Home » Internal Hard Drives and SSDs » OWC Mercury Electra 6G SSDs

OWC Special Offers Available

Doorbuster Offer $50.00 off Cyber Week CYBERBUSTER on 4.0TB OWC Mercury Electra 6G Solid-State Drives! (Limit 2) Act fast! Limited quantity available with this offer.
Doorbuster Offer Cyber Week CYBERBUSTER BONUS - Save an EXTRA $30.99 on 4.0TB OWC Mercury Electra 6G Solid-State Drives! Act fast! Limited quantity available with this offer.
$70.99 off *NOW* Get Parallels Desktop Pro Edition - Windows/Multi OS Compatibility software for Mac - Only $29.00 with select OWC SSDs, HDDs, Memory, External Storage, and Optical Drives! (Limit 3 rebates, 1 rebate per qualifying item)
Must purchase with: PPDPROSUB1Y-REB29

OWC

Mercury Electra™ 6G
4.0TB 2.5" Serial-ATA 7mm Solid-State Drive

2.5-Inch | SATA 6.0Gb/s
For High Speed Performance and Reliability
Mercury Electra SSDs deliver the latest in flash NAND and controller technology, utilizing 3D NAND + SLC caching for long-lasting, power-efficient performance. They offer a powerful combination of performance and reliability for demanding everyday computer users.
The Mercury SSD line features:
  • Global wear leveling algorithms automatically distribute data evenly and manage program/erase count, maximizing SSD lifespan.
  • Static data refresh technology manages free space, gradually refreshing data across the SSD over time, preventing data corruption.
  • Hardware ECC corrects errors for superior data retention and drive life.
  • S.M.A.R.T and TRIM command support.
  • Standby power benefits to extend battery life for laptop road warriors.
High Performance Internal Storage
This 6G SATA SSD delivers fast, reliable performance. It works as a hard drive upgrade internally and in bus-powered or self-powered external enclosures (any Mac, PC, or enclosure that supports 2.5" SATA drives, must support 7mm drive height).
OWC SSDs have no moving parts, resulting in a quiet, cool, highly rugged storage solution that also offers near instantaneous system response. With real world speeds over to 500MB/s, the OWC Mercury Electra 6G SSD line delivers unbeatable performance.
No Risk, No Hassle 30-Day Money Back Guarantee.
For complete program details and return policies, click here.

Product Specifications

Specifications
  • Capacity
    • 4000GB Useable Capacity
    • Total Flash Memory Components: 4096GB
    • 96GB Allocated to real-time data redundancy and error correction
  • Formatted Capacity
    • 3725 GiB
  • Form Factor
    • 2.5-inch 7mm
  • Interface
    • SATA 6.0 Gb/s
  • Controller
    • Phison PS3112-S12 with 3% over-provisioning
  • NAND Flash Components
    • Micron Synchronous Quad-Level Cell (QLC) 3D NAND Flash
  • S.M.A.R.T. Attributes
    • Standard attributes supported
  • Native Command Queuing (NCQ)
    • Up to 32 simultaneous commands
  • RAID Support
    • Yes
  • RoHS Compliant
    • Yes
  • Reach Certification
    • Yes
Performance
  • Sequential Read (Max)
    • Up to 524 MB/s
  • Sequential Write (Max)
    • Up to 516 MB/s
  • Sequential Read (Average)
    • 513 MB/s
  • Sequential Write (Average)
    • 514 MB/s
Reliability
  • Nonrecoverable Read Errors
    • 1 per 1016 bits read
  • MTBF (Mean Time Between Failures)
    • 1,600,000 hours
  • TRIM Support
    • OS Dependent
  • Security
    • Secure Erase|Crypto Erase
  • Endurance
    • 435TB total bytes written (TBW), equal to 239 GB per day for 5 years
Compatibility
  • Mac OS Compatibility
    • Yes
  • PC OS Compatibility
    • Yes
  • Other Requirements
    • Host or device with a built-in SATA connection.
Power
  • Write Mode (Max)
    • Up to 2 Watts
  • Seek Mode (Max)
    • Up to 1.9 Watts
  • Idle Mode (Max)
    • Up to 0.15 Watts
Physical
  • Dimensions
    • Height: 0.7 cm (0.3 in)
    • Length: 10.0 cm (3.9 in)
    • Width: 7.0 cm (2.8 in)
Environmental
  • Ambient Temperature
    • Operating: 32°F to 158°F (0°C to 70°C)
    • Non-Operating: -40°F to 185°F (-40°C to 85°C)
  • Altitude
    • Operating: -304.8 m to 3,048.0 m (-1,000 ft to 10,000 ft)
    • Non-Operating: -304.8 m to 12,192.0 m (-1,000 ft to 40,000 ft)
  • Humidity
    • Operating: 5% to 90% non-condensing
    • Non-Operating: 0% to 93% non-condensing
Acoustics
  • Idle (Typical)
    • 0.0 bels
  • Seek (Typical)
    • 0.0 bels
Applications
  • Applications
    • General Purpose High-performance SSD.

Gallery

Special note for specific 2009 iMacs, 2008-2010 MacBooks, 2008-2009 MacBook Pros & 2009 Mac mini.
We highly recommend the use of a SATA 2.0 (3Gb/s) SSD such as the OWC Mercury Electra 3G for the following Macs:
iMacs w/ Model ID:
How to find the model ID
  • iMac9,1
  • iMac10,1
  • iMac11,1
MacBooks w/ Model ID:
How to find the model ID
  • MacBook5,1
  • MacBook5,2
  • MacBook6,1
  • MacBook7,1
MacBook Pros w/ Model ID:
How to find the model ID
  • MacBookPro5,1
  • MacBookPro5,2
  • MacBookPro5,3
  • MacBookPro5,4
  • MacBookPro5,5
Mac minis w/ Model ID:
How to find the model ID
  • Macmini3,1
  • Macmini4,1
While a 6G SSD does function, it will only do so at SATA Revision 1.0 (1.5Gb/s, 150MB/s) speeds rather that the SATA Revision 2.0 (3.0Gb/s 300MB/s) speed the computer can deliver.
The Mercury Electra 3G SSD is the OWC recommended upgrade option for the Macs listed in the special note above.

This OWC SSD Model is compatible with nearly any Mac or PC model with a Serial ATA connection (SATA, SATA 2.0, or SATA 3.0) including: Learn how to find your Mac's model ID
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (15-inch 2012)
(June, 2012)
Model ID: MacBookPro9,1
2.3GHz, 2.6GHz, 2.7GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (13-inch 2012)
(June, 2012)
Model ID: MacBookPro9,2
2.5GHz, 2.9GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (17-inch 2011)
(October, 2011)
Model ID: MacBookPro8,3
2.4GHz, 2.5GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (15-inch 2011)
(October, 2011)
Model ID: MacBookPro8,2
2.2GHz, 2.4GHz, 2.5GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (13-inch 2011)
(October, 2011)
Model ID: MacBookPro8,1
2.4GHz, 2.8GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (17-inch Early 2011)
(February, 2011)
Model ID: MacBookPro8,3
2.2GHz, 2.3GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (15-inch Early 2011)
(February, 2011)
Model ID: MacBookPro8,2
2.0GHz, 2.2GHz, 2.3GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (13-inch Early 2011)
(February, 2011)
Model ID: MacBookPro8,1
2.3GHz, 2.7GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (17-inch Mid 2010)
(April, 2010)
Model ID: MacBookPro6,1
2.53GHz, 2.66GHz, 2.8GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (15-inch Mid 2010)
(April, 2010)
Model ID: MacBookPro6,2
2.4GHz, 2.53GHz, 2.66GHz, 2.8GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (13-inch Mid 2010)
(April, 2010)
Model ID: MacBookPro7,1
2.4GHz, 2.66GHz
MacBook Pro
MacBook Pro (17-inch Late 2008)
(October, 2008)
Model ID: MacBookPro4,1
2.5GHz, 2.6GHz
MacBook Pro
MacBook Pro (17-inch Early 2008)
(February, 2008)
Model ID: MacBookPro4,1
2.5GHz, 2.6GHz
MacBook Pro
MacBook Pro (15-inch Early 2008)
(February, 2008)
Model ID: MacBookPro4,1
2.4GHz, 2.5GHz, 2.6GHz
MacBook Pro
MacBook Pro (17-inch Mid/Late 2007)
(June, 2007)
Model ID: MacBookPro3,1
2.4GHz, 2.6GHz
MacBook Pro
MacBook Pro (15-inch Mid/Late 2007)
(June, 2007)
Model ID: MacBookPro3,1
2.2GHz, 2.4GHz, 2.6GHz
MacBook Pro
MacBook Pro (17-inch Core 2 Duo)
(October, 2006)
Model ID: MacBookPro2,1
2.33GHz
MacBook Pro
MacBook Pro (15-inch Core 2 Duo)
(October, 2006)
Model ID: MacBookPro2,2
2.16GHz, 2.33GHz
MacBook Pro
MacBook Pro (15-inch Glossy)
(May, 2006)
Model ID: MacBookPro1,1
2.0GHz, 2.16GHz
MacBook Pro
MacBook Pro (17-inch)
(April, 2006)
Model ID: MacBookPro1,2
2.16GHz
MacBook Pro
MacBook Pro (15-inch)
(January, 2006)
Model ID: MacBookPro1,1
1.83GHz, 2.0GHz, 2.16GHz
MacBook
MacBook (Late 2008)
(October, 2008)
Model ID: MacBook4,1
2.1GHz
MacBook
MacBook (Early 2008)
(February, 2008)
Model ID: MacBook4,1
2.1GHz, 2.4GHz
MacBook
MacBook (Late 2007)
(November, 2007)
Model ID: MacBook3,1
2.0GHz, 2.2GHz
MacBook
MacBook (Mid 2007)
(May, 2007)
Model ID: MacBook2,1
2.0GHz, 2.16GHz
MacBook
MacBook (Late 2006)
(November, 2006)
Model ID: MacBook2,1
1.83GHz, 2.0GHz
MacBook
MacBook
(May, 2006)
Model ID: MacBook1,1
1.83GHz, 2.0GHz
Mac mini Intel
Mac mini (Late 2014)
(October, 2014)
Model ID: Macmini7,1
1.4GHz, 2.6GHz, 2.8GHz, 3.0GHz
Mac mini Intel
Mac mini (Late 2012)
(October, 2012)
Model ID: Macmini6,1 & Macmini6,2
2.3GHz, 2.5GHz, 2.6GHz
Mac mini Intel
Mac mini (Late 2012 Server)
(October, 2012)
Model ID: Macmini6,2
2.3GHz, 2.6GHz
Mac mini Intel
Mac mini (Mid 2011)
(July, 2011)
Model ID: Macmini5,1 & Macmini5,2
2.3GHz, 2.5GHz, 2.7GHz
Mac mini Intel
Mac mini (Mid 2011 Server)
(July, 2011)
Model ID: Macmini5,3
2.0GHz
Mac mini Intel
Mac mini (Mid 2010)
(June, 2010)
Model ID: Macmini4,1
2.4GHz, 2.66GHz
Mac mini Intel
Mac mini (Mid 2010 Server)
(June, 2010)
Model ID: Macmini4,1
2.66GHz
Mac mini Intel
Mac mini (Mid 2007)
(August, 2007)
Model ID: Macmini2,1
1.83GHz, 2.0GHz
iMac Intel
iMac (27-inch Late 2013)
(September, 2013)
Model ID: iMac14,2
3.2GHz i5, 3.4GHz i5, 3.5GHz i7
iMac Intel
iMac (21.5-inch Late 2013)
(September, 2013)
Model ID: iMac14,1; iMac14,3
2.7GHz i5, 2.9GHz i5, 3.1GHz i7
iMac Intel
iMac (21.5-inch Early 2013)
(March, 2013)
Model ID: iMac13,3
3.3GHz i3
iMac Intel
iMac (27-inch Late 2012)
(November, 2012)
Model ID: iMac13,2
2.9GHz i5, 3.2GHz i5, 3.4GHz i7
iMac Intel
iMac (21.5-inch Late 2012)
(November, 2012)
Model ID: iMac13,1
2.7GHz i5, 2.9GHz i5, 3.1GHz i7
iMac Intel
iMac (27-inch Mid 2011)
(May, 2011)
Model ID: iMac12,2
2.7GHz i5, 3.1GHz i5, 3.4GHz i7
iMac Intel
iMac (21.5-inch Mid 2011)
(May, 2011)
Model ID: iMac12,1
2.5GHz i5, 2.7GHz i5, 2.8GHz i7
iMac Intel
iMac (27-inch Mid 2010)
(July, 2010)
Model ID: iMac11,3
2.8GHz, 2.93GHz, 3.2GHz, 3.6GHz
iMac Intel
iMac (21.5-inch Mid 2010)
(July, 2010)
Model ID: iMac11,2
3.06GHz, 3.2GHz, 3.6GHz
iMac Intel
iMac (27-inch Mid 2010)
(July, 2010)
Model ID: iMac11,3
2.8GHz i5, 2.93GHz i5, 3.6GHz i7
iMac Intel
iMac (21.5-inch Mid 2010)
(July, 2010)
Model ID: iMac11,2
3.6GHz i5
This OWC SSD is compatible with the Mac Pro models listed below when mounted with:
- NewerTech AdaptaDrive 2.5" to 3.5" Drive Converter Bracket only $14.25
Mac Pro
Mac Pro 12-Core (Mid 2012)
(June, 2012)
Model ID: MacPro5,1
2.4GHz, 2.66GHz, 3.06GHz
Mac Pro
Mac Pro 6-Core (Mid 2012)
(June, 2012)
Model ID: MacPro5,1
3.33GHz
Mac Pro
Mac Pro 4-Core (Mid 2012)
(June, 2012)
Model ID: MacPro5,1
3.2GHz
Mac Pro
Mac Pro 12-Core (Mid 2010)
(July, 2010)
Model ID: MacPro5,1
2.66GHz, 2.93GHz
Mac Pro
Mac Pro 8-Core (Mid 2010)
(July, 2010)
Model ID: MacPro5,1
2.4GHz
Mac Pro
Mac Pro 6-Core (Mid 2010)
(July, 2010)
Model ID: MacPro5,1
3.33GHz
Mac Pro
Mac Pro 4-Core (Mid 2010)
(July, 2010)
Model ID: MacPro5,1
2.8GHz, 3.2GHz
Mac Pro
Mac Pro 8-Core (Early 2009)
(March, 2009)
Model ID: MacPro4,1
2.26GHz, 2.66GHz, 2.93GHz
Mac Pro
Mac Pro 4-Core (Early 2009)
(March, 2009)
Model ID: MacPro4,1
2.66GHz, 2.93GHz, 3.33GHz
Mac Pro
Mac Pro 8-Core (Early 2008)
(January, 2008)
Model ID: MacPro3,1
2.8GHz, 3.0GHz, 3.2GHz
Mac Pro
Mac Pro 4-Core (Early 2008)
(January, 2008)
Model ID: MacPro3,1
2.8GHz
Mac Pro
Mac Pro 8-core (Early 2007)
(April, 2007)
Model ID: MacPro2,1
3.0GHz
Mac Pro
Mac Pro 4-core (Mid 2006)
(August, 2006)
Model ID: MacPro1,1
2.0GHz, 2.66GHz, 3.0GHz

Includes

  • (1) Mercury Electra 6G SSD
  • 3 Year OWC Limited Warranty

Customer Ratings

Write a Review 4.9 / 5 217 out of 229 (95%) reviewers would recommend this product
1 2 3 4 5 6 7
Verified Buyer Top 250 Contributor
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Toronto Age: Over 65 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 4/5 Works fine May 30, 2016 Needed to replace the cable and replaced the drive "just in case". Another case of the not so great HDD cable in the Macbook Pro series

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 480GB Mercury Electra 6G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 6.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 My Mac Mini is now as fast as a new one! May 30, 2016 I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 480GB Mercury Electra 6G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 6.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.
Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Fort Worth, Texas Age: Over 65 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Fast fast fast May 26, 2016 The summary says it all. I am very pleased with the performance of this drive.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 1.0TB Mercury Electra 6G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 6.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Alabama Age: Over 65 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 works great May 20, 2016 Silly me: I didn't realize I needed a drive sled for my Mac Pro.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 480GB Mercury Electra 6G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 6.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: North Carolina Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Blazing Speed May 18, 2016 If you are looking for something to jazz up your Mac Mini, look no further. Especially if you have a Mac Mini Server with two hard drives. You can replace your boot drive with this 120GB SSD and use the second drive as your data drive. You can find out how to move your home folder to the data drive with a simple search online. You'll never go back to using a computer booting from a rotational hard drive because you will no longer have the patience to wait for the long boot up.

If you have a Mac Mini with a single drive, you may wish to spend a bit more and get a 256GB or 512GB SSD as replacement. Buy the installation toolkit along with the drive and watch the video on the vendor's website. Easy installation and great satisfaction when you are done.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 120GB Mercury Electra 6G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 6.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

Verified Buyer Top 100 Contributor
Reviewer: Anonymous Age: 55-65 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 This product has great features May 3, 2016 Fast delivery, safe packaging. Excellent OWC product, works perfectly in Mac.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 1.0TB Mercury Electra 6G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 6.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Denver, Colorado Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Solid State Drives are a miracle May 1, 2016 I had been suffering with suicide enducing slowness on my 2011 MacBook Pro for 6 months. I called Apple multiple times and tried so many things that didn't help, including a clean format of my drive and updating from Mavericks to El Capitan. I know that El Capitan is not optimized for this older processor or hard drive technology. Then I took it into an Apple store. Still nothing. I had heard that a SSD drive could help along with more free space on the drive. I was at my wits end and decided to buy this drive and try it. It was an easy install and now my computer is screaming fast. Apps open at lightning speed and everything else is running faster than I could have imagined.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 1.0TB Mercury Electra 6G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 6.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Corry, PA Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Outstanding! Reliable! Fast! April 28, 2016 This is my second 490GB OWC SSD. First one I put into my 2..53 C2D Mac Mini. This one went into a mid-2012 model 13" MacBook Pro. I also upgraded the MacBook Pro with 16 GB of RAM at the same time (also outstanding quality and value). The new SSD obviously makes a world of difference in use. VERY pleased. Can't say enough good things about this drive and OWC in general.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 480GB Mercury Electra 6G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 6.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 3-4 months
Rating: 4/5 Great way to expand and speed up MacBook Pro April 23, 2016 I was running out of room in my MacBook Pro with a 128GB SSD and replaced it with this 480GB model. After a clean install it'w working well.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 480GB Mercury Electra 6G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 6.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

Verified Buyer Top 100 Contributor
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Middle of nowhere Age: 55-65 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 Fast, Fast! April 16, 2016 If you really need large volumes instantaneous, load this excellent device up with big SSD disks (I have a pair of 480GB in RAID 0), and you'll be humming. The other 2 slots are platter first level B/U mirrored. I occasionally remember my first 10MB external serial port skinny Mac drive. Wow!

It takes a bit to figure out the flexibility of SoftRAID, but I found the author curt but extremely helpful. Basically you can do anything including partitioning a pair of large drives and using different RAID rules on each pair.

Excellent product. My first one came with a dead bay. After a bit of fussing with OWC tech support as they verified my findings, it was promptly replaced.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 480GB Mercury Electra 6G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 6.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Montreal Quebec Age: Over 65 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Wish I could afford more of these. April 15, 2016 This SSD replaced a 7 year old hard drive that was used as my Time Capsule. It was on it's last legs - really noisy - even more than normal. At least it warned me. Normally it would take many hours for a first back-up but it was quick and all incremental back-ups are also very fast. Of course, it is eerily silent. Wish I could afford to replace all the hard drives (5) in my Mac Pro but it's a start. BTW, I am using an Accelsior PCI card as my main drive that really got me to love the speed of SSD drives. Will see how it holds up in the long run. Have had a similar size Sandisk SSD drive fail after a few months in my Mac Mini though to Sandisk's credit, it was immediately replaced.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from (*) 1.0TB Mercury Electra 6G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 6.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive..

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Providence, RI Age: 25-34 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Fast, Rock Solid April 14, 2016 I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 480GB Mercury Electra 6G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 6.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.
Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Providence, RI Age: 25-34 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 3-4 months
Rating: 5/5 Fast, Rock Solid April 14, 2016 I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 240GB Mercury Electra 6G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 6.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.
Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Grand Rapids, MI Age: 55-65 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Excellent Drive April 11, 2016 I put this in a iMac 27" late 2013. I was not too difficult after watching the video. The only issue I had was putting the tape on the chassis and putting the screen on back on the chassis. Be very very careful to line it up correctly before you pivot back on. The double face tape is not forgiving. The drive is excellent and if you restart your machine you will notice how much faster the mac is from the hybrid drive. In fact, we just bought a new imac 27 at work and the price of a ssd drive from apple is so much more expensive we opted to get the hybrid and put one these in it. Excellent drive and fast service.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 1.0TB Mercury Electra 6G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 6.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

Verified Buyer Top 250 Contributor
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Pensacola, FL Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Turned my 2011 MacBook Pro Lightning Fast! April 3, 2016 This was money very well spent. My 2011 17-inch MacBook Pro took literally several minutes to fully boot. Once I installed this solid-state drive (the process was very clearly explained in the video tutorial), my laptop boots almost instantly. I have recommended this upgrade to anyone who will listen to me brag on how easily I was able to do the installation.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 1.0TB Mercury Electra 6G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 6.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Oceanside CA Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 3-4 months
Rating: 4/5 super speedy March 25, 2016 Used this to replace the 500G OEM hard drive in a mid 2011 21.5" iMac. Super speedy boot time and opening applications. No more beach balls! I would have given it 5 stars, but for the price.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 480GB Mercury Electra 6G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 6.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

Verified Buyer Top 100 Contributor
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Tucson, AZ Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 New speed for older iMac! March 23, 2016 I added this drive along with a 2 Tb HDD to my 2010 iMac. I put this upgrade off too long as the task of opening the iMac and adding a second drive seemed daunting. But the OWC video instructions gave me all the peace of mind that I needed. All worked as advertised, other than I needed to go back into the iMac a couple of extra times to correct my own errors. Thank to OWC I now have an additional skill for my nerd tool belt.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 240GB Mercury Electra 6G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 6.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous
Rating: 5/5 Good instructions March 21, 2016 The website is good to use to find your product. OWC have excellent ways of helping you if you are unsure about which product you require. The videos are clear to watch and understand.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 480GB Mercury Electra 6G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 6.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Albuquerque, NM Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 2 TB Mercury Electra Solid State drive March 16, 2016 This SSD was for a Mac Laptop that had a 750 SSD that was almost maxed out. The OWC installation video straight forward and easy to follow. After install and formatting, the drive worked perfect and FAST in transferring the back up files from my Airport Time Capsule.

I most definally recommend this product and other OWC products for Mac. I have bought several items for my Mac Pro desktop and they have worked perfectly.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 2.0TB Mercury Electra MAX 6G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 6.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Columbia MD Age: 55-65 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 Easy install, noticeable speed improvement March 12, 2016 I bought this with the PCI mounting card to put in an early 2008 Mac Pro. I keep the OS and all applications on this drive.

I've been using it for almost a year and have had not trouble at all. This machine is also on 24 hours a day as my mail server and hub for my home network.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 240GB Mercury Electra 6G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 6.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Springfield, MA Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Wish I had made this purchase a long time ago! March 10, 2016 I love when my expectations are exceeded! The 1T SSD is a costly expense, but the benefit of outstanding performance was well worth it. My drive was chocked full and decided it was time for this upgrade. I especially delight in the fast startup. All of my programs are working faster. And the installation was a breeze. It really was simple. A great product!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 1.0TB Mercury Electra 6G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 6.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Philadelphia, PA Age: 25-34 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Excellent February 25, 2016 Popped this in my 2010 MacBook Pro and it runs like a brand new machine.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 480GB Mercury Electra 6G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 6.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Ohio Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Huge performance boost from this drive! February 20, 2016 Easy install, super performance boost! Noticeable difference in opening programs. Highly recommended.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 480GB Mercury Electra 6G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 6.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Age: 25-34 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 3-4 months
Rating: 4/5 Very good product with good price February 19, 2016 I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 1.0TB Mercury Electra 6G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 6.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.
Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Oakland Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 120GB Mercury Electra 6G SSD 2.5" Serial-ATA February 12, 2016 The SSD breathed new life to my sluggish old MacBookPro 3,1. It made a radical difference in loading programs, from 45 seconds to one minute to 15 seconds. It's too small, of course, but it was what I could afford at the time. It is now in my MacBook 1, keeping it lively.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from (*) 120GB Mercury Electra 6G SSD 2.5-inch 9.5mm SATA 6.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

OWC Mercury Electra™ 6G 4.0TB 2.5" Serial-ATA 7mm Solid-State Drive Mfr P/N: S4D7E6GT4.0 OWC SKU: OWCS4D7E6GT4.0 SATA 6Gb/s SSD featuring the latest flash NAND (SLC cache + 3D storage) for everyday computing. Mac and PC compatible 3 Year OWC Limited Warranty Ships: Same Day Only $649.99Cyber Saver $499.00 After Special Offers (Limit 2)Add to CartOther World Computing S4D7E6GT4.0 In Stock, Click to Buy Now
Additional Capacities:
  • 120GB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • OWC Price $31.49
  • 250GB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $44.99
    • Cyber Saver $38.00
    • After Instant Rebates
  • 500GB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $84.99
    • Cyber Saver $59.00
    • After Instant Rebates
  • 1.0TB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $149.99
    • Cyber Saver $99.00
    • After Instant Rebates
  • 2.0TB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Cyber Saver $268.99
  • 4.0TB