Home » Internal Hard Drives and SSDs » OWC Mercury Extreme Pro 6G SSDs

We're sorry, but this item is no longer for sale. However, there may be more Internal Hard Drives and SSDs items available.

This was a used product listing. For more great deals on Open Box, Refurbished and Used items, keep an eye on our Garage Sale page. Or join our email list and be the first to know when new items become available!

We sell this item brand new for $199.00, view our listing.

OWC

1.0TB Mercury Extreme Pro 6G SSD

Demo Unit | Open Box

Limited Edition Black Drive | 2.5" | Serial-ATA
A Legacy of Class-Leading Performance
The best performance and longevity in a 2.5-inch SATA SSD for every use
When the first Mercury Extreme Pro 6G SSD was launched nearly a decade ago, it was built to be the fastest, most reliable, and longest enduring 2.5-inch SATA Solid State Drive on the market. The evolution of OWC’s premier 2.5-inch SATA SSD continues that legacy with up to 5x faster performance over the duration of its capacity versus other drives. If you have a Mac or PC with a 6G SATA drive bay, the Mercury Extreme Pro 6G SSD is the fastest 2.5-inch SSD available today.
Starts Fast, Stays Fast
Even though many SSDs use low cost, less robust components in their design, they can still offer enticing short term bust speeds which are perfectly suitable for light duty uses. However, these drives are not designed to deliver consistent sustained speeds over their capacity rating, which results in a dramatic slowdown to even hard drive speeds under demanding use.
The fifth generation of Mercury Extreme Pro 6G SSD was built to start fast and stay fast. Its development began with using the best flash storage components and technology available. Next, after being nearly completely filled to capacity with data, it had to deliver the same high speed as if it were empty. This drive doesn’t flinch at any time or capacity level and drop read/write speeds like other drives do…it easily handles the most extreme, mission-critical uses you can throw at it.
Get Your Money’s Worth
When a low-priced “commodity” built SSD’s performance drops off significantly, many users replace the drive far before all its storage capacity is used to regain that “like new” speed feeling. The Mercury Extreme Pro 6G SSD was engineered to keep you working full speed ahead over the duration of the drive to deliver an overall lower cost of ownership.
Workhorse Revitalizer
With your investment in apps and time getting that beloved workhorse Mac or PC configured just the way you like; it makes sense to get all the use you can out of the machine before retiring it. By revitalizing your Mac or PC with a Mercury Extreme Pro 6G SSD, you’ll transform your machine with like-new performance with the best performance upgrade available. From faster boots and application launch times to greatly improved system responsiveness, you’ll love using your “new” computer for a fraction of the cost of buying the latest model.
Go Big or Go Home
Want to use the Mercury Extreme Pro 6G SSD in a computer, dock, camera, or external storage enclosure with a 9.5mm height drive bay? Unlike other brand 7mm SSDs that either don’t include an adapter or have an edge spacer with limited adhesive surface, the Mercury Extreme Pro 6G SSD comes with a full-sized spacer for 100% secure and compatible use.

Release Candidate (RC) firmware set

There are two kinds of firmware for SSDs Mass Production (MP) and Release Candidate (RC). Prior to an MP firmware release, there are beta firmware releases and an RC firmware release. Often, the RC is the same as the MP release, however there can be small changes and bug fixes made between the two. OWC has evaluated the RC for the 6Gb/s SandForce 2281 Processor and found it to be stable with no issues reported during our testing. However, as with any evolutionary product, issues may surface as different usages and configurations are employed and it is important to understand that there will be further updates and revisions.

Since no firmware update is currently offered for the OWC Mercury EXTREME Pro 6G SSD, no update page exists. To see the typical steps involved with a self performed field firmware update, please visit our 3Gb/s product update page at: http://eshop.macsales.com/Customized_Pages/Framework.cfm?page=sf_firmware.html

It is important to note that the current firmware update tool requires the use of Windows XP/Vista/7. OWC is currently working on a Mac OS based update tool, but we do not have an exact availability date.

960GB Mercury Extreme Pro 6G SSD Specifications:

Specifications

Controller
Phison PS3112-S12 with 7% over-provisioning
NAND
Synchronous Triple-Level Cell (TLC) 3D NAND Flash
Form Factor
2.5-inch 7mm
Interface
SATA 6.0 Gb/s
Capacity
960GB useable capacity
Total Flash Memory Components – 1024GB
64GB allocated to real-time data redundancy & error correction
Formatted Capacity
894GiB
RAID Support
Yes
SMART Attributes
Standard attributes supported
Native Command Queuing
up to 32 commands
Manufacturer Model Number
S3D7P6G960
RoHS Compliant
Yes
Format

Physical

Height (max)
0.7 cm (0.3 in)
OWC 7mm – 9.5mm Adapter
1 included (buy additional)
Width (max)
7.0 cm (2.8 in)
Length (max)
10.0 cm (3.9 in)
Weight
77.0 g (0.17 lbs)

Reliability

Data Reliability
Built-in BCH ECC: Up to 66 bits correctable per 1024 bytes
Nonrecoverable Read Errors
Less than 1 sector per 1016 bits read

Performance

Sequential Reads (Max)
Up to 550 MB/s
Sequential Writes (Max)
Up to 530 MB/s
Sequential 4K Read
Up to 100,000 IOPS
Sequential 4K Write
Up to 90,000 IOPS

Power

Active
Write: 2000mW (2.0W) Maximum draw

Environmental (Operating)

Altitude
-304.8 m to 3,048.0 m (-1,000 ft to 10,000 ft)
Temperature (°F)
32°F to 158°F
Temperature (°C)
0°C to 70°C

Environmental (Non-Operating)

Altitude
304.8 m to 12,192.0 m (-1,000 ft to 40,000 ft)
Temperature (°F)
-40°F to 185°F
Temperature (°C)
-40°C to 85°C

Acoustics

Idle (Typical)
0.0 bels
Seek (Typical)
0.0 bels
  • 1GB = 1,000,000,000 bytes. Total accessible capacity varies depending upon operating environment (typically 5-10% less). The actual total capacity will depend on your own defined file settings/preferences. 
  • In terms of standard gigabytes, 1GiB ≈ 1.074GB and refers to the actual formatted capacity of shown under Mac OS 10.5 or earlier and Microsoft Windows OS.
Manufacturer provided specifications for Other World Computing p/n S3D7P6G960 UPC#: 812437029390

Gallery



This OWC SSD Model is compatible with nearly any Mac or PC model with a Serial ATA connection (SATA, SATA 2.0, or SATA 3.0) including: Learn how to find your Mac's model ID
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (15-inch 2012)
(June, 2012)
Model ID: MacBookPro9,1
2.3GHz, 2.6GHz, 2.7GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (13-inch 2012)
(June, 2012)
Model ID: MacBookPro9,2
2.5GHz, 2.9GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (17-inch 2011)
(October, 2011)
Model ID: MacBookPro8,3
2.4GHz, 2.5GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (15-inch 2011)
(October, 2011)
Model ID: MacBookPro8,2
2.2GHz, 2.4GHz, 2.5GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (13-inch 2011)
(October, 2011)
Model ID: MacBookPro8,1
2.4GHz, 2.8GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (17-inch Early 2011)
(February, 2011)
Model ID: MacBookPro8,3
2.2GHz, 2.3GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (15-inch Early 2011)
(February, 2011)
Model ID: MacBookPro8,2
2.0GHz, 2.2GHz, 2.3GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (13-inch Early 2011)
(February, 2011)
Model ID: MacBookPro8,1
2.3GHz, 2.7GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (17-inch Mid 2010)
(April, 2010)
Model ID: MacBookPro6,1
2.53GHz, 2.66GHz, 2.8GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (15-inch Mid 2010)
(April, 2010)
Model ID: MacBookPro6,2
2.4GHz, 2.53GHz, 2.66GHz, 2.8GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (13-inch Mid 2010)
(April, 2010)
Model ID: MacBookPro7,1
2.4GHz, 2.66GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (17-inch Mid 2009)
(June, 2009)
Model ID: MacBookPro5,2
2.8GHz, 3.06GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (15-inch Mid 2009)
(June, 2009)
Model ID: MacBookPro5,4
2.53GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (15-inch Mid 2009)
(June, 2009)
Model ID: MacBookPro5,3
2.66GHz, 2.8GHz, 3.06GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (13-inch Mid 2009)
(June, 2009)
Model ID: MacBookPro5,5
2.26GHz, 2.53GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (15-inch Early 2009)
(March, 2009)
Model ID: MacBookPro5,1
2.66GHz 2.93GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (15-inch Early 2009)
(March, 2009)
Model ID: MacBookPro5,1
2.66GHz 2.93GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (17-inch Early 2009)
(January, 2009)
Model ID: MacBookPro5,2
2.66GHz, 2.93GHz
MacBook Pro
MacBook Pro (17-inch Late 2008)
(October, 2008)
Model ID: MacBookPro4,1
2.5GHz, 2.6GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (15-inch Late 2008)
(October, 2008)
Model ID: MacBookPro5,1
2.4GHz, 2.53GHz, 2.66GHz 2.8GHz
MacBook Pro
MacBook Pro (17-inch Early 2008)
(February, 2008)
Model ID: MacBookPro4,1
2.5GHz, 2.6GHz
MacBook Pro
MacBook Pro (15-inch Early 2008)
(February, 2008)
Model ID: MacBookPro4,1
2.4GHz, 2.5GHz, 2.6GHz
MacBook Pro
MacBook Pro (17-inch Mid/Late 2007)
(June, 2007)
Model ID: MacBookPro3,1
2.4GHz, 2.6GHz
MacBook Pro
MacBook Pro (15-inch Mid/Late 2007)
(June, 2007)
Model ID: MacBookPro3,1
2.2GHz, 2.4GHz, 2.6GHz
MacBook Pro
MacBook Pro (17-inch Core 2 Duo)
(October, 2006)
Model ID: MacBookPro2,1
2.33GHz
MacBook Pro
MacBook Pro (15-inch Core 2 Duo)
(October, 2006)
Model ID: MacBookPro2,2
2.16GHz, 2.33GHz
MacBook Pro
MacBook Pro (15-inch Glossy)
(May, 2006)
Model ID: MacBookPro1,1
2.0GHz, 2.16GHz
MacBook Pro
MacBook Pro (17-inch)
(April, 2006)
Model ID: MacBookPro1,2
2.16GHz
MacBook Pro
MacBook Pro (15-inch)
(January, 2006)
Model ID: MacBookPro1,1
1.83GHz, 2.0GHz, 2.16GHz
MacBook White Unibody
MacBook (Mid 2010)
(May, 2010)
Model ID: MacBook7,1
2.4GHz
MacBook White Unibody
MacBook (Late 2009)
(October, 2009)
Model ID: MacBook6,1
2.26Ghz
MacBook
MacBook (Mid 2009)
(May, 2009)
Model ID: MacBook5,2
2.13GHz
MacBook
MacBook (Early 2009)
(January, 2009)
Model ID: MacBook5,2
2.0GHz
MacBook
MacBook (Late 2008)
(October, 2008)
Model ID: MacBook4,1
2.1GHz
MacBook Unibody
MacBook (Late 2008)
(October, 2008)
Model ID: MacBook5,1
2.0GHz, 2.4GHz
MacBook
MacBook (Early 2008)
(February, 2008)
Model ID: MacBook4,1
2.1GHz, 2.4GHz
MacBook
MacBook (Late 2007)
(November, 2007)
Model ID: MacBook3,1
2.0GHz, 2.2GHz
MacBook
MacBook (Mid 2007)
(May, 2007)
Model ID: MacBook2,1
2.0GHz, 2.16GHz
MacBook
MacBook (Late 2006)
(November, 2006)
Model ID: MacBook2,1
1.83GHz, 2.0GHz
MacBook
MacBook
(May, 2006)
Model ID: MacBook1,1
1.83GHz, 2.0GHz
Mac mini Intel
Mac mini (Late 2012)
(October, 2012)
Model ID: Macmini6,1 & Macmini6,2
2.3GHz, 2.5GHz, 2.6GHz
Mac mini Intel
Mac mini (Late 2012 Server)
(October, 2012)
Model ID: Macmini6,2
2.3GHz, 2.6GHz
Mac mini Intel
Mac mini (Mid 2011)
(July, 2011)
Model ID: Macmini5,1 & Macmini5,2
2.3GHz, 2.5GHz, 2.7GHz
Mac mini Intel
Mac mini (Mid 2011 Server)
(July, 2011)
Model ID: Macmini5,3
2.0GHz
Mac mini Intel
Mac mini (Mid 2010)
(June, 2010)
Model ID: Macmini4,1
2.4GHz, 2.66GHz
Mac mini Intel
Mac mini (Mid 2010 Server)
(June, 2010)
Model ID: Macmini4,1
2.66GHz
Mac mini Intel
Mac mini (Early 2009)
(March, 2009)
Model ID: Macmini3,1
2.0GHz, 2.26GHz
Mac mini Intel
Mac mini (Late 2009 Server)
(October, 2009)
Model ID: Macmini3,1
2.53GHz
Mac mini Intel
Mac mini (Late 2009)
(October, 2009)
Model ID: Macmini3,1
2.26GHz, 2.53GHz, 2.66GHz
Mac mini Intel
Mac mini (Mid 2007)
(August, 2007)
Model ID: Macmini2,1
1.83GHz, 2.0GHz
iMac Intel
iMac (27-inch Late 2013)
(September, 2013)
Model ID: iMac14,2
3.2GHz i5, 3.4GHz i5, 3.5GHz i7
iMac Intel
iMac (21.5-inch Late 2013)
(September, 2013)
Model ID: iMac14,1; iMac14,3
2.7GHz i5, 2.9GHz i5, 3.1GHz i7
iMac Intel
iMac (21.5-inch Early 2013)
(March, 2013)
Model ID: iMac13,3
3.3GHz i3
iMac Intel
iMac (27-inch Late 2012)
(November, 2012)
Model ID: iMac13,2
2.9GHz i5, 3.2GHz i5, 3.4GHz i7
iMac Intel
iMac (21.5-inch Late 2012)
(November, 2012)
Model ID: iMac13,1
2.7GHz i5, 2.9GHz i5, 3.1GHz i7
iMac Intel
iMac (27-inch Mid 2011)
(May, 2011)
Model ID: iMac12,2
2.7GHz i5, 3.1GHz i5, 3.4GHz i7
iMac Intel
iMac (21.5-inch Mid 2011)
(May, 2011)
Model ID: iMac12,1
2.5GHz i5, 2.7GHz i5, 2.8GHz i7
iMac Intel
iMac (27-inch Mid 2010)
(July, 2010)
Model ID: iMac11,3
2.8GHz, 2.93GHz, 3.2GHz, 3.6GHz
iMac Intel
iMac (21.5-inch Mid 2010)
(July, 2010)
Model ID: iMac11,2
3.06GHz, 3.2GHz, 3.6GHz
iMac Intel
iMac (27-inch Mid 2010)
(July, 2010)
Model ID: iMac11,3
2.8GHz i5, 2.93GHz i5, 3.6GHz i7
iMac Intel
iMac (21.5-inch Mid 2010)
(July, 2010)
Model ID: iMac11,2
3.6GHz i5
iMac Intel
iMac (27-inch Mid 2010)
(July 2010)
Model ID: iMac11,1
2.66GHz i5, 2.8GHz i7
iMac Intel
iMac (27-inch Late 2009)
(October 2009)
Model ID: iMac10,1
3.06GHz, 3.33GHz
iMac Intel
iMac (21.5-inch Late 2009)
(October, 2009)
Model ID: iMac10,1
3.06GHz, 3.33GHz
iMac Intel
iMac (20-inch Mid 2009)
(April 2009)
Model ID: iMac9,1
2.0GHz, 2.26GHz
iMac Intel
iMac (24-inch Early 2009)
(March 2009)
Model ID: iMac9,1
2.66GHz, 2.93GHz, 3.06GHz
iMac Intel
iMac (20-inch Early 2009)
(March 2009)
Model ID: iMac9,1
2.66GHz
This OWC SSD is compatible with the Mac Pro models listed below when mounted with:
- NewerTech AdaptaDrive 2.5" to 3.5" Drive Converter Bracket only $14.25
Mac Pro
Mac Pro 12-Core (Mid 2010)
(July, 2010)
Model ID: MacPro5,1
2.66GHz, 2.93GHz
Mac Pro
Mac Pro 8-Core (Mid 2010)
(July, 2010)
Model ID: MacPro5,1
2.4GHz
Mac Pro
Mac Pro 6-Core (Mid 2010)
(July, 2010)
Model ID: MacPro5,1
3.33GHz
Mac Pro
Mac Pro 4-Core (Mid 2010)
(July, 2010)
Model ID: MacPro5,1
2.8GHz, 3.2GHz
Mac Pro
Mac Pro 8-Core (Early 2009)
(March, 2009)
Model ID: MacPro4,1
2.26GHz, 2.66GHz, 2.93GHz
Mac Pro
Mac Pro 4-Core (Early 2009)
(March, 2009)
Model ID: MacPro4,1
2.66GHz, 2.93GHz, 3.33GHz
Mac Pro
Mac Pro 4-Core (Early 2008)
(January, 2008)
Model ID: MacPro3,1
2.8GHz
Mac Pro
Mac Pro 8-Core (Early 2008)
(January, 2008)
Model ID: MacPro3,1
2.8GHz, 3.0GHz, 3.2GHz
Mac Pro
Mac Pro 8-core (Early 2007)
(April, 2007)
Model ID: MacPro2,1
3.0GHz

Includes

  • (1) Mercury Extreme Pro 6G SSD
  • (1) 7mm – 9.5mm Spacer

Customer Ratings

Write a Review 4.9 / 5 107 out of 113 (95%) reviewers would recommend this product
1 2 3 4 5 6 7
Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Nashville Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 works great from video recording September 30, 2014 I have 20 of this and the previous model for video capture. They work great in my Mac, Sound Devices PIX 260, atamos samurai, and Black Magic Shuttle.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 240GB Mercury Extreme Pro 6G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 6.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

Verified Buyer Top 250 Contributor
Reviewer: Anonymous
Rating: 5/5 IMac September 27, 2014 Excelent product.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 480GB Mercury Extreme Pro 6G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 6.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Durham, NC Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 This is a great product, I am not very technical but it was easy to install and my wife's computer is much much faster August 22, 2014 I would like to recommend the company in addition to the product, I spoke to a real live person, who knew the products and was able to help me out technically. He was personable and the product was shipped on time with clear return instructions if it didn't meet my needs. It is great to see an American company operate this way.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 240GB Mercury Extreme Pro 6G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 6.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Atlanta Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 "A definite Must do.." July 9, 2014 I upgraded my 17" Macbook Pro about a month ago with the 480ghz Mercury extreme 6g and 16 gigs of ram as well. My Macbook pro is a speed demon it zips thru anything and no more beach ball with any applications...Don't let the price of the upgrades scare you it is so worth it.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 480GB Mercury Extreme Pro 6G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 6.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Indianapolis, IN Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 outstanding value May 2, 2014 Great value and excellent service. I have bought many things from OWC over the years, and have always been happy.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 120GB Mercury Extreme Pro 6G SSD 2.5-inch 9.5mm SATA 6.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Galway Ireland Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 This product is sensational February 11, 2014 Very good SSD my MacBook Pro early 2011 immediately accelerated. The computer is quiet everything works very well.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from (*) 240GB Mercury Extreme Pro 6G SSD 2.5-inch 9.5mm SATA 6.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

Verified Buyer Top 250 Contributor
Reviewer: HiggsBoson Location: Simpsonville, KY Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 First time SSD owner January 19, 2014 This drive flies like the wind. Buckle up and enjoy the ride.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 120GB Mercury Extreme Pro 6G SSD 2.5-inch 9.5mm SATA 6.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Charlotte, NC Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Don't wait! December 28, 2013 My original hard drive started acting up so I decided to try a 240GB Mercury EXTREME Pro 6G SSD in my late 2011 MacBook Pro. WOW! Boot times went from 90 seconds to 16. Applications open as fast as I can click on them. Make the change, you can't buy another upgrade that will improve your performance this much. The only issue I have now is I'm going to have to buy another one for my Mac Mini.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from (*) 240GB Mercury Extreme Pro 6G SSD 2.5-inch 9.5mm SATA 6.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Richmond, Indiana Age: 18-24 Experience Level: Hobbiest Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 BIG Difference in speed November 23, 2013 I purchased the solid state drive because I was wanting a fast computer and a MacBook Pro 13in 2.9Ghz i7 processor. I am a huge nerd for technology, if you think this is a review from the store your wrong. I am making this review more towards the assistance of helping my install my product. I would rate this a 5 out 5 . Customer service was really good, more like great to tell you the truth. Out of my whole machine I have to say the product I ordered is probably the only AMERICAN made item inside my MacBoo Pro. I like the fact that it has a 5 year warranty, when I say that it was a shocker for me. OWC is my new and favorite online store to purchase quality both support and products made. I would recommend this product and store to everyone I meet.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from (*) 240GB Mercury Extreme Pro 6G SSD 2.5-inch 9.5mm SATA 6.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Houston,TX Age: 25-34 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 WOW!!!!!!!!!! October 26, 2013 I got this for my 2012 Macbook Pro to speed it up after replacing my wives computer with a samsung evo 840 I thought that was fast until I got my EXTREME and they called it right I watched videos of ssd upgrades in mac but this thing blows any of the videos away that I have watched it takes about 9 seconds to boot up wow I would recommend this hard drive to anybody with a Mac

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 120GB Mercury Extreme Pro 6G SSD 2.5-inch 9.5mm SATA 6.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

Verified Buyer Top 250 Contributor
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Doha, Qatar Age: 25-34 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 One of the best SSD's out there! September 10, 2013 OWC SSD's are well known for their performance and this one delivers too. I upgraded the HDD of my mid 2012 macbook pro 15' and it works great. Amazing change in speed and performance. OWC's SSD installation video helped a lot.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 480GB Mercury Extreme Pro 6G SSD 2.5-inch 9.5mm SATA 6.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Olive Branch, MS Age: 18-24 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 Quick Fast and in a Hurry! August 19, 2013 This thing is great! No more worrying about the hard drive skips or any noise from the hdd! The speed is incredible compared to a traditional hard drive and now being spoiled by this drive I don't think I could ever go back.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 480GB Mercury Extreme Pro 6G SSD 2.5-inch 9.5mm SATA 6.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Dallas, TX Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 What a huge difference! May 27, 2013 Boot time went from 72 sec to 28 sec on my 2012 MacMini. Everything is faster. And I must complement the quality of the installation and setup videos. They were great! Adding an SSD as a primary drive takes several hours to install the hardware and then go through the OS install and setup process, but oh, so worth it.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 120GB Mercury Extreme Pro 6G SSD 2.5-inch 9.5mm SATA 6.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Tampere, Finland Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 As fast as advertised April 14, 2013 I added Mercury EXTREME Pro 6G to my MacBook PRO cd-rom bay using the OWC Data Doubler (also an excellent product). The original Apple SSD reads ~190 MB/s and writes ~140 MB/s. In the same machine the Mercury EXTREME Pro 6G (placed in the cd-rom bay) reads ~507 MB/s and writes ~345 MB/s. Impressive!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from (*) 240GB Mercury Extreme Pro 6G SSD 2.5-inch 9.5mm SATA 6.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Richmond, IN Age: 45-54 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Smoothly speedy April 11, 2013 We've all heard the hype about these SSDs. They do everything but laundry and dishes.

Too many times I've run out of storage space, so it's taken me longer than most However, I've had various problems with disk drives for years and this SSD has taken me away from the delays of rotating platters.

It's not a jarring sort of speed. Someone was talking about that with another product and this one is quietly, smoothly speedy. When I'm working with 1000 or more photos, I'm not seeing a slow down and even my software can be launched and terminated quickly.

Coming from 7200 rpm laptop computer drives, it's a huge help. I can only imagine how 4 of them in a RAID configuration would speed up my work.

Installation was no more difficult than working with a typical 2.5 inch drive, whether using it in a Mercury Pro case or inside a laptop computer.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 480GB Mercury Extreme Pro 6G SSD 2.5-inch 9.5mm SATA 6.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

Verified Buyer Top 250 Contributor
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Monterey, CA Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Outstanding Speed & Performance March 9, 2013 My Mac BookPro early 13", is like a new laptop. From a 2minute 29 second startup to 45 second startup and Fusion5 with Win7 is lighting fast. In two months I will switch out my dvd for another added SSD 480g. The SSD is the only way to go.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 480GB Mercury Extreme Pro 6G SSD 2.5-inch 9.5mm SATA 6.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Arizona Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Super fast March 9, 2013 I installed this drive in my 2012 Mac Mini using the data doubler kit. I also replaced the main drive with a 1TB SATA III 7200 RPM HGST drive. I reinstalled Mountain Lion and let it build a Fusion drive. What can I say other than power on to login in 10 seconds, and Photoshop CS5 loads in under 3 seconds. This drive is more expensive than some other drives, most notably the Samsung 840 Pro, however, the ability to install firmware updates without removing the drive is a big plus, and the over-provisioning meaning no TRIM hack required, etc makes this well worth it. All with a 5 year warranty. I'm seeing benchmarked reads in excess of 500MB/sec.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from (*) 240GB Mercury Extreme Pro 6G SSD 2.5-inch 9.5mm SATA 6.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Brisbane, Australia Age: Under 18 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 4/5 Speedy real world speeds, built in TRIM, quality construction. January 27, 2013 I'm use no one has ever been disappointed with their first SSD purchase, and neither am I. This drive is quality build, looks great and has built in garbage collection. Unfortunately my computer (early 2011 13" Macbook Pro) despite being on SATA 3 6Gb/s doesn't let this drive along with another drive I've tested to run at optimal speed but its still insanely fast! This drive is expensive but it is certainly unique with built in garbage collection making it perfect for RAID.

Things to improve on? Well the next generation I'd like to see a thinner 7 mm thickness for use in Untrabooks and a more reasonable price tag. Also this SSD gets comparatively warm compared to another cheaper one I've tested.

Summery, you cant go wrong with an SSD at the moment and prices have never been better and this one is no exception. Congratulations OWC.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 120GB Mercury Extreme Pro 6G SSD 2.5-inch 9.5mm SATA 6.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Burini Location: Brasil Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 excellent product November 20, 2012 I received the order very fast .... I am already using it on my MacBookPro ... is ... extraordinary performance makes the machine very quickly ... about 18 seconds for initialization recommend ...

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from (*) 240GB Mercury Extreme Pro 6G SSD 2.5-inch 9.5mm SATA 6.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: dlafond Location: Trois-Rivières, QC Age: 35-44 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Amazing!!! November 14, 2012 Incredible performances. Easy to install. My Mac Pro runs so fast now! Apple, you should put these hard drive in your default configuration.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from (*) 240GB Mercury Extreme Pro 6G SSD 2.5-inch 9.5mm SATA 6.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Artman Location: Lebanon, & Fishkill NY Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Simple is nice October 17, 2012 Shipping was great as it came in double protective cover. Installed the drive in my Windows gaming machine. Installing windows 7 from a USB took a little over 5 minutes, 5:11 sec to be exact. Boots into windows in no time. As soon as the system gets over the POST & starts loading Win 7 it just a matter of less then 10 seconds. Applications opens in No time.

Support: Forums over here are very entry level . However, it's better then other companies like "XXX & XXXXXX" where the forums and support is like cowboy weekend.

Support guys are very courteous & strict to the point. This is coming from a guy who had one of the first SSDs on the market "not OWC" & spent hundreds of mails with other support companies. Bottom line: Get over your suspicions & go for the OWC Mercury Extreme Pro 6G. This is the closest thing you get when closing the gap between a mechanical HD & SSD. On the benchmark side, it over performed my other two high end SSDs. I've owned 7 SSDs, 3 of them are high end & I would recommend OWC in a heartbeat. Sin yours

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from (*) 240GB Mercury Extreme Pro 6G SSD 2.5-inch 9.5mm SATA 6.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

Reviewer: PDiddy11 Location: Charlotte, NC Age: 25-34 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 OMG!! 240GB Extreme Pro SSD August 27, 2012 Easy install, just insert into main SATA slot and use the DATA Double which is a MUST purchase accessory to still be able to use your old HD as storage space.

Once installed just use a drive cloning software to clone your image file (created prior to install) and in 8 minutes the OS was loaded and all my apps installed!!

Boot times now 15-18seconds not 1min-1min 20seconds! Applications like Aperture load in around 1-2 seconds, Photoshop is just as fast!

And 5year Warranty lets me know they have Cust. Service as their top priority.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from (*) 240GB Mercury Extreme Pro 6G SSD 2.5-inch 9.5mm SATA 6.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: tortoise Location: Benicia, California Age: Over 65 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Excellent products & service as always!! June 17, 2012 Gave new life to and expect several more years of service from my old reliable MacPro early 2008 model. After 4.5 years in service my system was feeling a bit sluggish. Took a leap of faith and invested in OWC SSD and all I can say is WOW, night and day is understatement, feels like a new computer and the drive will move forward to next tower if and when I need one. Newer tech adapter fit like a glove.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 480GB Mercury Extreme Pro 6G SSD 2.5-inch 9.5mm SATA 6.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: agoraproductions Location: Switzerland Age: 45-54 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Like a Ferrari June 4, 2012 Does a Ferrari fastest car ? the OWC SSD 6G is the fastest SSD I ever seen. The service quality and delivery makes OWC my preferred supplier for Mac options.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from (*) 240GB Mercury Extreme Pro 6G SSD 2.5-inch 9.5mm SATA 6.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: djh1981 Location: Hermosa Beach, CA Age: 35-44 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 There is a reason these are rated tops in all the blogs and reviews March 27, 2012 Obsession with quality - that is OWC to me - i really wont buy anything else - there is cheaper but not i will not chance it - i am running 2 of these in raid 0 (i am backing up on a Qx2) and i am getting thunderbolt saturating speeds - lightroom is instantaneous in everything i do except exporting (uses more CPU than ssd speed) - if they ever come out with new mac pro i will use this setup the same way

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from (*) 240GB Mercury Extreme Pro 6G SSD 2.5-inch 9.5mm SATA 6.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

OWC 1.0TB Mercury Extreme Pro 6G SSD Mfr P/N: S3D7P6G960 OWC SKU: OWCS3D7P6G960D Limited Edition Black Drive 2.5" SATA 6Gb/s SSD featuring the best performance and longevity for every use… from performance enthusiasts to production professionals. Mac and PC compatible 2 Year OWC Limited Warranty
Sold Out