Home » Internal Hard Drives and SSDs » OWC Mercury Extreme Pro 6G SSDs

We're sorry, but this item is no longer for sale. However, there may be more Internal Hard Drives and SSDs items available.

This was a used product listing. For more great deals on Open Box, Refurbished and Used items, keep an eye on our Garage Sale page. Or join our email list and be the first to know when new items become available!

We sell this item brand new for $199.00, view our listing.

OWC

1.0TB Mercury Extreme Pro 6G SSD

Demo Unit | Open Box

Limited Edition Black Drive | 2.5" | Serial-ATA
A Legacy of Class-Leading Performance
The best performance and longevity in a 2.5-inch SATA SSD for every use
When the first Mercury Extreme Pro 6G SSD was launched nearly a decade ago, it was built to be the fastest, most reliable, and longest enduring 2.5-inch SATA Solid State Drive on the market. The evolution of OWC’s premier 2.5-inch SATA SSD continues that legacy with up to 5x faster performance over the duration of its capacity versus other drives. If you have a Mac or PC with a 6G SATA drive bay, the Mercury Extreme Pro 6G SSD is the fastest 2.5-inch SSD available today.
Starts Fast, Stays Fast
Even though many SSDs use low cost, less robust components in their design, they can still offer enticing short term bust speeds which are perfectly suitable for light duty uses. However, these drives are not designed to deliver consistent sustained speeds over their capacity rating, which results in a dramatic slowdown to even hard drive speeds under demanding use.
The fifth generation of Mercury Extreme Pro 6G SSD was built to start fast and stay fast. Its development began with using the best flash storage components and technology available. Next, after being nearly completely filled to capacity with data, it had to deliver the same high speed as if it were empty. This drive doesn’t flinch at any time or capacity level and drop read/write speeds like other drives do…it easily handles the most extreme, mission-critical uses you can throw at it.
Get Your Money’s Worth
When a low-priced “commodity” built SSD’s performance drops off significantly, many users replace the drive far before all its storage capacity is used to regain that “like new” speed feeling. The Mercury Extreme Pro 6G SSD was engineered to keep you working full speed ahead over the duration of the drive to deliver an overall lower cost of ownership.
Workhorse Revitalizer
With your investment in apps and time getting that beloved workhorse Mac or PC configured just the way you like; it makes sense to get all the use you can out of the machine before retiring it. By revitalizing your Mac or PC with a Mercury Extreme Pro 6G SSD, you’ll transform your machine with like-new performance with the best performance upgrade available. From faster boots and application launch times to greatly improved system responsiveness, you’ll love using your “new” computer for a fraction of the cost of buying the latest model.
Go Big or Go Home
Want to use the Mercury Extreme Pro 6G SSD in a computer, dock, camera, or external storage enclosure with a 9.5mm height drive bay? Unlike other brand 7mm SSDs that either don’t include an adapter or have an edge spacer with limited adhesive surface, the Mercury Extreme Pro 6G SSD comes with a full-sized spacer for 100% secure and compatible use.

Release Candidate (RC) firmware set

There are two kinds of firmware for SSDs Mass Production (MP) and Release Candidate (RC). Prior to an MP firmware release, there are beta firmware releases and an RC firmware release. Often, the RC is the same as the MP release, however there can be small changes and bug fixes made between the two. OWC has evaluated the RC for the 6Gb/s SandForce 2281 Processor and found it to be stable with no issues reported during our testing. However, as with any evolutionary product, issues may surface as different usages and configurations are employed and it is important to understand that there will be further updates and revisions.

Since no firmware update is currently offered for the OWC Mercury EXTREME Pro 6G SSD, no update page exists. To see the typical steps involved with a self performed field firmware update, please visit our 3Gb/s product update page at: http://eshop.macsales.com/Customized_Pages/Framework.cfm?page=sf_firmware.html

It is important to note that the current firmware update tool requires the use of Windows XP/Vista/7. OWC is currently working on a Mac OS based update tool, but we do not have an exact availability date.

960GB Mercury Extreme Pro 6G SSD Specifications:

Specifications

Controller
Phison PS3112-S12 with 7% over-provisioning
NAND
Synchronous Triple-Level Cell (TLC) 3D NAND Flash
Form Factor
2.5-inch 7mm
Interface
SATA 6.0 Gb/s
Capacity
960GB useable capacity
Total Flash Memory Components – 1024GB
64GB allocated to real-time data redundancy & error correction
Formatted Capacity
894GiB
RAID Support
Yes
SMART Attributes
Standard attributes supported
Native Command Queuing
up to 32 commands
Manufacturer Model Number
S3D7P6G960
RoHS Compliant
Yes
Format

Physical

Height (max)
0.7 cm (0.3 in)
OWC 7mm – 9.5mm Adapter
1 included (buy additional)
Width (max)
7.0 cm (2.8 in)
Length (max)
10.0 cm (3.9 in)
Weight
77.0 g (0.17 lbs)

Reliability

Data Reliability
Built-in BCH ECC: Up to 66 bits correctable per 1024 bytes
Nonrecoverable Read Errors
Less than 1 sector per 1016 bits read

Performance

Sequential Reads (Max)
Up to 550 MB/s
Sequential Writes (Max)
Up to 530 MB/s
Sequential 4K Read
Up to 100,000 IOPS
Sequential 4K Write
Up to 90,000 IOPS

Power

Active
Write: 2000mW (2.0W) Maximum draw

Environmental (Operating)

Altitude
-304.8 m to 3,048.0 m (-1,000 ft to 10,000 ft)
Temperature (°F)
32°F to 158°F
Temperature (°C)
0°C to 70°C

Environmental (Non-Operating)

Altitude
304.8 m to 12,192.0 m (-1,000 ft to 40,000 ft)
Temperature (°F)
-40°F to 185°F
Temperature (°C)
-40°C to 85°C

Acoustics

Idle (Typical)
0.0 bels
Seek (Typical)
0.0 bels
  • 1GB = 1,000,000,000 bytes. Total accessible capacity varies depending upon operating environment (typically 5-10% less). The actual total capacity will depend on your own defined file settings/preferences. 
  • In terms of standard gigabytes, 1GiB ≈ 1.074GB and refers to the actual formatted capacity of shown under Mac OS 10.5 or earlier and Microsoft Windows OS.
Manufacturer provided specifications for Other World Computing p/n S3D7P6G960 UPC#: 812437029390

Gallery



This OWC SSD Model is compatible with nearly any Mac or PC model with a Serial ATA connection (SATA, SATA 2.0, or SATA 3.0) including: Learn how to find your Mac's model ID
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (15-inch 2012)
(June, 2012)
Model ID: MacBookPro9,1
2.3GHz, 2.6GHz, 2.7GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (13-inch 2012)
(June, 2012)
Model ID: MacBookPro9,2
2.5GHz, 2.9GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (17-inch 2011)
(October, 2011)
Model ID: MacBookPro8,3
2.4GHz, 2.5GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (15-inch 2011)
(October, 2011)
Model ID: MacBookPro8,2
2.2GHz, 2.4GHz, 2.5GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (13-inch 2011)
(October, 2011)
Model ID: MacBookPro8,1
2.4GHz, 2.8GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (17-inch Early 2011)
(February, 2011)
Model ID: MacBookPro8,3
2.2GHz, 2.3GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (15-inch Early 2011)
(February, 2011)
Model ID: MacBookPro8,2
2.0GHz, 2.2GHz, 2.3GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (13-inch Early 2011)
(February, 2011)
Model ID: MacBookPro8,1
2.3GHz, 2.7GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (17-inch Mid 2010)
(April, 2010)
Model ID: MacBookPro6,1
2.53GHz, 2.66GHz, 2.8GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (15-inch Mid 2010)
(April, 2010)
Model ID: MacBookPro6,2
2.4GHz, 2.53GHz, 2.66GHz, 2.8GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (13-inch Mid 2010)
(April, 2010)
Model ID: MacBookPro7,1
2.4GHz, 2.66GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (17-inch Mid 2009)
(June, 2009)
Model ID: MacBookPro5,2
2.8GHz, 3.06GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (15-inch Mid 2009)
(June, 2009)
Model ID: MacBookPro5,4
2.53GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (15-inch Mid 2009)
(June, 2009)
Model ID: MacBookPro5,3
2.66GHz, 2.8GHz, 3.06GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (13-inch Mid 2009)
(June, 2009)
Model ID: MacBookPro5,5
2.26GHz, 2.53GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (15-inch Early 2009)
(March, 2009)
Model ID: MacBookPro5,1
2.66GHz 2.93GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (15-inch Early 2009)
(March, 2009)
Model ID: MacBookPro5,1
2.66GHz 2.93GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (17-inch Early 2009)
(January, 2009)
Model ID: MacBookPro5,2
2.66GHz, 2.93GHz
MacBook Pro
MacBook Pro (17-inch Late 2008)
(October, 2008)
Model ID: MacBookPro4,1
2.5GHz, 2.6GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (15-inch Late 2008)
(October, 2008)
Model ID: MacBookPro5,1
2.4GHz, 2.53GHz, 2.66GHz 2.8GHz
MacBook Pro
MacBook Pro (17-inch Early 2008)
(February, 2008)
Model ID: MacBookPro4,1
2.5GHz, 2.6GHz
MacBook Pro
MacBook Pro (15-inch Early 2008)
(February, 2008)
Model ID: MacBookPro4,1
2.4GHz, 2.5GHz, 2.6GHz
MacBook Pro
MacBook Pro (17-inch Mid/Late 2007)
(June, 2007)
Model ID: MacBookPro3,1
2.4GHz, 2.6GHz
MacBook Pro
MacBook Pro (15-inch Mid/Late 2007)
(June, 2007)
Model ID: MacBookPro3,1
2.2GHz, 2.4GHz, 2.6GHz
MacBook Pro
MacBook Pro (17-inch Core 2 Duo)
(October, 2006)
Model ID: MacBookPro2,1
2.33GHz
MacBook Pro
MacBook Pro (15-inch Core 2 Duo)
(October, 2006)
Model ID: MacBookPro2,2
2.16GHz, 2.33GHz
MacBook Pro
MacBook Pro (15-inch Glossy)
(May, 2006)
Model ID: MacBookPro1,1
2.0GHz, 2.16GHz
MacBook Pro
MacBook Pro (17-inch)
(April, 2006)
Model ID: MacBookPro1,2
2.16GHz
MacBook Pro
MacBook Pro (15-inch)
(January, 2006)
Model ID: MacBookPro1,1
1.83GHz, 2.0GHz, 2.16GHz
MacBook White Unibody
MacBook (Mid 2010)
(May, 2010)
Model ID: MacBook7,1
2.4GHz
MacBook White Unibody
MacBook (Late 2009)
(October, 2009)
Model ID: MacBook6,1
2.26Ghz
MacBook
MacBook (Mid 2009)
(May, 2009)
Model ID: MacBook5,2
2.13GHz
MacBook
MacBook (Early 2009)
(January, 2009)
Model ID: MacBook5,2
2.0GHz
MacBook
MacBook (Late 2008)
(October, 2008)
Model ID: MacBook4,1
2.1GHz
MacBook Unibody
MacBook (Late 2008)
(October, 2008)
Model ID: MacBook5,1
2.0GHz, 2.4GHz
MacBook
MacBook (Early 2008)
(February, 2008)
Model ID: MacBook4,1
2.1GHz, 2.4GHz
MacBook
MacBook (Late 2007)
(November, 2007)
Model ID: MacBook3,1
2.0GHz, 2.2GHz
MacBook
MacBook (Mid 2007)
(May, 2007)
Model ID: MacBook2,1
2.0GHz, 2.16GHz
MacBook
MacBook (Late 2006)
(November, 2006)
Model ID: MacBook2,1
1.83GHz, 2.0GHz
MacBook
MacBook
(May, 2006)
Model ID: MacBook1,1
1.83GHz, 2.0GHz
Mac mini Intel
Mac mini (Late 2012)
(October, 2012)
Model ID: Macmini6,1 & Macmini6,2
2.3GHz, 2.5GHz, 2.6GHz
Mac mini Intel
Mac mini (Late 2012 Server)
(October, 2012)
Model ID: Macmini6,2
2.3GHz, 2.6GHz
Mac mini Intel
Mac mini (Mid 2011)
(July, 2011)
Model ID: Macmini5,1 & Macmini5,2
2.3GHz, 2.5GHz, 2.7GHz
Mac mini Intel
Mac mini (Mid 2011 Server)
(July, 2011)
Model ID: Macmini5,3
2.0GHz
Mac mini Intel
Mac mini (Mid 2010)
(June, 2010)
Model ID: Macmini4,1
2.4GHz, 2.66GHz
Mac mini Intel
Mac mini (Mid 2010 Server)
(June, 2010)
Model ID: Macmini4,1
2.66GHz
Mac mini Intel
Mac mini (Early 2009)
(March, 2009)
Model ID: Macmini3,1
2.0GHz, 2.26GHz
Mac mini Intel
Mac mini (Late 2009 Server)
(October, 2009)
Model ID: Macmini3,1
2.53GHz
Mac mini Intel
Mac mini (Late 2009)
(October, 2009)
Model ID: Macmini3,1
2.26GHz, 2.53GHz, 2.66GHz
Mac mini Intel
Mac mini (Mid 2007)
(August, 2007)
Model ID: Macmini2,1
1.83GHz, 2.0GHz
iMac Intel
iMac (27-inch Late 2013)
(September, 2013)
Model ID: iMac14,2
3.2GHz i5, 3.4GHz i5, 3.5GHz i7
iMac Intel
iMac (21.5-inch Late 2013)
(September, 2013)
Model ID: iMac14,1; iMac14,3
2.7GHz i5, 2.9GHz i5, 3.1GHz i7
iMac Intel
iMac (21.5-inch Early 2013)
(March, 2013)
Model ID: iMac13,3
3.3GHz i3
iMac Intel
iMac (27-inch Late 2012)
(November, 2012)
Model ID: iMac13,2
2.9GHz i5, 3.2GHz i5, 3.4GHz i7
iMac Intel
iMac (21.5-inch Late 2012)
(November, 2012)
Model ID: iMac13,1
2.7GHz i5, 2.9GHz i5, 3.1GHz i7
iMac Intel
iMac (27-inch Mid 2011)
(May, 2011)
Model ID: iMac12,2
2.7GHz i5, 3.1GHz i5, 3.4GHz i7
iMac Intel
iMac (21.5-inch Mid 2011)
(May, 2011)
Model ID: iMac12,1
2.5GHz i5, 2.7GHz i5, 2.8GHz i7
iMac Intel
iMac (27-inch Mid 2010)
(July, 2010)
Model ID: iMac11,3
2.8GHz, 2.93GHz, 3.2GHz, 3.6GHz
iMac Intel
iMac (21.5-inch Mid 2010)
(July, 2010)
Model ID: iMac11,2
3.06GHz, 3.2GHz, 3.6GHz
iMac Intel
iMac (27-inch Mid 2010)
(July, 2010)
Model ID: iMac11,3
2.8GHz i5, 2.93GHz i5, 3.6GHz i7
iMac Intel
iMac (21.5-inch Mid 2010)
(July, 2010)
Model ID: iMac11,2
3.6GHz i5
iMac Intel
iMac (27-inch Mid 2010)
(July 2010)
Model ID: iMac11,1
2.66GHz i5, 2.8GHz i7
iMac Intel
iMac (27-inch Late 2009)
(October 2009)
Model ID: iMac10,1
3.06GHz, 3.33GHz
iMac Intel
iMac (21.5-inch Late 2009)
(October, 2009)
Model ID: iMac10,1
3.06GHz, 3.33GHz
iMac Intel
iMac (20-inch Mid 2009)
(April 2009)
Model ID: iMac9,1
2.0GHz, 2.26GHz
iMac Intel
iMac (24-inch Early 2009)
(March 2009)
Model ID: iMac9,1
2.66GHz, 2.93GHz, 3.06GHz
iMac Intel
iMac (20-inch Early 2009)
(March 2009)
Model ID: iMac9,1
2.66GHz
This OWC SSD is compatible with the Mac Pro models listed below when mounted with:
- NewerTech AdaptaDrive 2.5" to 3.5" Drive Converter Bracket only $14.25
Mac Pro
Mac Pro 12-Core (Mid 2010)
(July, 2010)
Model ID: MacPro5,1
2.66GHz, 2.93GHz
Mac Pro
Mac Pro 8-Core (Mid 2010)
(July, 2010)
Model ID: MacPro5,1
2.4GHz
Mac Pro
Mac Pro 6-Core (Mid 2010)
(July, 2010)
Model ID: MacPro5,1
3.33GHz
Mac Pro
Mac Pro 4-Core (Mid 2010)
(July, 2010)
Model ID: MacPro5,1
2.8GHz, 3.2GHz
Mac Pro
Mac Pro 8-Core (Early 2009)
(March, 2009)
Model ID: MacPro4,1
2.26GHz, 2.66GHz, 2.93GHz
Mac Pro
Mac Pro 4-Core (Early 2009)
(March, 2009)
Model ID: MacPro4,1
2.66GHz, 2.93GHz, 3.33GHz
Mac Pro
Mac Pro 4-Core (Early 2008)
(January, 2008)
Model ID: MacPro3,1
2.8GHz
Mac Pro
Mac Pro 8-Core (Early 2008)
(January, 2008)
Model ID: MacPro3,1
2.8GHz, 3.0GHz, 3.2GHz
Mac Pro
Mac Pro 8-core (Early 2007)
(April, 2007)
Model ID: MacPro2,1
3.0GHz

Includes

  • (1) Mercury Extreme Pro 6G SSD
  • (1) 7mm – 9.5mm Spacer

Customer Ratings

Write a Review 4.9 / 5 107 out of 113 (95%) reviewers would recommend this product
1 2 3 4 5 6 7
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Washington DC Age: 25-34 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 New Life in MBP 8,2 June 23, 2016 Very satisfied with this upgrade! We've taken a computer that was ready for the pasture and put some spring back in it's step. What was 90 seconds to boot, is now 15. Where the laptop was taking 30 seconds to launch a program, its down to 5 seconds.

Excellent product, install was easy. One item to note - make sure you set the system clock after you get the drive installed or 10.11.X (el capitan) may fail to install.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 480GB Mercury Extreme Pro 6G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 6.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

Verified Buyer Top 100 Contributor
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Arizona Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 3-4 months
Rating: 5/5 FAST!!!!!!!!! June 11, 2016 I made the SSD my OSX drive and used El Capitan so there were no issues with a hybrid configuration. This drive is faster than any thing else I have ever had. El Capitan and the i5 processor maximizes the use of the SSD. I do a lot of music and need super fast latency. I got it with this drive.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 240GB Mercury Extreme Pro 6G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 6.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Sandy Spring, MD Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 3-4 months
Rating: 5/5 Wow June 1, 2016 You know, I always throw the most memory I can onto a system as it has always been, bang for buck, the single most effecting thing you can do to increase performance. I have to say though, upgrading the drive from spinning platter to solid state has to go on par with increasing memory, because when memory maxes out, it uses the drive and other processes are done via the drive no matter what. You want to improve the overall experience? Try a SSD! Upgrading memory in our Macbook was very important, replacing the hard drive with SDD really breathed new life into an 8 year old computer!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 240GB Mercury Extreme Pro 6G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 6.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Melbourne, Australia Age: 25-34 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Easy speed boost May 17, 2016 I installed this into my 17' mid 2010 macnook pro. This along with some new ram and a fresh OS install has the MBP behaving like a whole new laptop. Amazing since it is almost 7 years old now. #vintage

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 480GB Mercury Extreme Pro 6G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 6.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

Verified Buyer Top 250 Contributor
Reviewer: Eldento Location: Puerto Rico Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 Best drive I ever bought May 17, 2016 This was my first SSD for a Mac Mini 2012 i5 16Gig. What can I say? Is the best drive I ever try. I was a little bit hesitant on buying an SSD to try, maybe because of the high cost or maybe because it was something new in the tech market. But decided to take the chance and spend a little bit more money than usual on a HD. No regrets. If you haven't move to an SSD you haven't experienced what speed is all about. My mini used to take about a minute and a half to start. Maybe is not that long to wait. But when I installed the SSD it only took 19 secs to start. And the apps open before you can blink twice. No more "beach ball" on my screen every time I opened an app. And a 5 years warranty. What else can you expect on a company that back their products with this kind of warranty.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 480GB Mercury Extreme Pro 6G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 6.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Adelaide SA Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 Excellent product May 13, 2016 This is a seriously good upgrade - my computer used to take 1 min and 20 seconds to boot - after installing this SSD as the operating system disk it now boots in 16 seconds!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from (*) 240GB Mercury Extreme Pro 6G SSD 2.5-inch 9.5mm SATA 6.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: PA Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 Great drive. May 6, 2016 So far these are very nice. They seem dependable and are easy to use. The function like regular drives and I have had no differences in setup or cloning to deal with on Win 7. Cloning on Win 10 did not work, but that's win 10. I use these on three desktop machines for pro graphics apps.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 480GB Mercury Extreme Pro 6G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 6.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous
Rating: 5/5 Notice the difference April 30, 2016 If u have hard drive replace it with the sdd

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 1.0TB Mercury Extreme Pro 6G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 6.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Kansas City, MO Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Works great, very fast April 29, 2016 Installed as system drive in a 2009 MacPro and the speed improvement of the functionality of the computer is significant. The SSD is running via Accelsior S PCIe card.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 480GB Mercury Extreme Pro 6G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 6.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Tampa, FL Age: 55-65 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Great Product Efficiently Delivered April 29, 2016 I have a well-known company that specializes in memory and hard drive products for PCs. Now I have that with OWC as my go-to source for MAC memory and SSDs.

OWC efficiently delivered the SSD for our Mac Mini, it was installed, and it is running as well as the smaller SSD it replaced.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 480GB Mercury Extreme Pro 6G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 6.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous
Rating: 5/5 Great HD April 21, 2016 Great HD and priced just right

This review is from 480GB Mercury Extreme Pro 6G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 6.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

Verified Buyer Top 250 Contributor
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Nashville TN area Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Blind buy April 21, 2016 This was bought at the time before I understood the OWC experience & the SSD thing. So when this "card" showed up in my mail I was a tad confused. So, a couple of "duh" questions to the OWC team, & they not only treated me with the highest of consideration & got my concerns/fires out, they did it FAST. I'll say it was no more than maybe 10 mins. & I had an email walking me thru procedures with top shelf clarity. This purchase basically led me to the other purchases on which I'll write my reviews. All the products are fantastic & are at work now with no glitches whatsoever, but I wanted to take a moment to brag on that OWC TOP SHELF customer service. ;-)

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 120GB Mercury Extreme Pro 6G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 6.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Denver, CO Age: 45-54 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Easy Install, Great Performance April 18, 2016 Summary says it all. My MacBook Pro feels snappy and responsive.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 480GB Mercury Extreme Pro 6G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 6.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Georgia Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 3-4 months
Rating: 5/5 Product April 16, 2016 Great way to get around downloading El Capitan on a new hard drive. The instructions did not come with the product as stated. The hard drive is a great way to speed up your computer. I recommend this to everyone.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 120GB Mercury Extreme Pro 6G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 6.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: NE Florida Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 Great Drive April 2, 2016 Great drive, really sped my Mac up on start up and general use

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 120GB Mercury Extreme Pro 6G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 6.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: India Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Fantastic Product - Doubled my 2011 iMac's performance March 31, 2016 I installed this product along with an"OWC Data Doubler Optical Bay Hard Drive/SSD Mounting Solution for iMac 2009-2011" (the Data Doubler pack from MacSales) using the instructional video provided by MacSales. Took no longer than 15 mins and was as easy as pie.

However, on testing the new installation on my mid 2011 27" iMac, the drive speed was not that much faster (from 160 MBPS HDD to 250 MBPS SSD) which, after some research turned out to be due to the optical drive SATA port being a 3Gbps port and not a 6Gbps port. After a little more investigating I found that there is a spare 6Gbps port on the mid 2011 model which is empty.

So I reopened the machine and successfully moved the connector to the spare port on the logic board (using one of the mac sales tutorials) and its working perfectly now. By doing this, Read speeds have been bumped from 250 MBPS on the 3Gbps port to 380 MBPS and write from 250MBPS from the 3Gbps port to 500MBPS.

I would suggest that macsales put a note up on the website or add an annotation in one of your videos for others to see as this is a key piece of information for people purchasing the data doubler to replace their optical drives on 2011 27" imacs.

In summary - keeping the above mentioned info in mind, the data doubler should not take more than 30 mins to install. This was the first time I had ever opened a mac so if I can do it - so can you! Just be very careful with the logic board connectors and don't try to rush anything.

In any case - Thank you MacSales for providing such a fantastic service, quick international shipping and excellent support. Well done.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 480GB Mercury Extreme Pro 6G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 6.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Billerica, MA Age: 45-54 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Great product, gave new life to old iMac March 19, 2016 I purchased this as a replacement for my iMac mid 2011 as a replacement for the standard HDD. The instructions were well done and I only had one issue (not with the drive).

Since project was completed, the 5+ year old iMac is like a new computer.

This review is from 1.0TB Mercury Extreme Pro 6G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 6.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous
Rating: 5/5 Great SSD Drive and Customer Service March 17, 2016 I have an older Macbook Pro and didn't want to dish out the bucks for a new one, so I decided to give upgrades a try. The OWC website had all of the info I required to find what I needed. The new Drive was exactly as described. The online videos made the replacement easy. I did have a couple of questions about moving the data and called customer service. The tech walked me through the entire procedure as well as sending me a document via email. The drive, along with the 16G memory upgrade have brought my Mac back to life!!! Don't look further for Mac parts. I will be a customer for life.

Larry H.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 1.0TB Mercury Extreme Pro 6G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 6.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: El Cerrito, CA Age: Over 65 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Does the job par excellence March 17, 2016 I installed this device using the SATA SSD Host Adapter on my Mac Pro (Mid 2010) to mirror my primary (Mercury Accelsior E2). Works like a champ with great boot times. Now I Have the peace of mind that comes with boot-drive redundancy.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 1.0TB Mercury Extreme Pro 6G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 6.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Mammoth Lakes, CA Age: 55-65 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Easy install and really sped up my vintage MBPro8,3! March 17, 2016 SSD shipped/arrived as quickly as promised. Also was as easy to install and configure as directions stated. Speed tests proved as advertised and TRIM enabler sees it just fine. Not sure yet whether enabling TRIM will have a measurable affect. Using as the boot/system disk and sized large enough to move my home directory back to it. Has speeded up boot time, normal launch times and copy times from/to 2nd HD. Boot-ups are almost instantaneous and copies are many times faster than before (seeing at least 6GB/min)

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 1.0TB Mercury Extreme Pro 6G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 6.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: México City Age: 25-34 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Perfect SSD March 10, 2016 The best SSD / FAST / In the past SSDs were considered somewhat pricey upgrades and out of reach for many users. The best price / The best quality ---- OWC ----

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 240GB Mercury Extreme Pro 6G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 6.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous
Rating: 5/5 1TB SSD March 10, 2016 I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 1.0TB Mercury Extreme Pro 6G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 6.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.
Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Vancouver, B.C. Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Great product at a great price March 7, 2016 Just installed this SSD in my MacBook Pro. It's a huge upgrade over the stock hard drive. Easy to install with a good how-to video too.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 480GB Mercury Extreme Pro 6G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 6.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

Reviewer: Anonymous Location: California Age: 25-34 Experience Level: Hobbiest Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Satisfied March 6, 2016 Just want to say I am very satisfied with this purchase. Love that it came with everything I need and the install tutorials were very simple, especially the case to convert my old hard drive into an external, very cool. Buying the SSD pro and 16 GB Ram has literally made my computer brand new, and I have no anxieties about having to spend over 1k for a new macbook for another couple of years. Shipping was quick too!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 240GB Mercury Extreme Pro 6G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 6.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Dallas, TX Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Fast and works great! February 25, 2016 I use this drive with a OWC dual bay thunderbolt drive dock and it works great. I'm a photographer and use this SSD as my working drive for image files when editing a project in Lightroom and Photoshop. This speeds up the process quite a bit as compared to using a 7200rpm thunderbolt external HDD.

After I've finished a project, I transfer it to an external HDD Raid array for permanent storage. So I just use the SSD for extra speed when initially editing the project.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 480GB Mercury Extreme Pro 6G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 6.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

OWC 1.0TB Mercury Extreme Pro 6G SSD Mfr P/N: S3D7P6G960 OWC SKU: OWCS3D7P6G960D Limited Edition Black Drive 2.5" SATA 6Gb/s SSD featuring the best performance and longevity for every use… from performance enthusiasts to production professionals. Mac and PC compatible 2 Year OWC Limited Warranty
Sold Out