Home » Internal Hard Drives and SSDs » OWC Mercury Extreme Pro 6G SSDs

OWC Special Offer Available

$70.99 off *NOW* Get Parallels Desktop Pro Edition - Windows/Multi OS Compatibility software for Mac - Only $29.00 with select OWC SSDs, HDDs, Memory, External Storage, and Optical Drives! (Limit 3 rebates, 1 rebate per qualifying item)
Must purchase with: PPDPROSUB1Y-REB29

OWC

480GB Mercury Extreme Pro 6G SSD

Limited Edition Black Drive | 2.5" | Serial-ATA
A Legacy of Class-Leading Performance
The best performance and longevity in a 2.5-inch SATA SSD for every use
When the first Mercury Extreme Pro 6G SSD was launched nearly a decade ago, it was built to be the fastest, most reliable, and longest enduring 2.5-inch SATA Solid State Drive on the market. The evolution of OWC’s premier 2.5-inch SATA SSD continues that legacy with up to 5x faster performance over the duration of its capacity versus other drives. If you have a Mac or PC with a 6G SATA drive bay, the Mercury Extreme Pro 6G SSD is the fastest 2.5-inch SSD available today.
Starts Fast, Stays Fast
Even though many SSDs use low cost, less robust components in their design, they can still offer enticing short term bust speeds which are perfectly suitable for light duty uses. However, these drives are not designed to deliver consistent sustained speeds over their capacity rating, which results in a dramatic slowdown to even hard drive speeds under demanding use.
The fifth generation of Mercury Extreme Pro 6G SSD was built to start fast and stay fast. Its development began with using the best flash storage components and technology available. Next, after being nearly completely filled to capacity with data, it had to deliver the same high speed as if it were empty. This drive doesn’t flinch at any time or capacity level and drop read/write speeds like other drives do…it easily handles the most extreme, mission-critical uses you can throw at it.
Get Your Money’s Worth
When a low-priced “commodity” built SSD’s performance drops off significantly, many users replace the drive far before all its storage capacity is used to regain that “like new” speed feeling. The Mercury Extreme Pro 6G SSD was engineered to keep you working full speed ahead over the duration of the drive to deliver an overall lower cost of ownership.
Workhorse Revitalizer
With your investment in apps and time getting that beloved workhorse Mac or PC configured just the way you like; it makes sense to get all the use you can out of the machine before retiring it. By revitalizing your Mac or PC with a Mercury Extreme Pro 6G SSD, you’ll transform your machine with like-new performance with the best performance upgrade available. From faster boots and application launch times to greatly improved system responsiveness, you’ll love using your “new” computer for a fraction of the cost of buying the latest model.
Go Big or Go Home
Want to use the Mercury Extreme Pro 6G SSD in a computer, dock, camera, or external storage enclosure with a 9.5mm height drive bay? Unlike other brand 7mm SSDs that either don’t include an adapter or have an edge spacer with limited adhesive surface, the Mercury Extreme Pro 6G SSD comes with a full-sized spacer for 100% secure and compatible use.

Release Candidate (RC) firmware set

There are two kinds of firmware for SSDs Mass Production (MP) and Release Candidate (RC). Prior to an MP firmware release, there are beta firmware releases and an RC firmware release. Often, the RC is the same as the MP release, however there can be small changes and bug fixes made between the two. OWC has evaluated the RC for the 6Gb/s SandForce 2281 Processor and found it to be stable with no issues reported during our testing. However, as with any evolutionary product, issues may surface as different usages and configurations are employed and it is important to understand that there will be further updates and revisions.

Since no firmware update is currently offered for the OWC Mercury EXTREME Pro 6G SSD, no update page exists. To see the typical steps involved with a self performed field firmware update, please visit our 3Gb/s product update page at: http://eshop.macsales.com/Customized_Pages/Framework.cfm?page=sf_firmware.html

It is important to note that the current firmware update tool requires the use of Windows XP/Vista/7. OWC is currently working on a Mac OS based update tool, but we do not have an exact availability date.

480GB Mercury Extreme Pro 6G SSD Specifications:

Specifications

Controller
Phison PS3112-S12 with 7% over-provisioning
NAND
Synchronous Triple-Level Cell (TLC) 3D NAND Flash
Form Factor
2.5-inch 7mm
Interface
SATA 6.0 Gb/s
Capacity
480GB useable capacity
Total Flash Memory Components – 512GB
32GB allocated to real-time data redundancy & error correction
Formatted Capacity
447GiB
RAID Support
Yes
SMART Attributes
Standard attributes supported
Native Command Queuing
up to 32 commands
Manufacturer Model Number
S3D7P6G480
RoHS Compliant
Yes
Format

Physical

Height (max)
0.7 cm (0.3 in)
OWC 7mm – 9.5mm Adapter
1 included (buy additional)
Width (max)
7.0 cm (2.8 in)
Length (max)
10.0 cm (3.9 in)
Weight
77.0 g (0.17 lbs)

Reliability

Data Reliability
Built-in BCH ECC: Up to 66 bits correctable per 1024 bytes
Nonrecoverable Read Errors
Less than 1 sector per 1016 bits read

Performance

Sequential Reads (Max)
Up to 550 MB/s
Sequential Writes (Max)
Up to 530 MB/s
Sequential 4K Read
Up to 100,000 IOPS
Sequential 4K Write
Up to 90,000 IOPS

Power

Active
Write: 2000mW (2.0W) Maximum draw

Environmental (Operating)

Altitude
-304.8 m to 3,048.0 m (-1,000 ft to 10,000 ft)
Temperature (°F)
32°F to 158°F
Temperature (°C)
0°C to 70°C

Environmental (Non-Operating)

Altitude
304.8 m to 12,192.0 m (-1,000 ft to 40,000 ft)
Temperature (°F)
-40°F to 185°F
Temperature (°C)
-40°C to 85°C

Acoustics

Idle (Typical)
0.0 bels
Seek (Typical)
0.0 bels
  • 1GB = 1,000,000,000 bytes. Total accessible capacity varies depending upon operating environment (typically 5-10% less). The actual total capacity will depend on your own defined file settings/preferences. 
  • In terms of standard gigabytes, 1GiB ≈ 1.074GB and refers to the actual formatted capacity of shown under Mac OS 10.5 or earlier and Microsoft Windows OS.
Manufacturer provided specifications for Other World Computing p/n S3D7P6G480 UPC#: 812437029383

Gallery



This OWC SSD Model is compatible with nearly any Mac or PC model with a Serial ATA connection (SATA, SATA 2.0, or SATA 3.0) including: Learn how to find your Mac's model ID
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (15-inch 2012)
(June, 2012)
Model ID: MacBookPro9,1
2.3GHz, 2.6GHz, 2.7GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (13-inch 2012)
(June, 2012)
Model ID: MacBookPro9,2
2.5GHz, 2.9GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (17-inch 2011)
(October, 2011)
Model ID: MacBookPro8,3
2.4GHz, 2.5GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (15-inch 2011)
(October, 2011)
Model ID: MacBookPro8,2
2.2GHz, 2.4GHz, 2.5GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (13-inch 2011)
(October, 2011)
Model ID: MacBookPro8,1
2.4GHz, 2.8GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (17-inch Early 2011)
(February, 2011)
Model ID: MacBookPro8,3
2.2GHz, 2.3GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (15-inch Early 2011)
(February, 2011)
Model ID: MacBookPro8,2
2.0GHz, 2.2GHz, 2.3GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (13-inch Early 2011)
(February, 2011)
Model ID: MacBookPro8,1
2.3GHz, 2.7GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (17-inch Mid 2010)
(April, 2010)
Model ID: MacBookPro6,1
2.53GHz, 2.66GHz, 2.8GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (15-inch Mid 2010)
(April, 2010)
Model ID: MacBookPro6,2
2.4GHz, 2.53GHz, 2.66GHz, 2.8GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (13-inch Mid 2010)
(April, 2010)
Model ID: MacBookPro7,1
2.4GHz, 2.66GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (17-inch Mid 2009)
(June, 2009)
Model ID: MacBookPro5,2
2.8GHz, 3.06GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (15-inch Mid 2009)
(June, 2009)
Model ID: MacBookPro5,4
2.53GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (15-inch Mid 2009)
(June, 2009)
Model ID: MacBookPro5,3
2.66GHz, 2.8GHz, 3.06GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (13-inch Mid 2009)
(June, 2009)
Model ID: MacBookPro5,5
2.26GHz, 2.53GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (15-inch Early 2009)
(March, 2009)
Model ID: MacBookPro5,1
2.66GHz 2.93GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (15-inch Early 2009)
(March, 2009)
Model ID: MacBookPro5,1
2.66GHz 2.93GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (17-inch Early 2009)
(January, 2009)
Model ID: MacBookPro5,2
2.66GHz, 2.93GHz
MacBook Pro
MacBook Pro (17-inch Late 2008)
(October, 2008)
Model ID: MacBookPro4,1
2.5GHz, 2.6GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (15-inch Late 2008)
(October, 2008)
Model ID: MacBookPro5,1
2.4GHz, 2.53GHz, 2.66GHz 2.8GHz
MacBook Pro
MacBook Pro (17-inch Early 2008)
(February, 2008)
Model ID: MacBookPro4,1
2.5GHz, 2.6GHz
MacBook Pro
MacBook Pro (15-inch Early 2008)
(February, 2008)
Model ID: MacBookPro4,1
2.4GHz, 2.5GHz, 2.6GHz
MacBook Pro
MacBook Pro (17-inch Mid/Late 2007)
(June, 2007)
Model ID: MacBookPro3,1
2.4GHz, 2.6GHz
MacBook Pro
MacBook Pro (15-inch Mid/Late 2007)
(June, 2007)
Model ID: MacBookPro3,1
2.2GHz, 2.4GHz, 2.6GHz
MacBook Pro
MacBook Pro (17-inch Core 2 Duo)
(October, 2006)
Model ID: MacBookPro2,1
2.33GHz
MacBook Pro
MacBook Pro (15-inch Core 2 Duo)
(October, 2006)
Model ID: MacBookPro2,2
2.16GHz, 2.33GHz
MacBook Pro
MacBook Pro (15-inch Glossy)
(May, 2006)
Model ID: MacBookPro1,1
2.0GHz, 2.16GHz
MacBook Pro
MacBook Pro (17-inch)
(April, 2006)
Model ID: MacBookPro1,2
2.16GHz
MacBook Pro
MacBook Pro (15-inch)
(January, 2006)
Model ID: MacBookPro1,1
1.83GHz, 2.0GHz, 2.16GHz
MacBook White Unibody
MacBook (Mid 2010)
(May, 2010)
Model ID: MacBook7,1
2.4GHz
MacBook White Unibody
MacBook (Late 2009)
(October, 2009)
Model ID: MacBook6,1
2.26Ghz
MacBook
MacBook (Mid 2009)
(May, 2009)
Model ID: MacBook5,2
2.13GHz
MacBook
MacBook (Early 2009)
(January, 2009)
Model ID: MacBook5,2
2.0GHz
MacBook
MacBook (Late 2008)
(October, 2008)
Model ID: MacBook4,1
2.1GHz
MacBook Unibody
MacBook (Late 2008)
(October, 2008)
Model ID: MacBook5,1
2.0GHz, 2.4GHz
MacBook
MacBook (Early 2008)
(February, 2008)
Model ID: MacBook4,1
2.1GHz, 2.4GHz
MacBook
MacBook (Late 2007)
(November, 2007)
Model ID: MacBook3,1
2.0GHz, 2.2GHz
MacBook
MacBook (Mid 2007)
(May, 2007)
Model ID: MacBook2,1
2.0GHz, 2.16GHz
MacBook
MacBook (Late 2006)
(November, 2006)
Model ID: MacBook2,1
1.83GHz, 2.0GHz
MacBook
MacBook
(May, 2006)
Model ID: MacBook1,1
1.83GHz, 2.0GHz
Mac mini Intel
Mac mini (Late 2012)
(October, 2012)
Model ID: Macmini6,1 & Macmini6,2
2.3GHz, 2.5GHz, 2.6GHz
Mac mini Intel
Mac mini (Late 2012 Server)
(October, 2012)
Model ID: Macmini6,2
2.3GHz, 2.6GHz
Mac mini Intel
Mac mini (Mid 2011)
(July, 2011)
Model ID: Macmini5,1 & Macmini5,2
2.3GHz, 2.5GHz, 2.7GHz
Mac mini Intel
Mac mini (Mid 2011 Server)
(July, 2011)
Model ID: Macmini5,3
2.0GHz
Mac mini Intel
Mac mini (Mid 2010)
(June, 2010)
Model ID: Macmini4,1
2.4GHz, 2.66GHz
Mac mini Intel
Mac mini (Mid 2010 Server)
(June, 2010)
Model ID: Macmini4,1
2.66GHz
Mac mini Intel
Mac mini (Early 2009)
(March, 2009)
Model ID: Macmini3,1
2.0GHz, 2.26GHz
Mac mini Intel
Mac mini (Late 2009 Server)
(October, 2009)
Model ID: Macmini3,1
2.53GHz
Mac mini Intel
Mac mini (Late 2009)
(October, 2009)
Model ID: Macmini3,1
2.26GHz, 2.53GHz, 2.66GHz
Mac mini Intel
Mac mini (Mid 2007)
(August, 2007)
Model ID: Macmini2,1
1.83GHz, 2.0GHz
iMac Intel
iMac (27-inch Late 2013)
(September, 2013)
Model ID: iMac14,2
3.2GHz i5, 3.4GHz i5, 3.5GHz i7
iMac Intel
iMac (21.5-inch Late 2013)
(September, 2013)
Model ID: iMac14,1; iMac14,3
2.7GHz i5, 2.9GHz i5, 3.1GHz i7
iMac Intel
iMac (21.5-inch Early 2013)
(March, 2013)
Model ID: iMac13,3
3.3GHz i3
iMac Intel
iMac (27-inch Late 2012)
(November, 2012)
Model ID: iMac13,2
2.9GHz i5, 3.2GHz i5, 3.4GHz i7
iMac Intel
iMac (21.5-inch Late 2012)
(November, 2012)
Model ID: iMac13,1
2.7GHz i5, 2.9GHz i5, 3.1GHz i7
iMac Intel
iMac (27-inch Mid 2011)
(May, 2011)
Model ID: iMac12,2
2.7GHz i5, 3.1GHz i5, 3.4GHz i7
iMac Intel
iMac (21.5-inch Mid 2011)
(May, 2011)
Model ID: iMac12,1
2.5GHz i5, 2.7GHz i5, 2.8GHz i7
iMac Intel
iMac (27-inch Mid 2010)
(July, 2010)
Model ID: iMac11,3
2.8GHz, 2.93GHz, 3.2GHz, 3.6GHz
iMac Intel
iMac (21.5-inch Mid 2010)
(July, 2010)
Model ID: iMac11,2
3.06GHz, 3.2GHz, 3.6GHz
iMac Intel
iMac (27-inch Mid 2010)
(July, 2010)
Model ID: iMac11,3
2.8GHz i5, 2.93GHz i5, 3.6GHz i7
iMac Intel
iMac (21.5-inch Mid 2010)
(July, 2010)
Model ID: iMac11,2
3.6GHz i5
iMac Intel
iMac (27-inch Mid 2010)
(July 2010)
Model ID: iMac11,1
2.66GHz i5, 2.8GHz i7
iMac Intel
iMac (27-inch Late 2009)
(October 2009)
Model ID: iMac10,1
3.06GHz, 3.33GHz
iMac Intel
iMac (21.5-inch Late 2009)
(October, 2009)
Model ID: iMac10,1
3.06GHz, 3.33GHz
iMac Intel
iMac (20-inch Mid 2009)
(April 2009)
Model ID: iMac9,1
2.0GHz, 2.26GHz
iMac Intel
iMac (24-inch Early 2009)
(March 2009)
Model ID: iMac9,1
2.66GHz, 2.93GHz, 3.06GHz
iMac Intel
iMac (20-inch Early 2009)
(March 2009)
Model ID: iMac9,1
2.66GHz
This OWC SSD is compatible with the Mac Pro models listed below when mounted with:
- NewerTech AdaptaDrive 2.5" to 3.5" Drive Converter Bracket only $14.25
Mac Pro
Mac Pro 12-Core (Mid 2010)
(July, 2010)
Model ID: MacPro5,1
2.66GHz, 2.93GHz
Mac Pro
Mac Pro 8-Core (Mid 2010)
(July, 2010)
Model ID: MacPro5,1
2.4GHz
Mac Pro
Mac Pro 6-Core (Mid 2010)
(July, 2010)
Model ID: MacPro5,1
3.33GHz
Mac Pro
Mac Pro 4-Core (Mid 2010)
(July, 2010)
Model ID: MacPro5,1
2.8GHz, 3.2GHz
Mac Pro
Mac Pro 8-Core (Early 2009)
(March, 2009)
Model ID: MacPro4,1
2.26GHz, 2.66GHz, 2.93GHz
Mac Pro
Mac Pro 4-Core (Early 2009)
(March, 2009)
Model ID: MacPro4,1
2.66GHz, 2.93GHz, 3.33GHz
Mac Pro
Mac Pro 4-Core (Early 2008)
(January, 2008)
Model ID: MacPro3,1
2.8GHz
Mac Pro
Mac Pro 8-Core (Early 2008)
(January, 2008)
Model ID: MacPro3,1
2.8GHz, 3.0GHz, 3.2GHz
Mac Pro
Mac Pro 8-core (Early 2007)
(April, 2007)
Model ID: MacPro2,1
3.0GHz

Includes

  • (1) Mercury Extreme Pro 6G SSD
  • (1) 7mm – 9.5mm Spacer

Customer Ratings

Write a Review 4.9 / 5 107 out of 113 (95%) reviewers would recommend this product
1 2 3 4 5 6 7
Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Regina SK Age: 55-65 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Excellent value and a very quick drive August 21, 2015 I bought this for a 17 inch Macbook pro and it is a great value. It is a very quick drive.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 480GB Mercury Extreme Pro 6G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 6.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Panama City. Fl Age: 45-54 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Blazing August 3, 2015 I love this thing

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 480GB Mercury Extreme Pro 6G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 6.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous
Rating: 4/5 Transformed my Mac! August 1, 2015 Someone said to me change of rot SSD when you get the chance. I know why now. It's so different, with an SSD, less than 20% full.

As usual, the guys at OWC get my gear to me so much faster than any local provider in Australia.

Great communications too!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 480GB Mercury Extreme Pro 6G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 6.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

Verified Buyer Top 250 Contributor
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Tucson, AZ Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Feel the need for speed? July 28, 2015 Just installed this in my 2009 Mac Pro, and it now feels and acts like a new workstation. Generally the overall speed in all operations seems so much quicker, especially when working in Photoshop and Final Cut Pro. The capacity is just right for a boot drive, and the price has really come down over the past few years to make it a no-brainer upgrade.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 480GB Mercury Extreme Pro 6G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 6.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous
Rating: 5/5 Great drive July 2, 2015 I can tell a speed difference from the drive that came with my Mac Mini.

This review is from 120GB Mercury Extreme Pro 6G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 6.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Florida Age: 25-34 Experience Level: Noob Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Great Product! June 30, 2015 So fast!! Great product!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 480GB Mercury Extreme Pro 6G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 6.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

Verified Buyer Top 50 Contributor
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Missouri Age: 45-54 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Another excellent product from OWC June 18, 2015 These SSD's are FAST - installation was simple and matched the video instructions - very straightforward.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 480GB Mercury Extreme Pro 6G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 6.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Super-Fast!!! June 6, 2015 Even when the original Hitachi 7200RPM hard drive in this MacBook Pro was brand new, it did perform nearly as fast as this Extreme Pro 6G SSD which is smokin' fast… I mean like Roadrunner-fast!!! "Meep-Meep!!!"

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 480GB Mercury Extreme Pro 6G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 6.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

Verified Buyer Top 50 Contributor
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Burlington, VT Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 5-6 months
Rating: 5/5 Very Fast in all areas June 4, 2015 Very Fast in all areas... Booting, program opening, hassle free, and quiet. Great Product. No slowing down over time. It was an adventure using your installation video to open up my 27" iMac and take it apart as much as I did. It worked right off the bat. It took me a while to get everyone in the right places, but now it is a real hard worker. Photoshop and Lightroom are a true joy to use.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 240GB Mercury Extreme Pro 6G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 6.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: UT Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Rock Solid Perfect May 24, 2015 Installation and configuration of both the 480Gb Mercury Extreme Pro 6G and the 16Gb Memory ordered for my Mid 2010 MBPro running OS X Yosemite went perfectly... Follow the OWC guidelines for install and configuration and all should go flawlessly...

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 480GB Mercury Extreme Pro 6G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 6.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Netherlands Age: 35-44 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Works great, blazingly fast May 18, 2015 I always upgrade my mac with OWC parts, both memory and SSD. Great products and great service!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 480GB Mercury Extreme Pro 6G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 6.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Bingham zfarms, MI Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Almost a New Computer! April 18, 2015 The drive was packaged well and extremely easy to install on my MacBookPro. The shipping was fast and efficient. Great updates on the package shipping progress. Highly recommend!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 240GB Mercury Extreme Pro 6G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 6.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Cheshire CT Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Install was a snap and my MBPro now whizzes through video rendering April 17, 2015 My early-2012 MacBook Pro has been pressed into service as a live video streaming switcher/transcoder/DVD producer. The stock 5400 RPM, 500 GB internal hard drive was not up to the task. I had considered buying a new computer dedicated to streaming.

For about a fifth of the price, I installed the 480GB Mercury Extreme Pro 6G SSD. Installation took less than an hour, most of which was spent removing the optical drive and replanting my internal hard drive in its place using OWC's Data Doubler kit. That involves removing and replacing several delicate connectors, but with my iPad showing the videos it was all crystal clear. I popped the optical drive into an external enclosure, buttoned everything up, and cloned my hard drive to the SSD.

Oh, my. I was not expecting such a speed demon. Bootup (which took well over a minute previously) happens in less than 10 seconds; the agony of preloading apps and daemons once I've logged in (minutes on end before everything settled down) is likewise just a few seconds, even from a cold start.

The best part is that there is no hard drive lag ingesting a video stream from a Blackmagic box -- no stutter, no delays, no SPODs. It all just works, and works as fast as the processor and graphic card can pump out pixels.

This kind of drive should be in EVERY Mac, because it transforms a system that has always been eccentrically pokey into a very responsive system.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 480GB Mercury Extreme Pro 6G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 6.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

Verified Buyer Top 50 Contributor
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Star Prairie, WI Age: 35-44 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 5-6 months
Rating: 5/5 Fast, Fast, FAST! March 6, 2015 This is a Hard Drive upgrade, that is actually an upgrade. As hard drives get bigger and bigger, people consistently talk about upgrading their hard drives to the next size bigger. I suggest this is the wrong thought process. Maintaining and improving the SPEED of your system, should be your first focus. The Mercury Extreme Pro 6G is the upgrade in SPEED every computer needs...

...Yes, even those made by Apple. The Mercury Extreme Pro 6G is the hard drive every Apple computer should come with, but since they don't, you should put one in and see the SPEED for yourself.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 480GB Mercury Extreme Pro 6G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 6.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: NYC Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 OWC SSD's rock February 19, 2015 Replaced my MacBook Pro's internal drive and optical drive with SSD's last year. It is a smokin' music machine now running ProTools and Logic X. OWC has the best service in the business as well.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 240GB Mercury Extreme Pro 6G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 6.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Cameron, NC Age: 35-44 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Mac Mini 2012 Upgrade February 19, 2015 Added to my 2012 Mac Mini. Worth every penny.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 240GB Mercury Extreme Pro 6G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 6.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Florida Age: 55-65 Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 System drive for my 2008 MacPro January 31, 2015 It's like having a new computer. Start-up time is much faster, applications such as Premiere Pro and After Effects load much quicker. Easy to Install with NewerTech AdaptaDrive 2.5" to 3.5" Drive Converter Bracket.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 480GB Mercury Extreme Pro 6G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 6.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Michigan, US Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Works as expected January 9, 2015 Works as expected. What else can I say? I only buy solid-state drives from OWC.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 480GB Mercury Extreme Pro 6G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 6.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Hong Kong Age: 35-44 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Best SSD in the world! January 2, 2015 I'm excited to upgrade my MBP 15" (early 2011) with the OWC Extreme Pro 6G 480GB and 16GB RAM (my another review). I took a benchmark test with applications comparing to a new MBP w/ Retina from my friend. The upgraded one is faster than the new MBP. Thanks OWC! Someone said that it's pricey but I thought it's worth for every penny. I'm planning to get one more SSD to upgrade my MBP 15" (mid-2010).

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 480GB Mercury Extreme Pro 6G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 6.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Finland
Rating: 5/5 works great with early 2008 Mac Pro December 22, 2014 I had to update my old computer. This was first idea to get it back from the stone age.. Computer is so much faster now.. No need to go coffee brake after turning on the computer..

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 240GB Mercury Extreme Pro 6G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 6.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Super speedy December 15, 2014 This drive is working great and has really helped my middle aged MBP. I'm delighted with it. Morgan was GREAT at helping me get things sorted out. A suggestion: Make a bootable backup before removing your old drive and installing the new SSD (I had NO drive at all in my machine). (I used SuperDuper to backup.) I tried to install OSX from a flash drive but it got corrupted. The SD backup worked great.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 240GB Mercury Extreme Pro 6G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 6.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Cary, NC Age: 55-65 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Love the speed December 4, 2014 This is the 2nd SSD I've added to my old Mac Pro 3,1. First a 120GB and now this 240GB. I have been using the 120GB for over 3 years without any issues. It makes a new Mac out of an old one.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 240GB Mercury Extreme Pro 6G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 6.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Beaverton, OR Age: Over 65 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Males my MacPro 1,1 young again November 17, 2014 This is the third SSD "hop up" I've installed and probably the most dramatic results. Reboots are actually fast now. Things like PS6 load quickly.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 240GB Mercury Extreme Pro 6G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 6.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Canada, Eastern Ontario Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 Performs better than expected November 11, 2014 I have a 2.3 GHz Core i7 15" MBP. I have had this hard drive in a holding pattern for a while waiting for me to finally up the RAM & the HDD in this case to an SSD. After doing so, boot up time is 15 seconds with no hesitation. NovaBench reports write speed at 293 MB/s. Not too shabby! Only regret is that I should have gone for the 480GB one,.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 240GB Mercury Extreme Pro 6G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 6.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Northern VA Age: 55-65 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 Great drives November 4, 2014 I have adding these drives to our in house MacMinis for over 3 years. They work GREAT and are super fast. So far we have not had a single issue with any of the 7 drives we have purchased over the years.

I strongly recommend them.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 480GB Mercury Extreme Pro 6G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 6.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

OWC 480GB Mercury Extreme Pro 6G SSD Mfr P/N: S3D7P6G480 OWC SKU: OWCS3D7P6G480 Limited Edition Black Drive 2.5" SATA 6Gb/s SSD featuring the best performance and longevity for every use… from performance enthusiasts to production professionals. Mac and PC compatible 5 Year OWC Limited Warranty Ships: Same Day only $119.00
Add to CartOther World Computing S3D7P6G480 In Stock, Click to Buy Now
Additional Capacities: Limited Edition Black
  • 240GB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $74.99
    • OWC Price $69.75
  • 480GB
  • 1.0TB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $199.99
    • OWC Price $199.00
  • 2.0TB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $349.99
    • OWC Price $349.00
  • 4.0TB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $799.99
    • OWC Price $779.00