We're sorry, but this item is no longer for sale. However, there may be more Internal Hard Drives and SSD items available.

We recommend 250GB OWC Aura Pro 6Gb/s SSD + OWC Envoy Upgrade Kit for MacBook Air (2012) (Mfr P/N: S3DAP2A6K250) from Other World Computing for $99.75 as a suitable alternative.

OWC

240GB Aura Pro 6G SSD / Flash Internal Drive Upgrade
for 2012 MacBook Air

Upgrade Kit with Drive, Install Tools, + Envoy Pro
for Easy Data Transfer/Original Drive Reuse
OWC's Aura Pro SSD provides up to nearly 8x the capacity over factory SSDs while offering Faster Performance vs. Factory Options.
  • More OPTIONS choose from 120GB, 240GB or 480GB models.
  • More COMPLETE includes all the tools for installation
The Aura Pro SSD line features industry leading SandForce® DuraClass™ Technologies:
  • DuraWrite™ extends the endurance of your Solid State Drive (SSD).
  • Intelligent Block Management & Wear Leveling automatically distributes data evenly across the entire SSD.
  • Intelligent Read Disturb Management spreads the active read/write across the flash components eliminating data corruption caused by constant use.
  • Intelligent "Recycling" for advanced free space management gradually re-writes data across the SSD over time to ensure data never gets corrupted.
  • RAISE™ (Redundant Array of Independent Silicon Elements) protects the data on your drive similar to having a RAID setup.
  • Best-in-Class ECC Protection for longest data retention and drive life.
The Envoy offers the perfect companion storage solution for your MacBook Air
Get the ultimate combination of elegance and functionality in a sleek, portable external storage solution designed to complement the MacBook Air – in both appearance and performance. Its super-speed USB 3.0 interface is capable of speeds up to 500MB/s to ensure your workflow moves as fast as you do, and is backwards compatible with USB 2.0. Its bus-powered design means no AC power adapter is required making it an ideal portable Plug and Play solution – just plug the USB cord into your computer and the Envoy is ready to go.
More Options
Once again, OWC provides Mac users an upgrade path that delivers higher performance, functionality, and reliability! With the 2012 base model 11" MacBook Air only offering a 64GB flash module and the base 13" model offering just a 128GB flash module, installing an Aura Pro 6G flash module can increase storage capacity up to 8X higher! Plus for the upgradeable models, unlike an upgrade from the factory at the time of purchase, this OWC bundle includes an Envoy to keep that factory flash module working for you as a super fast, external storage solution!
Better by Design
"Mean Time To Failure" – We all know that nothing lasts forever. But that doesn't mean you shouldn't get the most out of your investment. OWC SSD with DuraWrite™ Technology, optimizes writes to the flash memory over conventional controllers increasing the overall endurance and reliability of the complete SSD. Highly intelligent block management and wear leveling also extends the overall endurance. This adds up to a MTTF that is higher than most SSDs and enterprise class hard drives on the market today.
Synchronous Interface NAND
To achieve the higher bandwidth potential of the SATA 6Gb/s bus standard, the OWC Aura Pro 6G SSDs utilize Tier-1 Synchronous NAND instead of commonly utilized Asynchronous NAND. Synchronous NAND enables reads and writes to be "synced" with the SSD processor's clock signal for maximum data throughput.
The Aura™ Pro is compatible with... Learn how to find your Mac's model ID
MacBook Air
MacBook Air (13-inch Mid 2012)
(June, 2012)
Model ID: MacBookAir5,2
1.8GHz, 2.0GHz
MacBook Air
MacBook Air (11-inch Mid 2012)
(June, 2012)
Model ID: MacBookAir5,1
1.7GHz, 2.0GHz
MacBook Air
MacBook Air (13-inch 2012)
Education Model
(July, 2012)
Model ID: MacBookAir4,2
1.7GHz
MacBook Air
NOT COMPATIBLE
MacBook Air (13-inch Mid 2011)
(July, 2011)
Model ID: MacBookAir4,2
1.7GHz, 1.8GHz
MacBook Air
NOT COMPATIBLE
MacBook Air (13-inch Late 2010)
(October, 2010)
Model ID: MacBookAir3,2
1.86GHz, 2.13GHz
MacBook Air
NOT COMPATIBLE
MacBook Air (11-inch Mid 2011)
(July, 2011)
Model ID: MacBookAir4,1
1.6GHz, 1.8GHz
MacBook Air
NOT COMPATIBLE
MacBook Air (11-inch Late 2010)
(October, 2010)
Model ID: MacBookAir3,1
1.4GHz, 1.6GHz

Includes

Aura Pro Solid State Drive includes
  • Aura Pro SSD
  • Envoy™ USB 2.0/3.0 Enclosure
  • Carrying Case
  • High-quality double-shielded USB 3.0 standard A to Micro-B connecting cable
  • Pentalobe compatible driver
  • Torx T-5 Screwdriver
  • Envoy User Guide (download only)

Gallery

Reviews

2012 Storage Visions Visionary Award Finalist
2012 Storage Visions Visionary Award Finalist

240GB Aura™ Pro 6G Specifications:

Specifications

Capacity1
240GB useable capacity
Total Flash Memory Components - 256GB
16GB allocated to real-time data redundancy & error correction
Formatted Capacity2
223GiB
NAND
Tier 1 Major Multi-Level Cell (MLC) High-Performance Sync-NAND Flash
Controller
SandForce 2281 Series Processor with 7% Over Provisioning
SMART Attributes
Standard
Native Command Queuing
up to 32 commands
Manufacturer Model Number
OWCSSDAP2A6G240
RoHS Compliant
Yes
Format

Reliability3

Data Reliability
ECC Recovery: Up to 55 bytes correctable per 512-byte sector
Security
Chip Based Data Encryption: 128-bit AES-compliant
TRIM Support
OS Dependent
Nonrecoverable Read Errors
Less than 1 sector per 1016 bits read
Warranty
5 Year OWC SSD Limited Warranty
(Standard return policy applies.)

Performance

Sustained
Reads (up to)
501MB/s
Sustained
Writes (up to)
503MB/s
Random 4K Read4
Up to 60,000 IOPS
Random 4K Write4
Up to 60,000 IOPS
Read Latency
less than 0.1ms
Write Latency
less than 0.1ms

Power

Active Power
Less than 3000mW (3.0W) expected maximum draw
Idle Power
Less than 1200mW (1.2W)
Power Nap compatible

Environmental (Operating)

Temperature (°F)
32°F to 158°F
Temperature (°C)
0°C to 70°C

Environmental (Non-Operating)

Temperature (°F)
-40°F to 185°F
Temperature (°C)
-40°C to 85°C

Acoustics

Idle (Typical)
0.0 bels
Seek (Typical)
0.0 bels
  1. 1GB = 1,000,000,000 bytes. Total accessible capacity varies depending upon operating environment (typically 5-10% less). The actual total capacity will depend on your own defined file settings/preferences.
  2. In terms of standard gigabytes, 1GiB ≈ 1.074GB and refers to the actual formatted capacity of shown under Mac OS 10.5 or earlier and Microsoft Windows OS.
  3. Specific application environments such as temperature and duty cycle will affect the overall reliability rates.
  4. Based on SandForce processor operation.
  5. Specifications provided by SandForce.
Manufacturer provided specifications for Other World Computing p/n OWCSSDAP2A6K240 UPC#: 794504771022

OWC Envoy Specifications:

Chipset

  • High-performance ASMedia 1053e chipset

Interfaces Supported

  • USB 3.0 interface Backwards compatible

Port Configuration

  • USB 3.0 interface (Micro-B port)

Max Data Transfer Rate

  • One USB 3.0 (Micro-B) port, up to 500MB/s

Features

  • Integrated power/activity LED light
  • Non-skid rubber feet for secure placement on any surface
  • Durable painted aluminum body complements Mac aluminum finish

System Requirements

  • Macintosh: Mac OS 8.6 or later and an available and supported USB 3.0 port.
  • PC: Windows 98SE or later and an available and supported USB 3.0 port.
  • Linux: Linux OS versions and an available and supported USB 3.0 port.

Cooling

  • Silent, fanless operation

UASP (USB Attached SCSI Protocol) Compliant

  • Yes

Power Supply

  • Bus-powered via USB port (no AC adapter required)

Drive Requirements

  • Compatible with the Flash SSD module used in 2012 11.1" and 13.3" MacBook Air models.

External Case Dimensions

  • 1.79 in (W) x 5.9 in (D) x tapered 0.279 in to 0.466 in (H)

Enclosure Weight (no accessories)

  • 2.8 ounces (empty case, no drive installed)

Product Manual

Operating Environment:

Temperature

  • Dependent on mechanism installed

Relative Humidity

  • Dependent on mechanism installed

Shock

  • Dependent on mechanism installed

Vibration

  • Dependent on mechanism installed

Warranty

1 Year OWC Brand Standard Limited Warranty

The best warranty is one you never have to use, but should the need occur – OWC is proud to provide a superior level of support and warranty coverage to our customers. Even when not used, we understand the peace of mind afforded by a longer warranty period. OWC's industry leading coverage is a testament to our confidence in the reliability of the solutions that we offer. OWC solutions are engineered to demanding quality standards in order to deliver the most reliable, highest performance available on the market in each storage category.

View more information about the 1 Year OWC Brand Standard Limited Warranty

IMPORTANT NOTE: The OWC Envoy enclosure has been specifically designed for use ONLY with the factory SSD found installed in Apple MacBook Air 2012 model. Do NOT attempt to install or use the OWC Aura SSD in the Envoy as you can damage the Aura drive, the Envoy enclosure or both and such damage is not covered under warranty. To transfer data from the Apple SSD in the Envoy to the Aura SSD in the computer, please visit this link (http://eshop.macsales.com/tech_center/format2011/)

Customer Ratings

Write a Review 4.8 / 5 44 out of 49 (90%) reviewers would recommend this product
1 2 3
Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Georgetown, Penang, Malaysia Age: 25-34 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 No Nonsense, Fast, Reliable SSD! November 14, 2014 When the product arrived i had issue with fitment. No Problem, the forums discussion solved the problem.

the SSD been running without problem for a year now.

Kudos to OWC. A product that is cheaper and faster than what Apple can provide. :D

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 120GB OWC Aura 6G Solid-State Drive for 2012 MacBook Air.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Dubai Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 DIY product Excellent instructions August 23, 2014 At first i thought it will be difficult but once i followed step by step instruction it was a breeze. i got stuck at a point called the service center and they were really prompt and helpful and all got sorted. totally recommend this product

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Krakow,Poland Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 This product has great features, August 22, 2014 OK

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Pewaukee, WI Age: 35-44 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Ridiculously easy install August 8, 2014 The install instructions for this were ridiculously easy to follow. My only concern was the best way to get my old data onto the new drive and the instructions even had a link on their website for hints. It was perfect. The addition of the drive case for the old drive is nice as well. Very well made, and performance is stellar.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 480GB OWC Aura Pro 6G SSD + Envoy Kit for MacBook Air 2012: Complete Solution with Enclosure.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous
Rating: 4/5 Great Product July 16, 2014 Works well - expanded the SSD with no muss no fuss. My advice is to buy it with the external USB box. I was going to sell my old 120GB SSD, but then realized I have no way to wipe it, so I had to separately order the external USB box. Luckily, it was on sale.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 240GB OWC Aura Pro 6G Solid-State Drive for 2012 MacBook Air.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: iceland
Rating: 5/5 very fast! June 25, 2014 happy with the speed!

This review is from 240GB OWC Aura Pro 6G Solid-State Drive for 2012 MacBook Air.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: iceland
Rating: 5/5 very fast! June 25, 2014 very very fast

This review is from 480GB OWC Aura Pro 6G SSD + Envoy Kit for MacBook Air 2012: Complete Solution with Enclosure.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Austin, TX Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 5-6 months
Rating: 5/5 Excellent upgrade June 7, 2014 I upgraded my 2012 11" MacBook Air from 64G to 240G. This resulted in significant changes in my use of this laptop. In the past I had scrutinize every move to make sure I did not exceed 64G limiting the usefulness of this PC. The upgrade went a little rough. I did a clean install. Not sure why, but I ran into initial issues installing Mavericks. I had to install Mountain Lion first, then upgrade to Mavericks. I made a call to the OWC support. They were extremely helpful, not to mention the fact that I made the call on a Saturday! OWC install videos were extremely helpful, taking the fear out of opening my precious MacBook Air. Overall, this is one of the best upgrades I have ever completed on a computer for performance improvements. Highly recommended!

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: SF Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Impeccable video and instructions May 29, 2014 Everything was there. Tools and directions that I loaded and read on my iPad as I did the installation. Then a transfer from the old SSD in the new enclosure and I am up and running. It doesn't get any better or easier than this!!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 480GB OWC Aura Pro 6G SSD + Envoy Kit for MacBook Air 2012: Complete Solution with Enclosure.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous
Rating: 4/5 Fits With my expectations May 25, 2014 Product ok. Service perfect

This review is from 240GB OWC Aura Pro 6G Solid-State Drive for 2012 MacBook Air.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Lymington UK Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 OWC March 1, 2014 Really quick delivery, gr8 product, very helpful comments and almost instant reply. Thank you

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 480GB OWC Aura Pro 6G SSD + Envoy Kit for MacBook Air 2012: Complete Solution with Enclosure.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Alberta, Canada Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Easy & Fast Upgrade February 28, 2014 Installation took all of maybe 10 minutes. I had a 120GB and replaced it with 240Gb. I had the 120GB almost filled with data and only took 10 minutes to clone the drive.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Ho Chi Minh city, Vietnam
Rating: 5/5 Great SSD and tools February 12, 2014 I would recommend this item to a friend!
Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Great experience with this product December 6, 2013 The 480GB Aura Pro worked as advertised. It came in a small little box together with the SSD, the Envoy Kit and two screwdrivers. Instructions for replacing the SSD was available online and there was no problem in replacing it. Only one minor issue with removing the shorter screw from the Envoy kit, but with elbow grease and a rubber band applied to the screwdriver to apply a greater grip and torque, the screw was persuaded to remove. Problem solved! Replacing the original SSD from the MBA with the Aura Pro was easy, and the data/image transfer worked as described on the instructions supplied. In all, it works and now it has expanded the capacity of my 128GB MBA to 480GB.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 480GB OWC Aura Pro 6G SSD + Envoy Kit for MacBook Air 2012: Complete Solution with Enclosure.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Age: 35-44 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Awesome November 26, 2013 Fedex Ground Shipping: super fast Easy to install: follow the instructions Less than 15 minutes including transfer OS to the new drive (very very good) So far, I'm very happy with it (just wait for how long it lasts, but I think it will last long)

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 480GB OWC Aura Pro 6G SSD + Envoy Kit for MacBook Air 2012: Complete Solution with Enclosure.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Palm Springs, CA Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Kept my MacBook Air from being obsolete November 6, 2013 My MacBook Air was only 64GB. Somehow I thought that would be enough when I bought it. This kit was easy to use, install and turned my MacBook Air from virtually obsolete, to a machine I use often again.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Vancouver, BC Age: 25-34 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Thank you OWC! September 23, 2013 Your SSD provided me an option when the SSD in my macbook air died. Thank you! It's installed and it's actually faster than my old SSD.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 120GB OWC Aura 6G Solid-State Drive for 2012 MacBook Air.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: NJ Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Excellent Upgrade September 13, 2013 The upgrade was straight forward and very easy. It took ten minutes to install and was up and running with all my programs installed in less than an hour. The only issue I had was the hard drive was slightly too long on the screw side and didn't sit flush. It rubbed against the battery holder. Tech support said this was alright and would not cause a problem. I wanted it to sit flush so I filed off 1/8th from the plastic batter holder and it fit flush. I would definitely recommend this to anyone looking for more capacity.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 120GB OWC Aura 6G Solid-State Drive for 2012 MacBook Air.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Central Illinois Age: 55-65 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Add some snap to you Macbook Air August 29, 2013 I was thinking of purchasing a large USB thumb drive to load my iTunes library on as my 2012 Air only had the 120G SSD. I wanted light weight and low power usage instead of carrying a heavy mechanical HDD. When I looked at the price of a 256G model I dropped that idea in a hurry. Then I read a couple of reviews for the Aura Pro 6G. I thought about it for a while then I decided to give it a try as the 120G was getting full. I went for the 240G SSD + Envoy kit thinking it would also give me the lightweight extra bit of storage I started out to find. The drive kit arrived today and the hardware install only took me about 15 minutes. I should add that I am a 30 year IT veteran but my teenagers had no trouble following the included instructions. The included Torx drivers made both assemblies a snap. I had moved my iTunes library off the old SSD to save time on the OS restore, so I only had about 36G of data left on the old SSD. This is where a big surprise came in. It took less time for the restore to run from the old SSD, than it took to install the new hardware. My expectation was 20-30 minutes but the copy process started at about 9 minutes and dropped fast. I would estimate 7ish minutes overall. When the restore was finished I booted to the new drive. Then I copied my library back from an external HDD which did take about 20 minutes. While that was working I checked a few program for load times. They snap right to the screen. The original SSD would take 5 to 10 seconds to load Safari. The new one loads it less than 2. Mail is about 2 seconds and App Store is also less than 2. I am putting these apps in here as all Airs have them for reference points. I am very pleased with the extra speed boost! The Envoy kit fit the old SSD perfectly and gives me an extra 120G of USB storage. I would definitely recommend this upgrade for anyone wanting more space and snappy performance that comes with a good SSD.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: International Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Complete solution as advertised August 27, 2013 Speedy delivery to my international location and good communications throughout the process gave immediate confidence.

The unit arrived professionally packed and with clear and concise instructions on installation including even solid advice and details on re-installing my operating system.

The unit was a perfect fit into my MacAir, the tools provided were perfect and everything started up with no issues and is all running fine and fast, very fast actually so am very pleased.

Also the enclosure for the original drive is a quality piece of kit and worked flawlessly which was used in my case to do a boot from the enclosure and a "restore" of osx to the new SSD.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 480GB OWC Aura Pro 6G SSD + Envoy Kit for MacBook Air 2012: Complete Solution with Enclosure.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Beaconsifleld, UK Age: 45-54 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Great product and service June 28, 2013 Does what it says on the website. Great product and great service. Have already recommended to other MacBook Air friends who have already placed their orders... Will certainly look here first for other upgrades. Great company. Well done.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 480GB OWC Aura Pro 6G SSD + Envoy Kit for MacBook Air 2012: Complete Solution with Enclosure.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Mick Location: Charles Town, WV Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 4/5 Works Well Despite Minor Fitment Issue May 14, 2013 I wanted the 480GB upgrade to further future proof my 2012 11 inch Macbook Air. However, this SSD is about 1mm too long to fit without taking out the battery. Note that this is not shown on the install video. It's a rather simple fix but if you don't know to do it, you will not be able to install the SSD. There are 5 or 6 screws holding the battery pack down. Simply remove these screws and gently lift out the battery pack. Once the battery is removed, the SSD can be installed per the install video with no clearance issues. Reinstall the battery and all is well. There were no issues with the Envoy Kit and the OEM SSD installed perfectly.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 480GB OWC Aura Pro 6G SSD + Envoy Kit for MacBook Air 2012: Complete Solution with Enclosure.

Response from MacSales.com, Tech Support May 15, 2013 By design, removal of the battery should not be necessary. You may experience a tight fit when installing the Aura Pro into your 2012 MacBook Air. By firmly and slightly wiggling the Aura Pro's connector end into the Air's drive connector, the SSD will seat properly.
Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Greenville, SC Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Wow! incredible upgrade! May 9, 2013 After reading the reviews of the 240GB Aura Pro I was pretty excited to receive my upgrade kit less than 24 hours after ordering it (overnight delivery was surprisingly inexpensive from IL to SC). When it was all said and done, the reality far exceeded my already high expectations!

RIght after ordering the kit, I watched the upgrade video, which was thorough, relevant and easy to understand. The kit arrived at my front door about 18 hours after ordering it and included everything as described plus instructions. The Envoy drive housing is built extremely well. The aluminum construction and design makes it look like an OEM Apple product, very impressive. The included tools are high quality as well, and most importantly, are the right size and magnetized to keep you from losing those screws. Installation was a snap, no issues with fit or sizing.

I was a little worried about transferring data from my old hard drive (the 64GB Toshiba OEM) but as it turns out, this process was the most impressive part of the whole upgrade. Plug the Envoy into a USB port, power up the Macbook and hold Command+R (don't forget to reconnect the battery!! I forgot first time around!) and you are in recovery. Steps for me were as follows, and I didn't need to use Time Machine: 1. Restore Menu 2. Partition tab, partition Aura Pro (if you aren't sure what settings, just duplicate the settings for the previous drive) 3. Restore tab, select source, which is the volume you are copying from (ie Macintosh HD) not the physical drive itself. Destination is the partition you just created on the new drive. Click apply. 4. Make a sandwich and grab a beer. 5. Come back and be completely surprised that the process is already complete.

I only had about 40GB on the factory 64GB used, but no joke, the entire process from the time I turned my Macbook off until turning it back on with the new drive was about 25 minutes, which included me fumbling around in restore settings for a few minutes.

There are plenty of reviews on how fast the Aura Pro is, but a real world relation is me now being able to play Portal 2 with just about maxed settings while Chrome with 10+ tabs open in the background + Itunes downloading a movie. Previously Portal 2 would get choppy if I moved my view too quickly.

I am so glad I decided to purchase this upgrade, instead of being a glorified Chromebook, my Macbook Air can now be my primary system, thanks OWC!

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Pittsburgh, PA Age: 25-34 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Quality product March 16, 2013 I was close to maxing out the stock 128GB MBA SSD so I opted for the 240GB SSD from OWC. Everything from the ordering process to the shipping to the product itself was first class. Installation was a breeze with the help of OWC's videos and I was pleasantly surprised to see a noticeable performance bump in my MBA. The enclosure for the old SSD was first class as well. I would absolutely recommend this product to everyone with a 2012 MBA. It is well worth it. Buy with confidence.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Age: 18-24 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 2/5 This product has some defects January 15, 2013 When I got my SSD, it didn't fit in to my air. It was less than 1mm too long, but long enough that I had to modify the SSD to get it to fit.

When I put my original SSD in the Envoy, it only worked sometimes. I noticed when I plugged in the USB cable at the Envoy end, there was some sparking. I did some investigating and found out the case of the Envoy had voltage on it. See my youtube video for a quick diagnosis of this issue.

I think both of these are design flaws that should be addressed.

That said, once I got everything working, I'm fairly happy. The new SSD gets about the same write speed as the original, but the read speed is a small bit under double that of the original. The original SSD gets the same R/W speeds in the Envoy as it did internal in the Air.

Customer Video: View "voltage on the case video" on YouTube

OWC 240GB Aura™ Pro
Solid State Drive and Envoy Storage Solution
Mfr P/N: OWCSSDAP2A6K240 OWC SKU: OWCSSDAP2A6K240 for MacBook Air 2012 Edition SSD: 5 Year OWC SSD Limited Warranty
Envoy: 1 Year OWC Brand Standard Limited Warranty
Sold Out
Additional Capacities: SSD Only
  • 250GB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $79.99
    • OWC Price $74.99
  • 500GB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $109.99
    • OWC Price $104.99
  • 1.0TB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $199.99
    • OWC Price $194.99
Upgrade Kit w/ SSD, Tools & Envoy Enclosure
  • 250GB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $109.99
    • Bundle Priced for $99.75
  • 500GB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $139.99
    • Bundle Priced for $129.75
  • 1.0TB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $229.99
    • Bundle Priced for $219.99