Free Shipping available on most orders $49.00 & up.

Get Details. »

DIY Bundle

480GB OWC 6G SSD
and OWC Accelsior S

Mac / PC / PCIe
Mercury Extreme® Pro 6G and Accelsior S
An SSD for your PCIe Slot
Give your Mac Pro tower or PC a 6G performance boost
The 480GB OWC 6G SSD and OWC Accelsior S DIY bundle is the simple solution to add a high speed SATA 6G drive to PCs or silver Mac Pro towers otherwise restricted to 3G architecture. Combined with the high-performance Mercury Extreme SSD, Accelsior S brings cutting edge 6G performance to your SATA 3G system.
High-performance storage
With sustained reads up to 559MB/s and writes up to 527MB/s, up to 100X greater data protection than enterprise class Hard Disk Drives, and RAISE technology for RAID like data protection and reliability, the OWC Mercury Extreme SSD line delivers unbeatable performance that's backed by a 5 year OWC SSD Limited Warranty.
Internal storage expansion at lightning speed
With more than 500 MB/s of throughput, the Accelsior S dual-lane PCIe 2.0 card delivers flexible storage expansion – with a speed boost – to your Mac or PC. Accelsior S is the perfect complement to OWC's Mercury family of high-performance SSD's, allowing up to an extra 1TB of fast storage expansion.

With no drivers or extra software needed, upgrading your Mac Pro or PC tower with a Mercury Extreme Pro and Accelsior S is a breeze.

Mercury Extreme Pro 6G SSD Specifications:

OWC Part Number

  • OWCSSD7P6G480

Capacity

  • 480GB useable

Controller

  • SandForce 2281 processor

NAND Flash Components

  • Tier 1 Major Multi-Level Cell (MLC) High-Performance Sync-NAND Flash

Interface

  • SATA Revision 3.0 (6Gb/s) compliant
  • Supports SATA Revision 2.0 (6Gb/s) and 1.0 (1.5Gb/s)

Format

  • Unformatted

RAID Support

  • RAID 0/1/10/0+1 and SPAN

Performance

  • Sustained Reads: 559MB/s
  • Sustained Writes: 527MB/s

I/O Per Second (IOPS)

  • Random 4KB: up to 60,000 IOPS

Protection

  • 7% over provisioning
  • ECC recovery: up to 55 bytes correctable per 512-byte sector
  • Nonrecoverable read errors: less than 1 sector per 1016 bits read

Security

  • Chip based data encryption: 128-bit AES-compliant

Trim Support

  • OS dependent

SMART Attributes

  • Standard

Latency

  • Read: less than 0.1 ms
  • Write: less than 0.1 ms

Dimensions

  • Height: 0.3 in (7 mm)
  • Width: 2.8 in (70.1 mm)
  • Length: 3.9 in (100.1 mm)

Weight

  • 2.7 oz ( 77 grams)

Environment

  • Operating
    • Temperature(°F) 32° – 158°
    • Temperature(°C) 0° – 70°
  • Non-Operating
    • Temperature(°F) −67° – 302°
    • Temperature(°C) −55° – 150°

Accelsior S Specifications:

OWC Part Number

  • OWCSSDACL6G.S

Form Factor

  • Half height, half length

HBA controller

  • Asmedia 1062

Interface

  • PCIe 2.0 x2

SMART Attributes

  • Depends on mechanism installed

AHCI Compliant

  • Yes - Plug and Play installation, no drivers required

OS compatibility

  • Mac OS X 10.6 and up
  • Windows Server 2008 and higher
  • Not compatible as a Windows boot drive on a Mac

Supported mechanisms

  • All 2.5" HDD and SSD SATA 1.5, 3.0, 6.0Gb/s

Performance

  • Read: up to 550MB/s - this depends on mechanism installed
  • Write: 530MB/s - this depends on mechanism installed

RoHS Compliant

  • Yes

Acoustics

  • 0.0 bels for both Idle and Seek

Environment

  • Operating
    • Temperature(°F) 32° – 158°
    • Temperature(°C) 0° – 70°
  • Non-Operating
    • Temperature(°F) −67° – 302°
    • Temperature(°C) −55° – 150°
Manufacturer provided specifications for Other World Computing p/n SSDACL6G480 UPC#: 812437026955

Gallery

Note about throughput:
  • PC Throughput:
    • PCIe 2.0 x4 slot or better is required. Use of a PCIe 1.0 x4 slot will reduce performance.
  • Mac Pro Throughput:
    • 2009-2010 Mac Pro. Installing Accelsior S into any open x4 or x16 PCIe 2.0 slot will deliver full throughput
    • 2008 Mac Pro. These models have two x16 PCIe 2.0 slots, which enable Acceslsior S to deliver full throughput. Installing Accelsior S into of the two x4 PCIe 1.0 slots will result in Accelsior S being addressed as a gen one, one-lane card with performance limited to real world 190-200MB/s data rates.
    • 2006-2007 Mac Pro. These models utilize PCIe 1.0 slot which cannot be configured (even with the Expansion Utility in OS X) to address Accelsior S as anything but as a first generation one-lane card. As a result, Accelsior S performance will be limited to 190-200MB/s data rates. If maximum data rate speedis desired, we recommend the installation of a 2.5" OWC Mercury SSD in an open Mac Pro drive bay.

This OWC SSD is compatible with: Learn how to find your Mac's model ID
Mac Pro
Mac Pro (Mid 2010 Quad-Core)
(July, 2010)
Model ID: MacPro5,1
2.8GHz, 3.2GHz, 3.33GHz
Mac Pro
Mac Pro 6-Core
(Mid 2010-2012)
(July, 2010 / June 2012)
Model ID: MacPro5,1
3.33GHz
Mac Pro
Mac Pro 8-Core (Mid 2010)
(July, 2010)
Model ID: MacPro5,1
2.4GHz
Mac Pro
Mac Pro 12-Core
(Mid 2010-2012)
(July, 2010 / June 2012)
Model ID: MacPro5,1
2.40GHz, 2.66GHz, 2.93GHz, 3.06GHz
Mac Pro
Mac Pro (Early 2009 Quad-Core)
(March, 2009)
Model ID: MacPro4,1
2.66GHz, 2.93GHz, 3.33GHz
Mac Pro
Mac Pro (Early 2009 8-Core)
(March, 2009)
Model ID: MacPro4,1
2.26GHz, 2.66GHz, 2.93GHz
Mac Pro
Mac Pro (Early 2008)
(January, 2008)
Model ID: MacPro3,1
2.8GHz, 3.0GHz, 3.2GHz
Mac Pro
Mac Pro (8-core)
(April, 2007)
Model ID: MacPro2,1
3.0GHz
Mac Pro
Mac Pro
(August, 2006)
Model ID: MacPro1,1
2.0GHz, 2.66GHz, 3.0GHz
Xserve Intel
Xserve (Late 2006)
(August, 2006)
Model ID: Xserve1,1
dual 2.0GHz, dual 2.66GHz, dual 3.0GHz
Xserve Intel
Xserve (Early 2008)
(January, 2008)
Model ID: Xserve2,1
2.8GHz, dual 2.8GHz, dual 3.0GHz
Xserve Intel
Xserve Quad-Core (Early 2009)
(April, 2009)
Model ID: Xserve3,1
2.26GHz
Xserve Intel
Xserve 8-Core (Early 2009)
(April, 2009)
Model ID: Xserve3,1
2.26GHz, 2.66GHz, 2.93GHz
PC Desktop
PC Desktops
Compatible with Intel / AMD Process based PCs capable with the specifications listed above.
PC Servers
PCIe capable servers
Compatible with PCIe expandable servers with the specifications listed above.
OWC Helios
OWC Mercury Helios
Thunderbolt PCIe
expansion chassis
HP DL 380 G7
NOT COMPATIBLE
HP DL 380 G7
HP DL 380 G8
Dell PowerEdge R620
NOT COMPATIBLE
Dell PowerEdge R620
Dell PowerEdge R620
NOT COMPATIBLE
Dell PowerEdge T620

Includes

Warranty

The best warranty is one you never have to use - but should the need occur - we're proud to provide a superior level of support and service coverage to our customers.

5 Year OWC SSD Limited Warranty

3 Year OWC Limited Warranty

Even when not used, we understand the peace of mind afforded by a longer warranty period. OWC's industry leading coverage is a testament to our confidence in the reliability of the solutions that we offer. OWC solutions are engineered to demanding quality standards in order to deliver the most reliable, highest performance available on the market in each storage category.

Customer Ratings

Write a Review 4.9 / 5 40 out of 44 (91%) reviewers would recommend this product
1 2 3
Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: omah, ne Age: 35-44 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Z800 Boot Volume October 18, 2015 I had the onboard raid controllers saturated with ssd's on the intel raid and spindle drives on the lsi chip. i am using the OWC Accelsior S as my boot volume. it is great with a toshiba q series 256 gb drive or an intel 530/535 series 240 gb drive.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC Accelsior S: PCIe to 2.5" 6Gb/s SATA SSD Host Adapter.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Florida Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 4/5 fast, cheap and foolproof way to speed up your SSD October 8, 2015 It works as promised... installation was a no-brainer and I measured a large speed improvement using the Blackmagic speed test app. Unfortunately for my application (pro audio) it didn't seem to make a difference for the way I work...YMMV. Also the computer seems to run a little hotter now according to my temperature app... the ambient and PCI slot sensors show a few degrees higher than if the SSD was on the SATA bus. It's to be expected, but something that could be an issue if you're already running too hot.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC Accelsior S: PCIe to 2.5" 6Gb/s SATA SSD Host Adapter.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 3-4 months
Rating: 5/5 Works as advertised September 19, 2015 I mounted a Samsung EVO 850 500GB drive on the Accelsior S and put it in my 09 8 core 2.93 Mac Pro.

After 3 months there are no problems what so ever. Blackmagic Disk Speed test shows in the low 500's throughout the various size tests. No sleep issues at all under Yosemite.

I'm buying a second one to go with another Samsung EVO 850 500GB drive

This review is from OWC Accelsior S: PCIe to 2.5" 6Gb/s SATA SSD Host Adapter.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Fresno, CA Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Easy Install - Works Great - Works fast August 29, 2015 It's magic! Now I have 6G hard drive speed by installing this PCIe card with an SSD hard drive installed on the card. The SSD installed very easily onto this card and this card went into the PCIe slot without problems. I could have installed this card just above the factory video card on my MacPro but this card extended just MMs above the video card cooling fan inlet. So I installed this card into a higher slot and now there is no potential for an airflow problem. I don't know if there would have been a problem of air getting into the cooling fan inlet, but this card seemed too close to the inlet to risk leaving it there - so I went up one PCIe slot.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC Accelsior S: PCIe to 2.5" 6Gb/s SATA SSD Host Adapter.

Reviewer: Anonymous
Rating: 5/5 Awesome bargain! August 11, 2015 Just got one of these an paired it with a 2TB SSD I had that was being choked by 3Gbps SATA...

Exactly as advertised I'm getting 500+MB transfer rates (as measured by Blackmagic Speed Test) and it installed Yosemite and functions as boot drive with zero issues...

Great buy that unlocked an otherwise wasted resource for me! Two thumbs up!

This review is from OWC Accelsior S: PCIe to 2.5" 6Gb/s SATA SSD Host Adapter.

Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Munich Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 A great option for any existing SATA SSD in the MP July 27, 2015 I have that card now for over two months, and I am very satisfied with it. OWC delivered a great upgrade option for my SATA SSD at a great price point. My Mac Pro 5,1 3.33 GHz is a lot faster. I am very happy with the result. Programs start a lot faster. With the OWC provided HDD icons, my start up disk comes in a typical OWC blue on the desktop as well. OWC upgrades are much appreciated in Germany, Thanks!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC Accelsior S: PCIe to 2.5" 6Gb/s SATA SSD Host Adapter.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Salt Lake City, UT Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Great for photo editing when linked with an SSD July 26, 2015 When Adobe Lightroom 2015 CC and Photoshop CC came out this year my Mid 2010 Mac Pro with 32GB of RAM seemed buggy and slow. I was trying to figure out a way to speed things up so I installed the OWC Accelsior S and mounted a 240GB Mercury EXTREME Pro 6G SSD on it. I installed my Lightroom catalog on the Mercury Extreme drive as well as assigning it as my Lightroom cache drive, Photoshop scratch disk and On1 scratch disk and the results were amazing! Photoshop says my efficiency is 100%, Lightroom runs smoothly and my editing speed has increase dramatically. If you are photo editing in Lightroom and Photoshop this set up is for you and the best part was that it was an inexpensive boost to my productivity.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC Accelsior S: PCIe to 2.5" 6Gb/s SATA SSD Host Adapter.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous
Rating: 5/5 Excellent July 12, 2015 Couldn't be an easier upgrade - simple to install and doubled my transfer rates. Removed my SSD from my MacPro, installed it onto the card, installed the card in my MacPro, and booted - it was that easy. Recommended. Appears as an external drive.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC Accelsior S: PCIe to 2.5" 6Gb/s SATA SSD Host Adapter.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Williamstown, NJ Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 "OMG This is fast" June 29, 2015 Easy to install with 240 gb ssd into a Mac Pro 3.1. Installation, with help from OWC instructions, took all of 20 minutes. Great buy!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC Accelsior S: PCIe to 2.5" 6Gb/s SATA SSD Host Adapter.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Finland Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Does what they say June 24, 2015 Super easy to install and understand, and the speeds are as advertised (depends on the SSD). No drivers required. The SSD will show up as an external one, since only disks connected to the Mac SATA ports will appear as internal disks, so you can accidentally eject it, but that's a non issue if files on the disk are in use (you can always mount it with Disk Utility again if needed). Boots well, and there were no issues cloning the old boot disk to the new one with Carbon Copy Cloner, including the recovery partition. Before you install the SSD on the card, be sure it has the latest firmware.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC Accelsior S: PCIe to 2.5" 6Gb/s SATA SSD Host Adapter.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Houston Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 New life, what a difference. May 11, 2015 Extremely easy to install, put in 4 screws to hold down the SSD. We set this up as a boot disc/program disc. It makes a significant difference in performance. We saw a 300% decrease in processing time on Final Cut Pro (less than 10 minutes for a process which used to take 30+ minutes) to transcode and render a 35 minute movie.

Strongly recommend for anyone with a 2012 Mac Pro.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC Accelsior S: PCIe to 2.5" 6Gb/s SATA SSD Host Adapter.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Los Angeles, CA Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Mac Pro feels like new May 4, 2015 Installed this in my Mac Pro 4,1 8 core with 24GB of RAM I've had for 5-6 years. Was already running an SSD as the boot drive in the OWC bracket on the SATA 2 backbone. Took about 5 minutes to switch it over and boot it back up. No configuration necessary at all. Boot time is a bit slower until you get to the login screen but that's more than made up with how snappy the whole system is now. Logic and Pro Tools both starting in half the time, seems the same as when I load them on a Retina MBP. Heavy sessions run smoothly. With the CPU almost pegged the disk is barely lighting up (running sessions of another SSD installed on the SATA2). I haven't tested putting it to sleep as I use a UAD2 card that doesn't support sleep mode. I'll definitely be putting one of these in a client's same model Mac Pro as the price to performance is too good to ignore. Great job OWC.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC Accelsior S: PCIe to 2.5" 6Gb/s SATA SSD Host Adapter.

OWC 480GB OWC 6G SSD and OWC Accelsior S Mfr P/N: SSDACL6G480 OWC SKU: OWCSSDACL6G480 DIY kit includes a Mercury Extreme Pro 6G SSD and Accelsior S for installation in a PCIe Slot 5 Year OWC Limited Warranty Ships: Same Day Only $199.98OWC Price $167.75
Add to CartOther World Computing SSDACL6G480 In Stock, Click to Buy Now
Additional Capacities & Kits: 6G SATA Storage Expansion
  • Card Only
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $49.99
    • Cyber Saver $47.99
OWC Mercury Electra 6G SSD Bundles
  • 120GB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $84.98
    • Bundle Priced for $68.75
  • 250GB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $94.98
    • Bundle Priced for $79.75
  • 500GB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $127.98
    • Bundle Priced for $109.75
  • 1.0TB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $189.98
    • Cyber Saver $169.75
  • 2.0TB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $369.98
    • OWC Price $356.75
OWC Mercury Extreme Pro 6G SSD Bundles
  • 480GB
  • 1.0TB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $279.98
    • OWC Price $249.75
  • 2.0TB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $866.99
    • Bundle Priced for $508.75