Home » Internal Hard Drives and SSDs » OWC Aura Pro 6G SSDs for MacBook Pro with Retina 13-inch & 15-inch (2012 - 2013)

OWC Special Offer Available

$70.99 off *NOW* Get Parallels Desktop Pro Edition - Windows/Multi OS Compatibility software for Mac - Only $29.00 with select OWC SSDs, HDDs, Memory, External Storage, and Optical Drives! (Limit 3 rebates, 1 rebate per qualifying item)
Must purchase with: PPDPROSUB1Y-REB29

OWC

1.0TB Aura Pro 6G
Solid State Drive and Envoy Pro Storage Solution

For 2012 to Early 2013 MacBook Pro with Retina display
Upgrade Kit with SSD, Installation Tools, & Envoy Enclosure for Easy Data Transfer/Original Drive Reuse
Designed for Mac
Once again, OWC provides Mac users an upgrade path that delivers phenomenal performance, functionality, and reliability! Whether it's for the base 13" model only offering a 128GB SSD or the base 15" model offering just a 256GB SSD, installing an Aura Pro 6G SSD is the best enhancement for the MacBook Pro with Retina display. Just like other OWC upgrades, we include a free 'how-to' video to make this an easy and money-saving DIY upgrade.
More Speed, More Capacity for MacBook Pro
OWC Aura Pro SSDs provide a noticeable increase in performance over the factory SSDs for all MacBook Pro with Retina display models:
  • Increase capacity up to 16x the 13-inch base models
  • Increase capacity up to 8x the 15-inch base models
  • Get write speeds up to 500MB/s, 26% faster than factory original1
  • Get read speeds up to 530MB/s, 8.6% faster than factory original1
Better by Design
OWC redesigned its 3rd generation of OWC Aura Pro 6G SSDs with premium 3D NAND Flash and the latest controller technology to operate cooler and consume less power, resulting in improved battery life for your MacBook Pro. OWC SSDs are engineered to be the best for Mac, undergoing a rigorous multi-stage lab testing process to deliver absolute reliability at maximum performance long into the future.
  • SLC caching algorithm accelerates burst performance
  • Global wear leveling algorithm automatically distributes data evenly and manages program/erase count, maximizing SSD lifespan
  • Data refresh technology ensures data integrity, gradually refreshing data across the SSD over time
  • ECC protection combines LDPC hard and soft decoding with advanced algorithm to detect and correct errors throughout the entire SSD data path
  • Advanced security protocols support AES 128/256-bit full-drive encryption
Everything You Need, Ready for Installation
  • Re-use the factory SSD via the OWC Envoy as an external storage solution.
  • Take your data with you — Small enough to keep in a pocket or laptop case!
  • Easily add additional laptop storage with no AC adapter required.
Ultra-portable, bus-powered external storage solution designed to complement the MacBook Pro with Retina display2
The OWC Envoy Pro combines elegance and functionality into a sleek, portable external storage solution that complements the design and finish of the MacBook® Pro with Retina display. Its anodized aluminum body protects your drive and data, while its minimal size allows for simple stowing in coat pockets, backpacks or briefcases.

The USB 3.0 interface offers speedy transfer rates of up to 500MB/s and the Envoy Pro requires no AC power.
1. Based on sequential speed testing of original stock 512GB SSD tested by Bare Feats. Sequential write speeds of 395MB/s, read speeds of 488MB/s.
2. The OWC Envoy Pro enclosure is specifically designed for use ONLY with the factory SSD installed in select Apple Macintosh computers. Do NOT attempt to install or use OWC Aura or Aura Pro X SSDs in the Envoy Pro as you may damage the OWC drive, the enclosure, or both, and such damage is not covered under warranty.

1.0TB Aura™ Pro 6G Specifications:

Specifications

Form Factor
Custom Blade
Interface
SATA 6Gb/s
Capacity1
970GB useable capacity
Total Flash Memory Components – 1000GB
30GB allocated to real-time data redundancy & error correction
Formatted Capacity2
903GiB
NAND
Triple-Level Cell (TLC) 3D NAND Flash
Controller
Silicon Motion SM2258 with 7% Over Provisioning
SMART Attributes
Standard
Native Command Queuing
Yes
Manufacturer Model Number
OWCS3DAP12RT01
RAID Support
No
RoHS Compliant
Yes
Format

Physical

Height (max)
3.00mm (0.118″)
Width (max)
32.00mm (1.260″)
Length (max)
88.00mm (3.465″)
Weight (typical)
10g (0.35 oz.)

Reliability3

MTBF (Mean Time Between Failures)
1,500,000 hours
Endurance
300TB total bytes written (TBW)
Data Reliability
ECC Recovery
Security
ATA security feature command set and password login support
TRIM Support
OS Dependent
Nonrecoverable Read Errors
Less than 1 sector per 1015 bits read

Performance

Average Access Time
<0.1 ms
Sequential
Reads (up to)
530MB/s
Sequential
Writes (up to)
494MB/s
Random 4K Read
Up to 60,000 IOPS
Random 4K Write
Up to 74,000 IOPS
Read Latency
less than 0.1ms
Write Latency
less than 0.1ms

Power

Write Power
2.1 Watts
Read Power
2.1 Watts
Idle Power
0.1 Watts

Environmental (Operating)

Shock
1500G / 0.5ms
Temperature (°F)
32°F to 158°F
Temperature (°C)
0°C to 70°C
Relative Humidity (non-condensing)
5% to 95%

Environmental (Non-Operating)

Shock
1500G / 0.5ms
Temperature (°F)
-40°F to 185°F
Temperature (°C)
-40°C to 85°C

Acoustics

Idle (Typical)
0.0 bels
Seek (Typical)
0.0 bels
  1. 1GB = 1,000,000,000 bytes. Total accessible capacity varies depending upon operating environment (typically 5-10% less). The actual total capacity will depend on your own defined file settings/preferences.
  2. In terms of standard gigabytes, 1GiB ≈ 1.074GB and refers to the actual formatted capacity of shown under Mac OS 10.5 or earlier and Microsoft Windows OS.
  3. Specific application environments such as temperature and duty cycle will affect the overall reliability rates.
Manufacturer provided specifications for Other World Computing p/n S3DAP12KT01 UPC#: 810586031769


OWC Envoy Pro Specifications:

Chipset

  • High-performance ASMedia 1053e chipset

Interfaces Supported

  • USB 3.0 interface

Port Configuration

  • USB 3.0 interface (Micro-B port)

Max Data Transfer Rate

  • One Micro-B USB 3.0 port, up to 500MB/s

Features

  • Bus-powered* via USB 3.0 port (no AC adapter required)
  • Complements rMBP design, anodized aluminum finish
  • Super-quiet, fanless operation
  • Non-skid rubber feet

System Requirements

  • Mac® Requirements: Mac OS 10.3 or later and an available and supported USB 3.0 port.
  • PC Requirements: Windows XP or later and an available and supported USB 3.0 port.
  • Linux® Requirements: Linux OS versions and an available and supported USB 3.0 port.

UASP (USB Attached SCSI Protocol) Compliant

  • Yes

Cooling

  • Silent, fanless operation

Power Supply

  • Bus-powered* via USB port (no AC adapter required)

Drive Requirements

  • Compatible with the stock Apple Flash SSD module for the 13" or 15" MacBook Pro Retina model.

External Case Dimensions

  • 2.125 in (W) x 4.5 in (D) x .4375 in (H)
  • 53.98 mm (W) x 114.3 mm (D) x 11.11mm (H)

Enclosure Weight (no accessories)

  • 3.4 ounces (empty case, no drive installed)

Product Manual

Operating Environment:

Temperature

  • Dependent on mechanism installed

Relative Humidity

  • Dependent on mechanism installed

Shock

  • Dependent on mechanism installed

Vibration

  • Dependent on mechanism installed
       

Gallery

The Aura™ Pro is compatible with... Learn how to find your Mac's model ID
MacBook Pro Retina
MacBook Pro (15-inch Retina Display 2013)
(January, 2013)
Model ID: MacBookPro10,1
2.4GHz, 2.7GHz, 2.8GHz
MacBook Pro Retina
MacBook Pro (13-inch Retina Display 2013)
(January, 2013)
Model ID: MacBookPro10,2
2.5GHz, 2.6GHz, 2.9GHz, 3.0GHz
MacBook Pro Retina
MacBook Pro (15-inch Retina Display 2012)
(June, 2012)
Model ID: MacBookPro10,1
2.3GHz, 2.6GHz, 2.7GHz
MacBook Pro Retina
MacBook Pro (13-inch Retina Display 2012-2013)
(October, 2012)
Model ID: MacBookPro10,2
2.5GHz, 2.9GHz

Reviews

Includes

  • OWC Aura Pro 6G SSD
  • OWC Envoy USB 2.0/3.0 Enclosure
  • OWC Envoy Carrying Case
  • High-quality double-shielded USB 3.0 standard A to Micro-B connecting cable
  • OWC 5-Point Torx Plus (Pentalobe Compatible) screwdriver
  • OWC Torx T5 screwdriver
  • Envoy Pro User Guide (download only)

Warranty

The best warranty is one you never have to use - but should the need occur - we're proud to provide a superior level of support and service coverage to our customers.

5 Year OWC SSD Limited Warranty

1 Year OWC Enclosure Limited Warranty

OWC is proud to provide a superior level of support and warranty coverage to our customers. Even when not used, we understand the peace of mind afforded by a longer warranty period. OWC's industry leading coverage is a testament to our confidence in the reliability of the solutions that we offer. OWC solutions are engineered to demanding quality standards in order to deliver the most reliable, highest performance available on the market in each storage category.

Videos


Customer Ratings

Write a Review 4.9 / 5 87 out of 90 (97%) reviewers would recommend this product
1 2 3 4
Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Virginia Age: 45-54 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Excellent drive July 7, 2016 Doubled the space on my macbook pro retina and runs great. I have been using it over a month now and everything works as planned. Installation was a breeze when following the videos provided. Biggest time sink was installing the operating system fresh (my choice). Once that was done, it has been working great.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from (*) 480GB OWC Aura Pro 6G SSD + Envoy Pro Upgrade Kit for 2012-13 MacBook Pro with Retina display..

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Nick58Name Age: 55-65 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Nice SSD upgrade June 7, 2016 I had a MacBook Pro 13" Retina (MacBookPro10,2) which started acting "a little weird", which turned out to be that the internal SSD was failing. This set me into a little bit of a panic, so I bought this Aura Pro 6G with the five year warranty.

I used the very helpful installation video that OWC has for replacing an SSD in this model of MBPro. There was minor minor glitch, in that the instructions say "This upgrade requires a Pentalobe compatible screwdriver, and a Torx T5 screwdriver". The upgrade does require those, and those came in the upgrade kit. But when you get 1:42 into the video for this *specific* model of MBPro, you find out "there are three Torx T6 screws, which will need to be removed". Luckily I do have a T6 screwdriver from a different project (and also from OWC!), so this glitch just added 15 minutes to the installation process while I tracked down that screwdriver.

The installation went pretty smoothly, and I moved the old internal SSD into the Envoy Pro external enclosure (which is custom-designed for the type of SSD card in these models of Macbook Pro's). The new SSD is working quite fine, and I'm pretty sure everything is also running faster now. The SSD card that I bought also has significantly more capacity that the original SSD, which is another welcome improvement.

At this point I've had the new drive for only one month, but so far it's been a great upgrade for my laptop.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from (*) 480GB OWC Aura Pro 6G SSD + Envoy Pro Upgrade Kit for 2012-13 MacBook Pro with Retina display..

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: San Diego Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 This upgrade was a piece of cake! June 5, 2016 Bought this to upgrade my early 2013 MB from 250GB SSD to 1.0TB SSD. I was a little concerned about tearing apart my MB but after watching the videos here decided to tackle it. So glad I did. I first installed the 1TB drive into the Envoy Pro case. Then plunged it into my MB using the provided cable. A dialog popped up ask if I wanted to initialize the drive, I clicked Initialize and it opened Disk Utility app with Erase already highlighted. Clicked OK, it was done in 2 seconds. I used SuperDuper! to clone current 250GB to the 1TB in the Envoy case. The prog is simple to use, just select the source and target drives from the pull downs and Backup all files.Click Copy and wait while it does its thing. The full copy took 33 Min. I then swapped the 2 drives just like shown in the video and crossing my fingers, restarted my MB. Now, this is the only CON I have. On boot up I got the initial chime and then waited about 15 seconds before the Apple logo appear. With my old drive I would hear the chime and almost immediately see the Apple icon. From that point on everything seems to be operating the same or faster. Subsequent boot ups exhibit the same delay to the Apple logo, but its a small price to pay for almost 800GB more disk space. I also had to re-authenticate my Office 365 subscription, by re-logging into my 365 account. So far everything seems to be running great and I'm very happy.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 1.0TB OWC Aura Pro 6G SSD + Envoy Pro Upgrade Kit for 2012-13 MacBook Pro with Retina display..

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Detroit Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 3-4 months
Rating: 5/5 Simple & Robust January 28, 2016 The OWC Memory installed on my MAC book Pro 13 Retina in a flash. Performance has been flawless and fast.

Excellent job OWC!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from (*) 480GB OWC Aura Pro 6G SSD + Envoy Pro Upgrade Kit for 2012-13 MacBook Pro with Retina display..

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 3-4 months
Rating: 5/5 Working perfectly.... September 24, 2015 I wanted to expand the storage of my early 2012 MacBook Pro retina 13, and should buy this SSD. It was the only option for me, because 2012 macbook pro retina uses its own specific size and interface of SSD (Is it right?). Anyway, the replacement of old SSD with newer one was quite easy and became upgrade the operation system from yosemite to El capitan, the activation of trim support is also no more problem... 480G is huge space and I am using with satisfaction...

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from (*) 480GB OWC Aura Pro 6G SSD + Envoy Pro Upgrade Kit for 2012-13 MacBook Pro with Retina display..

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Manly, Australia
Rating: 5/5 Great solid product September 7, 2015 Very happy with the purchase, the hard drive swap process was pretty straightforward and the enclosure is nice, compact and provides reasonably good performance when plugging in to a USB3 port.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from (*) 480GB OWC Aura Pro 6G SSD + Envoy Pro Upgrade Kit for 2012-13 MacBook Pro with Retina display..

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Erie, PA Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Seamless Upgrade August 10, 2015 The 480GB Aura Pro 6G upgrade was easy and seamless. I temporarily installed the new drive in the Envoy enclosure so I could I clone the existing drive. I verified the drive by booting from it while it was still in the Envoy enclosure. Once that was completed it took about 10 minutes to swap drives and I was up and running.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from (*) 480GB OWC Aura Pro 6G SSD + Envoy Pro Upgrade Kit for 2012-13 MacBook Pro with Retina display..

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Age: 18-24 Experience Level: Gamer Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 Muy buen producto August 6, 2015 Son los mejores SSD para las Macbook Pro Retina. Recomendado para el que lo quiera comprar lo tengo hace un año y no hay ningún problema de nada es muy rápido y la garantía es la mejor. muchas gracias a todos

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 480GB OWC Aura Pro 6G Solid-State Drive for 2012-13 MacBook Pro with Retina display..

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: EDMONTON AB Canada Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Much improvement over 256 ssd Mac Drive August 3, 2015 I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from (*) 480GB OWC Aura Pro 6G SSD + Envoy Pro Upgrade Kit for 2012-13 MacBook Pro with Retina display..
Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Norway Age: 25-34 Experience Level: Hobbiest Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 4/5 awesome ssd storage for my Mac August 2, 2015 I'm totally new to Mac. But the install was really easy to understand. Thanks to the youtube video. The torx screwdriver did not fit all the screws, but luckily I had one that fittet on my own. My Mac has never been faster, and I've never seen photoshop open and ready to work that fast before.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from (*) 480GB OWC Aura Pro 6G SSD + Envoy Pro Upgrade Kit for 2012-13 MacBook Pro with Retina display..

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Age: 35-44 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Excelent July 30, 2015 fast and simple upgrade!! Seriously... i spend 40 minutes to change and clone my ssd. Great product!!! My macbook is faster!!!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 240GB OWC Aura Pro 6G SSD + Envoy Pro Upgrade Kit for 2012/13 MacBook Pro with Retina display..

Verified Buyer Top 100 Contributor
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Los Angeles, CA Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 Perfect Solution June 22, 2015 Easy to install and provides a great, tiny external drive made from the chips you remove from the laptop.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from (*) 480GB OWC Aura Pro 6G SSD + Envoy Pro Upgrade Kit for 2012-13 MacBook Pro with Retina display..

Verified Buyer Top 50 Contributor
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: North Miami Beach Age: 45-54 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Great Quality Product & Shipped Immediately As Promised! June 1, 2015 Great Quality Product & Shipped Immediately As Promised! Would definitely recommend this Vendor & their Products!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 480GB OWC Aura Pro 6G Solid-State Drive for 2012-13 MacBook Pro with Retina display..

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: UK Age: 35-44 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Fast and simple to install May 27, 2015 An excellent replacement to the stock Apple SSD - noticeably faster and very simple to install with the instructions on the website.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from (*) 480GB OWC Aura Pro 6G SSD + Envoy Pro Upgrade Kit for 2012-13 MacBook Pro with Retina display..

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Alcester UK Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Excellent upgrade April 7, 2015 My Macbook Pro had outgrown its 256GB SSD so I looked at ways of increasing the capacity. The 512GB SSD upgrade kit from OWC seemed to be what I was looking for so I ordered one from the US on Saturday and amazingly it was delivered to me in the UK on the following Tuesday.

My Macbook was out of warranty so I was happy to follow the excellent instructions and dismantle it using the supplied tools to install the new drive. The whole process took me about 20 minutes and was straightforward.

Reinstalling OS X and restoring my data took about 2 hours following which I had a Macbook which felt like new. It is faster and now has 250GB of free disk space.

The old SSD drive fitted into a very neat external USB caddy that matches my Macbook perfectly so I also have an external 256GB drive.

My only slight niggle is the fact that the supplied USB cable is very stiff and it is difficult to get the external drive caddy to sit flat on the desk. This really is a very minor problem though and is easily fixed using a different cable of which I have a large selection to choose from.

Overall an excellent upgrade at a reasonable price.

Thoroughly recommended

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from (*) 480GB OWC Aura Pro 6G SSD + Envoy Pro Upgrade Kit for 2012-13 MacBook Pro with Retina display..

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Milwaukee, WI Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Great and easy March 30, 2015 The drive and enclosure were shipped quickly and were easy to install with the tools provided. OWC provides easy to follow videos on how to perform the swap of the drive. It fit perfectly with no issues. Some posts mentioned how the drive bowed when put in, but I did not experience that. I'm wondering if they ordered the wrong drive for their model computer. In my case everything went together perfectly and it has been running great for a few weeks now.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from (*) 480GB OWC Aura Pro 6G SSD + Envoy Pro Upgrade Kit for 2012-13 MacBook Pro with Retina display..

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Kansas City, MO Age: 25-34 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 3-4 months
Rating: 5/5 Fast and Easy to Install March 6, 2015 The Aura Pro is much faster than the factory Apple SSD. The drive is easy to install using the provided tools and instructions. I'm so glad that OWC makes these upgrades. The Envoy Pro matches my Retina perfectly as well. The SSD is a little pricey for the capacity but it uses an Apple proprietary connector so thats understandable.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from (*) 480GB OWC Aura Pro 6G SSD + Envoy Pro Upgrade Kit for 2012-13 MacBook Pro with Retina display..

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Taipei, Taiwan Age: 45-54 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 fast and easy January 13, 2015 Ordered a SSD for me 15"MBP with Retina. The product arrived within one week. Instructions are clear and exchanging the drive took just minutes. Great!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from (*) 480GB OWC Aura Pro 6G SSD + Envoy Pro Upgrade Kit for 2012-13 MacBook Pro with Retina display..

Verified Buyer Top 100 Contributor
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Rockville, MD Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Works perfectly! November 2, 2014 Installation instructions were clear and easy to perform. Sped up my MacBook Pro.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from (*) 480GB OWC Aura Pro 6G SSD + Envoy Pro Upgrade Kit for 2012-13 MacBook Pro with Retina display..

Verified Buyer Top 250 Contributor
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Washington State Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 4/5 A great thing to exchange. August 17, 2014 The wimpy hard drive on my MBPro Retina from 2012 was the only thing wrong with it. It now has a normal sized hard drive which is a great relief. The instructions on line are perfect and super easy. Everything went well. It was great to have the speedy little external USB3 drive. The only problem was that the USB3 drive kept unmounting itself erratically for no reason that I could see, so I stopped using it. I may go back and check inside to see if I didn't make good connections, but it was great when it worked. It could also be another problem I haven't discovered.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from (*) 480GB OWC Aura Pro 6G SSD + Envoy Pro Upgrade Kit for 2012-13 MacBook Pro with Retina display..

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: France Age: 55-65 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Great upgrade July 23, 2014 Easy to swap SSD within the MBPretina. Works fine

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from (*) 480GB OWC Aura Pro 6G SSD + Envoy Pro Upgrade Kit for 2012-13 MacBook Pro with Retina display..

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Simple to install and works very well. July 21, 2014 Super easy to install into my macbook pro retina with the clear tutorial video and works very well. It was also very considerate of OWC to throw in the external caddy for the existing MacBook Hard Drive.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from (*) 480GB OWC Aura Pro 6G SSD + Envoy Pro Upgrade Kit for 2012-13 MacBook Pro with Retina display..

Verified Buyer Top 100 Contributor
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Lohja, Finland Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Excellent upgrade, easy to install July 15, 2014 I installed the 480GB SSD in my Retina MacBook Pro, and was astonished how easy it was. The installation instruction video was perfect. Now I have enough disc space for my most important audio files, and I don't have to use external discs anymore when I am doing field work (I record soundscapes in nature, and the recordings are very big files). The external enclosure for the replaced disc (with a USB3 connector) is very smart and slim, the original disc is easy to connect and transferring all the data, programs and settings is as automatic as it could be!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from (*) 480GB OWC Aura Pro 6G SSD + Envoy Pro Upgrade Kit for 2012-13 MacBook Pro with Retina display..

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Homestead, FL Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Works like a dream... June 14, 2014 Of course, I underestimated my GB needs when I got my 13" Macbook Pro Retina Display in early 2013. Now, in 2014, I found myself running out of memory. I'm not technically savvy, but my 19 year old son did some research and found this was the only option available to upgrade my HD. He had it installed within a couple of hours and it works like a dream. I have had no problems with the drive and it doubled my storage capacity. The drive arrived quickly and was well packaged. Please be advised that Mac's from early 2012 and later 2013 have a different drive configuration and this drive may not work with them... check your specs before you order. My Macbook Pro was manufactured in October 2013 and is the retina display version. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this drive for anyone looking to upgrade their HD.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 480GB OWC Aura Pro 6G Solid-State Drive for 2012-13 MacBook Pro with Retina display..

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Montreal, Canada Age: 55-65 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 4/5 Exactly as described June 13, 2014 A bit pricy but everything else is perfect.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from (*) 480GB OWC Aura Pro 6G SSD + Envoy Pro Upgrade Kit for 2012-13 MacBook Pro with Retina display..

OWC 1.0TB Aura™ Pro 6G
Solid State Drive and
Envoy Pro Storage Solution
Mfr P/N: S3DAP12KT01 OWC SKU: OWCS3DAP12KT01 For MacBook Pro with Retina Display (2012 - Early 2013). Includes Aura Pro 6G SSD, installation tools, & OWC Envoy Pro USB 3.0 Enclosure for data transfer/continued use of Apple SSD. SSD: 5 Year OWC SSD Limited Warranty
Envoy: 1 Year OWC Enclosure Limited Warranty
Ships: Same Day Only $279.99Cyber Saver $249.00
Add to CartOther World Computing S3DAP12KT01 In Stock, Click to Buy Now
Additional Capacities & Kits: SSD Only
  • 250GB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $89.99
    • OWC Price $79.00
  • 500GB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • OWC Price $114.99
  • 1.0TB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $219.99
    • OWC Price $199.00
  • 2.0TB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $419.99
    • OWC Price $379.00
Upgrade Kit w/ SSD, Tools & Envoy Pro Enclosure
  • 250GB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $149.99
    • Bundle Priced for $129.00
  • 500GB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $179.99
    • Bundle Priced for $159.00
  • 1.0TB
  • 2.0TB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $479.99
    • OWC Price $429.00