Get exclusive deals delivered to your inbox!

Start saving today. »

We're sorry, but this item is no longer for sale. However, there may be more Internal Hard Drives and SSD items available.

OWC SSD Blade Upgrade - 480GB
for Accelsior & Accelsior E2 PCI Express Cards

OWC SSD Blade Uprage - 960GB
Maximize your storage and/or backup space
by upgrading to higher capacity Accelsior blades!
Upgrading your Accelsior with higher capacity SSD blades is as easy and quick as installing a memory module. Our 'how-to' video makes this Plug and Play easy! And you can trade in your original blades for a cash back rebate.
Accelsior SSD Blade Upgrades incorporate the latest SandForce® processor with 7% over-provisioning and DuraClass™ technology to deliver best-in-class reliability, performance, and power efficiency. You'll enjoy a more responsive and productive computing experience along with cooler, quieter, and more energy efficient computer operation. SandForce RAISE™ technology provides RAID-like data redundancy protection and reliability.

Features

  • Extend your existing investment!
  • Boot, Launch, Create, and Save Faster
  • Up to 820MB/s of blistering performance
  • Up to 100,000 IOPS
  • Backed by a three-year warranty, and is designed and built in the U.S. from domestic and imported parts.

Release Candidate (RC) firmware set

There are two kinds of firmware for SSDs Mass Production (MP) and Release Candidate (RC). Prior to an MP firmware release, there are beta firmware releases and an RC firmware release. Often, the RC is the same as the MP release, however there can be small changes and bug fixes made between the two. OWC has evaluated the RC for the 6Gb/s SandForce 2281 Processor and found it to be stable with no issues reported during our testing. However, as with any evolutionary product, issues may surface as different usages and configurations are employed and it is important to understand that there will be further updates and revisions.

Since no firmware update is currently offered for the OWC Mercury EXTREME Pro 6G SSD, no update page exists. To see the typical steps involved with a self performed field firmware update, please visit our 3Gb/s product update page at: http://eshop.macsales.com/Customized_Pages/Framework.cfm?page=sf_firmware.html

It is important to note that the current firmware update tool requires the use of Windows XP/Vista/7. OWC is currently working on a Mac OS based update tool, but we do not have an exact availability date.

480GB SSD Blade Specifications:

Specifications

Controller
Dual LSI® SandForce SF-228x series processors with 7% Over Provisioning
NAND
Tier 1 Major Multi-Level Cell (MLC) High-Performance Sync-NAND Flash
Capacity1
2 x 240GB blades for 480GB
Total Flash Memory Components - 512GB
32GB allocated to real-time data redundancy & error correction
Formatted Capacity2
447GiB
SMART Attributes
Not Supported
Native Command Queuing
up to 32 commands
AHCI Compliant
Plug and Play installation, no drivers* required
Manufacturer Model Number
OWCSSDPHWE2R480
RoHS Compliant
Yes
Format

Reliability3

Data Reliability
ECC Recovery: Up to 55 bytes correctable per 512-byte sector
Security
Chip Based Data Encryption: 128-bit AES-compliant
Warranty
3 Year OWC Warranty
(Standard return policy applies.)

Performance4

Sustained Sandy Bridge PC
Reads (up to)
756MB/s
Sustained Sandy Bridge PC
Writes (up to)
673MB/s
Sustained Ivy Bridge PC
Reads (up to)
811MB/s
Sustained Ivy Bridge PC
Writes (up to)
646MB/s
Sustained Mac Pro
Reads (up to)
677MB/s
Sustained Mac Pro
Writes (up to)
686MB/s
Random 4K Read
Up to 100,000 IOPS
Random 4K Write
Up to 100,000 IOPS
Write Latency
less than 0.1ms
Read Latency
less than 0.1ms

Environmental (Operating)

Temperature (°F)
32°F to 158°F
Temperature (°C)
0°C to 70°C

Environmental (Non-Operating)

Temperature (°F)
-67°F to 302°F
Temperature (°C)
-55°C to 150°C

Acoustics

Idle (Typical)
0.0 bels
Seek (Typical)
0.0 bels

Operating System Compatibility5

Windows
Vista and higher
Server 2008 and higher
Mac OS X
10.6 and higher
Mac OS X Server
10.6 and higher
Ubuntu Linux
9.04 and higher
Fedora Linux
14 and higher

Manual

Driver6

Accelsior Driver for OS X 10.6.8 & Later, Mac Pro only
  1. 1GB = 1,000,000,000 bytes. Total accessible capacity varies depending upon operating environment (typically 5-10% less). The actual total capacity will depend on your own defined file settings/preferences.
  2. In terms of standard gigabytes, 1GiB ≈ 1.074GB and refers to the actual formatted capacity of shown under Mac OS 10.5 or earlier and Microsoft Windows OS.
  3. Specific application environments such as temperature and duty cycle will affect the overall reliability.
  4. Performance may vary by machine - see compatibility tab for details.
  5. Accelsior may be used with Bootcamp only if the entire formatted capacity of the Accelsior model is completely dedicated to the Windows partition.
  6. Driver ensures proper power-down of Accelsior during sleep and shutdown actions, this driver does not interact with the data operation and ensures that OS X provides proper power down notification to the Accelsior where without the driver such notification may not occur.


Note: The use of two or more Accelsior SSDs requires OS X 10.6.8 or later.
Note: Bootcamp: 2008 Mac Pro (with model ID MacPro3,1) only supported in PCIe slots #3 & #4. All models: To boot Windows via Bootcamp on Accelsior, only one Accelsior SSD can be installed.
The OWC SSD Blade Upgrade is compatible with...
OWC Mercury Accelsior
OWC Mercury Accelsior
PCI Express Card
OWC Mercury Accelsior
OWC Mercury Accelsior E2
PCI Express Card

Customer Ratings

Write a Review 4.9 / 5 112 out of 115 (97%) reviewers would recommend this product
1 2 3 4 5
Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Des Plaines, IL Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 A No Brainer February 27, 2016 My 2009 Mac Pro was so slow that i could turn it on, go make a sandwich and when i got back you could still hear the hard drive working overtime. It was time to do a clean install so a good opportunity to upgrade.Card was easy to install and I was able to keep my old hard drive in so I could transfer what I wanted manually, because I'm not a fan of migration assistant.Boots up so fast you won't believe it and no more spinning beach ball.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 240GB OWC Mercury Accelsior E2 PCI Express High-Performance SSD with eSATA Expansion Ports.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Quenches my need for speed!! February 27, 2016 My 5.1 Mac Pro boot times were sooo slow! It would would take more than 5 minutes for my Mac to boot up and stabilize. All my programs would take an inordinate amount of time to start and load. My UAD card would hardly ever work correctly. One of my trusted friends advised me that using a pcie card as a boot/program drive would give my Mac a new lease on life. After Conducting research, I decided that the Mercury Accelsior would work best for my needs. Once installed and tweaked, this card has worked flawlessly. Boot times are less than a minute and my programs/UAD card loads quickly without a hitch. One of the best purchases I made to hot rot my Mac!!!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 960GB OWC Mercury Accelsior E2 PCI Express High-Performance SSD with eSATA Expansion Ports.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Power User
Rating: 5/5 ¡SSDs do not get any faster than this! February 14, 2016 Fantastic product. Super fast and easy to install. Was able to partition it and have Mac OSX, Windows and Linux on my Mac Pro all running at max speed.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 960GB OWC Mercury Accelsior E2 PCI Express High-Performance SSD with eSATA Expansion Ports.

Verified Buyer Top 50 Contributor
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Florida Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 Fast, reliable, bootable flash drive January 12, 2016 Have used product & upgraded model for past 3-years ; extremely fast performance as a primary boot drive for my 2012 MacPro. Other than some "sleep" related issues with the original model, and driver updates needed in order to upgrade from OS X Mountain Lion to El Captan, this SSD has performed reliably and good performance.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from (*) 240GB OWC Mercury Accelsior PCIe SSD for Mac Pro 2008-12 & PC. High-Performance, Bootable.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: France Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Soooo FAST January 3, 2016 same as USB 3 Pci Card... No need to install anything. Plug it & work. On Mac pro 5.1 Pci-e 16 ways = 610 MB/s only far away under 823MB/s but work great. No noises, not hot &... no external SATA III wires included :'-( can't test external ports.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 480GB OWC Mercury Accelsior E2 PCI Express High-Performance SSD with eSATA Expansion Ports.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Maryland Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 3-4 months
Rating: 5/5 Working Great December 28, 2015 One thing to note is that you need to keep the original boot drive installed. If you do a PRAM reset, your MacPro will need it as it will be unable to find the PCIe SSD. Installs easy, works FAST. Cuts 23 Second boot time down to 11-12 seconds.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 480GB OWC Mercury Accelsior E2 PCI Express High-Performance SSD with eSATA Expansion Ports.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous
Rating: 5/5 Great drives for adding speed December 15, 2015 Bought this and 2 other SSD to use my Yosemite and run Logic Pro X and Protools 12.3 used one SSD for Data and the next SSD for Windows 7 Had my Tech to do the install and it works straight away great way to update my OS and get the benefits of SSD Mid year 2010 mac pro 6 core

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 480GB OWC Mercury Accelsior E2 PCI Express High-Performance SSD with eSATA Expansion Ports.

Verified Buyer Top 100 Contributor
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Torrance, Ca Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 Great PCIe drive November 29, 2015 I love this thing. Greatly improved the performance of a 2009 Mac Pro. Just good stuff at OWC. Thanks

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from (*) 960GB OWC Mercury Accelsior PCI Express SSD for Mac & PC. High-Performance, Fully Bootable..

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Santa Fe, NM
Rating: 5/5 Essential October 25, 2015 A fast SSD is the single most important upgrade you can give your Mac Pro.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from (*) 480GB OWC Mercury Accelsior PCIe SSD for Mac Pro 2008-12 & PC. High-Performance, Bootable.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Studio City California Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Greased Lightning October 18, 2015 Accelerated my Mac Pro and made life worth living again. But even better than the card itself was the support from OWC. I had a bit of trouble formatting it and they helped me within minutes-- and cheerfully! The cynical side of me was (and still is) looking for a catch. But there isn't one. They're just that good.

I only wish I needed to buy more things...

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 240GB OWC Mercury Accelsior E2 PCI Express High-Performance SSD with eSATA Expansion Ports.

Verified Buyer Top 50 Contributor
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: North of Philadelphia, PA Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Made MacPro 5,1 very fast. October 15, 2015 Easy install, ( Hey! its a PCIe card). The speed Is "WOW" It is like having my old machine run like it was new. This Mac Pro started out as a 2009 model 4,1. 2x 2.6 (8 core). in late 2011 I added 32 RAM 1066 (OWC match set) In early 2013 with firmware it became a 5,1 (2010) and added 2x 2.93 (12core), 32 Ram 1333. In late 2015 installed 2x 3.46 (12 core). The last CPU upgrade did not really improve the speed. I decided to try this Mercury PCI card. I was not disappointed. Boot up time is 14 seconds. and no lag waiting for apps to preform. P.S. The OWC 32 Ram 1066 became 1333 with the firmware update.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 960GB OWC Mercury Accelsior E2 PCI Express High-Performance SSD with eSATA Expansion Ports.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Age: 25-34 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 It's Fast! October 14, 2015 Everything during normal use works at the click of a button or tap! Installing the card was easy and I did a fresh install of El Capitan on it. Don't forget to install the driver for it from OWC!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 240GB OWC Mercury Accelsior E2 PCI Express High-Performance SSD with eSATA Expansion Ports.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: phoenix Age: 25-34 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 Dramatic Improvement to LogicX October 4, 2015 My primary reason for looking at a SSD card was to upgrade my mac pro 8 core for my audio production setup. The Mercury Accelsior E2 PCI Express was a piece of cake to setup and is now my boot drive and is significantly faster for all my applications, including Logic X.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 480GB OWC Mercury Accelsior E2 PCI Express High-Performance SSD with eSATA Expansion Ports.

Verified Buyer Top 250 Contributor
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Iceland Age: 25-34 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Very good speed both internal and external September 20, 2015 Getting top speed from my OWC 4 disk eSATA RAID. Could not be happier.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC Mercury Accelsior E2 PCIe High-Performance SSD w/eSATA Expansion Ports.

Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Reno Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 This Is It! August 21, 2015 The ultimate. I've purchased alot from OWC for more than a decade, always great, price, packaging and shipping. But this is special, just an absolute superior product. In my 2010 Mac Pro, transfer speeds about twice that of the Samsung SSD drive in my powerhouse PC. This unit brings data speed upto that of the newest SSD Macbook pro and MacPro. Just super, Thanks OWC.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 960GB OWC Mercury Accelsior E2 PCI Express High-Performance SSD with eSATA Expansion Ports.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Canada Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 Excellent, new life to my Mac! August 14, 2015 Very impressed with this product, works fantastic. Side effect of adding it a my boot drive, was it skips the RAID card Bios setup, which takes forever, and boots very fast, but I can still use my RAID card, just saves the time to 'boot' the raid bios before it can run the OS... Very unexpected benefit, but for this alone it was worth it;

Very fast performance; very quite and no noticeable heat build inside the machine!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 960GB OWC Mercury Accelsior E2 PCI Express High-Performance SSD with eSATA Expansion Ports.

Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Gig Harbor, WA Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Outstanding. Wildly fast. August 5, 2015 I recently upgraded from a 480 to a 960 (I highly recommend the garage sale and the rebate program). To transfer data, I booted from one of my spinning disk drives and I was amazed at how incredibly slow spinning disk drives are! I have had my 480 for about a year and I've become conditioned to the Accelsior speed. The larger 960 is up and running-- and fast fast fast. Use those old fashioned spinning drives for backups. (2008 8-core Mac Pro)

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 960GB OWC Mercury Accelsior E2 PCI Express High-Performance SSD with eSATA Expansion Ports.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Newton, NJ Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Extend the Life of your MacPro July 27, 2015 I really don't like the new round MacPro machine, but my 2009 MacPro was starting to show it's age, this upgrade makes what was old new again! It was simple to install, and I had created a Yosemite install stick to be ready when it arrived. It's faster than the SSDs I have put in my MacBooks (as advertised) and the machine speed is now outstanding. It's popular and was on backorder when I purchased, but it was worth the wait, and OWC beat the date they provided to me. This is highly recommended!!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 960GB OWC Mercury Accelsior E2 PCI Express High-Performance SSD with eSATA Expansion Ports.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Los angeles Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 super fast July 24, 2015 great addition to a Mac Pro

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 480GB OWC Mercury Accelsior E2 PCI Express High-Performance SSD with eSATA Expansion Ports.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: SoCal Age: 45-54 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Excellent ! July 23, 2015 Turned my 2012 Mac Pro into a screamer/1 A must for Audio recording! PCIe is the only way to go !

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 480GB OWC Mercury Accelsior E2 PCI Express High-Performance SSD with eSATA Expansion Ports.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: houston, TX Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 gave new life to my 2008 macpro 3,1! July 16, 2015 admittedly, this machine is a bit old. and while it runs yosemite with no problem, and adobe cc applications work just fine, it was really starting to feel it's age. even with the extra 16 gigs of OWC ram i'd fed it a few years ago...

i did a good bit of research to decide if it made more sense to add an ssd and a new, more robust video card to this machine or to just buy a brand new mac. a brand new mac would be faster, certainly. but would it be enough of a difference to justify the nearly 5x cost of simply upgrading my existing machine?

after a few sales chats we determined that the accelsior would be more benefit to me and my setup than just a sata ssd. i ordered and it arrived two days later with all the documentation needed (which wasn't much to begin with). i opened up the mac, installed it and was off to the races! it cut boot time from over two minutes to right around thirty seconds. apps now open just short of instantly. the whole machine feels new again.

a superb choice to squeeze more life out of your aging mac!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 480GB OWC Mercury Accelsior E2 PCI Express High-Performance SSD with eSATA Expansion Ports.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Hudson, NH Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 5-6 months
Rating: 5/5 What a difference!! June 29, 2015 Really amazing the difference these OWC SSD's make in our Mac Pro's!! Start up and shutdown speeds are crazy fast and application launches like Photoshop, Indesign and Quark are so much quicker.

I am a prepress manager in a medium sized printing company and when looking to replace/upgrade hard drives in all of our Mac Pro's I decided to go with the OWC products due to past experiences with OWC purchases.

We upgraded 2 Mac Pro's with the Mercury Accelsior E2 PCI Express SSD's and two 2008 Mac Pro's with the 6G SSD. The OWC support was great as I had few questions along the way.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 240GB OWC Mercury Accelsior E2 PCI Express High-Performance SSD with eSATA Expansion Ports.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Melbourne, Austrlaia Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 New life for Old MacPro May 30, 2015 I have an older MacPro 4,1 which I use mainly for my digital photo collection. I really like the expandability of this system but with the size of digital images increasing the usability of the system for my photo library has decreased. A couple of years ago I installed a 240GB OWC SSD as my boot drive with amazing results. The next step in the evolution has been to add a PCI SSD as a boot drive and buy a OWC SSD big enough to hold the photo library. What an improvement to my photo editing!! The big hold up with large digital files is clearly the read/write speed and my MacPro will now meet my needs for many years to come. The big decision was whether to purchase OWC SSDs or other SSDs out there. With OWC's experience with Macs and my past satisfaction the decision was easy. VERY happy with my decision and the performance of OWC SSD's. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 240GB OWC Mercury Accelsior E2 PCI Express High-Performance SSD with eSATA Expansion Ports.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: New York Age: 55-65 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 3-4 months
Rating: 5/5 New life for old Macs May 16, 2015 I purchased the OWC Mercury Accelsior_E2 480 GB SSD for the boot drive of my 2010 Mac Pro and it really gave it new life. Everything is faster now. I measured 582 MB/s Read and 650 MB/s Write on the Blackmagic Speed Test. The fact it mounts in a PCIe slot allowed me to make a RAID 5 array from my other 4 drive bays. I also like the fact that it's SATA III and has an eSATA port on the back so I can attach my external drives using SATA III. Bootcamp is working great. This has really added a few years to my Mac Pro's use. It feels like a new computer now.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 480GB OWC Mercury Accelsior E2 PCI Express High-Performance SSD with eSATA Expansion Ports.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: NJ Age: 45-54 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 I wish I hadn't waited a single day to buy this May 7, 2015 Knowing Apple went the route of the unexpandable "Darth Vader Tube" (cool but evil? ;-) ) I bought a Mid 2012 Mac Pro while supplies lasted. With 2 x 2.4 GHz 6-Core Intel Xeon and 24GB of RAM it was a data crunching beast. But a lumbering beast just the same. Boot times were a painful 5-10 minutes or longer. (I would have measured exactly but I'd often wonder or doze off.) Simply launching apps grew seemingly more tedious with each passing day.

Jealous of the true SSD and SATA III bus speeds my beloved "silver tower" would never know, I bit the bullet and went for this card based on the favorable ratings of others and the impressive specs of a PCI slot based SSD.

All I can say is, I should have bought this the same day I bought the Mac Pro. Boot times, even with File Vault 2 enabled, are under a minute. Apps launch instantaneously. This has turned my Mac Pro into the "catch me if you can " beast it should have been day one. To think of all those painful boots I could have avoided!

Now, as mid-2015 approaches, I no longer debate if I will be forced to face the "dark side" of that shiny tube any time soon. I've convinced this Mac Pro can now keep me satisfied for another 2-3 years. Maybe more.

And who knows, by then maybe Apple's fondness for circular shapes will turn back to rectangles. And they will give some of us the next generation expandable professional workstation class machine we were waiting for. Well, one can dream...

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 960GB OWC Mercury Accelsior E2 PCI Express High-Performance SSD with eSATA Expansion Ports.

*Driverless in Windows only. Download Driver for Mac only.
OWC SSD Blade Upgrade - 480GB for Accelsior & Accelsior E2 PCI Express Cards Mfr P/N: SSDPHSETR480 OWC SKU: OWCSSDPHSETR480 3 Year OWC Limited Warranty
Sold Out