Free Shipping available on most orders $49.00 & up.

Get Details. »

OWC Special Offer Available

$6.99 Instant Rebate available from OWC with purchases when you purchase 1 or more qualifying items, limit 2.
Must purchase with: TOOLKITMBA

OWC

120GB Aura 6G SSD / Flash Internal Drive Upgrade
for 2012 MacBook Air

OWC's Aura SSD provides upgrades from the original factory options for MacBook Air 2012.
  • More OPTIONS choose from 120GB, 240GB or 480GB models.
The Aura SSD line features industry leading SandForce® DuraClass™ Technologies:
  • DuraWrite™ extends the endurance of your Solid State Drive (SSD).
  • Intelligent Block Management & Wear Leveling automatically distributes data evenly across the entire SSD.
  • Intelligent Read Disturb Management spreads the active read/write across the flash components eliminating data corruption caused by constant use.
  • Intelligent "Recycling" for advanced free space management gradually re-writes data across the SSD over time to ensure data never gets corrupted.
  • RAISE™ (Redundant Array of Independent Silicon Elements) protects the data on your drive similar to having a RAID setup.
  • Best-in-Class ECC Protection for longest data retention and drive life.
Once again, OWC provides Mac users an upgrade path that delivers higher performance, functionality, and reliability! Whether you own or are considering a 2012 base model 11″ MacBook Air with a 64GB Solid State Drive or the top of the line 13″ model with a 512GB SSD.
More Options
Unlike the factory pre-configured models with no other SSD choices offered, the OWC Aura 6G gives you the freedom to choose from a variety of sizes to meet your storage needs. 
Better by Design
"Mean Time To Failure" - We all know that nothing lasts forever. But that doesn't mean you shouldn't get the most out of your investment. OWC SSD with DuraWrite™ Technology, optimizes writes to the flash memory over conventional controllers increasing the overall endurance and reliability of the complete SSD. Highly intelligent block management and wear leveling also extends the overall endurance. This adds up to a MTTF that is higher than most SSDs and enterprise class hard drives on the market today.
The Aura™ is compatible with... Learn how to find your Mac's model ID
MacBook Air
MacBook Air (13-inch Mid 2012)
(June, 2012)
Model ID: MacBookAir5,2
1.8GHz, 2.0GHz
MacBook Air
MacBook Air (11-inch Mid 2012)
(June, 2012)
Model ID: MacBookAir5,1
1.7GHz, 2.0GHz
MacBook Air
MacBook Air (13-inch 2012)
Education Model
(July, 2012)
Model ID: MacBookAir4,2
1.7GHz
MacBook Air
NOT COMPATIBLE
MacBook Air (13-inch Mid 2011)
(July, 2011)
Model ID: MacBookAir4,2
1.7GHz, 1.8GHz
MacBook Air
NOT COMPATIBLE
MacBook Air (13-inch Late 2010)
(October, 2010)
Model ID: MacBookAir3,2
1.86GHz, 2.13GHz
MacBook Air
NOT COMPATIBLE
MacBook Air (11-inch Mid 2011)
(July, 2011)
Model ID: MacBookAir4,1
1.6GHz, 1.8GHz
MacBook Air
NOT COMPATIBLE
MacBook Air (11-inch Late 2010)
(October, 2010)
Model ID: MacBookAir3,1
1.4GHz, 1.6GHz

Includes

  • Aura SSD

NOTE: unless you own or have access to a Pentalobe compatible driver and a Torx T5 screwdriver, or bought a Aura/Envoy bundle which includes these tools, you will need to purchase the MacBook Air 2010-2012 SSD Installation Kit.

Gallery

120GB Aura™ SSD 6G Specifications:

Specifications

Capacity1
120GB useable capacity
Total Flash Memory Components - 128GB
8GB allocated to real-time data redundancy & error correction
Formatted Capacity2
111GiB
NAND
Tier 1 Major Multi-Level Cell (MLC) High-Performance Sync-NAND Flash
Controller
SandForce 2281 Series Processor with 7% Over Provisioning
SMART Attributes
Standard
Native Command Queuing
up to 32 commands
Manufacturer Model Number
OWCSSDA2A6G120
RoHS Compliant
Yes
Format

Reliability3

Data Reliability
ECC Recovery: Up to 55 bytes correctable per 512-byte sector
Security
Chip Based Data Encryption: 128-bit AES-compliant
TRIM Support
OS Dependent
Nonrecoverable Read Errors
Less than 1 sector per 1016 bits read
Warranty
3 Year OWC SSD Limited Warranty
(Standard return policy applies.)

Performance

Sustained
Reads (up to)
501MB/s
Sustained
Writes (up to)
503MB/s
Random 4K Read4
Up to 60,000 IOPS
Random 4K Write4
Up to 60,000 IOPS
Read Latency
less than 0.1ms
Write Latency
less than 0.1ms

Power

Active Power
Less than 3000mW (3.0W) expected maximum draw
Idle Power
Less than 1200mW (1.2W)
Power Nap compatible

Environmental (Operating)

Temperature (°F)
32°F to 158°F
Temperature (°C)
0°C to 70°C

Environmental (Non-Operating)

Temperature (°F)
-40°F to 185°F
Temperature (°C)
-40°C to 85°C

Acoustics

Idle (Typical)
0.0 bels
Seek (Typical)
0.0 bels
  1. 1GB = 1,000,000,000 bytes. Total accessible capacity varies depending upon operating environment (typically 5-10% less). The actual total capacity will depend on your own defined file settings/preferences.
  2. In terms of standard gigabytes, 1GiB ≈ 1.074GB and refers to the actual formatted capacity of shown under Mac OS 10.5 or earlier and Microsoft Windows OS.
  3. Specific application environments such as temperature and duty cycle will affect the overall reliability rates.
  4. Based on SandForce processor operation.
  5. Specifications provided by SandForce.
Manufacturer provided specifications for Other World Computing p/n SSDA2A6G120 UPC#: 812437020151

Reviews

2012 Storage Visions Visionary Award Finalist
2012 Storage Visions Visionary Award Finalist

Customer Ratings

Write a Review 4.9 / 5 30 out of 33 (91%) reviewers would recommend this product
1 2 3 4
Verified Buyer
Reviewer: JT03 Location: Arlington Heights, IL Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 New life for an older computer August 26, 2017 I bought this for my wife's MacBook Air because she kept getting messages that she was out of available disk space. It was so problematic that she was unable to install many new updates, including new versions of the OS. I followed the directions on the videos on OWC's website for installation and for transferring the data from the old drive to the new one, and it could not be any easier. It took a few hours all together, mostly for transferring the old data to the new drive, and afterwards everything works perfectly. The kit comes with everything needed and you end up with a nice backup drive as a bonus. Overall, I'm very pleased. It really did breathe new life into an old computer. Now I'm thinking of getting a similar drive for my 6 year old iMac to get a few more years out of it.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 480GB OWC Aura 6G SSD + Envoy Kit for MacBook Air 2012: Complete Solution with Enclosure. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: SteveCol Location: Greenville,SC Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 I'm Happy June 14, 2017 Ordering was straight forward. Shipped promptly. The product was packaged well. The instructions to replace my current drive were very clear and easy to follow. The company reached out to me afterward to offer assistance if needed. I will not hesitate to order again!!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 480GB OWC Aura 6G SSD + Envoy Kit for MacBook Air 2012: Complete Solution with Enclosure. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Dorsey Location: Tucson, AZ Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 MacBook Air SSD June 14, 2017 Bought this to replace my 64GB SSD in my 2012 Macbook Air 11". Arrived quickly and took about 10 minutes to install. Did a Time Machine recovery and I was up and running.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 240GB OWC Aura 6G Solid-State Drive for 2012 MacBook Air. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Linney
Rating: 5/5 Works perfect May 1, 2017 Great price, quick shipping and I'm coming back.

I would recommend this item to a friend! Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Lomtevas Location: Brooklyn, N.Y. Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 240GB OWC Aura 6G SSD Good to Go! April 27, 2017 This is a hard working device with flawless performance. It was easy to install and it has not stopped working since.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 240GB OWC Aura 6G SSD + Envoy Kit for MacBook Air 2012: Complete Solution with Enclosure. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: SpiderMon Location: Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia Age: 45-54 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Up and running in few hours! March 20, 2017 Clear instructional videos, examples, tutorials aplenty and a top quality product from OWC. I had my Macbook upgraded to Sierra and was back in business within a few hours of receiving my SSD. Loads of space and fast speed means I can run VMware's Fusion desktop and get productive straightaway. TQ OWC

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 480GB OWC Aura 6G SSD + Envoy Kit for MacBook Air 2012: Complete Solution with Enclosure. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: DaveAcrossThePool Location: Portland, OR Age: 45-54 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Easy installation, it all works! March 6, 2017 I really like my MacBook Air. It's an 11-inch, Mid 2012 with 2 GHz Intel Core i7, 8 GB of RAM. It's still a great machine but I started bumping up against the storage capacity of the original 256 GB SSD. So I bought this 1 TB upgrade kit in order to a get few more years out of the Air. Installation was easy. It's run without error for a few weeks now. In addition to being higher capacity, this new SSD is faster. The speed bump (see attached benchmark) doesn't make a huge difference for my day-to-day stuff (I'm mostly in the terminal all day writing software), but I do notice it starts up faster and comes to life faster after being asleep.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 1.0TB OWC Aura 6G SSD + Envoy Kit for MacBook Air 2012: Complete Solution with Enclosure. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: AndrewT Location: Marietta, GA Age: 45-54 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 100% compatible March 5, 2017 Competitively priced upgrades at affordable prices and a perfect fit everything.

This review is from 480GB OWC Aura 6G Solid-State Drive for 2012 MacBook Air. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: MBAIRJohn Location: Los Angeles Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 It works as promised. February 24, 2017 Easy install - works as promised. This was the first time I opening up a laptop btw.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 480GB OWC Aura 6G SSD + Envoy Kit for MacBook Air 2012: Complete Solution with Enclosure. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: KRJoseph Location: Nashville Age: 45-54 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 Perfect for a cramped MacBook Air February 14, 2017 My 128GB drive was overflowing. This upgrade was easy. The instructions were clear, the tools were perfect and putting the old drive into an external carrier is a nice touch. A great value too. .

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 240GB OWC Aura 6G SSD + Envoy Kit for MacBook Air 2012: Complete Solution with Enclosure. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: APCHouston Location: Houston Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Easy way to upgrade your MacBook Air February 5, 2017 My MacBook Air's SSD was getting errors and I needed an SSD replacement. I've used OWC products for years for all my Macs and they have always worked well and very reliable. Installation was easy too. I just swapped the old SSD with the OWC SSD and loaded from my time machine backup and that was it.

I would highly recommend this SSD if you want a bigger, faster SSD.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 240GB OWC Aura 6G Solid-State Drive for 2012 MacBook Air. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Alireza Location: Toronto, ON Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 4/5 Great January 14, 2017 I have purchased this item one month ago, the SSD speed is almost the same as the original one. I received it 5 days after its purchase in Toronto, Canada. I am absolutely satisfied with this purchase and recommend it to others.

I would recommend this item to a friend! Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: APGP Location: Bordeaux, France Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Received in delays and perfect product January 9, 2017 I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 480GB OWC Aura 6G SSD + Envoy Kit for MacBook Air 2012: Complete Solution with Enclosure. Customer Videos:
Verified Buyer
Reviewer: perryrants Location: maryland Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 memory upgraded December 20, 2016 i added this memory to double the original. price was the motivator.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 240GB OWC Aura 6G Solid-State Drive for 2012 MacBook Air. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: bostonvalues
Rating: 5/5 Great price and easy to install December 16, 2016 I appreciated not only the great price for 1TB but the ease of the install process. I got clear answers from sales support as to the pros and cons of cloning my old drive vs. installing new fresh copy of the OS. The whole process was easy and seamless and the OWC SSD and Envoy case posed no problem for my Mac in recognizing the disks and going through the migration process

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 1.0TB OWC Aura 6G SSD + Envoy Kit for MacBook Air 2012: Complete Solution with Enclosure. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: ashik Location: Berkeley, CA Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 big improvement December 11, 2016 the 64 GB SSD in my Macbook Air was getting too small, so I swapped this one in. It was super-easy, all the tools and the excellent installation video provided made it a 10 min. walk in the park!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 480GB OWC Aura 6G SSD + Envoy Kit for MacBook Air 2012: Complete Solution with Enclosure. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Master Age: 25-34 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Very fast disk December 10, 2016 After default 64gb this disk is amazing.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 240GB OWC Aura 6G SSD + Envoy Kit for MacBook Air 2012: Complete Solution with Enclosure. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: nicinauckland Location: Auckland, New Zealand Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Awesome service thank you. Product ordered on Monday afternoon and it arrived at my door in Auckland, New Zealand, midday thursday November 22, 2016 Hi You were recommended to me by my local Apple serviceman. Service was awesome. Product arrived in four days from placing order ! Thanks

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 480GB OWC Aura 6G SSD + Envoy Kit for MacBook Air 2012: Complete Solution with Enclosure. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: LFEI Location: NJ
Rating: 5/5 Easy to install much more memory now... November 22, 2016 easy directions, easy to install..booting seems to take longer now, although can't understand how problem related to new hard drive? case for old drive (envoy) is great

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 480GB OWC Aura 6G SSD + Envoy Kit for MacBook Air 2012: Complete Solution with Enclosure. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Foxtrotdb Location: Atlanta Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Easy installation November 16, 2016 With a little trepidation, I renmoved the bottom panel and voila!. Looked just like the pics I had looked at earlier. Removed the old drive and installed the new one within thirty minutes. The envoy kit I bought along with the drive worked well as an external drive .

This review is from 480GB OWC Aura 6G SSD + Envoy Kit for MacBook Air 2012: Complete Solution with Enclosure. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Bastion Age: 35-44 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Exact fit, very fast, solid reliability October 31, 2016 Know that this is the non pro model and that your writes/reads will be the same accordingly (400+ reads, around 200+ writes, depending on Q Depth and block size). For the purpose I purchased it for (wife), it is perfect and has been rock solid reliable.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 240GB OWC Aura 6G Solid-State Drive for 2012 MacBook Air. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Wihall Location: Sweden Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Easy as pie October 11, 2016 Fast delivery to Sweden. Hardware install just as easy as on the installation clip. Quick and easy. Took a bit of time with the software but can't really complain. Very happy so far, works excellent.

This review is from 1.0TB OWC Aura 6G SSD + Envoy Kit for MacBook Air 2012: Complete Solution with Enclosure. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: egadgetguy Location: Victoria, Australia Age: 55-65 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Great item to upgrade MacBook Air October 4, 2016 Easy to install, follow the installation video links on Macsales.com. Fit perfectly into MacBook Air late 2012 as stated. Plenty of disc storage compare to 128GB disc. Will last me a couple of years 3 year warranty gives me a peace of mind.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 480GB OWC Aura 6G Solid-State Drive for 2012 MacBook Air. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: bronxamy Location: Bronx, NY Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Great internal hard drive October 2, 2016 We bought this to upgrade the internal hard drive for my son's MacBook Air. Excellent quality and price. No complaints. This is our 3rd time buying an internal hard drive from MacSales.com.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 1.0TB OWC Aura 6G Solid-State Drive for 2012 MacBook Air. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Rob99 Location: Cape Town Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 4/5 Excellent product, instructions could be improved September 20, 2016 I purchased the product for my 2012 Macbook air. Delivery to South Africa via DHL was quick (10 days) and the product installed without problems. I found the instructions on the OWC site confusing, as this new SSD could not be installed in the Envoy kit and it took me a few tries to realise that I had to move the existing Mac ssd into the envoy container and then boot the Macbook Air from USB. I did not find these instructions on the OWC site, The new SSD has now been running in the Air for a few weeks without a problem Excellent product, could be improved with better/more accessible instructions.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 480GB OWC Aura 6G SSD + Envoy Kit for MacBook Air 2012: Complete Solution with Enclosure. Customer Videos:

OWC 120GB Aura™
6G Solid State Drive
Mfr P/N: SSDA2A6G120 OWC SKU: OWCSSDA2A6G120 for MacBook Air 2012 Edition 3 Year OWC Limited Warranty Ships: Same Day only $86.99
Add to CartOther World Computing SSDA2A6G120 In Stock, Click to Buy Now
Additional Capacities: SSD Only
  • 120GB
Upgrade Kit w/ SSD, Tools & Envoy Pro Enclosure
  • 120GB
    • Ships: 4 Days
    • Only $119.99
    • Bundle Priced for $109.99