Free Shipping available on most orders $49.00 & up.

Get Details. »

We're sorry, but this item is no longer for sale. However, there may be more Internal Hard Drives and SSD items available.

We recommend 240GB Mercury Electra 6G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 6.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive (Mfr P/N: SSD7E6G240) from Other World Computing for $129.50 as a suitable alternative.

OWC

240GB
Mercury Electra™ 6G SSD
2.5" Serial-ATA 9.5mm Solid State Drive

For High Speed Personal Computing, Home Office, Gaming, and Personal Photography.
3 Year Warranty
When only the fastest and most reliable Solid State Drive on the market today will suffice for your data storage and backup, look no further than the OWC 240GB Mercury Electra 6G SSD.
 
The Mercury SSD line features:
  • DuraWrite™ extends the endurance of your Solid State Drive (SSD).
  • Intelligent Block Management & Wear Leveling automatically distributes data evenly across the entire SSD.
  • Intelligent Read Disturb Management spreads the active read/write across the flash components eliminating data corruption caused by constant use.
  • Intelligent "Recycling" for advanced free space management gradually re-writes data across the SSD over time to ensure data never gets corrupted.
  • RAISE™ (Redundant Array of Independent Silicon Elements) protects the data on your drive similar to having a RAID setup.
  • Best-in-Class ECC Protection for longest data retention and drive life.
No Risk, No Hassle 30-Day Money Back Guarantee.
For more information on OWC return policies, click here.

This internal 2.5" SATA SSD delivers the highest transfer speed, endurance, and performance available today.

With sustained reads up to 556MB/s and writes up to 523MB/s, up to 100X greater data protection than enterprise class Hard Disk Drives, and RAISE technology for RAID like data protection and reliability, the OWC 240GB Mercury Electra 6G SSD line delivers unbeatable performance. It's also designed and built in the U.S. from domestic and imported parts and backed by a three year warranty.
High Performance Internal Storage
Replace your conventional hard drive with a reliable solid state drive. Unlike traditional hard disk drives, OWC SSDs have no moving parts, resulting in a quiet, cool, and highly rugged storage solution that also offers near instantaneous system response.
This OWC 6G SSD Model is compatible with nearly any Mac or PC model with a Serial ATA connection (SATA, SATA 2.0, or SATA 3.0) including:
  • All Mac Pro "silver tower" models
  • All MacBook Pro models NOTE exceptions below
  • All Mac mini 2006-Current NOTE exceptions below
  • iMac 2006-current (All Intel Models) NOTE exceptions below
  • All MacBook models NOTE model exceptions below
  • Xserve 2009
Special note for specific 2009 iMacs, 2008-2010 MacBooks, 2008-2009 MacBook Pros & 2009 Mac mini.
We highly recommend the use of a SATA 2.0 (3Gb/s) SSD such as the OWC Mercury Electra 3G for the following Macs:
iMac models with model ID:
How to find the model ID
  • iMac9,1
  • iMac10,1
  • iMac11,1
MacBook models with model ID:
How to find the model ID
  • MacBook5,1
  • MacBook5,2
  • MacBook6,1
  • MacBook7,1
MacBook Pro models with model ID:
How to find the model ID
  • MacBookPro5,1
  • MacBookPro5,2
  • MacBookPro5,3
  • MacBookPro5,4
  • MacBookPro5,5
Mac mini models with model ID:
How to find the model ID
  • Mac mini3,1
While a 6G SSD does function, it will only do so at SATA Revision 1.0 (1.5Gb/s, 150MB/s) speeds rather that the SATA Revision 2.0 (3.0Gb/s 300MB/s) speed the computer can deliver.
The Mercury Electra 3G SSD is the OWC recommended upgrade option for the Macs listed in the special note above.

Release Candidate (RC) firmware set

There are two kinds of firmware for SSDs Mass Production (MP) and Release Candidate (RC). Prior to an MP firmware release, there are beta firmware releases and an RC firmware release. Often, the RC is the same as the MP release, however there can be small changes and bug fixes made between the two. OWC has evaluated the RC for the 6Gb/s SandForce 2281 Processor and found it to be stable with no issues reported during our testing. However, as with any evolutionary product, issues may surface as different usages and configurations are employed and it is important to understand that there will be further updates and revisions.

Since no firmware update is currently offered for the OWC Mercury EXTREME Pro 6G SSD, no update page exists. To see the typical steps involved with a self performed field firmware update, please visit our 3Gb/s product update page at: http://eshop.macsales.com/Customized_Pages/Framework.cfm?page=sf_firmware.html

It is important to note that the current firmware update tool requires the use of Windows XP/Vista/7. OWC is currently working on a Mac OS based update tool, but we do not have an exact availability date.

240GB Mercury Electra 6G SSD Specifications:

Specifications

Controller
SandForce 2281 Series Processor with 7% Over Provisioning
NAND
Tier 1 Asynchronous MLC NAND Flash
Form Factor
Standard 9.5mm 2.5"
Interface
SATA 6Gb/s, 3Gb/s & 1.5Gb/s supported, SATA 3.0 Compliant
Capacity1
240GB useable capacity
Total Flash Memory Components - 256GB
16GB allocated to real-time data redundancy & error correction
Formatted Capacity2
223GiB
RAID Support
Qualified for single drive and multiple drive production workstation RAID 0/1/10/0+1 and SPAN usage.
SMART Attributes
Standard5
Native Command Queuing
up to 32 commands
Manufacturer Model Number
OWCSSDEX6G240
RoHS Compliant
Yes
Format

Physical

Height (max)
7mm (0.276″)
Width (max)
70.06mm (2.758″)
Length (max)
100.12mm (3.941″)
Weight
77 grams +/- 2 grams
0.170 lbs +/- 2.71 oz

Reliability3

Data Reliability
ECC Recovery: Up to 55 bytes correctable per 512-byte sector
Security
Chip Based Data Encryption: 128-bit AES-compliant
TRIM Support
OS Dependent
Nonrecoverable Read Errors
Less than 1 sector per 1016 bits read
Warranty
3 Year OWC SSD Limited Warranty
(Standard return policy applies.)

Performance

Sustained
Reads 6Gb/s (up to)
556MB/s
Sustained
Writes 6Gb/s (up to)
523MB/s
Sustained
Reads 3Gb/s (up to)
284MB/s
Sustained
Writes 3Gb/s (up to)
268MB/s
Read Incompressible
Data Rate (up to)
208MB/s
Write Incompressible
Data Rate (up to)
235MB/s
Random 4K Read4
Up to 60,000 IOPS
Random 4K Write4
Up to 60,000 IOPS
Read Latency
less than 0.1ms
Write Latency
less than 0.1ms

Environmental (Operating)

Temperature (°F)
32°F to 158°F
Temperature (°C)
0°C to 70°C

Environmental (Non-Operating)

Temperature (°F)
-67°F to 302°F
Temperature (°C)
-55°C to 150°C

Acoustics

Idle (Typical)
0.0 bels
Seek (Typical)
0.0 bels
  1. 1GB = 1,000,000,000 bytes. Total accessible capacity varies depending upon operating environment (typically 5-10% less). The actual total capacity will depend on your own defined file settings/preferences. 
  2. In terms of standard gigabytes, 1GiB ≈ 1.074GB and refers to the actual formatted capacity of shown under Mac OS 10.5 or earlier and Microsoft Windows OS.
  3. Specific application environments such as temperature and duty cycle will affect the overall reliability.
  4. Specifications provided by SandForce.
  5. Temperature reporting is currently an unsupported feature because due to the operating characteristics of SSDs, it is highly unlikely one would ever exceed an OWC Mercury SSD's stated operating temperature ceiling of 158F/70C. However, we are looking into supporting this feature in the future via a firmware update. Firmware updates can be found here: http://eshop.macsales.com/tech_center/OWC/SSD.
Manufacturer provided specifications for Other World Computing p/n OWCSSDEX6G240 UPC#: 736211768858

Gallery

Customer Ratings

Write a Review 4.9 / 5 217 out of 229 (95%) reviewers would recommend this product
1 2 3 4 5 6 7
Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Rock63 Location: Norway Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Big upgrade November 8, 2016 GOT a new MacBook pro by exchanging my old spindisc with this ssd. Very quick shipping. Efforts less shopping.

This review is from 480GB Mercury Electra 6G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 6.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: TiredDad Location: Burlington, MA Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Fast drive, great installation instructions October 22, 2016 I put an OWC SSD and more memory into both my kids old MacBook Pro's and they are like new computers. Arrived on time in perfect condition. The installation instructions were great, I had no problem doing the upgrades.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 480GB Mercury Electra 6G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 6.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: josnk81 Location: Florida Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 This product functions as advertised October 8, 2016 I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 120GB Mercury Electra 6G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 6.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive. Customer Videos:
Verified Buyer
Reviewer: LukeJames Location: MY Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 This product is reliable,compatible and fast speed September 30, 2016 I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 480GB Mercury Electra 6G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 6.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive. Customer Videos:
Verified Buyer
Reviewer: BugHunter Age: 45-54 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Like New! September 24, 2016 My 5 year old MBP seemed to be crawling after the last couple of OS updates. Word and Excel would take minutes to launch. With the new SSD, my MBP is like new. I even got to keep my old HD nice I bought the Drive Doubler too. The hardest part was figuring out what to move to the SSD since it was smaller than my HD. I put the system, apps and docs on the SSD and it's a whole new world/

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 120GB Mercury Electra 6G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 6.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: ChrisLJ Location: SW Ohio Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 In the blink of an eye! September 4, 2016 I finally replaced the slug-slow hard drive in my Early 2011 13" MacBook Pro with this SSD. I simply can't believe the difference in speed and boot up time. I use to have to turn it on and go do something else while waiting, or just put it to sleep in the first place so I didn't have to wait.

Now it's less than 10 seconds from the time I hit the power button to the login screen coming up. Plus, once I log in it's ready to go, not slogging through all the startup routine.

With the low prices of these things and the massive improvement in performance, plus the ease of installation, it's simply crazy not to get one. Or two; dump the optical drive.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 480GB Mercury Electra 6G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 6.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: gsteinberg22 Location: Waukesha, WI Age: 25-34 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Very Happy!! August 27, 2016 My Mac mini runs cool, and is lightning fast! I am extremely happy with the ordering process and shipping securely. I recommend a SSD to anyone who is looking at a new computer, or just speed up your existing Mac mini. The staff at OWC is always very helpful when I call.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 480GB Mercury Electra 6G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 6.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Sponkynurse Location: Cleveland, GA Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Great product!! August 8, 2016 I actually didn't end up needing this but I will get a cover for the new hard drive and use it as my back up. I am sure I will need it at some point. Thanks for everything.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 480GB Mercury Electra 6G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 6.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Boston, MA Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 Works like a charm! August 4, 2016 Purchased this for my Mac Mini and put it in a data doubler.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 1.0TB Mercury Electra 6G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 6.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Foxy Location: Springfield, MO Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 They are every thing that they are said to be July 23, 2016 Very fast and dependable!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 60GB Mercury Electra 6G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 6.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive..

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Regina Saskatchewan Canada Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 3-4 months
Rating: 5/5 2nd SSD from OWC and can't say enough good things!! July 22, 2016 I purchased this SSD as a house warming gift for a friend. He has said the difference in speed and boot up times on his 2011 Macbook Pro is night and day.

Shipping to Canada is also a breeze as there is an option to have the customs fees included in the shipping cost.

Would highly recommend to anyone to use macsales.com

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 480GB Mercury Electra 6G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 6.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Nashville, TN Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 Keeps on Truckin' July 18, 2016 It's a SSD! It works!

Haha. Seriously though, I've had this for a few years without any hiccup or complaint. Installation was easy into MacPro5,1 with OWC videos and toolkit.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Atlanta,GA Age: 45-54 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 3-4 months
Rating: 5/5 Another awesome drive from MacSales July 18, 2016 This place ROCKS!

Had a drive fail once and they were very responsive and helpful.

Nothing beats a painless RMA.

All other products have worked well.

MacSales is my 1 stop Mac stuff shop.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 1.0TB Mercury Electra 6G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 6.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Pennsylvania Age: 18-24 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Great addition to 2012 MacBook Pro July 17, 2016 Installed in my 2012 13" MacBook Pro (2.5 GHz Intel Core i5), and can't believe the difference. Boot up time went from 3 minutes to 20 seconds!! Highly recommended!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 120GB Mercury Electra 6G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 6.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Takoma Park, MD Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 2011 IMAC Upgrade: Faster and much quieter June 25, 2016 Installed 1 TB SSD in my 2011 27 inch IMAC.

Much faster: haven't seen a spinning beach ball.

Much quieter: I like quiet. I hadn't realized how noisy the old mechanical hard-disk was until this replacement. (I thought the noise was coming from the external back-up drive.)

Satisfied customer.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 1.0TB Mercury Electra 6G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 6.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Age: 55-65 Owned Product: 3-4 months
Rating: 5/5 A world of difference! June 24, 2016 I put off upgrading my MacBook Pro 2012 for a long time, mainly because I did not feel ready for the leap to El Capitan from Mountain Lion. But every day it became clear that it was time to retire the Lion. I am glad I finally got around to it. The ease of installation and the enhancement in performance with an SSD drive has made a world of difference. While I have yet to fully outfit and upgrade my 'Book to all of my preferred apps, I have no "Cons" to report. The performance boost, and especially the quick boot time are refreshing!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 480GB Mercury Electra 6G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 6.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Brisbane Age: 45-54 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 3-4 months
Rating: 5/5 Good Performance June 21, 2016 Good Performance and reliability, no MEM errors

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 240GB Mercury Electra 6G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 6.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

Verified Buyer Top 100 Contributor
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Ellicott City Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 ESSD just works . . ! June 13, 2016 great product that was a snap to both install and setup. The move from one drive to the ether was faultless and fast.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from (*) 480GB Mercury Electra 6G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 6.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive. *Demo*.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: St. Paul, MN Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 I DO have one suggestion June 6, 2016 SSDs are a GREAT addition to a Mac. I do have a marketing suggestion. You should offer a kit with all the essentials for the installation -- cables, adapters, etc. WITHOUT the tools. Many of us already own those. We need to have a completely installable drive kit, but we don't want to buy the tools again.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 240GB Mercury Electra 6G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 6.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Laval, Qc Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 Amazing, Fast, Reliable, no regrets!! June 3, 2016 I had a 256 SSD in my Macbook Pro mid-2010, running the latest Yosemite, and now El Capitan, With this new replacement my read write speeds have increased. now reading 261 MB/sec and writing 215 MB/sec This Fast "old laptop" has now become faster. and is really being used as it was intended.

OWC fast shipping, easy payment, great Customer service, and Tech Support. Did the swap myself using their free online video tutorials! really took the fear out of opening up a Macbook!

Love it, Great Company! Great Products, Great People!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 1.0TB Mercury Electra 6G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 6.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

Verified Buyer Top 250 Contributor
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Toronto Age: Over 65 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 4/5 Works fine May 30, 2016 Needed to replace the cable and replaced the drive "just in case". Another case of the not so great HDD cable in the Macbook Pro series

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 480GB Mercury Electra 6G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 6.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 My Mac Mini is now as fast as a new one! May 30, 2016 I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 480GB Mercury Electra 6G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 6.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.
Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Fort Worth, Texas Age: Over 65 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Fast fast fast May 26, 2016 The summary says it all. I am very pleased with the performance of this drive.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 1.0TB Mercury Electra 6G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 6.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Alabama Age: Over 65 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 works great May 20, 2016 Silly me: I didn't realize I needed a drive sled for my Mac Pro.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 480GB Mercury Electra 6G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 6.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: North Carolina Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Blazing Speed May 18, 2016 If you are looking for something to jazz up your Mac Mini, look no further. Especially if you have a Mac Mini Server with two hard drives. You can replace your boot drive with this 120GB SSD and use the second drive as your data drive. You can find out how to move your home folder to the data drive with a simple search online. You'll never go back to using a computer booting from a rotational hard drive because you will no longer have the patience to wait for the long boot up.

If you have a Mac Mini with a single drive, you may wish to spend a bit more and get a 256GB or 512GB SSD as replacement. Buy the installation toolkit along with the drive and watch the video on the vendor's website. Easy installation and great satisfaction when you are done.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 120GB Mercury Electra 6G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 6.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.