Home » Internal Hard Drives and SSDs » OWC Aura Pro X2 SSD Upgrade Solutions for MacBook Air (2013 - 2017), MacBook Pro w/ Retina (2013 - 2015)

OWC

Aura Pro X2
2.0TB NVMe SSD Upgrade Solution
for MacBook Pro w/ Retina Display (Late 2013 - Mid 2015) and MacBook Air (Mid 2013 -Mid 2017)

Mac
Complete Internal Flash/SSD Drive Upgrade Kit with Tools & 1.0TB OWC Express USB 3.0 Portable Storage Solution
Your Mac. More Space. Twice as Fast.
High-Performance + Extra Storage
Your new internal storage upgrade should be a seamless experience. That's why Aura Pro X2 SSD upgrade kits come with the 1.0TB OWC Express USB 3.0 Portable Storage Solution.

With this solution you get the best of two worlds - a new super fast internal SSD and a new 1TB external drive. This new external drive allows for a easy pre upgrade backup to make the SSD install trouble free and then afterwards you have a spacious drive for data storage or backup purposes. Even better OWC offers a trade in program for the original Apple drive.
Keep On Innovating
Tight deadlines, long nights, and terabytes of media – your Mac has been with you through it all. If storage is tight, there's no reason to ditch the Mac you know and love. The Aura® Pro X2 SSD gives you up to 16 times more space and the speed to keep up with your imagination today and tomorrow. Upgrade your Mac with Aura Pro X2 SSD for a fraction of the cost of a new model and keep your Mac running for years.
Blazing Fast and Super Cool
Aura Pro X2 combines speed, stamina, and efficiency that will change the way you experience your Mac. With read speeds reaching 2989MB/s and write speeds of 1208MB/s, the 1.0TB Aura Pro X2 is up to twice as fast as the original SSDs, delivering performance on par with the latest models. It runs cooler and consumes less power than earlier SSD models, so you can run at peak for longer than ever.
Maintain Your Edge
When it's go time, getting off the line and maintaining a high level of performance are equally important. Aura Pro X2 is engineered with advanced SLC caching, providing instant full-speed write acceleration, meaning those media projects and games stream fluidly and respond without lag time. You might even forget what that beachball looks like.
Continuous Compatibility
Aura Pro X2 is designed for the latest macOS versions (macOS High Sierra 10.13 and later), taking full advantage of the advanced features of APFS including: strong encryption, copy-on-write metadata, space sharing, cloning for files and directories, snapshots, fast directory sizing, atomic safe-save primitives, and improved file system fundamentals.
Right-Sized for Work and Play
The smaller stock SSDs for Mac can fill up quickly, especially with photo and video files, games, or even your email. Aura Pro X2 SSDs are available in capacities up to 2TB, giving you more space to work and play. Newly calibrated to use less power and run cooler, Aura Pro X2 is the best way to upgrade your PCIe equipped Mac.
No Hassles or Hacks Compatibility
Aura Pro X2 PCIe-based flash storage upgrades are precisely engineered for your Mac laptop, so you'll never need to compromise your data by relying on complicated software hacks or TRIM-enablers to get the most from your upgrade. Just install, migrate your data, and enjoy the great performance of flash storage with up to 16 times the capacity of the factory-installed drive.
7% Over Provisioning
OWC SSDs perform maintenance tasks in the background that optimize the health, performance, and endurance of your flash drive. These jobs take advantage of available, unwritten areas on the SSD. Aura Pro X2 PCIe-based flash storage reserves 7% of the overall capacity as free space. Always. With this allocated free space, Aura SSDs can perform these normal maintenance tasks making your drive more stable, dependable, and ultimately a safer place to store your data.
Quality That Lasts
Aura Pro X2 SSDs are proudly designed in Austin and are backed by a lifetime of free, award-winning USA-based support.

240GB Aura Pro X2 SSD Specifications:

Specifications

Controller
Silicon Motion SM2262EN Series Processor with 7% over-provisioning
NAND
3D TLC Synchronous NAND Flash
Form Factor
Custom blade
Interface
PCIe 3.1 x4, NVMe 1.3
Capacity
240GB useable capacity
Total Flash Memory Components: 256GB
16 GB Allocated to real-time data redundancy and error correction
Formatted Capacity
223.5GiB
Native Command Queuing
up to 32 commands
Manufacturer Model Number
OWCS3DAPT4MB02
OS Requirements
macOS 10.13 High Sierra or later
Host Requirements
Must upgrade to macOS 10.13 or later, prior to installation
RoHS Compliant
Yes
Format

Physical

Height (max)
2.6mm (0.102″)
Width (max)
22.0mm (0.866″)
Length (max)
89.0mm (3.504″)
Weight
8.0g (0.28oz)

Reliability

MTBF (Mean Time Between Failures)
1,500,000
Data Reliability
ECC Recovery
Endurance
150TB total bytes written (TBW)
TRIM Support
OS Dependent

Performance

Average Access Time
<0.1 ms
Sequential Read (Max)
up to 2989MB/s
Sequential Write (Max)
up to 1208MB/s

Power

Read Power
5.7 W
Write Power
5.7 W
Seek Power
5.7 W
Idle Power
0.3 W

Environmental (Operating)

Relative Humidity (non-condensing)
5% to 95%
Temperature (°F)
32°F to 158°F
Temperature (°C)
0°C to 70°C

Environmental (Non-Operating)

Shock
1500G / 0.5ms
Temperature (°F)
-40°F to 185°F
Temperature (°C)
-40°C to 85°C

Acoustics

Idle (Typical)
0.0 bels
Seek (Typical)
0.0 bels

Notes

  • 1GB = 1,000,000,000 bytes. Total accessible capacity varies depending upon operating environment (typically 5-10% less). The actual total capacity will depend on your own defined file settings/preferences. 
  • In terms of standard gigabytes, 1GiB ≈ 1.074GB and refers to the actual formatted capacity if shown under Mac OS 10.5 or earlier and Microsoft Windows OS.
  • The Aura Pro X2 is a high performance PCIe 3.1 x4 NVMe SSD capable of performing in excess of 3000MB/s in Macs with PCIe3.0 x4 SSD slot. Performance can vary depending on many factors, including the Mac model and its drive bus specifications. Please check the compatibility section and the detailed specs for your Mac model's drive bus specifications.
  • Sequential read/write (max) performance numbers are based on testing with AJA System Test (4K-Full resolution, 64GB file size, 16bit RGBA codec, file per frame test) on a Mid 2015 MacBook Pro (MacBookPro11,4).
  • Not compatible with Apple Boot Camp on MacBookPro11,1 or MacBookAir6,1 or MacBookAir6,2.
  • When upgrading from an AHCI SSD used in some older Mac models (2013-2014), you may observe a slight increase in boot times. Read the Knowledge Base article to learn more.

1.0TB OWC Express USB 3.0 Portable Storage Solution Specifications:

Software Requirements

  • Mac OS X 10.2 or later
  • Windows 98 or later

Hardware Requirements

  • Recommended: Mac or PC featuring a USB 3.0 port
  • Minimum: Mac or PC featuring a USB 2.0 port

Interface (Chipset)

  • USB 3.0 (ASMedia 1053e)

Max Transfer Rate

  • USB 3.0: 5Gb/s

Notes

  • 1GB = 1,000,000,000 bytes. Total accessible capacity varies depending upon operating environment (typically 5-10% less).
  • The actual total capacity will depend on your own defined file settings/preferences.
  • OWC reserves the right to replace or upgrade to equivalent or better components.

Color

  • Black

Ports

  • (1) USB 3.0

Standard Mechanism

  • 1.0TB* Toshiba MQ04AB Series Hard Disk Drive**

Plug and Play

  • Yes

Power

  • Bus Powered

Security Slot

  • None

Drive Interface

  • SATA 6.0Gb/s

Rotational Speed

  • 5,400 RPM

Drive Cache

  • 128 MB

Dimensions

  • Height: 15 mm (0.6 in)
  • Length: 130 mm (5.1 in)
  • Width: 79 mm (3.1 in)

Altitude

  • Environmental (Operating)
    • -304.8 m to 3,048.0 m (-1,000 ft to 10,000 ft)
  • Environmental (Non-Operating)
    • -304.8 m to 12,192.0 m (-1,000 ft to 40,000 ft)
Manufacturer provided specifications for Other World Computing p/n S3DAPT4MB20B UPC#: 810586037488

Gallery

Note: Click here for details on macOS Sleep- and Standby-related behaviors.
This product is compatible with... Learn how to find your Mac's model ID
MacBook Pro Retina
MacBook Pro (15-inch Retina display Mid 2015)
(May, 2015)
Model ID: MacBookPro11,5
2.5GHz, 2.8GHz
MacBook Pro Retina
MacBook Pro (15-inch Retina display Mid 2015)
(May, 2015)
Model ID: MacBookPro11,4
2.2GHz, 2.5GHz, 2.8GHz
MacBook Pro Retina
MacBook Pro (13-inch Retina display Early 2015)
(March, 2015)
Model ID: MacBookPro12,1
2.7GHz, 2.9GHz, 3.1GHz
MacBook Pro Retina
MacBook Pro (15-inch Retina Display 2014)
(July, 2014)
Model ID: MacBookPro11,3
2.5GHz, 2.8GHz
MacBook Pro Retina
MacBook Pro (15-inch Retina Display 2014)
(July, 2014)
Model ID: MacBookPro11,2
2.2GHz, 2.5GHz, 2.8GHz
MacBook Pro Retina
MacBook Pro (13-inch Retina Display 2014)
(July, 2014)
Model ID: MacBookPro11,1
2.6GHz, 2.8GHz, 3.0GHz
MacBook Pro Retina
MacBook Pro (15-inch Retina Display 2013)
(October, 2013)
Model ID: MacBookPro11,3
2.3GHz, 2.6GHz
MacBook Pro Retina
MacBook Pro (15-inch Retina Display 2013)
(October, 2013)
Model ID: MacBookPro11,2
2.0GHz, 2.3GHz, 2.6GHz
MacBook Pro Retina
MacBook Pro (13-inch Retina Display 2013)
(October, 2013)
Model ID: MacBookPro11,1
2.4GHz, 2.6GHz, 2.9GHz
MacBook Air
MacBook Air (13-inch Mid 2017)
(June 2017)
Model ID: MacBookAir7,2
1.8GHz i5, 2.2GHz i7
MacBook Air
MacBook Air (13-inch Early 2015)
(March 2015)
Model ID: MacBookAir7,2
1.6GHz i5, 2.2GHz i7
MacBook Air
MacBook Air (11-inch Early 2015)
(March 2015)
Model ID: MacBookAir7,1
1.6GHz i5, 2.2GHz i7
MacBook Air
MacBook Air (13-inch Early 2014)
(April, 2014)
Model ID: MacBookAir6,2
1.4GHz, 1.7GHz
MacBook Air
MacBook Air (11-inch Early 2014)
(April, 2014)
Model ID: MacBookAir6,1
1.4GHz, 1.7GHz
MacBook Air
MacBook Air (13-inch Mid 2013)
(June, 2013)
Model ID: MacBookAir6,2
1.3GHz, 1.7GHz
MacBook Air
MacBook Air (11-inch Mid 2013)
(June, 2013)
Model ID: MacBookAir6,1
1.3GHz, 1.7GHz

Includes

  • (1) Aura Pro X2 SSD
  • (1) Tools
  • (1) 1.0TB OWC Express USB 3.0 Portable Storage Solution
  • (1) Envoy Pro User Guide
  • (1) Installation Guide for MacBook Air (Mid-2013 - 2017), MacBook Pro (Retina, Late 2013 - Mid 2015)

Customer Ratings

Write a Review 4.7 / 5 58 out of 61 (95%) reviewers would recommend this product
1 2 3
Verified Buyer
Reviewer: BlueGrasshopper-94910
Rating: 5/5 Excellent product & great service June 19, 2021 The product is fast, as promised. I bought it with the enclosure and it also came with the kit to open up my MacBook Pro 15 and replace the original Apple SSD. Mine was an international purchase, but still it took just 5 days end-to-end. The invoice was clear, which made clearing customs and paying my import duties easy and hassle free. I will probably now buy another one for my 2015 MacBook Air .

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 1.0TB OWC Aura Pro X2 SSD Upgrade Solution for Select 2013 and Later MacBook Air & MacBook Pro.

Response from OWC, Support June 21, 2021 Contra_Punto We are so grateful to be able to make your international purchase a simple and successful process. Also, we are glad that we were able to provide all the tools and components necessary to upgrade your Mac. We hope to work with you in the future and welcome you to our OWC family!
Verified Buyer
Reviewer: CuriousQuail-33071
Rating: 5/5 Great service. June 15, 2021 Helpful chat when I had a question.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 1.0TB OWC Aura Pro X2 SSD Upgrade Solution for Select 2013 and Later MacBook Air & MacBook Pro.

Response from OWC, Support June 16, 2021 Thank you for using our Live Chat Support! We are pleased to hear that were were able to help you with your technical needs!
Verified Buyer
Reviewer: FoolishStork
Rating: 5/5 Great Fix June 14, 2021 This review is for the 480GB OWC Aura Pro X2 SSD for my son's MacBook Air. His internal hard drive was corrupted and this resolved the issue. Before you install this, make sure your computer's Mac OS is up to date. I had to create a bootable external drive containing the latest version of Mac OS because the old operating system on the Mac did not recognized the 480GB OWC Aura Pro X2 SSD. The computer functions as new. Great purchase!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 480GB OWC Aura Pro X2 SSD Upgrade Solution for Select 2013 and Later MacBook Air & MacBook Pro.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: AnxiousLion-40347
Rating: 5/5 The best! June 12, 2021 Took me a minute to setup, but after I talked to Art D. Everything has ran smoothly and I have room to create! Thank you and you’re my families, All-things Mac providers

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 1.0TB OWC Aura Pro X2 SSD Upgrade Solution for Select 2013 and Later MacBook Air & MacBook Pro.

Response from OWC, Support June 15, 2021 We are glad to hear that Art D. was able to successfully assist with your set up! We do apologize for any issues prior to your assistance! We thank you value you as a loyal OWC customer!
Verified Buyer
Reviewer: MistyManatee-30329
Rating: 4/5 June 10, 2021 Directions out of the box were confusing, online directions not much better, but it all worked well in the end!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 2.0TB OWC Aura Pro X2 SSD Upgrade Solution for Select 2013 and Later MacBook Air & MacBook Pro.

Response from OWC, Support June 10, 2021 MistyManatee-30 We are so sorry for any confusion with the included directions and that the online instructions were helpful.
Verified Buyer
Reviewer: MinamSLC
Rating: 5/5 Excellent experience June 7, 2021 I received my purchase on time, no complaints at all.

I loved the walk-through installation videos.

The support help desk was very knowledgable and helped fix the issues I ran into.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 1.0TB OWC Aura Pro X2 SSD Upgrade Solution for Select 2013 and Later MacBook Air & MacBook Pro.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: SmilingCaterpillar-9540
Rating: 5/5 Amazeballs June 4, 2021 I contacted the sales Dept with the Online chat and they ci firmed what I wanted would work with my laptop. I received it. Followed the I line video and written instructions. And presto. Perfect!!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 1.0TB OWC Aura Pro X2 SSD Upgrade Solution for Select 2013 and Later MacBook Air & MacBook Pro.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: BobS-C
Rating: 4/5 Wish for more directions June 2, 2021 I followed the directions that came with the SSD, but when I turned my MacBookAir back on, it did not recognize the SSD. I tried all kinds of things, and after 3 hours it started working. No idea what was wrong, or why it is now OK. I managed to recover about 60% of my old system by first recovering using a Time Machine backup, which stopped about 60% of the way. Then re-installing Mojave, which worked and did not delete what I had recovered. The rest I have recovered manually, file-by-file and folder-by-folder, by digging around inside the Time Machine backup. No idea why the backup did not work 100%. The directions that came in the package only told me how to physically install the SSD. No help at all with the software side. Thanks to NewEggs install video, and may sites I found via google, All is now working. I bought the extra toolkit, which was handy, but my old SSD is not operable in the included case.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 1.0TB OWC Aura Pro X2 SSD Upgrade Solution for Select 2013 and Later MacBook Air & MacBook Pro.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: quickuse
Rating: 5/5 Easiest Upgraded EVER !!! May 25, 2021 With this 2TB Drive (and my 512MB SSD all but full) formatting and transfer took a long time. But still it was effortless using Time Machine backup to transfer to the new drive. This does use substantially more power, but since 90% of the time the notebook is plugged in (and never taken on the road) this does not matter for me. I would upgrade with OWC again in a heartbeat ;-)

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: GlamorousKangaroo-98705
Rating: 5/5 Awesome and Fast! May 21, 2021 I love my new 2TB drive, it’s revived my MacBook and given it new life!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 2.0TB OWC Aura Pro X2 SSD Upgrade Solution for Select 2013 and Later MacBook Air & MacBook Pro.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: DavidThompson
Rating: 5/5 Good quality May 18, 2021 Easy to replace with the supplied tools and kit. Transfer of data went great. Love your products.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 2.0TB OWC Aura Pro X2 SSD Upgrade Solution for Select 2013 and Later MacBook Air & MacBook Pro.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: ToughTurkey-1209
Rating: 5/5 So far, quite good! May 13, 2021 Instructions were clear and the drive works exactly as expected.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 1.0TB OWC Aura Pro X2 SSD Upgrade Solution for Select 2013 and Later MacBook Air & MacBook Pro.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Rickyd651914
Rating: 5/5 Mid 2014 MacBook Pro May 5, 2021 I did it myself and was pleasantly surprised at how easy it was. Saved myself $160

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 480GB OWC Aura Pro X2 SSD Upgrade Solution for Select 2013 and Later MacBook Air & MacBook Pro.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: xdrbobx
Rating: 5/5 Great Company - Excellent Products April 30, 2021 I have purchased a number of products from MacSales / OWC over the years. Good dependable company with solid products. Always exceeded my expectations.

This review is from 1.0TB OWC Aura Pro X2 SSD Upgrade Solution for Select 2013 and Later MacBook Air & MacBook Pro.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: ProudSeahorse-45805
Rating: 5/5 Nice upgrade April 29, 2021 Fast and Easy to install.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 480GB OWC Aura Pro X2 SSD Upgrade Solution for Select 2013 and Later MacBook Air & MacBook Pro.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: MysteriousWhale-71438
Rating: 5/5 Recent purchase from MacSales April 27, 2021 very good, reasonable pricing and good service

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 480GB OWC Aura Pro X2 SSD Upgrade Solution for Select 2013 and Later MacBook Air & MacBook Pro.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: ClearBat-21842
Rating: 5/5 It worked April 26, 2021 The install of the upgrade worked very well and caused no problems. I am currently using the MacBook Air to full capacity.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 1.0TB OWC Aura Pro X2 SSD Upgrade Solution for Select 2013 and Later MacBook Air & MacBook Pro.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: CleverBee-53791
Rating: 1/5 not happy April 26, 2021 This upgrade has my macbook running slow. It takes longer to boot up now. An get really hot.

This review is from 1.0TB OWC Aura Pro X2 SSD Upgrade Solution for Select 2013 and Later MacBook Air & MacBook Pro.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: WanderingFrog-9905
Rating: 5/5 I bought A hard drive April 26, 2021 It was a hard drive that holds much information.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 1.0TB OWC Aura Pro X2 SSD Upgrade Solution for Select 2013 and Later MacBook Air & MacBook Pro.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: CloudyMoth-37474
Rating: 5/5 Worked like a charm April 24, 2021 Easy install and worked perfectly

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 1.0TB OWC Aura Pro X2 SSD Upgrade Solution for Select 2013 and Later MacBook Air & MacBook Pro.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: CuriousMouse-75583
Rating: 5/5 Incredibly easy upgrade. April 24, 2021 I did not know what was going on when I had to restart the laptop a few times as the new OS installed itself, but that's between me and Apple.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 1.0TB OWC Aura Pro X2 SSD Upgrade Solution for Select 2013 and Later MacBook Air & MacBook Pro.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: EasyGopher-4688
Rating: 5/5 Flawless April 24, 2021 Best upgrade ever! So easy to do, and performs amazing. I’ve been thinking about upgrading another machine that doesn’t even need it since it was so straightforward.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 480GB OWC Aura Pro X2 SSD Upgrade Solution for Select 2013 and Later MacBook Air & MacBook Pro.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: TalentedShark-27258
Rating: 5/5 Easy Upgrade April 24, 2021 Easy upgrade. Great Vslue

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 1.0TB OWC Aura Pro X2 SSD Upgrade Solution for Select 2013 and Later MacBook Air & MacBook Pro.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: NiceSwift-13186
Rating: 5/5 Great choice April 24, 2021 Went from 250gb to 1tb, install was super simple too. Kinda a no brainer when you are running out of space

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 1.0TB OWC Aura Pro X2 SSD Upgrade Solution for Select 2013 and Later MacBook Air & MacBook Pro.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: kskirtz-39396
Rating: 5/5 Great MacBook Air upgrade! April 23, 2021 I wanted more storage for my MacBook Air and bought your unit for a great price. It was an easy replacement and I really enjoy the larger storage ability.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 480GB OWC Aura Pro X2 SSD Upgrade Solution for Select 2013 and Later MacBook Air & MacBook Pro.

OWC Aura Pro X2 2.0TB NVMe SSD Upgrade Solution Mfr P/N: S3DAPT4MB20B OWC SKU: OWCS3DAPT4MB20B NVMe Flash Upgrade Solution with Tools & 1.0TB OWC Express USB 3.0 Portable Storage Solution for MacBook Air (Mid 2013 - 2017), MacBook Pro (Retina, Late 2013 - Mid 2015) 5 Year OWC Limited Warranty Ships: Same Day only $479.00
Add to CartOther World Computing S3DAPT4MB20B In Stock, Click to Buy Now
Additional Capacities: SSD Upgrade Kit with SSD, Tools & 1TB External Drive
  • 240GB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $1,499.99
    • Bundle Priced for $144.00
  • 480GB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Bundle Priced for $189.00
  • 1TB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $299.00
    • Bundle Priced for $279.00
  • 2TB
SSD Upgrade Kit with SSD, Tools & Transfer Enclosure
  • 240GB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Bundle Priced for $194.00
  • 480GB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Cyber Saver $239.00
  • 1TB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $349.99
    • Bundle Priced for $329.00
  • 2TB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $549.99
    • Cyber Saver $529.00