Free Shipping available on most orders $49.00 & up.

Get Details. »

We're sorry, but this item is no longer for sale. However, there may be more Internal Hard Drives and SSD items available.

OWC SSD Blade Upgrade - 480GB
for Accelsior & Accelsior E2 PCI Express Cards

OWC SSD Blade Uprage - 960GB
Maximize your storage and/or backup space
by upgrading to higher capacity Accelsior blades!
Upgrading your Accelsior with higher capacity SSD blades is as easy and quick as installing a memory module. Our 'how-to' video makes this Plug and Play easy! And you can trade in your original blades for a cash back rebate.
Accelsior SSD Blade Upgrades incorporate the latest SandForce® processor with 7% over-provisioning and DuraClass™ technology to deliver best-in-class reliability, performance, and power efficiency. You'll enjoy a more responsive and productive computing experience along with cooler, quieter, and more energy efficient computer operation. SandForce RAISE™ technology provides RAID-like data redundancy protection and reliability.

Features

  • Extend your existing investment!
  • Boot, Launch, Create, and Save Faster
  • Up to 820MB/s of blistering performance
  • Up to 100,000 IOPS
  • Backed by a three-year warranty, and is designed and built in the U.S. from domestic and imported parts.

Release Candidate (RC) firmware set

There are two kinds of firmware for SSDs Mass Production (MP) and Release Candidate (RC). Prior to an MP firmware release, there are beta firmware releases and an RC firmware release. Often, the RC is the same as the MP release, however there can be small changes and bug fixes made between the two. OWC has evaluated the RC for the 6Gb/s SandForce 2281 Processor and found it to be stable with no issues reported during our testing. However, as with any evolutionary product, issues may surface as different usages and configurations are employed and it is important to understand that there will be further updates and revisions.

Since no firmware update is currently offered for the OWC Mercury EXTREME Pro 6G SSD, no update page exists. To see the typical steps involved with a self performed field firmware update, please visit our 3Gb/s product update page at: http://eshop.macsales.com/Customized_Pages/Framework.cfm?page=sf_firmware.html

It is important to note that the current firmware update tool requires the use of Windows XP/Vista/7. OWC is currently working on a Mac OS based update tool, but we do not have an exact availability date.

480GB SSD Blade Specifications:

Specifications

Controller
Dual LSI® SandForce SF-228x series processors with 7% Over Provisioning
NAND
Tier 1 Major Multi-Level Cell (MLC) High-Performance Sync-NAND Flash
Capacity1
2 x 240GB blades for 480GB
Total Flash Memory Components - 512GB
32GB allocated to real-time data redundancy & error correction
Formatted Capacity2
447GiB
SMART Attributes
Not Supported
Native Command Queuing
up to 32 commands
AHCI Compliant
Plug and Play installation, no drivers* required
Manufacturer Model Number
OWCSSDPHWE2R480
RoHS Compliant
Yes
Format

Reliability3

Data Reliability
ECC Recovery: Up to 55 bytes correctable per 512-byte sector
Security
Chip Based Data Encryption: 128-bit AES-compliant
Warranty
3 Year OWC Warranty
(Standard return policy applies.)

Performance4

Sustained Sandy Bridge PC
Reads (up to)
756MB/s
Sustained Sandy Bridge PC
Writes (up to)
673MB/s
Sustained Ivy Bridge PC
Reads (up to)
811MB/s
Sustained Ivy Bridge PC
Writes (up to)
646MB/s
Sustained Mac Pro
Reads (up to)
677MB/s
Sustained Mac Pro
Writes (up to)
686MB/s
Random 4K Read
Up to 100,000 IOPS
Random 4K Write
Up to 100,000 IOPS
Write Latency
less than 0.1ms
Read Latency
less than 0.1ms

Environmental (Operating)

Temperature (°F)
32°F to 158°F
Temperature (°C)
0°C to 70°C

Environmental (Non-Operating)

Temperature (°F)
-67°F to 302°F
Temperature (°C)
-55°C to 150°C

Acoustics

Idle (Typical)
0.0 bels
Seek (Typical)
0.0 bels

Operating System Compatibility5

Windows
Vista and higher
Server 2008 and higher
Mac OS X
10.6 and higher
Mac OS X Server
10.6 and higher
Ubuntu Linux
9.04 and higher
Fedora Linux
14 and higher

Manual

Driver6

Accelsior Driver for OS X 10.6.8 & Later, Mac Pro only
  1. 1GB = 1,000,000,000 bytes. Total accessible capacity varies depending upon operating environment (typically 5-10% less). The actual total capacity will depend on your own defined file settings/preferences.
  2. In terms of standard gigabytes, 1GiB ≈ 1.074GB and refers to the actual formatted capacity of shown under Mac OS 10.5 or earlier and Microsoft Windows OS.
  3. Specific application environments such as temperature and duty cycle will affect the overall reliability.
  4. Performance may vary by machine - see compatibility tab for details.
  5. Accelsior may be used with Bootcamp only if the entire formatted capacity of the Accelsior model is completely dedicated to the Windows partition.
  6. Driver ensures proper power-down of Accelsior during sleep and shutdown actions, this driver does not interact with the data operation and ensures that OS X provides proper power down notification to the Accelsior where without the driver such notification may not occur.


Note: The use of two or more Accelsior SSDs requires OS X 10.6.8 or later.
Note: Bootcamp: 2008 Mac Pro (with model ID MacPro3,1) only supported in PCIe slots #3 & #4. All models: To boot Windows via Bootcamp on Accelsior, only one Accelsior SSD can be installed.
The OWC SSD Blade Upgrade is compatible with...
OWC Mercury Accelsior
OWC Mercury Accelsior
PCI Express Card
OWC Mercury Accelsior
OWC Mercury Accelsior E2
PCI Express Card

Customer Ratings

Write a Review 4.9 / 5 112 out of 115 (97%) reviewers would recommend this product
1 2 3 4 5
Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Allen, TX Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Fast and reliable September 7, 2014 If you want a fast, reliable SSD with plenty of capacity, look no further. This thing is very fast. Love it.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 960GB OWC Mercury Accelsior E2 PCI Express High-Performance SSD with eSATA Expansion Ports.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: London, UK Age: 35-44 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Like buying a new computer August 22, 2014 The Accelsior E2 SSD card has completely changed my experience of using an Early 2009 Mac Pro. My old HDD was slowing to a crawl every time I had more than a few apps open and I'd been searching around for an SSD for some time. I can confirm that all the claims are true – installing this card in my six year old machine has given it a fresh lease of life and it feels as if I am running a brand new machine. Photoshop opens in a couple of seconds along with any large images I want to edit shortly after. All other apps snap open in an instant and I am so much more productive than I used to be as a result. I cannot recommend this card highly enough.

As someone who also cares about looking after the products I buy and making them last as long as I can, this £400 card has extended the life of my machine by years and saved me having to buy a completely new Mac Pro.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 480GB OWC Mercury Accelsior E2 PCI Express High-Performance SSD with eSATA Expansion Ports.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Raleigh, NC Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 3-4 months
Rating: 5/5 Fantastic Upgrade August 10, 2014 This is the second Mercury Accelsior, for my 2012 Mac Pro, (the first was showing signs of defect, but did not fail). OWC was just great about helping to troubleshoot this and was agreeable to a swap when it was clear this was malfunctioning, though minor. They were very professional throughout and offered excellent advice about moving my data. Once i received the device, entire process took just a couple hours and I was back up to speed and have been very stable since.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 480GB OWC Mercury Accelsior E2 PCI Express High-Performance SSD with eSATA Expansion Ports.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Age: 25-34 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Completely insane speed! July 21, 2014 The mercury accelsior is the best upgrade I've ever bought for my mid 2010 Mac Pro. It faster than I thought it was going to be, makes you wonder how on earth you survived for so long working with a silly old 7200rpm drive. The time I've saved opening and working in big programs like the adobe cc apps, final cut x, transferring files rendering etc. the accelsior has more than payed for itself, I'm going to buy another. With this speed increase, I"ll easily get another few years out of this computer. Highly highly recommended!!!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 480GB OWC Mercury Accelsior E2 PCI Express High-Performance SSD with eSATA Expansion Ports.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Nuuk, Greenland Age: 35-44 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 Great upgrade July 12, 2014 I don't know why it says 480GB, as it is the 960GB version I have, but anywyays;

This is the best upgrade I ever made on my Mac Pro 2008. Without a doubt. It extended EOL by at least two years, and it really makes the MP3,1 fly.

Easy installation as well.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from (*) 480GB OWC Mercury Accelsior PCIe SSD for Mac Pro 2008-12 & PC. High-Performance, Bootable.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: RobertS Location: San Pedro, CA Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Fast, easy upgrade July 7, 2014 I purchased the Helios external pci enclosure with 240gb ssd about a year ago, to go with my 2011 iMac. This purchase was to upgrade to 480gb. Installation was a snap, similar to upgrading ram. This helios/accelsior addition breathed new life in my computer, everyday tasks are much faster, not just opening programs. Highly recommended.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Montreal, QC Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 probably the best upgrade ever June 18, 2014 I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 480GB OWC Mercury Accelsior E2 PCI Express High-Performance SSD with eSATA Expansion Ports.
Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Hollywood Ca Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Epic June 14, 2014 Easy to install, simple format with disk utility was all it took. Now have 2 startup discs. The old OS and this one. App startup seek and write times are as fast as I can imagine possible. Thanks OWC!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 240GB OWC Mercury Accelsior E2 PCI Express High-Performance SSD with eSATA Expansion Ports.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Paramount Ca Age: 25-34 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 the best upgrade for a mac pro 2009 June 5, 2014 combined with 64gb owc memory my mac pro have new life no need for the 2013 mac pro

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 480GB OWC Mercury Accelsior E2 PCI Express High-Performance SSD with eSATA Expansion Ports.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Reseda, CA Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Amazing Boost In Performance! June 2, 2014 The item arrived quickly, was exactly as advertised and installed in a snap! Gave new life to my older Mac Pro.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 120GB OWC Mercury Accelsior E2 PCI Express High-Performance SSD with eSATA Expansion Ports.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: CT Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Best Performance boost for a Mac Pro May 29, 2014 Bought this SSD PCI card after reading many Mac Pro user's comments on SSD vs PCIe based SSD. Using the 480GB PCIe SSD as the boot drive, the OSX boot up is under 8 seconds and applications open quite fast. Running Parallels with windows environment with no issues. Photos and Data transfers are the fastest I've seen on this machine. Installation was plug and play, having only to do a migration from an old SATA drive including Mavericks . Card is of a good quality and does not require any additonal cables or hardware.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from (*) 480GB OWC Mercury Accelsior PCIe SSD for Mac Pro 2008-12 & PC. High-Performance, Bootable.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Switzerland Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 works as expected May 25, 2014 no problems, works already for one year

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 960GB OWC Mercury Accelsior E2 PCI Express High-Performance SSD with eSATA Expansion Ports.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous
Rating: 4/5 It works. May 15, 2014 It's worth it. The only negative issue is that your computer will no longer enter the sleep mode.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 240GB OWC Mercury Accelsior E2 PCI Express High-Performance SSD with eSATA Expansion Ports.

Response from MacSales.com, Technical Support May 16, 2014 Sleep is supported with this card. A driver is included that extends the time between the sleep command and the powering down on the PCIe bus by a few milliseconds.
Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Switzerland Age: 45-54 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 4/5 Very Good - but compatability not so great May 4, 2014 Very good hardware - no issues there.

My issue is that with the Mac Pro 3.1 (early 2008) is that this has to go in one of the 16x lanes (lane #1 & ‹2) to give full speed, but if done so it does not support Boot Camp - it only support Boot Camp in lanes #3 & #4. This was not obvious at the time I bought it and feel the compatability issues could have been highlighted at little better - now I am stuck with a card running at less than top speed so I can still play games in Windows.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from (*) 480GB OWC Mercury Accelsior PCIe SSD for Mac Pro 2008-12 & PC. High-Performance, Bootable.

Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Roswell, GA Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Accelsior 240Gb SSD April 19, 2014 It has been a month since I installed my second Accelsior 240Gb SSD.. The first one was a problem with sleeping and locking up. OWC Larry went out of his way to convince me to try a second one with OWC's help. After a clean OS install the drive has worked flawlessly. My system now boots quickly. Lightroom, Photoshop, Perfect Photo Suite, DXO, and all my NIC plugs run faster. It is a solid addition to my system. My thanks to everyone at OWC that helped me.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from (*) 240GB OWC Mercury Accelsior PCIe SSD for Mac Pro 2008-12 & PC. High-Performance, Bootable.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: 24590 Age: 55-65 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 3-4 months
Rating: 5/5 This will change your machine! April 16, 2014 I went from a boot of about 2 minutes to 30 seconds. My old drives were Seagate 15k rpm scsi. Now I have a 2009 MacPro with 24gb ram, 3.0 quad, Quadro 4000, ProTools HD2 and the Mercury PCI-e. Runs like nothing I've used before. Really, really fast rendering now and can use even more plugs in ProTools. The Mercury E2 PCI Express drive made a crazy amazing difference in speed and stability and I absolutely recommend this to anyone who is doing the 'heavy duty thing they do' with their Macs!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 240GB OWC Mercury Accelsior E2 PCI Express High-Performance SSD with eSATA Expansion Ports.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: NH, USA Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 5-6 months
Rating: 5/5 Worth the price if you need/want speed March 2, 2014 I installed this in an early 2009 2.93 GHz Quad-Core Intel Xeon Mac Pro that is currently running OSX 10.9.2. What a screamer in comparison to the original hard disks.

I use it as the boot drive and there has been no regret. It is much faster on boot and any disk related task, so the entire machine got a bountiful speed up. Very noticeable and enjoyable. I have no regrets in the several months that I've now been using it.

It wouldn't hurt to add RAM at the same time if you have room.

It is not cheap, but is of great value.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 960GB OWC Mercury Accelsior E2 PCI Express High-Performance SSD with eSATA Expansion Ports.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Alberta Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 This thing tears. February 28, 2014 Now we're talking!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 240GB OWC Mercury Accelsior E2 PCI Express High-Performance SSD with eSATA Expansion Ports.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Nova Scotia, Canada Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 3-4 months
Rating: 4/5 One caveat February 26, 2014 I didn't realize the eSATA port does not support port-multipling (ie, only single external drive allowed). Fortunately I still had another eSATA card. SSD portion of card works very well. Pretty pleased

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 120GB OWC Mercury Accelsior E2 PCI Express High-Performance SSD with eSATA Expansion Ports.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: baton rouge la Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 3-4 months
Rating: 5/5 noticeably faster February 26, 2014 I already had SSD in my 2008 mac pro but wanted to increase the capacity from 240 GB tp 480. I looked at the prices and decided that for a slight premium I would try the Accelsior. Instalation was easy but directions could have been a little more precise. There has been a very notable speed difference. I feel like I have a new computer. So far great product and I am happy I made the right decision.

This review is from 480GB OWC Mercury Accelsior E2 PCI Express High-Performance SSD with eSATA Expansion Ports.

Verified Buyer Top 50 Contributor
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Bella Vista,ar Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 Great Product! February 20, 2014 You can't go wrong with OWC Accelsior! Screaming fast.Tech support is VERY GOOD!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 240GB OWC Mercury Accelsior E2 PCI Express High-Performance SSD with eSATA Expansion Ports.

Verified Buyer Top 250 Contributor
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Ontario, Canads Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Brilliant and surpasses expectations! January 9, 2014 I was hoping that this upgrade to my 2008 Mac Pro would put off the arduous and costly task of replacing my computer for at least another year and I have to say it has far surpassed any expectations I had before receiving and installing it. Blackmagic speed test was off the charts with the SSD's read capability while the write capability settled in at around 600MB/s. This is amazing when you consider my 1TB Western Digital Drive was testing at less than 100MB/s...simply astounding. AS OWC promised, installation is plug n' play and simpler than adding additional RAM with less guess work involved. It copied all of the 400 GB from my old drive via Migration Assistant in less than an hour with zero glitches. Time will tell regarding it's dependability but I'm not worried, as OWC offers a 3 year guarantee with the drive and from past experience, they stand behind their promises. My only regret is that I had not made this upgrade a year ago, but I feel fortunate that I have this now. A quick test of processing large audio files in Digital Performer was about 5x as fast as previously experienced with my other drive. Wow...OWC...can't say enough great things about this upgrade as wait times are now a thing of the past. You have saved me a ton of money and when I finally do shell out for a new system, you can bet I will be keeping the Accelsior E2 to install in whatever system that is, as it is bound to make it quicker and more responsive! 5 Stars easy!!!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 480GB OWC Mercury Accelsior E2 PCI Express High-Performance SSD with eSATA Expansion Ports.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Phoenix, AZ Age: 35-44 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Great experience December 31, 2013 Shipping was fast, package arrived safely.

Installed, downloaded the OWC driver and then proceeded with a fresh Mavericks install. Boot time is dramatically faster than the platter drive. Got 211+MB/s writes and 516+ MB/s reads (2GB test file).

Overall I am pleased so far. Have only had it for a few days so I can't speak to reliability.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 120GB OWC Mercury Accelsior E2 PCI Express High-Performance SSD with eSATA Expansion Ports.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Uppsala, Sweden Age: 55-65 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 From old to new December 22, 2013 I was seriously considering a new Mac Pro, the black 2013 model, but coming up with that amount of money isn't a simple thing. I decided to invest a bit more in my old 2008 Mac Pro instead, and started with the Accelsior card, the biggest I could afford, which turns out to be the 480 GB model. I combined it with a Seagate ES.2 2 TB drive into a Fusion Drive, and boy, is this a snappy system now! Before adding in the card, it had gotten to the point that disk delays in the Mac Pro exceeded my attention span (which is increasingly converging with that of a gnat), so much so that for every compile I did, I started doing other stuff while waiting, completely forgetting what I was intending to do next. A clear case of induced ADD. Now, with the SSD card in there, I really don't get the time to switch to something else, so I can stay in the flow for much longer. Sometimes it feels kind of empty not having to wait for the machine, but I guess I'll get over it… :) I figure I'll be getting another year or two out of this machine now. By then, maybe I'll be able to affort a new Mac Pro. Or maybe I won't even want to switch anymore.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 480GB OWC Mercury Accelsior E2 PCI Express High-Performance SSD with eSATA Expansion Ports.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Texas Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 WOW! Very,Very Fast October 17, 2013 Couldn't believe that my old 4,1 quad core machine could run this well. Do yourself a favor and upgrade. Easy install, mounts just like a regular disk volume and I promise you will not believe the speed.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 960GB OWC Mercury Accelsior E2 PCI Express High-Performance SSD with eSATA Expansion Ports.

*Driverless in Windows only. Download Driver for Mac only.
OWC SSD Blade Upgrade - 480GB for Accelsior & Accelsior E2 PCI Express Cards Mfr P/N: SSDPHSETR480 OWC SKU: OWCSSDPHSETR480 3 Year OWC Limited Warranty
Sold Out