Free Shipping available on most orders $49.00 & up.

Get Details. »

We're sorry, but this item is no longer for sale. However, there may be more Internal Hard Drives and SSD items available.

We recommend (*) 120GB Mercury Electra 3G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 3.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive (Mfr P/N: SSD7E3G120) from Other World Computing for $22.75 as a suitable alternative.

This was a used product listing. For more great deals on Open Box, Refurbished and Used items, keep an eye on our Garage Sale page. Or join our email list and be the first to know when new items become available!

OWC

120GB
Mercury Electra™ 3G SSD
2.5" Serial-ATA 9.5mm Solid State Drive

For High Speed Personal Computing, Home/Office, Gaming, and Personal Photography.
3 Year OWC SSD Limited Warrantyy
When only the fastest and most reliable Solid State Drive on the market today will suffice for your data storage and backup, look no further than the OWC 120GB Mercury Electra 3G SSD.
 
The Mercury SSD line features:
  • DuraWrite™ extends the endurance of your Solid State Drive (SSD).
  • Intelligent Block Management & Wear Leveling automatically distributes data evenly across the entire SSD.
  • Intelligent Read Disturb Management spreads the active read/write across the flash components eliminating data corruption caused by constant use.
  • Intelligent "Recycling" for advanced free space management gradually re-writes data across the SSD over time to ensure data never gets corrupted.
  • RAISE™ (Redundant Array of Independent Silicon Elements) protects the data on your drive similar to having a RAID setup.
  • Best-in-Class ECC Protection for longest data retention and drive life.
No Risk, No Hassle 30-Day Money Back Guarantee.
For more information on OWC return policies, click here.

This internal 2.5" SATA SSD delivers the highest transfer speed, endurance, and performance available today.

With sustained reads up to 285MB/s and writes up to 275MB/s, up to 100X greater data protection than enterprise class Hard Disk Drives, and RAISE technology for RAID like data protection and reliability, the OWC 120GB Mercury Electra 3G SSD line delivers unbeatable performance. It's also designed and built in the U.S. from domestic and imported parts and backed by a 3 Year OWC SSD Limited Warranty.
High Performance Internal Storage
Replace your conventional hard drive with a reliable solid state drive. Unlike traditional hard disk drives, OWC SSDs have no moving parts, resulting in a quiet, cool, and highly rugged storage solution that also offers near instantaneous system response.
This OWC SSD Model is compatible with nearly any Mac or PC model with a Serial ATA connection (SATA, SATA 2.0, or SATA 3.0) including: Learn how to find your Mac's model ID
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (15-inch 2012)
(June, 2012)
Model ID: MacBookPro9,1
2.3GHz, 2.6GHz, 2.7GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (13-inch 2012)
(June, 2012)
Model ID: MacBookPro9,2
2.5GHz, 2.9GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (17-inch 2011)
(October, 2011)
Model ID: MacBookPro8,3
2.4GHz, 2.5GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (15-inch 2011)
(October, 2011)
Model ID: MacBookPro8,2
2.2GHz, 2.4GHz, 2.5GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (13-inch 2011)
(October, 2011)
Model ID: MacBookPro8,1
2.4GHz, 2.8GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (17-inch Early 2011)
(February, 2011)
Model ID: MacBookPro8,3
2.2GHz, 2.3GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (15-inch Early 2011)
(February, 2011)
Model ID: MacBookPro8,2
2.0GHz, 2.2GHz, 2.3GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (13-inch Early 2011)
(February, 2011)
Model ID: MacBookPro8,1
2.3GHz, 2.7GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (17-inch Mid 2010)
(April, 2010)
Model ID: MacBookPro6,1
2.53GHz, 2.66GHz, 2.8GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (15-inch Mid 2010)
(April, 2010)
Model ID: MacBookPro6,2
2.4GHz, 2.53GHz, 2.66GHz, 2.8GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (13-inch Mid 2010)
(April, 2010)
Model ID: MacBookPro7,1
2.4GHz, 2.66GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (17-inch Mid 2009)
(June, 2009)
Model ID: MacBookPro5,2
2.8GHz, 3.06GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (15-inch Mid 2009)
(June, 2009)
Model ID: MacBookPro5,4
2.53GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (15-inch Mid 2009)
(June, 2009)
Model ID: MacBookPro5,3
2.66GHz, 2.8GHz, 3.06GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (13-inch Mid 2009)
(June, 2009)
Model ID: MacBookPro5,5
2.26GHz, 2.53GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (15-inch Early 2009)
(March, 2009)
Model ID: MacBookPro5,1
2.66GHz 2.93GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (15-inch Early 2009)
(March, 2009)
Model ID: MacBookPro5,1
2.66GHz 2.93GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (17-inch Early 2009)
(January, 2009)
Model ID: MacBookPro5,2
2.66GHz, 2.93GHz
MacBook Pro
MacBook Pro (17-inch Late 2008)
(October, 2008)
Model ID: MacBookPro4,1
2.5GHz, 2.6GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (15-inch Late 2008)
(October, 2008)
Model ID: MacBookPro5,1
2.4GHz, 2.53GHz, 2.66GHz 2.8GHz
MacBook Pro
MacBook Pro (17-inch Early 2008)
(February, 2008)
Model ID: MacBookPro4,1
2.5GHz, 2.6GHz
MacBook Pro
MacBook Pro (15-inch Early 2008)
(February, 2008)
Model ID: MacBookPro4,1
2.4GHz, 2.5GHz, 2.6GHz
MacBook Pro
MacBook Pro (17-inch Mid/Late 2007)
(June, 2007)
Model ID: MacBookPro3,1
2.4GHz, 2.6GHz
MacBook Pro
MacBook Pro (15-inch Mid/Late 2007)
(June, 2007)
Model ID: MacBookPro3,1
2.2GHz, 2.4GHz, 2.6GHz
MacBook Pro
MacBook Pro (17-inch Core 2 Duo)
(October, 2006)
Model ID: MacBookPro2,1
2.33GHz
MacBook Pro
MacBook Pro (15-inch Core 2 Duo)
(October, 2006)
Model ID: MacBookPro2,2
2.16GHz, 2.33GHz
MacBook Pro
MacBook Pro (15-inch Glossy)
(May, 2006)
Model ID: MacBookPro1,1
2.0GHz, 2.16GHz
MacBook Pro
MacBook Pro (17-inch)
(April, 2006)
Model ID: MacBookPro1,2
2.16GHz
MacBook Pro
MacBook Pro (15-inch)
(January, 2006)
Model ID: MacBookPro1,1
1.83GHz, 2.0GHz, 2.16GHz
MacBook White Unibody
MacBook (Mid 2010)
(May, 2010)
Model ID: MacBook7,1
2.4GHz
MacBook White Unibody
MacBook (Late 2009)
(October, 2009)
Model ID: MacBook6,1
2.26Ghz
MacBook
MacBook (Mid 2009)
(May, 2009)
Model ID: MacBook5,2
2.13GHz
MacBook
MacBook (Early 2009)
(January, 2009)
Model ID: MacBook5,2
2.0GHz
MacBook
MacBook (Late 2008)
(October, 2008)
Model ID: MacBook4,1
2.1GHz
MacBook Unibody
MacBook (Late 2008)
(October, 2008)
Model ID: MacBook5,1
2.0GHz, 2.4GHz
MacBook
MacBook (Early 2008)
(February, 2008)
Model ID: MacBook4,1
2.1GHz, 2.4GHz
MacBook
MacBook (Late 2007)
(November, 2007)
Model ID: MacBook3,1
2.0GHz, 2.2GHz
MacBook
MacBook (Mid 2007)
(May, 2007)
Model ID: MacBook2,1
2.0GHz, 2.16GHz
MacBook
MacBook (Late 2006)
(November, 2006)
Model ID: MacBook2,1
1.83GHz, 2.0GHz
MacBook
MacBook
(May, 2006)
Model ID: MacBook1,1
1.83GHz, 2.0GHz
Mac mini Intel
Mac mini (Late 2012)
(October, 2012)
Model ID: Macmini6,1 & Macmini6,2
2.3GHz, 2.5GHz, 2.6GHz
Mac mini Intel
Mac mini (Late 2012 Server)
(October, 2012)
Model ID: Macmini6,2
2.3GHz, 2.6GHz
Mac mini Intel
Mac mini (Mid 2011)
(July, 2011)
Model ID: Macmini5,1 & Macmini5,2
2.3GHz, 2.5GHz, 2.7GHz
Mac mini Intel
Mac mini (Mid 2011 Server)
(July, 2011)
Model ID: Macmini5,3
2.0GHz
Mac mini Intel
Mac mini (Mid 2010)
(June, 2010)
Model ID: Macmini4,1
2.4GHz, 2.66GHz
Mac mini Intel
Mac mini (Mid 2010 Server)
(June, 2010)
Model ID: Macmini4,1
2.66GHz
Mac mini Intel
Mac mini (Early 2009)
(March, 2009)
Model ID: Macmini3,1
2.0GHz, 2.26GHz
Mac mini Intel
Mac mini (Late 2009 Server)
(October, 2009)
Model ID: Macmini3,1
2.53GHz
Mac mini Intel
Mac mini (Late 2009)
(October, 2009)
Model ID: Macmini3,1
2.26GHz, 2.53GHz, 2.66GHz
Mac mini Intel
Mac mini (Mid 2007)
(August, 2007)
Model ID: Macmini2,1
1.83GHz, 2.0GHz
Mac mini Intel
Mac mini (Early 2006)
(February, 2006)
Model ID: Macmini1,1
1.5GHz, 1.66GHz
Mac Pro
Mac Pro
(August, 2006)
Model ID: MacPro1,1
2.0GHz, 2.66GHz, 3.0GHz
Mac Pro
Mac Pro (8-core)
(April, 2007)
Model ID: MacPro2,1
3.0GHz
Mac Pro
Mac Pro (Early 2008)
(January, 2008)
Model ID: MacPro3,1
2.8GHz, 3.0GHz, 3.2GHz
Mac Pro
Mac Pro 4-Core (Early 2009)
(March, 2009)
Model ID: MacPro4,1
2.66GHz, 2.93GHz, 3.33GHz
Mac Pro
Mac Pro 8-Core (Early 2009)
(March, 2009)
Model ID: MacPro4,1
2.26GHz, 2.66GHz, 2.93GHz
Mac Pro
Mac Pro 4-Core (Mid 2010)
(July, 2010)
Model ID: MacPro5,1
2.8GHz, 3.2GHz
Mac Pro
Mac Pro 6-Core (Mid 2010)
(July, 2010)
Model ID: MacPro5,1
3.33GHz
Mac Pro
Mac Pro 8-Core (Mid 2010)
(July, 2010)
Model ID: MacPro5,1
2.4GHz
Mac Pro
Mac Pro 4-Core (Mid 2012)
(June, 2012)
Model ID: MacPro5,1
3.2GHz
Mac Pro
Mac Pro 6-Core (Mid 2012)
(June, 2012)
Model ID: MacPro5,1
3.33GHz
Mac Pro
Mac Pro 12-Core (Mid 2012)
(June, 2012)
Model ID: MacPro5,1
2.4GHz, 2.66GHz, 3.06GHz
Xserve Intel
Xserve Quad-Core (Early 2009)
(April, 2009)
Model ID: Xserve3,1
2.26GHz
Xserve Intel
Xserve 8-Core (Early 2009)
(April, 2009)
Model ID: Xserve3,1
2.26GHz, 2.66GHz, 2.93GHz

Release Candidate (RC) firmware set

There are two kinds of firmware for SSDs Mass Production (MP) and Release Candidate (RC). Prior to an MP firmware release, there are beta firmware releases and an RC firmware release. Often, the RC is the same as the MP release, however there can be small changes and bug fixes made between the two. OWC has evaluated the RC for the 6Gb/s SandForce 2281 Processor and found it to be stable with no issues reported during our testing. However, as with any evolutionary product, issues may surface as different usages and configurations are employed and it is important to understand that there will be further updates and revisions.

Since no firmware update is currently offered for the OWC Mercury EXTREME Pro 6G SSD, no update page exists. To see the typical steps involved with a self performed field firmware update, please visit our 3Gb/s product update page at: http://eshop.macsales.com/Customized_Pages/Framework.cfm?page=sf_firmware.html

It is important to note that the current firmware update tool requires the use of Windows XP/Vista/7. OWC is currently working on a Mac OS based update tool, but we do not have an exact availability date.

120GB Mercury Electra 3G SSD Specifications:

Specifications

Controller
SandForce 2181 Series Processor with 7% Over Provisioning
NAND
Tier 1 Asynchronous MLC NAND Flash Memory
Form Factor
Standard 9.5mm 2.5"
Interface
SATA 3Gb/s
Capacity1
120GB useable capacity
Total Flash Memory Components – 128GB
8GB allocated to real-time data redundancy & error correction
Formatted Capacity2
111GiB
RAID Support
Qualified for single drive and multiple drive production workstation RAID 0/1/10/0+1 and SPAN usage.
SMART Attributes
Standard5
Native Command Queuing
up to 32 commands
Manufacturer Model Number
OWCSSDEX3G120
RoHS Compliant
Yes
Format

Physical

Height (max)
7mm (.276″)
Width (max)
70.06mm (2.758″)
Length (max)
100.12mm (3.941″)
Weight
77g (0.170 lbs.)

Reliability3

Data Reliability
ECC Recovery: Up to 55 bytes correctable per 512-byte sector
Security
Chip Based Data Encryption: 128-bit AES-compliant
TRIM Support
OS Dependent
Nonrecoverable Read Errors
Less than 1 sector per 1016 bits read
Warranty
3 Year OWC SSD Limited Warranty
(Standard return policy applies.)

Performance

Sustained
Reads (up to)
285MB/s
Sustained
Writes (up to)
275MB/s
Read Incompressible
Data Rate (up to)
208MB/s
Write Incompressible
Data Rate (up to)
235MB/s
Random 4K Read4
Up to 60,000 IOPS
Random 4K Write4
Up to 60,000 IOPS
Read Latency
less than 0.1ms
Write Latency
less than 0.1ms
Read Latency
less than 0.1ms

Environmental (Operating)

Temperature (°F)
32°F to 158°F
Temperature (°C)
0°C to 70°C

Environmental (Non-Operating)

Temperature (°F)
-67°F to 302°F
Temperature (°C)
-55°C to 150°C

Acoustics

Idle (Typical)
0.0 bels
Seek (Typical)
0.0 bels
  1. 1GB = 1,000,000,000 bytes. Total accessible capacity varies depending upon operating environment (typically 5-10% less). The actual total capacity will depend on your own defined file settings/preferences. 
  2. In terms of standard gigabytes, 1GiB ≈ 1.074GB and refers to the actual formatted capacity of shown under Mac OS 10.5 or earlier and Microsoft Windows OS.
  3. Specific application environments such as temperature and duty cycle will affect the overall reliability.
  4. Specifications provided by SandForce.
  5. Temperature reporting is currently an unsupported feature because due to the operating characteristics of SSDs, it is highly unlikely one would ever exceed an OWC Mercury SSD's stated operating temperature ceiling of 158F/70C. However, we are looking into supporting this feature in the future via a firmware update. Firmware updates can be found here: http://eshop.macsales.com/tech_center/OWC/SSD.
Manufacturer provided specifications for Other World Computing p/n OWCSSDEX3G120 UPC#: 736211771452

Gallery

Customer Ratings

Write a Review 4.9 / 5 261 out of 273 (96%) reviewers would recommend this product
1 2 3 4 5 6 7
Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: houston, tx Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Works perfectly June 2, 2015 Works great.

It did not automatically go into set up mode as I had expected it to after reading that OWC drives are set up to do. I did get it going with disc utility just fine and then it went online to download Yosemite.

I'm glad the staff was available to talk to when I bought it so it matched my older Mac Pro.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 480GB Mercury Electra 3G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 3.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: WA STATE Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 My second SSD works great as outboard with 10.10 May 22, 2015 Back in April 2012, I purchased my first SSD- also 120GB electra 3G to replace internal HD. After cloning and running it as an external for a month or two, Installed it into my Mini. Major reduction in boot times, and to date flawless running 10.8.5. This second one is running via firewire as outboard and after cloning the 10.8.5, I upgraded it to Yosemite 10.10. No problem. Ive partitioned both into 4 discs plus a boot disc of 30 GB. That way when I back up the 4 data disks weekly via Airport- USB to WD 1 terabyte discs, it goes without a hitch and takes a few minutes at most. Eventually after a few months more of 10.10 outboard I will then run my mini on 10.10. Price is right, installation is easy with videos. Equivalent on a ' best buy' IMHO.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from (*) 120GB Mercury Electra 3G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 3.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

Top 50 Contributor
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Camarillo, CA Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 480GB SSD HD May 9, 2015 Purchased this 480 GB SSD HD for use on my 2011 2.3, 13" MacBookPro. I backed up my data using Carbon Copy, copied it over and started it up on the new SSD following Apple/Mac instructions for startup disk. Big improvement in terms of startup in comparison to 500GB 5400 HD. Works well with Adobe Phtotoshop as little to no buffering/ lag time. I would recommend this to anyone. Been using this SSD HD for three years now, no problem.When I purchased this SSD HD the price was higher but for those interested now price has dropped so much better purchase for typical user. You will notice a difference.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 480GB Mercury Electra 3G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 3.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous
Rating: 5/5 Excellent! April 28, 2015 Old Macbook is working better than new with Mint 17 and the SSD. I followed a bunch of optimization instructions, but I'm unaware as to whether I got any big performance gains. . there's a long boot time, but suspend is working very well so I dont shut down very often anyhow. I'm ready to replace my desktop system drives with SSDs now. OWC was prompt, helpful and honest all the way from shopping to shipping and I will def use them again!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 60GB Mercury Electra 3G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 3.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Bangalore,India
Rating: 4/5 So far so good April 28, 2015 Its been more than a month since I started using this ssd on my 2008 model macbook and really its very good experience so far. Shipping to India was very quick after purchase, glad to get it with in 10 days from US. Installation also was very simple. And ever since this ssd is inside, macbook (2008) is running like a new one, boots with in 10 seconds, loads apps very quickly. Currently running Mavericks, in which I haven't experienced any crash/freeze so far. I hope it works the same way for long time. Thanks OWC for this great product.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 240GB Mercury Electra 3G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 3.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

Verified Buyer Top 250 Contributor
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Norway Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Execellent April 23, 2015 I am very satisfied with the purchased from OWC , and execellent support. I can recomend overs to by you products, regards from Finn, from Norway.

This review is from 240GB Mercury Electra 3G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 3.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous
Rating: 5/5 Great SSD April 21, 2015 The decision to upgrade from an old mechanical drive to this new SSD is proving to be a good one. The installation was easy and the data transfer went smoother than anticipated which was probably due to the info posted on the OWC web site. This is my first SSD with no regrets. Boot up time as well as power down time is greatly reduced. So far everything appears more stable than with the old mechanical drive. Im sure it will last a long time. Thanks OWC.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 240GB Mercury Electra 3G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 3.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Northfield, CT Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 Like a new Mac April 20, 2015 I am a novice when it comes to installing and updating hardware. I purchased this Solid State Drive, watched the video for installation and had a little problem. I called tech support and my computer was up and running in minutes. Great company!! Thank you!!!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 480GB Mercury Electra 3G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 3.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Puerto Rico Age: 35-44 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 BEST COMPANY IN THE MARCKET!!!!!!!!!!!! April 9, 2015 AWESOME SSD!!! EXTREAM Performance!!!! Because your are the best in the market!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! R&D Department is AWESOME!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Never an issue in ANY Client!!! With you almost 7 years!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 480GB Mercury Electra 3G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 3.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: NYC Age: 45-54 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Perfection! April 3, 2015 What can I say... When I order from OWC I expect everything to be perfect. And it was! Arrived on time and worked as promised. However, let us not forget that OWC provides a wealth of information prior to purchasing. You guys simply rock!

I have told everyone at work about OWC. Thank you!!! (ok, I might have copied my previous review.. A bit :)

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 480GB Mercury Electra 3G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 3.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Melbourne, Australia Age: 35-44 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Good value SSD April 2, 2015 Good value - works great, has given new life to an old 2009 iMac.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 240GB Mercury Electra 3G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 3.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Queens, NY Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Very efficient drive March 30, 2015 Very quick boot time. Definite boost in my macbook performance

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 240GB Mercury Electra 3G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 3.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: RI Age: Over 65 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Super SSD March 28, 2015 Replaced original drive in a 2007 iMac with this SSD. Required an inexpensive adapter (3.5" to 2.5"), and some adjustment to match the short hookup cables in the iMac. Cloned the old drive onto the new, and the increased speed was eyewatering! Highly recommend to get a few more years out of the oldies but goodies. Fine product at a great price. One month in, happy so far.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 240GB Mercury Electra 3G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 3.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Sanford NC Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Excellent quality and servicee March 27, 2015 With the help of the sales tech we chose a replacement ssd hd. It arrived promptly, well packaged, and complete as to parts. Good instructions, and great performance.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 240GB Mercury Electra 3G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 3.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: High Point, NC
Rating: 4/5 It's Like a New Machine March 27, 2015 My old mac mini struggled to open Yosemite so I had OWC install the OS on a 120GB SSD. Wow, what a positive performance difference. I would recommend that you contact OWC before placing an order to receive their advice on the size SSD you should order based on your requirements.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from (*) 120GB Mercury Electra 3G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 3.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Singapore Age: 25-34
Rating: 4/5 The SSD boost my mac performance, it makes everything smooth. March 20, 2015 Even though a lot of troubles happened during the installation of OSX Yosemite, finally after successfully installed on the SSD, I am very satisfied with the performance. It drastically increase the boot time, and make launching and using apps faster.

However, there are a few things frustrate me during the installation. 1. A screw driver is required to replace current HDD to SSD. And that is a special screw(I think call hex key or what...), the usual screw driver can't fit. Since I have no idea(experience) about this, I have to order the screw driver from local store when I receive the SSD. 2. The office installation DVD purchased from Apple store can't detect the SSD(at least in my case). This made me think the SSD is broken at first and almost start proceeding the replacement process. Luckily I try to create a USB installer in the last minutes and using it, SSD can be detected during installation. 3. The OSX Yosemite usb installer caused problem during installation. After "About a second remaining", it waits for some minutes and showing "About 0 seconds remaining" and subsequently shows error message. I searched internet and try all the methods found, but no one succeed. 4. After several hours keep repeating and installation, I eventually give up and use my windows pc to make a OSX 10.6.8 USB installer. And this installer works great, all the installation finished quickly. After that, upgrading to OSX 10.10 is also just easy and smooth.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from (*) 120GB Mercury Electra 3G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 3.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Port Alberni, B.C., Canada Age: Over 65 Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Fast March 15, 2015 The company that installed this SSD into my iMac 2006 model and was quoted by a computer installer as saying it turned on to main screen "insanely fast". Still upgrading so as to keep this computer humming along but I know that sooner or later I will have to upgrade. Very very happy with the SSD. Totally recommend installing this in any computer.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 240GB Mercury Electra 3G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 3.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Shenandoah Valley, VA Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 3-4 months
Rating: 5/5 Rocket Man March 12, 2015 My MacBook had gotten to the point where it was taking almost two minutes to boot up. Programs like Skype, for example, were taking 90 seconds to load. After upgrading the RAM along with installing the Mercury SSD, it now boots in 12 seconds and Skype loads in 4 seconds. Processes in general are much much faster. I am not an experienced computer technician--replacing the RAM and hard drive was straightforward and easy following OWC's directions. My 8 year old MacBook is now a very fast machine, and going this route easily saved me $1000 or more by extending the service life of my laptop.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 240GB Mercury Electra 3G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 3.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Best drive for a 2010 Mac Pro March 5, 2015 All I can say is WOW! This drive is super fast. Boot times are just a few seconds and programs load up so fast! I was using a Crucial SSD and boot up time was much longer for same reason. Ever since Apple announced no third party TRIM support in Yosemite I went ahead and made the switch to this drive for future proof operation. Get this drive, you will will be very pleased with its performance, especially considering it is the older SATA 2 spec.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 480GB Mercury Electra 3G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 3.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: NJ Age: 18-24 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 2008 macbook pro AMAZING February 27, 2015 I put this in my MacBook Pro and I can't believe the difference. I also upgraded the RAM to 6GB from 2GB. I think I'm going to put SSD's in every computer in my household! The only issue I had was the screw to remove my old hard drive was stripped, so I had to cut it out with a dremel.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 480GB Mercury Electra 3G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 3.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Fort Worth, Texas Age: Over 65 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 It works as advertised February 27, 2015 I use this drive in an OWC Express enclosure as a "repair drive" and it is a bit disconcerting when a Mac boots and runs faster from the external repair drive than from the internal HD. Even better, my "repair drive" fits handily into a shirt pocket.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from (*) 120GB Mercury Electra 3G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 3.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Australia Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Speed speed speed February 26, 2015 What a different. My 2009 MacBook Pro has gone from painfully slow to lightening quick. I also have a new Air- which seemed quicker before the upgrade notwithstanding the much better specs on the Pro. All has changed now. Well worth it. Great service as well. Received in Australia within days.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 480GB Mercury Electra 3G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 3.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Whiteville, NC Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Supercharge Your Macbook February 26, 2015 I ordered a larger one of these for my Mac Pro 1,1 and left a review for it, said I'd probably buy one for everything in my house that had a hard drive. Well... I ordered this drive for my Macbook Pro 7,1 and here's my review...

Why Apple ever shipped this laptop with a 5300rpm drive is beyond me. This SSD has to be at least 5 times faster than the original drive, boot time is almost nonexistent running Yosemite. Installing it is a breeze, make a Time Machine backup prior and there will be no headache. If you like your Macbook with the factory drive, you'll love it with one of these, I am amazed at the speed of SSD drives. I use external storage for keeping my files, so I only needed a small drive for my actual OS install, makes TM backups quick and easy.

Shipping - well... fairly quick and they package your stuff with care. I'd like to see faster ship times cause I have zero patience and want it NOW but once it leaves OWC, well... they can't control the shipping service/weather.

In short, regardless of which size SSD you need/want, OWC is the place to buy it. I mean, they're made for Mac's by people who eat, sleep and breathe Mac's. I'm partial to Samsung EVO drives but never bought one, won't ever buy one either because I'll be buying Mercury Electra drives instead. Like the roofing commercials say, get off your asphalt, buy one of these drives. If your Mac can support faster transfer speeds, get one of the faster versions, I can only imagine the speed increase...

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 60GB Mercury Electra 3G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 3.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Fairfax, VA Age: Over 65 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Very useful Mac Mini upgrade to SSD February 24, 2015 My older model (2009) Mac Mini was slow...needed more memory and faster storage. Memory upgrade was trivial using helpful OWC videos. Physical install of SSD was also very easy following very complete instructional videos. Process for archiving and reinstalling OS and user data could have been a bit more complete for various upgrade scenarios, as I did an OS upgrade as well and also had a Time Machine disk for backup. The sequence of operations to complete the install should be a bit more clear about when & how to format the SSD and reinstall or update the OS and user data; since these drives are basically sold for Macs, it might be helpful for OWC to offer pre-formatted drives.

Ultimately I got everything working, and the end result of better memory and fast SSD resulted in great performance improvement...no need really for faster processor for this system & the work we do on it.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 240GB Mercury Electra 3G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 3.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous
Rating: 5/5 Give my 2010 iMac another few years life February 23, 2015 My 2010 iMac was getting really slow. It was taking nearly 2 minutes to fully boot from apple chime to usable.

Pretty easy to fit, using the iFixit instructions, and now boots in just under 30 seconds. Not bad at all for a SATA 2 computer.

Great for the money.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from (*) 120GB Mercury Electra 3G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 3.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.