Free Shipping available on most orders $49.00 & up.

Get Details. »

We're sorry, but this item is no longer for sale. However, there may be more Internal Hard Drives and SSD items available.

This was a used product listing. For more great deals on Open Box, Refurbished and Used items, keep an eye on our Garage Sale page. Or join our email list and be the first to know when new items become available!

OWC

2.0TB
Mercury Electra™ MAX 6G
2.5" Serial-ATA 7mm Solid State Drive

Demo Unit | Open Box

Premier SSD for Creative A/V Pros Who Know the Difference.
High Performance Internal Storage
When the success of your project hinges on the performance of your equipment, you need an SSD with the maximum in capacity and speed - you need the 2TB Electra MAX. It's the professional choice, built for ultra-demanding real-world use with the performance and capacity you can count on.

With real-world sustained speeds of 490/471 MB/s read/write, Electra MAX is built to handle big files of incompressible data in the most demanding production environments.

Mercury Electra MAX features premium-quality tier-1 async NAND, and a suite of controller technologies designed to maximize performance and longevity:

  • Global wear leveling algorithms automatically distribute data evenly and manage program/erase count, maximizing SSD lifespan.
  • StaticDataRefresh manages free space, gradually refreshing data across the SSD over time, preventing data corruption.
  • Hardware BCH ECC corrects errors up to 66-bit/1KB for superior data retention and drive life.
  • Advanced security protocols support 128/256-bit-AES disk encryption.

With exceptional wear-leveling and block management, gold-standard compression and data distribution, best-in-class error correction, intelligent recycling, and requiring no external TRIM support, the 2TB Mercury Electra MAX 6G SSD delivers incredible performance and dependability.
No Risk, No Hassle 30-Day Money Back Guarantee.
For more information on OWC return policies, click here.

Mercury Electra MAX is designed for Mac first, and undergoes a rigorous 7-stage testing procedure including 100% burn-in, resulting in outstanding dependability, without complications right out of the box. No drivers, extra software or workarounds are required, it's as easy as plug and play, and we back Mercury Electra MAX drives with a full 2 year warranty and OWC's free USA-based lifetime support.
Please Note:
This drive is designed for use in Mac and PC systems and is NOT supported or recommended for use in any external drive enclosures.

Includes

  • 2.0TB Mercury 6G Electra™ MAX SSD
This OWC SSD Model is compatible with nearly any Mac or PC model with a Serial ATA connection (SATA, SATA 2.0, or SATA 3.0) including: Learn how to find your Mac's model ID
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (15-inch 2012)
(June, 2012)
Model ID: MacBookPro9,1
2.3GHz, 2.6GHz, 2.7GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (13-inch 2012)
(June, 2012)
Model ID: MacBookPro9,2
2.5GHz, 2.9GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (17-inch 2011)
(October, 2011)
Model ID: MacBookPro8,3
2.4GHz, 2.5GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (15-inch 2011)
(October, 2011)
Model ID: MacBookPro8,2
2.2GHz, 2.4GHz, 2.5GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (13-inch 2011)
(October, 2011)
Model ID: MacBookPro8,1
2.4GHz, 2.8GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (17-inch Early 2011)
(February, 2011)
Model ID: MacBookPro8,3
2.2GHz, 2.3GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (15-inch Early 2011)
(February, 2011)
Model ID: MacBookPro8,2
2.0GHz, 2.2GHz, 2.3GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (13-inch Early 2011)
(February, 2011)
Model ID: MacBookPro8,1
2.3GHz, 2.7GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (17-inch Mid 2010)
(April, 2010)
Model ID: MacBookPro6,1
2.53GHz, 2.66GHz, 2.8GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (15-inch Mid 2010)
(April, 2010)
Model ID: MacBookPro6,2
2.4GHz, 2.53GHz, 2.66GHz, 2.8GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (13-inch Mid 2010)
(April, 2010)
Model ID: MacBookPro7,1
2.4GHz, 2.66GHz
MacBook Pro
MacBook Pro (17-inch Late 2008)
(October, 2008)
Model ID: MacBookPro4,1
2.5GHz, 2.6GHz
MacBook Pro
MacBook Pro (17-inch Early 2008)
(February, 2008)
Model ID: MacBookPro4,1
2.5GHz, 2.6GHz
MacBook Pro
MacBook Pro (15-inch Early 2008)
(February, 2008)
Model ID: MacBookPro4,1
2.4GHz, 2.5GHz, 2.6GHz
MacBook Pro
MacBook Pro (17-inch Mid/Late 2007)
(June, 2007)
Model ID: MacBookPro3,1
2.4GHz, 2.6GHz
MacBook Pro
MacBook Pro (15-inch Mid/Late 2007)
(June, 2007)
Model ID: MacBookPro3,1
2.2GHz, 2.4GHz, 2.6GHz
MacBook Pro
MacBook Pro (17-inch Core 2 Duo)
(October, 2006)
Model ID: MacBookPro2,1
2.33GHz
MacBook Pro
MacBook Pro (15-inch Core 2 Duo)
(October, 2006)
Model ID: MacBookPro2,2
2.16GHz, 2.33GHz
MacBook Pro
MacBook Pro (15-inch Glossy)
(May, 2006)
Model ID: MacBookPro1,1
2.0GHz, 2.16GHz
MacBook Pro
MacBook Pro (17-inch)
(April, 2006)
Model ID: MacBookPro1,2
2.16GHz
MacBook Pro
MacBook Pro (15-inch)
(January, 2006)
Model ID: MacBookPro1,1
1.83GHz, 2.0GHz, 2.16GHz
MacBook
MacBook (Late 2008)
(October, 2008)
Model ID: MacBook4,1
2.1GHz
MacBook
MacBook (Early 2008)
(February, 2008)
Model ID: MacBook4,1
2.1GHz, 2.4GHz
MacBook
MacBook (Late 2007)
(November, 2007)
Model ID: MacBook3,1
2.0GHz, 2.2GHz
MacBook
MacBook (Mid 2007)
(May, 2007)
Model ID: MacBook2,1
2.0GHz, 2.16GHz
MacBook
MacBook (Late 2006)
(November, 2006)
Model ID: MacBook2,1
1.83GHz, 2.0GHz
MacBook
MacBook
(May, 2006)
Model ID: MacBook1,1
1.83GHz, 2.0GHz
Mac mini Intel
Mac mini (Late 2012)
(October, 2012)
Model ID: Macmini6,1 & Macmini6,2
2.3GHz, 2.5GHz, 2.6GHz
Mac mini Intel
Mac mini (Late 2012 Server)
(October, 2012)
Model ID: Macmini6,2
2.3GHz, 2.6GHz
Mac mini Intel
Mac mini (Mid 2011)
(July, 2011)
Model ID: Macmini5,1 & Macmini5,2
2.3GHz, 2.5GHz, 2.7GHz
Mac mini Intel
Mac mini (Mid 2011 Server)
(July, 2011)
Model ID: Macmini5,3
2.0GHz
Mac mini Intel
Mac mini (Mid 2010)
(June, 2010)
Model ID: Macmini4,1
2.4GHz, 2.66GHz
Mac mini Intel
Mac mini (Mid 2010 Server)
(June, 2010)
Model ID: Macmini4,1
2.66GHz
Mac mini Intel
Mac mini (Mid 2007)
(August, 2007)
Model ID: Macmini2,1
1.83GHz, 2.0GHz
iMac Intel
iMac (27-inch Late 2013)
(September, 2013)
Model ID: iMac14,2
3.2GHz i5, 3.4GHz i5, 3.5GHz i7
iMac Intel
iMac (21.5-inch Late 2013)
(September, 2013)
Model ID: iMac14,1; iMac14,3
2.7GHz i5, 2.9GHz i5, 3.1GHz i7
iMac Intel
iMac (21.5-inch Early 2013)
(March, 2013)
Model ID: iMac13,3
3.3GHz i3
iMac Intel
iMac (27-inch Late 2012)
(November, 2012)
Model ID: iMac13,2
2.9GHz i5, 3.2GHz i5, 3.4GHz i7
iMac Intel
iMac (21.5-inch Late 2012)
(November, 2012)
Model ID: iMac13,1
2.7GHz i5, 2.9GHz i5, 3.1GHz i7
iMac Intel
iMac (27-inch Mid 2011)
(May, 2011)
Model ID: iMac12,2
2.7GHz i5, 3.1GHz i5, 3.4GHz i7
iMac Intel
iMac (21.5-inch Mid 2011)
(May, 2011)
Model ID: iMac12,1
2.5GHz i5, 2.7GHz i5, 2.8GHz i7
iMac Intel
iMac (27-inch Mid 2010)
(July, 2010)
Model ID: iMac11,3
2.8GHz, 2.93GHz, 3.2GHz, 3.6GHz
iMac Intel
iMac (21.5-inch Mid 2010)
(July, 2010)
Model ID: iMac11,2
3.06GHz, 3.2GHz, 3.6GHz
iMac Intel
iMac (27-inch Mid 2010)
(July, 2010)
Model ID: iMac11,3
2.8GHz i5, 2.93GHz i5, 3.6GHz i7
iMac Intel
iMac (21.5-inch Mid 2010)
(July, 2010)
Model ID: iMac11,2
3.6GHz i5
This OWC SSD is compatible with the Mac Pro models listed below when mounted with:
- NewerTech AdaptaDrive 2.5" to 3.5" Drive Converter Bracket only $14.25
Mac Pro
Mac Pro 12-Core
(Mid 2010-2012)
(July, 2010 / June 2012)
Model ID: MacPro5,1
2.40GHz, 2.66GHz, 2.93GHz, 3.06GHz
Mac Pro
Mac Pro 12-Core
(Mid 2010-2012)
(July, 2010 / June 2012)
Model ID: MacPro5,1
2.40GHz, 2.66GHz, 2.93GHz, 3.06GHz
Mac Pro
Mac Pro 8-Core (Mid 2010)
(July, 2010)
Model ID: MacPro5,1
2.4GHz
Mac Pro
Mac Pro 6-Core
(Mid 2010-2012)
(July, 2010 / June 2012)
Model ID: MacPro5,1
3.33GHz
Mac Pro
Mac Pro (Mid 2010 Quad-Core)
(July, 2010)
Model ID: MacPro5,1
2.8GHz, 3.2GHz, 3.33GHz
Mac Pro
Mac Pro (Early 2009 8-Core)
(March, 2009)
Model ID: MacPro4,1
2.26GHz, 2.66GHz, 2.93GHz
Mac Pro
Mac Pro (Early 2009 Quad-Core)
(March, 2009)
Model ID: MacPro4,1
2.66GHz, 2.93GHz, 3.33GHz
Mac Pro
Mac Pro (Early 2008)
(January, 2008)
Model ID: MacPro3,1
2.8GHz, 3.0GHz, 3.2GHz
Mac Pro
Mac Pro (8-core)
(April, 2007)
Model ID: MacPro2,1
3.0GHz
Mac Pro
Mac Pro
(August, 2006)
Model ID: MacPro1,1
2.0GHz, 2.66GHz, 3.0GHz

Gallery

Release Candidate (RC) firmware set

There are two kinds of firmware for SSDs Mass Production (MP) and Release Candidate (RC). Prior to an MP firmware release, there are beta firmware releases and an RC firmware release. Often, the RC is the same as the MP release, however there can be small changes and bug fixes made between the two. OWC has evaluated the RC for the 6Gb/s SandForce 2281 Processor and found it to be stable with no issues reported during our testing. However, as with any evolutionary product, issues may surface as different usages and configurations are employed and it is important to understand that there will be further updates and revisions.

Since no firmware update is currently offered for the OWC Mercury EXTREME Pro 6G SSD, no update page exists. To see the typical steps involved with a self performed field firmware update, please visit our 3Gb/s product update page at: http://eshop.macsales.com/Customized_Pages/Framework.cfm?page=sf_firmware.html

It is important to note that the current firmware update tool requires the use of Windows XP/Vista/7. OWC is currently working on a Mac OS based update tool, but we do not have an exact availability date.

2.0TB Mercury Electra™ MAX 6G SSD Specifications:

Specifications

Controller
Silicon Motion SM2246EN Series with 7% Over Provisioning firmware set
RAID Controller
JMicron 562 Series
NAND
Tier 1 Major Multi-Level Cell (MLC) High-Performance Sync-NAND Flash
Form Factor
Standard 7mm 2.5"
Interface
SATA 6Gb/s, 3Gb/s & 1.5Gb/s supported, SATA 3.0 Compliant
Capacity1
1920GB useable capacity
Total Flash Memory Components – 2048GB
128GB allocated to real-time data redundancy & error correction
Formatted Capacity2
1788GiB
RAID Support
Qualified for single drive and multiple drive production workstation RAID 0/1/10/0+1 and SPAN usage.
SMART Attributes
Standard4
Native Command Queuing
up to 32 commands
Manufacturer Model Number
OWCSSD7E6G02T
RoHS Compliant
Yes
Format

Physical

Height (max)
7mm (0.276″)
Width (max)
70.06mm (2.758″)
Length (max)
100.12mm (3.941″)
Weight
77 grams +/- 2 grams
0.170 lbs +/- 2.71 oz

Reliability3

Data Reliability
Built-in BCH ECC: Up to 66 bits correctable per 1024 bytes
Security
Chip Based Data Encryption: 256-bit AES-compliant
TRIM Support
No
Nonrecoverable Read Errors
Less than 1 sector per 1016 bits read

Performance

Sustained
Reads 6Gb/s (up to)
490MB/s
Sustained
Writes 6Gb/s (up to)
471MB/s
Read Incompressible
Data Rate (up to)
466MB/s
Write Incompressible
Data Rate (up to)
447MB/s
Random 4K Read
Up to 60,000 IOPS
Random 4K Write
Up to 60,000 IOPS
Read Latency
less than 0.1ms
Write Latency
less than 0.1ms

Power

Active
Less than 2000mW (2.0W) expected maximum draw
Idle
Less than 700mW (0.7W)

Environmental (Operating)

Temperature (°F)
32°F to 158°F
Temperature (°C)
0°C to 70°C

Environmental (Non-Operating)

Temperature (°F)
-40°F to 185°F
Temperature (°C)
-40°C to 85°C

Acoustics

Idle (Typical)
0.0 bels
Seek (Typical)
0.0 bels
  1. 1GB = 1,000,000,000 bytes. Total accessible capacity varies depending upon operating environment (typically 5-10% less). The actual total capacity will depend on your own defined file settings/preferences. 
  2. In terms of standard gigabytes, 1GiB ≈ 1.074GB and refers to the actual formatted capacity of shown under Mac OS 10.5 or earlier and Microsoft Windows OS.
  3. Specific application environments such as temperature and duty cycle will affect the overall reliability.
  4. Temperature reporting is currently an unsupported feature because due to the operating characteristics of SSDs, it is highly unlikely one would ever exceed an OWC Mercury SSD's stated operating temperature ceiling of 158F/70C. However, we are looking into supporting this feature in the future via a firmware update. Firmware updates can be found here: http://eshop.macsales.com/tech_center/OWC/SSD.
Manufacturer provided specifications for Other World Computing p/n SSD7E6G02T UPC#: 812437022698

Customer Ratings

Write a Review 4.9 / 5 217 out of 229 (95%) reviewers would recommend this product
1 2 3 4 5 6 7
Verified Buyer Top 100 Contributor
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Florida Age: Over 65 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Fast Time Machine January 24, 2016 Needed a fast and silent drive for a Time Machine. This SSD more than fit the need. The lower price made it a perfect buy. Very fast and no moving parts or need for a cooling fan.

This review is from 480GB Mercury Electra 6G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 6.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Reykjavik Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Hobbiest Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Great drive January 19, 2016 Fast delivery, excellent packing.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 240GB Mercury Electra 6G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 6.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous
Rating: 5/5 SSD technology is everything I hoped for January 18, 2016 My recent purchase of a 480Gb SSD from OWC has breathed new life into my 2010 iMac. The speed with which everything happens has improved dramatically.

This review is from 480GB Mercury Electra 6G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 6.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

Verified Buyer Top 100 Contributor
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Wichita, KS Age: 55-65 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 3-4 months
Rating: 5/5 Excellent SSD January 17, 2016 I purchased this drive to use in my early 2009 Mac Pro4,1. So far it's had excellent performance and is a noticeable performance improvement over the 15,000 RPM VelociRaptor drive that it replaced.

This review is from 1.0TB Mercury Electra 6G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 6.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: St. Louis, MO Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Flawless SSD - Why pay more? January 16, 2016 Just another OWC drive that performs exactly as other name brands. Same story with the RAM I purchase. Thanks, OWC.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 480GB Mercury Electra 6G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 6.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

Verified Buyer Top 100 Contributor
Reviewer: Anonymous
Rating: 5/5 wickedly fast January 10, 2016 This unit is wickedly fast. I have a HDD in a Thunderbolt enclosure that is slower than this SSD in a USB 3 enclosure, by a considerable amount.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 480GB Mercury Electra 6G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 6.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Frisia - The Netherlands Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 "Old" iMac boots in 20 seconds January 7, 2016 I installed the 240 Gb SSD in my 2011 iMac (model 12,2). So the SSD goes behind the superdrive. I never thought I’d dare to do this, but with the help of the OWC instruction video (and the DIY kit) it went like a breeze. (But watch that vertical sync cable in the beginning - that's a bit tricky.) I then made a fusion drive, installed El Capitan and then restored my Time Machine to the new drive. And lo and behold: My “old” iMac boots in about 20 seconds (this used to take 4 minutes or so). So would I recommend this? What do you think.....?

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 240GB Mercury Electra 6G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 6.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Montreal Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Impressive speed results December 20, 2015 This SSD has improved the speed on Mac Pro (early 2019) of 120%. OSX opening time 37 sec. compared to almost 2 minutes using a standard HD.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 1.0TB Mercury Electra 6G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 6.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

Verified Buyer Top 250 Contributor
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Ventura, CA Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 5-6 months
Rating: 5/5 Super Fast December 18, 2015 Its true what they say: adding an SSD is like getting a new computer. 2012 iMac is now racing fast. Get a slow external drive for your big files and save some money on the size of your SSD.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 240GB Mercury Electra 6G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 6.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Denver, CO Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 3-4 months
Rating: 5/5 Screaming fast Upgrade! December 18, 2015 Huge overall speed upgrade to my Alienware X51 r2. Small footprint, easy install, plenty of HD space! If you don't do any other upgrades.. this one I Highly recommend!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 1.0TB Mercury Electra 6G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 6.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Central PA Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Solid State December 5, 2015 Changed out our old hard drive (5400rpm) for solid state drive. The swap was so simple. The drive was installed in no time and files transferred onto the new one in a few hours by usb. Highly recommend this for anyone who wants a faster computer. Our MacBook Pro must be at least 10x faster than before.

This review is from 480GB Mercury Electra 6G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 6.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Italy Age: Over 65 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Excellent December 1, 2015 I bought my 1.0TB Mercury Electra 6G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 6.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive via internet, from Italy. I received it a in very short time I installed it on my Mac Book Pro ed the result was extraordinary: the startup now requires a few seconds whereas previously it was necessary to wait for long minutes. I am very happy of this spending.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 1.0TB Mercury Electra 6G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 6.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Miami Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Amazing November 30, 2015 If I don't see it, don't believe. I upgraded my 2011 macbook pro with a SSD and is faster than brand new. Only one complaint not to have done before.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 1.0TB Mercury Electra 6G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 6.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: New York City Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 Best bang for the buck November 22, 2015 I replaced the conventional hard drive in my wife's MacBook Pro with this SSD drive and breathed new life into her aging machine. Installation was easy. Results were comparable to those in my two iMacs which I had also upgraded months ago with OWC SSD kits. If your Mac is still saddled with an older mechanical hard drive, you owe it to yourself to step up to an SSD. The difference in performance is like night and day.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 480GB Mercury Electra 6G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 6.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Australia Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 Love this SSD! November 20, 2015 I might be a bit crazy ... but ... I first up installed this to be my 480 Gig boot drive replacing the undersized Apple supplied unit. (cost was a factor as to what I could afford) At the same time I replaced the original HDD with a 3 TB Toshiba HDD. Wow ... now I felt I had a bit of space and was no longer juggling or being concerned as to where software was going to be. Simply put, I configured the Users/home directory on the 3TB drive and the OS and programs on the SSD. Just recently I removed the optical drive and fitted a 960 Gig SSD as well. This way I was able to do a clean install of El Capitan on the 960 gig SSD and maintain Yosemite on the 480 gig SSD. Now I have lightning fast boot into either OS and just love it. Upgrading is now a much safer and controlled transition for me.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 480GB Mercury Electra 6G SSD 2.5-inch 9.5mm SATA 6.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

Verified Buyer Top 250 Contributor
Reviewer: Anonymous
Rating: 5/5 Screamer November 20, 2015 This drive is killer!

If you can get 6Gbps throughput, the series is amazing.

My iMac 27 2011 boots in a few dozen seconds.

It doesn't require TRIM but you can turn it on via the terminal. The drive won't care.

Highly recommended!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 120GB Mercury Electra 6G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 6.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Australia Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Excellent. Outstanding performer. November 20, 2015 Once again OWC has a winner. Quality and does what its designed to accomplish with ease.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 1.0TB Mercury Electra 6G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 6.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

Verified Buyer Top 250 Contributor
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Qatar Age: 25-34 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Can;t belive I did not buy this sooner November 16, 2015 Best investment ever. I should've bought this long ago. My MAC Pro boots in less that 10 secs. Together with the 32GB Ram I purchased from OWC, my MAC Pro is a powerhouse. The cost is a little high but definitely worth the money. I hope to buy one more 480GB SSD Drive in the future is they price drops.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 480GB Mercury Electra 6G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 6.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Cupertino, CA Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Fast as expected, BUT some installation issues. Still give it five stars. November 7, 2015 Executive Summary:

Performance improvement as expected, but some 10.5 & 10.6 CD media might not recognize the SSD.

Details:

This was for an older Macbook (7,1) which had come installed with 10.6.— a likely candidate for memory and SSD upgrades.

I’ve swapped several new hard drives and an SSD before, so my plan was to - install the new SSD - boot up a Snow Leopard Installer from a CDROM - format the new SSD - install Snow Leopard - update using the Internet to Yosemite (or El Capitan)

However, the 10.6 CD Installer would not recognize the SSD, nor would the Disk Utility. Strangely enough, the System Profiler did.

I booted up on the old disk, using an enclosure and even when I formatted the SSD & tried again, the 10.6 CD Installer could not see the SSD.

So, i again boot up the original hard drive (with 10.6 on it), and used Disk Utility to clone its own image to the SSD.

I rebooted and then every thing was ducky.

A web based install of El Capitan was not an option as it only works with machines that originally had Internet Recovery in its version of OS X (not an option for this Macbook).

I got the info on 10.5 & 10.6 Installer failures from OCW Tech Support — seems like some CD versions do not recognize the SSD.

So, if you want to update an older Mac to an SSD, you might try using something like Disk Utility or Carbon Copy Cloner to load the SSD.

I’ll pass on this info to OWC Sales so they can put this in their technical info for their SSDs.

Bottom line:

Once installed, the system is really fast & responsive. The SSD and extra memory should allow El Capitan to run with reasonable response times.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 120GB Mercury Electra 6G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 6.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Age: 35-44 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 4/5 My favorite SSD upgrade for older Apple laptops November 3, 2015 I have owned many of these SSD drives over the years and have never had a problem with a single one. They are my go-to drives for a simple, "fire and forget" upgrade in older MacBook Pro laptops. While I would recommend you purchase a larger size (why not?) if you specifically need a 120GB drive this one will not disappoint. There are likely faster and cheaper drives on the market now, so shop around, but this one is indeed a winner, in terms of being a plug-and-play, no hassle, reliable drive.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from (*) 120GB Mercury Electra 6G SSD 2.5-inch 9.5mm SATA 6.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

Verified Buyer Top 250 Contributor
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Las Vegas Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 Outstanding ssd November 2, 2015 I purchased this to replace a Samsung EVO for my MacBook Pro. The OWC SSD does not need Trim.

Very satisfied. Purchased a 500gb OWC SSD for my wife's iMac which also replaced a Samsung SSD.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from (*) 1.0TB Mercury Electra 6G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 6.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive..

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Elgin, IL Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Definitely noticeable improvement November 1, 2015 I added this drive as my primary boot drive and run my photo editing software as well as my OS. My 2011 iMAC is faster and really runs well. I am impressed and i am looking to do this again to another machine. I installed it myself using the on line guides and found them easy to follow and successful .

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 480GB Mercury Electra 6G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 6.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: West Covina, CA Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 My 2010 iMac SCREAMS!!! October 30, 2015 My wife has a new Macbook Pro with SSD and my old 2010 with 7200 HD laggggged. I mean it was so slow, and I am a graphic designer who needs fast response using Adobe CC, so I was advised by OWC that this would help and sure enough, WOW. what a difference along with 32GB or ram, its like I have a new computer. My next purchase will be for my daughter who has a Macbook Pro from 2012. I'll do the same. SSD and more Ram. Thanks OWC.

This review is from 1.0TB Mercury Electra 6G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 6.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Australia Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Fantastic Product October 29, 2015 My 2011 Macbook Pro is a new machine since the upgrade. I also increases the memory (RAM) and its faster and reliable....could not be happier

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 480GB Mercury Electra 6G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 6.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

Verified Buyer Top 100 Contributor
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: NH
Rating: 5/5 love OWC SSD quality October 27, 2015 for the price per performance I use only OWC SSDs in my Mac and PC

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 240GB Mercury Electra 6G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 6.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.