Home » Internal Hard Drives and SSDs » OWC Mercury Extreme Pro 6G SSDs

We're sorry, but this item is no longer for sale. However, there may be more Internal Hard Drives and SSDs items available.

We recommend 480GB Mercury Extreme Pro 6G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 6.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive (Mfr P/N: SSD7P6G480) from Other World Computing for $124.88 as a suitable alternative.

OWC

480GB Mercury Extreme® Pro 6G SSD
2.5" Serial-ATA 9.5mm Solid State Drive

High-Performance Storage for Notebook
and Desktop Computers.
When only the fastest and most reliable Solid State Drive on the market today will suffice for your data storage and backup, look no further than the OWC Mercury Extreme Pro 6G SSD.
  • Get maximum mobile performance and battery life from your notebook.
  • Turn your Mac Pro or PC desktop into an EXTREME performance single drive.
The Mercury Extreme SSD line features industry leading SandForce® DuraClass™ Technologies:
  • DuraWrite™ extends the endurance of your Solid State Drive (SSD).
  • Intelligent Block Management & Wear Leveling automatically distributes data evenly across the entire SSD.
  • Intelligent Read Disturb Management spreads the active read/write across the flash components eliminating data corruption caused by constant use.
  • Intelligent "Recycling" for advanced free space management gradually re-writes data across the SSD over time to ensure data never gets corrupted.
  • RAISE™ (Redundant Array of Independent Silicon Elements) protects the data on your drive similar to having a RAID setup.
  • Best-in-Class ECC Protection for longest data retention and drive life.
No Risk, No Hassle 30-Day Money Back Guarantee.
For more information on OWC return policies, click here.

This internal 2.5" SATA SSD uses the latest SandForce 2282 Processor and DuraClass™ technology to deliver the highest transfer speed, endurance, and performance available today.

With sustained reads up to 559MB/s and writes up to 527MB/s, up to 100X greater data protection than enterprise class Hard Disk Drives, and RAISE technology for RAID like data protection and reliability, the OWC Mercury Extreme SSD line delivers unbeatable performance that's designed and built in the U.S. from domestic and imported parts and backed by a five year warranty.
High Performance Internal Storage
Replace your conventional hard drive with a reliable solid state drive. Unlike traditional hard disk drives, OWC solid state drives have no moving parts, resulting in a quiet, cool, highly rugged storage solution that also offers faster system responsiveness.
High Reliability & Protection

OWC SSDs allocate some of the drive capacity for RAISE, to provide real time data redundancy,
ECC Error Correction, and reserve cell space.

Example: A 240GB OWC Mercury Extreme Pro SSD is actually a 256GB drive with 7% of the drive's capacity allocated for data management. This management maintains the drive's high-performance and high reliability levels. Unlike many SSDs on the market today, the Mercury Pro family uses advanced DuraWrite™ wear-leveling and block management technologies to keep Read/Write performance at peak, while others see performance fall.

This OWC 6G SSD Model is compatible with nearly any Mac or PC model with a Serial ATA connection (SATA, SATA 2.0, or SATA 3.0) including:
  • All Mac Pro "silver tower" models
  • All MacBook Pro models NOTE exceptions below
  • All Mac mini 2006-Current NOTE exceptions below
  • iMac 2006-current (All Intel Models) NOTE exceptions below
  • All MacBook models NOTE model exceptions below
  • Xserve 2009
Special note for specific 2009 iMacs, 2008-2010 MacBooks, 2008-2009 MacBook Pros & 2009 Mac mini.
We highly recommend the use of a SATA 2.0 (3Gb/s) SSD such as the OWC Mercury Electra 3G for the following Macs:
iMac models with model ID:
How to find the model ID
  • iMac9,1
  • iMac10,1
  • iMac11,1
MacBook models with model ID:
How to find the model ID
  • MacBook5,1
  • MacBook5,2
  • MacBook6,1
  • MacBook7,1
MacBook Pro models with model ID:
How to find the model ID
  • MacBookPro5,1
  • MacBookPro5,2
  • MacBookPro5,3
  • MacBookPro5,4
  • MacBookPro5,5
Mac mini models with model ID:
How to find the model ID
  • Mac mini3,1
While a 6G SSD does function, it will only do so at SATA Revision 1.0 (1.5Gb/s, 150MB/s) speeds rather that the SATA Revision 2.0 (3.0Gb/s 300MB/s) speed the computer can deliver.
The Mercury Electra 3G SSD is the OWC recommended upgrade option for the Macs listed in the special note above.

Release Candidate (RC) firmware set

There are two kinds of firmware for SSDs Mass Production (MP) and Release Candidate (RC). Prior to an MP firmware release, there are beta firmware releases and an RC firmware release. Often, the RC is the same as the MP release, however there can be small changes and bug fixes made between the two. OWC has evaluated the RC for the 6Gb/s SandForce 2281 Processor and found it to be stable with no issues reported during our testing. However, as with any evolutionary product, issues may surface as different usages and configurations are employed and it is important to understand that there will be further updates and revisions.

Since no firmware update is currently offered for the OWC Mercury EXTREME Pro 6G SSD, no update page exists. To see the typical steps involved with a self performed field firmware update, please visit our 3Gb/s product update page at: http://eshop.macsales.com/Customized_Pages/Framework.cfm?page=sf_firmware.html

It is important to note that the current firmware update tool requires the use of Windows XP/Vista/7. OWC is currently working on a Mac OS based update tool, but we do not have an exact availability date.

480GB Mercury EXTREME Pro 6G SSD Specifications:

Specifications

Controller
SandForce 228x Series Processor with 7% Over Provisioning
NAND
Tier 1 Major Multi-Level Cell (MLC) High-Performance Sync-NAND Flash
Form Factor
Standard 9.5mm 2.5"
Interface
SATA 6Gb/s, 3Gb/s & 1.5Gb/s supported, SATA 3.0 Compliant
Capacity1
480GB useable capacity
Total Flash Memory Components - 512GB
32GB allocated to real-time data redundancy & error correction
Formatted Capacity2
447GiB
RAID Support
Qualified for single drive and multiple drive production workstation RAID 0/1/10/0+1 and SPAN usage.
SMART Attributes
Standard5
Native Command Queuing
up to 32 commands
Manufacturer Model Number
OWCSSDMX6G480
RoHS Compliant
Yes
Format

Physical

Height (max)
7mm (0.276″)
Width (max)
70.06mm (2.758″)
Length (max)
100.12mm (3.941″)
Weight
77 grams +/- 2 grams
0.170 lbs +/- 2.71 oz

Reliability3

Data Reliability
ECC Recovery: Up to 55 bytes correctable per 512-byte sector
Security
Chip Based Data Encryption: 128-bit AES-compliant
TRIM Support
OS Dependent
Nonrecoverable Read Errors
Less than 1 sector per 1016 bits read
Warranty
5 Year OWC SSD Limited Warranty
(Standard return policy applies.)

Performance

Sustained
Reads 6Gb/s (up to)
559MB/s
Sustained
Writes 6Gb/s (up to)
527MB/s
Sustained
Reads 3Gb/s< (up to)
284MB/s
Sustained
Writes 3Gb/s (up to)
266MB/s
Read Incompressible
Data Rate (up to)
479MB/s
Write Incompressible
Data Rate (up to)
282MB/s
Random 4K Read4
Up to 60,000 IOPS
Random 4K Write4
Up to 60,000 IOPS
Read Latency
less than 0.1ms
Write Latency
less than 0.1ms

Power

Active
Read: 3000mW (3.0W) Maximum draw
Write: 4500mW (4.5W) Maximum draw
Idle
Less than 1000mW (1.0W)

Environmental (Operating)

Temperature (°F)
32°F to 158°F
Temperature (°C)
0°C to 70°C

Environmental (Non-Operating)

Temperature (°F)
-67°F to 302°F
Temperature (°C)
-55°C to 150°C

Acoustics

Idle (Typical)
0.0 bels
Seek (Typical)
0.0 bels
  1. 1GB = 1,000,000,000 bytes. Total accessible capacity varies depending upon operating environment (typically 5-10% less). The actual total capacity will depend on your own defined file settings/preferences. 
  2. In terms of standard gigabytes, 1GiB ≈ 1.074GB and refers to the actual formatted capacity of shown under Mac OS 10.5 or earlier and Microsoft Windows OS.
  3. Specific application environments such as temperature and duty cycle will affect the overall reliability.
  4. Specifications provided by SandForce.
  5. Temperature reporting is currently an unsupported feature because due to the operating characteristics of SSDs, it is highly unlikely one would ever exceed an OWC Mercury SSD's stated operating temperature ceiling of 158F/70C. However, we are looking into supporting this feature in the future via a firmware update. Firmware updates can be found here: http://eshop.macsales.com/tech_center/OWC/SSD.
Manufacturer provided specifications for Other World Computing p/n OWCSSDMX6G480 UPC#: 736211774453

Gallery

Customer Ratings

Write a Review 4.9 / 5 107 out of 113 (95%) reviewers would recommend this product
1 2 3 4 5 6 7
Reviewer: andrewbk Location: Lawrence, KS Age: 25-34 Experience Level: Gamer Owned Product: 3-4 months
Rating: 5/5 Fantastic March 22, 2012 Received this as a gift for my custom built gaming PC just over 3 months ago. All I can say is WOW. My previous boot drives were 2 WD Caviar Blacks in RAID 0. This makes them look pathetic. OS boots maybe 15x faster, games like Skyrim no longer have load screens (If you play Skyrim you realize how insane that is), applications (word, chrome, etc.) load instantly.

Initially had problems getting it installed. Narrowed it down to a problem with my motherboard. I called the manufacturer and after being on hold for 30 minutes they were no help AT ALL and just kept telling me it had to be the drive. I called OWC to see if they could help. Someone answered the phone in about 90 seconds and the gentleman I spoke to got me up and running in 5 minutes flat.

I cannot say enough good things about this drive, if you are even considering it, stop reading and buy it.

Andrew

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from (*) 240GB Mercury Extreme Pro 6G SSD 2.5-inch 9.5mm SATA 6.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

Reviewer: Clark Location: Houston TX Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Hobbiest Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 3/5 Reliability an issue... performance sometimes an issue March 9, 2012 My experience with this drive has been disappointing from a number of perspectives. My first drive (in boot position) died after 2 weeks. So much for SSD reliability. I was traveling and without my laptop till I got home to my bootable backup. OWC replaced the drive without hassle. Now, upon upgrade to Lion, the drive has proven unreliable once again. Tech service agreed to replace the drive when it wouldn't boot, and they indicated I should have been upgrading the SSD firmware periodically via the tech support section of the OWC web site. There have been several updates including one for Lion but I could not install them because the process requires the factory installed DVD to be present, and I had used the OWC data doubler to add a second rotating hard drive. In short, I could not install the firmware updates even if I had known about them. I am waiting now for my second replacement drive, with current firmware... and am hoping for better luck in the future.

Performance is usually good, but my 7200rpm 750GB Hatachi drive write tests at 100MB/sec on uncompressed video, while my expensive SSD rates about 280MB/sec. The OWC folks show that now in their SSD testing section, but think through your price/performance and reliability assumptions before you spring for this SSD.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Donny Location: vancouver Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 FAST .... March 2, 2012 So fast 500mb/s it's made my macbookpro a speed demon ... I work with adobe and fcstudio and protools, and this SSD has been the biggest improvement yet loving it!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from (*) 240GB Mercury Extreme Pro 6G SSD 2.5-inch 9.5mm SATA 6.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: saleh
Rating: 5/5 excellent February 23, 2012 excellent quality, excellent performance very fast booting recommended

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from (*) 240GB Mercury Extreme Pro 6G SSD 2.5-inch 9.5mm SATA 6.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Calin Location: Bucharest, Romania Age: 25-34 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Unbelievably fast ! November 14, 2011 First, I need to say that I have upgraded from the 5,400 rpm standard HDD of the MacBook Pro 17" i7 to the 480GB OWC Extreme Pro and the difference was beyond anything that I imagined or expected. It feels like a completely different computer; everything happens instantly at the touch of a button. Really great buy, it totally changed the whole computer experience.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Cow007 Location: PDX Age: 25-34 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 OWC puts the Extreme in satisfaction! October 7, 2011 This is the fastest drive you can put on SATA3. It works great! With this drive my MacBook Pro boots in under 10 seconds! (And that is with file vault on!) My machine is faster than ever! The reviewers agree, there is simply NOTHING better in terms of speed and compatibility than OWC 6G SSDs. They are also pretty and include a 5 year warranty. Without a doubt this is truly a drive befitting a Unibody MacBook Pro! Thanks OWC!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 120GB Mercury Extreme Pro 6G SSD 2.5-inch 9.5mm SATA 6.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: MacZonie Location: AZ Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 4/5 Do it for your MacPro August 24, 2011 Installed it with a clean install of Lion on my MacPro 2009. Copied my Win7-64 bit VM to the SSD (Parallels 6). You would not believe the performance improvement. I didn't realize how hard disk bound the system was until the SSD was installed.

Only problem was the side-mounted screw holes were not tapped and were needed for use with the OWC Drive Sled. Consequently, the SSD is mounted with only two screws. Cost a review star!

Someone from OWC should try mounting this SSD to the blue drive sled with the supplied hardware.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from (*) 240GB Mercury Extreme Pro 6G SSD 2.5-inch 9.5mm SATA 6.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: darkchild415
Rating: 3/5 Better than standard drive July 9, 2011 No moving parts and pretty fast and efficient. The only reason I gave it 3 stars is because I read that start-up would be faster, but even after several boot ups it is still very slow on start up and the first unit I received was dead on arrival.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 120GB Mercury Extreme Pro 6G SSD 2.5-inch 9.5mm SATA 6.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

Response from MacSales.com, Marketing November 9, 2011 Sounds like you need to set the drive as your startup disk. Go to System Preferences > Startup Disk and choose the SSD as your boot drive. When OS X doesn't have this preference set, it searches the full system bus looking for the primary startup disk at startup and it does take quite a bit of time. Once set, you should see your boot time decrease dramatically.
Verified Buyer
Reviewer: slick Location: Oklahoma City, OK Age: 25-34 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Simply Amazing!... June 29, 2011 I ordered this drive Tuesday afternoon and picked the next day shipping option. I chose next day because the website stated that it will be 2 days before it ships. Well, long story short, it's Wednesday and I got my SSD!!! I thought the shipping was fast, but wow, this SSD is amazingly fast! Coming from an Intel 80GB X25-M, I wasn't expecting to see/feel a difference because the Intel was plenty fast, but the difference can be seen. I have a new 2011 MacBook Pro 15" and running this drive at 6G is great. For anyone with a laptop/computer that can run an SSD drive at 6G link, get this drive! I'm getting 500mb read and write speeds, compared to the Intel, the reads are over twice as fast and writes are over 6 times as fast! People are constantly complaining about OCZ's bad customer service, so it's almost a no brainer to get this product from OWC.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from (*) 240GB Mercury Extreme Pro 6G SSD 2.5-inch 9.5mm SATA 6.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

OWC 480GB Mercury Extreme® Pro 6G
Solid State Drive
Mfr P/N: OWCSSDMX6G480 OWC SKU: OWCSSDMX6G480 Internal 2.5" Solid State Drive 5 Year OWC Limited Warranty
Sold Out
Additional Capacities: Limited Edition Black
  • 240GB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $74.99
    • OWC Price $69.75
  • 480GB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $119.99
    • OWC Price $119.00
  • 1.0TB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $199.99
    • OWC Price $199.00
  • 2.0TB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $349.99
    • OWC Price $349.00
  • 4.0TB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $799.99
    • OWC Price $779.00