Get exclusive deals delivered to your inbox!

Start saving today. »

We're sorry, but this item is no longer for sale. However, there may be more Internal Hard Drives and SSD items available.

We recommend 1.0TB OWC Aura N SSD Upgrade (Blade Only) for Select 2013 & Later Macs (Mfr P/N: S3DAB2MB10) from Other World Computing for $229.99 as a suitable alternative.

OWC

1.0TB Aura SSD / Flash Internal Drive Upgrade
for Mid-2013 and Later MacBook Air and MacBook Pro with Retina display

New Possibilities
For the first time, upgrade the PCIe-based flash SSD in your mid-2013 or later MacBook Pro with Retina display or MacBook Air with up to eight times the original capacity. The new Aura SSD continues OWC's dedication to giving you more from your Mac.
No Hassles or Hacks
Aura PCIe-based flash storage upgrades are precisely engineered for your Mac, so you'll never need to compromise your data by relying on complicated software hacks or TRIM-enablers to get the most from your upgrade. Just install, migrate your data, and enjoy the great performance of flash storage with up to eight times the capacity of the factory-installed drive.
Quality in Every Bit
Aura SSDs are designed from the ground up for reliable performance and complete compatibility with your Mac. It begins with choosing the highest-quality components, and then engineering a perfect-fit solution that simply works with your computer.

Tier-1 Flash — Aura SSDs use only top-rated flash for superior performance and dependability.

Superior Error Correction — Aura SSDs provide three levels of error correction for improved reliability and RAID-like protection for your data.

Cell-Level Data Refresh — Aura's SSD controller monitors data blocks and maintains correct charge at the cell level, improving the integrity of your data, and extending the life of your drive.
7% Over Provisioning
OWC SSDs perform maintenance tasks in the background that optimize the health, performance, and endurance of your flash drive. These jobs take advantage of available, unwritten areas on the SSD. Aura PCIe-based flash storage reserves 7% of the overall capacity as free space. Always. With this allocated free space, Aura SSDs can perform these normal maintenance tasks making your drive more stable, dependable, and ultimately a safer place to store your data.
Experience the OWC Difference
Aura SSDs for Mid-2013 and Later Macs are proudly designed in Austin, TX, and are backed by a 3-year limited warranty as well as a lifetime of free, award-winning USA-based support.

Release Candidate (RC) firmware set

There are two kinds of firmware for SSDs Mass Production (MP) and Release Candidate (RC). Prior to an MP firmware release, there are beta firmware releases and an RC firmware release. Often, the RC is the same as the MP release, however there can be small changes and bug fixes made between the two. OWC has evaluated the RC for the 6Gb/s SandForce 2281 Processor and found it to be stable with no issues reported during our testing. However, as with any evolutionary product, issues may surface as different usages and configurations are employed and it is important to understand that there will be further updates and revisions.

Since no firmware update is currently offered for the OWC Mercury EXTREME Pro 6G SSD, no update page exists. To see the typical steps involved with a self performed field firmware update, please visit our 3Gb/s product update page at: http://eshop.macsales.com/Customized_Pages/Framework.cfm?page=sf_firmware.html

It is important to note that the current firmware update tool requires the use of Windows XP/Vista/7. OWC is currently working on a Mac OS based update tool, but we do not have an exact availability date.

1.0TB Aura SSD Specifications:

Specifications

Flash Controller
Silicon Motion 2246XT
RAID Controller
Marvell 9230
Capacity
960GB useable capacity
Total Flash Memory Components – 1024GB
64GB allocated to real-time data redundancy & error correction
Formatted Capacity
894GiB
SMART Attributes
Not Supported
Native Command Queuing
up to 32 commands
Manufacturer Model Number
SSDAB2MB10
RoHS Compliant
Yes
Format
Mac OS Extended (Journaled)

Physical

Height (max)
3.7mm (0.1″)
Width (max)
24mm (0.9″)
Length (max)
89mm (3.4″)
Weight
21 grams (0.7 oz)

Reliability

Security
Chip Based Data Encryption: 128-bit AES-compliant
TRIM Support
Not Supported

Performance

Sustained
Reads (up to)
763MB/s
Sustained
Writes (up to)
446MB/s
Read Incompressible
Data Rate (up to)
754MB/s
Write Incompressible
Data Rate (up to)
425MB/s

Environmental (Operating)

Temperature (°F)
32°F — 158°F
Temperature (°C)
0°C — 70°C

Environmental (Non-Operating)

Temperature (°F)
−40°F — 185°F
Temperature (°C)
−40°C — 85°C

Acoustics

Idle (Typical)
0.0 bels
Seek (Typical)
0.0 bels
  1. 1GB = 1,000,000,000 bytes. Total accessible capacity varies depending upon operating environment (typically 5-10% less). The actual total capacity will depend on your own defined file settings/preferences. 
  2. In terms of standard gigabytes, 1GiB ≈ 1.074GB and refers to the actual formatted capacity of shown under Mac OS 10.5 or earlier and Microsoft Windows OS.
  3. Specific application environments such as temperature and duty cycle will affect the overall reliability.
  4. OWC Dual Boot Enabler for Apple Boot Camp required for use with Boot Camp utility. Supports Windows 8.1 and Windows 10.Download here.
  5. For assistance in updating your firmware, please refer to the following.
Manufacturer provided specifications for Other World Computing p/n SSDAB2MB10 UPC#: 812437022834

Gallery

MacBook Pro 15" Retina (Late 2013, Mid 2014, Early 2015) SSD Install Video



MacBook Pro 13" Retina (Late 2013, Mid 2014, Early 2015) SSD Install Video



MacBook Air 13" (Mid 2013, Early 2014, Early 2015)



MacBook Air 11" (Mid 2013, Early 2014, Early 2015)

Please Note: When the OWC Aura SSD is installed in a mid-2013 MacBook Air 13" (MacBookAir6,2), the computer may intermittently boot to a flashing question mark. Restarting the computer or resetting the SMC will allow the computer to boot normally. We are working to resolve this issue.

This product is compatible with... Learn how to find your Mac's model ID
MacBook Pro Retina
MacBook Pro (15-inch Retina display Mid 2015)
(May, 2015)
Model ID: MacBookPro11,5
2.5GHz, 2.8GHz
MacBook Pro Retina
MacBook Pro (15-inch Retina display Mid 2015)
(May, 2015)
Model ID: MacBookPro11,4
2.2GHz, 2.5GHz, 2.8GHz
MacBook Pro Retina
MacBook Pro (13-inch Retina display Early 2015)
(March, 2015)
Model ID: MacBookPro12,1
2.7GHz, 2.9GHz, 3.1GHz
MacBook Pro Retina
MacBook Pro (15-inch Retina Display 2014)
(July, 2014)
Model ID: MacBookPro11,3
2.5GHz, 2.8GHz
MacBook Pro Retina
MacBook Pro (15-inch Retina Display 2014)
(July, 2014)
Model ID: MacBookPro11,2
2.2GHz, 2.5GHz, 2.8GHz
MacBook Pro Retina
MacBook Pro (13-inch Retina Display 2014)
(July, 2014)
Model ID: MacBookPro11,1
2.6GHz, 2.8GHz, 3.0GHz
MacBook Pro Retina
MacBook Pro (15-inch Retina Display 2013)
(October, 2013)
Model ID: MacBookPro11,3
2.3GHz, 2.6GHz
MacBook Pro Retina
MacBook Pro (15-inch Retina Display 2013)
(October, 2013)
Model ID: MacBookPro11,2
2.0GHz, 2.3GHz, 2.6GHz
MacBook Pro Retina
MacBook Pro (13-inch Retina Display 2013)
(October, 2013)
Model ID: MacBookPro11,1
2.4GHz, 2.6GHz, 2.9GHz
MacBook Air
MacBook Air (13-inch Mid 2017)
(June 2017)
Model ID: MacBookAir7,2
1.8GHz i5, 2.2GHz i7
MacBook Air
MacBook Air (13-inch Early 2015)
(March 2015)
Model ID: MacBookAir7,2
1.6GHz i5, 2.2GHz i7
MacBook Air
MacBook Air (11-inch Early 2015)
(March 2015)
Model ID: MacBookAir7,1
1.6GHz i5, 2.2GHz i7
MacBook Air
MacBook Air (13-inch Early 2014)
(April, 2014)
Model ID: MacBookAir6,2
1.4GHz, 1.7GHz
MacBook Air
MacBook Air (11-inch Early 2014)
(April, 2014)
Model ID: MacBookAir6,1
1.4GHz, 1.7GHz
MacBook Air
MacBook Air (13-inch Mid 2013)
(June, 2013)
Model ID: MacBookAir6,2
1.3GHz, 1.7GHz
MacBook Air
MacBook Air (11-inch Mid 2013)
(June, 2013)
Model ID: MacBookAir6,1
1.3GHz, 1.7GHz

Reviews

Warranty

The best warranty is one you never have to use - but should the need occur - we're proud to provide a superior level of support and service coverage to our customers.

3 Year OWC SSD Limited Warranty

Even when not used, we understand the peace of mind afforded by a longer warranty period. OWC's industry leading coverage is a testament to our confidence in the reliability of the solutions that we offer. OWC solutions are engineered to demanding quality standards in order to deliver the most reliable, highest performance available on the market in each storage category.

Customer Ratings

Write a Review 4.7 / 5 60 out of 60 (100%) reviewers would recommend this product
1 2 3 4 5 6
Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Australia Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Finally this awesome drive is available! May 20, 2016 I have been waiting for a while to get one of these fantastic drives. It was easy enough to swap over and setup from the existing drive. I bought the upgrade kit and now have a nice looking SSD - USB drive to the envy of my colleagues.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 480GB OWC Aura SSD flash upgrade kit for Mid-2013 & Later MacBook Air, MacBook Pro w/Retina.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Irvine, CA Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 4/5 Great Value but not as Fast May 19, 2016 Gerat Value, as it's the only brand I trust to install in my MacBook Pro 15" Mid 2014 Retina. The only tricky part of the installation is not being scared. It was a snap to install. The External USB3 case for your old drive is a must, It works great and is very fast external storage.

My only wish is that it was faster, but the extra space is worth it.

Bill.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 480GB OWC Aura SSD flash upgrade kit for Mid-2013 & Later MacBook Air, MacBook Pro w/Retina.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: San Diego, CA Age: 45-54 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 First Mac upgrade for me was simple May 19, 2016 This Aura SSD upgrade was a snap. The instructions were well-written and very easy to follow. The provided tools were helpful too. The one regret I had was the inability to run Windows under Boot Camp. Well, that's been resolved with a software package recently released on this site. Now, all is great :)

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 480GB OWC Aura SSD flash upgrade kit for Mid-2013 & Later MacBook Air, MacBook Pro w/Retina.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Sask., CANADA Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 This product works great May 18, 2016 I have used this product in a 2015 MacBook Pro for about a month, it's like a factory drive, matter of fact, I was able to install Windows 10 using Bootcamp and it works great. ( I believe they caution that Bootcamp is not supported), however I have not run into any problems. I would definitely recommend this drive.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 480GB OWC Aura SSD flash upgrade kit for Mid-2013 & Later MacBook Air, MacBook Pro w/Retina.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Nashville, TN Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 4/5 Finally! 1TB SSD for my MBP! May 14, 2016 I had wanted an internal 1TB ssd for my late-2013 MacBook Pro for a couple of years and I was always surprised that there was not one available before now. So one night I googled it again, and I found this product - pricey, but I bought it.

Only after I received it did I realize that I could not install Windows to it via Bootcamp. In fact, I could not find a way to install Windows to the drive (after it was installed to the MBP) at all! I use OSX for my personal stuff, but I use Windows for work. The whole reason I wanted a 1TB drive was so that I could have an internal drive that would host both operating systems (I did not want to use a virtual machine, and I did not try.)

However, after searching far and wide, I did find a method by which to install both OSX (El Capitan) and Windows 10. I followed the instructions I found on a blog called "St. Ignatius College Prep Tech Blog" posted by Alan Siu Page 5 on December 22, 2015 (If one were to google that, one would find the page I reference. The post is about three-quarters the way down the page.) It details a simple way to install OSX, then create a second "Mac OSX Journaled" partition - then use a freeware tool called rEFInd to get Windows to install on that second partition.

So, after years of running Windows from an external hard drive connected to my MBP via the "Lighting" port, I am finally completely "self-contained".

I decided to 'migrate' my previous OSX to the new drive, but I chose to go with a new, clean installation of Windows 10. The Bootcamp Driver installation started automatically after installation of Windows 10 for me, and the entire setup works perfectly.

I hope this post helps someone, since it took me several hours to finally find the solution that worked!

So, nice product! I'm glad OWC created it!

- Craig

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 1.0TB OWC Aura SSD flash upgrade kit for Mid-2013 & Later MacBook Air, MacBook Pro w/Retina.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Mesa, AZ
Rating: 5/5 Absolutely the BEST! AAA+++ May 14, 2016 I upgraded my 2014 Macbook Air with this 1TB SSD and the whole process worked just as described! Simple and PERFECT! I have bought from here before and was impressed so purchasing this one was a breeze! I highly recommend this upgrade if you want your Macbook Air to ROCK! :-)

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous
Rating: 5/5 As adverised May 5, 2016 Works perfectly. Easy installation.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Rio de Janeiro, Brazil Age: 25-34 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Amazing SSD! Bad Screwdriver... May 4, 2016 I bought the kit to upgrade my 13 inch Retina 2015 Macbook Pro, I'm a software developer and fairly skilled on hardware issues.

OWC shipping was very fast! In less than a week I had it in my hands!

The SSD is Blazing fast and the installation is VERY easy, my only problem was the screwdriver provided with the kit. After sorting the screwdriver situation (described below) I was up and running in 2 hours! All my work restored to the same point as before the upgrade! Even the apps I left open where there when I started it!

I used the T5 screwdriver that came with the kit to open the Laptop easily, but when it came to unscrewing the SSD, the screwdriver didn't do a very good job, the screw didn't budge and the screwdriver got it's head damaged.

In the end, I had a friend use his tools to unscrew the SSD screw and I can't screw the envoy case.

Oh, for the people thinking of ordering this to Brazil, the customs taxes are crazy! (almost the same price as the product)

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 1.0TB OWC Aura SSD flash upgrade kit for Mid-2013 & Later MacBook Air, MacBook Pro w/Retina.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Texas Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 With Preparation an Easy Install April 26, 2016 This is a new product so I had to wait a bit to get the order filled but in the meantime I looked up resources including those on MacSales.com and was prepared when the new SSD arrived. It took me a total of 30 minutes to install the SSD in my 2015 Macbook Air and have it up and running with a clone from my old drive. I used Carbon Copy to clone my smaller SSD to this new 480GB drive and it worked perfectly.

The SSD package with case for the old drive is high quality. Everything fits together effortlessly.

This review is from 480GB OWC Aura SSD flash upgrade kit for Mid-2013 & Later MacBook Air, MacBook Pro w/Retina.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: TOULOUSE Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Very goog product April 26, 2016 Very good product, replace my 128Go SSD on my MACBOOK PRO retina 2015. Very FATS delivery (To France) Thanks

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 480GB OWC Aura SSD flash upgrade kit for Mid-2013 & Later MacBook Air, MacBook Pro w/Retina.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Winston-Salem, NC Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 It works April 25, 2016 It's simple. It works. Just like they describe.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 1.0TB OWC Aura SSD flash upgrade kit for Mid-2013 & Later MacBook Air, MacBook Pro w/Retina.

Reviewer: Anonymous Location: dallas, tx usa Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Power User
Rating: 5/5 1tb installed for almost a year.. love it April 22, 2016 WOW.. this is great.. no issues.. not even on unexpected battery loss.. turns back on and yet to have an issue..

My only issue is I wish they made a larger one... over 1tb.. perhaps a 2tb

Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Illinois Age: 55-65 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Easy install fast storage upgrade April 22, 2016 This is my second OWC SSD upgrade. I also upgraded a MacBook Air to 480GB. This is an excellent SSD. Install was easy. Transfer of applications and data was excellent. I would recommend OWC for any Mac drive upgrade.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 1.0TB OWC Aura SSD flash upgrade kit for Mid-2013 & Later MacBook Air, MacBook Pro w/Retina.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Toluca Lake, California Age: 35-44 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 3/5 Good upgrade alternative, but not 100% compatible April 21, 2016 Since this is not an "Apple brand" recognized hard drive, the logic board sees this drive as an "external drive". That's fine, it will still function and OS X will work on it, but it will not allow you to install Boot Camp and have Windows on your Mac. So it's a good drive if you just want to have OS X on it, but not so good for Boot Camp users.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 1.0TB OWC Aura SSD flash upgrade kit for Mid-2013 & Later MacBook Air, MacBook Pro w/Retina.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Paris, France Age: 18-24 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 3/5 Good product, but not more battery life April 19, 2016 The SSD was delivered quickly (France). Easy to replace and great performances. But now my macbook is much warmer than with my 128gb ssd, and I have only 3 hours of battery on normal usage (now I have 61% and 1:29h remaining...)

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 1.0TB OWC Aura SSD flash upgrade kit for Mid-2013 & Later MacBook Air, MacBook Pro w/Retina.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Columbia, MO Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 The 1TB Aura SSD Finally Arrived for the late 2013 MacBook Pro! April 16, 2016 The 1TB Aura PCIe-based flash drive is very simple to install as long as you are careful and have the right tools. The package comes well protected, very well packaged, and I recommend ordering the special tool kit even though you may already have tools. I've installed several SSD's in older MacBook Pros but this was the first PCIe-based flash drive installation. My only product critique is the fact that there is a thermal layer attached to the top of the SSD (somewhat unique to the PCIe card) and I assume used to dissipate heat directly from the SSD by bonding to the case. There were minimal instructions about this use of this thermal layer, and it is probably critical to keeping the SSD cool. Other than that, the installation is very straightforward and appropriately covered by the instructional videos on the OWC website. Would HIGHLY recommend this product for those struggling with the minimal storage originally offered in the late 2013 MacBook Pro! I will update this review after using the drive for a while, but so far it is great!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 1.0TB OWC Aura SSD flash upgrade kit for Mid-2013 & Later MacBook Air, MacBook Pro w/Retina.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Vienna, Austria Age: 35-44 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 4/5 If you absolutely need more storage space April 11, 2016 I bought this SSD as one of the early adopters and have been using it now for about 4 days. Swapping the SSD module is easy and straightforward. The first thing I noticed is, that the OWC Aura SSD has some cooling paste applied to it, which the original Apple SSD does not. As expected - and described - Windows Boot Camp installations are not possible with this new SSD, because it is being detected as an external (rotational) drive. That's also the reason why it doesn't support TRIM. I needed more storage space and don't really care about a windows partition but I loved my battery life on my macbook pro, which is now reduced by about 30% because of the new SSD (from 9+ hours to 6) which also gets pretty warm during normal usage. That might be the reason for the cooling paste. But all in all I still wouldn't want to go back to my smaller drive.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 480GB OWC Aura SSD flash upgrade kit for Mid-2013 & Later MacBook Air, MacBook Pro w/Retina.

Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Drexel Hill, PA Age: 55-65 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Great product. Works like a charm. April 9, 2016 Easy installation. Pre-formatted. Boot from Internet recovery mode then restore in Disk Utility. It was amazing to see how fast it copied 120GB worth of data. Noticed heatsink attached to the board which makes contact with the bottom case to release heat, I think. Finally recent MacBook family can get Flash upgrades.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 480GB OWC Aura SSD flash storage for Mid-2013 & Later MacBook Air, MacBook Pro w/Retina.

OWC 1.0TB Aura SSD Solid-State Drive Mfr P/N: SSDAB2MB10 OWC SKU: OWCSSDAB2MB10 High performance internal flash storage designed for mid 2013 and later Mac notebooks. 3 Year OWC Limited Warranty Ships: Out of Stock