 2010-2012)
(July, 2010 / June 2012)
Model ID: MacPro5,1
3.33GHz
Mac Pro
Mac Pro (Mid 2010 Quad-Core)
(July, 2010)
Model ID: MacPro5,1
2.8GHz, 3.2GHz, 3.33GHz
Mac Pro
Mac Pro (Early 2009 8-Core)
(March, 2009)
Model ID: MacPro4,1
2.26GHz, 2.66GHz, 2.93GHz
Mac Pro
Mac Pro (Early 2009 Quad-Core)
(March, 2009)
Model ID: MacPro4,1
2.66GHz, 2.93GHz, 3.33GHz
Mac Pro
Mac Pro (Early 2008)
(January, 2008)
Model ID: MacPro3,1
2.8GHz, 3.0GHz, 3.2GHz
Mac Pro
Mac Pro (8-core)
(April, 2007)
Model ID: MacPro2,1
3.0GHz

Release Candidate (RC) firmware set

There are two kinds of firmware for SSDs Mass Production (MP) and Release Candidate (RC). Prior to an MP firmware release, there are beta firmware releases and an RC firmware release. Often, the RC is the same as the MP release, however there can be small changes and bug fixes made between the two. OWC has evaluated the RC for the 6Gb/s SandForce 2281 Processor and found it to be stable with no issues reported during our testing. However, as with any evolutionary product, issues may surface as different usages and configurations are employed and it is important to understand that there will be further updates and revisions.

Since no firmware update is currently offered for the OWC Mercury EXTREME Pro 6G SSD, no update page exists. To see the typical steps involved with a self performed field firmware update, please visit our 3Gb/s product update page at: http://eshop.macsales.com/Customized_Pages/Framework.cfm?page=sf_firmware.html

It is important to note that the current firmware update tool requires the use of Windows XP/Vista/7. OWC is currently working on a Mac OS based update tool, but we do not have an exact availability date.

250GB Mercury Electra 6G SSD Specifications:

Specifications

Controller
4-Ch
NAND
Tier 1 3D NAND
Form Factor
Standard 7mm 2.5"
Interface
SATA 6Gb/s, 3Gb/s & 1.5Gb/s supported, SATA 3.0 Compliant
Capacity 1
250GB useable capacity
RAID Support
Yes
SMART Attributes
Standard 2
Native Command Queuing
up to 32 commands
RoHS Compliant
Yes
Format

Physical

Height (max)
7mm (0.276″)
Width (max)
70.06mm (2.758″)
Length (max)
100.12mm (3.941″)
Weight
77 grams +/- 2 grams
0.170 lbs +/- 2.71 oz

Reliability

TRIM Support
OS Dependent

Performance

Sequential Reads
(Compressible Data)
up to 522MB/s
Sequential Writes
(Compressible Data)
up to 463MB/s
Sequential Reads
(Incompressible Data)
up to 506MB/s
Sequential Writes
(Incompressible Data)
up to 443MB/s
Random 4K Read
up to 90,000 IOPS
Random 4K Write
up to 60,000 IOPS

Power

Active
2.1 W
Idle
0.9 W

Environmental (Operating)

Temperature (°F)
32°F to 158°F
Temperature (°C)
0°C to 70°C

Environmental (Non-Operating)

Temperature (°F)
-40°F to 185°F
Temperature (°C)
-40°C to 85°C
  1. 1GB = 1,000,000,000 bytes. Total accessible capacity varies depending upon operating environment (typically 5-10% less). The actual total capacity will depend on your own defined file settings/preferences. 
  2. Temperature reporting is currently an unsupported feature because due to the operating characteristics of SSDs, it is highly unlikely one would ever exceed an OWC Mercury SSD's stated operating temperature ceiling of 158F/70C. However, we are looking into supporting this feature in the future via a firmware update. Firmware updates can be found here: http://eshop.macsales.com/tech_center/OWC/SSD.
Manufacturer provided specifications for Other World Computing p/n S3D7E6G250 UPC#: 812437024630

Gallery

Customer Ratings

Write a Review 4.9 / 5 217 out of 229 (95%) reviewers would recommend this product
1 2 3 4 5 6 7
Verified Buyer Top 100 Contributor
Reviewer: Anonymous Age: 55-65 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 This product has great features May 3, 2016 Fast delivery, safe packaging. Excellent OWC product, works perfectly in Mac.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 1.0TB Mercury Electra 6G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 6.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Denver, Colorado Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Solid State Drives are a miracle May 1, 2016 I had been suffering with suicide enducing slowness on my 2011 MacBook Pro for 6 months. I called Apple multiple times and tried so many things that didn't help, including a clean format of my drive and updating from Mavericks to El Capitan. I know that El Capitan is not optimized for this older processor or hard drive technology. Then I took it into an Apple store. Still nothing. I had heard that a SSD drive could help along with more free space on the drive. I was at my wits end and decided to buy this drive and try it. It was an easy install and now my computer is screaming fast. Apps open at lightning speed and everything else is running faster than I could have imagined.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 1.0TB Mercury Electra 6G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 6.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Corry, PA Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Outstanding! Reliable! Fast! April 28, 2016 This is my second 490GB OWC SSD. First one I put into my 2..53 C2D Mac Mini. This one went into a mid-2012 model 13" MacBook Pro. I also upgraded the MacBook Pro with 16 GB of RAM at the same time (also outstanding quality and value). The new SSD obviously makes a world of difference in use. VERY pleased. Can't say enough good things about this drive and OWC in general.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 480GB Mercury Electra 6G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 6.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 3-4 months
Rating: 4/5 Great way to expand and speed up MacBook Pro April 23, 2016 I was running out of room in my MacBook Pro with a 128GB SSD and replaced it with this 480GB model. After a clean install it'w working well.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 480GB Mercury Electra 6G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 6.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

Verified Buyer Top 100 Contributor
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Middle of nowhere Age: 55-65 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 Fast, Fast! April 16, 2016 If you really need large volumes instantaneous, load this excellent device up with big SSD disks (I have a pair of 480GB in RAID 0), and you'll be humming. The other 2 slots are platter first level B/U mirrored. I occasionally remember my first 10MB external serial port skinny Mac drive. Wow!

It takes a bit to figure out the flexibility of SoftRAID, but I found the author curt but extremely helpful. Basically you can do anything including partitioning a pair of large drives and using different RAID rules on each pair.

Excellent product. My first one came with a dead bay. After a bit of fussing with OWC tech support as they verified my findings, it was promptly replaced.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 480GB Mercury Electra 6G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 6.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Montreal Quebec Age: Over 65 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Wish I could afford more of these. April 15, 2016 This SSD replaced a 7 year old hard drive that was used as my Time Capsule. It was on it's last legs - really noisy - even more than normal. At least it warned me. Normally it would take many hours for a first back-up but it was quick and all incremental back-ups are also very fast. Of course, it is eerily silent. Wish I could afford to replace all the hard drives (5) in my Mac Pro but it's a start. BTW, I am using an Accelsior PCI card as my main drive that really got me to love the speed of SSD drives. Will see how it holds up in the long run. Have had a similar size Sandisk SSD drive fail after a few months in my Mac Mini though to Sandisk's credit, it was immediately replaced.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from (*) 1.0TB Mercury Electra 6G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 6.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive..

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Providence, RI Age: 25-34 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Fast, Rock Solid April 14, 2016 I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 480GB Mercury Electra 6G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 6.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.
Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Providence, RI Age: 25-34 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 3-4 months
Rating: 5/5 Fast, Rock Solid April 14, 2016 I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 240GB Mercury Electra 6G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 6.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.
Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Grand Rapids, MI Age: 55-65 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Excellent Drive April 11, 2016 I put this in a iMac 27" late 2013. I was not too difficult after watching the video. The only issue I had was putting the tape on the chassis and putting the screen on back on the chassis. Be very very careful to line it up correctly before you pivot back on. The double face tape is not forgiving. The drive is excellent and if you restart your machine you will notice how much faster the mac is from the hybrid drive. In fact, we just bought a new imac 27 at work and the price of a ssd drive from apple is so much more expensive we opted to get the hybrid and put one these in it. Excellent drive and fast service.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 1.0TB Mercury Electra 6G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 6.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

Verified Buyer Top 250 Contributor
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Pensacola, FL Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Turned my 2011 MacBook Pro Lightning Fast! April 3, 2016 This was money very well spent. My 2011 17-inch MacBook Pro took literally several minutes to fully boot. Once I installed this solid-state drive (the process was very clearly explained in the video tutorial), my laptop boots almost instantly. I have recommended this upgrade to anyone who will listen to me brag on how easily I was able to do the installation.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 1.0TB Mercury Electra 6G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 6.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Oceanside CA Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 3-4 months
Rating: 4/5 super speedy March 25, 2016 Used this to replace the 500G OEM hard drive in a mid 2011 21.5" iMac. Super speedy boot time and opening applications. No more beach balls! I would have given it 5 stars, but for the price.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 480GB Mercury Electra 6G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 6.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

Verified Buyer Top 100 Contributor
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Tucson, AZ Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 New speed for older iMac! March 23, 2016 I added this drive along with a 2 Tb HDD to my 2010 iMac. I put this upgrade off too long as the task of opening the iMac and adding a second drive seemed daunting. But the OWC video instructions gave me all the peace of mind that I needed. All worked as advertised, other than I needed to go back into the iMac a couple of extra times to correct my own errors. Thank to OWC I now have an additional skill for my nerd tool belt.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 240GB Mercury Electra 6G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 6.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous
Rating: 5/5 Good instructions March 21, 2016 The website is good to use to find your product. OWC have excellent ways of helping you if you are unsure about which product you require. The videos are clear to watch and understand.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 480GB Mercury Electra 6G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 6.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Albuquerque, NM Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 2 TB Mercury Electra Solid State drive March 16, 2016 This SSD was for a Mac Laptop that had a 750 SSD that was almost maxed out. The OWC installation video straight forward and easy to follow. After install and formatting, the drive worked perfect and FAST in transferring the back up files from my Airport Time Capsule.

I most definally recommend this product and other OWC products for Mac. I have bought several items for my Mac Pro desktop and they have worked perfectly.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 2.0TB Mercury Electra MAX 6G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 6.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Columbia MD Age: 55-65 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 Easy install, noticeable speed improvement March 12, 2016 I bought this with the PCI mounting card to put in an early 2008 Mac Pro. I keep the OS and all applications on this drive.

I've been using it for almost a year and have had not trouble at all. This machine is also on 24 hours a day as my mail server and hub for my home network.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 240GB Mercury Electra 6G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 6.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Springfield, MA Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Wish I had made this purchase a long time ago! March 10, 2016 I love when my expectations are exceeded! The 1T SSD is a costly expense, but the benefit of outstanding performance was well worth it. My drive was chocked full and decided it was time for this upgrade. I especially delight in the fast startup. All of my programs are working faster. And the installation was a breeze. It really was simple. A great product!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 1.0TB Mercury Electra 6G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 6.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Philadelphia, PA Age: 25-34 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Excellent February 25, 2016 Popped this in my 2010 MacBook Pro and it runs like a brand new machine.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 480GB Mercury Electra 6G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 6.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Ohio Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Huge performance boost from this drive! February 20, 2016 Easy install, super performance boost! Noticeable difference in opening programs. Highly recommended.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 480GB Mercury Electra 6G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 6.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Age: 25-34 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 3-4 months
Rating: 4/5 Very good product with good price February 19, 2016 I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 1.0TB Mercury Electra 6G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 6.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.
Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Oakland Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 120GB Mercury Electra 6G SSD 2.5" Serial-ATA February 12, 2016 The SSD breathed new life to my sluggish old MacBookPro 3,1. It made a radical difference in loading programs, from 45 seconds to one minute to 15 seconds. It's too small, of course, but it was what I could afford at the time. It is now in my MacBook 1, keeping it lively.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from (*) 120GB Mercury Electra 6G SSD 2.5-inch 9.5mm SATA 6.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: On a Mountain in the North American Taiga Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Great SSD February 12, 2016 Installed in a computer running a notoriously slow operating system. Made certain there were no bottle necks to compromise the drive's advertised potential. I will testify that the read/write speeds are quite impressive. Computer boots normally within 6 seconds.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 240GB Mercury Electra 6G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 6.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Raleigh, NC Age: Under 18 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 iMac Mid-2014 February 11, 2016 Contacted Apple asking if there was anyway to upgrade my HDD to an SSD, and they told me it wasn't possible, and I would just have to stick to my HDD. I didn't like this answer, so I bought this external drive in hopes to velcroe it to the back of my computer and reap the rewards.

This is exactly what I did.

So far (~1 month after purchase) this SSD has done everything I need it to do. First thing I did was velcroe it to the back making for easy transport, and keep it out of my eye sight. It's set to boot El Capitan, has programs like Xcode, Sketch, etc. and can run circles around my HDD. This is probably the best thing I've treated myself to in a while, and I highly recommend it! The best part is, I can keep everything I need in an instant on my SSD, and things like games, music, etc. can go on my HDD to save space.

Just make you remember to buy the enclosure at checkout if you don't already have a SATA to USB adaptor, I forgot to do so and ended up paying for shipping twice.

To give some comparison as to the speed of this SSD: I have a 5400 RPM HDD (nothing crazy) and before, opening apps would take ~6-15 seconds averaging at 7 seconds, since I made the switch, I get launch times of ~0-4 seconds averaging at about 0.5 seconds for small applications.

Boot times? Before: 1 minute 13 seconds After: 33 seconds

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 120GB Mercury Electra 6G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 6.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

Response from MacSales.com, Marketing February 12, 2016 There is an alternate solution here where you CAN install an OWC SSD internally and repurpose the internal HDD as external storage: http://eshop.macsales.com/item/OWC/K21IM12HE120/ You can view all the solutions for your 2012 or later 21-inch iMac here: http://eshop.macsales.com/Search/?Ntk=Primary&Ns=P_Price%7c1&N=0&Ntt=*OWCK21IM12HE *
Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous
Rating: 5/5 Fantastic!!! February 6, 2016 My computer is NEW AGAIn after upgrading to rhe Mercury Electra 6G!!! Never regret it since then.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 480GB Mercury Electra 6G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 6.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Boston Age: Over 65 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Very Fast February 5, 2016 The only problem I had was that the OWC SSD would not recognize my old stock Apple Hitachi Original ATA drive; it kept reporting the, now, externally USB-connected unit as a "Master Boot" formatted volume, instead of GUID.

Ultimately, I had to erase, re-format and partition the Apple-supplied one in order to get it properly recognized: luckily, I had a recent Time Machine backup of that one, and restored it as GUID, which it already was, but not correctly identified as such. That was inconvenient, to say the least.

The OWC SSD is very fast, stable and responsive. I use it for Production of Media, and store the results elsewhere, as I bought the small 60 gig one.

It could be that 'El Capitan' installed on the new one had some kind of issue with 'Lion' on the old drive. I worked it out, eventually. It's all OK.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 60GB Mercury Electra 6G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 6.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive..

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Terrific Upgrade! February 4, 2016 Installation was easier than expected... but the performance improvement went way beyond my expectations. Why did I wait so long before buying this upgrade? Thanks OWC!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 1.0TB Mercury Electra 6G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 6.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

OWC 250GB Mercury Electra™ 6G SSD Mfr P/N: S3D7E6G250 OWC SKU: OWCS3D7E6G250D 2.5" Serial-ATA 7mm
Solid-State Drive
2 Year OWC Limited Warranty
Sold Out