Quality Solutions. Expert Support. Since 1988.

MacSales.com Logo

OWC

480GB
Mercury Accelsior E2
PCI Express Solid State Drive

The PCIe SSD drive built for the most demanding needs of video editing and creative professionals.
3 Year OWC SSD Limited Warranty
Boot, Launch, Create, and Save Faster
With its simultaneous internal and external storage performance, the Mercury Accelsior E2 offers the the best combination of speed, capacity, and connectivity available today.

Stop waiting for I/O-intensive apps like Photoshop, Final Cut Pro, or Avid Pro Tools to render, capture or process. Start working faster with near instantaneous boots and app launches. And save your work faster than ever before.

The Accelsior E2 utilizes the PCIe slot in Mac Pros and PC towers, the fastest data interface available, to deliver up to 820MB/s of blistering performance. That's nearly 3x faster than an SSD equipped Mac Pro 3Gb/s drive bay, and well beyond 6Gb/s drive speeds.

When your work is completed, transfer it for backup or archival purposes at speeds up to 600MB/s via the two eSATA expansion ports to any external storage device with an eSATA port.
Boost Server and Gaming Data Speeds
In addition to video-editing and multimedia creation / management deployment, the Accelsior E2 takes servers and gaming to entirely new levels of performance with it's extreme data speeds.

With up to 100,000 IOPS, business-critical applications like online transaction processing databases are given an instant boost. For gamers, Accelsior E2's speed dramatically reduces game level-loading, object streaming, and save times for more playing and less waiting.
And Laptops, Mac mini, & iMac Too...
The Accelsior E2 isn't just for desktop computing. With an external PCIe expansion chassis, such as the OWC Helios, you can enjoy the Accelsior E2's performance benefits with any Thunderbolt port equipped Mac or PC.
Efficient, Reliable, and Upgradeable SSD Blades
Accelsior E2's SandForce Driven™ SSD blades provide a more responsive and productive computing experience with cooler, quieter, and more energy efficient operation compared to standard hard drives. SandForce RAISE™ technology provides RAID-like data redundancy protection and reliability.

And with the future introduction of higher capacity Mercury Accelsior SSD blades, you'll be able to meet expanding storage needs while extending the useful life of your investment.
Easy-to-Install & Robust
Accelsior is as easy-to-install as memory a upgrade, yet robust enough to handle the rigors of pro environments.

This game-changing, high-performance upgrade comes backed by a 3 Year OWC SSD Limited Warranty.
Trade in Program Accelsior Trade-Up Program Previous Accelsior owners can trade-up to E2:
View rebate details.
Add Up to 32TB Externally
with Two eSATA Expansion Ports
In addition to the ultimate SSD upgrade, the Accelsior E2 adds two eSATA storage expansion interfaces to any Mac Pro. Achieve faster than internal drive speeds with up to 600MB/s performance per drive. That's a whopping 6x faster than the fastest stock Mac Pro external interface of FireWire 800 with up to 100MB/s data rates.
RAID or Single Drives,
The Choice is Yours
A variety of single and multi-drive RAID solutions can be connected via Accelsior E2's two eSATA expansion ports. You can also create a RAID array with Apple's Disk Utility, SoftRAID, or various software RAID applications for PCs.

Includes

Note about compatibility and throughput:
  • Compatibility:
    • Compatible with all eSATA equipped storage solutions.
  • PC Throughput:
    • PCIe 2.0 x4 slot or better is required. Use of a PCIe 1.0 x4 slot will reduce performance.
  • Mac Pro Throughput:
    • 2009-2010 Mac Pro. Installing Accelsior into any open x4 or x16 PCIe 2.0 slot will deliver full throughput up to 785MB/s.
    • 2008 Mac Pro. These models have two x16 PCIe 2.0 slots, which enable Accelsior E2 to deliver full throughput up to 785MB/s. Installing Accelsior E2 into of the two x4 PCIe 1.0 slots will result in Accelsior E2 being addressed as a gen one, one-lane card with performance limited to real world 190-200MB/s data rates.
    • 2006-2007 Mac Pro. These models utilize PCIe 1.0 slot which cannot be configured (even with the Expansion Utility in OS X) to address Accelsior E2 as anything but as a first generation one-lane card. As a result, Accelsior_E2 performance will be limited to 190-200MB/s data rates. If maximum data rate speed up to 285MB/s is desired, we recommend the installation of a 2.5" OWC Mercury SSD in an open Mac Pro drive bay.
  • eSATA Expansion Ports:
    • Compatible with all eSATA equipped storage solutions.*
    • A sleep conflict may be encountered when using certain eSATA chipsets via the eSATA ports when booted to the Accelsior E2. See the specifications tab for affected solutions where System Sleep mode MUST be disabled in order to ensure reliable operation. Allowing system sleep to occur while one of the affected external drives is connected via the Accelsior E2 eSATA ports could result in loss of data following wake from sleep. Although the above are our general recommendations for use, wake from sleep has been determined to only be an issue when the Accelsior E2 is used for startup (SSD or eSATA connected device). We are working with our partners to see that the sleep/wake function is fully supported with all solutions and startup scenarios.
  • Dual Card Use/Booting:
    • Dual Accelsior_E2 Usage. The use of two or more Accelsior_E2 SSDs requires OS X 10.6.8 or later.
    • Windows booting is only supported in slot #3 on a 2008 Mac Pro (with model ID MacPro3,1). To boot Windows on an Accelsior E2, only one Accelsior E2 can be installed at a time. OWC Dual Boot Enabler for Apple Boot Camp required for use with Boot Camp utility. Download here.
    • 2006-2008 Mac Pro (with model ID MacPro1,1; MacPro2,1; MacPro3,1). Due to an Apple limitation, any volume located on a Mercury Accelsior_E2 SSD will not appear in the "option boot" menu. A volume installed on an Accelsior_E2 can be set as the Mac Pro's boot volume through the "Startup Disk" pane in System Preferences.

*Requires 6Gb/s certified cables for connecting to eSATA drives - available separately. Not compatible with port-multiplier enclosures. The eSATA ports do not support hot-swapping. Accelsior_E2 eSATA ports are bootable.
This OWC SSD is compatible with: Learn how to find your Mac's model ID
Mac Pro
Mac Pro (Mid 2010 Quad-Core)
(July, 2010)
Model ID: MacPro5,1
2.8GHz, 3.2GHz, 3.33GHz
Mac Pro
Mac Pro 6-Core
(Mid 2010-2012)
(July, 2010 / June 2012)
Model ID: MacPro5,1
3.33GHz
Mac Pro
Mac Pro 8-Core (Mid 2010)
(July, 2010)
Model ID: MacPro5,1
2.4GHz
Mac Pro
Mac Pro 12-Core
(Mid 2010-2012)
(July, 2010 / June 2012)
Model ID: MacPro5,1
2.40GHz, 2.66GHz, 2.93GHz, 3.06GHz
Mac Pro
Mac Pro (Early 2009 Quad-Core)
(March, 2009)
Model ID: MacPro4,1
2.66GHz, 2.93GHz, 3.33GHz
Mac Pro
Mac Pro (Early 2009 8-Core)
(March, 2009)
Model ID: MacPro4,1
2.26GHz, 2.66GHz, 2.93GHz
Mac Pro
Mac Pro (Early 2008)
(January, 2008)
Model ID: MacPro3,1
2.8GHz, 3.0GHz, 3.2GHz
Mac Pro
Mac Pro (8-core)
(April, 2007)
Model ID: MacPro2,1
3.0GHz
Mac Pro
Mac Pro
(August, 2006)
Model ID: MacPro1,1
2.0GHz, 2.66GHz, 3.0GHz
Xserve Intel
Xserve (Late 2006)
(August, 2006)
Model ID: Xserve1,1
dual 2.0GHz, dual 2.66GHz, dual 3.0GHz
Xserve Intel
Xserve (Early 2008)
(January, 2008)
Model ID: Xserve2,1
2.8GHz, dual 2.8GHz, dual 3.0GHz
Xserve Intel
Xserve Quad-Core (Early 2009)
(April, 2009)
Model ID: Xserve3,1
2.26GHz
Xserve Intel
Xserve 8-Core (Early 2009)
(April, 2009)
Model ID: Xserve3,1
2.26GHz, 2.66GHz, 2.93GHz
PC Desktop
PC Desktops
Compatible with Intel / AMD Process based PCs capable with the specifications listed above.
PC Servers
PCIe capable servers
Compatible with PCIe expandable servers with the specifications listed above.
OWC Helios
OWC Mercury Helios
Thunderbolt PCIe
expansion chassis
HP DL 380 G7
NOT COMPATIBLE
HP DL 380 G7
HP DL 380 G8
Dell PowerEdge R620
NOT COMPATIBLE
Dell PowerEdge R620
Dell PowerEdge R620
NOT COMPATIBLE
Dell PowerEdge T620
* Not compatible with port-multiplier enclosures. The eSATA ports do not support hot-swapping. Accelsior_E2 eSATA ports are bootable.

**A sleep conflict may be encountered when using certain eSATA chipsets via the eSATA ports when booted to the Accelsior_E2. See the specifications tab for affected solutions where System Sleep mode MUST be disabled in order to ensure reliable operation. Allowing system sleep to occur while one of the affected external drives is connected via the Accelsior_E2 eSATA ports could result in loss of data following wake from sleep. Although the above are our general recommendations for use, wake from sleep has been determined to only be an issue when the Accelsior PCIe is used for startup (SSD or eSATA connected device). We are working with our partners to see that the sleep/wake function is fully supported with all solutions and startup scenarios.

Release Candidate (RC) firmware set

There are two kinds of firmware for SSDs Mass Production (MP) and Release Candidate (RC). Prior to an MP firmware release, there are beta firmware releases and an RC firmware release. Often, the RC is the same as the MP release, however there can be small changes and bug fixes made between the two. OWC has evaluated the RC for the 6Gb/s SandForce 2281 Processor and found it to be stable with no issues reported during our testing. However, as with any evolutionary product, issues may surface as different usages and configurations are employed and it is important to understand that there will be further updates and revisions.

Since no firmware update is currently offered for the OWC Mercury EXTREME Pro 6G SSD, no update page exists. To see the typical steps involved with a self performed field firmware update, please visit our 3Gb/s product update page at: http://eshop.macsales.com/Customized_Pages/Framework.cfm?page=sf_firmware.html

It is important to note that the current firmware update tool requires the use of Windows XP/Vista/7. OWC is currently working on a Mac OS based update tool, but we do not have an exact availability date.

480GB Mercury Accelsior E2 PCI Express SSD Specifications:

Specifications

Controller
Dual LSI® SandForce SF-228x series processors with 7% Over Provisioning
NAND
Tier 1 Major Multi-Level Cell (MLC) High-Performance Sync-NAND Flash
Form Factor
Low Profile PCI Express
Interface
PCIe 2.0 x2
Expansion Ports1
Two eSATA 6Gb/s ports
Capacity2
480GB useable capacity
Total Flash Memory Components - 512GB
32GB allocated to real-time data redundancy & error correction
Formatted Capacity3
447GiB
SMART Attributes
Not Supported
Native Command Queuing
up to 32 commands
AHCI Compliant7
Plug and Play installation, no drivers required
Manufacturer Model Number
OWCSSDPHWE2R480
RoHS Compliant
Yes
Format

Physical

Height (max)
120mm (4.74″)
Width (max)
20.7mm (0.81″)
Length (max)
180mm (7.1″)
Weight
85 grams +/- 4 grams
0.18 lbs +/- 3.0 oz

Reliability4

Data Reliability
ECC Recovery: Up to 55 bytes correctable per 512-byte sector
Security
Chip Based Data Encryption: 128-bit AES-compliant
Warranty
3 Year OWC Warranty
(Standard return policy applies.)

Performance5

Sustained Sandy Bridge PC
Reads (up to)
780MB/s
Sustained Sandy Bridge PC
Writes (up to)
763MB/s
Sustained Ivy Bridge PC
Reads (up to)
823MB/s
Sustained Ivy Bridge PC
Writes (up to)
783MB/s
Sustained Mac Pro
Reads (up to)
677MB/s
Sustained Mac Pro
Writes (up to)
686MB/s
Random 4K Read
Up to 100,000 IOPS
Random 4K Write
Up to 100,000 IOPS
Write Latency
less than 0.1ms
Read Latency
less than 0.1ms

External Enclosure Qualification6

Qualified and Supported Solutions:
 
Oxford 924
NewerTech miniStack V3
Oxford 934
OWC Mercury Elite Pro Classic-Prev.
Oxford 936
OWC Mercury Elite Pro Dual-Prev.
OWC Mercury Elite Pro Dual Mini-Prev.
OWC Mercury Elite Pro Qx2
NewerTech Guardian Maximus Mini
JMicron 355
Passthrough
All solutions with both
  1. Only eSATA ports
  2. One drive per port
Such as
OWC Mercury Elite Pro RAID Ready
Not recommended due to sleep limitation:
 
Oxford 944
Oxford 946

Environmental (Operating)

Temperature (°F)
32°F to 158°F
Temperature (°C)
0°C to 70°C

Environmental (Non-Operating)

Temperature (°F)
-67°F to 302°F
Temperature (°C)
-55°C to 150°C

Acoustics

Idle (Typical)
0.0 bels
Seek (Typical)
0.0 bels

Operating System Compatibility7

Windows
Vista and higher
Server 2008 and higher
Mac OS X
10.6 and higher
Mac OS X Server
10.6 and higher
Ubuntu Linux
9.04 and higher
Fedora Linux
14 and higher
*All versions of VMWare ESXi are not supported.

Manual

Driver8

Required for Accelsior E2 SSDs purchased before 3/24/2016.
Driver for Apple Mac Pro

Firmware

  1. Requires 6Gb/s certified cables for connecting to eSATA drives - available separately. Not compatible with port-multiplier enclosures. The eSATA ports do not support hot-swapping. Accelsior_E2 eSATA ports are bootable. A sleep conflict may be encountered when using certain eSATA chipsets via the eSATA ports when booted to the Accelsior_E2. See the specifications tab for affected solutions where System Sleep mode MUST be disabled in order to ensure reliable operation. Allowing system sleep to occur while one of the affected external drives is connected via the Accelsior_E2 eSATA ports could result in loss of data following wake from sleep. Although the above are our general recommendations for use, wake from sleep has been determined to only be an issue when the Accelsior PCIe is used for startup (SSD or eSATA connected device). We are working with our partners to see that the sleep/wake function is fully supported with all solutions and startup scenarios. 
  2. 1GB = 1,000,000,000 bytes. Total accessible capacity varies depending upon operating environment (typically 5-10% less). The actual total capacity will depend on your own defined file settings/preferences. 
  3. In terms of standard gigabytes, 1GiB ≈ 1.074GB and refers to the actual formatted capacity of shown under Mac OS 10.5 or earlier and Microsoft Windows OS.
  4. Specific application environments such as temperature and duty cycle will affect the overall reliability.
  5. Performance may vary by machine - see compatibility tab for details.
  6. A sleep conflict may be encountered when using certain eSATA chipsets via the eSATA ports when booted to the Accelsior_E2. See the specifications tab for affected solutions where System Sleep mode MUST be disabled in order to ensure reliable operation. Allowing system sleep to occur while one of the affected external drives is connected via the Accelsior_E2 eSATA ports could result in loss of data following wake from sleep. Although the above are our general recommendations for use, wake from sleep has been determined to only be an issue when the Accelsior PCIe is used for startup (SSD or eSATA connected device). We are working with our partners to see that the sleep/wake function is fully supported with all solutions and startup scenarios. 
  7. OWC Dual Boot Enabler for Apple Boot Camp required for use with Boot Camp utility. Download here.
  8. Driver ensures proper power-down of Accelsior E2 during sleep, restart, and shutdown actions that may otherwise not occur in the Mac Pro with PCIe connected drive volumes. This driver does not affect or interact with other drivers, software applications, hardware devices, etc. This driver is not required for use of Accelsior E2 in Thunderbolt to PCIe Expansion chassis (such as OWC Helios). No driver is required for use of Accelsior E2 for Windows or Linux operating systems.


Note: The use of two or more Accelsior SSDs requires OS X 10.6.8 or later.
Note: While using Windows with an Accelsior, only one Accelsior SSD can be installed.
       

Gallery

Benchmarks

Click any of the benchmarks below to view the results.

Customer Ratings

Write a Review 4.9 / 5 109 out of 112 (97%) reviewers would recommend this product
1 2 3 4 5
Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Granbury, TX Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Does what it says it will March 8, 2015 It does speed somethings up by quite a bit.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: San Francisco Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Better than expected performance March 6, 2015 I installed this on a 2009 Mac Pro (2.66 quad core) about 3 weeks ago (Yosemite installed). It's worth every penny. The speed improvement was dramatic and it seems like this has really transformed this Mac. I was dreading buying the new Mac Pro and having to add a bunch of external drives, but it wasn't really keeping up with the last few OS updates. Now my four hard drives (two of which are in an RAID array, one used for backup), can continue to hum away unnoticed. Great product. No downsides experienced.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Concord, NC Age: 35-44 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 New life for my MacPro January 30, 2015 Yes this unit is pricey but wow, what a difference! I am running this in my 8 core MacPro tower as my primary drive with 24GB of RAM and boot times have massively improved. There is almost no hesitation in launching apps which had slowed to seconds just to open. It would be nice to be able to have more onboard SSD capacity but the unit is built with upgrading in mind. Given the fact the new MacPros cap out at 1TB think this may be an industry thing. I managed to get around some of this using symbolic links for DVR recordings.Great product.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 960GB OWC Mercury Accelsior E2 PCI Express High-Performance SSD with eSATA Expansion Ports.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Boston, Ma Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Home User
Rating: 5/5 works just as advertised. Easy to install with instant increased speed. January 24, 2015 works just as advertised. Easy to install with instant increased speed.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Robinson, IL Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 This product works great! January 23, 2015 I have been very impressed with the 240GB OWC Mercury Accelsior E2 PCI. The speeds of my mac have been imporved exponentially. I was most impressed with OWC's technical support. They walked me through installation and answered all of my questions. I will definitely use OWC again.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 240GB OWC Mercury Accelsior E2 PCI Express High-Performance SSD with eSATA Expansion Ports.

Verified Buyer Top 250 Contributor
Reviewer: GaryH Location: Bedford Tx Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Great Performance upgrade January 23, 2015 Unit installed exactly as described. It is just Fast.

Was using Owc SSD as boot volume which was QUICK.

The Mercury Accelsior is very Fast .

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Texas Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Just stunning... January 6, 2015 I purchased this card for a mac pro 2009. I configured the hardware with 32 GB of RAM, a sapphire video card and this Excelsior Drive. I left the 5200 RPM drive in bay one and use it as a Time Machine backup drive.

This set up is amazing, heavily weighted on the performance of the Excelsior Drive. I have four applications that automatically launch at boot. Even with that I'm getting boot times under 20 seconds. Speed and responsiveness are just amazing. I have a Mac Pro 2012 with identical processors and RAM but with four 2 TB drives in a raid striping array. The speed test on that array runs about 380 Mb per second read. I do get some lag and jitter when accessing data on the array. The Excelsior completely illininates that, Plus is more than twice as fast.

The productivity gain really is immeasurable, I'm incredibly happy with the drives performance.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous
Rating: 5/5 Easy installation, excellent performance December 29, 2014 A definite boost to the system. Applications and files open faster and the time required for saving large image files is decreased substantially. Setup is quick.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 240GB OWC Mercury Accelsior E2 PCI Express High-Performance SSD with eSATA Expansion Ports.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Nashville, TN Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Great Speed increase on early 2008 dual quad core Mac Pro December 26, 2014 This card and solid state storage has greatly increased the responsiveness of my old Mac Pro. I am now using this as my startup disk and it really makes a difference. I use it in conjunction with a NewerTech Voyager Q to mount a 480GB Mercury EXTREME Pro 6G SSD. The eSATA ports on the Accelsior enable the Voyager to connect the EXTREME Pro 6G SSD and it makes a very quick scratch disk. If you do a lot of photoshop work with multi-layered large files, this combination will really help. I also do music recording and this helps a lot in this area as well. Until I can afford a new Mac Pro set up like I want (it will be expensive), this combo is really making my old Mac Pro better. The people at OWC are always great to me. I've been dealing with them since the turn of the century.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: usa Age: 25-34 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 buy. one. now. December 21, 2014 this is the greatest thing invented since bacon.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 240GB OWC Mercury Accelsior E2 PCI Express High-Performance SSD with eSATA Expansion Ports.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Illinois Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 FAST....FAST...............FAST!!! December 20, 2014 My early Mac Pro 2008 is like New. I recommend this PCI SSD to anyone who is looking for speed. Awesome! Thanks!

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Muscat, Oman Age: 35-44 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Excellent December 16, 2014 MacPro Mid 2010, from 2 mins boot time to 40 seconds, installed Yosemite on this PCIe SSD and now using my old 7,200rpm HDs for timemachine, blackmagic speed tester shows 500mb speed and AJA speed tester shows 700mb+, very happy.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 960GB OWC Mercury Accelsior E2 PCI Express High-Performance SSD with eSATA Expansion Ports.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Calpine, CA Age: 55-65 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 A lovely piece of kit December 14, 2014 This thing absolutely screams. Installation was painless (save for hunting down the correct version of the driver -- OWC updated their website and the documentation included with the board hasn't kept pace). Yosemite hasn't seen fit to install on this thing, but then Yosemite hasn't seen fit to install on anything with a SSD, including my shiny-new, maxed out rMBP, so I can hardly fault it for that failing. If I needed more silly-fast storage I'd pick up another of these without hesitation.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 960GB OWC Mercury Accelsior E2 PCI Express High-Performance SSD with eSATA Expansion Ports.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Almost as fast as the speed of light! November 27, 2014 I can't even begin to explain the amazing speed of this device. It was very easy to install and I was off. The old slow boot times are a thing of the past. Although I could write and write about the greatness of this blazing fast SSD, I'll just say a few simple words: go out and buy it! Your PC or MAC will thank you!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 960GB OWC Mercury Accelsior E2 PCI Express High-Performance SSD with eSATA Expansion Ports.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: New ORLEANS Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Worth every dollar! October 27, 2014 For some time I've contemplated the Accelsior for my 2010 MacPro. Once Mac OS10.10 was released I decided to upgrade to the Accelsior and it's amazing what happened. The speed bump in performnce all round was excellent in addition to more ram from OWC didn't hurt the cause.

The performance of the eSata ports with the external OWC drives also showed speed in data transfer.

Application launch/startup/ over all system performance was kicked up many notches so this was a well worth upgrade and I truly would recommend this as an option over the new MacPro's no question about it.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer Top 250 Contributor
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Florida Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 Fast and Reliable Start-Up Drive October 23, 2014 Replaced earlier flash drive card with this upgrade to deal with apparent sleep-mode & OSX related issues. Unit has proven to be consistently fast and reliable for use in my MacPro as a start-up drive without any known hardware or software issues.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC Mercury Accelsior E2 PCIe High-Performance SSD w/eSATA Expansion Ports.

Verified Buyer Top 250 Contributor
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Middle of nowhere Age: 55-65 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Must have for Mac Pro October 12, 2014 If it works with your machine get one. Gave me 2 more years of life with my 2009 Mac Pro.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 240GB OWC Mercury Accelsior E2 PCI Express High-Performance SSD with eSATA Expansion Ports.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Earth
Rating: 5/5 Far Out October 11, 2014 'Put this in my 12-core ~2013 cheese grater.

All. The. Difference. In. The. World.

Just get one.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Toronto, ON Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Great September 29, 2014 I bought this to give my 2008 Mac Pro new life. It's very quick, especially compared to the hard disks previously in the system. Boot and reboot is much faster than before. Loading Final Cut Pro is so fast that I can restart it whenever I want to if I feel it starting to get sluggish. I wish this "drive" was a little bigger. After the OS, installed applications (Photoshop, Lightroom, Final Cut Pro, Xcode, Logic Pro), the disk is out of room after a few Lightroom catalogs or a large 4k Final Cut Pro project. But I couldn't justify throwing more money at it as the Pro is starting to show it's age in many areas.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Switzerland Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 3-4 months
Rating: 5/5 Best Upgrade for 2008 MacPro September 26, 2014 Owning an "early 2008" MacPro, I started to build frustration over the boot / shutdown time and overall speed. Over the time, my MacPro had received 16GB of ram and better disks, but still, it was so slow compared to any recent Mac with the SSD technology. It was obviously time to change... Until I came across the PCI Express SSD. It took me a while to realize we were talking of data storage on a PCI connector... The install is truly "Plug & Play" and after Time Machine had restored, my MacPro was simply another machine. No more wait for booting or shutdown, everything is 4-5 x faster. Bottom line, I will keep my "early 2008" MacPro for many more years to come !

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 960GB OWC Mercury Accelsior E2 PCI Express High-Performance SSD with eSATA Expansion Ports.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous
Rating: 5/5 Wow September 14, 2014 I wish I would have done this upgrade long ago. New life came to my Mac Pro after installing. Best upgrade ever.

This review is from 960GB OWC Mercury Accelsior E2 PCI Express High-Performance SSD with eSATA Expansion Ports.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Nashville, TN Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Great upgrade, sorry I waited so long to do! September 12, 2014 The improvements in boot time and general responsiveness are incredible. Before 1.5mins to boot. After 20 secs to boot. No need to get a cup of coffee for the wait... The machine is snappy and responsive now, a pleasure to use once again.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Allen, TX Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Fast and reliable September 7, 2014 If you want a fast, reliable SSD with plenty of capacity, look no further. This thing is very fast. Love it.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 960GB OWC Mercury Accelsior E2 PCI Express High-Performance SSD with eSATA Expansion Ports.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: London, UK Age: 35-44 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Like buying a new computer August 22, 2014 The Accelsior E2 SSD card has completely changed my experience of using an Early 2009 Mac Pro. My old HDD was slowing to a crawl every time I had more than a few apps open and I'd been searching around for an SSD for some time. I can confirm that all the claims are true – installing this card in my six year old machine has given it a fresh lease of life and it feels as if I am running a brand new machine. Photoshop opens in a couple of seconds along with any large images I want to edit shortly after. All other apps snap open in an instant and I am so much more productive than I used to be as a result. I cannot recommend this card highly enough.

As someone who also cares about looking after the products I buy and making them last as long as I can, this £400 card has extended the life of my machine by years and saved me having to buy a completely new Mac Pro.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Raleigh, NC Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 3-4 months
Rating: 5/5 Fantastic Upgrade August 10, 2014 This is the second Mercury Accelsior, for my 2012 Mac Pro, (the first was showing signs of defect, but did not fail). OWC was just great about helping to troubleshoot this and was agreeable to a swap when it was clear this was malfunctioning, though minor. They were very professional throughout and offered excellent advice about moving my data. Once i received the device, entire process took just a couple hours and I was back up to speed and have been very stable since.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

OWC 480GB Mercury Accelsior E2 PCI Express Solid State Drive Mfr P/N: SSDPHWE2R480 MacSales.com SKU: OWCSSDPHWE2R480 Hardware RAID Solid State Drive 3 Year OWC SSD Limited Warranty Ships: Same Day Only $499.99CyberSaver $449.75
Add to CartOther World Computing SSDPHWE2R480 In Stock, Click to Buy Now
Additional capacities:
  • 0GB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $199.99
    • MacSales.com Price $144.00
  • 240GB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $379.99
    • MacSales.com Price $349.75
  • 480GB
  • 960GB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $749.99
    • MacSales.com Price $649.75