Home » Internal Hard Drives and SSDs » OWC Mercury Electra 6G SSDs

OWC Special Offers Available

Doorbuster Offer $50.00 off Black Friday CYBERBUSTER on 4.0TB OWC Mercury Electra 6G Solid-State Drives! (Limit 2) Act fast! Limited quantity available with this offer.
Doorbuster Offer Black Friday CYBERBUSTER BONUS - Save an EXTRA $30.99 on 4.0TB OWC Mercury Electra 6G Solid-State Drives! Act fast! Limited quantity available with this offer.
$70.99 off *NOW* Get Parallels Desktop Pro Edition - Windows/Multi OS Compatibility software for Mac - Only $29.00 with select OWC SSDs, HDDs, Memory, External Storage, and Optical Drives! (Limit 3 rebates, 1 rebate per qualifying item)
Must purchase with: PPDPROSUB1Y-REB29

OWC

Mercury Electra™ 6G
4.0TB 2.5" Serial-ATA 7mm Solid-State Drive

2.5-Inch | SATA 6.0Gb/s
For High Speed Performance and Reliability
Mercury Electra SSDs deliver the latest in flash NAND and controller technology, utilizing 3D NAND + SLC caching for long-lasting, power-efficient performance. They offer a powerful combination of performance and reliability for demanding everyday computer users.
The Mercury SSD line features:
  • Global wear leveling algorithms automatically distribute data evenly and manage program/erase count, maximizing SSD lifespan.
  • Static data refresh technology manages free space, gradually refreshing data across the SSD over time, preventing data corruption.
  • Hardware ECC corrects errors for superior data retention and drive life.
  • S.M.A.R.T and TRIM command support.
  • Standby power benefits to extend battery life for laptop road warriors.
High Performance Internal Storage
This 6G SATA SSD delivers fast, reliable performance. It works as a hard drive upgrade internally and in bus-powered or self-powered external enclosures (any Mac, PC, or enclosure that supports 2.5" SATA drives, must support 7mm drive height).
OWC SSDs have no moving parts, resulting in a quiet, cool, highly rugged storage solution that also offers near instantaneous system response. With real world speeds over to 500MB/s, the OWC Mercury Electra 6G SSD line delivers unbeatable performance.
No Risk, No Hassle 30-Day Money Back Guarantee.
For complete program details and return policies, click here.

Product Specifications

Specifications
  • Capacity
    • 4000GB Useable Capacity
    • Total Flash Memory Components: 4096GB
    • 96GB Allocated to real-time data redundancy and error correction
  • Formatted Capacity
    • 3725 GiB
  • Form Factor
    • 2.5-inch 7mm
  • Interface
    • SATA 6.0 Gb/s
  • Controller
    • Phison PS3112-S12 with 3% over-provisioning
  • NAND Flash Components
    • Micron Synchronous Quad-Level Cell (QLC) 3D NAND Flash
  • S.M.A.R.T. Attributes
    • Standard attributes supported
  • Native Command Queuing (NCQ)
    • Up to 32 simultaneous commands
  • RAID Support
    • Yes
  • RoHS Compliant
    • Yes
  • Reach Certification
    • Yes
Performance
  • Sequential Read (Max)
    • Up to 524 MB/s
  • Sequential Write (Max)
    • Up to 516 MB/s
  • Sequential Read (Average)
    • 513 MB/s
  • Sequential Write (Average)
    • 514 MB/s
Reliability
  • Nonrecoverable Read Errors
    • 1 per 1016 bits read
  • MTBF (Mean Time Between Failures)
    • 1,600,000 hours
  • TRIM Support
    • OS Dependent
  • Security
    • Secure Erase|Crypto Erase
  • Endurance
    • 435TB total bytes written (TBW), equal to 239 GB per day for 5 years
Compatibility
  • Mac OS Compatibility
    • Yes
  • PC OS Compatibility
    • Yes
  • Other Requirements
    • Host or device with a built-in SATA connection.
Power
  • Write Mode (Max)
    • Up to 2 Watts
  • Seek Mode (Max)
    • Up to 1.9 Watts
  • Idle Mode (Max)
    • Up to 0.15 Watts
Physical
  • Dimensions
    • Height: 0.7 cm (0.3 in)
    • Length: 10.0 cm (3.9 in)
    • Width: 7.0 cm (2.8 in)
Environmental
  • Ambient Temperature
    • Operating: 32°F to 158°F (0°C to 70°C)
    • Non-Operating: -40°F to 185°F (-40°C to 85°C)
  • Altitude
    • Operating: -304.8 m to 3,048.0 m (-1,000 ft to 10,000 ft)
    • Non-Operating: -304.8 m to 12,192.0 m (-1,000 ft to 40,000 ft)
  • Humidity
    • Operating: 5% to 90% non-condensing
    • Non-Operating: 0% to 93% non-condensing
Acoustics
  • Idle (Typical)
    • 0.0 bels
  • Seek (Typical)
    • 0.0 bels
Applications
  • Applications
    • General Purpose High-performance SSD.

Gallery

Special note for specific 2009 iMacs, 2008-2010 MacBooks, 2008-2009 MacBook Pros & 2009 Mac mini.
We highly recommend the use of a SATA 2.0 (3Gb/s) SSD such as the OWC Mercury Electra 3G for the following Macs:
iMacs w/ Model ID:
How to find the model ID
  • iMac9,1
  • iMac10,1
  • iMac11,1
MacBooks w/ Model ID:
How to find the model ID
  • MacBook5,1
  • MacBook5,2
  • MacBook6,1
  • MacBook7,1
MacBook Pros w/ Model ID:
How to find the model ID
  • MacBookPro5,1
  • MacBookPro5,2
  • MacBookPro5,3
  • MacBookPro5,4
  • MacBookPro5,5
Mac minis w/ Model ID:
How to find the model ID
  • Macmini3,1
  • Macmini4,1
While a 6G SSD does function, it will only do so at SATA Revision 1.0 (1.5Gb/s, 150MB/s) speeds rather that the SATA Revision 2.0 (3.0Gb/s 300MB/s) speed the computer can deliver.
The Mercury Electra 3G SSD is the OWC recommended upgrade option for the Macs listed in the special note above.

This OWC SSD Model is compatible with nearly any Mac or PC model with a Serial ATA connection (SATA, SATA 2.0, or SATA 3.0) including: Learn how to find your Mac's model ID
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (15-inch 2012)
(June, 2012)
Model ID: MacBookPro9,1
2.3GHz, 2.6GHz, 2.7GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (13-inch 2012)
(June, 2012)
Model ID: MacBookPro9,2
2.5GHz, 2.9GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (17-inch 2011)
(October, 2011)
Model ID: MacBookPro8,3
2.4GHz, 2.5GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (15-inch 2011)
(October, 2011)
Model ID: MacBookPro8,2
2.2GHz, 2.4GHz, 2.5GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (13-inch 2011)
(October, 2011)
Model ID: MacBookPro8,1
2.4GHz, 2.8GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (17-inch Early 2011)
(February, 2011)
Model ID: MacBookPro8,3
2.2GHz, 2.3GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (15-inch Early 2011)
(February, 2011)
Model ID: MacBookPro8,2
2.0GHz, 2.2GHz, 2.3GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (13-inch Early 2011)
(February, 2011)
Model ID: MacBookPro8,1
2.3GHz, 2.7GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (17-inch Mid 2010)
(April, 2010)
Model ID: MacBookPro6,1
2.53GHz, 2.66GHz, 2.8GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (15-inch Mid 2010)
(April, 2010)
Model ID: MacBookPro6,2
2.4GHz, 2.53GHz, 2.66GHz, 2.8GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (13-inch Mid 2010)
(April, 2010)
Model ID: MacBookPro7,1
2.4GHz, 2.66GHz
MacBook Pro
MacBook Pro (17-inch Late 2008)
(October, 2008)
Model ID: MacBookPro4,1
2.5GHz, 2.6GHz
MacBook Pro
MacBook Pro (17-inch Early 2008)
(February, 2008)
Model ID: MacBookPro4,1
2.5GHz, 2.6GHz
MacBook Pro
MacBook Pro (15-inch Early 2008)
(February, 2008)
Model ID: MacBookPro4,1
2.4GHz, 2.5GHz, 2.6GHz
MacBook Pro
MacBook Pro (17-inch Mid/Late 2007)
(June, 2007)
Model ID: MacBookPro3,1
2.4GHz, 2.6GHz
MacBook Pro
MacBook Pro (15-inch Mid/Late 2007)
(June, 2007)
Model ID: MacBookPro3,1
2.2GHz, 2.4GHz, 2.6GHz
MacBook Pro
MacBook Pro (17-inch Core 2 Duo)
(October, 2006)
Model ID: MacBookPro2,1
2.33GHz
MacBook Pro
MacBook Pro (15-inch Core 2 Duo)
(October, 2006)
Model ID: MacBookPro2,2
2.16GHz, 2.33GHz
MacBook Pro
MacBook Pro (15-inch Glossy)
(May, 2006)
Model ID: MacBookPro1,1
2.0GHz, 2.16GHz
MacBook Pro
MacBook Pro (17-inch)
(April, 2006)
Model ID: MacBookPro1,2
2.16GHz
MacBook Pro
MacBook Pro (15-inch)
(January, 2006)
Model ID: MacBookPro1,1
1.83GHz, 2.0GHz, 2.16GHz
MacBook
MacBook (Late 2008)
(October, 2008)
Model ID: MacBook4,1
2.1GHz
MacBook
MacBook (Early 2008)
(February, 2008)
Model ID: MacBook4,1
2.1GHz, 2.4GHz
MacBook
MacBook (Late 2007)
(November, 2007)
Model ID: MacBook3,1
2.0GHz, 2.2GHz
MacBook
MacBook (Mid 2007)
(May, 2007)
Model ID: MacBook2,1
2.0GHz, 2.16GHz
MacBook
MacBook (Late 2006)
(November, 2006)
Model ID: MacBook2,1
1.83GHz, 2.0GHz
MacBook
MacBook
(May, 2006)
Model ID: MacBook1,1
1.83GHz, 2.0GHz
Mac mini Intel
Mac mini (Late 2014)
(October, 2014)
Model ID: Macmini7,1
1.4GHz, 2.6GHz, 2.8GHz, 3.0GHz
Mac mini Intel
Mac mini (Late 2012)
(October, 2012)
Model ID: Macmini6,1 & Macmini6,2
2.3GHz, 2.5GHz, 2.6GHz
Mac mini Intel
Mac mini (Late 2012 Server)
(October, 2012)
Model ID: Macmini6,2
2.3GHz, 2.6GHz
Mac mini Intel
Mac mini (Mid 2011)
(July, 2011)
Model ID: Macmini5,1 & Macmini5,2
2.3GHz, 2.5GHz, 2.7GHz
Mac mini Intel
Mac mini (Mid 2011 Server)
(July, 2011)
Model ID: Macmini5,3
2.0GHz
Mac mini Intel
Mac mini (Mid 2010)
(June, 2010)
Model ID: Macmini4,1
2.4GHz, 2.66GHz
Mac mini Intel
Mac mini (Mid 2010 Server)
(June, 2010)
Model ID: Macmini4,1
2.66GHz
Mac mini Intel
Mac mini (Mid 2007)
(August, 2007)
Model ID: Macmini2,1
1.83GHz, 2.0GHz
iMac Intel
iMac (27-inch Late 2013)
(September, 2013)
Model ID: iMac14,2
3.2GHz i5, 3.4GHz i5, 3.5GHz i7
iMac Intel
iMac (21.5-inch Late 2013)
(September, 2013)
Model ID: iMac14,1; iMac14,3
2.7GHz i5, 2.9GHz i5, 3.1GHz i7
iMac Intel
iMac (21.5-inch Early 2013)
(March, 2013)
Model ID: iMac13,3
3.3GHz i3
iMac Intel
iMac (27-inch Late 2012)
(November, 2012)
Model ID: iMac13,2
2.9GHz i5, 3.2GHz i5, 3.4GHz i7
iMac Intel
iMac (21.5-inch Late 2012)
(November, 2012)
Model ID: iMac13,1
2.7GHz i5, 2.9GHz i5, 3.1GHz i7
iMac Intel
iMac (27-inch Mid 2011)
(May, 2011)
Model ID: iMac12,2
2.7GHz i5, 3.1GHz i5, 3.4GHz i7
iMac Intel
iMac (21.5-inch Mid 2011)
(May, 2011)
Model ID: iMac12,1
2.5GHz i5, 2.7GHz i5, 2.8GHz i7
iMac Intel
iMac (27-inch Mid 2010)
(July, 2010)
Model ID: iMac11,3
2.8GHz, 2.93GHz, 3.2GHz, 3.6GHz
iMac Intel
iMac (21.5-inch Mid 2010)
(July, 2010)
Model ID: iMac11,2
3.06GHz, 3.2GHz, 3.6GHz
iMac Intel
iMac (27-inch Mid 2010)
(July, 2010)
Model ID: iMac11,3
2.8GHz i5, 2.93GHz i5, 3.6GHz i7
iMac Intel
iMac (21.5-inch Mid 2010)
(July, 2010)
Model ID: iMac11,2
3.6GHz i5
This OWC SSD is compatible with the Mac Pro models listed below when mounted with:
- NewerTech AdaptaDrive 2.5" to 3.5" Drive Converter Bracket only $14.25
Mac Pro
Mac Pro 12-Core (Mid 2012)
(June, 2012)
Model ID: MacPro5,1
2.4GHz, 2.66GHz, 3.06GHz
Mac Pro
Mac Pro 6-Core (Mid 2012)
(June, 2012)
Model ID: MacPro5,1
3.33GHz
Mac Pro
Mac Pro 4-Core (Mid 2012)
(June, 2012)
Model ID: MacPro5,1
3.2GHz
Mac Pro
Mac Pro 12-Core (Mid 2010)
(July, 2010)
Model ID: MacPro5,1
2.66GHz, 2.93GHz
Mac Pro
Mac Pro 8-Core (Mid 2010)
(July, 2010)
Model ID: MacPro5,1
2.4GHz
Mac Pro
Mac Pro 6-Core (Mid 2010)
(July, 2010)
Model ID: MacPro5,1
3.33GHz
Mac Pro
Mac Pro 4-Core (Mid 2010)
(July, 2010)
Model ID: MacPro5,1
2.8GHz, 3.2GHz
Mac Pro
Mac Pro 8-Core (Early 2009)
(March, 2009)
Model ID: MacPro4,1
2.26GHz, 2.66GHz, 2.93GHz
Mac Pro
Mac Pro 4-Core (Early 2009)
(March, 2009)
Model ID: MacPro4,1
2.66GHz, 2.93GHz, 3.33GHz
Mac Pro
Mac Pro 8-Core (Early 2008)
(January, 2008)
Model ID: MacPro3,1
2.8GHz, 3.0GHz, 3.2GHz
Mac Pro
Mac Pro 4-Core (Early 2008)
(January, 2008)
Model ID: MacPro3,1
2.8GHz
Mac Pro
Mac Pro 8-core (Early 2007)
(April, 2007)
Model ID: MacPro2,1
3.0GHz
Mac Pro
Mac Pro 4-core (Mid 2006)
(August, 2006)
Model ID: MacPro1,1
2.0GHz, 2.66GHz, 3.0GHz

Includes

  • (1) Mercury Electra 6G SSD
  • 3 Year OWC Limited Warranty

Customer Ratings

Write a Review 4.9 / 5 217 out of 229 (95%) reviewers would recommend this product
1 2 3 4 5 6 7
Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: On a Mountain in the North American Taiga Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Great SSD February 12, 2016 Installed in a computer running a notoriously slow operating system. Made certain there were no bottle necks to compromise the drive's advertised potential. I will testify that the read/write speeds are quite impressive. Computer boots normally within 6 seconds.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 240GB Mercury Electra 6G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 6.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Raleigh, NC Age: Under 18 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 iMac Mid-2014 February 11, 2016 Contacted Apple asking if there was anyway to upgrade my HDD to an SSD, and they told me it wasn't possible, and I would just have to stick to my HDD. I didn't like this answer, so I bought this external drive in hopes to velcroe it to the back of my computer and reap the rewards.

This is exactly what I did.

So far (~1 month after purchase) this SSD has done everything I need it to do. First thing I did was velcroe it to the back making for easy transport, and keep it out of my eye sight. It's set to boot El Capitan, has programs like Xcode, Sketch, etc. and can run circles around my HDD. This is probably the best thing I've treated myself to in a while, and I highly recommend it! The best part is, I can keep everything I need in an instant on my SSD, and things like games, music, etc. can go on my HDD to save space.

Just make you remember to buy the enclosure at checkout if you don't already have a SATA to USB adaptor, I forgot to do so and ended up paying for shipping twice.

To give some comparison as to the speed of this SSD: I have a 5400 RPM HDD (nothing crazy) and before, opening apps would take ~6-15 seconds averaging at 7 seconds, since I made the switch, I get launch times of ~0-4 seconds averaging at about 0.5 seconds for small applications.

Boot times? Before: 1 minute 13 seconds After: 33 seconds

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 120GB Mercury Electra 6G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 6.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

Response from MacSales.com, Marketing February 12, 2016 There is an alternate solution here where you CAN install an OWC SSD internally and repurpose the internal HDD as external storage: http://eshop.macsales.com/item/OWC/K21IM12HE120/ You can view all the solutions for your 2012 or later 21-inch iMac here: http://eshop.macsales.com/Search/?Ntk=Primary&Ns=P_Price%7c1&N=0&Ntt=*OWCK21IM12HE *
Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous
Rating: 5/5 Fantastic!!! February 6, 2016 My computer is NEW AGAIn after upgrading to rhe Mercury Electra 6G!!! Never regret it since then.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 480GB Mercury Electra 6G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 6.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Boston Age: Over 65 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Very Fast February 5, 2016 The only problem I had was that the OWC SSD would not recognize my old stock Apple Hitachi Original ATA drive; it kept reporting the, now, externally USB-connected unit as a "Master Boot" formatted volume, instead of GUID.

Ultimately, I had to erase, re-format and partition the Apple-supplied one in order to get it properly recognized: luckily, I had a recent Time Machine backup of that one, and restored it as GUID, which it already was, but not correctly identified as such. That was inconvenient, to say the least.

The OWC SSD is very fast, stable and responsive. I use it for Production of Media, and store the results elsewhere, as I bought the small 60 gig one.

It could be that 'El Capitan' installed on the new one had some kind of issue with 'Lion' on the old drive. I worked it out, eventually. It's all OK.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 60GB Mercury Electra 6G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 6.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive..

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Terrific Upgrade! February 4, 2016 Installation was easier than expected... but the performance improvement went way beyond my expectations. Why did I wait so long before buying this upgrade? Thanks OWC!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 1.0TB Mercury Electra 6G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 6.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

Verified Buyer Top 100 Contributor
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Florida Age: Over 65 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Fast Time Machine January 24, 2016 Needed a fast and silent drive for a Time Machine. This SSD more than fit the need. The lower price made it a perfect buy. Very fast and no moving parts or need for a cooling fan.

This review is from 480GB Mercury Electra 6G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 6.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Reykjavik Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Hobbiest Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Great drive January 19, 2016 Fast delivery, excellent packing.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 240GB Mercury Electra 6G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 6.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous
Rating: 5/5 SSD technology is everything I hoped for January 18, 2016 My recent purchase of a 480Gb SSD from OWC has breathed new life into my 2010 iMac. The speed with which everything happens has improved dramatically.

This review is from 480GB Mercury Electra 6G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 6.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

Verified Buyer Top 100 Contributor
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Wichita, KS Age: 55-65 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 3-4 months
Rating: 5/5 Excellent SSD January 17, 2016 I purchased this drive to use in my early 2009 Mac Pro4,1. So far it's had excellent performance and is a noticeable performance improvement over the 15,000 RPM VelociRaptor drive that it replaced.

This review is from 1.0TB Mercury Electra 6G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 6.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: St. Louis, MO Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Flawless SSD - Why pay more? January 16, 2016 Just another OWC drive that performs exactly as other name brands. Same story with the RAM I purchase. Thanks, OWC.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 480GB Mercury Electra 6G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 6.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

Verified Buyer Top 100 Contributor
Reviewer: Anonymous
Rating: 5/5 wickedly fast January 10, 2016 This unit is wickedly fast. I have a HDD in a Thunderbolt enclosure that is slower than this SSD in a USB 3 enclosure, by a considerable amount.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 480GB Mercury Electra 6G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 6.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Frisia - The Netherlands Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 "Old" iMac boots in 20 seconds January 7, 2016 I installed the 240 Gb SSD in my 2011 iMac (model 12,2). So the SSD goes behind the superdrive. I never thought I’d dare to do this, but with the help of the OWC instruction video (and the DIY kit) it went like a breeze. (But watch that vertical sync cable in the beginning - that's a bit tricky.) I then made a fusion drive, installed El Capitan and then restored my Time Machine to the new drive. And lo and behold: My “old” iMac boots in about 20 seconds (this used to take 4 minutes or so). So would I recommend this? What do you think.....?

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 240GB Mercury Electra 6G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 6.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Montreal Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Impressive speed results December 20, 2015 This SSD has improved the speed on Mac Pro (early 2019) of 120%. OSX opening time 37 sec. compared to almost 2 minutes using a standard HD.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 1.0TB Mercury Electra 6G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 6.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

Verified Buyer Top 250 Contributor
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Ventura, CA Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 5-6 months
Rating: 5/5 Super Fast December 18, 2015 Its true what they say: adding an SSD is like getting a new computer. 2012 iMac is now racing fast. Get a slow external drive for your big files and save some money on the size of your SSD.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 240GB Mercury Electra 6G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 6.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Denver, CO Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 3-4 months
Rating: 5/5 Screaming fast Upgrade! December 18, 2015 Huge overall speed upgrade to my Alienware X51 r2. Small footprint, easy install, plenty of HD space! If you don't do any other upgrades.. this one I Highly recommend!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 1.0TB Mercury Electra 6G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 6.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Central PA Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Solid State December 5, 2015 Changed out our old hard drive (5400rpm) for solid state drive. The swap was so simple. The drive was installed in no time and files transferred onto the new one in a few hours by usb. Highly recommend this for anyone who wants a faster computer. Our MacBook Pro must be at least 10x faster than before.

This review is from 480GB Mercury Electra 6G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 6.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Italy Age: Over 65 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Excellent December 1, 2015 I bought my 1.0TB Mercury Electra 6G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 6.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive via internet, from Italy. I received it a in very short time I installed it on my Mac Book Pro ed the result was extraordinary: the startup now requires a few seconds whereas previously it was necessary to wait for long minutes. I am very happy of this spending.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 1.0TB Mercury Electra 6G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 6.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Miami Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Amazing November 30, 2015 If I don't see it, don't believe. I upgraded my 2011 macbook pro with a SSD and is faster than brand new. Only one complaint not to have done before.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 1.0TB Mercury Electra 6G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 6.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: New York City Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 Best bang for the buck November 22, 2015 I replaced the conventional hard drive in my wife's MacBook Pro with this SSD drive and breathed new life into her aging machine. Installation was easy. Results were comparable to those in my two iMacs which I had also upgraded months ago with OWC SSD kits. If your Mac is still saddled with an older mechanical hard drive, you owe it to yourself to step up to an SSD. The difference in performance is like night and day.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 480GB Mercury Electra 6G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 6.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Australia Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 Love this SSD! November 20, 2015 I might be a bit crazy ... but ... I first up installed this to be my 480 Gig boot drive replacing the undersized Apple supplied unit. (cost was a factor as to what I could afford) At the same time I replaced the original HDD with a 3 TB Toshiba HDD. Wow ... now I felt I had a bit of space and was no longer juggling or being concerned as to where software was going to be. Simply put, I configured the Users/home directory on the 3TB drive and the OS and programs on the SSD. Just recently I removed the optical drive and fitted a 960 Gig SSD as well. This way I was able to do a clean install of El Capitan on the 960 gig SSD and maintain Yosemite on the 480 gig SSD. Now I have lightning fast boot into either OS and just love it. Upgrading is now a much safer and controlled transition for me.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 480GB Mercury Electra 6G SSD 2.5-inch 9.5mm SATA 6.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

Verified Buyer Top 250 Contributor
Reviewer: Anonymous
Rating: 5/5 Screamer November 20, 2015 This drive is killer!

If you can get 6Gbps throughput, the series is amazing.

My iMac 27 2011 boots in a few dozen seconds.

It doesn't require TRIM but you can turn it on via the terminal. The drive won't care.

Highly recommended!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 120GB Mercury Electra 6G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 6.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Australia Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Excellent. Outstanding performer. November 20, 2015 Once again OWC has a winner. Quality and does what its designed to accomplish with ease.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 1.0TB Mercury Electra 6G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 6.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

Verified Buyer Top 250 Contributor
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Qatar Age: 25-34 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Can;t belive I did not buy this sooner November 16, 2015 Best investment ever. I should've bought this long ago. My MAC Pro boots in less that 10 secs. Together with the 32GB Ram I purchased from OWC, my MAC Pro is a powerhouse. The cost is a little high but definitely worth the money. I hope to buy one more 480GB SSD Drive in the future is they price drops.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 480GB Mercury Electra 6G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 6.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Cupertino, CA Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Fast as expected, BUT some installation issues. Still give it five stars. November 7, 2015 Executive Summary:

Performance improvement as expected, but some 10.5 & 10.6 CD media might not recognize the SSD.

Details:

This was for an older Macbook (7,1) which had come installed with 10.6.— a likely candidate for memory and SSD upgrades.

I’ve swapped several new hard drives and an SSD before, so my plan was to - install the new SSD - boot up a Snow Leopard Installer from a CDROM - format the new SSD - install Snow Leopard - update using the Internet to Yosemite (or El Capitan)

However, the 10.6 CD Installer would not recognize the SSD, nor would the Disk Utility. Strangely enough, the System Profiler did.

I booted up on the old disk, using an enclosure and even when I formatted the SSD & tried again, the 10.6 CD Installer could not see the SSD.

So, i again boot up the original hard drive (with 10.6 on it), and used Disk Utility to clone its own image to the SSD.

I rebooted and then every thing was ducky.

A web based install of El Capitan was not an option as it only works with machines that originally had Internet Recovery in its version of OS X (not an option for this Macbook).

I got the info on 10.5 & 10.6 Installer failures from OCW Tech Support — seems like some CD versions do not recognize the SSD.

So, if you want to update an older Mac to an SSD, you might try using something like Disk Utility or Carbon Copy Cloner to load the SSD.

I’ll pass on this info to OWC Sales so they can put this in their technical info for their SSDs.

Bottom line:

Once installed, the system is really fast & responsive. The SSD and extra memory should allow El Capitan to run with reasonable response times.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 120GB Mercury Electra 6G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 6.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Age: 35-44 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 4/5 My favorite SSD upgrade for older Apple laptops November 3, 2015 I have owned many of these SSD drives over the years and have never had a problem with a single one. They are my go-to drives for a simple, "fire and forget" upgrade in older MacBook Pro laptops. While I would recommend you purchase a larger size (why not?) if you specifically need a 120GB drive this one will not disappoint. There are likely faster and cheaper drives on the market now, so shop around, but this one is indeed a winner, in terms of being a plug-and-play, no hassle, reliable drive.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from (*) 120GB Mercury Electra 6G SSD 2.5-inch 9.5mm SATA 6.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

OWC Mercury Electra™ 6G 4.0TB 2.5" Serial-ATA 7mm Solid-State Drive Mfr P/N: S4D7E6GT4.0 OWC SKU: OWCS4D7E6GT4.0 SATA 6Gb/s SSD featuring the latest flash NAND (SLC cache + 3D storage) for everyday computing. Mac and PC compatible 3 Year OWC Limited Warranty Ships: Same Day Only $649.99Cyber Saver $499.00 After Special Offers (Limit 2)Add to CartOther World Computing S4D7E6GT4.0 In Stock, Click to Buy Now
Additional Capacities:
  • 120GB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • OWC Price $31.49
  • 250GB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $44.99
    • Cyber Saver $38.00
    • After Instant Rebates
  • 500GB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $84.99
    • Cyber Saver $59.00
    • After Instant Rebates
  • 1.0TB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $149.99
    • Cyber Saver $99.00
    • After Instant Rebates
  • 2.0TB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Cyber Saver $268.99
  • 4.0TB