We're sorry, but this item is no longer for sale. However, there may be more Internal Hard Drives and SSD items available.

We recommend 250GB OWC Aura Pro 6Gb/s SSD + OWC Envoy Upgrade Kit for MacBook Air (2010-2011) (Mfr P/N: S3DAP116K250) from Other World Computing for $99.75 as a suitable alternative.

OWC

120GB Aura 6G SSD / Flash Internal Drive Upgrade
for MacBook Air 2010-2011

Upgrade Kit with Drive, Install Tools, + Envoy
for Easy Data Transfer/Original Drive Reuse
OWC's Aura SSD provides up to nearly 8x the capacity over factory SSDs while offering Faster Performance vs. Factory Options.
Get 3G speeds with 2010 MacBook Air
  • More SPEED get up to 275MB/s...68% faster than factory.
  • More STORAGE get up to nearly 8x more capacity!*
  • More OPTIONS choose from 120GB, 240GB or 480GB models.
  • More COMPLETE includes all the tools and free video necessary for installation
Get 6G speeds with 2011 MacBook Air
  • More SPEED get up to 507MB/s...3x faster than factory.**
  • More STORAGE get up to nearly 8x more capacity!*
  • More OPTIONS choose from 120GB, 240GB or 480GB models.
  • More COMPLETE includes all the tools and free video necessary for installation
Once again, OWC provides Mac users an upgrade path that delivers higher performance, functionality, and reliability! Whether you own or are considering a 2010 or 2011 base model 11″ MacBook Air with a 64GB Solid State Drive or the top of the line 13″ model with a 256GB SSD, OWC's Aura SSD offers 68% higher speed than the factory SSD.... up to 275MB/s and up to 8X more storage capacity than factory options.

And unlike the factory pre-configured models with no other SSD choices offered. Now thanks to OWC and the Aura SSD line, you can buy the MacBook Air you want today and enjoy the flexibility of upgrading for higher performance when you need it.
Everything you need in one package, immediately ready to assemble:
  • Reuse the factory SSD via the OWC Envoy as an external storage solution.
  • Take your data with you – Small enough to keep in a pocket or laptop case!
  • Easily add additional laptop storage with no AC adapter required.
The Aura SSD line features industry leading SandForce® DuraClass™ Technologies:
  • DuraWrite™ extends the endurance of your Solid State Drive (SSD).
  • Intelligent Block Management & Wear Leveling automatically distributes data evenly across the entire SSD.
  • Intelligent Read Disturb Management spreads the active read/write across the flash components eliminating data corruption caused by constant use.
  • Intelligent "Recycling" for advanced free space management gradually re-writes data across the SSD over time to ensure data never gets corrupted.
  • RAISE™ (Redundant Array of Independent Silicon Elements) protects the data on your drive similar to having a RAID setup.
  • Best-in-Class ECC Protection for longest data retention and drive life.
The Envoy offers the perfect companion storage solution for your MacBook Air
Get the ultimate combination of elegance and functionality in a sleek, portable external storage solution designed to complement the MacBook Air – in both appearance and performance. Its super-speed USB 3.0 interface is capable of speeds up to 500MB/s to ensure your workflow moves as fast as you do, and is backwards compatible with USB 2.0. Its bus-powered design means no AC power adapter is required making it an ideal portable Plug and Play solution – just plug the USB cord into your computer and the Envoy is ready to go.
Better by Design
"Mean Time To Failure" – We all know that nothing lasts forever. But that doesn't mean you shouldn't get the most out of your investment. OWC SSD with DuraWrite™ Technology, optimizes writes to the flash memory over conventional controllers increasing the overall endurance and reliability of the complete SSD. Highly intelligent block management and wear leveling also extends the overall endurance. With this technology, even MLC-based SSDs can operate for years in demanding use applications without daily write restrictions. This adds up to a MTTF that is higher than most enterprise class hard drives and SSDs on the market today.

Additionally, as there are no volatile memory elements in this storage device, the need for cache is completely negated. The drive is just that fast from the get-go!

*OWC SSD Maximum total flash capacity 512GB before 7% overprovisioning with 480GB actual usable capacity compared to Apple 64GB Flash option for 11.1" model.
**Random 4K write data rates of 57.56 for OWC SSD vs 18.49 for Apple factory stock SSD.

Note: The Aura 6G SSD achieves 6G speeds with compatible 2011 MacBooks and 3G speeds with 2010 MacBooks.
The OWC Envoy enclosure is specifically designed for use ONLY with the factory SSD installed in select Apple Macintosh computers. Do NOT attempt to install or use OWC Aura or Aura Pro X SSDs in the Envoy as you may damage the OWC drive, the enclosure, or both, and such damage is not covered under warranty.
The Aura™ is compatible with... Learn how to find your Mac's model ID
MacBook Air
MacBook Air (13-inch Mid 2011)
(July, 2011)
Model ID: MacBookAir4,2
1.7GHz, 1.8GHz
MacBook Air
MacBook Air (13-inch Late 2010)
(October, 2010)
Model ID: MacBookAir3,2
1.86GHz, 2.13GHz
MacBook Air
MacBook Air (11-inch Mid 2011)
(July, 2011)
Model ID: MacBookAir4,1
1.6GHz, 1.8GHz
MacBook Air
MacBook Air (11-inch Late 2010)
(October, 2010)
Model ID: MacBookAir3,1
1.4GHz, 1.6GHz
MacBook Air
NOT COMPATIBLE
MacBook Air (13-inch 2012)
Education Model
(July, 2012)
Model ID: MacBookAir4,2
1.7GHz
MacBook Air
NOT COMPATIBLE
MacBook Air (13-inch Mid 2012)
(June, 2012)
Model ID: MacBookAir5,2
1.8GHz, 2.0GHz
MacBook Air
NOT COMPATIBLE
MacBook Air (11-inch Mid 2012)
(June, 2012)
Model ID: MacBookAir5,1
1.7GHz, 2.0GHz

Includes

Aura Solid State Drive includes
  • Aura SSD
  • Envoy™ USB 2.0/3.0 Enclosure
  • Carrying Case
  • High-quality double-shielded USB 3.0 standard A to Micro-B connecting cable
  • Pentalobe compatible driver
  • Torx T-5 Screwdriver
  • Envoy User Guide (download only)

Gallery

120GB Aura™ SSD Specifications:

Specifications

Capacity1
120GB useable capacity
Total Flash Memory Components - 126GB
6GB allocated to real-time data redundancy & error correction
Formatted Capacity2
111GiB
NAND
Tier 1 Multi-Level Cell (MLC) Sync-NAND Flash Memory
Controller
SandForce Processor with full SF2200 Series 7% Over Provisioning firmware set.
For the latest firmware update click here.
SMART Attributes
Standard
RAID Support
Yes
Manufacturer Model Number
OWCSSDAAE120
RoHS Compliant
Yes
Format

Reliability3

MTBF (Mean Time Between Failures)4
2,000,000
Data Reliability
ECC Recovery: Up to 24 bytes correctable per 512-byte sector
Security
Chip Based Data Encryption: 128-bit AES-compliant
TRIM Support
Yes
Nonrecoverable Read Errors
Less than 1 sector per 1016 bits read
Warranty
3 Year OWC SSD
Limited Warranty

(Standard return policy applies.)

Performance

Sequential Read (up to)
285MB/s
Sequential Write (up to)
275MB/s
Random 4K Read5
Up to 50,000 IOPS
Random 4K Write5
Up to 50,000 IOPS
Read Latency
less than 0.1ms
Write Latency
less than 0.1ms

Power

Read Power
2.2 Watts
Write Power
2.5 Watts
Idle Power
0.09 Watts
Power Nap compatible

Environmental (Operating)

Temperature (°F)
32°F to 158°F
Temperature (°C)
0°C to 70°C

Environmental (Non-Operating)

Temperature (°F)
-40°F to 185°F
Temperature (°C)
-40°C to 85°C

Acoustics

Idle (Typical)
0.0 bels
Seek (Typical)
0.0 bels

Installation

How to Install the Aura Pro in MacBook Air 2011

Because OS X Lion is preinstalled on the removable Apple factory flash drive module, you cannot simply remove that drive and replace it with an OWC Aura Pro SSD without some initial preparation.

There are two methods you can select to prepare using an OWC Aura Pro SSD in your Mid 2011 MacBook Air.

Method #1

Internet Recovery Mode via Apple Knowledge Base Article #HT4718
http://support.apple.com/kb/HT4718

NOTE: If moving an OWC Aura Pro SSD used in a 2010 MacBook Air, using this method will completely erase the drive's data. Make SURE you have a Time Machine® backup or clone of the OWC Aura Pro SSD on an external drive.

Method #2

Recovery Partition Restore Mode
  1. Make SURE you have a Time Machine backup or clone of your data (from either the Apple factory stock flash drive or OWC Aura Pro SSD) on an external drive. We will refer to this drive as Drive #1.
  2. Boot to the recovery partition on the stock drive by holding down Command R during
    a restart or boot process.
  3. Use Disk Utility to do a restore on a separate external USB drive. DO NOT use the same external drive that was used for your Time Machine or clone backup. We will refer to this drive as Drive #2.
  4. Replace the MacBook Air's stock flash drive with the OWC Aura Pro SSD.
  5. Boot to the USB Drive #2's recovery partition.
  6. Use Disk Utility to do a restore to the OWC Aura Pro SSD.
  7. Restart or Boot to the OWC Aura Pro SSD.
  8. Run Apple Migration Assistant to clone your data from Drive #1.
How to Install the Aura Pro in MacBook Air 2011
  1. 1GB = 1,000,000,000 bytes. Total accessible capacity varies depending upon operating environment (typically 5-10% less). The actual total capacity will depend on your own defined file settings/preferences.
  2. In terms of standard gigabytes, 1GiB ≈ 1.074GB and refers to the actual formatted capacity of shown under Mac OS 10.5 or earlier and Microsoft Windows OS.
  3. Specific application environments such as temperature and duty cycle will affect the overall reliability rates.
  4. Based on SandForce processor operation.
  5. Specifications provided by SandForce.
Manufacturer provided specifications for Other World Computing p/n SSDA116K120 UPC#: 812437020120


OWC Envoy Specifications:

Chipset

  • High-performance ASMedia 1051e chipset

Interfaces Supported

  • USB 3.0 interface Backwards compatible

Port Configuration

  • USB 3.0 interface (Micro-B port)

Max Data Transfer Rate

  • One USB 3.0 (Micro-B) port, up to 500MB/s

Features

  • Integrated power/activity LED light
  • Non-skid rubber feet for secure placement on any surface
  • Durable painted aluminum body complements Mac aluminum finish

System Requirements

  • Macintosh: Mac OS 8.6 or later and an available and supported USB 3.0 port.
  • PC: Windows 98SE or later and an available and supported USB 3.0 port.
  • Linux: Linux OS versions and an available and supported USB 3.0 port.

Cooling

  • Silent, fanless operation

Power Supply

  • Bus-powered via USB port (no AC adapter required)

Drive Requirements*

  • Compatible with the Flash SSD module used in 2010-2011 11.1" and 13.3" MacBook Air models.

External Case Dimensions

  • 1.79 in (W) x 5.9 in (D) x tapered 0.279 in to 0.466 in (H)

Enclosure Weight (no accessories)

  • 2.8 ounces (empty case, no drive installed)
Operating Environment:

Temperature

  • Dependent on mechanism installed

Relative Humidity

  • Dependent on mechanism installed

Shock

  • Dependent on mechanism installed

Vibration

  • Dependent on mechanism installed

Reviews

Macworld Best of Show 2011
Best of Show 2011 - Macworld
MacLife Award Winner 2011
Award Winner 2011 Mac Hardware - MacLife
Notebooks.com Best of Macworld 2011
Best of Macworld 2011 - Notebooks.com
Stevies Finalist
Stevies Award Finalist 2011 - The American Business Awards

Customer Ratings

Write a Review 4.9 / 5 37 out of 39 (95%) reviewers would recommend this product
1 2 3 4 5 6
Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: world Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 3-4 months
Rating: 4/5 Really good July 7, 2016 I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 240GB OWC Aura 6G Solid-State Drive for 2010-2011 MacBook Air..
Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Parts Unknown Age: 55-65 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 SSD Upgrade June 17, 2016 The website provided excellent info as to choosing the correct drive upgrade needed for my MB Air. The kit I ordered was an excellent value due to the USB dongle provided allowed me to use my original drive as an external drive following the upgrade. The instructions for installation & conversion of software was well documented & easy to understand. My order arrived in just a few days & was well packaged & accurate. Now I have five times the storage as before! Thanks OWC!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 480GB OWC Aura 6G SSD + Envoy Kit for MacBook Air 2010+2011: Complete Solution with Enclosure.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous
Rating: 5/5 Excellent, works fine! May 14, 2016 Runs all programs I have, very satisfied and happy with it.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 240GB OWC Aura 6G SSD + Envoy Kit for MacBook Air 2010+2011: Complete Solution with Enclosure.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Frankfurt, Germany Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Top Performance for old macbook air May 8, 2016 The upgrade was finished in about 10 min, the data transfer took a bit longer and the data capacity increased to factor 4 (480GB).

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 480GB OWC Aura 6G SSD + Envoy Kit for MacBook Air 2010+2011: Complete Solution with Enclosure.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Varna, Bulgaria Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 It is the missing link for Mac upgrade April 22, 2016 I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 480GB OWC Aura 6G SSD + Envoy Kit for MacBook Air 2010+2011: Complete Solution with Enclosure.
Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Easthampton, MA Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Flawless Install April 17, 2016 Initially intimidated with surgical invention on myMacAir, my fears were waylayed with the excellent product, direction, and videos on OWC. Maybe I'll tackle my 27" iMac with the 480 upgrade!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 480GB OWC Aura 6G SSD + Envoy Kit for MacBook Air 2010+2011: Complete Solution with Enclosure.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Calgary, Alberta Canada Age: 55-65 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Fast & Easy to Install April 16, 2016 I purchased the full 1TB kit and was a little leary to start the install but the video made it look easy and painless so off I went. I have big, fat hands so the little screws were daunting but the magnetic head screwdriver in the kit saved my butt. Just make sure to have a little container to hold them. The install of the SSD was very easy and the reinstall of the base of my Macbook Air was trivial. The install of the old Macbook Air drive in the external enclosure provided in the kit took seconds. The reinstall of OS X took a little time but was painless with the backups I made prior to starting. I have added a 256GB Windows 10 partition and still have tons of space under OS X for development and the photographs I take. The new drive is fast and flawless. I am a very happy camper.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 1.0TB OWC Aura 6G SSD + Envoy Kit for MacBook Air 2010+2011: Complete Solution with Enclosure.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Malaysia Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Outstanding product April 16, 2016 I live in Malaysia and it got here from the US in 3 days! I must say I am very impressed by this SSD. I had considered buying a new faster MacBook, but after reading the reviews for the Envoy upgrade, I got interested. The exchange of the old SSD took about 10 minutes, and after 2 hours and 8 minutes my "new" computer was up and blitzing away. I am very impressed by the speed increase and overall performance. This is a must if you have an older Air. Get one!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 1.0TB OWC Aura 6G SSD + Envoy Kit for MacBook Air 2010+2011: Complete Solution with Enclosure.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: California Age: 55-65 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 3-4 months
Rating: 5/5 Excellent Upgrade!!! April 4, 2016 Wicked fast and twice the storage. My Air is good for future updates.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 240GB OWC Aura 6G SSD + Envoy Kit for MacBook Air 2010+2011: Complete Solution with Enclosure.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: ACT Australia Age: 55-65 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Excellent and easy to install March 26, 2016 Upgraded a MacAir 11" 2011 64GB model for a friend. Don't know how they managed so long with the original disk being so full. This is the second OWC SSD upgrade kit (I did my 120GB 2011 MacAir 13" 2 years ago and very happy with it. The new SSD is faster too with the kt offering a USB3 external drive case. With the low price of USB sticks 64GB or 120GB are not all that useful, but a robust case anyway. In this instance I left the original system and files all in place as a backup for the upgraded machine. The owner might want to erase and use it sometime but for a month or two it'll be assurance for him.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 240GB OWC Aura 6G SSD + Envoy Kit for MacBook Air 2010+2011: Complete Solution with Enclosure.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Chicago IL Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Easy, inexpensive way to double storage March 25, 2016 Use Windows/Parallels to run huge SAS program. Windows just grows and grows no matter what, so this OWC hard drive was the solution. Installation was easy, the video clear, and now I enjoy plenty of additional space.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 240GB OWC Aura 6G Solid-State Drive for 2010-2011 MacBook Air..

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Victoria BC Canada Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 4/5 Happy with 240GB OWC Aura 6G SSD + Envoy Kit March 14, 2016 Very pleased with this SSD upgrade. Doubled my capacity and can now keep all my photos on my Macbook Air 11" mid 2011 (Model 4,1) Actual hardware Installation was very easy and instructions/videos were clear & accurate (15 minlutes total to install new SSD in Macbook air and transfer old SSD into Envoy kit). Longest time to get back on line was download time for new operating system 1½ hour at 15 Mb/sec then another 2 hours to restore all personal files from my Time Machine backup. Completed without errors. Only wish now I had gone even larger than 240 GB, videos will use up my extra space quickly so will will move my iMovie Media files to the external Envoy USB 3 drive.

Performance increase- I noticed 14 second boot time to password on new OWC SSD vs 29 sec on original Apple SSD, also photo editing processing and redraws seem a bit faster. but can't say I notice a significant speed up over all. I had honestly hoped for a bit more of a speed improvement based upon the info I read on the wesite but still very happy with the extra capacity and slight performance improvement. This should extend the useful life of my laptop for several years for a relatively small cost.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 240GB OWC Aura 6G SSD + Envoy Kit for MacBook Air 2010+2011: Complete Solution with Enclosure.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Sydney, Australia Age: 55-65 Experience Level: IT Professional
Rating: 5/5 Easy MacBook Air SSD upgrade March 11, 2016 I recently purchased a 240GB OWC SSD + Envoy kit for a friend's 2011 MacBook Air. (She had originally been sold an Air with only a 64GB drive - the sales guy should be shot...) OWC's installation video was great and made the process so simple. I put the new SSD into the Envoy and used SuperDuper to copy her hard disk to the new SSD and then swapped the 256GB SSD from the Envoy into the Macbook Air and vice-versa. Painless! Everything worked beautifully. I decided to use OSX's "trimforce" command to enable trim support on the new internal SSD and again all was fine. Only thing I forgot was Mac Office 2011 got upset because the disk had been changed and require reactivating. Overall, a simple and painless experience!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 240GB OWC Aura 6G SSD + Envoy Kit for MacBook Air 2010+2011: Complete Solution with Enclosure.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous
Rating: 5/5 works great March 1, 2016 Upgraded from an OWC 480GB SSD. All went smoothly and it is working great

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 1.0TB OWC Aura 6G Solid-State Drive for 2010-2011 MacBook Air.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Istanbul, TURKEY Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 OWC is the best for Mac February 28, 2016 I have researched the web a lot to find what I was looking for and always tried to find some alternatives to OWC. But I couldn't. Thanks God ! I didn't find. Then I have ordered 240GB OWC Aura 6G SSD + Envoy Kit for MacBook Air 2010+2011: Complete Solution with Enclosure Kit from OWC. It was very easy to install and took me around 15 minutes. Guys, don't look any other place, you are the the right place.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 240GB OWC Aura 6G SSD + Envoy Kit for MacBook Air 2010+2011: Complete Solution with Enclosure.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Little Rock, AR Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Exactly what it is advertised to be! Excellent product. February 11, 2016 Upgraded my almost 5 yr. old 11 in MacBook Air replacing the 120 gb factory storage drive with a Newer Technology 320 gb drive. Using the included tools and instructions, the process took less than 15 minutes. The included external drive case provides a way to continue to utilize the original SSD as an extra, external SSD drive.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 240GB OWC Aura 6G SSD + Envoy Kit for MacBook Air 2010+2011: Complete Solution with Enclosure.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Norway Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 great package February 7, 2016 With the tools and instructions installation was a breeze. the enclose makes reuse of the SSD from the Mac usable, no waste. Great package.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 1.0TB OWC Aura 6G SSD + Envoy Kit for MacBook Air 2010+2011: Complete Solution with Enclosure.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Montreal, Québec, Canada Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 what you see is what you get February 6, 2016 the product is perfect all that is write in this web site concerning my mac book air is true. It take me more time to make my backup then the time to install it, the video are well made and simple to understand so tank you your team work well like my SSD, the price is far, the tool are good, so dont be scare and prolong the life of your Mac instead of buying a new one.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 240GB OWC Aura 6G SSD + Envoy Kit for MacBook Air 2010+2011: Complete Solution with Enclosure.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Philadelphia Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 Excellent service February 1, 2016 The product was exactly as advertised. The instructions were clear and easy to follow. One issue was the date needed to be reset. It took an hour to get up and running again.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 1.0TB OWC Aura 6G SSD + Envoy Kit for MacBook Air 2010+2011: Complete Solution with Enclosure.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Orange City, IA Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 3-4 months
Rating: 5/5 An excellent upgrade January 30, 2016 I installed this in my wife's macbook air. It works well. I don't think there is an appreciable speed difference but the room is great.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 480GB OWC Aura 6G Solid-State Drive for 2010-2011 MacBook Air.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Bay Area, CA Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Easy and reliable January 24, 2016 I love the bundle package. Easy to install and works great!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 480GB OWC Aura 6G SSD + Envoy Kit for MacBook Air 2010+2011: Complete Solution with Enclosure.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Bay Area, CA Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 4/5 Works great in my MacBook air January 15, 2016 I would suggest getting the screw driver kit with the hard drive if you don't have access to tech shop that will let you use theirs. The screws are specifically shaped for annoyance

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 120GB OWC Aura 6G Solid-State Drive for 2010-2011 MacBook Air.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Jacksonville, FL Age: 55-65 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Great Product and better than good accessories January 14, 2016 I am a Windows IT pro, so I would not be afraid to upgrade my Windows laptop to SSD (and have done so). I was a bit afraid of the MAC though. This SSD comes with the needed enclosure to do the hard drive clone (from a smaller SSD), and links to the Apple directions. The link worked great but as usual Apple left out a few details. I figured it out anyway. I could not be happier with MACSales! Apple - you need better tech documents ;-() I HIGHLY recommend this product for those who have at least "some" tech ability. For those with no skils, find a pro or friend to do the upgrade - but DO go for the upgrade!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 240GB OWC Aura 6G SSD + Envoy Kit for MacBook Air 2010+2011: Complete Solution with Enclosure.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Boxford, MA Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Work's Perfectly - 2011 MacBook Air January 10, 2016 I just finished installing the 480GB SSD in my 2011 MacBook Air. I also did a battery replacement and my 4 year old laptop is now better than new. The install and data transfer was very easy and took a total of about 4 hours if you include the data transfer. I'm pleased with everything and highly recommend both upgrades. The standard ground shipment took about 4 days from Illinois to Boston.

This review is from 480GB OWC Aura 6G SSD + Envoy Kit for MacBook Air 2010+2011: Complete Solution with Enclosure.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: SF Bay Area, CA Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 3-4 months
Rating: 5/5 Great once I got a good one. December 25, 2015 I bought this to replace the original drive in my MB Air which was having weird problems. The first unit they sent turned out to be a bad one. But not an obvious bad one; after wasting about 3 hours on and off with tech support they agreed to cross ship me a replacement. Part of the hard part of diagnosing the issue was that I was trying to upgrade to El Capitan at the same time and installation kept giving me errors. Once I got the replacement; it worked as expected and installed with absolutely no issues. This new drive has really brought new life back to my old MB Air. It seems very fast. I have bought many products over the years from OWC and this was the first time I received a bad unit.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 240GB OWC Aura 6G Solid-State Drive for 2010-2011 MacBook Air..