Home » Internal Hard Drives and SSDs » OWC Mercury Extreme Pro 6G SSDs

We're sorry, but this item is no longer for sale. However, there may be more Internal Hard Drives and SSDs items available.

This was a used product listing. For more great deals on Open Box, Refurbished and Used items, keep an eye on our Garage Sale page. Or join our email list and be the first to know when new items become available!

We sell this item brand new for $199.00, view our listing.

OWC

1.0TB Mercury Extreme Pro 6G SSD

Demo Unit | Open Box

Limited Edition Black Drive | 2.5" | Serial-ATA
A Legacy of Class-Leading Performance
The best performance and longevity in a 2.5-inch SATA SSD for every use
When the first Mercury Extreme Pro 6G SSD was launched nearly a decade ago, it was built to be the fastest, most reliable, and longest enduring 2.5-inch SATA Solid State Drive on the market. The evolution of OWC’s premier 2.5-inch SATA SSD continues that legacy with up to 5x faster performance over the duration of its capacity versus other drives. If you have a Mac or PC with a 6G SATA drive bay, the Mercury Extreme Pro 6G SSD is the fastest 2.5-inch SSD available today.
Starts Fast, Stays Fast
Even though many SSDs use low cost, less robust components in their design, they can still offer enticing short term bust speeds which are perfectly suitable for light duty uses. However, these drives are not designed to deliver consistent sustained speeds over their capacity rating, which results in a dramatic slowdown to even hard drive speeds under demanding use.
The fifth generation of Mercury Extreme Pro 6G SSD was built to start fast and stay fast. Its development began with using the best flash storage components and technology available. Next, after being nearly completely filled to capacity with data, it had to deliver the same high speed as if it were empty. This drive doesn’t flinch at any time or capacity level and drop read/write speeds like other drives do…it easily handles the most extreme, mission-critical uses you can throw at it.
Get Your Money’s Worth
When a low-priced “commodity” built SSD’s performance drops off significantly, many users replace the drive far before all its storage capacity is used to regain that “like new” speed feeling. The Mercury Extreme Pro 6G SSD was engineered to keep you working full speed ahead over the duration of the drive to deliver an overall lower cost of ownership.
Workhorse Revitalizer
With your investment in apps and time getting that beloved workhorse Mac or PC configured just the way you like; it makes sense to get all the use you can out of the machine before retiring it. By revitalizing your Mac or PC with a Mercury Extreme Pro 6G SSD, you’ll transform your machine with like-new performance with the best performance upgrade available. From faster boots and application launch times to greatly improved system responsiveness, you’ll love using your “new” computer for a fraction of the cost of buying the latest model.
Go Big or Go Home
Want to use the Mercury Extreme Pro 6G SSD in a computer, dock, camera, or external storage enclosure with a 9.5mm height drive bay? Unlike other brand 7mm SSDs that either don’t include an adapter or have an edge spacer with limited adhesive surface, the Mercury Extreme Pro 6G SSD comes with a full-sized spacer for 100% secure and compatible use.

Release Candidate (RC) firmware set

There are two kinds of firmware for SSDs Mass Production (MP) and Release Candidate (RC). Prior to an MP firmware release, there are beta firmware releases and an RC firmware release. Often, the RC is the same as the MP release, however there can be small changes and bug fixes made between the two. OWC has evaluated the RC for the 6Gb/s SandForce 2281 Processor and found it to be stable with no issues reported during our testing. However, as with any evolutionary product, issues may surface as different usages and configurations are employed and it is important to understand that there will be further updates and revisions.

Since no firmware update is currently offered for the OWC Mercury EXTREME Pro 6G SSD, no update page exists. To see the typical steps involved with a self performed field firmware update, please visit our 3Gb/s product update page at: http://eshop.macsales.com/Customized_Pages/Framework.cfm?page=sf_firmware.html

It is important to note that the current firmware update tool requires the use of Windows XP/Vista/7. OWC is currently working on a Mac OS based update tool, but we do not have an exact availability date.

960GB Mercury Extreme Pro 6G SSD Specifications:

Specifications

Controller
Phison PS3112-S12 with 7% over-provisioning
NAND
Synchronous Triple-Level Cell (TLC) 3D NAND Flash
Form Factor
2.5-inch 7mm
Interface
SATA 6.0 Gb/s
Capacity
960GB useable capacity
Total Flash Memory Components – 1024GB
64GB allocated to real-time data redundancy & error correction
Formatted Capacity
894GiB
RAID Support
Yes
SMART Attributes
Standard attributes supported
Native Command Queuing
up to 32 commands
Manufacturer Model Number
S3D7P6G960
RoHS Compliant
Yes
Format

Physical

Height (max)
0.7 cm (0.3 in)
OWC 7mm – 9.5mm Adapter
1 included (buy additional)
Width (max)
7.0 cm (2.8 in)
Length (max)
10.0 cm (3.9 in)
Weight
77.0 g (0.17 lbs)

Reliability

Data Reliability
Built-in BCH ECC: Up to 66 bits correctable per 1024 bytes
Nonrecoverable Read Errors
Less than 1 sector per 1016 bits read

Performance

Sequential Reads (Max)
Up to 550 MB/s
Sequential Writes (Max)
Up to 530 MB/s
Sequential 4K Read
Up to 100,000 IOPS
Sequential 4K Write
Up to 90,000 IOPS

Power

Active
Write: 2000mW (2.0W) Maximum draw

Environmental (Operating)

Altitude
-304.8 m to 3,048.0 m (-1,000 ft to 10,000 ft)
Temperature (°F)
32°F to 158°F
Temperature (°C)
0°C to 70°C

Environmental (Non-Operating)

Altitude
304.8 m to 12,192.0 m (-1,000 ft to 40,000 ft)
Temperature (°F)
-40°F to 185°F
Temperature (°C)
-40°C to 85°C

Acoustics

Idle (Typical)
0.0 bels
Seek (Typical)
0.0 bels
  • 1GB = 1,000,000,000 bytes. Total accessible capacity varies depending upon operating environment (typically 5-10% less). The actual total capacity will depend on your own defined file settings/preferences. 
  • In terms of standard gigabytes, 1GiB ≈ 1.074GB and refers to the actual formatted capacity of shown under Mac OS 10.5 or earlier and Microsoft Windows OS.
Manufacturer provided specifications for Other World Computing p/n S3D7P6G960 UPC#: 812437029390

Gallery



This OWC SSD Model is compatible with nearly any Mac or PC model with a Serial ATA connection (SATA, SATA 2.0, or SATA 3.0) including: Learn how to find your Mac's model ID
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (15-inch 2012)
(June, 2012)
Model ID: MacBookPro9,1
2.3GHz, 2.6GHz, 2.7GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (13-inch 2012)
(June, 2012)
Model ID: MacBookPro9,2
2.5GHz, 2.9GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (17-inch 2011)
(October, 2011)
Model ID: MacBookPro8,3
2.4GHz, 2.5GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (15-inch 2011)
(October, 2011)
Model ID: MacBookPro8,2
2.2GHz, 2.4GHz, 2.5GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (13-inch 2011)
(October, 2011)
Model ID: MacBookPro8,1
2.4GHz, 2.8GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (17-inch Early 2011)
(February, 2011)
Model ID: MacBookPro8,3
2.2GHz, 2.3GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (15-inch Early 2011)
(February, 2011)
Model ID: MacBookPro8,2
2.0GHz, 2.2GHz, 2.3GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (13-inch Early 2011)
(February, 2011)
Model ID: MacBookPro8,1
2.3GHz, 2.7GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (17-inch Mid 2010)
(April, 2010)
Model ID: MacBookPro6,1
2.53GHz, 2.66GHz, 2.8GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (15-inch Mid 2010)
(April, 2010)
Model ID: MacBookPro6,2
2.4GHz, 2.53GHz, 2.66GHz, 2.8GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (13-inch Mid 2010)
(April, 2010)
Model ID: MacBookPro7,1
2.4GHz, 2.66GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (17-inch Mid 2009)
(June, 2009)
Model ID: MacBookPro5,2
2.8GHz, 3.06GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (15-inch Mid 2009)
(June, 2009)
Model ID: MacBookPro5,4
2.53GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (15-inch Mid 2009)
(June, 2009)
Model ID: MacBookPro5,3
2.66GHz, 2.8GHz, 3.06GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (13-inch Mid 2009)
(June, 2009)
Model ID: MacBookPro5,5
2.26GHz, 2.53GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (15-inch Early 2009)
(March, 2009)
Model ID: MacBookPro5,1
2.66GHz 2.93GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (15-inch Early 2009)
(March, 2009)
Model ID: MacBookPro5,1
2.66GHz 2.93GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (17-inch Early 2009)
(January, 2009)
Model ID: MacBookPro5,2
2.66GHz, 2.93GHz
MacBook Pro
MacBook Pro (17-inch Late 2008)
(October, 2008)
Model ID: MacBookPro4,1
2.5GHz, 2.6GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (15-inch Late 2008)
(October, 2008)
Model ID: MacBookPro5,1
2.4GHz, 2.53GHz, 2.66GHz 2.8GHz
MacBook Pro
MacBook Pro (17-inch Early 2008)
(February, 2008)
Model ID: MacBookPro4,1
2.5GHz, 2.6GHz
MacBook Pro
MacBook Pro (15-inch Early 2008)
(February, 2008)
Model ID: MacBookPro4,1
2.4GHz, 2.5GHz, 2.6GHz
MacBook Pro
MacBook Pro (17-inch Mid/Late 2007)
(June, 2007)
Model ID: MacBookPro3,1
2.4GHz, 2.6GHz
MacBook Pro
MacBook Pro (15-inch Mid/Late 2007)
(June, 2007)
Model ID: MacBookPro3,1
2.2GHz, 2.4GHz, 2.6GHz
MacBook Pro
MacBook Pro (17-inch Core 2 Duo)
(October, 2006)
Model ID: MacBookPro2,1
2.33GHz
MacBook Pro
MacBook Pro (15-inch Core 2 Duo)
(October, 2006)
Model ID: MacBookPro2,2
2.16GHz, 2.33GHz
MacBook Pro
MacBook Pro (15-inch Glossy)
(May, 2006)
Model ID: MacBookPro1,1
2.0GHz, 2.16GHz
MacBook Pro
MacBook Pro (17-inch)
(April, 2006)
Model ID: MacBookPro1,2
2.16GHz
MacBook Pro
MacBook Pro (15-inch)
(January, 2006)
Model ID: MacBookPro1,1
1.83GHz, 2.0GHz, 2.16GHz
MacBook White Unibody
MacBook (Mid 2010)
(May, 2010)
Model ID: MacBook7,1
2.4GHz
MacBook White Unibody
MacBook (Late 2009)
(October, 2009)
Model ID: MacBook6,1
2.26Ghz
MacBook
MacBook (Mid 2009)
(May, 2009)
Model ID: MacBook5,2
2.13GHz
MacBook
MacBook (Early 2009)
(January, 2009)
Model ID: MacBook5,2
2.0GHz
MacBook
MacBook (Late 2008)
(October, 2008)
Model ID: MacBook4,1
2.1GHz
MacBook Unibody
MacBook (Late 2008)
(October, 2008)
Model ID: MacBook5,1
2.0GHz, 2.4GHz
MacBook
MacBook (Early 2008)
(February, 2008)
Model ID: MacBook4,1
2.1GHz, 2.4GHz
MacBook
MacBook (Late 2007)
(November, 2007)
Model ID: MacBook3,1
2.0GHz, 2.2GHz
MacBook
MacBook (Mid 2007)
(May, 2007)
Model ID: MacBook2,1
2.0GHz, 2.16GHz
MacBook
MacBook (Late 2006)
(November, 2006)
Model ID: MacBook2,1
1.83GHz, 2.0GHz
MacBook
MacBook
(May, 2006)
Model ID: MacBook1,1
1.83GHz, 2.0GHz
Mac mini Intel
Mac mini (Late 2012)
(October, 2012)
Model ID: Macmini6,1 & Macmini6,2
2.3GHz, 2.5GHz, 2.6GHz
Mac mini Intel
Mac mini (Late 2012 Server)
(October, 2012)
Model ID: Macmini6,2
2.3GHz, 2.6GHz
Mac mini Intel
Mac mini (Mid 2011)
(July, 2011)
Model ID: Macmini5,1 & Macmini5,2
2.3GHz, 2.5GHz, 2.7GHz
Mac mini Intel
Mac mini (Mid 2011 Server)
(July, 2011)
Model ID: Macmini5,3
2.0GHz
Mac mini Intel
Mac mini (Mid 2010)
(June, 2010)
Model ID: Macmini4,1
2.4GHz, 2.66GHz
Mac mini Intel
Mac mini (Mid 2010 Server)
(June, 2010)
Model ID: Macmini4,1
2.66GHz
Mac mini Intel
Mac mini (Early 2009)
(March, 2009)
Model ID: Macmini3,1
2.0GHz, 2.26GHz
Mac mini Intel
Mac mini (Late 2009 Server)
(October, 2009)
Model ID: Macmini3,1
2.53GHz
Mac mini Intel
Mac mini (Late 2009)
(October, 2009)
Model ID: Macmini3,1
2.26GHz, 2.53GHz, 2.66GHz
Mac mini Intel
Mac mini (Mid 2007)
(August, 2007)
Model ID: Macmini2,1
1.83GHz, 2.0GHz
iMac Intel
iMac (27-inch Late 2013)
(September, 2013)
Model ID: iMac14,2
3.2GHz i5, 3.4GHz i5, 3.5GHz i7
iMac Intel
iMac (21.5-inch Late 2013)
(September, 2013)
Model ID: iMac14,1; iMac14,3
2.7GHz i5, 2.9GHz i5, 3.1GHz i7
iMac Intel
iMac (21.5-inch Early 2013)
(March, 2013)
Model ID: iMac13,3
3.3GHz i3
iMac Intel
iMac (27-inch Late 2012)
(November, 2012)
Model ID: iMac13,2
2.9GHz i5, 3.2GHz i5, 3.4GHz i7
iMac Intel
iMac (21.5-inch Late 2012)
(November, 2012)
Model ID: iMac13,1
2.7GHz i5, 2.9GHz i5, 3.1GHz i7
iMac Intel
iMac (27-inch Mid 2011)
(May, 2011)
Model ID: iMac12,2
2.7GHz i5, 3.1GHz i5, 3.4GHz i7
iMac Intel
iMac (21.5-inch Mid 2011)
(May, 2011)
Model ID: iMac12,1
2.5GHz i5, 2.7GHz i5, 2.8GHz i7
iMac Intel
iMac (27-inch Mid 2010)
(July, 2010)
Model ID: iMac11,3
2.8GHz, 2.93GHz, 3.2GHz, 3.6GHz
iMac Intel
iMac (21.5-inch Mid 2010)
(July, 2010)
Model ID: iMac11,2
3.06GHz, 3.2GHz, 3.6GHz
iMac Intel
iMac (27-inch Mid 2010)
(July, 2010)
Model ID: iMac11,3
2.8GHz i5, 2.93GHz i5, 3.6GHz i7
iMac Intel
iMac (21.5-inch Mid 2010)
(July, 2010)
Model ID: iMac11,2
3.6GHz i5
iMac Intel
iMac (27-inch Mid 2010)
(July 2010)
Model ID: iMac11,1
2.66GHz i5, 2.8GHz i7
iMac Intel
iMac (27-inch Late 2009)
(October 2009)
Model ID: iMac10,1
3.06GHz, 3.33GHz
iMac Intel
iMac (21.5-inch Late 2009)
(October, 2009)
Model ID: iMac10,1
3.06GHz, 3.33GHz
iMac Intel
iMac (20-inch Mid 2009)
(April 2009)
Model ID: iMac9,1
2.0GHz, 2.26GHz
iMac Intel
iMac (24-inch Early 2009)
(March 2009)
Model ID: iMac9,1
2.66GHz, 2.93GHz, 3.06GHz
iMac Intel
iMac (20-inch Early 2009)
(March 2009)
Model ID: iMac9,1
2.66GHz
This OWC SSD is compatible with the Mac Pro models listed below when mounted with:
- NewerTech AdaptaDrive 2.5" to 3.5" Drive Converter Bracket only $14.25
Mac Pro
Mac Pro 12-Core (Mid 2010)
(July, 2010)
Model ID: MacPro5,1
2.66GHz, 2.93GHz
Mac Pro
Mac Pro 8-Core (Mid 2010)
(July, 2010)
Model ID: MacPro5,1
2.4GHz
Mac Pro
Mac Pro 6-Core (Mid 2010)
(July, 2010)
Model ID: MacPro5,1
3.33GHz
Mac Pro
Mac Pro 4-Core (Mid 2010)
(July, 2010)
Model ID: MacPro5,1
2.8GHz, 3.2GHz
Mac Pro
Mac Pro 8-Core (Early 2009)
(March, 2009)
Model ID: MacPro4,1
2.26GHz, 2.66GHz, 2.93GHz
Mac Pro
Mac Pro 4-Core (Early 2009)
(March, 2009)
Model ID: MacPro4,1
2.66GHz, 2.93GHz, 3.33GHz
Mac Pro
Mac Pro 4-Core (Early 2008)
(January, 2008)
Model ID: MacPro3,1
2.8GHz
Mac Pro
Mac Pro 8-Core (Early 2008)
(January, 2008)
Model ID: MacPro3,1
2.8GHz, 3.0GHz, 3.2GHz
Mac Pro
Mac Pro 8-core (Early 2007)
(April, 2007)
Model ID: MacPro2,1
3.0GHz

Includes

  • (1) Mercury Extreme Pro 6G SSD
  • (1) 7mm – 9.5mm Spacer

Customer Ratings

Write a Review 4.9 / 5 107 out of 113 (95%) reviewers would recommend this product
1 2 3 4 5 6 7
Verified Buyer
Reviewer: DogBone Location: FL Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 Excellent across the board. October 4, 2017 This is the finest SSD I have purchased. My machine is as fast as it's ever been.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 1.0TB Mercury Extreme Pro 6G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 6.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Dancer82646 Location: Indiana Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Easy install and FAST boot up! June 30, 2017 This drive went in just like the video showed it would. It performs as promised; boot time is now less than 30 seconds instead of 2-3 minutes. Love it!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 480GB Mercury Extreme Pro 6G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 6.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: JoelC Location: Florida Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Like a new Mac May 25, 2017 I was ready to trash my 2010 MacBook Pro. This drive upgrade, plus the 16GB memory chips from OWC have made it perform like a new machine...thanks

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 480GB Mercury Extreme Pro 6G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 6.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: HashtagSatisfied Location: Los Angeles, CA Age: 25-34 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Fast Drive, Fast Shipping. May 17, 2017 This drive works perfectly. It's fast, its easy to install and made a world of difference for my 2012 MacBook Pro. Shipping was fast as well. I think it only took two days.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 480GB Mercury Extreme Pro 6G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 6.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: kevintcom Location: Salt Lake City, UT Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Blazing fast April 6, 2017 I finally decided to upgrade to an SSD for my MacBook Pro. I can't believe the difference. Startup takes less than 30 seconds, compared to over 90 seconds with an SSHD that I had before. Everything just runs so much quicker. After OWC's tech support helped me realize that my old drive enclosure wasn't working correctly and I installed this drive directly into my computer, the formatting and installation of the OS were quick and easy. Migrating all of my data took a while, mostly because the two MacBooks I was using kept going to sleep and I had to wake them frequently. Overall, I am very glad that I made the leap to SSD. It's made my old machine feel brand new, and I figure I can now get a few more years's use from it before I have to upgrade again.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from (*) 1.0TB Mercury Extreme Pro 6G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 6.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: thebuyerme
Rating: 5/5 Very fast and easy to install! April 3, 2017 Easy to install and very fast RAM memory! My MacBook Pro Mid 2010 15" has a new extra live. For sure I tell you that is 500% faster than before but with a new SSD internal disk. Install both parts! I fully recommend to you do a time machine before you install the new SSD disk.

This review is from 480GB Mercury Extreme Pro 6G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 6.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer Top 50 Contributor
Reviewer: joevt Location: Langley, B.C. Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Excellent upgrade for old Mac Pro March 8, 2017 I used two of these in a "Sonnet Technologies Tempo SSD Pro Plus" and a "OWC Mercury Elite Pro Dual mini" and a "AKiTiO Thunder3 Duo Pro".

I like the 6 Gb/sec performance, since my Mac Pro 2008 only supports SATA II drives that are only 3 Gb/sec.

My only complaint is that the screw holes are tight.The screws that came with the "Dual mini" had blue stuff on them (Loctite?) which I had to burn and scrape off to make them usable. The screws that came with the "Sonnet card" were easier to use.

The side screw holes were especially tight. The "AKiTiO Thunder3 Duo Pro" uses a side screw hole to secure drives. I was unable to fully insert the screws into the side screw holes.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 1.0TB Mercury Extreme Pro 6G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 6.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: gordo23 Location: Bellevue Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 Need for Speed February 26, 2017 Need for Speed and i got it,`can't believe how fast my MacBook pro has got since i installed this solid state drive its faster now then it was when new. Cant think of any cons on this one its all good.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 120GB Mercury Extreme Pro 6G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 6.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: MikeGetsLeads Location: Durban, South Africa Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Upgraded Mid 2010 MacBook Pro HDD to SSD February 23, 2017 I opted to upgrade my mid 2010 MacBook Pro HDD to a 240GB SSD and I am delighted I did. My MacBook is now as fast as it was the day I purchased it. The MacSales website was fantastic in that they provided the compatibility info and installation instructions that gave me the confidence to place an order. The online shopping experience was seamless and I received my package 9 days later, which was excellent as it had to go through a rigorous customs process.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 240GB Mercury Extreme Pro 6G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 6.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Sandroweb Location: Swiss Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 eccellente February 22, 2017 Ho sostituito il disco originare in un MAC del 2012 con questo. Ora sembra un computer nuovo !

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 240GB Mercury Extreme Pro 6G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 6.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Cirene Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Whisper quiet and ultra-fast. February 22, 2017 After installation in a Mac mini mid-2010, the computer is noticeably faster: boot-up, apps, general feel. And whisper quiet, too.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 1.0TB Mercury Extreme Pro 6G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 6.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: RigelKentaurus Location: MEL Aus Age: 45-54 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 3-4 months
Rating: 5/5 MBP 17" Upgrade December 27, 2016 My MacBook Pro 17 was purchased as one of last off the line some years ago and I just can't see myself getting rid of as yet. So I decided to upgrade the HDD to a SSD. The MacSales website makes the task of upgrading so simple. As long as one has the build details of the machine in question, the compatible choices are presented for selection. In my case I selected the OWC 1Tb Mercury Extreme. Two days later it arrived here in Melbourne. Thirty minutes for the install and two hours or so to restore from Timemachine. The latter made possible by a through back before hand of course. The end result can only be described as unbelievable. I never realised how much the Hitachi HDD was holding everything up. Would highly recommend this procedure and product to any one with a machine like mine. Ram upgrade is also a must.

Thank you MacSales.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 1.0TB Mercury Extreme Pro 6G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 6.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: SMcCandlish Location: Oakland, CA Age: 45-54 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Snappy, and reliable so far December 26, 2016 Works exactly as expected in every respect (and I have it mounted on a bus card rather than in a drive bay).

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 1.0TB Mercury Extreme Pro 6G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 6.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: FiremanRx Location: Fulton, NY Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Best Choice December 24, 2016 After my iMac crashed I converted a 2012 MacBook Pro into my "primary " home computer. I added a 1T SSD from MacSales. What a fantastic choice! Super easy to install, it took a mere 11 minutes. The addition of my ram and the SSD drive doubles the speed of my old desktop. I should have done this long ago. The videos I watched for installation were excellent!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 1.0TB Mercury Extreme Pro 6G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 6.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer Top 50 Contributor
Reviewer: violin2 Location: NY Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 worth the money November 14, 2016 While this SSD drive is pricey, it does have a 1 TB capacity and it is very fast. Setup is a breeze with Sierra and the clone that I made with it boots at last as fast, if not faster, than the internal fusion drive. If you can afford it, go for it!

I can't speak about durability (I haven't had it very long) but the 5 year warranty is a very auspicious thing.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 1.0TB Mercury Extreme Pro 6G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 6.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: dandumitru Location: constanta, romania Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 great product, good quality November 14, 2016 Installed and running as advertised. My mac early 2011 17' running even faster than when was purchased now having installed Sierra. Good quality product.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 480GB Mercury Extreme Pro 6G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 6.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer Top 100 Contributor
Reviewer: MPandP Location: Ca
Rating: 5/5 Lightning fast November 11, 2016 No fuss installation. Works like a charm.. Excellent for Pro Audio and intensive recording work that requires speed and fast response.. I bought 3 of these..

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 1.0TB Mercury Extreme Pro 6G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 6.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: GRDW Location: Eugene, OR Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 5-6 months
Rating: 5/5 Works Great November 5, 2016 This is now my primary HD. Snappy response. No problems.

This review is from 480GB Mercury Extreme Pro 6G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 6.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Quicklee Location: Los Angeles, CA Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 Super Fast, Reliable, Great Warranty October 31, 2016 This is yet another one of my Pro 6G purchases. These drives bring new life to older machines and are blazing fast as external drives too.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 120GB Mercury Extreme Pro 6G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 6.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Film3r
Rating: 5/5 Great for BMCC October 16, 2016 I bought the drive for the Black Magic Cinema Camera. So far it has been great. Doesn't drip any frames and for the price I would definitely buy another.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from (*) 1.0TB Mercury Extreme Pro 6G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 6.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive. Customer Videos:

Reviewer: Moondog Location: Johannesburg, South Africa Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Best upgrade ever October 5, 2016 It is old news that this upgrade will speed up your hardware, but I cannot get over how much this speed has transformed my MacBook Pro mid-2012. Start-up and shut-down times are much faster, but so is everything in between. I have a large dropbox folder that normally would take minutes to start and index. This process takes a fraction of the time now. I also notice big changes with my bootcamp partition with Windows 7 much snappier and quicker. These are the upgrade results I always expected with memory upgrades, but never realized.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 1.0TB Mercury Extreme Pro 6G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 6.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: OldDM1608 Location: San Francisco Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Totally pleased September 9, 2016 I am totally pleased with the SSD from MacSales / OWC. I installed the drive in my 2013 laptop in about 15 minutes with no problems. It was all like their video. I was a bit nervous about getting my files over to the new drive, but again I followed their in instructions and soon the new drive was up and working . My laptop has gone from booting in about two minutes to about 15 sec! the tool kit and housing for the old drive were very handy too.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 480GB Mercury Extreme Pro 6G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 6.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: dgiver Location: Frederick, MD Age: 35-44 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 One of Best SSD in the Market August 24, 2016 The SSD installation was straight forward and the data was migrated with ease using Intel Data Migration Software. My System is so fast when I use other PC, I wonder if the PC has an issue. I have additional Virtual OS's running without any Performance hit on the main OS. Plenty of space to perform quick deployment to test some application I am working on.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 1.0TB Mercury Extreme Pro 6G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 6.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: rjim Location: New Albany, OH Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Made an iMac usable again August 16, 2016 The SSD along with an upgrade in memory made a useless iMac usable once again. The video was most helpful as there are many steps involved in added the ram. It is was was more complicated than I expected.The tips in the video were great.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 1.0TB Mercury Extreme Pro 6G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 6.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer Top 250 Contributor
Reviewer: Tumelo Location: Botswana Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 4/5 1st impressions very good August 9, 2016 Product performing as expected, installation pretty straight forward and so was data migration from the HDD. Start ups are pretty brisk now, really enjoying the upgrade.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from (*) 1.0TB Mercury Extreme Pro 6G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 6.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive. Customer Videos:

OWC 1.0TB Mercury Extreme Pro 6G SSD Mfr P/N: S3D7P6G960 OWC SKU: OWCS3D7P6G960D Limited Edition Black Drive 2.5" SATA 6Gb/s SSD featuring the best performance and longevity for every use… from performance enthusiasts to production professionals. Mac and PC compatible 2 Year OWC Limited Warranty
Sold Out