Free Shipping available on most orders $49.00 & up.

Get Details. »

We're sorry, but this item is no longer for sale. However, there may be more Internal Hard Drives and SSD items available.

We recommend 1.0TB OWC Aura N SSD Upgrade (Blade Only) for Select 2013 & Later Macs (Mfr P/N: S3DAB2MB10) from Other World Computing for $229.99 as a suitable alternative.

OWC

1.0TB Aura SSD / Flash Internal Drive Upgrade
for Mid-2013 and Later MacBook Air and MacBook Pro with Retina display

New Possibilities
For the first time, upgrade the PCIe-based flash SSD in your mid-2013 or later MacBook Pro with Retina display or MacBook Air with up to eight times the original capacity. The new Aura SSD continues OWC's dedication to giving you more from your Mac.
No Hassles or Hacks
Aura PCIe-based flash storage upgrades are precisely engineered for your Mac, so you'll never need to compromise your data by relying on complicated software hacks or TRIM-enablers to get the most from your upgrade. Just install, migrate your data, and enjoy the great performance of flash storage with up to eight times the capacity of the factory-installed drive.
Quality in Every Bit
Aura SSDs are designed from the ground up for reliable performance and complete compatibility with your Mac. It begins with choosing the highest-quality components, and then engineering a perfect-fit solution that simply works with your computer.

Tier-1 Flash — Aura SSDs use only top-rated flash for superior performance and dependability.

Superior Error Correction — Aura SSDs provide three levels of error correction for improved reliability and RAID-like protection for your data.

Cell-Level Data Refresh — Aura's SSD controller monitors data blocks and maintains correct charge at the cell level, improving the integrity of your data, and extending the life of your drive.
7% Over Provisioning
OWC SSDs perform maintenance tasks in the background that optimize the health, performance, and endurance of your flash drive. These jobs take advantage of available, unwritten areas on the SSD. Aura PCIe-based flash storage reserves 7% of the overall capacity as free space. Always. With this allocated free space, Aura SSDs can perform these normal maintenance tasks making your drive more stable, dependable, and ultimately a safer place to store your data.
Experience the OWC Difference
Aura SSDs for Mid-2013 and Later Macs are proudly designed in Austin, TX, and are backed by a 3-year limited warranty as well as a lifetime of free, award-winning USA-based support.

Release Candidate (RC) firmware set

There are two kinds of firmware for SSDs Mass Production (MP) and Release Candidate (RC). Prior to an MP firmware release, there are beta firmware releases and an RC firmware release. Often, the RC is the same as the MP release, however there can be small changes and bug fixes made between the two. OWC has evaluated the RC for the 6Gb/s SandForce 2281 Processor and found it to be stable with no issues reported during our testing. However, as with any evolutionary product, issues may surface as different usages and configurations are employed and it is important to understand that there will be further updates and revisions.

Since no firmware update is currently offered for the OWC Mercury EXTREME Pro 6G SSD, no update page exists. To see the typical steps involved with a self performed field firmware update, please visit our 3Gb/s product update page at: http://eshop.macsales.com/Customized_Pages/Framework.cfm?page=sf_firmware.html

It is important to note that the current firmware update tool requires the use of Windows XP/Vista/7. OWC is currently working on a Mac OS based update tool, but we do not have an exact availability date.

1.0TB Aura SSD Specifications:

Specifications

Flash Controller
Silicon Motion 2246XT
RAID Controller
Marvell 9230
Capacity
960GB useable capacity
Total Flash Memory Components – 1024GB
64GB allocated to real-time data redundancy & error correction
Formatted Capacity
894GiB
SMART Attributes
Not Supported
Native Command Queuing
up to 32 commands
Manufacturer Model Number
SSDAB2MB10
RoHS Compliant
Yes
Format
Mac OS Extended (Journaled)

Physical

Height (max)
3.7mm (0.1″)
Width (max)
24mm (0.9″)
Length (max)
89mm (3.4″)
Weight
21 grams (0.7 oz)

Reliability

Security
Chip Based Data Encryption: 128-bit AES-compliant
TRIM Support
Not Supported

Performance

Sustained
Reads (up to)
763MB/s
Sustained
Writes (up to)
446MB/s
Read Incompressible
Data Rate (up to)
754MB/s
Write Incompressible
Data Rate (up to)
425MB/s

Environmental (Operating)

Temperature (°F)
32°F — 158°F
Temperature (°C)
0°C — 70°C

Environmental (Non-Operating)

Temperature (°F)
−40°F — 185°F
Temperature (°C)
−40°C — 85°C

Acoustics

Idle (Typical)
0.0 bels
Seek (Typical)
0.0 bels
  1. 1GB = 1,000,000,000 bytes. Total accessible capacity varies depending upon operating environment (typically 5-10% less). The actual total capacity will depend on your own defined file settings/preferences. 
  2. In terms of standard gigabytes, 1GiB ≈ 1.074GB and refers to the actual formatted capacity of shown under Mac OS 10.5 or earlier and Microsoft Windows OS.
  3. Specific application environments such as temperature and duty cycle will affect the overall reliability.
  4. OWC Dual Boot Enabler for Apple Boot Camp required for use with Boot Camp utility. Supports Windows 8.1 and Windows 10.Download here.
  5. For assistance in updating your firmware, please refer to the following.
Manufacturer provided specifications for Other World Computing p/n SSDAB2MB10 UPC#: 812437022834

Gallery

MacBook Pro 15" Retina (Late 2013, Mid 2014, Early 2015) SSD Install Video



MacBook Pro 13" Retina (Late 2013, Mid 2014, Early 2015) SSD Install Video



MacBook Air 13" (Mid 2013, Early 2014, Early 2015)



MacBook Air 11" (Mid 2013, Early 2014, Early 2015)

Please Note: When the OWC Aura SSD is installed in a mid-2013 MacBook Air 13" (MacBookAir6,2), the computer may intermittently boot to a flashing question mark. Restarting the computer or resetting the SMC will allow the computer to boot normally. We are working to resolve this issue.

This product is compatible with... Learn how to find your Mac's model ID
MacBook Pro Retina
MacBook Pro (15-inch Retina display Mid 2015)
(May, 2015)
Model ID: MacBookPro11,5
2.5GHz, 2.8GHz
MacBook Pro Retina
MacBook Pro (15-inch Retina display Mid 2015)
(May, 2015)
Model ID: MacBookPro11,4
2.2GHz, 2.5GHz, 2.8GHz
MacBook Pro Retina
MacBook Pro (13-inch Retina display Early 2015)
(March, 2015)
Model ID: MacBookPro12,1
2.7GHz, 2.9GHz, 3.1GHz
MacBook Pro Retina
MacBook Pro (15-inch Retina Display 2014)
(July, 2014)
Model ID: MacBookPro11,3
2.5GHz, 2.8GHz
MacBook Pro Retina
MacBook Pro (15-inch Retina Display 2014)
(July, 2014)
Model ID: MacBookPro11,2
2.2GHz, 2.5GHz, 2.8GHz
MacBook Pro Retina
MacBook Pro (13-inch Retina Display 2014)
(July, 2014)
Model ID: MacBookPro11,1
2.6GHz, 2.8GHz, 3.0GHz
MacBook Pro Retina
MacBook Pro (15-inch Retina Display 2013)
(October, 2013)
Model ID: MacBookPro11,3
2.3GHz, 2.6GHz
MacBook Pro Retina
MacBook Pro (15-inch Retina Display 2013)
(October, 2013)
Model ID: MacBookPro11,2
2.0GHz, 2.3GHz, 2.6GHz
MacBook Pro Retina
MacBook Pro (13-inch Retina Display 2013)
(October, 2013)
Model ID: MacBookPro11,1
2.4GHz, 2.6GHz, 2.9GHz
MacBook Air
MacBook Air (13-inch Mid 2017)
(June 2017)
Model ID: MacBookAir7,2
1.8GHz i5, 2.2GHz i7
MacBook Air
MacBook Air (13-inch Early 2015)
(March 2015)
Model ID: MacBookAir7,2
1.6GHz i5, 2.2GHz i7
MacBook Air
MacBook Air (11-inch Early 2015)
(March 2015)
Model ID: MacBookAir7,1
1.6GHz i5, 2.2GHz i7
MacBook Air
MacBook Air (13-inch Early 2014)
(April, 2014)
Model ID: MacBookAir6,2
1.4GHz, 1.7GHz
MacBook Air
MacBook Air (11-inch Early 2014)
(April, 2014)
Model ID: MacBookAir6,1
1.4GHz, 1.7GHz
MacBook Air
MacBook Air (13-inch Mid 2013)
(June, 2013)
Model ID: MacBookAir6,2
1.3GHz, 1.7GHz
MacBook Air
MacBook Air (11-inch Mid 2013)
(June, 2013)
Model ID: MacBookAir6,1
1.3GHz, 1.7GHz

Reviews

Warranty

The best warranty is one you never have to use - but should the need occur - we're proud to provide a superior level of support and service coverage to our customers.

3 Year OWC SSD Limited Warranty

Even when not used, we understand the peace of mind afforded by a longer warranty period. OWC's industry leading coverage is a testament to our confidence in the reliability of the solutions that we offer. OWC solutions are engineered to demanding quality standards in order to deliver the most reliable, highest performance available on the market in each storage category.

Customer Ratings

Write a Review 4.7 / 5 60 out of 60 (100%) reviewers would recommend this product
1 2 3 4 5 6
Verified Buyer
Reviewer: lfhlaw Location: Pittsburgh Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 3-4 months
Rating: 5/5 Iffy at first, but RMA replacement worked fine. February 16, 2017 When I first get the Hard Drive it was well packed and everything looked good. I opened up the back of my Macbook Pro 2013 and unscrewed the hard drive from the macbook pro. I put the OWC 480 GB hard drive and proceeded to close up, but only using a couple of screws in case i had to open it back up. Booted it up and installed OS 9 i think since that's what I had for a USB installer. OS X installed okay, but then startup/wake from sleep issues started. I thought...well maybe it's just not slotted well enough in the mPCI. In addition, quite a bit of heat was generated i noticed with this drive. I re-opened the drive and removed the drive and re-installed it hoping that maybe there was a bad connection (Hard considering it is slotted much like memory so it can't go in the wrong way and should allow for all contacts). Unfortunately, it didn't help and when the Mac went to sleep it would not wake up or I would get the daunting Folder with the Question mark. If I did a complete shutdown, occasionally the SSD would boot up again, but it was very erratic. So I finally sent it back RMA And get a second drive. I Re-installed it, and re-installed OS X and have upgraded it fully now. It's been running without a hitch now. I'll try to keep tabs on this though I'm not sure if OWC will allow for edits or addendums to this review.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 480GB OWC Aura SSD flash storage for Mid-2013 & Later MacBook Air, MacBook Pro w/Retina. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: kwmccarthy Location: Winter Park, FL Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 The drive works great February 16, 2017 The SSD drive is a welcome upgrade to my 2015 MBPro. The video instructions for installation are helpful and accurate.

Be sure to have a start-up disk available to format the drive after it is installed. When I installed the SSD I got a black screen with a question mark. Uh-oh! Fortunately I bought the Envoy Pro and was able to boot the new drive from my old drive and format the new drive and add the OS via iTunes.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 1.0TB OWC Aura SSD flash upgrade kit for Mid-2013 & Later MacBook Air, MacBook Pro w/Retina. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: TheShadeofLamp Location: Seattle Age: 18-24 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 4/5 Easy to install; works well February 13, 2017 The drive is super easy to install using the instructions on iFixit. Just make sure to back up your data before installing: I couldn't get a restore to work directly from the old drive; I had to use a separate Time Machine backup. The drive seems to perform well and I haven't had any issues. It's a little bit annoying that the drive shows up in Finder as an external drive, but just change the icon and you'll forget about it pretty quickly. The enclosure for the original drive is really nice.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 1.0TB OWC Aura SSD flash upgrade kit for Mid-2013 & Later MacBook Air, MacBook Pro w/Retina. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Ibrahimovic Location: Melbourne Australia Age: 25-34 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Genuine Product February 12, 2017 Genuine flash drive for my MacBook Pro Mid 2014 model. However, it is expensive comparing to other branded flash storage card.

I would recommend this item to a friend! Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: amark24 Location: Tempe, AZ Age: 18-24 Experience Level: Hobbiest Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Easy solution to limited storage February 7, 2017 This is a great solution to running out of storage on my MacBook Pro Retina. The install took less than 15 minutes and every you need to do the job is included. Its also great to be able to keep your old SSD as an external with the enclosure in this kit! Great Product, been running great for weeks now!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 480GB OWC Aura SSD flash upgrade kit for Mid-2013 & Later MacBook Air, MacBook Pro w/Retina. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: LuisDaher Location: São Paulo, Brazil Age: 25-34 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Works perfectly! February 2, 2017 Easy to install (especially by following the video provided here) and to keep/import the data from the previous ssd as well. I definitely recommend it!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 480GB OWC Aura SSD flash upgrade kit for Mid-2013 & Later MacBook Air, MacBook Pro w/Retina. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Dmulatz Location: Calgary AB Canada Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 This product is an excellent January 24, 2017 The product you sent me works perfect and equality is suburban I would recommend this to anyone of my friends. I also would like to commend you on all your service you gave me and your help. Thank you very much Dave

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 480GB OWC Aura SSD flash upgrade kit for Mid-2013 & Later MacBook Air, MacBook Pro w/Retina. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: kkcamp
Rating: 5/5 Easy Upgrade January 16, 2017 I never before opened up a MacBook, however the instructions were pretty straight forward and overall it was pretty easy. It does generate heat like others have said, but not an issue. Wife is now able to put her entire 200gb photo/video library on her MacBook air and is thrilled. Also, love the little storage kit for old drive that turns it into portable storage.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 1.0TB OWC Aura SSD flash upgrade kit for Mid-2013 & Later MacBook Air, MacBook Pro w/Retina. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: ChuckD Location: Deerfield, IL Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 They guys at MacSales are Amazing January 12, 2017 Friendly, courteous, knowledgable, and priced right. They recommended what to get, pointed me to a place to get it (since they did not carry the item) and then installed the product quicker than they promised. HIGHLY recommend them.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 480GB OWC Aura SSD flash storage for Mid-2013 & Later MacBook Air, MacBook Pro w/Retina. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: KD24911 Location: Singapore Age: 35-44 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Awesome! January 12, 2017 Was finding very difficult to find the suitable replacement and upgrade for My Mac book pro 2015 model. Fits perfectly and performing as promised.

Thanks a lot

I would recommend this item to a friend! Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: BenHsieh Location: Taoyuan, Taiwan Age: 25-34 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 This product has great features January 8, 2017 good job

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 480GB OWC Aura SSD flash upgrade kit for Mid-2013 & Later MacBook Air, MacBook Pro w/Retina. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: RGoltsch Location: North Jersey Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Easy as adding Ram to a computer January 5, 2017 We waited a long time for MacSales to offer an upgrade to my daughter's MacBook Pro laptop. When Apple went to the SSD drives for hard drive storage, no one seemed to offer any way to increase the storage (Well, Apple did......buy a new MacBook!) We got this upgrade installed in about an hour. And that was because I really took my time, watching the instructional video three or four times before I opened the case. The tools provided in the kit made the job so easy. We backed up the computer to our Apple AirStation before, then restored it once we were done. Easy as pie. My daughter now has twice the memory and it works great.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 480GB OWC Aura SSD flash upgrade kit for Mid-2013 & Later MacBook Air, MacBook Pro w/Retina. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Level3 Location: Cleveland, OH Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Aura SSD Flash upgrade January 2, 2017 Clear instructions allowed an easy, no problem installation. Excellent improvement with desired storage space.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 1.0TB OWC Aura SSD flash upgrade kit for Mid-2013 & Later MacBook Air, MacBook Pro w/Retina. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: kcnotark Location: Arkansas Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 4/5 Start out right the first time. December 29, 2016 I would have provided five stars for this, especially for the product aside from just a few things. I'm not downrating it for any reason other than that of cost, and then the information to get it up and running. The actual hardware install is a breeze, so don't let that stop you. That was truly about 15 minutes to take care of. On the other hand; For you Apple tech "super-savvy" folks out there, you'll likely avoid the novice installation issues that I had, but for us just over the novice stage, it can be somewhat of a time consuming challenge if you don't setup your install properly to get your machine running again after the hardware install. So here's your caution; Do not begin your installation without first going through the process of making your current hard drive a bootable disk before you remove it from the machine, unless you would like to find out for yourself and put it back in the machine to do it, or spend the next few hours creating that bootable disk on a thumb drive and doing a new clean install. Out of all the videos of the installations that I saw on how to do this, none that I recall told me to do this, and I ended up spending about 4 hours more than I needed to, to get my machine up and running again. Secondly, when you reinstall your system, do so under a "New User" account on your machine. If you don't, you'll run into several system error issues with trying to complete your installation of your OS and Applications, due to the fact that you'll end up with User Identity issues upon reinstallation of the software. Those identity issues can be as simple as a "similar-like" User Name that your computer is not going to like and create User Name conflicts within the OS. I found it out the hard way. I will however give MacSales a 10 STAR rating on the customer and tech service that I received from then to help work out these glitches. So far, the hard drive works as it should, the cost is a little steep, but if you are going to do this, then that's what you're going to pay. Good luck, it's worth it in the end. I'm still just a little bit curious as to why my file size has increased X's 2 over what it originally was??? I'll figure it out, and let you know.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 1.0TB OWC Aura SSD flash upgrade kit for Mid-2013 & Later MacBook Air, MacBook Pro w/Retina. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Kambamba Location: Oshawa, Ontario Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 A wise choice December 28, 2016 The upgrade was delivered promptly, even though it was a busy time of year, and the delivery was to Canada. I used the help of a guide from iFixIt, and it was an easy install. There was a small metal plate with double-sided tape that I did not see where or how it was needed, but perhaps it was for an application other than mine. The Apple memory fit well in the external storage kit.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 1.0TB OWC Aura SSD flash upgrade kit for Mid-2013 & Later MacBook Air, MacBook Pro w/Retina. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Orikal Location: Denver, CO Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Noob Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Couldn't imagine it going any better! December 24, 2016 Fast shipping and superb video installation instructions. This was my first SSD installation and I couldn't imagine it going any smoother. Highly recommended.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 240GB OWC Aura SSD flash upgrade kit for Mid-2013 & Later MacBook Air, MacBook Pro w/Retina. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: OWCShopper Location: Orange County Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Best way to expand Hard drive space on MacBook Pro hands down! December 20, 2016 So glad I chose to purchase this 1Tb SSD drive and it was super I mean super easy to install! Thank you MacSales

Sincerely, Marco Marquez

I would recommend this item to a friend! Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: CDowns Location: California Age: 25-34 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Great company! December 6, 2016 Its good to be able to upgrade my Mac, and OWC makes that easily possible without the greedy prices Apple would otherwise charge at checkout. Unfortunately, the newest touchbar MacBooks have soldered SSD's and RAM, but the model I have is an upgradeable one (it's a 2015 model). I needed to swap the factory 512GB drive for a 1TB, and then my factory 512GB into my girlfriend's MBP. In doing this, I had all the relevant screws stored in what I thought was a secure place (a small cup next to all the computer parts), until my grandmother poured them down the drain. I ordered replacement chassis screws for the MacBooks, but had a hard time finding screws that matched the OWC Envoy SSD enclosure. The heads of those screws, along with the thread gap, diameter, and length made me begin to think I'd have to resort to tape or using a tap-and-die kit. Thankfully, OWC sent out two replacement Envoy enclosure screws at no additional cost. It may not seem like that much, but the mere gesture of a company looking after its customers over such a small detail is a sure-fire way to ensure I'll definitely purchase from them again. OWC is above and beyond!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 1.0TB OWC Aura SSD flash upgrade kit for Mid-2013 & Later MacBook Air, MacBook Pro w/Retina. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: RDale Location: San Antonio Age: 55-65 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 4/5 Easy but need to emphasize: Make A Time Machine Backup November 24, 2016 As far as the physical hardware change, this has been one of the easiest upgrades I've made other than simple memory upgrades. However, restoring my apps and data to the new drive was a bit dicy. The old SSD in the Envoy Pro enclosure read as totally empty. Fortunately, I made a Time Machine backup before stating the process. After making the SSD change and doing an initial OSX recovery and one update, I tried to use the Migration Assistant with the old SSD and found it was empty - totally blank. I was able to use the Time Machine backup to fully recover. I recommend the old SSD in the enclosure NOT be reconnected to the MAC until after all the OSX loading and updating is complete, then connect the old SSD. My company IT contact for this upgrade had the same experience. We both initially thought we had done something wrong until we compared notes.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 1.0TB OWC Aura SSD flash upgrade kit for Mid-2013 & Later MacBook Air, MacBook Pro w/Retina. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: JimInEscondido Location: Escondido, CA Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Service and products are great November 20, 2016 I ordered a 1T SSD and 32G of ram. I had questions about the installation. They basically held my hand and walked me through the install. Product came on time and everything works great. Thank you.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 480GB OWC Aura SSD flash storage for Mid-2013 & Later MacBook Air, MacBook Pro w/Retina. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Muondude Location: Los Angeles, CA Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 MacBook Air SSD Upgrade November 12, 2016 I purchased the Aura SSD upgrade kit after seeing the video they posted of how easy it is to perform the installation. The instructions were clear and easy to follow. Installing the new SSD was straightforward and completed easily. I now use the old SDD in the case they provided as a backup drive.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 480GB OWC Aura SSD flash upgrade kit for Mid-2013 & Later MacBook Air, MacBook Pro w/Retina. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Muthomi Location: Nairobi Age: 25-34 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Works Great! November 11, 2016 I am happy with my purchase after my retina MBP stock SSD died without any warning. Replacing the SSD was not difficult after watching the tutorial video. Will definitely recommend OWC for SSD upgrades and replacements.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 480GB OWC Aura SSD flash storage for Mid-2013 & Later MacBook Air, MacBook Pro w/Retina. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: JCoding Location: New York, NY Age: 35-44 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 4/5 Good price, easy to install, but uses too much battery November 10, 2016 This hard drive was easy to install, and works well with my MacBook Air. Since this included the upgrade kit, it comes with an external enclosure for my existing ssd, which is great for transferring data, or as an extra storage. The big draw back is the battery usage. My MacBook Air used to run for at least 10 hours with one full charge, now I'm lucky if I can get 3 hours out of it.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 240GB OWC Aura SSD flash upgrade kit for Mid-2013 & Later MacBook Air, MacBook Pro w/Retina. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Loveit Location: India, WB Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Great product November 9, 2016 I am happy after using the product,it runs very fast on my mac.

I would recommend this item to a friend! Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: GRapple Location: Grand Rapids, Mi Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 4/5 Nice upgrade November 8, 2016 I bought this to expand the capacity of my Macbook Pro from 120 to 240 GB. The drive was very easy to install and the OWC video installation guide is excellent. Install took about 10 minutes and then I cloned my external back up drive to the new drive and it was ready to go. The good- Boots up a bit quicker then the original drive did and is overall quite fast. I've been using it for about a month now without a glitch. The odd- The system recognizes the drive as if it is an external drive. OWC says this is normal. If the drive icon bothers you as it did me, its easy to change it to whatever you like. Functionally it works fine. The not so great- The drive runs much hotter then the original. Not hot enough to run the fan, but noticeably warmer. Along with this the battery runs down quicker. I use my Mac for work and used to be able to go through the whole day on one charge. Now I have to charge around noon to get through the rest of the day. Not a deal breaker, but the reason I didn't give it 5 stars. Overall a great upgrade!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 240GB OWC Aura SSD flash upgrade kit for Mid-2013 & Later MacBook Air, MacBook Pro w/Retina. Customer Videos:

OWC 1.0TB Aura SSD Solid-State Drive Mfr P/N: SSDAB2MB10 OWC SKU: OWCSSDAB2MB10 High performance internal flash storage designed for mid 2013 and later Mac notebooks. 3 Year OWC Limited Warranty Ships: Out of Stock