Home » Internal Hard Drives and SSDs » OWC Mercury Electra 6G SSDs

OWC Special Offers Available

Doorbuster Offer $50.00 off Cyber Week CYBERBUSTER on 4.0TB OWC Mercury Electra 6G Solid-State Drives! (Limit 2) Act fast! Limited quantity available with this offer.
Doorbuster Offer Cyber Week CYBERBUSTER BONUS - Save an EXTRA $30.99 on 4.0TB OWC Mercury Electra 6G Solid-State Drives! Act fast! Limited quantity available with this offer.
$70.99 off *NOW* Get Parallels Desktop Pro Edition - Windows/Multi OS Compatibility software for Mac - Only $29.00 with select OWC SSDs, HDDs, Memory, External Storage, and Optical Drives! (Limit 3 rebates, 1 rebate per qualifying item)
Must purchase with: PPDPROSUB1Y-REB29

OWC

Mercury Electra™ 6G
4.0TB 2.5" Serial-ATA 7mm Solid-State Drive

2.5-Inch | SATA 6.0Gb/s
For High Speed Performance and Reliability
Mercury Electra SSDs deliver the latest in flash NAND and controller technology, utilizing 3D NAND + SLC caching for long-lasting, power-efficient performance. They offer a powerful combination of performance and reliability for demanding everyday computer users.
The Mercury SSD line features:
  • Global wear leveling algorithms automatically distribute data evenly and manage program/erase count, maximizing SSD lifespan.
  • Static data refresh technology manages free space, gradually refreshing data across the SSD over time, preventing data corruption.
  • Hardware ECC corrects errors for superior data retention and drive life.
  • S.M.A.R.T and TRIM command support.
  • Standby power benefits to extend battery life for laptop road warriors.
High Performance Internal Storage
This 6G SATA SSD delivers fast, reliable performance. It works as a hard drive upgrade internally and in bus-powered or self-powered external enclosures (any Mac, PC, or enclosure that supports 2.5" SATA drives, must support 7mm drive height).
OWC SSDs have no moving parts, resulting in a quiet, cool, highly rugged storage solution that also offers near instantaneous system response. With real world speeds over to 500MB/s, the OWC Mercury Electra 6G SSD line delivers unbeatable performance.
No Risk, No Hassle 30-Day Money Back Guarantee.
For complete program details and return policies, click here.

Product Specifications

Specifications
  • Capacity
    • 4000GB Useable Capacity
    • Total Flash Memory Components: 4096GB
    • 96GB Allocated to real-time data redundancy and error correction
  • Formatted Capacity
    • 3725 GiB
  • Form Factor
    • 2.5-inch 7mm
  • Interface
    • SATA 6.0 Gb/s
  • Controller
    • Phison PS3112-S12 with 3% over-provisioning
  • NAND Flash Components
    • Micron Synchronous Quad-Level Cell (QLC) 3D NAND Flash
  • S.M.A.R.T. Attributes
    • Standard attributes supported
  • Native Command Queuing (NCQ)
    • Up to 32 simultaneous commands
  • RAID Support
    • Yes
  • RoHS Compliant
    • Yes
  • Reach Certification
    • Yes
Performance
  • Sequential Read (Max)
    • Up to 524 MB/s
  • Sequential Write (Max)
    • Up to 516 MB/s
  • Sequential Read (Average)
    • 513 MB/s
  • Sequential Write (Average)
    • 514 MB/s
Reliability
  • Nonrecoverable Read Errors
    • 1 per 1016 bits read
  • MTBF (Mean Time Between Failures)
    • 1,600,000 hours
  • TRIM Support
    • OS Dependent
  • Security
    • Secure Erase|Crypto Erase
  • Endurance
    • 435TB total bytes written (TBW), equal to 239 GB per day for 5 years
Compatibility
  • Mac OS Compatibility
    • Yes
  • PC OS Compatibility
    • Yes
  • Other Requirements
    • Host or device with a built-in SATA connection.
Power
  • Write Mode (Max)
    • Up to 2 Watts
  • Seek Mode (Max)
    • Up to 1.9 Watts
  • Idle Mode (Max)
    • Up to 0.15 Watts
Physical
  • Dimensions
    • Height: 0.7 cm (0.3 in)
    • Length: 10.0 cm (3.9 in)
    • Width: 7.0 cm (2.8 in)
Environmental
  • Ambient Temperature
    • Operating: 32°F to 158°F (0°C to 70°C)
    • Non-Operating: -40°F to 185°F (-40°C to 85°C)
  • Altitude
    • Operating: -304.8 m to 3,048.0 m (-1,000 ft to 10,000 ft)
    • Non-Operating: -304.8 m to 12,192.0 m (-1,000 ft to 40,000 ft)
  • Humidity
    • Operating: 5% to 90% non-condensing
    • Non-Operating: 0% to 93% non-condensing
Acoustics
  • Idle (Typical)
    • 0.0 bels
  • Seek (Typical)
    • 0.0 bels
Applications
  • Applications
    • General Purpose High-performance SSD.

Gallery

Special note for specific 2009 iMacs, 2008-2010 MacBooks, 2008-2009 MacBook Pros & 2009 Mac mini.
We highly recommend the use of a SATA 2.0 (3Gb/s) SSD such as the OWC Mercury Electra 3G for the following Macs:
iMacs w/ Model ID:
How to find the model ID
  • iMac9,1
  • iMac10,1
  • iMac11,1
MacBooks w/ Model ID:
How to find the model ID
  • MacBook5,1
  • MacBook5,2
  • MacBook6,1
  • MacBook7,1
MacBook Pros w/ Model ID:
How to find the model ID
  • MacBookPro5,1
  • MacBookPro5,2
  • MacBookPro5,3
  • MacBookPro5,4
  • MacBookPro5,5
Mac minis w/ Model ID:
How to find the model ID
  • Macmini3,1
  • Macmini4,1
While a 6G SSD does function, it will only do so at SATA Revision 1.0 (1.5Gb/s, 150MB/s) speeds rather that the SATA Revision 2.0 (3.0Gb/s 300MB/s) speed the computer can deliver.
The Mercury Electra 3G SSD is the OWC recommended upgrade option for the Macs listed in the special note above.

This OWC SSD Model is compatible with nearly any Mac or PC model with a Serial ATA connection (SATA, SATA 2.0, or SATA 3.0) including: Learn how to find your Mac's model ID
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (15-inch 2012)
(June, 2012)
Model ID: MacBookPro9,1
2.3GHz, 2.6GHz, 2.7GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (13-inch 2012)
(June, 2012)
Model ID: MacBookPro9,2
2.5GHz, 2.9GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (17-inch 2011)
(October, 2011)
Model ID: MacBookPro8,3
2.4GHz, 2.5GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (15-inch 2011)
(October, 2011)
Model ID: MacBookPro8,2
2.2GHz, 2.4GHz, 2.5GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (13-inch 2011)
(October, 2011)
Model ID: MacBookPro8,1
2.4GHz, 2.8GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (17-inch Early 2011)
(February, 2011)
Model ID: MacBookPro8,3
2.2GHz, 2.3GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (15-inch Early 2011)
(February, 2011)
Model ID: MacBookPro8,2
2.0GHz, 2.2GHz, 2.3GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (13-inch Early 2011)
(February, 2011)
Model ID: MacBookPro8,1
2.3GHz, 2.7GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (17-inch Mid 2010)
(April, 2010)
Model ID: MacBookPro6,1
2.53GHz, 2.66GHz, 2.8GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (15-inch Mid 2010)
(April, 2010)
Model ID: MacBookPro6,2
2.4GHz, 2.53GHz, 2.66GHz, 2.8GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (13-inch Mid 2010)
(April, 2010)
Model ID: MacBookPro7,1
2.4GHz, 2.66GHz
MacBook Pro
MacBook Pro (17-inch Late 2008)
(October, 2008)
Model ID: MacBookPro4,1
2.5GHz, 2.6GHz
MacBook Pro
MacBook Pro (17-inch Early 2008)
(February, 2008)
Model ID: MacBookPro4,1
2.5GHz, 2.6GHz
MacBook Pro
MacBook Pro (15-inch Early 2008)
(February, 2008)
Model ID: MacBookPro4,1
2.4GHz, 2.5GHz, 2.6GHz
MacBook Pro
MacBook Pro (17-inch Mid/Late 2007)
(June, 2007)
Model ID: MacBookPro3,1
2.4GHz, 2.6GHz
MacBook Pro
MacBook Pro (15-inch Mid/Late 2007)
(June, 2007)
Model ID: MacBookPro3,1
2.2GHz, 2.4GHz, 2.6GHz
MacBook Pro
MacBook Pro (17-inch Core 2 Duo)
(October, 2006)
Model ID: MacBookPro2,1
2.33GHz
MacBook Pro
MacBook Pro (15-inch Core 2 Duo)
(October, 2006)
Model ID: MacBookPro2,2
2.16GHz, 2.33GHz
MacBook Pro
MacBook Pro (15-inch Glossy)
(May, 2006)
Model ID: MacBookPro1,1
2.0GHz, 2.16GHz
MacBook Pro
MacBook Pro (17-inch)
(April, 2006)
Model ID: MacBookPro1,2
2.16GHz
MacBook Pro
MacBook Pro (15-inch)
(January, 2006)
Model ID: MacBookPro1,1
1.83GHz, 2.0GHz, 2.16GHz
MacBook
MacBook (Late 2008)
(October, 2008)
Model ID: MacBook4,1
2.1GHz
MacBook
MacBook (Early 2008)
(February, 2008)
Model ID: MacBook4,1
2.1GHz, 2.4GHz
MacBook
MacBook (Late 2007)
(November, 2007)
Model ID: MacBook3,1
2.0GHz, 2.2GHz
MacBook
MacBook (Mid 2007)
(May, 2007)
Model ID: MacBook2,1
2.0GHz, 2.16GHz
MacBook
MacBook (Late 2006)
(November, 2006)
Model ID: MacBook2,1
1.83GHz, 2.0GHz
MacBook
MacBook
(May, 2006)
Model ID: MacBook1,1
1.83GHz, 2.0GHz
Mac mini Intel
Mac mini (Late 2014)
(October, 2014)
Model ID: Macmini7,1
1.4GHz, 2.6GHz, 2.8GHz, 3.0GHz
Mac mini Intel
Mac mini (Late 2012)
(October, 2012)
Model ID: Macmini6,1 & Macmini6,2
2.3GHz, 2.5GHz, 2.6GHz
Mac mini Intel
Mac mini (Late 2012 Server)
(October, 2012)
Model ID: Macmini6,2
2.3GHz, 2.6GHz
Mac mini Intel
Mac mini (Mid 2011)
(July, 2011)
Model ID: Macmini5,1 & Macmini5,2
2.3GHz, 2.5GHz, 2.7GHz
Mac mini Intel
Mac mini (Mid 2011 Server)
(July, 2011)
Model ID: Macmini5,3
2.0GHz
Mac mini Intel
Mac mini (Mid 2010)
(June, 2010)
Model ID: Macmini4,1
2.4GHz, 2.66GHz
Mac mini Intel
Mac mini (Mid 2010 Server)
(June, 2010)
Model ID: Macmini4,1
2.66GHz
Mac mini Intel
Mac mini (Mid 2007)
(August, 2007)
Model ID: Macmini2,1
1.83GHz, 2.0GHz
iMac Intel
iMac (27-inch Late 2013)
(September, 2013)
Model ID: iMac14,2
3.2GHz i5, 3.4GHz i5, 3.5GHz i7
iMac Intel
iMac (21.5-inch Late 2013)
(September, 2013)
Model ID: iMac14,1; iMac14,3
2.7GHz i5, 2.9GHz i5, 3.1GHz i7
iMac Intel
iMac (21.5-inch Early 2013)
(March, 2013)
Model ID: iMac13,3
3.3GHz i3
iMac Intel
iMac (27-inch Late 2012)
(November, 2012)
Model ID: iMac13,2
2.9GHz i5, 3.2GHz i5, 3.4GHz i7
iMac Intel
iMac (21.5-inch Late 2012)
(November, 2012)
Model ID: iMac13,1
2.7GHz i5, 2.9GHz i5, 3.1GHz i7
iMac Intel
iMac (27-inch Mid 2011)
(May, 2011)
Model ID: iMac12,2
2.7GHz i5, 3.1GHz i5, 3.4GHz i7
iMac Intel
iMac (21.5-inch Mid 2011)
(May, 2011)
Model ID: iMac12,1
2.5GHz i5, 2.7GHz i5, 2.8GHz i7
iMac Intel
iMac (27-inch Mid 2010)
(July, 2010)
Model ID: iMac11,3
2.8GHz, 2.93GHz, 3.2GHz, 3.6GHz
iMac Intel
iMac (21.5-inch Mid 2010)
(July, 2010)
Model ID: iMac11,2
3.06GHz, 3.2GHz, 3.6GHz
iMac Intel
iMac (27-inch Mid 2010)
(July, 2010)
Model ID: iMac11,3
2.8GHz i5, 2.93GHz i5, 3.6GHz i7
iMac Intel
iMac (21.5-inch Mid 2010)
(July, 2010)
Model ID: iMac11,2
3.6GHz i5
This OWC SSD is compatible with the Mac Pro models listed below when mounted with:
- NewerTech AdaptaDrive 2.5" to 3.5" Drive Converter Bracket only $14.25
Mac Pro
Mac Pro 12-Core (Mid 2012)
(June, 2012)
Model ID: MacPro5,1
2.4GHz, 2.66GHz, 3.06GHz
Mac Pro
Mac Pro 6-Core (Mid 2012)
(June, 2012)
Model ID: MacPro5,1
3.33GHz
Mac Pro
Mac Pro 4-Core (Mid 2012)
(June, 2012)
Model ID: MacPro5,1
3.2GHz
Mac Pro
Mac Pro 12-Core (Mid 2010)
(July, 2010)
Model ID: MacPro5,1
2.66GHz, 2.93GHz
Mac Pro
Mac Pro 8-Core (Mid 2010)
(July, 2010)
Model ID: MacPro5,1
2.4GHz
Mac Pro
Mac Pro 6-Core (Mid 2010)
(July, 2010)
Model ID: MacPro5,1
3.33GHz
Mac Pro
Mac Pro 4-Core (Mid 2010)
(July, 2010)
Model ID: MacPro5,1
2.8GHz, 3.2GHz
Mac Pro
Mac Pro 8-Core (Early 2009)
(March, 2009)
Model ID: MacPro4,1
2.26GHz, 2.66GHz, 2.93GHz
Mac Pro
Mac Pro 4-Core (Early 2009)
(March, 2009)
Model ID: MacPro4,1
2.66GHz, 2.93GHz, 3.33GHz
Mac Pro
Mac Pro 8-Core (Early 2008)
(January, 2008)
Model ID: MacPro3,1
2.8GHz, 3.0GHz, 3.2GHz
Mac Pro
Mac Pro 4-Core (Early 2008)
(January, 2008)
Model ID: MacPro3,1
2.8GHz
Mac Pro
Mac Pro 8-core (Early 2007)
(April, 2007)
Model ID: MacPro2,1
3.0GHz
Mac Pro
Mac Pro 4-core (Mid 2006)
(August, 2006)
Model ID: MacPro1,1
2.0GHz, 2.66GHz, 3.0GHz

Includes

  • (1) Mercury Electra 6G SSD
  • 3 Year OWC Limited Warranty

Customer Ratings

Write a Review 4.9 / 5 217 out of 229 (95%) reviewers would recommend this product
1 2 3 4 5 6 7
Verified Buyer Top 250 Contributor
Reviewer: GilsMac Location: Wild Rose, WI Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Fast and reliable November 18, 2016 This thing is fast compared to a traditional hard drive. I own a few other OWC drives and they are still going strong after three years. Well worth it!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 480GB Mercury Electra 6G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 6.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: SillyCar Location: Rock City Falls, NY Age: 35-44 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Long Term Review - Another great product from OWC - Great SSD November 14, 2016 I have had this drive in a Power Mac G5 for four years now. Up until about 4 months ago, this mac was my main computer in my office and was used for graphic design using all of the Adobe Creative Suite Software, audio production with Ableton Live, web production, video work in iMovie and many others. This drive gave my G5 new life and has performed flawlessly for the past four years. No issues whatsoever. The computer has been relegated to just an iTunes player and Video converter (from old digital camcorder tapes to dvd), but it still works great. I only upgraded because it's not an intel mac and the internet has become unusable with the browsers available to OS X version 10.5 which is the highest I can upgrade it to, so I got a new iMac. Anyway, these Mercury drives are great! I would buy again and again.....

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from (*) 240GB Mercury Electra 6G SSD 2.5-inch 9.5mm SATA 6.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: SATTAM Location: Saudi Arabia, Jeddah Age: 25-34 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 my favorite website November 14, 2016 *top quality *top perfect *top categories

thanks a lot macsales

This review is from 240GB Mercury Electra 6G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 6.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: sebruise Location: Chile Age: 25-34 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Everything was fine November 10, 2016 The product arrived on time. Unfortunately, i have not tested my new SSD because there's a problem with the macbook's flex. But I'm sure that once I fix it, it will enjoy my super fast SSD.

Thanks for all

Seb

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 480GB Mercury Electra 6G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 6.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: ramowc Location: portland, or Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 SSD 1Tb November 9, 2016 Installed without issues, been a couple of weeks and all is operating as expected, great product..

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 1.0TB Mercury Electra 6G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 6.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Rock63 Location: Norway Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Big upgrade November 8, 2016 GOT a new MacBook pro by exchanging my old spindisc with this ssd. Very quick shipping. Efforts less shopping.

This review is from 480GB Mercury Electra 6G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 6.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: TiredDad Location: Burlington, MA Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Fast drive, great installation instructions October 22, 2016 I put an OWC SSD and more memory into both my kids old MacBook Pro's and they are like new computers. Arrived on time in perfect condition. The installation instructions were great, I had no problem doing the upgrades.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 480GB Mercury Electra 6G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 6.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: josnk81 Location: Florida Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 This product functions as advertised October 8, 2016 I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 120GB Mercury Electra 6G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 6.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive. Customer Videos:
Verified Buyer
Reviewer: LukeJames Location: MY Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 This product is reliable,compatible and fast speed September 30, 2016 I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 480GB Mercury Electra 6G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 6.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive. Customer Videos:
Verified Buyer
Reviewer: BugHunter Age: 45-54 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Like New! September 24, 2016 My 5 year old MBP seemed to be crawling after the last couple of OS updates. Word and Excel would take minutes to launch. With the new SSD, my MBP is like new. I even got to keep my old HD nice I bought the Drive Doubler too. The hardest part was figuring out what to move to the SSD since it was smaller than my HD. I put the system, apps and docs on the SSD and it's a whole new world/

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 120GB Mercury Electra 6G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 6.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: ChrisLJ Location: SW Ohio Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 In the blink of an eye! September 4, 2016 I finally replaced the slug-slow hard drive in my Early 2011 13" MacBook Pro with this SSD. I simply can't believe the difference in speed and boot up time. I use to have to turn it on and go do something else while waiting, or just put it to sleep in the first place so I didn't have to wait.

Now it's less than 10 seconds from the time I hit the power button to the login screen coming up. Plus, once I log in it's ready to go, not slogging through all the startup routine.

With the low prices of these things and the massive improvement in performance, plus the ease of installation, it's simply crazy not to get one. Or two; dump the optical drive.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 480GB Mercury Electra 6G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 6.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: gsteinberg22 Location: Waukesha, WI Age: 25-34 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Very Happy!! August 27, 2016 My Mac mini runs cool, and is lightning fast! I am extremely happy with the ordering process and shipping securely. I recommend a SSD to anyone who is looking at a new computer, or just speed up your existing Mac mini. The staff at OWC is always very helpful when I call.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 480GB Mercury Electra 6G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 6.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Sponkynurse Location: Cleveland, GA Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Great product!! August 8, 2016 I actually didn't end up needing this but I will get a cover for the new hard drive and use it as my back up. I am sure I will need it at some point. Thanks for everything.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 480GB Mercury Electra 6G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 6.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Boston, MA Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 Works like a charm! August 4, 2016 Purchased this for my Mac Mini and put it in a data doubler.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 1.0TB Mercury Electra 6G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 6.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Foxy Location: Springfield, MO Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 They are every thing that they are said to be July 23, 2016 Very fast and dependable!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 60GB Mercury Electra 6G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 6.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive..

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Regina Saskatchewan Canada Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 3-4 months
Rating: 5/5 2nd SSD from OWC and can't say enough good things!! July 22, 2016 I purchased this SSD as a house warming gift for a friend. He has said the difference in speed and boot up times on his 2011 Macbook Pro is night and day.

Shipping to Canada is also a breeze as there is an option to have the customs fees included in the shipping cost.

Would highly recommend to anyone to use macsales.com

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 480GB Mercury Electra 6G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 6.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Nashville, TN Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 Keeps on Truckin' July 18, 2016 It's a SSD! It works!

Haha. Seriously though, I've had this for a few years without any hiccup or complaint. Installation was easy into MacPro5,1 with OWC videos and toolkit.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from (*) 240GB Mercury Electra 6G SSD 2.5-inch 9.5mm SATA 6.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Atlanta,GA Age: 45-54 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 3-4 months
Rating: 5/5 Another awesome drive from MacSales July 18, 2016 This place ROCKS!

Had a drive fail once and they were very responsive and helpful.

Nothing beats a painless RMA.

All other products have worked well.

MacSales is my 1 stop Mac stuff shop.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 1.0TB Mercury Electra 6G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 6.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Pennsylvania Age: 18-24 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Great addition to 2012 MacBook Pro July 17, 2016 Installed in my 2012 13" MacBook Pro (2.5 GHz Intel Core i5), and can't believe the difference. Boot up time went from 3 minutes to 20 seconds!! Highly recommended!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 120GB Mercury Electra 6G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 6.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Takoma Park, MD Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 2011 IMAC Upgrade: Faster and much quieter June 25, 2016 Installed 1 TB SSD in my 2011 27 inch IMAC.

Much faster: haven't seen a spinning beach ball.

Much quieter: I like quiet. I hadn't realized how noisy the old mechanical hard-disk was until this replacement. (I thought the noise was coming from the external back-up drive.)

Satisfied customer.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 1.0TB Mercury Electra 6G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 6.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Age: 55-65 Owned Product: 3-4 months
Rating: 5/5 A world of difference! June 24, 2016 I put off upgrading my MacBook Pro 2012 for a long time, mainly because I did not feel ready for the leap to El Capitan from Mountain Lion. But every day it became clear that it was time to retire the Lion. I am glad I finally got around to it. The ease of installation and the enhancement in performance with an SSD drive has made a world of difference. While I have yet to fully outfit and upgrade my 'Book to all of my preferred apps, I have no "Cons" to report. The performance boost, and especially the quick boot time are refreshing!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 480GB Mercury Electra 6G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 6.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Brisbane Age: 45-54 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 3-4 months
Rating: 5/5 Good Performance June 21, 2016 Good Performance and reliability, no MEM errors

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 240GB Mercury Electra 6G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 6.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

Verified Buyer Top 100 Contributor
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Ellicott City Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 ESSD just works . . ! June 13, 2016 great product that was a snap to both install and setup. The move from one drive to the ether was faultless and fast.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from (*) 480GB Mercury Electra 6G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 6.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive. *Demo*.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: St. Paul, MN Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 I DO have one suggestion June 6, 2016 SSDs are a GREAT addition to a Mac. I do have a marketing suggestion. You should offer a kit with all the essentials for the installation -- cables, adapters, etc. WITHOUT the tools. Many of us already own those. We need to have a completely installable drive kit, but we don't want to buy the tools again.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 240GB Mercury Electra 6G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 6.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Laval, Qc Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 Amazing, Fast, Reliable, no regrets!! June 3, 2016 I had a 256 SSD in my Macbook Pro mid-2010, running the latest Yosemite, and now El Capitan, With this new replacement my read write speeds have increased. now reading 261 MB/sec and writing 215 MB/sec This Fast "old laptop" has now become faster. and is really being used as it was intended.

OWC fast shipping, easy payment, great Customer service, and Tech Support. Did the swap myself using their free online video tutorials! really took the fear out of opening up a Macbook!

Love it, Great Company! Great Products, Great People!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 1.0TB Mercury Electra 6G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 6.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

OWC Mercury Electra™ 6G 4.0TB 2.5" Serial-ATA 7mm Solid-State Drive Mfr P/N: S4D7E6GT4.0 OWC SKU: OWCS4D7E6GT4.0 SATA 6Gb/s SSD featuring the latest flash NAND (SLC cache + 3D storage) for everyday computing. Mac and PC compatible 3 Year OWC Limited Warranty Ships: Same Day Only $649.99Cyber Saver $499.00 After Special Offers (Limit 2)Add to CartOther World Computing S4D7E6GT4.0 In Stock, Click to Buy Now
Additional Capacities:
  • 120GB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • OWC Price $31.49
  • 250GB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $44.99
    • Cyber Saver $38.00
    • After Instant Rebates
  • 500GB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $84.99
    • Cyber Saver $59.00
    • After Instant Rebates
  • 1.0TB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $149.99
    • Cyber Saver $99.00
    • After Instant Rebates
  • 2.0TB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Cyber Saver $268.99
  • 4.0TB