Home » Internal Hard Drives and SSDs » OWC Aura Pro 6G SSDs for MacBook Pro with Retina 13-inch & 15-inch (2012 - 2013)

We're sorry, but this item is no longer for sale. However, there may be more Internal Hard Drives and SSDs items available.

We recommend 1.0TB OWC Aura Pro 6Gb/s SSD for MacBook Pro with Retina Display (2012 - Early 2013) (Mfr P/N: S3DAP12RT01) from Other World Computing for $195.00 as a suitable alternative.

OWC

1.0TB Aura Pro
Solid-state Drive and Envoy Pro Storage Solution

Mac / USB 3.0
For 2012 - early 2013 MacBook Pro with Retina display
Designed for your Mac
Once again, OWC provides Mac users the only upgrade solution that delivers higher performance, functionality, and reliability! When first introduced, the MacBook Pro with Retina display base model offered a 256GB SSD configuration with no upgrade option. And current base models start from 128GB to 256GB. Now, instead of being "factory locked", the OWC Aura Pro 6G gives you the freedom to upgrade your capacity to meet your storage needs. Just like other OWC upgrades, we include a free 'how-to' video to make this an easy and money-saving DIY upgrade.

The Aura Pro 6G SSD features a suite of industry leading controller technologies for performance and reliability.
  • Global wear leveling algorithm automatically distributes data evenly and manages program/erase count, maximizing SSD lifespan.
  • StaticDataRefresh technology manages free space, gradually refreshing data across the SSD over time, enhancing data integrity.
  • Hardware BCH ECC corrects errors up to 66-bit/1KB for superior data retention and drive health.
  • Best-in-class power consumption
  • Advanced security protocols support AES 128/256-bit full-drive encryption
The Only Complete 2-in-1 Upgrade Solution:
  • Upgrade your MacBook Pro with Retina display factory installed SSD with greater performance and capacity via the Aura Pro.
  • Retask the replaced factory SSD as a bus-powered, pocket-sized external storage solution via the Envoy Pro.
Synchronous Interface NAND
To achieve the higher bandwidth potential of the SATA 6Gb/s bus standard, the OWC Aura Pro 6G SSDs utilize Tier-1 Synchronous NAND instead of commonly utilized Asynchronous NAND. Synchronous NAND enables reads and writes to be "synced" with the SSD processor's clock signal for maximum data throughput.
Ultra-portable, bus-powered external storage solution designed to complement the MacBook Pro with Retina display1
The OWC Envoy Pro combines elegance and functionality into a sleek, portable external storage solution that complements the design and finish of the MacBook Pro with Retina display. Its anodized aluminum body protects your drive and data, while its minimal size allows for simple stowing in coat pockets, backpacks or briefcases.

The USB 3.0 interface offers speedy transfer rates of up to 500MB/s and the Envoy Pro requires no AC power.
Better by Design
"Mean Time To Failure" – We all know that nothing lasts forever. But that doesn't mean you shouldn't get the most out of your investment. OWC SSD optimizes writes to the flash memory over conventional controllers increasing the overall endurance and reliability of the complete SSD. Highly intelligent block management and wear leveling also extends the overall endurance. This adds up to a MTTF that is higher than most SSDs and enterprise class hard drives on the market today.
1. The OWC Envoy Pro enclosure is specifically designed for use ONLY with the factory SSD installed in select Apple Macintosh computers. Do NOT attempt to install or use OWC Aura or Aura Pro X SSDs in the Envoy Pro as you may damage the OWC drive, the enclosure, or both, and such damage is not covered under warranty.

1.0TB Aura™ Pro 6G Specifications:

Specifications

Capacity1
960GB useable capacity
Total Flash Memory Components – 1024GB
64GB allocated to real-time data redundancy & error correction
Formatted Capacity2
894GiB
NAND
Tier 1 Major Multi-Level Cell (MLC) High-Performance Sync-NAND Flash
Controller
Silicon Motion SM2246EN Processor with 7% Over Provisioning
SMART Attributes
Standard
Native Command Queuing
up to 32 commands
Manufacturer Model Number
OWCSSDAP12R960
RoHS Compliant
Yes
Format

Reliability3

Data Reliability
ECC Recovery: Up to 66 bytes correctable per 1024-byte sector
Security
Chip Based Data Encryption: 256-bit AES-compliant
TRIM Support
OS Dependent
Nonrecoverable Read Errors
Less than 1 sector per 1016 bits read

Performance

Sustained
Reads (up to)
501MB/s
Sustained
Writes (up to)
503MB/s
Random 4K Read
Up to 60,000 IOPS
Random 4K Write
Up to 60,000 IOPS
Read Latency
less than 0.1ms
Write Latency
less than 0.1ms

Power

Active Power
Less than 3000mW (3.0W) expected maximum draw
Idle Power
Less than 1200mW (1.2W)
Power Nap compatible

Environmental (Operating)

Temperature (°F)
32°F to 158°F
Temperature (°C)
0°C to 70°C

Environmental (Non-Operating)

Temperature (°F)
-40°F to 185°F
Temperature (°C)
-40°C to 85°C

Acoustics

Idle (Typical)
0.0 bels
Seek (Typical)
0.0 bels
  1. 1GB = 1,000,000,000 bytes. Total accessible capacity varies depending upon operating environment (typically 5-10% less). The actual total capacity will depend on your own defined file settings/preferences.
  2. In terms of standard gigabytes, 1GiB ≈ 1.074GB and refers to the actual formatted capacity of shown under Mac OS 10.5 or earlier and Microsoft Windows OS.
  3. Specific application environments such as temperature and duty cycle will affect the overall reliability rates.


OWC Envoy Pro Specifications:

Chipset

  • High-performance ASMedia 1053e chipset

Interfaces Supported

  • USB 3.0 interface

Port Configuration

  • USB 3.0 interface (Micro-B port)

Max Data Transfer Rate

  • One Micro-B USB 3.0 port, up to 500MB/s

Features

  • Bus-powered via USB 3.0 port (no AC adapter required)
  • Complements rMBP design, anodized aluminum finish
  • Super-quiet, fanless operation
  • Non-skid rubber feet

System Requirements

  • Mac® Requirements: Mac OS 10.3 or later and an available and supported USB 3.0 port.
  • PC Requirements: Windows XP or later and an available and supported USB 3.0 port.
  • Linux® Requirements: Linux OS versions and an available and supported USB 3.0 port.

UASP (USB Attached SCSI Protocol) Compliant

  • Yes

Cooling

  • Silent, fanless operation

Power Supply

  • Bus-powered via USB port (no AC adapter required)
  • Requires USB 3.0 standard powered port. USB 2.0 use not supported or recommended.

Drive Requirements

  • Compatible with the stock Apple Flash SSD module for the 13" or 15" MacBook Pro Retina model.

External Case Dimensions

  • 2.125 in (W) x 4.5 in (D) x .4375 in (H)
  • 53.98 mm (W) x 114.3 mm (D) x 11.11mm (H)

Enclosure Weight (no accessories)

  • 3.4 ounces (empty case, no drive installed)

Product Manual

Manufacturer provided specifications for Other World Computing p/n SSDAP12K960 UPC#: 812437023046

Gallery

The Aura™ Pro is compatible with... Learn how to find your Mac's model ID
MacBook Pro Retina
MacBook Pro (15-inch Retina Display 2013)
(January, 2013)
Model ID: MacBookPro10,1
2.4GHz, 2.7GHz, 2.8GHz
MacBook Pro Retina
MacBook Pro (13-inch Retina Display 2013)
(January, 2013)
Model ID: MacBookPro10,2
2.5GHz, 2.6GHz, 2.9GHz, 3.0GHz
MacBook Pro Retina
MacBook Pro (15-inch Retina Display 2012)
(June, 2012)
Model ID: MacBookPro10,1
2.3GHz, 2.6GHz, 2.7GHz
MacBook Pro Retina
MacBook Pro (13-inch Retina Display 2012-2013)
(October, 2012)
Model ID: MacBookPro10,2
2.5GHz, 2.9GHz

Reviews

Includes

  • OWC Aura Pro 6G SSD
  • Envoy Pro USB 3.0 bus-powered storage solution
  • Carrying case
  • USB 3.0 (Micro-B to Standard-A) connecting cable
  • Pentalobe compatible driver
  • Torx T-5 driver

Warranty

The best warranty is one you never have to use - but should the need occur - we're proud to provide a superior level of support and service coverage to our customers.

5 Year OWC SSD Limited Warranty

1 Year OWC Enclosure Limited Warranty

OWC is proud to provide a superior level of support and warranty coverage to our customers. Even when not used, we understand the peace of mind afforded by a longer warranty period. OWC's industry leading coverage is a testament to our confidence in the reliability of the solutions that we offer. OWC solutions are engineered to demanding quality standards in order to deliver the most reliable, highest performance available on the market in each storage category.

Customer Ratings

Write a Review 4.9 / 5 88 out of 91 (97%) reviewers would recommend this product
1 2 3 4
Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Montreal, Canada Age: 55-65 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 4/5 Exactly as described June 13, 2014 A bit pricy but everything else is perfect.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from (*) 480GB OWC Aura Pro 6G SSD + Envoy Pro Upgrade Kit for 2012-13 MacBook Pro with Retina display..

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Tallinn, Estonia Age: 25-34 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Excellent! May 30, 2014 Awesome product. Installation was a breeze. Really enjoying the product. Highly recommend to anyone who needs to boost their storage in their MacBook.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from (*) 480GB OWC Aura Pro 6G SSD + Envoy Pro Upgrade Kit for 2012-13 MacBook Pro with Retina display..

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Swarthmore, PA Age: 55-65 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 3-4 months
Rating: 5/5 Good and simple May 15, 2014 Excellent instructional video. Everything needed was supplied with the product. Went smooth and easy. After transferring the data booted right up with no issues. Have no complaints. Afterword the old SSD popped right into the Envoy and worked perfectly. I can now boot from either drive and keep them both updated so I always have an emergency backup.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from (*) 480GB OWC Aura Pro 6G SSD + Envoy Pro Upgrade Kit for 2012-13 MacBook Pro with Retina display..

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Miami, FL Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 3-4 months
Rating: 5/5 Fantastic Product - So simple! May 12, 2014 This is one of the best products I've ever purchased (along with Parallels). The SSD works perfectly. The Envoy Pro upgrade kit is so worth it. I also purchased an app for my Mac (Carbon Copy Cloner) and all the items combined worked seamlessly and like I never switched my SSD - simply amazing combination of products. I would recommend this product to anyone with a Mac who wants to upgrade. Thank you so much to OWC for creating this option to Mac users.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from (*) 480GB OWC Aura Pro 6G SSD + Envoy Pro Upgrade Kit for 2012-13 MacBook Pro with Retina display..

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Cardiff, UK Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 New life for my 2012 MBP 13 with Retina Display May 4, 2014 I was on a trip to the U.S. and decided to purchase this upgrade for my late 2012 13 inch MacBook Pro with Retina display. I found the package waiting for me at the hotel when I arrived. That same night, I followed the instructions to clone my old SSD to the new one installed in the external enclosure, then swapped the two SSDs. Everything went smoothly and quick (perhaps about 10-15 minutes aside from backing up the computer). The external enclosure is really good quality and fits the look of the MacBook. This 480GB SSD kit has breathed new life for my MacBook Pro. I no longer need to run Parallels and a Windows OS from an external HD.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from (*) 480GB OWC Aura Pro 6G SSD + Envoy Pro Upgrade Kit for 2012-13 MacBook Pro with Retina display..

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Brunei Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Great design April 28, 2014 Love the design as well as the performance.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 480GB OWC Aura Pro 6G Solid-State Drive for 2012-13 MacBook Pro with Retina display..

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Denver, CO Age: 45-54 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 Very Satisfied with Outcome March 20, 2014 I am quite impressed with the quality of the product and external case for the drive that was replaced. Everything was very simple to remove and install, thanks to the 2 tools included in the package. The whole process including the restore took about 36 minutes. I would just reiterate that it is very important that you create a restore disk on a flash drive and a current backup using time machine before removing the drive from your Macbook.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from (*) 480GB OWC Aura Pro 6G SSD + Envoy Pro Upgrade Kit for 2012-13 MacBook Pro with Retina display..

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Southlake, TX Age: 35-44 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Blown Away! February 20, 2014 I purchased the Macbook Pro Retina 15" in December of 2012 and loved nearly everything about it, except the limited storage. I stumbled across this drive and decided to pull the trigger. I have to admit I was a little scared to take this step but I am blown away by the ease of installation and the performance of the drive and I just love the housing for my original Macbook Drive. I will be constantly telling my friends who experience the same issues, about just how easy and awesome this product is and how well it worked for me.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from (*) 480GB OWC Aura Pro 6G SSD + Envoy Pro Upgrade Kit for 2012-13 MacBook Pro with Retina display..

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Austin, TX Age: 25-34 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Amazing Product - Easy to install January 23, 2014 I got tired of running out of space on my 256 GB SSD in my MacBook Pro. Quickly found OWC and this product as they seem to be the only current upgrade option. The package arrived quickly and contained everything I needed to complete the installation process. That process took less than 30 minutes - to replace the old Apple SSD with the OWC drive AND mount the old Apple Drive in the envoy case. The sleek, aluminum case perfectly matches my macbook and looks like something Apple themselves would sell. Highly recommended! 5 Stars!! - Great Product!!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from (*) 480GB OWC Aura Pro 6G SSD + Envoy Pro Upgrade Kit for 2012-13 MacBook Pro with Retina display..

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: The Netherlands Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 this product is perfect to migrate to a faster and bigger disk, easy easy August 14, 2013 As a none professional I bought this because I needed a bigger disk. It was supposed to be ease to replace and migrate everything to the new disk.

But....it's easer then easy and in about 40 minutes, incl replacing disk, I had 250GB copied and was already up end running. Yes...it does cost you something, but it works great/easy and fast. check the video on the site for important small details about the screws and replace!

ordered at Friday and deliverd in the Netherlands on Monday!

great great, both delivery and the product

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from (*) 480GB OWC Aura Pro 6G SSD + Envoy Pro Upgrade Kit for 2012-13 MacBook Pro with Retina display..

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous
Rating: 5/5 Fast delivery ! May 27, 2013 From US to Malaysia, the unit arrive at my doorstep in less than 5 days ! Impressive customer support from OWC.

Will definitely buy again.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from (*) 480GB OWC Aura Pro 6G SSD + Envoy Pro Upgrade Kit for 2012-13 MacBook Pro with Retina display..

Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Orlando, Florida Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 So Far, So Good! March 18, 2013 Ordered the 480Gb Auro Pro for my Macbook Pro Retina 13" and took delivery 2 days later (paid for 2nd day Fedex), so all was good.

Watched the video again, and proceeded to replace my drive. I did encounter one problem though, in that the screws for the battery connector are not the same as the Torx 5 screwdriver included in the kit (also mentioned in a previous review).

I managed to work around this problem, as I had a set of Torx drives already, but make sure you have what was probably a Torx 6 before proceeding!

Simple install, and used the old 128Gb drive to restore the 480Gb drive, using the Envoy enclosure in the bundled kit.

Very happy so far, and hope this will be a long lasting, and dependable upgrade from the 128Gb supplied in my laptop.

Chaz

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 480GB OWC Aura Pro 6G Solid-State Drive for 2012-13 MacBook Pro with Retina display..

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Baltimore, Maryland Age: 25-34 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Priced for maximum value February 17, 2013 I was an early adopter. I ordered mine the day the ENVOY PRO was made available. Because I was an early adopter, I had to wait for a while but boy was it worth the wait! I've been using the drive for a month, now. It's been amazing. It's about 110MB/s FASTER than the original drive. Read and write speed, both. It's hundreds of dollars cheaper than Apple's offering of 512GB for $800. The OWC drive also has 512GB but 32GB is set to cache, so you have a faster, and more reliable experience. This is a big deal, for those of you who don't know how it works. You cannot just take a regular drive and pay to have part of it used as cache. Not the way it works. OWC has done this for you and used a SandForce controller for maximum speed and reliability. I like Samsung's modern tech but THIS... the OWC drive... this is the way to go! Speed, reliability and it's MADE IN AMERICA. What more could you want?

That brings me to the Envoy Pro. Fast, reliable and great for the Samsung drive that came with the Retina. It was easy to install the OWC drive, and easy to install the Samsung drive into the Envoy. It looks great. It's light. It works great as a Time Machine drive, or as a good ole fashion External Drive. THIS is a GREAT value! And it extends the life of your Retina, as well as the resale value! So this is actually an investment.

My name is Ken Weaver, I used to work as the assistant manager of the IT department for a satellite campus under John Hopkins University. Since the campus was sold to American Career Institute, I've remained a power user for the last two years, and I render High Def camcorder footage for local music bands.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from (*) 480GB OWC Aura Pro 6G SSD + Envoy Pro Upgrade Kit for 2012-13 MacBook Pro with Retina display..

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: United Kingdom Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Brilliant service January 24, 2013 I ordered this upgrade on January 21 and it reached me in the UK 3 days later. Everything in the package is as described online, so you can buy with confidence, and the installation videos are a great help. The only thing to note is that the internal screws in the Macbook Pro 13" Retina are Torx 6, so the Torx 5 screwdriver included in the kit is no use for these screws, but you still need it for the Envoy screws

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from (*) 480GB OWC Aura Pro 6G SSD + Envoy Pro Upgrade Kit for 2012-13 MacBook Pro with Retina display..

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Oregon Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Blazing Fast .5 TB December 27, 2012 It's my first new laptop in some time with the 13" Retina MBP. While it was a step to put down the money, the Aura Pro was still cheaper than the manufacturer's option for the amount of storage, and I'm so very glad I did it. Booting and access to files, games, etc. has been beautifully fast.

My one caveat is that the drive did require some very minor filing of the square corners to get it to fit properly in the drive bay. My nail file did the trick and it fit snugly. The video is also for the MacBook Air and, while close enough, didn't mention this part. Simplest (if only) upgrade one can do on the Retina MBPs.

Looking forward to the Envoy enclosure too. Still not out yet.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 480GB OWC Aura Pro 6G Solid-State Drive for 2012-13 MacBook Pro with Retina display..

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: johnb Location: Florida Age: 45-54 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Great product, but no enclosure for the old drive... October 28, 2012 I bought that after reading a review. The SSD itself was delivered promptly, installed easily (from a Time Machine backup) and works great.

Just beware, they DID NOT deliver the drive enclosure for the old SSD drive and have not responded to my inquiries on it.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 480GB OWC Aura Pro 6G Solid-State Drive for 2012-13 MacBook Pro with Retina display..

Response from OWC, Marketing October 29, 2012 The OWC Evnoy Pro enclosure is estimated as Late 2012 for availability. The free enclosure offer was for purchases made before September 30th, 2012 and the enclosure will be shipped out once it is available. For purchases after that date, the Envoy Pro will be offered as a separate purchase once the product itself is released.
OWC 1.0TB Aura Pro Solid-state Drive and Envoy Pro Storage Solution Mfr P/N: SSDAP12K960 OWC SKU: OWCSSDAP12K960 For 2012 - early 2013 MacBook Pro with Retina display 5 Year OWC Limited Warranty
Sold Out
Additional Capacities & Kits: SSD Only
  • 250GB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • OWC Price $74.99
  • 500GB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • OWC Price $109.00
  • 1.0TB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • OWC Price $195.00
  • 2.0TB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $399.99
    • OWC Price $379.00
Upgrade Kit w/ SSD, Tools & Envoy Pro Enclosure
  • 250GB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $139.00
    • Bundle Priced for $119.99
  • 500GB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $169.99
    • Bundle Priced for $149.00
  • 1.0TB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $259.99
    • Cyber Saver $229.00
  • 2.0TB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $459.99
    • OWC Price $419.00