Free Shipping available on most orders $49.00 & up.

Get Details. »

We're sorry, but this item is no longer for sale. However, there may be more Internal Hard Drives and SSD items available.

This was a used product listing. For more great deals on Open Box, Refurbished and Used items, keep an eye on our Garage Sale page. Or join our email list and be the first to know when new items become available!

OWC Aura SSD for Mac Pro

1.0TB Internal Solid State Drive Upgrade Storage Solution

Used | OWC Tested

  • First internal SSD upgrade for 2013 Mac Pro
  • 1TB internal capacity - up to four times more than the factory drive
  • Free how-to videos
  • Re-purpose the factory-installed SSD as a blazing fast portable drive
Get Up To Sixteen Times Factory Capacity
For the first time, upgrade your 2013 Mac Pro's internal SSD and gain up to eight times the original capacity. Available in 1TB, 2TB and 4TB capacities, the Aura SSD for Mac Pro continues OWC's dedication to giving you more from your Mac.
Freedom To Do More
Regardless of which size factory SSD you're replacing, an Aura SSD upgrade gives you more space to work, create and play. Store large photo, music and video libraries, and improve efficiency in creative workflows. Such a huge capacity boost removes the factory capacity limit, giving you the freedom to do more on your Mac Pro.
Innovative, Dependable, and Made for Mac
Built on the time-tested Aura platform of high-performance SSDs, the Aura SSD for Mac Pro is the only internal SSD upgrade solution custom engineered for your Mac Pro. OWC SSDs feature an industry leading suite of controller technologies to deliver longevity and dependable performance along with up to double the maximum internal factory capacity.
Upgrade Easy with OWC
The Aura SSD for Mac Pro upgrade kit comes complete with everything you need for a simple DIY upgrade. OWC's comprehensive, free install videos guide you through the process step-by-step. Upgrading your Mac Pro with OWC couldn't be easier. Click here for all Mac Pro install videos.
When this drive is installed and formatted, the corresponding Desktop icon will appear as an external drive. This is related to how the operating system identifies the drive and is purely aesthetic; it has no impact on drive performance. Please visit our FAQs for tips on how to manually update the icon.
The Aura SSD is compatible with... Learn how to find your Mac's model ID
Mac Pro
Mac Pro
(December, 2013)
Model ID: MacPro6,1
2.7GHz 3.0GHz, 3.5GHz, 3.7GHz

Gallery

Reviews

2012 Storage Visions Visionary Award Finalist
2012 Storage Visions Visionary Award Finalist

OWC Aura™ SSD for Mac Pro Specifications:

Form Factor

  • Custom blade

Flash controller

  • 4x Silicon Motion SM2246EN with 7% Over Provisioning

Flash Memory

  • Tier-1 3D NAND

RAID controller

  • Marvell 88SE9230

Interface

  • PCIe 2.0 x2

SMART Attributes

  • Standard

AHCI Compliant

  • Yes

RoHS Compliant

  • Yes

Format

  • Ships unformatted

Dimensions

  • Height: 4.4 in / 112 mm
  • Width: 3.3 in / 83 mm
  • Depth: .8 in / 21 mm

Weight

  • Weight: 4.8oz / 136g

Reliability

  • ECC Recovery: Up to 55 bytes correctable per 512-byte sector

Security

  • Chip Based Data Encryption: 128-bit AES-compliant

Performance

  • Read: 735MB/s
  • Write: 704MB/s

Operating Temp

  • 32°F to 158°F
  • 0°C to 70°C

Non-operating Temp

  • -40°F to 185°F
  • -40°C to 85°C

Acoustics

  • 0.0 bels for both Idle and Seek

Operating system compatibility

  • Mac OS 10.9 and up
  • Windows 8 and up*
  • **All versions of VMWare ESXi are not supported.

*OWC Dual Boot Enabler for Apple Boot Camp required for use with Boot Camp utility. Download here.
Manufacturer provided specifications for Other World Computing p/n SSDA13MP1.0 UPC#: 812437021431

Includes

Customer Ratings

Write a Review 4.9 / 5 12 out of 12 (100%) reviewers would recommend this product
1 2
Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Netherlands Age: 35-44 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Stellar January 6, 2016 Amazing service, ultra fast shipping Highly recommended company, unmatched!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from (*) 1.0TB OWC Aura SSD for Mac Pro: Internal Solid-State Drive Upgrade and Envoy Pro Storage Solution.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Barcelona, Spain Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Imprescindible December 22, 2015 Si compraste un MacPro es evidente que eres exigente. Desgraciadamente, Apple solo ofrece una configuración con 1 TB. Pero eres exigente, y hoy día con la cantidad de fotos, música y videos que almacenamos, rápidamente alcanzas 1TB. Entiendo que es imprescindible para los exigentes. No puedo concebir una MacPro sin este HD SSD que ofrece OWC. Es más, creo que el MacPro sólo merece la pena si le puedes añadir este SSD de 4TB (3.84). Es caro, de acuerdo, pero el MacPro no es barato, precisamente. Y sin este SSD se queda a medias. Ahora lo tengo completo. Gracias OWC!!!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 4.0TB OWC Aura SSD for Mac Pro: Internal Solid-State Drive Upgrade and Envoy Pro Storage Solution.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: New South Wales, Australia Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Great addition September 21, 2015 I recently purchased the 1TB Aura SSD. This is an amazing piece of hardware. Installing was easy and it hasn't missed a beat since. I'm really enjoying the extra storage for applications and my external drives are now being used for files rather than applications. Consequently performance has greatly increased.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from (*) 1.0TB OWC Aura SSD for Mac Pro: Internal Solid-State Drive Upgrade and Envoy Pro Storage Solution.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Honolulu Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Very easy to install August 17, 2015 I was very pleased with the hard drive. The package included everything I needed to perform the installation. I went on to the website and watched the tutorial before installing and it took me about five minutes to finish the job. I have been using the the driver ever since, and am very pleased with its performance.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 2.0TB OWC Aura SSD for Mac Pro: Internal Solid-State Drive Upgrade and Envoy Pro Storage Solution.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: It, Fin & Se Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 3-4 months
Rating: 5/5 Great upgrade! August 2, 2015 The SSD is of solid well cooled design! Need the extra space with large 3D images and a fast 4k 3D display! The Envoy storage is very convenient and works well also on old USB 2 devices Would have been even nicer with an additional thunderbolt 2 connection!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 2.0TB OWC Aura SSD for Mac Pro: Internal Solid-State Drive Upgrade and Envoy Pro Storage Solution.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Los Altos, CA Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Great with large images and videos June 22, 2015 Very easy to install the first time. When I upgraded to a new computer, the screws from the first install were harder to tighten. But is has worked like a charm for over a month. The speed increase to access random large files, and save Gigabyte files is really worth it. Life it too short to waste on spinning disks. Get an SSD, this one works great with a Mac Pro, on Mac OS 10.10.3.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 2.0TB OWC Aura SSD for Mac Pro: Internal Solid-State Drive Upgrade and Envoy Pro Storage Solution.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Los Angeles, CA Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 4/5 Back up this SSD! June 20, 2015 This is a relatively easy install, save for the two 6.6 mm T9 Torx Security screws, which actually screw into and attach to connectors behind the Graphics card. USE the included Torx Allen key! Initially I used a T9 Torx screwdriver and almost ruined the screws. The Allen key saved the day. With the addition of the power connectors plus washers, I did have a time getting one of the 6.6mm T9 screws to grip and screw in.

Otherwise, the install is quick and easy.

I had no complaint about the performance for 86 days. On day 87 the drive was dead. I hope it was just an anomaly, because I've just installed the replacement SSD. Once the dead drive arrived at OWC the replacement was in my hands the next day. Can't fault their turnaround time nor service; and if the replacement drive functions for years I'll be a happy camper.

BUT, if the new SSD only lasts another 86 days, give or take, I'll be recommending Mac Pro owners by-pass this upgrade.

And, my bad, I didn't back up the drive. 99.9% of what was lost was easily replaced, but 86 days of saved emails are gone forever.

Good lesson! One I don't wish to repeat.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 2.0TB OWC Aura SSD for Mac Pro: Internal Solid-State Drive Upgrade and Envoy Pro Storage Solution.

Response from MacSales.com, Marketing June 23, 2015 Not just this SSD! Backup all your drives! It isn't a matter of IF a hard drive is going to fail, but WHEN the hard drive is going to fail. The same goes for Solid State Drives (although less prone to failure than their platter-based counterparts, it is still an electronic device). http://blog.macsales.com/29490-make-sure-your-plan-is-in-order-this-world-backup-day
Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Miramar Florida Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 So far So good June 16, 2015 I usually deal with windows so migrating from one MBR to another is difficult if partitions are not same size. Even when everything is the same, usually I have to repair MBR before the new drive will boot. Bought two of the 2T upgrades for a pair of mac pros. Removing the 500gb drive was easy. Removing the secrurity screws took some muscle. It was better to lay the computer on its side than what was shown in video. Installing new drive took a minute or two. Security screws another minute or so. Put the old drive in the USB holder, plugged it into a usb and powered up. Com R recovery mode, formatted mac ext journal on the new OWC drive and restored from fresh backup. Total time 1 hour. It appears almost anything with a MBR will boot on a mac.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 2.0TB OWC Aura SSD for Mac Pro: Internal Solid-State Drive Upgrade and Envoy Pro Storage Solution.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Dubois, Indiana Age: 55-65 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Powerful upgrade to the Mac Pro (late 2013) June 8, 2015 When buying a computer on the level of the Mac Pro (late 2013), it seems likely that someone would want a larger amount of internal storage than the smaller offerings that are available directly from Apple. I opted to purchase the OWC Aura SSD 2.0 TB Solid State Drive for my Mac Pro. It was the same price that Apple wanted for the 1.0 TB upgrade, plus it also came with an external USB 3 enclosure called the Envoy Pro Storage Solution, which allowed me to repurpose the OEM SSD that came with the Mac Pro. Now I have a 256 GB external boot drive as well as my new 2.0 TB internal SSD, and my Mac Pro is running great. The installation was simple and straightforward. I could not be happier with my decision to purchase this upgrade for my Mac Pro.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 2.0TB OWC Aura SSD for Mac Pro: Internal Solid-State Drive Upgrade and Envoy Pro Storage Solution.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Morristown, NJ Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Great upgrade for my MacPro March 16, 2015 My MacPro came with 256GB SSD since I thought I would upgrade it with an after-market SSD at a good price and use the original SSD in a portable housing.

I have two Promise Pegasus Raid arrays, an R6 and an R4 hooked into the MacPro. These house my iTunes library and all my photos and video files.

It took 2 years till this upgrade was shipping, but it was worth the wait! The MacPro performance is MUCH better than before! No comparison. Not sure how it compares w 1TB SSD from Apple, but this is noticeably faster all around than before the upgrade. The upgrade was also very easy to install.

Highly recommended!!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from (*) 1.0TB OWC Aura SSD for Mac Pro: Internal Solid-State Drive Upgrade and Envoy Pro Storage Solution.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Kansas City Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 2 Minutes to install February 14, 2015 My MP6.1 had 256 when I got it a week after it was made available. I needed 512gb min but that was 3 months wait. So I got the 6 core MP, put in 64ram, and got the Lacie 2Big 4TB about 350mb to move files. It works great. Finally this 1TB was made available by OWC. You pull out the 256 chip, and slide in the 1TB, cool copper heat sinks on the chips, connect 2 cables and thats it. Then turn on Darth Vador "MP" it takes 3-5 minutes for the MP to recognize it then load bar appears, then in utility make it partition 1. Then a screen pops up asks what external has a Time machine copy on it. Chose it, click continue, done. The Aura is VERY cool I put in the 256 chip, small, quality aluminum, about 450+mb. You get the Aura with the $900 1TB. I see it as a free $400 external. NOTE: If must do warranty work, put the old chip back in and re load as a the boot drive, just to avoid Apple argument. My MP is out of warranty so I don't care. Bottom line, we all paid thousands for these machines, but with its upgradability, its going to last 6+ years EASY, maybe 10 years with chip upgrade. I work 8-10 hours a day on this machine with 3X30" 3014 Dell's. Its a dream machine, almost instant no matter what I do.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from (*) 1.0TB OWC Aura SSD for Mac Pro: Internal Solid-State Drive Upgrade and Envoy Pro Storage Solution.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Melbourne, FL Age: 55-65 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Easy to install, very fast February 5, 2015 I had the installation done within a half hour! Had the restore from Time Machine done in another hour. Great instructions and video for the installation. Very fast drive. What they dont mention about this, that made it an even better deal, is that they include and enclosure for your old SSD drive to turn it into a USB drive. I now have a 256GB very fast USB drive for sneaker net of files. Used it last night even and it is amazing. Pretty good addition for the price that they should mention in the product description!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from (*) 1.0TB OWC Aura SSD for Mac Pro: Internal Solid-State Drive Upgrade and Envoy Pro Storage Solution.