Get exclusive deals delivered to your inbox!

Start saving today. »

OWC Special Offer Available

$70.99 off *NOW* Get Parallels Desktop Pro Edition - Windows/Multi OS Compatibility software for Mac - Only $29.00 with select OWC SSDs, HDDs, Memory, External Storage, and Optical Drives! (Limit 3 rebates, 1 rebate per qualifying item)
Must purchase with: PPDPROSUB1Y-REB29

OWC

1.0TB Mercury Extreme® Pro 6G SSD
2.5" Serial-ATA 7mm Solid State Drive

When only the fastest and most reliable Solid State Drive on the market today will suffice for your data storage and backup, look no further than the OWC Mercury Extreme Pro 6G SSD.
High-Performance Storage for Notebook and Desktop Computers.
For mission critical applications that require the utmost in speed and reliability, Mercury Extreme® Pro 6G SSDs deliver performance you can count on.
The Mercury SSD line features a suite of industry leading controller technologies for performance and reliability:
  • Global wear leveling algorithms automatically distribute data evenly and manage program/erase count, maximizing SSD lifespan.
  • StaticDataRefresh manages free space, gradually refreshing data across the SSD over time, preventing data corruption.
  • Hardware BCH ECC corrects errors up to 66-bit/1KB for superior data retention and drive life.
  • Advanced security protocols support 128/256-bit-AES disk encryption.
No Risk, No Hassle 30-Day Money Back Guarantee.
For more information on OWC return policies, click here.
This internal 2.5" SATA SSD delivers outstanding transfer speeds, endurance, and reliability. With speeds over 500MB/s, the OWC 1.0TB Mercury Extreme® Pro 6G SSD line delivers unbeatable performance. A 7% over provisioning set-aside further ensures exceptional long-term reliability, performance consistency, and durability with an amazing 960GB of visible storage capacity after over provision. Built to perform and backed by a 5 Year OWC SSD Limited Warranty.
High Performance Internal Storage
Replace your conventional hard drive with a reliable solid state drive. Unlike traditional hard disk drives, OWC SSDs have no moving parts, resulting in a quiet, cool, highly rugged storage solution that also offers near instantaneous system response.
Includes 7 mm to 9.5 mm Adapter / Spacer
Attach this adapter to the top of any 7mm, 2.5-inch drive for installations that require a 9.5mm drive height for proper use, whether you need a 9.5mm drive height for a dock, camera, server, device, PC, or external drive. This adapter is not needed for 2.5-inch drive installations that use the standard side or bottom mounting positions to secure the drive in place, and is not needed for any installation of a 7mm drive in Apple Macintosh computers.

Includes

  • 1.0TB Mercury Extreme® Pro 6G SSD
  • 7 mm – 9.5 mm Adapter
Blackmagic Certified for use with the following Blackmagic products:

Blackmagic HyperDeck Studio
Blackmagic HyperDeck Shuttle
Blackmagic MultiDock
Blackmagic Production
Camera 4K
Blackmagic
Cinema Camera



This OWC SSD Model is compatible with nearly any Mac or PC model with a Serial ATA connection (SATA, SATA 2.0, or SATA 3.0) including: Learn how to find your Mac's model ID
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (15-inch 2012)
(June, 2012)
Model ID: MacBookPro9,1
2.3GHz, 2.6GHz, 2.7GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (13-inch 2012)
(June, 2012)
Model ID: MacBookPro9,2
2.5GHz, 2.9GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (17-inch 2011)
(October, 2011)
Model ID: MacBookPro8,3
2.4GHz, 2.5GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (15-inch 2011)
(October, 2011)
Model ID: MacBookPro8,2
2.2GHz, 2.4GHz, 2.5GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (13-inch 2011)
(October, 2011)
Model ID: MacBookPro8,1
2.4GHz, 2.8GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (17-inch Early 2011)
(February, 2011)
Model ID: MacBookPro8,3
2.2GHz, 2.3GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (15-inch Early 2011)
(February, 2011)
Model ID: MacBookPro8,2
2.0GHz, 2.2GHz, 2.3GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (13-inch Early 2011)
(February, 2011)
Model ID: MacBookPro8,1
2.3GHz, 2.7GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (17-inch Mid 2010)
(April, 2010)
Model ID: MacBookPro6,1
2.53GHz, 2.66GHz, 2.8GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (15-inch Mid 2010)
(April, 2010)
Model ID: MacBookPro6,2
2.4GHz, 2.53GHz, 2.66GHz, 2.8GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (13-inch Mid 2010)
(April, 2010)
Model ID: MacBookPro7,1
2.4GHz, 2.66GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (17-inch Mid 2009)
(June, 2009)
Model ID: MacBookPro5,2
2.8GHz, 3.06GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (15-inch Mid 2009)
(June, 2009)
Model ID: MacBookPro5,4
2.53GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (15-inch Mid 2009)
(June, 2009)
Model ID: MacBookPro5,3
2.66GHz, 2.8GHz, 3.06GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (13-inch Mid 2009)
(June, 2009)
Model ID: MacBookPro5,5
2.26GHz, 2.53GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (15-inch Early 2009)
(March, 2009)
Model ID: MacBookPro5,1
2.66GHz 2.93GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (15-inch Early 2009)
(March, 2009)
Model ID: MacBookPro5,1
2.66GHz 2.93GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (17-inch Early 2009)
(January, 2009)
Model ID: MacBookPro5,2
2.66GHz, 2.93GHz
MacBook Pro
MacBook Pro (17-inch Late 2008)
(October, 2008)
Model ID: MacBookPro4,1
2.5GHz, 2.6GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (15-inch Late 2008)
(October, 2008)
Model ID: MacBookPro5,1
2.4GHz, 2.53GHz, 2.66GHz 2.8GHz
MacBook Pro
MacBook Pro (17-inch Early 2008)
(February, 2008)
Model ID: MacBookPro4,1
2.5GHz, 2.6GHz
MacBook Pro
MacBook Pro (15-inch Early 2008)
(February, 2008)
Model ID: MacBookPro4,1
2.4GHz, 2.5GHz, 2.6GHz
MacBook Pro
MacBook Pro (17-inch Mid/Late 2007)
(June, 2007)
Model ID: MacBookPro3,1
2.4GHz, 2.6GHz
MacBook Pro
MacBook Pro (15-inch Mid/Late 2007)
(June, 2007)
Model ID: MacBookPro3,1
2.2GHz, 2.4GHz, 2.6GHz
MacBook Pro
MacBook Pro (17-inch Core 2 Duo)
(October, 2006)
Model ID: MacBookPro2,1
2.33GHz
MacBook Pro
MacBook Pro (15-inch Core 2 Duo)
(October, 2006)
Model ID: MacBookPro2,2
2.16GHz, 2.33GHz
MacBook Pro
MacBook Pro (15-inch Glossy)
(May, 2006)
Model ID: MacBookPro1,1
2.0GHz, 2.16GHz
MacBook Pro
MacBook Pro (17-inch)
(April, 2006)
Model ID: MacBookPro1,2
2.16GHz
MacBook Pro
MacBook Pro (15-inch)
(January, 2006)
Model ID: MacBookPro1,1
1.83GHz, 2.0GHz, 2.16GHz
MacBook White Unibody
MacBook (Mid 2010)
(May, 2010)
Model ID: MacBook7,1
2.4GHz
MacBook White Unibody
MacBook (Late 2009)
(October, 2009)
Model ID: MacBook6,1
2.26Ghz
MacBook
MacBook (Mid 2009)
(May, 2009)
Model ID: MacBook5,2
2.13GHz
MacBook
MacBook (Early 2009)
(January, 2009)
Model ID: MacBook5,2
2.0GHz
MacBook
MacBook (Late 2008)
(October, 2008)
Model ID: MacBook4,1
2.1GHz
MacBook Unibody
MacBook (Late 2008)
(October, 2008)
Model ID: MacBook5,1
2.0GHz, 2.4GHz
MacBook
MacBook (Early 2008)
(February, 2008)
Model ID: MacBook4,1
2.1GHz, 2.4GHz
MacBook
MacBook (Late 2007)
(November, 2007)
Model ID: MacBook3,1
2.0GHz, 2.2GHz
MacBook
MacBook (Mid 2007)
(May, 2007)
Model ID: MacBook2,1
2.0GHz, 2.16GHz
MacBook
MacBook (Late 2006)
(November, 2006)
Model ID: MacBook2,1
1.83GHz, 2.0GHz
MacBook
MacBook
(May, 2006)
Model ID: MacBook1,1
1.83GHz, 2.0GHz
Mac mini Intel
Mac mini (Late 2012)
(October, 2012)
Model ID: Macmini6,1 & Macmini6,2
2.3GHz, 2.5GHz, 2.6GHz
Mac mini Intel
Mac mini (Late 2012 Server)
(October, 2012)
Model ID: Macmini6,2
2.3GHz, 2.6GHz
Mac mini Intel
Mac mini (Mid 2011)
(July, 2011)
Model ID: Macmini5,1 & Macmini5,2
2.3GHz, 2.5GHz, 2.7GHz
Mac mini Intel
Mac mini (Mid 2011 Server)
(July, 2011)
Model ID: Macmini5,3
2.0GHz
Mac mini Intel
Mac mini (Mid 2010)
(June, 2010)
Model ID: Macmini4,1
2.4GHz, 2.66GHz
Mac mini Intel
Mac mini (Mid 2010 Server)
(June, 2010)
Model ID: Macmini4,1
2.66GHz
Mac mini Intel
Mac mini (Early 2009)
(March, 2009)
Model ID: Macmini3,1
2.0GHz, 2.26GHz
Mac mini Intel
Mac mini (Late 2009 Server)
(October, 2009)
Model ID: Macmini3,1
2.53GHz
Mac mini Intel
Mac mini (Late 2009)
(October, 2009)
Model ID: Macmini3,1
2.26GHz, 2.53GHz, 2.66GHz
Mac mini Intel
Mac mini (Mid 2007)
(August, 2007)
Model ID: Macmini2,1
1.83GHz, 2.0GHz

Gallery

Release Candidate (RC) firmware set

There are two kinds of firmware for SSDs Mass Production (MP) and Release Candidate (RC). Prior to an MP firmware release, there are beta firmware releases and an RC firmware release. Often, the RC is the same as the MP release, however there can be small changes and bug fixes made between the two. OWC has evaluated the RC for the 6Gb/s SandForce 2281 Processor and found it to be stable with no issues reported during our testing. However, as with any evolutionary product, issues may surface as different usages and configurations are employed and it is important to understand that there will be further updates and revisions.

Since no firmware update is currently offered for the OWC Mercury EXTREME Pro 6G SSD, no update page exists. To see the typical steps involved with a self performed field firmware update, please visit our 3Gb/s product update page at: http://eshop.macsales.com/Customized_Pages/Framework.cfm?page=sf_firmware.html

It is important to note that the current firmware update tool requires the use of Windows XP/Vista/7. OWC is currently working on a Mac OS based update tool, but we do not have an exact availability date.

1.0TB Mercury Extreme Pro 6G SSD Specifications:

Specifications

Controller
Silicon Motion SM2246EN Series
NAND
Tier 1 3D NAND
Form Factor
Standard 7mm 2.5"
Interface
SATA 6Gb/s, 3Gb/s & 1.5Gb/s supported, SATA 3.0 Compliant
Capacity1
960GB useable capacity
Total Flash Memory Components – 1024GB
64GB allocated to real-time data redundancy & error correction
Formatted Capacity2
930GiB
RAID Support
Yes
SMART Attributes
Standard5
Native Command Queuing
up to 32 commands
Manufacturer Model Number
OWCSSD7P6G960
RoHS Compliant
Yes
Format

Physical

Height (max)
7mm (0.276″)
OWC 7mm – 9.5mm Adapter
1 included (buy additional)
Width (max)
70.06mm (2.758″)
Length (max)
100.12mm (3.941″)
Weight
77 grams +/- 2 grams
0.170 lbs +/- 2.71 oz

Reliability3

Data Reliability
Built-in BCH ECC: Up to 66 bits correctable per 1024 bytes
Security
Chip Based Data Encryption: 256-bit AES-compliant
TRIM Support
Yes
Nonrecoverable Read Errors
Less than 1 sector per 1016 bits read

Performance

Sequential Reads (Max)
535 MB/s
Sequential Writes (Max)
440 MB/s

Power

Active
Less than 2000mW (2.0W) expected maximum draw
Idle
Less than 700mW (0.7W)

Environmental (Operating)

Temperature (°F)
32°F to 158°F
Temperature (°C)
0°C to 70°C

Environmental (Non-Operating)

Temperature (°F)
-40°F to 185°F
Temperature (°C)
-40°C to 85°C

Acoustics

Idle (Typical)
0.0 bels
Seek (Typical)
0.0 bels
  1. 1GB = 1,000,000,000 bytes. Total accessible capacity varies depending upon operating environment (typically 5-10% less). The actual total capacity will depend on your own defined file settings/preferences. 
  2. In terms of standard gigabytes, 1GiB ≈ 1.074GB and refers to the actual formatted capacity of shown under Mac OS 10.5 or earlier and Microsoft Windows OS.
  3. Specific application environments such as temperature and duty cycle will affect the overall reliability.
  4. Temperature reporting is currently an unsupported feature because due to the operating characteristics of SSDs, it is highly unlikely one would ever exceed an OWC Mercury SSD's stated operating temperature ceiling of 158F/70C. However, we are looking into supporting this feature in the future via a firmware update. Firmware updates can be found here: http://eshop.macsales.com/tech_center/OWC/SSD.
Manufacturer provided specifications for Other World Computing p/n SSD7P6G960 UPC#: 812437022513

Customer Ratings

Write a Review 4.9 / 5 106 out of 112 (95%) reviewers would recommend this product
1 2 3 4 5 6
Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Boca Raton FL Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Lightening Fast Computer! January 17, 2016 I bought this SSD for my early 2011 MacBook Pro and it is as fast as another BRAND NEW 2015 MacBook Pro I recently bought! BTW I already had 16 GB RAM. I normally keep several programs running at once and they come on now about as fast as it takes me to click on their application. The speed is in the drive. Hard drive = slow SSD = lightening fast.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 480GB Mercury Extreme Pro 6G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 6.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

Verified Buyer Top 250 Contributor
Reviewer: mrrjm Location: Illinois Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 4/5 Reliable if they don't failed in 90 days January 13, 2016 I have bought/recommended 5 of these drives. 2 of them failed. Don't recommend them unless you do frequent backups. Other then that they are very fast. I do have several running in my business 24/7/365 for over 6 years with no problems. Just to be fair the drives that failed did so in a very short time period.

This review is from 120GB Mercury Extreme Pro 6G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 6.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: OKC Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Fast and courteous service. December 28, 2015 When I received the drive I realized it did not come with the power cord. Most computers will run the drive without it, but not my MacBook Pro. I should have read everything on the order page.

It's a great drive!

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Cairns, Australia Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Excellent product and installation tutorial! December 18, 2015 Installing the ExtremePro has resulted in a significant improvement in speed in my 2011 iMac, which is especially noticeable when booting the system, launching apps and in general tasks. It has also reduced my rendering times in After Effects. When installing, I recommend having an assistant to facilitate some of the more delicate procedures.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 480GB Mercury Extreme Pro 6G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 6.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: San Juan, PR Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 Fast and furious December 17, 2015 Installed the 1.0TB drive yesterday, works great with excellent response and ease of installation. Be sure to call customer service for guidance for your particular product - they know what you need without fail. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED UPGRADE

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Across the pond in the old country Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 4/5 Gives a great boost to a Mac Mini December 14, 2015 Used the online guide to install in a 2010 Mac Mini and had no problems at all once I'd figured out which side to put the spacer on. Significant performance improvement which is very noticeable on start-up. My only criticism is about the shipping. Advertised dispatch is within one day though the order acknowledgement clearly states addition time is required for shipping outside USA. Packaging was not the issue but I guess it went on a guided tour of Bell, California before it left the country. Tracking shows Oct 29 - invoiced; Oct 30 - Bell, CA; Oct 31 - Bell, CA; Nov 3 - Bell, CA. Ultimately the shipping method was my choice but there is insufficient information on the website to help make an informed decision. Insult to injury, I got stung by UK Customs for tax so the price wasn't so good at the end of the day.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 480GB Mercury Extreme Pro 6G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 6.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Tulsa Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 3-4 months
Rating: 5/5 Best iMac upgrade ever December 13, 2015 The sales associate made sure I had everything I needed to change out my old hard drive. The video instructions were perfect. The speed and performance increase was far greater than inspected. I would almost consider the drive swap an easy job even with the dreaded "Apple tape adhesive". Quick shipping as well.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 480GB Mercury Extreme Pro 6G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 6.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Alaska Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 SSD installed into a 2010 MacBook Pro December 3, 2015 Installed after watching their video. Also installed a data doubler and moved the 500GB Hard Drive into the bay used for the DVD player. Boot time improved from 58 seconds to 19 seconds. BOOM! Used CCC to clone from the old drive to the new SSD. I have used these SSD's previously and can highly recommend them.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 480GB Mercury Extreme Pro 6G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 6.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Copenhagen, Denmark, EU Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Amazing experience from OWC! November 23, 2015 I had to replace my HDD with an SSD in my 27" iMac. I saw the OWC tutorial on Yotube (which was top notch!) and it seemed straightforward. My only concern was the removal of the screen, but that was actually more easy than I thought. I went over to the OWC site – which impressed all the way – with an outstanding website it was easy to navigate and finding my three parts. Within 2(!) days my package arrived to Copenhagen (Denmark) from the US! I was impressed (UPS did great)! The whole installation went smooth and my machine was fully functional within 2 hours.

OWC was quite the experience. I felt they were there for me all the time – with personal contacts if I had any issues. I haven't seen that kind of service before. I, for sure, will be coming back again.

– Oh yeah and the OWC SSD, thermal sensor cable and 2.5" to 3.5" bracket works like a charm.

Absolutely outstanding all the way! Thanks OWC!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 240GB Mercury Extreme Pro 6G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 6.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: East Coast Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Best improvement to this MacBookPro since I attached the power cord November 2, 2015 An Exceptional performance enhancement to this 2010 MacBookPro. Speed performance has increased by a factor of 5X to 15X; depending on the program's performance. Boot-up went from Agony to Ecstasy. This will extend the functional life of this computer several years into the future.

The cons: I did not make the installation a long time ago.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 480GB Mercury Extreme Pro 6G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 6.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

Verified Buyer Top 100 Contributor
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: NZ Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Perfect upgrade for MacBook Pro September 20, 2015 A great price on an update to my MacBook Pro that means a few more years before it needs to be replaced. Easy directions on the website for the installation and the tools to do it were on hand.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 480GB Mercury Extreme Pro 6G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 6.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Kansas City, Missouri Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Update Worked August 30, 2015 Installed the drive in the PCI slot... loaded the drive from Time Machine... everything worked flawlessly. Used to take a minute and a half to boot... after the SSD install...20 seconds...

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 480GB Mercury Extreme Pro 6G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 6.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

Verified Buyer Top 250 Contributor
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: johnold Age: 25-34 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 like new August 24, 2015 My MBP 2010 HDD broke down. Since switching to SSD, it made a big difference. My laptop runs like new, boots in less 10 seconds. Thanks OWC.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 240GB Mercury Extreme Pro 6G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 6.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: North Hollywood, CA Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 5-6 months
Rating: 5/5 FAST August 24, 2015 I love my new SATA drive that I got from OWC! You should get one!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 480GB Mercury Extreme Pro 6G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 6.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Regina SK Age: 55-65 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Excellent value and a very quick drive August 21, 2015 I bought this for a 17 inch Macbook pro and it is a great value. It is a very quick drive.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 480GB Mercury Extreme Pro 6G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 6.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Panama City. Fl Age: 45-54 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Blazing August 3, 2015 I love this thing

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 480GB Mercury Extreme Pro 6G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 6.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous
Rating: 4/5 Transformed my Mac! August 1, 2015 Someone said to me change of rot SSD when you get the chance. I know why now. It's so different, with an SSD, less than 20% full.

As usual, the guys at OWC get my gear to me so much faster than any local provider in Australia.

Great communications too!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 480GB Mercury Extreme Pro 6G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 6.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

Verified Buyer Top 250 Contributor
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Tucson, AZ Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Feel the need for speed? July 28, 2015 Just installed this in my 2009 Mac Pro, and it now feels and acts like a new workstation. Generally the overall speed in all operations seems so much quicker, especially when working in Photoshop and Final Cut Pro. The capacity is just right for a boot drive, and the price has really come down over the past few years to make it a no-brainer upgrade.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 480GB Mercury Extreme Pro 6G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 6.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous
Rating: 5/5 Great drive July 2, 2015 I can tell a speed difference from the drive that came with my Mac Mini.

This review is from 120GB Mercury Extreme Pro 6G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 6.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Florida Age: 25-34 Experience Level: Noob Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Great Product! June 30, 2015 So fast!! Great product!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 480GB Mercury Extreme Pro 6G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 6.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

Verified Buyer Top 50 Contributor
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Missouri Age: 45-54 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Another excellent product from OWC June 18, 2015 These SSD's are FAST - installation was simple and matched the video instructions - very straightforward.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 480GB Mercury Extreme Pro 6G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 6.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Super-Fast!!! June 6, 2015 Even when the original Hitachi 7200RPM hard drive in this MacBook Pro was brand new, it did perform nearly as fast as this Extreme Pro 6G SSD which is smokin' fast… I mean like Roadrunner-fast!!! "Meep-Meep!!!"

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 480GB Mercury Extreme Pro 6G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 6.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

Verified Buyer Top 50 Contributor
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Burlington, VT Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 5-6 months
Rating: 5/5 Very Fast in all areas June 4, 2015 Very Fast in all areas... Booting, program opening, hassle free, and quiet. Great Product. No slowing down over time. It was an adventure using your installation video to open up my 27" iMac and take it apart as much as I did. It worked right off the bat. It took me a while to get everyone in the right places, but now it is a real hard worker. Photoshop and Lightroom are a true joy to use.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 240GB Mercury Extreme Pro 6G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 6.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: UT Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Rock Solid Perfect May 24, 2015 Installation and configuration of both the 480Gb Mercury Extreme Pro 6G and the 16Gb Memory ordered for my Mid 2010 MBPro running OS X Yosemite went perfectly... Follow the OWC guidelines for install and configuration and all should go flawlessly...

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 480GB Mercury Extreme Pro 6G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 6.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Netherlands Age: 35-44 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Works great, blazingly fast May 18, 2015 I always upgrade my mac with OWC parts, both memory and SSD. Great products and great service!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 480GB Mercury Extreme Pro 6G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 6.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

OWC 1.0TB Mercury Extreme® Pro 6G SSD Mfr P/N: SSD7P6G960 OWC SKU: OWCSSD7P6G960 2.5" Serial-ATA 7mm
Solid State Drive
5 Year OWC Limited Warranty Ships: Same Day only $219.99
Add to CartOther World Computing SSD7P6G960 In Stock, Click to Buy Now
Additional Capacities:
  • 480GB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $149.99
    • OWC Price $129.99
  • 1.0TB
  • 2.0TB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $469.99
    • OWC Price $469.99