Get exclusive deals delivered to your inbox!

Start saving today. »

We're sorry, but this item is no longer for sale. However, there may be more Internal Hard Drives and SSD items available.

We recommend 480GB Mercury Extreme Pro 6G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 6.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive (Mfr P/N: SSD7P6G480) from Other World Computing for $129.99 as a suitable alternative.

OWC

240GB Mercury Extreme® Pro 6G SSD
2.5" Serial-ATA 7mm Solid State Drive

When only the fastest and most reliable Solid State Drive on the market today will suffice for your data storage and backup, look no further than the OWC Mercury Extreme Pro 6G SSD.
High-Performance Storage for Notebook and Desktop Computers.
For mission critical applications that require the utmost in speed and reliability, Mercury Extreme® Pro 6G SSDs deliver performance you can count on.
The Mercury SSD line features a suite of industry leading controller technologies for performance and reliability:
  • Global wear leveling algorithms automatically distribute data evenly and manage program/erase count, maximizing SSD lifespan.
  • Data refresh techniques manage free space, gradually refreshing data across the SSD over time, preventing data corruption.
  • Hardware ECC corrects errors for superior data retention and drive life.
  • Advanced security protocols support 128/256-bit-AES disk encryption.
No Risk, No Hassle 30-Day Money Back Guarantee.
For more information on OWC return policies, click here.
This internal 2.5" SATA SSD delivers outstanding transfer speeds, endurance, and reliability. With sustained reads up to 500MB/s and writes up to 450MB/s, the OWC 240GB Mercury Extreme® Pro 6G SSD line delivers unbeatable performance. A 7% over provisioning set-aside further ensures exceptional long-term reliability, performance consistency, and durability with an amazing 240GB of visible storage capacity after over provision. Built to perform and backed by a 5 Year OWC SSD Limited Warranty.
High Performance Internal Storage
Replace your conventional hard drive with a reliable solid state drive. Unlike traditional hard disk drives, OWC SSDs have no moving parts, resulting in a quiet, cool, highly rugged storage solution that also offers near instantaneous system response.
Includes 7 mm to 9.5 mm Adapter / Spacer
Attach this adapter to the top of any 7mm, 2.5-inch drive for installations that require a 9.5mm drive height for proper use, whether you need a 9.5mm drive height for a dock, camera, server, device, PC, or external drive. This adapter is not needed for 2.5-inch drive installations that use the standard side or bottom mounting positions to secure the drive in place, and is not needed for any installation of a 7mm drive in Apple Macintosh computers.

Includes

  • 240GB Mercury Extreme Pro 6G SSD
  • 7 mm – 9.5 mm Adapter
Special note for specific 2009 iMacs, 2008-2010 MacBooks, 2008-2009 MacBook Pros & 2009 Mac mini.
We highly recommend the use of a SATA 2.0 (3Gb/s) SSD such as the OWC Mercury Electra 3G for the following Macs:
iMacs w/ Model ID:
How to find the model ID
  • iMac9,1
  • iMac10,1
  • iMac11,1
MacBooks w/ Model ID:
How to find the model ID
  • MacBook5,1
  • MacBook5,2
  • MacBook6,1
  • MacBook7,1
MacBook Pros w/ Model ID:
How to find the model ID
  • MacBookPro5,1
  • MacBookPro5,2
  • MacBookPro5,3
  • MacBookPro5,4
  • MacBookPro5,5
Mac minis w/ Model ID:
How to find the model ID
  • Mac mini3,1
While a 6G SSD does function, it will only do so at SATA Revision 1.0 (1.5Gb/s, 150MB/s) speeds rather that the SATA Revision 2.0 (3.0Gb/s 300MB/s) speed the computer can deliver.
The Mercury Electra 3G SSD is the OWC recommended upgrade option for the Macs listed in the special note above.

Blackmagic Certified for use with the following Blackmagic products:

Blackmagic HyperDeck Studio
Blackmagic HyperDeck Shuttle
Blackmagic MultiDock
Blackmagic Production
Camera 4K
Blackmagic
Cinema Camera



This OWC SSD Model is compatible with nearly any Mac or PC model with a Serial ATA connection (SATA, SATA 2.0, or SATA 3.0) including: Learn how to find your Mac's model ID
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (15-inch 2012)
(June, 2012)
Model ID: MacBookPro9,1
2.3GHz, 2.6GHz, 2.7GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (13-inch 2012)
(June, 2012)
Model ID: MacBookPro9,2
2.5GHz, 2.9GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (17-inch 2011)
(October, 2011)
Model ID: MacBookPro8,3
2.4GHz, 2.5GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (15-inch 2011)
(October, 2011)
Model ID: MacBookPro8,2
2.2GHz, 2.4GHz, 2.5GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (13-inch 2011)
(October, 2011)
Model ID: MacBookPro8,1
2.4GHz, 2.8GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (17-inch Early 2011)
(February, 2011)
Model ID: MacBookPro8,3
2.2GHz, 2.3GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (15-inch Early 2011)
(February, 2011)
Model ID: MacBookPro8,2
2.0GHz, 2.2GHz, 2.3GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (13-inch Early 2011)
(February, 2011)
Model ID: MacBookPro8,1
2.3GHz, 2.7GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (17-inch Mid 2010)
(April, 2010)
Model ID: MacBookPro6,1
2.53GHz, 2.66GHz, 2.8GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (15-inch Mid 2010)
(April, 2010)
Model ID: MacBookPro6,2
2.4GHz, 2.53GHz, 2.66GHz, 2.8GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (13-inch Mid 2010)
(April, 2010)
Model ID: MacBookPro7,1
2.4GHz, 2.66GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (17-inch Mid 2009)
(June, 2009)
Model ID: MacBookPro5,2
2.8GHz, 3.06GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (15-inch Mid 2009)
(June, 2009)
Model ID: MacBookPro5,4
2.53GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (15-inch Mid 2009)
(June, 2009)
Model ID: MacBookPro5,3
2.66GHz, 2.8GHz, 3.06GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (13-inch Mid 2009)
(June, 2009)
Model ID: MacBookPro5,5
2.26GHz, 2.53GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (15-inch Early 2009)
(March, 2009)
Model ID: MacBookPro5,1
2.66GHz 2.93GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (15-inch Early 2009)
(March, 2009)
Model ID: MacBookPro5,1
2.66GHz 2.93GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (17-inch Early 2009)
(January, 2009)
Model ID: MacBookPro5,2
2.66GHz, 2.93GHz
MacBook Pro
MacBook Pro (17-inch Late 2008)
(October, 2008)
Model ID: MacBookPro4,1
2.5GHz, 2.6GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (15-inch Late 2008)
(October, 2008)
Model ID: MacBookPro5,1
2.4GHz, 2.53GHz, 2.66GHz 2.8GHz
MacBook Pro
MacBook Pro (17-inch Early 2008)
(February, 2008)
Model ID: MacBookPro4,1
2.5GHz, 2.6GHz
MacBook Pro
MacBook Pro (15-inch Early 2008)
(February, 2008)
Model ID: MacBookPro4,1
2.4GHz, 2.5GHz, 2.6GHz
MacBook Pro
MacBook Pro (17-inch Mid/Late 2007)
(June, 2007)
Model ID: MacBookPro3,1
2.4GHz, 2.6GHz
MacBook Pro
MacBook Pro (15-inch Mid/Late 2007)
(June, 2007)
Model ID: MacBookPro3,1
2.2GHz, 2.4GHz, 2.6GHz
MacBook Pro
MacBook Pro (17-inch Core 2 Duo)
(October, 2006)
Model ID: MacBookPro2,1
2.33GHz
MacBook Pro
MacBook Pro (15-inch Core 2 Duo)
(October, 2006)
Model ID: MacBookPro2,2
2.16GHz, 2.33GHz
MacBook Pro
MacBook Pro (15-inch Glossy)
(May, 2006)
Model ID: MacBookPro1,1
2.0GHz, 2.16GHz
MacBook Pro
MacBook Pro (17-inch)
(April, 2006)
Model ID: MacBookPro1,2
2.16GHz
MacBook Pro
MacBook Pro (15-inch)
(January, 2006)
Model ID: MacBookPro1,1
1.83GHz, 2.0GHz, 2.16GHz
MacBook White Unibody
MacBook (Mid 2010)
(May, 2010)
Model ID: MacBook7,1
2.4GHz
MacBook White Unibody
MacBook (Late 2009)
(October, 2009)
Model ID: MacBook6,1
2.26Ghz
MacBook
MacBook (Mid 2009)
(May, 2009)
Model ID: MacBook5,2
2.13GHz
MacBook
MacBook (Early 2009)
(January, 2009)
Model ID: MacBook5,2
2.0GHz
MacBook
MacBook (Late 2008)
(October, 2008)
Model ID: MacBook4,1
2.1GHz
MacBook Unibody
MacBook (Late 2008)
(October, 2008)
Model ID: MacBook5,1
2.0GHz, 2.4GHz
MacBook
MacBook (Early 2008)
(February, 2008)
Model ID: MacBook4,1
2.1GHz, 2.4GHz
MacBook
MacBook (Late 2007)
(November, 2007)
Model ID: MacBook3,1
2.0GHz, 2.2GHz
MacBook
MacBook (Mid 2007)
(May, 2007)
Model ID: MacBook2,1
2.0GHz, 2.16GHz
MacBook
MacBook (Late 2006)
(November, 2006)
Model ID: MacBook2,1
1.83GHz, 2.0GHz
MacBook
MacBook
(May, 2006)
Model ID: MacBook1,1
1.83GHz, 2.0GHz
Mac mini Intel
Mac mini (Late 2012)
(October, 2012)
Model ID: Macmini6,1 & Macmini6,2
2.3GHz, 2.5GHz, 2.6GHz
Mac mini Intel
Mac mini (Late 2012 Server)
(October, 2012)
Model ID: Macmini6,2
2.3GHz, 2.6GHz
Mac mini Intel
Mac mini (Mid 2011)
(July, 2011)
Model ID: Macmini5,1 & Macmini5,2
2.3GHz, 2.5GHz, 2.7GHz
Mac mini Intel
Mac mini (Mid 2011 Server)
(July, 2011)
Model ID: Macmini5,3
2.0GHz
Mac mini Intel
Mac mini (Mid 2010)
(June, 2010)
Model ID: Macmini4,1
2.4GHz, 2.66GHz
Mac mini Intel
Mac mini (Mid 2010 Server)
(June, 2010)
Model ID: Macmini4,1
2.66GHz
Mac mini Intel
Mac mini (Early 2009)
(March, 2009)
Model ID: Macmini3,1
2.0GHz, 2.26GHz
Mac mini Intel
Mac mini (Late 2009 Server)
(October, 2009)
Model ID: Macmini3,1
2.53GHz
Mac mini Intel
Mac mini (Late 2009)
(October, 2009)
Model ID: Macmini3,1
2.26GHz, 2.53GHz, 2.66GHz
Mac mini Intel
Mac mini (Mid 2007)
(August, 2007)
Model ID: Macmini2,1
1.83GHz, 2.0GHz

Release Candidate (RC) firmware set

There are two kinds of firmware for SSDs Mass Production (MP) and Release Candidate (RC). Prior to an MP firmware release, there are beta firmware releases and an RC firmware release. Often, the RC is the same as the MP release, however there can be small changes and bug fixes made between the two. OWC has evaluated the RC for the 6Gb/s SandForce 2281 Processor and found it to be stable with no issues reported during our testing. However, as with any evolutionary product, issues may surface as different usages and configurations are employed and it is important to understand that there will be further updates and revisions.

Since no firmware update is currently offered for the OWC Mercury EXTREME Pro 6G SSD, no update page exists. To see the typical steps involved with a self performed field firmware update, please visit our 3Gb/s product update page at: http://eshop.macsales.com/Customized_Pages/Framework.cfm?page=sf_firmware.html

It is important to note that the current firmware update tool requires the use of Windows XP/Vista/7. OWC is currently working on a Mac OS based update tool, but we do not have an exact availability date.

240GB Mercury Extreme Pro 6G SSD Specifications:

Specifications

Controller
SandForce 228x Series Processor with 7% Over Provisioning
NAND
Tier 1 Major Multi-Level Cell (MLC) High-Performance Sync-NAND Flash
Form Factor
Standard 7mm 2.5"
Interface
SATA 6Gb/s, 3Gb/s & 1.5Gb/s supported, SATA 3.0 Compliant
Capacity1
240GB useable capacity
Total Flash Memory Components – 256GB
16GB allocated to real-time data redundancy & error correction
Formatted Capacity2
223GiB
RAID Support
Qualified for single drive and multiple drive production workstation RAID 0/1/10/0+1 and SPAN usage.
SMART Attributes
Standard5
Native Command Queuing
up to 32 commands
Manufacturer Model Number
OWCSSD7P6G240
RoHS Compliant
Yes
Format

Physical

Height (max)
7mm (0.276″)
OWC 7mm ��� 9.5mm Adapter
1 included (buy additional)
Width (max)
70.06mm (2.758″)
Length (max)
100.12mm (3.941″)
Weight
77 grams +/- 2 grams
0.170 lbs +/- 2.71 oz

Reliability3

Data Reliability
ECC Recovery: Up to 55 bytes correctable per 512-byte sector
Security
Chip Based Data Encryption: 128-bit AES-compliant
TRIM Support
OS Dependent
Nonrecoverable Read Errors
Less than 1 sector per 1016 bits read
Warranty
5 Year OWC SSD Limited Warranty
(Standard return policy applies.)

Performance

Sustained
Reads 6Gb/s (up to)
510MB/s
Sustained
Writes 6Gb/s (up to)
503MB/s
Random 4K Read4
Up to 60,000 IOPS
Random 4K Write4
Up to 60,000 IOPS
Read Latency
less than 0.1ms
Write Latency
less than 0.1ms

Power

Active
Read: 3000mW (3.0W) Maximum draw
Write: 4500mW (4.5W) Maximum draw
Idle
Less than 1000mW (1.0W)

Environmental (Operating)

Temperature (°F)
32°F to 158°F
Temperature (°C)
0°C to 70°C

Environmental (Non-Operating)

Temperature (°F)
-40°F to 185°F
Temperature (°C)
-40°C to 85°C

Acoustics

Idle (Typical)
0.0 bels
Seek (Typical)
0.0 bels
  1. 1GB = 1,000,000,000 bytes. Total accessible capacity varies depending upon operating environment (typically 5-10% less). The actual total capacity will depend on your own defined file settings/preferences. 
  2. In terms of standard gigabytes, 1GiB ≈ 1.074GB and refers to the actual formatted capacity of shown under Mac OS 10.5 or earlier and Microsoft Windows OS.
  3. Specific application environments such as temperature and duty cycle will affect the overall reliability.
  4. Specifications provided by SandForce.
  5. Temperature reporting is currently an unsupported feature because due to the operating characteristics of SSDs, it is highly unlikely one would ever exceed an OWC Mercury SSD's stated operating temperature ceiling of 158F/70C. However, we are looking into supporting this feature in the future via a firmware update. Firmware updates can be found here: http://eshop.macsales.com/tech_center/OWC/SSD.
Manufacturer provided specifications for Other World Computing p/n SSD7P6G240 UPC#: 794504339055

Gallery

Customer Ratings

Write a Review 4.9 / 5 106 out of 112 (95%) reviewers would recommend this product
1 2 3 4 5 6
Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Olive Branch, MS Age: 18-24 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 Quick Fast and in a Hurry! August 19, 2013 This thing is great! No more worrying about the hard drive skips or any noise from the hdd! The speed is incredible compared to a traditional hard drive and now being spoiled by this drive I don't think I could ever go back.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 480GB Mercury Extreme Pro 6G SSD 2.5-inch 9.5mm SATA 6.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Dallas, TX Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 What a huge difference! May 27, 2013 Boot time went from 72 sec to 28 sec on my 2012 MacMini. Everything is faster. And I must complement the quality of the installation and setup videos. They were great! Adding an SSD as a primary drive takes several hours to install the hardware and then go through the OS install and setup process, but oh, so worth it.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 120GB Mercury Extreme Pro 6G SSD 2.5-inch 9.5mm SATA 6.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Tampere, Finland Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 As fast as advertised April 14, 2013 I added Mercury EXTREME Pro 6G to my MacBook PRO cd-rom bay using the OWC Data Doubler (also an excellent product). The original Apple SSD reads ~190 MB/s and writes ~140 MB/s. In the same machine the Mercury EXTREME Pro 6G (placed in the cd-rom bay) reads ~507 MB/s and writes ~345 MB/s. Impressive!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 240GB Mercury Extreme Pro 6G SSD 2.5-inch 9.5mm SATA 6.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Richmond, IN Age: 45-54 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Smoothly speedy April 11, 2013 We've all heard the hype about these SSDs. They do everything but laundry and dishes.

Too many times I've run out of storage space, so it's taken me longer than most However, I've had various problems with disk drives for years and this SSD has taken me away from the delays of rotating platters.

It's not a jarring sort of speed. Someone was talking about that with another product and this one is quietly, smoothly speedy. When I'm working with 1000 or more photos, I'm not seeing a slow down and even my software can be launched and terminated quickly.

Coming from 7200 rpm laptop computer drives, it's a huge help. I can only imagine how 4 of them in a RAID configuration would speed up my work.

Installation was no more difficult than working with a typical 2.5 inch drive, whether using it in a Mercury Pro case or inside a laptop computer.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 480GB Mercury Extreme Pro 6G SSD 2.5-inch 9.5mm SATA 6.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

Verified Buyer Top 250 Contributor
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Monterey, CA Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Outstanding Speed & Performance March 9, 2013 My Mac BookPro early 13", is like a new laptop. From a 2minute 29 second startup to 45 second startup and Fusion5 with Win7 is lighting fast. In two months I will switch out my dvd for another added SSD 480g. The SSD is the only way to go.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 480GB Mercury Extreme Pro 6G SSD 2.5-inch 9.5mm SATA 6.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Arizona Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Super fast March 9, 2013 I installed this drive in my 2012 Mac Mini using the data doubler kit. I also replaced the main drive with a 1TB SATA III 7200 RPM HGST drive. I reinstalled Mountain Lion and let it build a Fusion drive. What can I say other than power on to login in 10 seconds, and Photoshop CS5 loads in under 3 seconds. This drive is more expensive than some other drives, most notably the Samsung 840 Pro, however, the ability to install firmware updates without removing the drive is a big plus, and the over-provisioning meaning no TRIM hack required, etc makes this well worth it. All with a 5 year warranty. I'm seeing benchmarked reads in excess of 500MB/sec.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 240GB Mercury Extreme Pro 6G SSD 2.5-inch 9.5mm SATA 6.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Brisbane, Australia Age: Under 18 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 4/5 Speedy real world speeds, built in TRIM, quality construction. January 27, 2013 I'm use no one has ever been disappointed with their first SSD purchase, and neither am I. This drive is quality build, looks great and has built in garbage collection. Unfortunately my computer (early 2011 13" Macbook Pro) despite being on SATA 3 6Gb/s doesn't let this drive along with another drive I've tested to run at optimal speed but its still insanely fast! This drive is expensive but it is certainly unique with built in garbage collection making it perfect for RAID.

Things to improve on? Well the next generation I'd like to see a thinner 7 mm thickness for use in Untrabooks and a more reasonable price tag. Also this SSD gets comparatively warm compared to another cheaper one I've tested.

Summery, you cant go wrong with an SSD at the moment and prices have never been better and this one is no exception. Congratulations OWC.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 120GB Mercury Extreme Pro 6G SSD 2.5-inch 9.5mm SATA 6.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Burini Location: Brasil Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 excellent product November 20, 2012 I received the order very fast .... I am already using it on my MacBookPro ... is ... extraordinary performance makes the machine very quickly ... about 18 seconds for initialization recommend ...

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 240GB Mercury Extreme Pro 6G SSD 2.5-inch 9.5mm SATA 6.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: dlafond Location: Trois-Rivières, QC Age: 35-44 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Amazing!!! November 14, 2012 Incredible performances. Easy to install. My Mac Pro runs so fast now! Apple, you should put these hard drive in your default configuration.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 240GB Mercury Extreme Pro 6G SSD 2.5-inch 9.5mm SATA 6.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Artman Location: Lebanon, & Fishkill NY Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Simple is nice October 17, 2012 Shipping was great as it came in double protective cover. Installed the drive in my Windows gaming machine. Installing windows 7 from a USB took a little over 5 minutes, 5:11 sec to be exact. Boots into windows in no time. As soon as the system gets over the POST & starts loading Win 7 it just a matter of less then 10 seconds. Applications opens in No time.

Support: Forums over here are very entry level . However, it's better then other companies like "XXX & XXXXXX" where the forums and support is like cowboy weekend.

Support guys are very courteous & strict to the point. This is coming from a guy who had one of the first SSDs on the market "not OWC" & spent hundreds of mails with other support companies. Bottom line: Get over your suspicions & go for the OWC Mercury Extreme Pro 6G. This is the closest thing you get when closing the gap between a mechanical HD & SSD. On the benchmark side, it over performed my other two high end SSDs. I've owned 7 SSDs, 3 of them are high end & I would recommend OWC in a heartbeat. Sin yours

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 240GB Mercury Extreme Pro 6G SSD 2.5-inch 9.5mm SATA 6.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

Reviewer: PDiddy11 Location: Charlotte, NC Age: 25-34 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 OMG!! 240GB Extreme Pro SSD August 27, 2012 Easy install, just insert into main SATA slot and use the DATA Double which is a MUST purchase accessory to still be able to use your old HD as storage space.

Once installed just use a drive cloning software to clone your image file (created prior to install) and in 8 minutes the OS was loaded and all my apps installed!!

Boot times now 15-18seconds not 1min-1min 20seconds! Applications like Aperture load in around 1-2 seconds, Photoshop is just as fast!

And 5year Warranty lets me know they have Cust. Service as their top priority.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 240GB Mercury Extreme Pro 6G SSD 2.5-inch 9.5mm SATA 6.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: tortoise Location: Benicia, California Age: Over 65 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Excellent products & service as always!! June 17, 2012 Gave new life to and expect several more years of service from my old reliable MacPro early 2008 model. After 4.5 years in service my system was feeling a bit sluggish. Took a leap of faith and invested in OWC SSD and all I can say is WOW, night and day is understatement, feels like a new computer and the drive will move forward to next tower if and when I need one. Newer tech adapter fit like a glove.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 480GB Mercury Extreme Pro 6G SSD 2.5-inch 9.5mm SATA 6.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: agoraproductions Location: Switzerland Age: 45-54 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Like a Ferrari June 4, 2012 Does a Ferrari fastest car ? the OWC SSD 6G is the fastest SSD I ever seen. The service quality and delivery makes OWC my preferred supplier for Mac options.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 240GB Mercury Extreme Pro 6G SSD 2.5-inch 9.5mm SATA 6.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: djh1981 Location: Hermosa Beach, CA Age: 35-44 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 There is a reason these are rated tops in all the blogs and reviews March 27, 2012 Obsession with quality - that is OWC to me - i really wont buy anything else - there is cheaper but not i will not chance it - i am running 2 of these in raid 0 (i am backing up on a Qx2) and i am getting thunderbolt saturating speeds - lightroom is instantaneous in everything i do except exporting (uses more CPU than ssd speed) - if they ever come out with new mac pro i will use this setup the same way

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 240GB Mercury Extreme Pro 6G SSD 2.5-inch 9.5mm SATA 6.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

Reviewer: andrewbk Location: Lawrence, KS Age: 25-34 Experience Level: Gamer Owned Product: 3-4 months
Rating: 5/5 Fantastic March 22, 2012 Received this as a gift for my custom built gaming PC just over 3 months ago. All I can say is WOW. My previous boot drives were 2 WD Caviar Blacks in RAID 0. This makes them look pathetic. OS boots maybe 15x faster, games like Skyrim no longer have load screens (If you play Skyrim you realize how insane that is), applications (word, chrome, etc.) load instantly.

Initially had problems getting it installed. Narrowed it down to a problem with my motherboard. I called the manufacturer and after being on hold for 30 minutes they were no help AT ALL and just kept telling me it had to be the drive. I called OWC to see if they could help. Someone answered the phone in about 90 seconds and the gentleman I spoke to got me up and running in 5 minutes flat.

I cannot say enough good things about this drive, if you are even considering it, stop reading and buy it.

Andrew

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 240GB Mercury Extreme Pro 6G SSD 2.5-inch 9.5mm SATA 6.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

Reviewer: Clark Location: Houston TX Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Hobbiest Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 3/5 Reliability an issue... performance sometimes an issue March 9, 2012 My experience with this drive has been disappointing from a number of perspectives. My first drive (in boot position) died after 2 weeks. So much for SSD reliability. I was traveling and without my laptop till I got home to my bootable backup. OWC replaced the drive without hassle. Now, upon upgrade to Lion, the drive has proven unreliable once again. Tech service agreed to replace the drive when it wouldn't boot, and they indicated I should have been upgrading the SSD firmware periodically via the tech support section of the OWC web site. There have been several updates including one for Lion but I could not install them because the process requires the factory installed DVD to be present, and I had used the OWC data doubler to add a second rotating hard drive. In short, I could not install the firmware updates even if I had known about them. I am waiting now for my second replacement drive, with current firmware... and am hoping for better luck in the future.

Performance is usually good, but my 7200rpm 750GB Hatachi drive write tests at 100MB/sec on uncompressed video, while my expensive SSD rates about 280MB/sec. The OWC folks show that now in their SSD testing section, but think through your price/performance and reliability assumptions before you spring for this SSD.

This review is from 480GB Mercury Extreme Pro 6G SSD 2.5-inch 9.5mm SATA 6.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Donny Location: vancouver Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 FAST .... March 2, 2012 So fast 500mb/s it's made my macbookpro a speed demon ... I work with adobe and fcstudio and protools, and this SSD has been the biggest improvement yet loving it!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 240GB Mercury Extreme Pro 6G SSD 2.5-inch 9.5mm SATA 6.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: saleh
Rating: 5/5 excellent February 23, 2012 excellent quality, excellent performance very fast booting recommended

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 240GB Mercury Extreme Pro 6G SSD 2.5-inch 9.5mm SATA 6.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Calin Location: Bucharest, Romania Age: 25-34 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Unbelievably fast ! November 14, 2011 First, I need to say that I have upgraded from the 5,400 rpm standard HDD of the MacBook Pro 17" i7 to the 480GB OWC Extreme Pro and the difference was beyond anything that I imagined or expected. It feels like a completely different computer; everything happens instantly at the touch of a button. Really great buy, it totally changed the whole computer experience.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 480GB Mercury Extreme Pro 6G SSD 2.5-inch 9.5mm SATA 6.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Cow007 Location: PDX Age: 25-34 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 OWC puts the Extreme in satisfaction! October 7, 2011 This is the fastest drive you can put on SATA3. It works great! With this drive my MacBook Pro boots in under 10 seconds! (And that is with file vault on!) My machine is faster than ever! The reviewers agree, there is simply NOTHING better in terms of speed and compatibility than OWC 6G SSDs. They are also pretty and include a 5 year warranty. Without a doubt this is truly a drive befitting a Unibody MacBook Pro! Thanks OWC!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 120GB Mercury Extreme Pro 6G SSD 2.5-inch 9.5mm SATA 6.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: MacZonie Location: AZ Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 4/5 Do it for your MacPro August 24, 2011 Installed it with a clean install of Lion on my MacPro 2009. Copied my Win7-64 bit VM to the SSD (Parallels 6). You would not believe the performance improvement. I didn't realize how hard disk bound the system was until the SSD was installed.

Only problem was the side-mounted screw holes were not tapped and were needed for use with the OWC Drive Sled. Consequently, the SSD is mounted with only two screws. Cost a review star!

Someone from OWC should try mounting this SSD to the blue drive sled with the supplied hardware.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 240GB Mercury Extreme Pro 6G SSD 2.5-inch 9.5mm SATA 6.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: darkchild415
Rating: 3/5 Better than standard drive July 9, 2011 No moving parts and pretty fast and efficient. The only reason I gave it 3 stars is because I read that start-up would be faster, but even after several boot ups it is still very slow on start up and the first unit I received was dead on arrival.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 120GB Mercury Extreme Pro 6G SSD 2.5-inch 9.5mm SATA 6.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

Response from MacSales.com, Marketing November 9, 2011 Sounds like you need to set the drive as your startup disk. Go to System Preferences > Startup Disk and choose the SSD as your boot drive. When OS X doesn't have this preference set, it searches the full system bus looking for the primary startup disk at startup and it does take quite a bit of time. Once set, you should see your boot time decrease dramatically.
Verified Buyer
Reviewer: slick Location: Oklahoma City, OK Age: 25-34 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Simply Amazing!... June 29, 2011 I ordered this drive Tuesday afternoon and picked the next day shipping option. I chose next day because the website stated that it will be 2 days before it ships. Well, long story short, it's Wednesday and I got my SSD!!! I thought the shipping was fast, but wow, this SSD is amazingly fast! Coming from an Intel 80GB X25-M, I wasn't expecting to see/feel a difference because the Intel was plenty fast, but the difference can be seen. I have a new 2011 MacBook Pro 15" and running this drive at 6G is great. For anyone with a laptop/computer that can run an SSD drive at 6G link, get this drive! I'm getting 500mb read and write speeds, compared to the Intel, the reads are over twice as fast and writes are over 6 times as fast! People are constantly complaining about OCZ's bad customer service, so it's almost a no brainer to get this product from OWC.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from (*) 240GB Mercury Extreme Pro 6G SSD 2.5-inch 9.5mm SATA 6.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.