Home » Internal Hard Drives and SSD » OWC Aura Pro 6G SSDs for MacBook Pro with Retina 13" & 15" 2012 - Early 2013

OWC Special Offer Available

$50.99 off *NOW* Get Parallels Desktop Pro Edition - Windows/Multi OS Compatibility software for Mac - Only $49.00 with any OWC SSD up to 250GB! (Limit 3 rebates, 1 rebate per qualifying item)
Must purchase with: PPDPROSUB1Y-REB49

OWC

250GB Aura Pro 6G
Solid-State Drive

For 2012 to Early 2013 MacBook Pro with Retina display
High Performance Internal Flash Storage Upgrade
Designed for Mac
Once again, OWC provides Mac users an upgrade path that delivers phenomenal performance, functionality, and reliability! Whether it's for the base 13" model only offering a 128GB SSD or the base 15" model offering just a 256GB SSD, installing an Aura Pro 6G SSD is the best enhancement for the MacBook Pro with Retina display. Just like other OWC upgrades, we include a free 'how-to' video to make this an easy and money-saving DIY upgrade.
More Speed, More Capacity for MacBook Air
OWC Aura Pro SSDs provide a noticeable increase in performance over the factory SSDs for all MacBook Pro with Retina display models:
  • Increase capacity up to 16x the 13-inch base models
  • Increase capacity up to 8x the 15-inch base models
  • Get write speeds up to 500MB/s, 26% faster than factory original*
  • Get read speeds up to 530MB/s, 8.6% faster than factory original*
Better by Design
OWC redesigned its 3rd generation of OWC Aura Pro 6G SSDs with premium 3D NAND Flash and the latest controller technology to operate cooler and consume less power, resulting in improved battery life for your MacBook Pro. OWC SSDs are engineered to be the best for Mac, undergoing a rigorous multi-stage lab testing process to deliver absolute reliability at maximum performance long into the future.
  • SLC caching algorithm accelerates burst performance
  • Global wear leveling algorithm automatically distributes data evenly and manages program/erase count, maximizing SSD lifespan
  • Data refresh technology ensures data integrity, gradually refreshing data across the SSD over time
  • ECC protection combines LDPC hard and soft decoding with advanced algorithm to detect and correct errors throughout the entire SSD data path
  • Advanced security protocols support AES 128/256-bit full-drive encryption
*Based on sequential speed testing of original stock 512GB SSD tested by Bare Feats. Sequential write speeds of 395MB/s, read speeds of 488MB/s.

250GB Aura™ Pro 6G Specifications:

Specifications

Form Factor
Custom Blade
Interface
SATA 6Gb/s
Capacity1
243GB useable capacity
Total Flash Memory Components – 250GB
7GB allocated to real-time data redundancy & error correction
Formatted Capacity2
226GiB
NAND
Triple-Level Cell (TLC) 3D NAND Flash
Controller
Silicon Motion SM2258 with 7% Over Provisioning
SMART Attributes
Standard
Native Command Queuing
Yes
Manufacturer Model Number
OWCS3DAP12R250
RAID Support
No
RoHS Compliant
Yes
Format

Physical

Height (max)
3.00mm (0.118″)
Width (max)
32.00mm (1.260″)
Length (max)
88.00mm (3.465″)
Weight (typical)
10g (0.35 oz.)

Reliability3

MTBF (Mean Time Between Failures)
1,500,000 hours
Endurance
75TB total bytes written (TBW)
Data Reliability
ECC Recovery
Security
ATA security feature command set and password login support
TRIM Support
OS Dependent
Nonrecoverable Read Errors
Less than 1 sector per 1015 bits read

Performance

Average Access Time
<0.1 ms
Sequential
Reads (up to)
530MB/s
Sequential
Writes (up to)
494MB/s
Random 4K Read
Up to 60,000 IOPS
Random 4K Write
Up to 74,000 IOPS
Read Latency
less than 0.1ms
Write Latency
less than 0.1ms

Power

Write Power
2.1 Watts
Read Power
2.1 Watts
Idle Power
0.1 Watts

Environmental (Operating)

Shock
1500G / 0.5ms
Temperature (°F)
32°F to 158°F
Temperature (°C)
0°C to 70°C
Relative Humidity (non-condensing)
5% to 95%

Environmental (Non-Operating)

Shock
1500G / 0.5ms
Temperature (°F)
-40°F to 185°F
Temperature (°C)
-40°C to 85°C

Acoustics

Idle (Typical)
0.0 bels
Seek (Typical)
0.0 bels
  1. 1GB = 1,000,000,000 bytes. Total accessible capacity varies depending upon operating environment (typically 5-10% less). The actual total capacity will depend on your own defined file settings/preferences.
  2. In terms of standard gigabytes, 1GiB ≈ 1.074GB and refers to the actual formatted capacity of shown under Mac OS 10.5 or earlier and Microsoft Windows OS.
  3. Specific application environments such as temperature and duty cycle will affect the overall reliability rates.
Manufacturer provided specifications for Other World Computing p/n S3DAP12R250 UPC#: 810586031400

Video

15" MacBook Pro SSD install


13" MacBook Pro SSD Install
This product is compatible with... Learn how to find your Mac's model ID
MacBook Pro Retina
MacBook Pro (15-inch Retina Display 2013)
(January, 2013)
Model ID: MacBookPro10,1
2.4GHz, 2.7GHz, 2.8GHz
MacBook Pro Retina
MacBook Pro (13-inch Retina Display 2013)
(January, 2013)
Model ID: MacBookPro10,2
2.5GHz, 2.6GHz, 2.9GHz, 3.0GHz
MacBook Pro Retina
MacBook Pro (15-inch Retina Display 2012)
(June, 2012)
Model ID: MacBookPro10,1
2.3GHz, 2.6GHz, 2.7GHz
MacBook Pro Retina
MacBook Pro (13-inch Retina Display 2012-2013)
(October, 2012)
Model ID: MacBookPro10,2
2.5GHz, 2.9GHz
Not for use with Late 2013 MacBook Pro with Retina Display with model ID: MacBookPro11,x

Reviews

Warranty

The best warranty is one you never have to use - but should the need occur - we're proud to provide a superior level of support and service coverage to our customers.

5 Year OWC SSD Limited Warranty
OWC is proud to provide a superior level of support and warranty coverage to our customers. Even when not used, we understand the peace of mind afforded by a longer warranty period. OWC's industry leading coverage is a testament to our confidence in the reliability of the solutions that we offer. OWC solutions are engineered to demanding quality standards in order to deliver the most reliable, highest performance available on the market in each storage category.

Customer Ratings

Write a Review 4.9 / 5 59 out of 61 (97%) reviewers would recommend this product
1 2 3 4
Verified Buyer Top 100 Contributor
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Los Angeles, CA Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 Perfect Solution June 22, 2015 Easy to install and provides a great, tiny external drive made from the chips you remove from the laptop.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from (*) 480GB OWC Aura Pro 6G SSD + Envoy Pro Upgrade Kit for 2012-13 MacBook Pro with Retina display..

Verified Buyer Top 50 Contributor
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: North Miami Beach Age: 45-54 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Great Quality Product & Shipped Immediately As Promised! June 1, 2015 Great Quality Product & Shipped Immediately As Promised! Would definitely recommend this Vendor & their Products!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 480GB OWC Aura Pro 6G Solid-State Drive for 2012-13 MacBook Pro with Retina display..

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: UK Age: 35-44 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Fast and simple to install May 27, 2015 An excellent replacement to the stock Apple SSD - noticeably faster and very simple to install with the instructions on the website.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from (*) 480GB OWC Aura Pro 6G SSD + Envoy Pro Upgrade Kit for 2012-13 MacBook Pro with Retina display..

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Alcester UK Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Excellent upgrade April 7, 2015 My Macbook Pro had outgrown its 256GB SSD so I looked at ways of increasing the capacity. The 512GB SSD upgrade kit from OWC seemed to be what I was looking for so I ordered one from the US on Saturday and amazingly it was delivered to me in the UK on the following Tuesday.

My Macbook was out of warranty so I was happy to follow the excellent instructions and dismantle it using the supplied tools to install the new drive. The whole process took me about 20 minutes and was straightforward.

Reinstalling OS X and restoring my data took about 2 hours following which I had a Macbook which felt like new. It is faster and now has 250GB of free disk space.

The old SSD drive fitted into a very neat external USB caddy that matches my Macbook perfectly so I also have an external 256GB drive.

My only slight niggle is the fact that the supplied USB cable is very stiff and it is difficult to get the external drive caddy to sit flat on the desk. This really is a very minor problem though and is easily fixed using a different cable of which I have a large selection to choose from.

Overall an excellent upgrade at a reasonable price.

Thoroughly recommended

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from (*) 480GB OWC Aura Pro 6G SSD + Envoy Pro Upgrade Kit for 2012-13 MacBook Pro with Retina display..

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Milwaukee, WI Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Great and easy March 30, 2015 The drive and enclosure were shipped quickly and were easy to install with the tools provided. OWC provides easy to follow videos on how to perform the swap of the drive. It fit perfectly with no issues. Some posts mentioned how the drive bowed when put in, but I did not experience that. I'm wondering if they ordered the wrong drive for their model computer. In my case everything went together perfectly and it has been running great for a few weeks now.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from (*) 480GB OWC Aura Pro 6G SSD + Envoy Pro Upgrade Kit for 2012-13 MacBook Pro with Retina display..

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Kansas City, MO Age: 25-34 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 3-4 months
Rating: 5/5 Fast and Easy to Install March 6, 2015 The Aura Pro is much faster than the factory Apple SSD. The drive is easy to install using the provided tools and instructions. I'm so glad that OWC makes these upgrades. The Envoy Pro matches my Retina perfectly as well. The SSD is a little pricey for the capacity but it uses an Apple proprietary connector so thats understandable.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from (*) 480GB OWC Aura Pro 6G SSD + Envoy Pro Upgrade Kit for 2012-13 MacBook Pro with Retina display..

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Taipei, Taiwan Age: 45-54 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 fast and easy January 13, 2015 Ordered a SSD for me 15"MBP with Retina. The product arrived within one week. Instructions are clear and exchanging the drive took just minutes. Great!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from (*) 480GB OWC Aura Pro 6G SSD + Envoy Pro Upgrade Kit for 2012-13 MacBook Pro with Retina display..

Verified Buyer Top 100 Contributor
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Rockville, MD Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Works perfectly! November 2, 2014 Installation instructions were clear and easy to perform. Sped up my MacBook Pro.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from (*) 480GB OWC Aura Pro 6G SSD + Envoy Pro Upgrade Kit for 2012-13 MacBook Pro with Retina display..

Verified Buyer Top 250 Contributor
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Washington State Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 4/5 A great thing to exchange. August 17, 2014 The wimpy hard drive on my MBPro Retina from 2012 was the only thing wrong with it. It now has a normal sized hard drive which is a great relief. The instructions on line are perfect and super easy. Everything went well. It was great to have the speedy little external USB3 drive. The only problem was that the USB3 drive kept unmounting itself erratically for no reason that I could see, so I stopped using it. I may go back and check inside to see if I didn't make good connections, but it was great when it worked. It could also be another problem I haven't discovered.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from (*) 480GB OWC Aura Pro 6G SSD + Envoy Pro Upgrade Kit for 2012-13 MacBook Pro with Retina display..

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: France Age: 55-65 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Great upgrade July 23, 2014 Easy to swap SSD within the MBPretina. Works fine

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from (*) 480GB OWC Aura Pro 6G SSD + Envoy Pro Upgrade Kit for 2012-13 MacBook Pro with Retina display..

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Simple to install and works very well. July 21, 2014 Super easy to install into my macbook pro retina with the clear tutorial video and works very well. It was also very considerate of OWC to throw in the external caddy for the existing MacBook Hard Drive.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from (*) 480GB OWC Aura Pro 6G SSD + Envoy Pro Upgrade Kit for 2012-13 MacBook Pro with Retina display..

Verified Buyer Top 100 Contributor
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Lohja, Finland Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Excellent upgrade, easy to install July 15, 2014 I installed the 480GB SSD in my Retina MacBook Pro, and was astonished how easy it was. The installation instruction video was perfect. Now I have enough disc space for my most important audio files, and I don't have to use external discs anymore when I am doing field work (I record soundscapes in nature, and the recordings are very big files). The external enclosure for the replaced disc (with a USB3 connector) is very smart and slim, the original disc is easy to connect and transferring all the data, programs and settings is as automatic as it could be!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from (*) 480GB OWC Aura Pro 6G SSD + Envoy Pro Upgrade Kit for 2012-13 MacBook Pro with Retina display..

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Homestead, FL Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Works like a dream... June 14, 2014 Of course, I underestimated my GB needs when I got my 13" Macbook Pro Retina Display in early 2013. Now, in 2014, I found myself running out of memory. I'm not technically savvy, but my 19 year old son did some research and found this was the only option available to upgrade my HD. He had it installed within a couple of hours and it works like a dream. I have had no problems with the drive and it doubled my storage capacity. The drive arrived quickly and was well packaged. Please be advised that Mac's from early 2012 and later 2013 have a different drive configuration and this drive may not work with them... check your specs before you order. My Macbook Pro was manufactured in October 2013 and is the retina display version. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this drive for anyone looking to upgrade their HD.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 480GB OWC Aura Pro 6G Solid-State Drive for 2012-13 MacBook Pro with Retina display..

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Montreal, Canada Age: 55-65 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 4/5 Exactly as described June 13, 2014 A bit pricy but everything else is perfect.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from (*) 480GB OWC Aura Pro 6G SSD + Envoy Pro Upgrade Kit for 2012-13 MacBook Pro with Retina display..

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Tallinn, Estonia Age: 25-34 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Excellent! May 30, 2014 Awesome product. Installation was a breeze. Really enjoying the product. Highly recommend to anyone who needs to boost their storage in their MacBook.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from (*) 480GB OWC Aura Pro 6G SSD + Envoy Pro Upgrade Kit for 2012-13 MacBook Pro with Retina display..

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Swarthmore, PA Age: 55-65 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 3-4 months
Rating: 5/5 Good and simple May 15, 2014 Excellent instructional video. Everything needed was supplied with the product. Went smooth and easy. After transferring the data booted right up with no issues. Have no complaints. Afterword the old SSD popped right into the Envoy and worked perfectly. I can now boot from either drive and keep them both updated so I always have an emergency backup.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from (*) 480GB OWC Aura Pro 6G SSD + Envoy Pro Upgrade Kit for 2012-13 MacBook Pro with Retina display..

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Miami, FL Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 3-4 months
Rating: 5/5 Fantastic Product - So simple! May 12, 2014 This is one of the best products I've ever purchased (along with Parallels). The SSD works perfectly. The Envoy Pro upgrade kit is so worth it. I also purchased an app for my Mac (Carbon Copy Cloner) and all the items combined worked seamlessly and like I never switched my SSD - simply amazing combination of products. I would recommend this product to anyone with a Mac who wants to upgrade. Thank you so much to OWC for creating this option to Mac users.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from (*) 480GB OWC Aura Pro 6G SSD + Envoy Pro Upgrade Kit for 2012-13 MacBook Pro with Retina display..

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Cardiff, UK Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 New life for my 2012 MBP 13 with Retina Display May 4, 2014 I was on a trip to the U.S. and decided to purchase this upgrade for my late 2012 13 inch MacBook Pro with Retina display. I found the package waiting for me at the hotel when I arrived. That same night, I followed the instructions to clone my old SSD to the new one installed in the external enclosure, then swapped the two SSDs. Everything went smoothly and quick (perhaps about 10-15 minutes aside from backing up the computer). The external enclosure is really good quality and fits the look of the MacBook. This 480GB SSD kit has breathed new life for my MacBook Pro. I no longer need to run Parallels and a Windows OS from an external HD.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from (*) 480GB OWC Aura Pro 6G SSD + Envoy Pro Upgrade Kit for 2012-13 MacBook Pro with Retina display..

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Brunei Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Great design April 28, 2014 Love the design as well as the performance.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 480GB OWC Aura Pro 6G Solid-State Drive for 2012-13 MacBook Pro with Retina display..

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Denver, CO Age: 45-54 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 Very Satisfied with Outcome March 20, 2014 I am quite impressed with the quality of the product and external case for the drive that was replaced. Everything was very simple to remove and install, thanks to the 2 tools included in the package. The whole process including the restore took about 36 minutes. I would just reiterate that it is very important that you create a restore disk on a flash drive and a current backup using time machine before removing the drive from your Macbook.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from (*) 480GB OWC Aura Pro 6G SSD + Envoy Pro Upgrade Kit for 2012-13 MacBook Pro with Retina display..

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Southlake, TX Age: 35-44 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Blown Away! February 20, 2014 I purchased the Macbook Pro Retina 15" in December of 2012 and loved nearly everything about it, except the limited storage. I stumbled across this drive and decided to pull the trigger. I have to admit I was a little scared to take this step but I am blown away by the ease of installation and the performance of the drive and I just love the housing for my original Macbook Drive. I will be constantly telling my friends who experience the same issues, about just how easy and awesome this product is and how well it worked for me.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from (*) 480GB OWC Aura Pro 6G SSD + Envoy Pro Upgrade Kit for 2012-13 MacBook Pro with Retina display..

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Austin, TX Age: 25-34 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Amazing Product - Easy to install January 23, 2014 I got tired of running out of space on my 256 GB SSD in my MacBook Pro. Quickly found OWC and this product as they seem to be the only current upgrade option. The package arrived quickly and contained everything I needed to complete the installation process. That process took less than 30 minutes - to replace the old Apple SSD with the OWC drive AND mount the old Apple Drive in the envoy case. The sleek, aluminum case perfectly matches my macbook and looks like something Apple themselves would sell. Highly recommended! 5 Stars!! - Great Product!!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from (*) 480GB OWC Aura Pro 6G SSD + Envoy Pro Upgrade Kit for 2012-13 MacBook Pro with Retina display..

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: The Netherlands Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 this product is perfect to migrate to a faster and bigger disk, easy easy August 14, 2013 As a none professional I bought this because I needed a bigger disk. It was supposed to be ease to replace and migrate everything to the new disk.

But....it's easer then easy and in about 40 minutes, incl replacing disk, I had 250GB copied and was already up end running. Yes...it does cost you something, but it works great/easy and fast. check the video on the site for important small details about the screws and replace!

ordered at Friday and deliverd in the Netherlands on Monday!

great great, both delivery and the product

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from (*) 480GB OWC Aura Pro 6G SSD + Envoy Pro Upgrade Kit for 2012-13 MacBook Pro with Retina display..

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous
Rating: 5/5 Fast delivery ! May 27, 2013 From US to Malaysia, the unit arrive at my doorstep in less than 5 days ! Impressive customer support from OWC.

Will definitely buy again.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from (*) 480GB OWC Aura Pro 6G SSD + Envoy Pro Upgrade Kit for 2012-13 MacBook Pro with Retina display..

Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Orlando, Florida Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 So Far, So Good! March 18, 2013 Ordered the 480Gb Auro Pro for my Macbook Pro Retina 13" and took delivery 2 days later (paid for 2nd day Fedex), so all was good.

Watched the video again, and proceeded to replace my drive. I did encounter one problem though, in that the screws for the battery connector are not the same as the Torx 5 screwdriver included in the kit (also mentioned in a previous review).

I managed to work around this problem, as I had a set of Torx drives already, but make sure you have what was probably a Torx 6 before proceeding!

Simple install, and used the old 128Gb drive to restore the 480Gb drive, using the Envoy enclosure in the bundled kit.

Very happy so far, and hope this will be a long lasting, and dependable upgrade from the 128Gb supplied in my laptop.

Chaz

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 480GB OWC Aura Pro 6G Solid-State Drive for 2012-13 MacBook Pro with Retina display..

OWC 250GB Aura™ Pro 6G
Solid-State Drive for MacBook Pro with Retina Display (2012 - Early 2013)
Mfr P/N: S3DAP12R250 OWC SKU: OWCS3DAP12R250 High performance internal flash storage. 3rd generation, late 2018 model. Improved performance & lower power consumption for longer battery life. 5 Year OWC Limited Warranty Ships: Same Day Only $89.99OWC Price $79.00
Add to CartOther World Computing S3DAP12R250 In Stock, Click to Buy Now
Additional Capacities & Kits: SSD Only
  • 250GB
  • 500GB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $134.99
    • OWC Price $119.00
  • 1.0TB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $229.99
    • OWC Price $219.00
  • 2.0TB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $419.99
    • OWC Price $399.00
Upgrade Kit w/ SSD, Tools & Envoy Pro Enclosure
  • 250GB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $149.99
    • Bundle Priced for $129.00
  • 500GB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $194.99
    • Bundle Priced for $169.00
  • 1.0TB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $289.99
    • Bundle Priced for $269.00
  • 2.0TB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $479.99
    • OWC Price $449.00