Home » Internal Hard Drives and SSD

We're sorry, but this item is no longer for sale. However, there may be more Internal Hard Drives and SSD items available.

We recommend 120GB OWC Mercury Accelsior E2 PCI Express High-Performance SSD with eSATA Expansion Ports (Mfr P/N: SSDPHWE2R120) from Other World Computing for $199.00 as a suitable alternative.

OWC

120GB
Mercury Accelsior™
PCI Express Solid State Drive

No drivers* are required making Accelsior a simple
Plug and Play bootable solution.
3 Year Warranty
One Of The Easiest Upgrades You Can Install
If you can install a memory module, you'll find adding this high-performance card into your desktop/tower machine a breeze. By utilizing the fastest data interface available in a Apple Mac® Pro or PC-the PCIe slot-Mercury Accelsior offers nearly 3x faster performance than a 3Gb/s SSD...and beyond even 6Gb/s SSDs!

Experience supercharged speeds up to 758MB/s read and 743MB/s write and stop waiting for I/O-intensive apps like Photoshop, Final Cut Pro, or Avid Pro Tools to render, capture or process. With up to 100K IOP/s, business critical applications are given an instant boost while Accelsior's extreme performance speed dramatically reduces game level-loading, object streaming, and save times for more play time and less waiting.

Mac and PC Bootable with No Driver* Setup
Bootable on PCs and the only Mac-bootable/supported PCIe SSD available, Mercury Accelsior delivers near instant startup and app launching. And with a driverless* setup, it's truly a Plug and Play, high-performance solution
A More Efficient & Reliable Computing Experience
Massively boosting data transfer rates is only one of the benefits to the Mercury Accelsior. With its SandForce Driven™ SSDs, you'll enjoy a more responsive and productive computing experience, cooler and quieter processing, and greater energy efficiency compared to standard hard drives.
User Friendly, Professionally Robust
Simple enough for mainstream business use, yet robust enough for professional multimedia production environments, the OWC Mercury Accelsior is the clear choice for pro audio and video studios producing HD-quality work. This game changing performance upgrade is designed and built in the U.S. from domestic and imported parts and backed by a three-year warranty.
The Mercury SSD line features industry leading SandForce® DuraClass™ Technologies:
  • DuraWrite™ extends the endurance of your Solid State Drive (SSD).
  • Intelligent Block Management & Wear Leveling automatically distributes data evenly across the entire SSD.
  • Intelligent Read Disturb Management spreads the active read/write across the flash components eliminating data corruption caused by constant use.
  • Intelligent "Recycling" for advanced free space management gradually re-writes data across the SSD over time to ensure data never gets corrupted.
  • RAISE™ (Redundant Array of Independent Silicon Elements) protects the data on your drive similar to having a RAID setup.
  • Best-in-Class ECC Protection for longest data retention and drive life.
Accelsior Now Supports Sleep Mode!
We're pleased to offer this driver that enables Accelsior to be used as an OS X start-up/boot volume in a Mac Pro or Xserve.
Note about compatibility and throughput:
  • Compatibility:
    • Fully compatible with Mac Pros and PCs offering an available PCIe 2.0 x4 slot or better.
  • For full throughput on PCs:
    • PCIe 2.0 x4 slot or better is required. Use of a PCIe 1.0 x4 slot will reduce performance.
  • For full throughput on Mac Pros:
    • 2009-2010 Installing Accelsior into any open x4 or x16 PCIe 2.0 slot will deliver full throughput up to 785MB/s.
    • 2008 Mac Pros have two x16 PCIe 2.0 slots, which enable Acceslsior to deliver full throughput up to 785MB/s. Installing Accelsior into of the two x4 PCIe 1.0 slots will result in Accelsior being addressed as a gen one, one-lane card with performance limited to real world 190-200MB/s data rates.
    • 2006-2007 Mac Pros utilize PCIe 1.0 slot which cannot be configured (even with the Expansion Utility in OS X) to address Accelsior as anything but as a first generation one-lane card. As a result, Accelsior performance will be limited to 190-200MB/s data rates. If maximum data rate speed up to 285MB/s is desired, we recommend the installation of a 2.5" OWC Mercury SSD in an open Mac Pro drive bay.
Note: The use of two or more Accelsior SSDs requires OS X 10.6.8 or later.
Note: Bootcamp: 2008 Mac Pro (with model ID MacPro3,1) only supported in PCIe slots #3 & #4. All models: To boot Windows via Bootcamp on Accelsior, only one Accelsior SSD can be installed.
Note: 2006 - 2008 Mac Pros (model identifiers MacPro1,1; MacPro2,1; MacPro3,1): Due to an Apple limitation, any volume located on a Mercury Accelsior SSD will not appear in the "option boot" menu. A volume installed on an Accelsior can be set as the Mac Pro's boot volume through the "Startup Disk" pane in System Preferences.


This OWC SSD is compatible with: Learn how to find your Mac's model ID
Mac Pro
Mac Pro 12-Core (Mid 2012)
(June, 2012)
Model ID: MacPro5,1
2.4GHz, 2.66GHz, 3.06GHz
Mac Pro
Mac Pro 6-Core (Mid 2012)
(June, 2012)
Model ID: MacPro5,1
3.33GHz
Mac Pro
Mac Pro 4-Core (Mid 2012)
(June, 2012)
Model ID: MacPro5,1
3.2GHz
Mac Pro
Mac Pro 4-Core (Mid 2010)
(July, 2010)
Model ID: MacPro5,1
2.8GHz, 3.2GHz
Mac Pro
Mac Pro 12-Core (Mid 2010)
(July, 2010)
Model ID: MacPro5,1
2.66GHz, 2.93GHz
Mac Pro
Mac Pro 8-Core (Mid 2010)
(July, 2010)
Model ID: MacPro5,1
2.4GHz
Mac Pro
Mac Pro 6-Core (Mid 2010)
(July, 2010)
Model ID: MacPro5,1
3.33GHz
Mac Pro
Mac Pro 8-Core (Early 2009)
(March, 2009)
Model ID: MacPro4,1
2.26GHz, 2.66GHz, 2.93GHz
Mac Pro
Mac Pro 4-Core (Early 2009)
(March, 2009)
Model ID: MacPro4,1
2.66GHz, 2.93GHz, 3.33GHz
Mac Pro
Mac Pro 8-Core (Early 2008)
(January, 2008)
Model ID: MacPro3,1
2.8GHz, 3.0GHz, 3.2GHz
Mac Pro
Mac Pro 4-Core (Early 2008)
(January, 2008)
Model ID: MacPro3,1
2.8GHz
Mac Pro
Mac Pro 8-core (Early 2007)
(April, 2007)
Model ID: MacPro2,1
3.0GHz
Mac Pro
Mac Pro 4-core (Mid 2006)
(August, 2006)
Model ID: MacPro1,1
2.0GHz, 2.66GHz, 3.0GHz
Xserve Intel
Xserve (Late 2006)
(August, 2006)
Model ID: Xserve1,1
dual 2.0GHz, dual 2.66GHz, dual 3.0GHz
Xserve Intel
Xserve (Early 2008)
(January, 2008)
Model ID: Xserve2,1
2.8GHz, dual 2.8GHz, dual 3.0GHz
Xserve Intel
Xserve Quad-Core (Early 2009)
(April, 2009)
Model ID: Xserve3,1
2.26GHz
Xserve Intel
Xserve 8-Core (Early 2009)
(April, 2009)
Model ID: Xserve3,1
2.26GHz, 2.66GHz, 2.93GHz
PC Desktop
PC Desktops
Compatible with Intel / AMD Process based PCs capable with the specifications listed above.
PC Servers
PCIe capable servers
Compatible with PCIe expandable servers with the specifications listed above.
HP DL 380 G7
NOT COMPATIBLE
HP DL 380 G7
Dell PowerEdge R620
NOT COMPATIBLE
Dell PowerEdge R620
Dell PowerEdge R620
NOT COMPATIBLE
Dell PowerEdge T620
Currently not supported for use in: Dell PowerEdge R620, T620 & HP DL 380 G7

Release Candidate (RC) firmware set

There are two kinds of firmware for SSDs Mass Production (MP) and Release Candidate (RC). Prior to an MP firmware release, there are beta firmware releases and an RC firmware release. Often, the RC is the same as the MP release, however there can be small changes and bug fixes made between the two. OWC has evaluated the RC for the 6Gb/s SandForce 2281 Processor and found it to be stable with no issues reported during our testing. However, as with any evolutionary product, issues may surface as different usages and configurations are employed and it is important to understand that there will be further updates and revisions.

Since no firmware update is currently offered for the OWC Mercury EXTREME Pro 6G SSD, no update page exists. To see the typical steps involved with a self performed field firmware update, please visit our 3Gb/s product update page at: http://eshop.macsales.com/Customized_Pages/Framework.cfm?page=sf_firmware.html

It is important to note that the current firmware update tool requires the use of Windows XP/Vista/7. OWC is currently working on a Mac OS based update tool, but we do not have an exact availability date.

120GB Mercury Accelsior PCI Express SSD Specifications:

Specifications

Controller
Dual LSI® SandForce SF-2281 series processors with 7% Over Provisioning
NAND
Tier 1 Major Multi-Level Cell (MLC) High-Performance Sync-NAND Flash
Form Factor
Low Profile PCI Express
Interface
PCIe 2.0 x2
Capacity1
120GB useable capacity
Total Flash Memory Components - 128GB
8GB allocated to real-time data redundancy & error correction
Formatted Capacity2
111GiB
SMART Attributes
Standard
Native Command Queuing
up to 32 commands
AHCI Compliant
Plug and Play installation, no drivers* required
Manufacturer Model Number
OWCSSDPHW2R120
RoHS Compliant
Yes
Format

Physical

Height (max)
120mm (4.74″)
Width (max)
20.7mm (0.81″)
Length (max)
180mm (7.1″)
Weight
85 grams +/- 4 grams
0.18 lbs +/- 3.0 oz

Reliability3

Data Reliability
ECC Recovery: Up to 55 bytes correctable per 512-byte sector
Security
Chip Based Data Encryption: 128-bit AES-compliant
Warranty
3 Year OWC Warranty
(Standard return policy applies.)

Performance4

Sustained Sandy Bridge
Reads (up to)
758MB/s
Sustained Sandy Bridge
Writes (up to)
743MB/s
Sustained Ivy Bridge
Reads (up to)
761MB/s
Sustained Ivy Bridge
Writes (up to)
761MB/s
Random 4K Read
Up to 100,000 IOPS
Random 4K Write
Up to 100,000 IOPS
Write Latency
less than 0.1ms
Read Latency
less than 0.1ms

Environmental (Operating)

Temperature (°F)
32°F to 158°F
Temperature (°C)
0°C to 70°C

Environmental (Non-Operating)

Temperature (°F)
-67°F to 302°F
Temperature (°C)
-55°C to 150°C

Acoustics

Idle (Typical)
0.0 bels
Seek (Typical)
0.0 bels

Operating System Compatibility5

Windows
Vista and higher
Server 2008 and higher
Mac OS X
10.6 and higher
Mac OS X Server
10.6 and higher
Ubuntu Linux
9.04 and higher
Fedora Linux
14 and higher

Manual

  1. 1GB = 1,000,000,000 bytes. Total accessible capacity varies depending upon operating environment (typically 5-10% less). The actual total capacity will depend on your own defined file settings/preferences. 
  2. In terms of standard gigabytes, 1GiB ≈ 1.074GB and refers to the actual formatted capacity of shown under Mac OS 10.5 or earlier and Microsoft Windows OS.
  3. Specific application environments such as temperature and duty cycle will affect the overall reliability.
  4. Performance may vary by machine - see compatibility tab for details.
  5. The Mercury Accelsior E2 is not compatible with Bootcamp. To use Windows on a Mac with the Mercury Accelsior E2, you must boot to a Windows installer and install it directly onto the Mercury Accelsior E2.


Note: The use of two or more Accelsior SSDs requires OS X 10.6.8 or later.
Note: While using Windows with an Accelsior, only one Accelsior SSD can be installed.
       

Gallery

Benchmarks

Click any of the benchmarks below to view the results.

Customer Ratings

Write a Review 4.9 / 5 112 out of 115 (97%) reviewers would recommend this product
1 2 3 4 5
Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Texas Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 WOW! Very,Very Fast October 17, 2013 Couldn't believe that my old 4,1 quad core machine could run this well. Do yourself a favor and upgrade. Easy install, mounts just like a regular disk volume and I promise you will not believe the speed.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 960GB OWC Mercury Accelsior E2 PCI Express High-Performance SSD with eSATA Expansion Ports.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Chuzpah Location: Southern California Age: 35-44 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 3-4 months
Rating: 5/5 Ultra Fast Mac Pro boot times/performance November 27, 2012 I've been using my 240GB Mercury Accelsior for several months now as my main boot drive and it has exceeded my expectations. My 2010 Mac Pro (8 Core) boots in less than 20 seconds and applications such as Illustrator, Photoshop, and Final Cut Pro X start nearly instantaneously! I can transfer large files to my internal OWC 240GB 6G SSD in seconds as well. I'm going to get another 240GB Accelsior and RAID 0 them for maximum performance! The only small complaint I have is if the drive is not setup as a boot drive it will show as an external hard drive and you can accidentally eject it.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from (*) 240GB OWC Mercury Accelsior PCIe SSD for Mac Pro 2008-12 & PC. High-Performance, Bootable.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: dnorris Location: Carolina Beach, NC Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Completely Worth it! November 14, 2012 With a little trepidation, I bought the 480GB Accelsior for my 2009 Mac Pro. I was considering buying a new iMac this January but wanted to give my very well equipped and reliable Mac Pro one more chance. It has been sluggish but still has plenty horsepower. Just feels pokey. Well — Pokey NO MORE! I’ve never had a SSD but this thing is screamingly fast. It is just what the doctor ordered. It saved me over $6000 in upgrading my Mac Pro. I cannot believe how snappy my Mac Pro is now. If you have an older Mac Pro and need to give it a boost, don’t buy a new one - give this a try. Installation was completely painless and I’m only fairly techy. I used Carbon Copy Cloner to clone my boot drive. Photoshop just screams now. OWC is highly recommended and they even had icons for the desktop that represent the PCIe card. What a nice touch. I cannot be more satisfied.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from (*) 480GB OWC Mercury Accelsior PCIe SSD for Mac Pro 2008-12 & PC. High-Performance, Bootable.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: joeshmoe Location: Hawaii Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Made me keep my Mac Pro 2008 Dual Xeons November 4, 2012 I never even knew this existed until one day browsing OWC's website. I had bought my memory for both my Mac Pro (back in 2009) and more recently for my Mac Mini. I was actually thinking of doing SSD in my Mac Mini so I could get that "instant on" like you find on Macbook Pros and Macbook Airs. Decided to take the leap and boy do I just love it ! That spinning thingy doesn't even make it to two loops and I am at my desktop and ready to go ! Insanely fast ! Data loads at literally a blink of an eye (could actually be faster but hey it's plenty crazy fast.) Nothing like bypassing the SATA bottleneck for speed that is nothing short of insane. I was planning on selling my Mac Pro 2008 with dual Xeons. Now I don't ever want to lose this baby because I can load up 4 hard drives in this puppy along with the space I have leftover on my 120GB OWC Mercury Accelsior PCI Express SSD which blazes with Parallels too! Windows run way, way faster than on my Dell 3.2Ghz i7 with 12GB RAM PC ! Although I am running an old version of Photoshop (version 7) under Windows it runs so fast that even major changes to photos have no delay even worth mentioning! I am a VERY satisfied customer. Kudos to OWC who helped this not so computer savy guy get Mountain Lion installed on my Accelsior PCI Express SSD and my Mac Pro 2008 flying ! Aloha and Mahalo to all at OWC !

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: BGPictures Location: Santa Monica, CA Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 3-4 months
Rating: 5/5 New life for Mac Pro October 24, 2012 After researching SSDs for a while, I realized that unlike a MacBook Pro, my Mac Pro tower would turn a 6G SSD into a 3G -- I went for the Mercury. No problems. I want more of these!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from (*) 480GB OWC Mercury Accelsior PCIe SSD for Mac Pro 2008-12 & PC. High-Performance, Bootable.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Brunei Darussalam Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Very Good September 28, 2012 Lighting fast! SSD's made my 2009 Mac Pro fast, but the read/write speed with the 960GB OWC Mercury Accelsior is phenomenal! Installed it in 15min, format the 960GB using partitian journaled, duplicated my 480GB SSD and my mac feels like a 12 core:-)

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from (*) 960GB OWC Mercury Accelsior PCI Express SSD for Mac & PC. High-Performance, Fully Bootable..

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Surfincolin Location: Seattle, WA Experience Level: Power User
Rating: 5/5 Awesome! Install was..."fun"... September 20, 2012 This is an extremely fast drive to operate off of. It took a little fiddling around to get it install and running the operating system. Once I got it going though it has been nothing but awesome. Running a clean install of OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion on it. Shows up looking like an external drive but does not give you the option to eject it. I have a non-Mac Nvidia card in the system that I had to swap with the original systems video card to get the drive initialized. But like I said once I got past that and got the Nvidia card back in, it has been great. The downside I can see is I use a lot of the PCI slots for video capture cards and it takes one of those slots.

Over all the computer is snappy and more responsive coming from a traditional 7200 rpm drive. I now store all my user files on the old operating drive.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from (*) 240GB OWC Mercury Accelsior PCIe SSD for Mac Pro 2008-12 & PC. High-Performance, Bootable.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: KW123 Location: Austin tx Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 installation simple, one tricky part with itunes & Users/Shared August 31, 2012 hardware setup was very simple, disk utility setup also- one issue with iTunes

here the setup Mac Pro 2008 with 4 * 2 TB disk setup as 2 set of 4 TB striped, 2. set is used as back up for 1. set Every night a complete back is done with super duper from 1. set to 2. set

after addition of SSD the system and some parts of the user directories were copied - without the biggest directories (ie itunes)- from 1. set to SSD with superduper.

then boot to ssd (preference Users & Groups set startup disk to SSD) After boot. The MS Office licenses had to be reentered - after start of word or excel.

with sym-links the itunes directory was linked to the old place in terminal sudo ln -s /Volumes/old-drive/Users/abcxyz/Music/itunes /Volumes/new-SSD/Users/my-id/Music/

you might need to configure iTunes to find the itunes directory depending on your setup (iTunes /preferences/advanced)

Itunes worked but always started with error message "access are not sufficient"

Solution: iTunes looks for a directory /Users/Shared on new SSD, if it does not exist you get the error message. There is some discussion on MAC forums.

in Terminal: sudo mkdir /Users/Shared can not be done in Finder

right click in finder on Users/Shared and add rights to all (Read & Write)

now every thing works fine.

boot time is factor of 3++ faster, benchmark shows between 2 and 10 faster speed, Word come up in 1-2 Seconds...

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from (*) 480GB OWC Mercury Accelsior PCIe SSD for Mac Pro 2008-12 & PC. High-Performance, Bootable.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: lkmd Location: dallas Age: 45-54 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 great August 30, 2012 I compared a ssd raid and the accelsior 960 on my mac pro 3,1 The results showed that the Accelsior read/write times were faster on the large files. The ssd raid did handle the smaller 4k files faster... I am very pleased as apple has failed in supporting the mac pro and is still using SATA 2, Thats embarrassing ...

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from (*) 960GB OWC Mercury Accelsior PCI Express SSD for Mac & PC. High-Performance, Fully Bootable..

Verified Buyer Top 250 Contributor
Reviewer: GregS Location: Branford CT Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Mercury Accelsior PCI Express August 27, 2012 So very FAST. Apps boot in a few seconds. Widows 7 with Parallels is up in 10 Seconds.Boot time from the chime on a Mac Pro with 4 internal and 3 external drives is 31 seconds. Boot time from power button press to all login apps is 56 seconds ( my logins include Air vid server, scan snap,cafine, default folders, slidefolders drop copy, zinio alert drop box Microsoft auto updater eye tv helper fantastical chrono sync iTunes sharpshooter shutdown pro ).

Truly amazing.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from (*) 960GB OWC Mercury Accelsior PCI Express SSD for Mac & PC. High-Performance, Fully Bootable..

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Vizsla1086 Location: NYC Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Lightning in a bottle...... August 25, 2012 I bought a 2009 Mac Pro to use strictly as a file server, with an eye to then purchasing a new mac to use as my primary machine. I found the 2009 Mac Pro just what I needed for server duties, but just not fast enough to be comfortable using on a daily basis (and I was booting from a 256 GB Intel 510 ssd, but the SATA 2 limitation of the Mac Pro plus the GT 120 Video card made the machine slugglish ny 2012 standards.

So....I switched out the Intel 510 for a Mercury Acelsior 240 GB PCIe SSD.

Holy Scorched Motherboard, Batman! This machine flies. No. I take that back. It soars, it shoots the rapids, it's on it's way to the Moon. Talk about revitalizing!! I can't do much about the stock 2.6 Ghz Zeon quad core chip, but CPU speed is the least important of any of my variables when considering throughput. By putting archive data on the on-board SATA 2 drives and moving everything to the acelsior, I figure I've save $1,500 of more, even with the $800 I spent in upgrades, because this machine will do me for another two to three years now.

I'm literally staggered by the increase in perceptible speed. I'm writing this in the first hours of use, so I can't say much just yet about reliability and/or durability, but I can say the speed promises are spot on.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from (*) 240GB OWC Mercury Accelsior PCIe SSD for Mac Pro 2008-12 & PC. High-Performance, Bootable.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: chubad Location: Minneapolis Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 WOW!!! August 23, 2012 An easy install, no drivers and a huge performance boost. Photoshop CS 6 launches in 1.5 seconds! This is a "no brainer" if you own a Mac Pro. I originally installed a standard SSD 6G not realizing that the Mac Pro did not support 6G speeds. I returned it and added this. Night and day!! Very happy camper!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from (*) 240GB OWC Mercury Accelsior PCIe SSD for Mac Pro 2008-12 & PC. High-Performance, Bootable.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: mrrjm Location: Illinois Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Fast Fast Fast! August 15, 2012 I have an early 2009 MacPro. After downloading Mountain Lion the install bar said it was going to take 34 minutes to install. Well it actually took less then 10 minutes to do the full install. This card is Fast!

I was using the Apple raid and 3 15,000 rpm SAS drives in raid 5. The problem is these drives are noisy along with the cooling fans. With the Mercury Accelsior PCI Express SSD the MacPro is now almost silent. And I can put it to sleep. Something I couldn't do with the Raid 5. I highly recommend this card!!

Ray

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer Top 50 Contributor
Reviewer: joevt Location: Langley, B.C. Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Excellent speed if your Mac or PC supports PCIe 2.0 x2 May 31, 2012 I use this card in the second PCIe 2.0 slot of a Mac Pro 2008. It's very fast at reading and writing and booting Mac OS X.

I would not recommend this card if you only have a PCIe 1.0 slot because it will work only at half speed (still faster than the Mac Pro's SATA II drive bays so it may be acceptable to you) or quarter speed (slower than the Mac Pro's SATA II drive bays) depending on whether or not the controller chip of the slot can negotiate x2.

Some PCIe 2.0 slots on some PCs (such as those controlled directly by the 2nd Generation Core Processor Family Desktop CPU's) cannot negotiate x2. They will use the Accelsior at half speed so check your PC's specs before buying.

The Mac Pro 2008 cannot boot into Boot Camp while the Accelsior is installed. Newer Mac Pros don't have this problem. OWC says Boot Camp can also run from the Accelsior but only if the entire drive is formatted for Boot Camp.

The Accelsior also comes with both a standard-length and a low profile bracket which is easily changeable with two screws.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from (*) 480GB OWC Mercury Accelsior PCIe SSD for Mac Pro 2008-12 & PC. High-Performance, Bootable.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: badalca Location: FR
Rating: 5/5 Excellent Product May 28, 2012 Understandably the price of this drive is extremely high, however after over a month of use the increase in performance in comparison to standard sata connected drives is unbelievable.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from (*) 960GB OWC Mercury Accelsior PCI Express SSD for Mac & PC. High-Performance, Fully Bootable..

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: PaulZ Location: Paris, France Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 6 (six) stars ! May 3, 2012 Excellent ! Your experience with any Mac Pro will be elevated to a new level. Put your Accelsior into any available slot (Mac Pro 2010), and voila ! Whichever reads and writes are just extremely fast. Trim is not supported (the drive is recognized as an rotating HDD !) but Sandforce Garbage Collection is doing OK, and performance is steady stable after days of intensive use. I will certainly appreciate having the option to change the « blades » (identical physical format to the one available at OWC for the MacBook Air, once larger capacities (ie 960GB per blade) are available.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from (*) 480GB OWC Mercury Accelsior PCIe SSD for Mac Pro 2008-12 & PC. High-Performance, Bootable.

Response from MacSales.com, Marketing May 3, 2012 While physically similar, the "blades" are NOT identical to the OWC Mercury Aura Pro drives for the MacBook Air.
Verified Buyer
Reviewer: PaulZ Location: Paris, France Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Excellent, but Raid-1 is NOT available for Mac OSX April 22, 2012 Excellent, but Raid-1 is NOT available for Mac OSX, while at the time of purchase, this was NOT mentioned. It has been corrected since. The product has just to be put into any available slot (Mac Pro 2010), and voila ! Boot, read write are just very, very fast. Trim is not supported (the drive is recognized as an rotating HDD !) but Sandforce Garbage Collection is doing OK, and performance seems to be steady stable after a few days of intensive use. Only caveat : sometimes after puting the mac Pro to sleep, the beachball appears for a few seconds before we can really do something.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from (*) 960GB OWC Mercury Accelsior PCI Express SSD for Mac & PC. High-Performance, Fully Bootable..

*Driverless in Windows only. Download Driver for Mac only.
OWC 120GB Mercury Accelsior™ PCI Express Solid State Drive Mfr P/N: SSDPHW2R120 OWC SKU: OWCSSDPHW2R120 Hardware RAID Solid State Drive 3 Year OWC Limited Warranty
Sold Out