Free Shipping available on most orders $49.00 & up.

Get Details. »

OWC Special Offer Available

$6.99 Instant Rebate available from OWC with purchases when you purchase 1 or more qualifying items, limit 2.
Must purchase with: TOOLKITMBA

OWC

480GB Aura Pro
Solid-State Drive

Mac
For 2012 - early 2013 MacBook Pro with Retina display
Designed for your Mac
Once again, OWC provides Mac users the only upgrade solution that delivers higher performance, functionality, and reliability! When first introduced, the MacBook Pro with Retina display base model offered a 256GB SSD configuration with no upgrade option. And current base models start from 128GB to 256GB. Now, instead of being "factory locked", the OWC Aura Pro 6G gives you the freedom to upgrade your capacity to meet your storage needs. Just like other OWC upgrades, we include a free 'how-to' video to make this an easy and money-saving DIY upgrade.

The Aura Pro 6G SSD features a suite of industry leading controller technologies for performance and reliability.

  • DuraWrite™ extends the endurance of your solid-state drive (SSD).
  • RAISE™ (Redundant Array of Independent Silicon Elements) protects the data on your drive similar to having a RAID setup.
  • Intelligent Block Management & Wear Leveling automatically distributes data evenly across the entire SSD.
  • Intelligent Read Disturb Management spreads the active read/write across the flash components eliminating data corruption caused by constant use.
  • Intelligent "Recycling" for advanced free space management gradually re-writes data across the SSD over time to ensure data never gets corrupted.
  • Best-in-Class ECC Protection for longest data retention and drive life.
Synchronous Interface NAND
To achieve the higher bandwidth potential of the SATA 6Gb/s bus standard, the OWC Aura Pro 6G SSDs utilize Tier-1 Synchronous NAND instead of commonly utilized Asynchronous NAND. Synchronous NAND enables reads and writes to be "synced" with the SSD processor's clock signal for maximum data throughput.
Better by Design
"Mean Time To Failure" – We all know that nothing lasts forever. But that doesn't mean you shouldn't get the most out of your investment. OWC SSD with DuraWrite™ Technology, optimizes writes to the flash memory over conventional controllers increasing the overall endurance and reliability of the complete SSD. Highly intelligent block management and wear leveling also extends the overall endurance. This adds up to a MTTF that is higher than most SSDs and enterprise class hard drives on the market today.

480GB Aura™ Pro 6G Specifications:

Specifications

Capacity1
480GB useable capacity
Total Flash Memory Components – 512GB
32GB allocated to real-time data redundancy & error correction
Formatted Capacity2
447GiB
NAND
Tier 1 Major Multi-Level Cell (MLC) High-Performance Sync-NAND Flash
Controller
SandForce 2281 Series Processor with 7% Over Provisioning
SMART Attributes
Standard
Native Command Queuing
up to 32 commands
Manufacturer Model Number
OWCSSDAP12R480
RoHS Compliant
Yes
Format

Reliability3

Data Reliability
ECC Recovery: Up to 55 bytes correctable per 512-byte sector
Security
Chip Based Data Encryption: 128-bit AES-compliant
TRIM Support
OS Dependent
Nonrecoverable Read Errors
Less than 1 sector per 1016 bits read

Performance

Sustained
Reads (up to)
501MB/s
Sustained
Writes (up to)
503MB/s
Random 4K Read4
Up to 60,000 IOPS
Random 4K Write4
Up to 60,000 IOPS
Read Latency
less than 0.1ms
Write Latency
less than 0.1ms

Power

Active Power
Less than 3000mW (3.0W) expected maximum draw
Idle Power
Less than 1200mW (1.2W)
Power Nap compatible

Environmental (Operating)

Temperature (°F)
32°F to 158°F
Temperature (°C)
0°C to 70°C

Environmental (Non-Operating)

Temperature (°F)
-40°F to 185°F
Temperature (°C)
-40°C to 85°C

Acoustics

Idle (Typical)
0.0 bels
Seek (Typical)
0.0 bels
  1. 1GB = 1,000,000,000 bytes. Total accessible capacity varies depending upon operating environment (typically 5-10% less). The actual total capacity will depend on your own defined file settings/preferences.
  2. In terms of standard gigabytes, 1GiB ≈ 1.074GB and refers to the actual formatted capacity of shown under Mac OS 10.5 or earlier and Microsoft Windows OS.
  3. Specific application environments such as temperature and duty cycle will affect the overall reliability rates.
  4. Based on SandForce processor operation.
  5. Specifications provided by SandForce.


Manufacturer provided specifications for Other World Computing p/n OWCSSDAP12R480 UPC#: 794504769029

Video

15" MacBook Pro SSD install


13" MacBook Pro SSD Install
The Aura™ Pro is compatible with... Learn how to find your Mac's model ID
MacBook Pro Retina
MacBook Pro (15-inch Retina Display 2013)
(January, 2013)
Model ID: MacBookPro10,1
2.4GHz, 2.7GHz, 2.8GHz
MacBook Pro Retina
MacBook Pro (13-inch Retina Display 2013)
(January, 2013)
Model ID: MacBookPro10,2
2.5GHz, 2.6GHz, 2.9GHz, 3.0GHz
MacBook Pro Retina
MacBook Pro (15-inch Retina Display 2012)
(June, 2012)
Model ID: MacBookPro10,1
2.3GHz, 2.6GHz, 2.7GHz
MacBook Pro Retina
MacBook Pro (13-inch Retina Display 2012-2013)
(October, 2012)
Model ID: MacBookPro10,2
2.5GHz, 2.9GHz
Not for use with Late 2013 MacBook Pro with Retina Display with model ID: MacBookPro11,x

Reviews

Warranty

The best warranty is one you never have to use - but should the need occur - we're proud to provide a superior level of support and service coverage to our customers.

5 Year OWC SSD Limited Warranty

OWC is proud to provide a superior level of support and warranty coverage to our customers. Even when not used, we understand the peace of mind afforded by a longer warranty period. OWC's industry leading coverage is a testament to our confidence in the reliability of the solutions that we offer. OWC solutions are engineered to demanding quality standards in order to deliver the most reliable, highest performance available on the market in each storage category.

Customer Ratings

Write a Review 4.9 / 5 53 out of 54 (98%) reviewers would recommend this product
1 2 3
Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Shnutz Location: Saudi Arabia Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Simplest and yet best upgrade September 1, 2018 Its been a while since I purchased my Late 2012 Macbook Pro 13 inch retina. stuck with under 100GB of memory, with the continuous annoying manage your memory notification, i decided to upgrade to Aura pro.

I could not be happier and thrilled with such an upgrade. 1. The process of purchasing the item is so easy with the OWC guide 2. Item arrived in lightening speed 3. Their video tutorial on how to install is right to the point, and I had purchased the tools from OWC which were exactly what i needed! 4. Replaced the drive in exactly 12 minutes 5. In 5 minutes I was connected to internet restart 6. took 45 minutes to restore from time machine..

Way faster!, finally more space, and truly an excellent product!!!!!!

I would recommend this item to a friend! Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Tech2 Location: United Kingdom Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Mac ssd August 16, 2018 With OWC excellent service and help I managed to save over £600 and that includes paying postage and customs charges to the UK for this hard drive. Excellent product and service highly recommended.

I would recommend this item to a friend! Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: t1653l Location: new hampshire Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 5-6 months
Rating: 5/5 simple upgrade August 8, 2018 This was a no hassle upgrade. Simple installation good instructions.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 1.0TB OWC Aura Pro 6G SSD + Envoy Pro Upgrade Kit for 2012-13 MacBook Pro with Retina display.. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Hamid Location: Sydney, AU Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 The only 2TB solution for MBP Retina 15 Mid 2012 July 16, 2018 I am really happy finding this SSD with you. Your delivery was also amazing and received my order in Australia on-time. Now I have renewed my old MacBook Pro and it is performing even better than the new ones. It is not good to recycle the old machines when you can refurbish. I changed my battery too so I have nothing less than a new MBP now. More than this, I have an external 750GB SSD with enclosed Envoy Pro USB 3 too.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 2.0TB OWC Aura Pro 6G SSD + Envoy Pro Upgrade Kit for 2012/13 MacBook Pro with Retina display.. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: AppleDude Location: Roseburg, OR Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 You ask for it, you get it. July 9, 2018 Product I received was exactly as advertised. Directions? Didn’t really need any. Pretty straightforward and I am not a hardware guy. Installation went well. Test and use of product also went well. Almost a month and product is still performing well. Thanks for the product and service. Repeat business and referrals definitely.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 240GB OWC Aura Pro 6G SSD + Envoy Pro Upgrade Kit for 2012/13 MacBook Pro with Retina display.. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Gretske Location: Ballentine, SC Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Gave my MBP Retina new life! July 6, 2018 I bought the 480GB SSD to replace the stock 128GB drive in my 2012 MBP. My main reason for the upgrade was to get more disk space so the "You are running out of disk space" nagger would stop. The installation could not have been easier. I don't think it took me 15 minutes to do the whole thing.

I have my extra space, but the biggest difference is the speed of the new OWC drive. I did not expect to see a big difference in speed, but it runs like a new computer, no kidding! Even running resource hogs like Lightbook CC are now much faster.

This review is from 480GB OWC Aura Pro 6G SSD + Envoy Pro Upgrade Kit for 2012-13 MacBook Pro with Retina display.. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Sandwah Location: Covington LA Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Solid and fast SSD May 20, 2018 Solid and fast 480G SSD for an early 2013 MacBook Pro. Would recommend. Only suggestion is to have a GB size that matches OEM sizes.

I would recommend this item to a friend! Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: BillR Location: Atlanta, GA Age: 55-65
Rating: 5/5 Works perfectly April 22, 2018 I'd been kicking myself for years for being cheap and buying the 2012 MacBook Pro with the smaller hard drive. When I purchased it the sales rep told me the drive was soldered in and could never be upgraded.

Bottom line, occasionally something that seems too good to be true really is. The replacement could not have been any easier. The instructions were complete and accurate. The enclosure for the old drive works beautifully, feels solid, and looks good.

This purchase far exceeded my expectations.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 1.0TB OWC Aura Pro 6G SSD + Envoy Pro Upgrade Kit for 2012-13 MacBook Pro with Retina display.. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: xmrk Location: Minneapolis, MN Age: 35-44 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Brought my adored 2012 MacBook Pro w/Retina back into the modern age April 6, 2018 256GB seemed like enough storage back in 2012, but I've outgrown it. This drive was a small price to bring my adored 2012 MacBook Pro w/Retina back into the modern age. The performance is sufficient and the installation was easy.

I would recommend this item to a friend! Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Kane Location: Sydney, Australia Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Easy As to Install & Has Worked Perfectly March 6, 2018 I was a little concerned about cracking open the back of the MacBook Pro, but installing the new SSD really was as easy as it looks in the video guides. It literally took me 5-minutes from start to finish and worked perfectly straight out of the box. Very happy customer. Recommended - including for those feeling a bit apprehensive about whether they can do the install. If you can change a light bulb, you can do this.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 2.0TB OWC Aura Pro 6G SSD + Envoy Pro Upgrade Kit for 2012/13 MacBook Pro with Retina display.. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Gentleman Location: Seoul Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Quick delivery and easy to fix it March 2, 2018 Quick delivery and easy to fix it recommend to other people

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 480GB OWC Aura Pro 6G SSD + Envoy Pro Upgrade Kit for 2012-13 MacBook Pro with Retina display.. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Enlighten22 Location: Scottsdale Arizona Age: 45-54 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 EXCELLENT SSD February 28, 2018 I was very happy with all the tech support and the online videos to show how to install the internal SSD drive. I love the quality, speed and how my laptop seems to run so smoothly now. Love this product and great service. Thank you MacSales. JF

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 1.0TB OWC Aura Pro 6G SSD + Envoy Pro Upgrade Kit for 2012-13 MacBook Pro with Retina display.. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer Top 250 Contributor
Reviewer: Revolution Age: 25-34 Experience Level: Gamer Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 2TB SSD January 18, 2018 This item (as well as other items) by OWC work great on MACs.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 2.0TB OWC Aura Pro 6G SSD + Envoy Pro Upgrade Kit for 2012/13 MacBook Pro with Retina display.. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: FredP Age: 55-65 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 4/5 Worthwhile upgrade, but not painless December 19, 2017 Bought this to breathe new life into my work issued, aging Retina Pro. I was reluctant to deal with configuring a new machine from scratch. The physical install was trivial, but cloning the drive required some extra steps.

I recommend building a bootable Install disk on an SD card prior to swapping the drives. Install the new SSD and put the old one in the external housing. Boot to the install disk, and then use 'Restore' to clone your old SSD to the new internal drive.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 480GB OWC Aura Pro 6G SSD + Envoy Pro Upgrade Kit for 2012-13 MacBook Pro with Retina display.. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: SolidState Location: Chicago, IL Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Best Apple MacBook SSD December 6, 2017 What was impressive dealing with MacSales was suppling my Retina MacBook Pro serial number they knew exactly what SSD was compatible and also recommended SSD upgrades.

I would recommend this item to a friend! Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Tedkid Location: Nashville, TN Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Keeping My MacBook Relevant November 23, 2017 Product was easy to install and has worked perfectly. Love having the extra space at an affordable price.

This review is from 2.0TB OWC Aura Pro 6G Solid-State Drive for 2012-13 MacBook Pro with Retina display.. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Rayf Location: Fremantle, Western Australia Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 Great value November 13, 2017 My Macbook now has the storage I need while retaining its speed. The old SSD in the Envoy Pro Enclosure is a most handy external data store/carrier, mainly used for transferring files to and from Macs and PCs situated in areas that have no Internet access [Australia is a big place, often very sparsely populated]

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 480GB OWC Aura Pro 6G SSD + Envoy Pro Upgrade Kit for 2012-13 MacBook Pro with Retina display.. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: sw72 Location: Newcastle, U.K Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Saved my Macbook Pro November 10, 2017 The original SSD in my 2012 Macbook Pro died a few weeks ago and having taken the machine to 2 different repair shops who both said they couldn't get a replacement I was resigned to selling for spare parts on eBay. Luckily I came across OWS while doing one last search. Chatted online to technician before purchase to make sure this was right item and 3 days later I now have a fully working Macbook Pro running like new. Much to the delight of my wife! Super fast delivery to the U.K and very easy. My best purchase of the year, thank you very much.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 240GB OWC Aura Pro 6G Solid-State Drive for 2012-13 MacBook Pro with Retina display.. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: joeliam1992 Location: Alexandria VA Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Incredibly easy! November 4, 2017 I purchased the Envoy pro upgrade kit, and it was the fastest and easiest upgrade I've made on any computer to date. I have dozens of laptops of all brands (Dell, HP, IBM, Asus, and have now decided to switch to everything Apple. We have four Apple computers now: my MacBook Pro 2013, my daughter's 2014 MacBook Air, my wife's 2016 MacBook, and the family iMac.

This kit came with all the tools needed to do this upgrade seamlessly, and the Apple online restoration process enabled me to get a new and clean software build in a matter of hours. I love having the old hard drive as an external replacement, as I was able to get the handful of things that did not transfer to iCloud.

Highly recommended upgrade, and kudos to OWC for putting together such a great package. This upgrade would've been over a $1000 option with Apple.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 1.0TB OWC Aura Pro 6G SSD + Envoy Pro Upgrade Kit for 2012-13 MacBook Pro with Retina display.. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: ShamSham
Rating: 5/5 Excellent Product October 11, 2017 This product just extended the life of my Mac Book Pro. Had been getting tired of fiddling with different externals, especially since I am on the go so much. Shelled out for the 1 TB SSD and am very pleased. Amazing performance, easy to install, and simply works - no gimmicks or hassles.

Highly recommended.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 1.0TB OWC Aura Pro 6G SSD + Envoy Pro Upgrade Kit for 2012-13 MacBook Pro with Retina display.. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: JohnR80 Location: Newton, MA Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Extend life of MacBook Pro by expanding SSD to 2TB September 4, 2017 I was starting to run up against the 750GB size limits of the SSD on my MacBook Pro, thus degrading performance. OWC has great 2TB solid state drive upgrade that is relatively easy to install and relatively easy to migrate from your old SSD. I did the whole physical installation process in a little more than an hour, then it took several more hours for the whole system to migrate from the old internal SSD to the new OWC 2TB internal SSD. The instructions that OWC provides are relatively easy to follow, and marginally difficult to locate on the OWC website. But, once you find them, they are easy to follow. The new 2TB drive has worked flawlessly for a month now. Getting the additional mount case for your old Apple SSD makes the whole migration process much easier.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 2.0TB OWC Aura Pro 6G SSD + Envoy Pro Upgrade Kit for 2012/13 MacBook Pro with Retina display.. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: sjrcgtek Location: Chicago Age: 55-65 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Install was a Snap June 1, 2017 Very easy. Videos were very helpful

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 480GB OWC Aura Pro 6G SSD + Envoy Pro Upgrade Kit for 2012-13 MacBook Pro with Retina display.. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer Top 250 Contributor
Reviewer: Revolution Age: 25-34 Experience Level: Gamer Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Great product February 23, 2017 This product fits perfectly into my laptop. The videos on this site are very helpful. The speed is great!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 1.0TB OWC Aura Pro 6G SSD + Envoy Pro Upgrade Kit for 2012-13 MacBook Pro with Retina display.. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Bruno Experience Level: IT Professional
Rating: 5/5 Works as expected, everything in the box February 14, 2017 Comes with screwdrivers, enclosure and cable. SSD worked immediately, don't forget to partition and format from recovery if reinstalling macos from there.

This review is from 1.0TB OWC Aura Pro 6G SSD + Envoy Pro Upgrade Kit for 2012-13 MacBook Pro with Retina display.. Customer Videos:

Reviewer: maxbraketorque Location: Tricities
Rating: 5/5 Aura Pro 960 GB is good January 22, 2017 I put the Aura Pro 960 GB drive into my 10,1 MacBook Pro. Not sure if its noticability faster than the original SSD, but the extra space was needed, and the drive has been working perfectly for the last 6 months. If you want a large SSD for your older MBP, this is the easiest solution.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 1.0TB OWC Aura Pro 6G SSD + Envoy Pro Upgrade Kit for 2012-13 MacBook Pro with Retina display.. Customer Videos:

OWC 480GB Aura Pro Solid-State Drive Mfr P/N: OWCSSDAP12R480 OWC SKU: OWCSSDAP12R480 for MacBook Pro Retina display
2012-Early 2013
5 Year OWC Limited Warranty Ships: Same Day Only $239.99OWC Price $199.99
Add to CartOther World Computing OWCSSDAP12R480 In Stock, Click to Buy Now
Additional Capacities & Kits: SSD Only
  • 240GB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $139.99
    • OWC Price $129.99
  • 480GB
  • 1.0TB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $469.99
    • OWC Price $469.99
  • 2.0TB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $719.99
    • OWC Price $629.99
Upgrade Kit w/ SSD, Tools & Envoy Pro Enclosure
  • 240GB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $189.99
    • OWC Price $169.99
  • 480GB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $289.99
    • Bundle Priced for $249.99
  • 1.0TB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $499.99
    • Bundle Priced for $419.99
  • 2.0TB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $769.99
    • OWC Price $679.00