Get exclusive deals delivered to your inbox!

Start saving today. »

OWC Special Offer Available

$70.99 off *NOW* Get Parallels Desktop Pro Edition - Windows/Multi OS Compatibility software for Mac - Only $29.00 with select OWC SSDs, HDDs, Memory, External Storage, and Optical Drives! (Limit 3 rebates, 1 rebate per qualifying item)
Must purchase with: PPDPROSUB1Y-REB29

OWC

1.0TB Aura Pro 6G
Solid-State Drive

For MacBook Air (2010-2011)
High Performance Internal Flash Storage Upgrade
Designed for Mac
Once again, OWC provides Mac users an upgrade path that delivers phenomenal performance, functionality, and reliability! Whether it's for a base-model 11-inch MacBook Air from 2010 with a 64GB SSD, the top of the line 13-inch 256GB model from 2011, or any model in between, an OWC Aura Pro 6G SSD is the best enhancement for the MacBook Air. Just like other OWC upgrades, we include a free 'how-to' video to make this an easy and money-saving DIY upgrade.
More Speed, More Capacity for MacBook Air
OWC Aura Pro SSDs provide a noticeable increase in performance over the factory SSDs for all MacBook Air models:
  • Increase capacity up to 16x the 11-inch base models
  • Increase capacity up to 8x the 13-inch base models
  • MacBook Air (2011) - Get 6G speeds up to 530MB/s, 2.5x faster than factory original*
  • MacBook Air (2010) - Get 3G speeds up to 275MB/s, 1.3x faster than factory original*
Better by Design
OWC redesigned its 3rd generation of OWC Aura Pro 6G SSDs with premium 3D NAND Flash and the latest controller technology to operate cooler and consume less power, resulting in improved battery life for your MacBook Air. OWC SSDs are engineered to be the best for Mac, undergoing a rigorous multi-stage lab testing process to deliver absolute reliability at maximum performance long into the future.
  • SLC caching algorithm accelerates burst performance
  • Global wear leveling algorithm automatically distributes data evenly and manages program/erase count, maximizing SSD lifespan
  • Data refresh technology ensures data integrity, gradually refreshing data across the SSD over time
  • ECC protection combines LDPC hard and soft decoding with advanced algorithm to detect and correct errors throughout the entire SSD data path
  • Advanced security protocols support AES 128/256-bit full-drive encryption
*Based on sequential speed testing of original stock 64GB SSD in a 2011 MacBook Air i5 1.6GHz. Sequential write speeds of 194MB/s, read speeds of 211MB/s.

1.0TB Aura™ Pro 6G Specifications:

Specifications

Form Factor
Custom Blade
Interface
SATA 6Gb/s
Capacity1
970GB useable capacity
Total Flash Memory Components - 1000GB
~30GB allocated to real-time data redundancy & error correction
Formatted Capacity2
903GiB
NAND
Triple-Level Cell (TLC) 3D NAND Flash
Controller
Silicon Motion SM2258
SMART Attributes
Standard
Native Command Queuing
Yes
Manufacturer Model Number
OWCS3DAP116GT01
RoHS Compliant
Yes
Format

Physical

Height (max)
3.00mm (0.118″)
Width (max)
24.00mm (0.945″)
Length (max)
109.0mm (4.291″)
Weight (typical)
10g (0.353 oz.)

Reliability3

MTBF (Mean Time Between Failures)
1,500,000
Endurance
300TB total bytes written (TBW)
Data Reliability
ECC Recovery
Security
ATA security feature command set and password login support
TRIM Support
OS Dependent
Nonrecoverable Read Errors
Less than 1 sector per 1015 bits read

Performance

Average Access Time
<0.1 ms
Sequential Read
6Gb/s (up to)
530MB/s
Sequential Write
6Gb/s (up to)
495MB/s
Sustained Read
6Gb/s (up to)
530MB/s
Sustained Write
6Gb/s (up to)
495MB/s
Sustained Read
3Gb/s (up to)
271MB/s
Sustained Write
3Gb/s (up to)
220MB/s
Random 4K Read
Up to 80,000 IOPS
Random 4K Write
Up to 72,000 IOPS
Read Latency
less than 0.1ms
Write Latency
less than 0.1ms

Power

Read Power
2.1 Watts
Write Power
2.1 Watts
Idle Power
0.1 Watts

Environmental (Operating)

Shock
1500G / 0.5ms
Temperature (°F)
32°F to 158°F
Temperature (°C)
0°C to 70°C
Humidity
5% to 95% non-condensing

Environmental (Non-Operating)

Shock
1500G / 0.5ms
Temperature (°F)
-40°F to 185°F
Temperature (°C)
-40°C to 85°C

Acoustics

Idle (Typical)
0.0 bels
Seek (Typical)
0.0 bels

Installation

How to Install the Aura Pro in MacBook Air 2011

Because OS X Lion is preinstalled on the removable Apple factory flash drive module, you cannot simply remove that drive and replace it with an OWC Aura Pro SSD without some initial preparation.

There are two methods you can select to prepare using an OWC Aura Pro SSD in your Mid 2011 MacBook Air.

Method #1

Internet Recovery Mode via Apple Knowledge Base Article #HT4718
http://support.apple.com/kb/HT4718

NOTE: If moving an OWC Aura Pro SSD used in a 2010 MacBook Air, using this method will completely erase the drive's data. Make SURE you have a Time Machine® backup or clone of the OWC Aura Pro SSD on an external drive.

Method #2

Recovery Partition Restore Mode
  1. Make SURE you have a Time Machine backup or clone of your data (from either the Apple factory stock flash drive or OWC Aura Pro SSD) on an external drive. We will refer to this drive as Drive #1.
  2. Boot to the recovery partition on the stock drive by holding down Command R during
    a restart or boot process.
  3. Use Disk Utility to do a restore on a separate external USB drive. DO NOT use the same external drive that was used for your Time Machine or clone backup. We will refer to this drive as Drive #2.
  4. Replace the MacBook Air's stock flash drive with the OWC Aura Pro SSD.
  5. Boot to the USB Drive #2's recovery partition.
  6. Use Disk Utility to do a restore to the OWC Aura Pro SSD.
  7. Restart or Boot to the OWC Aura Pro SSD.
  8. Run Apple Migration Assistant to clone your data from Drive #1.
How to Install the Aura Pro in MacBook Air 2011
  1. 1GB = 1,000,000,000 bytes. Total accessible capacity varies depending upon operating environment (typically 5-10% less). The actual total capacity will depend on your own defined file settings/preferences.
  2. In terms of standard gigabytes, 1GiB ≈ 1.074GB and refers to the actual formatted capacity of shown under Mac OS 10.5 or earlier and Microsoft Windows OS.
  3. Specific application environments such as temperature and duty cycle will affect the overall reliability rates.
Manufacturer provided specifications for Other World Computing p/n OWCS3DAP116GT01 UPC#: 810586031806

Gallery

Video

13" 2011 MacBook Air SSD install


11" 2011 MacBook Air SSD install


13" 2010 MacBook Air SSD install


11" 2010 MacBook Air SSD install


This product is compatible with... Learn how to find your Mac's model ID
MacBook Air
MacBook Air (13-inch Mid 2011)
(July, 2011)
Model ID: MacBookAir4,2
1.7GHz, 1.8GHz
MacBook Air
MacBook Air (13-inch Late 2010)
(October, 2010)
Model ID: MacBookAir3,2
1.86GHz, 2.13GHz
MacBook Air
MacBook Air (11-inch Mid 2011)
(July, 2011)
Model ID: MacBookAir4,1
1.6GHz, 1.8GHz
MacBook Air
MacBook Air (11-inch Late 2010)
(October, 2010)
Model ID: MacBookAir3,1
1.4GHz, 1.6GHz
MacBook Air
NOT COMPATIBLE
MacBook Air (13-inch 2012)
Education Model
(July, 2012)
Model ID: MacBookAir4,2
1.7GHz
MacBook Air
MacBook Air (13-inch Mid 2013)
(June, 2013)
Model ID: MacBookAir6,2
1.3GHz, 1.7GHz
MacBook Air
MacBook Air (11-inch Mid 2013)
(June, 2013)
Model ID: MacBookAir6,1
1.3GHz, 1.7GHz

Reviews

Macworld Best of Show 2011
Best of Show 2011 - Macworld
MacLife Award Winner 2011
Award Winner 2011 Mac Hardware - MacLife
Notebooks.com Best of Macworld 2011
Best of Macworld 2011 - Notebooks.com
Stevies Finalist
Stevies Award Finalist 2011 - The American Business Awards

Warranty

The best warranty is one you never have to use - but should the need occur - we're proud to provide a superior level of support and service coverage to our customers.

5 Year OWC SSD Limited Warranty
OWC is proud to provide a superior level of support and warranty coverage to our customers. Even when not used, we understand the peace of mind afforded by a longer warranty period. OWC's industry leading coverage is a testament to our confidence in the reliability of the solutions that we offer. OWC solutions are engineered to demanding quality standards in order to deliver the most reliable, highest performance available on the market in each storage category.

Customer Ratings

Write a Review 4.7 / 5 71 out of 74 (96%) reviewers would recommend this product
1 2 3
Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Frisco City, Alabama Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Excellent hard drive upgrade May 3, 2014 I like the 480GB Flash hard drive upgrade and the Envoy kit to reuse my 256GB old hard drive as an external Flash hard drive. The video how to install the hard drive worked perfectly. All of the included tools worked great also. I am very pleased with my purchase because this saved me from having to buy a new Macbook Air when the Macbook Air I have works perfectly for my needs. I run the new Adobe CC apps and they work great on my old mid 2011 MacBook Air for my needs processing Raw Photos. I had been watching this product on OWC for a long time since it was introduced and when the price dropped to my own sweet spot for purchase I did not hesitate to buy the flash hard drive.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 480GB OWC Aura Pro 6G SSD + Envoy Kit for MacBook Air 2010+2011: Complete Solution with Enclosure.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Cincinnati, OH Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 A must have for Macbook Air March 2, 2014 Ran out of space on my late 2010 Macbook Air 64GB SSD. This 240GB replacement kit installed easily using Option 2. Installed original Apple 64GB SSD in the supplied envoy. Installed new OWC 240GB SSD in Macbook Air. Easy Peasy. Plugged in envoy to USB and booted in Recovery mode holding down the Command button. After Internet Recovery program loaded, I launched Disk Manager, formatted the new drive and Restored the Envoy drive to the new drive. Had to reinstall Dropbox and re-enter the Microsoft Office Key. Other than that, straightforward easy solution. Ordered Sunday. Delivered Tuesday.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 240GB OWC Aura Pro 6G SSD + Envoy Kit for MacBook Air 2010+2011: Complete Solution with Enclosure.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Hong Kong Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Hobbiest Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 This product has great features ! February 26, 2014 Perfect and elegant!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 480GB OWC Aura Pro 6G SSD + Envoy Kit for MacBook Air 2010+2011: Complete Solution with Enclosure.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Bowie, MD Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Drop dead Simple, Read Instructions!! December 22, 2013 I have to admit,, I did it backwards,, really I did what Ive always done when swapping drives, backing up. OWC, has a simple set of directives to follow, and if you do so when installing this drive, everything "Just Works" Our Air has new and Spacious life in its casing, and I am so glad we did this. Just added a few more years to it's life with us. Literally a 15 minute hardware install, and just make sure you've backed up your data, and your off to the races. A little Pricey given 500 gig drives can be had for about 50-$65.00 these days,, but Excellent product.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 480GB OWC Aura Pro 6G SSD + Envoy Kit for MacBook Air 2010+2011: Complete Solution with Enclosure.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Vicenza (Italy) Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Great, easy and well designed November 12, 2013 Super fast delivery, in 3 days (I live in Italy). Installation is very easy, following the video tutorial and using the screwdrivers in the box. 15 minutes and my MacbookAir was up and running with the new drive on, ready for a clean installation. The aluminium case is really beautiful and working perfectly with my old SSD inside as an external drive. What can I say?? PERFECT!!! NOTE: one of the two screws on the external case was a little stripped and therefore hard to remove.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 240GB OWC Aura Pro 6G SSD + Envoy Kit for MacBook Air 2010+2011: Complete Solution with Enclosure.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: London, UK Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 4/5 Good in Parts September 5, 2013 First the good news. I am always wary about ordering items from another continent but OWC and Fedex were amazing. OWC shipped very quickly and Fedex had it in my hand in UK inside 2 days. Now that my install is finished it's great to have a MacBook Air that has good useable drive capacity. Everything works as it should, it's definitely faster and I guess I have seen the end of warnings about drive space or having to carry a USB drive to do anything useful.

Now the not so good news. The two screwdrivers provided are rubbish and a very loose fit in the screws.. Removing the case screws from the MacBook is not so far removed from my day job and was done with care but the screwdriver tip rounded off after the first 4 screws. Fortunately I had the means to grind off the worn area - twice. I know it is small and delicate but I have other small delicate screwdrivers that have been in use for years without needing grinding.

Once I managed to open the case changing the SSD was the work of a few seconds and the case cover was very carefully replaced. Then came the next problem. I could not open the Envoy case. The first screw came out OK but the screwdriver just rotated in the second without turning the screw. Examination of the screwdriver showed the head was OK but checking the screw showed the head to be damaged, I guess when the screw was fitted. Now I was in the position of having a nice new drive on my laptop but could not copy the operating system across. An hour later and working with my collection of watch and other small screwdrivers I was about to give up and reinstall the original SSD in the laptop when I managed to get the case open. With the old SSD in the Envoy the computer was booted into Recovery mode but disc utility continually gave an error when trying to clone the system. Eventually I installed OSX from scratch and then copied all files and apps across from the old one. Everything is now working as it should and I am happy with the results. It would have been a lot easier though if OWC did not supply chocolate screwdrivers.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 240GB OWC Aura Pro 6G SSD + Envoy Kit for MacBook Air 2010+2011: Complete Solution with Enclosure.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Germantown MD Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Great August 2, 2013 I installed it ,very easy. I was very hesitant, but very easy ,took awhile to recover,but my own fault . you need to get the whole kit .and follow the directions for restore from the external enclosure

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 240GB OWC Aura Pro 6G SSD + Envoy Kit for MacBook Air 2010+2011: Complete Solution with Enclosure.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Palo Alto, CA Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 4/5 Easy to install with the right tools July 10, 2013 Easy enough to install, but the enclosure had Torx T6 screws instead of T5, and the supplied tool was too small. Luckily, I had a T6 driver lying around from a previous project. The installation video is good, but stops at what I consider the most critical point - how to copy the data from the old drive to the new. There are instructions on the website, and with a little guess work, my data was copied on to my new drive within an hour, and my MacBook Air was booting up from the new drive. Very happy with this product. Star dropped due to the tool issue.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 240GB OWC Aura Pro 6G SSD + Envoy Kit for MacBook Air 2010+2011: Complete Solution with Enclosure.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Finland Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Highly Recommended! July 5, 2013 Installed in minutes, and worked perfectly. Fast and reliable delivery - 3 days to Finland (shipped with FedEx International Priority).

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 120GB OWC Aura Pro 6G Solid-State Drive for 2010-2011 MacBook Air.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Beaconsifleld, UK Age: 45-54 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 RMA June 28, 2013 I had to return this device because, like an idiot, I ordered the wrong one. However, the service I received from ordering to notification that they received my returned item was faultless. I have subsequently ordered the right one and all has been installed and works perfectly. This is how international business should be done.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 240GB OWC Aura Pro 6G SSD + Envoy Kit for MacBook Air 2010+2011: Complete Solution with Enclosure.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Dublin, Ireland. Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 This product is unbelievable March 21, 2013 Before I purchased this product, I did a lot of online research. I was very weary of opening up my MacBook Air. I looked at the install videos time and time again. When I did decide to order, it was still with some in trepidation. When the package arrived, I played the install video again on my iPad. Within 20 minutes, the new drive was installed, and the old drive installed into the envoy kit. The best compliment I can pay to this kit is " its by far the best hardware upgrade, I have purchased, since I purchased my MacBook Air ". Its performance is unbelievable and to think my old 120 gig drive is still working. This is a pure genius piece of kit, and would highly recommend it.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 240GB OWC Aura Pro 6G SSD + Envoy Kit for MacBook Air 2010+2011: Complete Solution with Enclosure.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Montana Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 4/5 Great drive, bad screws March 8, 2013 The drive installed and ran no problems. Any speed difference is not very noticeable - it might be faster, it's definitely not slower, than the original drive. The tools were a perfect fit. The only problem was that the head on one screw on the enclosure was stripped, and could therefore not be removed. That was returned, with the same problem on the next two enclosures. Here's hoping the fourth time is the charm. On the same product for a 2012 MBA, I had no problems at all. 5 stars for the new SSD, 3 for the enclosure with bad screws.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 120GB OWC Aura Pro 6G SSD + Envoy Kit for MacBook Air 2010+2011: Complete Solution with Enclosure.

Response from MacSales.com, Marketing March 12, 2013 We did have a QC issue with these enclosures that has since been corrected. However, it wasn't bad screws - it was an issue with the screwdriver that was sent with some of these units. It wasn't a perfect fit for that screw. We have since gone through all stock to replace all affected builds with those screwdrivers. Guessing that while the enclosure was replaced for you a few times, the incorrectly sized screwdriver was not and that is why the stripping of the screw continued. Additionally, we will be updating to a hardened screw itself on this product to further avoid this type of situation in the future.
Verified Buyer
Reviewer: jchance Location: Atlanta, GA Age: 25-34 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Took minutes to install and works great December 7, 2012 I can't really tell any detectable speed increase, but the drive works and the added capacity is great. The installation only took about 10 minutes and the included tools had everything I needed.

The Envoy inclosure is USB 3.0, which is nice. I can only connect it at USB 2.0 speeds to my MB Air, but it's nice to have 3.0 speeds when I connect it to my 2012 mini. The enclosure is high quality aluminum too, very nice!

The procedure to replace the drive in your Air is not very clear from the instructions, so this is what I did:

1. Install new OWC drive in the Envoy and connect to the MBA via USB 2. Use Carbon Copy Cloner to clone MBA drive to new OWC drive in the Envoy 3. Swap the MBA stock drive for the new OWC drive. 4. Put the stock drive in the Envoy. Once you're sure the OWC drive is good to go in the MBA you can format the stock drive in the Envoy and have a super fast SSD USB 3.0 portable.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 240GB OWC Aura Pro 6G SSD + Envoy Kit for MacBook Air 2010+2011: Complete Solution with Enclosure.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: MacBookAir2011User Location: Sacramento, CA Age: 35-44 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 3/5 Pictures Lie / SSD Works Great October 5, 2012 The external Enclosure included looks great and sits next to Mac Book Air jut like in picture.

However the included cable is so short you can not use as in Picture, It has to stick out at an angle to use the inclued cable.

If they included a cable that was 2" longer this would work great.

The rest of the package was great

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 240GB OWC Aura Pro 6G SSD + Envoy Kit for MacBook Air 2010+2011: Complete Solution with Enclosure.

Response from MacSales.com, Marketing October 8, 2012 Actually, the photo you're referring to uses the actual cable that comes with the Envoy. Granted, that cable is a bit stiff right out of the package and it does take a little manipulation of the cable to hold that angle at rest, but it can be done as shown. The photo is meant to show the product in actual use while showcasing that it has the same angle as the MacBook Air. No lie....perhaps just some patience required ;-)
Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: New York Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Hobbiest Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 So easy, so much more space! September 29, 2012 This is the easiest hard drive upgrade I've ever done. Super fast...super easy! I cloned my old hard drive, installed the new hard drive, installed the old drive in the enclosure and was up and running in under an hour. Great product!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 240GB OWC Aura Pro 6G SSD + Envoy Kit for MacBook Air 2010+2011: Complete Solution with Enclosure.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: ParkTJ Location: Bundang, korea Age: 25-34 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 4/5 Great product i've ever used September 20, 2012 It was great experience with OWC It was my first time purchasing something on other country website And i didn't know how to do it But the kindness of your customer service, I could do it so easily

Anyway the product, the shipment and your customer service Thanks a lot!!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 120GB OWC Aura Pro 6G SSD + Envoy Kit for MacBook Air 2010+2011: Complete Solution with Enclosure.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: eli1 Location: Vienna Age: 45-54 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Easy to install, fast September 20, 2012 The Kit arrived within 4 days in Europe. Using Carbon Copy first took about 2 hours to transfer data to the new SSD. Installing the new SSD in my Macbook Air (2011) took only a couple of minutes . Turn power on, confirm new disk and continue your work at the same place you left before cloning.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 480GB OWC Aura Pro 6G SSD + Envoy Kit for MacBook Air 2010+2011: Complete Solution with Enclosure.

OWC 1.0TB Aura™ Pro 6G
Solid-State Drive for MacBook Air (2010-2011)
Mfr P/N: OWCS3DAP116GT01 OWC SKU: OWCS3DAP116GT01 High performance internal flash storage. 3rd generation, late 2018 model. Improved performance & lower power consumption for longer battery life. 5 Year OWC Limited Warranty Ships: Same Day Only $199.99OWC Price $179.99
Add to CartOther World Computing OWCS3DAP116GT01 In Stock, Click to Buy Now
Additional Capacities & Kits: SSD Only
  • 250GB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $79.99
    • OWC Price $74.99
  • 500GB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $109.99
    • OWC Price $104.99
  • 1.0TB
Upgrade Kit w/ SSD, Tools & Envoy Enclosure
  • 250GB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $109.99
    • Bundle Priced for $99.75
  • 500GB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $139.99
    • Bundle Priced for $129.75
  • 1.0TB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $229.99
    • Bundle Priced for $209.99