Home » Internal Hard Drives and SSDs » OWC Mercury Extreme Pro 6G SSDs

We're sorry, but this item is no longer for sale. However, there may be more Internal Hard Drives and SSDs items available.

We recommend 240GB OWC Mercury Extreme Pro 6G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 6.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive (Mfr P/N: S3D7P6G240) from Other World Computing for $69.75 as a suitable alternative.

OWC

120GB Mercury Extreme® Pro 6G SSD
2.5" Serial-ATA 7mm Solid State Drive

High-Performance Storage for Notebook
and Desktop Computers.
When only the fastest and most reliable Solid State Drive on the market today will suffice for your data storage and backup, look no further than the OWC Mercury Extreme Pro 6G SSD.
  • Get maximum mobile performance and battery life from your notebook.
  • Turn your Mac Pro or PC desktop into an Extreme performance single drive.
The Mercury SSD line features:
  • DuraWrite™ extends the endurance of your Solid State Drive (SSD).
  • Intelligent Block Management & Wear Leveling automatically distributes data evenly across the entire SSD.
  • Intelligent Read Disturb Management spreads the active read/write across the flash components eliminating data corruption caused by constant use.
  • Intelligent "Recycling" for advanced free space management gradually re-writes data across the SSD over time to ensure data never gets corrupted.
  • RAISE™ (Redundant Array of Independent Silicon Elements) protects the data on your drive similar to having a RAID setup.
  • Best-in-Class ECC Protection for longest data retention and drive life.
No Risk, No Hassle 30-Day Money Back Guarantee.
For more information on OWC return policies, click here.

This internal 2.5" SATA SSD uses the latest SandForce 2281 Processor and DuraClass™ technology to deliver the highest transfer speed, endurance, and performance available today.

With sustained reads up to 559MB/s and writes up to 527MB/s, up to 100X greater data protection than enterprise class Hard Disk Drives, and RAISE technology for RAID like data protection and reliability, the OWC Mercury Extreme SSD line delivers unbeatable performance that's backed by a 5 Year OWC SSD Limited Warranty.
High Performance Internal Storage
Replace your conventional hard drive with a reliable solid state drive. Unlike traditional hard disk drives, OWC solid state drives have no moving parts, resulting in a quiet, cool, highly rugged storage solution that also offers faster system responsiveness.
High Reliability & Protection
OWC SSDs allocate some of the drive capacity for RAISE, to provide real time data redundancy, ECC Error Correction, and reserve cell space.
Includes 7 mm to 9.5 mm Adapter / Spacer
Attach this adapter to the top of any 7mm, 2.5-inch drive for installations that require a 9.5mm drive height for proper use, whether you need a 9.5mm drive height for a dock, camera, server, device, PC, or external drive. This adapter is not needed for 2.5-inch drive installations that use the standard side or bottom mounting positions to secure the drive in place, and is not needed for any installation of a 7mm drive in Apple Macintosh computers.

Example: A 240GB OWC Mercury Extreme Pro SSD is actually a 256GB drive with 7% of the drive's capacity allocated for data management. This management maintains the drive's high-performance and high reliability levels. Unlike many SSDs on the market today, the Mercury Pro family uses advanced DuraWrite™ wear-leveling and block management technologies to keep Read/Write performance at peak, while others see performance fall.

Includes

  • 120GB Mercury Extreme Pro 6G SSD
  • 7 mm – 9.5 mm Adapter
Special note for specific 2009 iMacs, 2008-2010 MacBooks, 2008-2009 MacBook Pros & 2009 Mac mini.
We highly recommend the use of a SATA 2.0 (3Gb/s) SSD such as the OWC Mercury Electra 3G for the following Macs:
iMacs w/ Model ID:
How to find the model ID
  • iMac9,1
  • iMac10,1
  • iMac11,1
MacBooks w/ Model ID:
How to find the model ID
  • MacBook5,1
  • MacBook5,2
  • MacBook6,1
  • MacBook7,1
MacBook Pros w/ Model ID:
How to find the model ID
  • MacBookPro5,1
  • MacBookPro5,2
  • MacBookPro5,3
  • MacBookPro5,4
  • MacBookPro5,5
Mac minis w/ Model ID:
How to find the model ID
  • Mac mini3,1
While a 6G SSD does function, it will only do so at SATA Revision 1.0 (1.5Gb/s, 150MB/s) speeds rather that the SATA Revision 2.0 (3.0Gb/s 300MB/s) speed the computer can deliver.
The Mercury Electra 3G SSD is the OWC recommended upgrade option for the Macs listed in the special note above.

Blackmagic Certified for use with the following Blackmagic products:

Blackmagic HyperDeck Studio
Blackmagic HyperDeck Shuttle
Blackmagic MultiDock
Blackmagic Production
Camera 4K
Blackmagic
Cinema Camera



This OWC SSD Model is compatible with nearly any Mac or PC model with a Serial ATA connection (SATA, SATA 2.0, or SATA 3.0) including: Learn how to find your Mac's model ID
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (15-inch 2012)
(June, 2012)
Model ID: MacBookPro9,1
2.3GHz, 2.6GHz, 2.7GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (13-inch 2012)
(June, 2012)
Model ID: MacBookPro9,2
2.5GHz, 2.9GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (17-inch 2011)
(October, 2011)
Model ID: MacBookPro8,3
2.4GHz, 2.5GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (15-inch 2011)
(October, 2011)
Model ID: MacBookPro8,2
2.2GHz, 2.4GHz, 2.5GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (13-inch 2011)
(October, 2011)
Model ID: MacBookPro8,1
2.4GHz, 2.8GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (17-inch Early 2011)
(February, 2011)
Model ID: MacBookPro8,3
2.2GHz, 2.3GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (15-inch Early 2011)
(February, 2011)
Model ID: MacBookPro8,2
2.0GHz, 2.2GHz, 2.3GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (13-inch Early 2011)
(February, 2011)
Model ID: MacBookPro8,1
2.3GHz, 2.7GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (17-inch Mid 2010)
(April, 2010)
Model ID: MacBookPro6,1
2.53GHz, 2.66GHz, 2.8GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (15-inch Mid 2010)
(April, 2010)
Model ID: MacBookPro6,2
2.4GHz, 2.53GHz, 2.66GHz, 2.8GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (13-inch Mid 2010)
(April, 2010)
Model ID: MacBookPro7,1
2.4GHz, 2.66GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (17-inch Mid 2009)
(June, 2009)
Model ID: MacBookPro5,2
2.8GHz, 3.06GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (15-inch Mid 2009)
(June, 2009)
Model ID: MacBookPro5,4
2.53GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (15-inch Mid 2009)
(June, 2009)
Model ID: MacBookPro5,3
2.66GHz, 2.8GHz, 3.06GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (13-inch Mid 2009)
(June, 2009)
Model ID: MacBookPro5,5
2.26GHz, 2.53GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (15-inch Early 2009)
(March, 2009)
Model ID: MacBookPro5,1
2.66GHz 2.93GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (15-inch Early 2009)
(March, 2009)
Model ID: MacBookPro5,1
2.66GHz 2.93GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (17-inch Early 2009)
(January, 2009)
Model ID: MacBookPro5,2
2.66GHz, 2.93GHz
MacBook Pro
MacBook Pro (17-inch Late 2008)
(October, 2008)
Model ID: MacBookPro4,1
2.5GHz, 2.6GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (15-inch Late 2008)
(October, 2008)
Model ID: MacBookPro5,1
2.4GHz, 2.53GHz, 2.66GHz 2.8GHz
MacBook Pro
MacBook Pro (17-inch Early 2008)
(February, 2008)
Model ID: MacBookPro4,1
2.5GHz, 2.6GHz
MacBook Pro
MacBook Pro (15-inch Early 2008)
(February, 2008)
Model ID: MacBookPro4,1
2.4GHz, 2.5GHz, 2.6GHz
MacBook Pro
MacBook Pro (17-inch Mid/Late 2007)
(June, 2007)
Model ID: MacBookPro3,1
2.4GHz, 2.6GHz
MacBook Pro
MacBook Pro (15-inch Mid/Late 2007)
(June, 2007)
Model ID: MacBookPro3,1
2.2GHz, 2.4GHz, 2.6GHz
MacBook Pro
MacBook Pro (17-inch Core 2 Duo)
(October, 2006)
Model ID: MacBookPro2,1
2.33GHz
MacBook Pro
MacBook Pro (15-inch Core 2 Duo)
(October, 2006)
Model ID: MacBookPro2,2
2.16GHz, 2.33GHz
MacBook Pro
MacBook Pro (15-inch Glossy)
(May, 2006)
Model ID: MacBookPro1,1
2.0GHz, 2.16GHz
MacBook Pro
MacBook Pro (17-inch)
(April, 2006)
Model ID: MacBookPro1,2
2.16GHz
MacBook Pro
MacBook Pro (15-inch)
(January, 2006)
Model ID: MacBookPro1,1
1.83GHz, 2.0GHz, 2.16GHz
MacBook White Unibody
MacBook (Mid 2010)
(May, 2010)
Model ID: MacBook7,1
2.4GHz
MacBook White Unibody
MacBook (Late 2009)
(October, 2009)
Model ID: MacBook6,1
2.26Ghz
MacBook
MacBook (Mid 2009)
(May, 2009)
Model ID: MacBook5,2
2.13GHz
MacBook
MacBook (Early 2009)
(January, 2009)
Model ID: MacBook5,2
2.0GHz
MacBook
MacBook (Late 2008)
(October, 2008)
Model ID: MacBook4,1
2.1GHz
MacBook Unibody
MacBook (Late 2008)
(October, 2008)
Model ID: MacBook5,1
2.0GHz, 2.4GHz
MacBook
MacBook (Early 2008)
(February, 2008)
Model ID: MacBook4,1
2.1GHz, 2.4GHz
MacBook
MacBook (Late 2007)
(November, 2007)
Model ID: MacBook3,1
2.0GHz, 2.2GHz
MacBook
MacBook (Mid 2007)
(May, 2007)
Model ID: MacBook2,1
2.0GHz, 2.16GHz
MacBook
MacBook (Late 2006)
(November, 2006)
Model ID: MacBook2,1
1.83GHz, 2.0GHz
MacBook
MacBook
(May, 2006)
Model ID: MacBook1,1
1.83GHz, 2.0GHz
Mac mini Intel
Mac mini (Late 2012)
(October, 2012)
Model ID: Macmini6,1 & Macmini6,2
2.3GHz, 2.5GHz, 2.6GHz
Mac mini Intel
Mac mini (Late 2012 Server)
(October, 2012)
Model ID: Macmini6,2
2.3GHz, 2.6GHz
Mac mini Intel
Mac mini (Mid 2011)
(July, 2011)
Model ID: Macmini5,1 & Macmini5,2
2.3GHz, 2.5GHz, 2.7GHz
Mac mini Intel
Mac mini (Mid 2011 Server)
(July, 2011)
Model ID: Macmini5,3
2.0GHz
Mac mini Intel
Mac mini (Mid 2010)
(June, 2010)
Model ID: Macmini4,1
2.4GHz, 2.66GHz
Mac mini Intel
Mac mini (Mid 2010 Server)
(June, 2010)
Model ID: Macmini4,1
2.66GHz
Mac mini Intel
Mac mini (Early 2009)
(March, 2009)
Model ID: Macmini3,1
2.0GHz, 2.26GHz
Mac mini Intel
Mac mini (Late 2009 Server)
(October, 2009)
Model ID: Macmini3,1
2.53GHz
Mac mini Intel
Mac mini (Late 2009)
(October, 2009)
Model ID: Macmini3,1
2.26GHz, 2.53GHz, 2.66GHz
Mac mini Intel
Mac mini (Mid 2007)
(August, 2007)
Model ID: Macmini2,1
1.83GHz, 2.0GHz
war

Release Candidate (RC) firmware set

There are two kinds of firmware for SSDs Mass Production (MP) and Release Candidate (RC). Prior to an MP firmware release, there are beta firmware releases and an RC firmware release. Often, the RC is the same as the MP release, however there can be small changes and bug fixes made between the two. OWC has evaluated the RC for the 6Gb/s SandForce 2281 Processor and found it to be stable with no issues reported during our testing. However, as with any evolutionary product, issues may surface as different usages and configurations are employed and it is important to understand that there will be further updates and revisions.

Since no firmware update is currently offered for the OWC Mercury EXTREME Pro 6G SSD, no update page exists. To see the typical steps involved with a self performed field firmware update, please visit our 3Gb/s product update page at: http://eshop.macsales.com/Customized_Pages/Framework.cfm?page=sf_firmware.html

It is important to note that the current firmware update tool requires the use of Windows XP/Vista/7. OWC is currently working on a Mac OS based update tool, but we do not have an exact availability date.

120GB Mercury Extreme Pro 6G SSD Specifications:

Specifications

Controller
SandForce 2281 Series Processor with 7% Over Provisioning
NAND
Tier 1 Major Multi-Level Cell (MLC) High-Performance Sync-NAND Flash
Form Factor
Standard 7mm 2.5"
Interface
SATA 6Gb/s, 3Gb/s & 1.5Gb/s supported, SATA 3.0 Compliant
Capacity1
120GB useable capacity
Total Flash Memory Components – 128GB
8GB allocated to real-time data redundancy & error correction
Formatted Capacity2
111GiB
RAID Support
Qualified for single drive and multiple drive production workstation RAID 0/1/10/0+1 and SPAN usage.
SMART Attributes
Standard5
Native Command Queuing
up to 32 commands
Manufacturer Model Number
OWCSSD7P6G120
RoHS Compliant
Yes
Format

Physical

Height (max)
7mm (0.276″)
OWC 7mm – 9.5mm Adapter
1 included (buy additional)
Width (max)
70.06mm (2.758″)
Length (max)
100.12mm (3.941″)
Weight
77 grams +/- 2 grams
0.170 lbs +/- 2.71 oz

Reliability3

Data Reliability
ECC Recovery: Up to 55 bytes correctable per 512-byte sector
Security
Chip Based Data Encryption: 128-bit AES-compliant
TRIM Support
OS Dependent
Nonrecoverable Read Errors
Less than 1 sector per 1016 bits read

Performance

Sustained
Reads 6Gb/s (up to)
559MB/s
Sustained
Writes 6Gb/s (up to)
527MB/s
Sustained
Reads 3Gb/s (up to)
284MB/s
Sustained
Writes 3Gb/s (up to)
266MB/s
Read Incompressible
Data Rate (up to)
479MB/s
Write Incompressible
Data Rate (up to)
282MB/s
Random 4K Read4
Up to 60,000 IOPS
Random 4K Write4
Up to 60,000 IOPS
Read Latency
less than 0.1ms
Write Latency
less than 0.1ms

Power

Active
Read: 3000mW (3.0W) Maximum draw
Write: 4500mW (4.5W) Maximum draw
Idle
Less than 1000mW (1.0W)

Environmental (Operating)

Temperature (°F)
32°F to 158°F
Temperature (°C)
0°C to 70°C

Environmental (Non-Operating)

Temperature (°F)
-40°F to 185°F
Temperature (°C)
-40°C to 85°C

Acoustics

Idle (Typical)
0.0 bels
Seek (Typical)
0.0 bels
  1. 1GB = 1,000,000,000 bytes. Total accessible capacity varies depending upon operating environment (typically 5-10% less). The actual total capacity will depend on your own defined file settings/preferences. 
  2. In terms of standard gigabytes, 1GiB ≈ 1.074GB and refers to the actual formatted capacity of shown under Mac OS 10.5 or earlier and Microsoft Windows OS.
  3. Specific application environments such as temperature and duty cycle will affect the overall reliability.
  4. Specifications provided by SandForce.
  5. Temperature reporting is currently an unsupported feature because due to the operating characteristics of SSDs, it is highly unlikely one would ever exceed an OWC Mercury SSD's stated operating temperature ceiling of 158F/70C. However, we are looking into supporting this feature in the future via a firmware update. Firmware updates can be found here: http://eshop.macsales.com/tech_center/OWC/SSD.
Manufacturer provided specifications for Other World Computing p/n SSD7P6G120 UPC#: 794504338553

Gallery

Customer Ratings

Write a Review 4.9 / 5 107 out of 113 (95%) reviewers would recommend this product
1 2 3 4 5 6 7
Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Nashville Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 works great from video recording September 30, 2014 I have 20 of this and the previous model for video capture. They work great in my Mac, Sound Devices PIX 260, atamos samurai, and Black Magic Shuttle.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 240GB Mercury Extreme Pro 6G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 6.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

Verified Buyer Top 250 Contributor
Reviewer: Anonymous
Rating: 5/5 IMac September 27, 2014 Excelent product.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 480GB Mercury Extreme Pro 6G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 6.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Durham, NC Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 This is a great product, I am not very technical but it was easy to install and my wife's computer is much much faster August 22, 2014 I would like to recommend the company in addition to the product, I spoke to a real live person, who knew the products and was able to help me out technically. He was personable and the product was shipped on time with clear return instructions if it didn't meet my needs. It is great to see an American company operate this way.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 240GB Mercury Extreme Pro 6G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 6.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Atlanta Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 "A definite Must do.." July 9, 2014 I upgraded my 17" Macbook Pro about a month ago with the 480ghz Mercury extreme 6g and 16 gigs of ram as well. My Macbook pro is a speed demon it zips thru anything and no more beach ball with any applications...Don't let the price of the upgrades scare you it is so worth it.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 480GB Mercury Extreme Pro 6G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 6.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Indianapolis, IN Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 outstanding value May 2, 2014 Great value and excellent service. I have bought many things from OWC over the years, and have always been happy.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 120GB Mercury Extreme Pro 6G SSD 2.5-inch 9.5mm SATA 6.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Galway Ireland Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 This product is sensational February 11, 2014 Very good SSD my MacBook Pro early 2011 immediately accelerated. The computer is quiet everything works very well.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from (*) 240GB Mercury Extreme Pro 6G SSD 2.5-inch 9.5mm SATA 6.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

Verified Buyer Top 250 Contributor
Reviewer: HiggsBoson Location: Simpsonville, KY Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 First time SSD owner January 19, 2014 This drive flies like the wind. Buckle up and enjoy the ride.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 120GB Mercury Extreme Pro 6G SSD 2.5-inch 9.5mm SATA 6.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Charlotte, NC Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Don't wait! December 28, 2013 My original hard drive started acting up so I decided to try a 240GB Mercury EXTREME Pro 6G SSD in my late 2011 MacBook Pro. WOW! Boot times went from 90 seconds to 16. Applications open as fast as I can click on them. Make the change, you can't buy another upgrade that will improve your performance this much. The only issue I have now is I'm going to have to buy another one for my Mac Mini.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from (*) 240GB Mercury Extreme Pro 6G SSD 2.5-inch 9.5mm SATA 6.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Richmond, Indiana Age: 18-24 Experience Level: Hobbiest Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 BIG Difference in speed November 23, 2013 I purchased the solid state drive because I was wanting a fast computer and a MacBook Pro 13in 2.9Ghz i7 processor. I am a huge nerd for technology, if you think this is a review from the store your wrong. I am making this review more towards the assistance of helping my install my product. I would rate this a 5 out 5 . Customer service was really good, more like great to tell you the truth. Out of my whole machine I have to say the product I ordered is probably the only AMERICAN made item inside my MacBoo Pro. I like the fact that it has a 5 year warranty, when I say that it was a shocker for me. OWC is my new and favorite online store to purchase quality both support and products made. I would recommend this product and store to everyone I meet.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from (*) 240GB Mercury Extreme Pro 6G SSD 2.5-inch 9.5mm SATA 6.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Houston,TX Age: 25-34 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 WOW!!!!!!!!!! October 26, 2013 I got this for my 2012 Macbook Pro to speed it up after replacing my wives computer with a samsung evo 840 I thought that was fast until I got my EXTREME and they called it right I watched videos of ssd upgrades in mac but this thing blows any of the videos away that I have watched it takes about 9 seconds to boot up wow I would recommend this hard drive to anybody with a Mac

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 120GB Mercury Extreme Pro 6G SSD 2.5-inch 9.5mm SATA 6.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

Verified Buyer Top 250 Contributor
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Doha, Qatar Age: 25-34 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 One of the best SSD's out there! September 10, 2013 OWC SSD's are well known for their performance and this one delivers too. I upgraded the HDD of my mid 2012 macbook pro 15' and it works great. Amazing change in speed and performance. OWC's SSD installation video helped a lot.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 480GB Mercury Extreme Pro 6G SSD 2.5-inch 9.5mm SATA 6.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Olive Branch, MS Age: 18-24 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 Quick Fast and in a Hurry! August 19, 2013 This thing is great! No more worrying about the hard drive skips or any noise from the hdd! The speed is incredible compared to a traditional hard drive and now being spoiled by this drive I don't think I could ever go back.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 480GB Mercury Extreme Pro 6G SSD 2.5-inch 9.5mm SATA 6.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Dallas, TX Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 What a huge difference! May 27, 2013 Boot time went from 72 sec to 28 sec on my 2012 MacMini. Everything is faster. And I must complement the quality of the installation and setup videos. They were great! Adding an SSD as a primary drive takes several hours to install the hardware and then go through the OS install and setup process, but oh, so worth it.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 120GB Mercury Extreme Pro 6G SSD 2.5-inch 9.5mm SATA 6.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Tampere, Finland Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 As fast as advertised April 14, 2013 I added Mercury EXTREME Pro 6G to my MacBook PRO cd-rom bay using the OWC Data Doubler (also an excellent product). The original Apple SSD reads ~190 MB/s and writes ~140 MB/s. In the same machine the Mercury EXTREME Pro 6G (placed in the cd-rom bay) reads ~507 MB/s and writes ~345 MB/s. Impressive!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from (*) 240GB Mercury Extreme Pro 6G SSD 2.5-inch 9.5mm SATA 6.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Richmond, IN Age: 45-54 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Smoothly speedy April 11, 2013 We've all heard the hype about these SSDs. They do everything but laundry and dishes.

Too many times I've run out of storage space, so it's taken me longer than most However, I've had various problems with disk drives for years and this SSD has taken me away from the delays of rotating platters.

It's not a jarring sort of speed. Someone was talking about that with another product and this one is quietly, smoothly speedy. When I'm working with 1000 or more photos, I'm not seeing a slow down and even my software can be launched and terminated quickly.

Coming from 7200 rpm laptop computer drives, it's a huge help. I can only imagine how 4 of them in a RAID configuration would speed up my work.

Installation was no more difficult than working with a typical 2.5 inch drive, whether using it in a Mercury Pro case or inside a laptop computer.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 480GB Mercury Extreme Pro 6G SSD 2.5-inch 9.5mm SATA 6.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

Verified Buyer Top 250 Contributor
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Monterey, CA Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Outstanding Speed & Performance March 9, 2013 My Mac BookPro early 13", is like a new laptop. From a 2minute 29 second startup to 45 second startup and Fusion5 with Win7 is lighting fast. In two months I will switch out my dvd for another added SSD 480g. The SSD is the only way to go.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 480GB Mercury Extreme Pro 6G SSD 2.5-inch 9.5mm SATA 6.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Arizona Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Super fast March 9, 2013 I installed this drive in my 2012 Mac Mini using the data doubler kit. I also replaced the main drive with a 1TB SATA III 7200 RPM HGST drive. I reinstalled Mountain Lion and let it build a Fusion drive. What can I say other than power on to login in 10 seconds, and Photoshop CS5 loads in under 3 seconds. This drive is more expensive than some other drives, most notably the Samsung 840 Pro, however, the ability to install firmware updates without removing the drive is a big plus, and the over-provisioning meaning no TRIM hack required, etc makes this well worth it. All with a 5 year warranty. I'm seeing benchmarked reads in excess of 500MB/sec.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from (*) 240GB Mercury Extreme Pro 6G SSD 2.5-inch 9.5mm SATA 6.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Brisbane, Australia Age: Under 18 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 4/5 Speedy real world speeds, built in TRIM, quality construction. January 27, 2013 I'm use no one has ever been disappointed with their first SSD purchase, and neither am I. This drive is quality build, looks great and has built in garbage collection. Unfortunately my computer (early 2011 13" Macbook Pro) despite being on SATA 3 6Gb/s doesn't let this drive along with another drive I've tested to run at optimal speed but its still insanely fast! This drive is expensive but it is certainly unique with built in garbage collection making it perfect for RAID.

Things to improve on? Well the next generation I'd like to see a thinner 7 mm thickness for use in Untrabooks and a more reasonable price tag. Also this SSD gets comparatively warm compared to another cheaper one I've tested.

Summery, you cant go wrong with an SSD at the moment and prices have never been better and this one is no exception. Congratulations OWC.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 120GB Mercury Extreme Pro 6G SSD 2.5-inch 9.5mm SATA 6.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Burini Location: Brasil Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 excellent product November 20, 2012 I received the order very fast .... I am already using it on my MacBookPro ... is ... extraordinary performance makes the machine very quickly ... about 18 seconds for initialization recommend ...

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from (*) 240GB Mercury Extreme Pro 6G SSD 2.5-inch 9.5mm SATA 6.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: dlafond Location: Trois-Rivières, QC Age: 35-44 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Amazing!!! November 14, 2012 Incredible performances. Easy to install. My Mac Pro runs so fast now! Apple, you should put these hard drive in your default configuration.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from (*) 240GB Mercury Extreme Pro 6G SSD 2.5-inch 9.5mm SATA 6.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Artman Location: Lebanon, & Fishkill NY Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Simple is nice October 17, 2012 Shipping was great as it came in double protective cover. Installed the drive in my Windows gaming machine. Installing windows 7 from a USB took a little over 5 minutes, 5:11 sec to be exact. Boots into windows in no time. As soon as the system gets over the POST & starts loading Win 7 it just a matter of less then 10 seconds. Applications opens in No time.

Support: Forums over here are very entry level . However, it's better then other companies like "XXX & XXXXXX" where the forums and support is like cowboy weekend.

Support guys are very courteous & strict to the point. This is coming from a guy who had one of the first SSDs on the market "not OWC" & spent hundreds of mails with other support companies. Bottom line: Get over your suspicions & go for the OWC Mercury Extreme Pro 6G. This is the closest thing you get when closing the gap between a mechanical HD & SSD. On the benchmark side, it over performed my other two high end SSDs. I've owned 7 SSDs, 3 of them are high end & I would recommend OWC in a heartbeat. Sin yours

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from (*) 240GB Mercury Extreme Pro 6G SSD 2.5-inch 9.5mm SATA 6.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

Reviewer: PDiddy11 Location: Charlotte, NC Age: 25-34 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 OMG!! 240GB Extreme Pro SSD August 27, 2012 Easy install, just insert into main SATA slot and use the DATA Double which is a MUST purchase accessory to still be able to use your old HD as storage space.

Once installed just use a drive cloning software to clone your image file (created prior to install) and in 8 minutes the OS was loaded and all my apps installed!!

Boot times now 15-18seconds not 1min-1min 20seconds! Applications like Aperture load in around 1-2 seconds, Photoshop is just as fast!

And 5year Warranty lets me know they have Cust. Service as their top priority.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from (*) 240GB Mercury Extreme Pro 6G SSD 2.5-inch 9.5mm SATA 6.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: tortoise Location: Benicia, California Age: Over 65 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Excellent products & service as always!! June 17, 2012 Gave new life to and expect several more years of service from my old reliable MacPro early 2008 model. After 4.5 years in service my system was feeling a bit sluggish. Took a leap of faith and invested in OWC SSD and all I can say is WOW, night and day is understatement, feels like a new computer and the drive will move forward to next tower if and when I need one. Newer tech adapter fit like a glove.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 480GB Mercury Extreme Pro 6G SSD 2.5-inch 9.5mm SATA 6.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: agoraproductions Location: Switzerland Age: 45-54 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Like a Ferrari June 4, 2012 Does a Ferrari fastest car ? the OWC SSD 6G is the fastest SSD I ever seen. The service quality and delivery makes OWC my preferred supplier for Mac options.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from (*) 240GB Mercury Extreme Pro 6G SSD 2.5-inch 9.5mm SATA 6.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: djh1981 Location: Hermosa Beach, CA Age: 35-44 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 There is a reason these are rated tops in all the blogs and reviews March 27, 2012 Obsession with quality - that is OWC to me - i really wont buy anything else - there is cheaper but not i will not chance it - i am running 2 of these in raid 0 (i am backing up on a Qx2) and i am getting thunderbolt saturating speeds - lightroom is instantaneous in everything i do except exporting (uses more CPU than ssd speed) - if they ever come out with new mac pro i will use this setup the same way

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from (*) 240GB Mercury Extreme Pro 6G SSD 2.5-inch 9.5mm SATA 6.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.