Quality Solutions. Expert Support. Since 1988.

MacSales.com Logo

OWC

480GB
Mercury Accelsior E2
PCI Express Solid State Drive

The PCIe SSD drive built for the most demanding needs of video editing and creative professionals.
3 Year OWC SSD Limited Warranty
Boot, Launch, Create, and Save Faster
With its simultaneous internal and external storage performance, the Mercury Accelsior E2 offers the the best combination of speed, capacity, and connectivity available today.

Stop waiting for I/O-intensive apps like Photoshop, Final Cut Pro, or Avid Pro Tools to render, capture or process. Start working faster with near instantaneous boots and app launches. And save your work faster than ever before.

The Accelsior E2 utilizes the PCIe slot in Mac Pros and PC towers, the fastest data interface available, to deliver up to 820MB/s of blistering performance. That's nearly 3x faster than an SSD equipped Mac Pro 3Gb/s drive bay, and well beyond 6Gb/s drive speeds.

When your work is completed, transfer it for backup or archival purposes at speeds up to 600MB/s via the two eSATA expansion ports to any external storage device with an eSATA port.
Boost Server and Gaming Data Speeds
In addition to video-editing and multimedia creation / management deployment, the Accelsior E2 takes servers and gaming to entirely new levels of performance with it's extreme data speeds.

With up to 100,000 IOPS, business-critical applications like online transaction processing databases are given an instant boost. For gamers, Accelsior E2's speed dramatically reduces game level-loading, object streaming, and save times for more playing and less waiting.
And Laptops, Mac mini, & iMac Too...
The Accelsior E2 isn't just for desktop computing. With an external PCIe expansion chassis, such as the OWC Helios, you can enjoy the Accelsior E2's performance benefits with any Thunderbolt port equipped Mac or PC.
Efficient, Reliable, and Upgradeable SSD Blades
Accelsior E2's SandForce Driven™ SSD blades provide a more responsive and productive computing experience with cooler, quieter, and more energy efficient operation compared to standard hard drives. SandForce RAISE™ technology provides RAID-like data redundancy protection and reliability.

And with the future introduction of higher capacity Mercury Accelsior SSD blades, you'll be able to meet expanding storage needs while extending the useful life of your investment.
Easy-to-Install & Robust
Accelsior is as easy-to-install as memory a upgrade, yet robust enough to handle the rigors of pro environments.

This game-changing, high-performance upgrade comes backed by a 3 Year OWC SSD Limited Warranty.
Trade in Program Accelsior Trade-Up Program Previous Accelsior owners can trade-up to E2:
View rebate details.
Add Up to 32TB Externally
with Two eSATA Expansion Ports
In addition to the ultimate SSD upgrade, the Accelsior E2 adds two eSATA storage expansion interfaces to any Mac Pro. Achieve faster than internal drive speeds with up to 600MB/s performance per drive. That's a whopping 6x faster than the fastest stock Mac Pro external interface of FireWire 800 with up to 100MB/s data rates.
RAID or Single Drives,
The Choice is Yours
A variety of single and multi-drive RAID solutions can be connected via Accelsior E2's two eSATA expansion ports. You can also create a RAID array with Apple's Disk Utility, SoftRAID, or various software RAID applications for PCs.

Includes

Note about compatibility and throughput:
  • Compatibility:
    • Compatible with all eSATA equipped storage solutions.
  • PC Throughput:
    • PCIe 2.0 x4 slot or better is required. Use of a PCIe 1.0 x4 slot will reduce performance.
  • Mac Pro Throughput:
    • 2009-2010 Mac Pro. Installing Accelsior into any open x4 or x16 PCIe 2.0 slot will deliver full throughput up to 785MB/s.
    • 2008 Mac Pro. These models have two x16 PCIe 2.0 slots, which enable Accelsior E2 to deliver full throughput up to 785MB/s. Installing Accelsior E2 into of the two x4 PCIe 1.0 slots will result in Accelsior E2 being addressed as a gen one, one-lane card with performance limited to real world 190-200MB/s data rates.
    • 2006-2007 Mac Pro. These models utilize PCIe 1.0 slot which cannot be configured (even with the Expansion Utility in OS X) to address Accelsior E2 as anything but as a first generation one-lane card. As a result, Accelsior_E2 performance will be limited to 190-200MB/s data rates. If maximum data rate speed up to 285MB/s is desired, we recommend the installation of a 2.5" OWC Mercury SSD in an open Mac Pro drive bay.
  • eSATA Expansion Ports:
    • Compatible with all eSATA equipped storage solutions.*
    • A sleep conflict may be encountered when using certain eSATA chipsets via the eSATA ports when booted to the Accelsior E2. See the specifications tab for affected solutions where System Sleep mode MUST be disabled in order to ensure reliable operation. Allowing system sleep to occur while one of the affected external drives is connected via the Accelsior E2 eSATA ports could result in loss of data following wake from sleep. Although the above are our general recommendations for use, wake from sleep has been determined to only be an issue when the Accelsior E2 is used for startup (SSD or eSATA connected device). We are working with our partners to see that the sleep/wake function is fully supported with all solutions and startup scenarios.
  • Dual Card Use/Booting:
    • Dual Accelsior_E2 Usage. The use of two or more Accelsior_E2 SSDs requires OS X 10.6.8 or later.
    • Windows booting is only supported in slot #3 on a 2008 Mac Pro (with model ID MacPro3,1). To boot Windows on an Accelsior E2, only one Accelsior E2 can be installed at a time. OWC Dual Boot Enabler for Apple Boot Camp required for use with Boot Camp utility. Download here.
    • 2006-2008 Mac Pro (with model ID MacPro1,1; MacPro2,1; MacPro3,1). Due to an Apple limitation, any volume located on a Mercury Accelsior_E2 SSD will not appear in the "option boot" menu. A volume installed on an Accelsior_E2 can be set as the Mac Pro's boot volume through the "Startup Disk" pane in System Preferences.

*Requires 6Gb/s certified cables for connecting to eSATA drives - available separately. Not compatible with port-multiplier enclosures. The eSATA ports do not support hot-swapping. Accelsior_E2 eSATA ports are bootable.
This OWC SSD is compatible with: Learn how to find your Mac's model ID
Mac Pro
Mac Pro (Mid 2010 Quad-Core)
(July, 2010)
Model ID: MacPro5,1
2.8GHz, 3.2GHz, 3.33GHz
Mac Pro
Mac Pro 6-Core
(Mid 2010-2012)
(July, 2010 / June 2012)
Model ID: MacPro5,1
3.33GHz
Mac Pro
Mac Pro 8-Core (Mid 2010)
(July, 2010)
Model ID: MacPro5,1
2.4GHz
Mac Pro
Mac Pro 12-Core
(Mid 2010-2012)
(July, 2010 / June 2012)
Model ID: MacPro5,1
2.40GHz, 2.66GHz, 2.93GHz, 3.06GHz
Mac Pro
Mac Pro (Early 2009 Quad-Core)
(March, 2009)
Model ID: MacPro4,1
2.66GHz, 2.93GHz, 3.33GHz
Mac Pro
Mac Pro (Early 2009 8-Core)
(March, 2009)
Model ID: MacPro4,1
2.26GHz, 2.66GHz, 2.93GHz
Mac Pro
Mac Pro (Early 2008)
(January, 2008)
Model ID: MacPro3,1
2.8GHz, 3.0GHz, 3.2GHz
Mac Pro
Mac Pro (8-core)
(April, 2007)
Model ID: MacPro2,1
3.0GHz
Mac Pro
Mac Pro
(August, 2006)
Model ID: MacPro1,1
2.0GHz, 2.66GHz, 3.0GHz
Xserve Intel
Xserve (Late 2006)
(August, 2006)
Model ID: Xserve1,1
dual 2.0GHz, dual 2.66GHz, dual 3.0GHz
Xserve Intel
Xserve (Early 2008)
(January, 2008)
Model ID: Xserve2,1
2.8GHz, dual 2.8GHz, dual 3.0GHz
Xserve Intel
Xserve Quad-Core (Early 2009)
(April, 2009)
Model ID: Xserve3,1
2.26GHz
Xserve Intel
Xserve 8-Core (Early 2009)
(April, 2009)
Model ID: Xserve3,1
2.26GHz, 2.66GHz, 2.93GHz
PC Desktop
PC Desktops
Compatible with Intel / AMD Process based PCs capable with the specifications listed above.
PC Servers
PCIe capable servers
Compatible with PCIe expandable servers with the specifications listed above.
OWC Helios
OWC Mercury Helios
Thunderbolt PCIe
expansion chassis
HP DL 380 G7
NOT COMPATIBLE
HP DL 380 G7
HP DL 380 G8
Dell PowerEdge R620
NOT COMPATIBLE
Dell PowerEdge R620
Dell PowerEdge R620
NOT COMPATIBLE
Dell PowerEdge T620
* Not compatible with port-multiplier enclosures. The eSATA ports do not support hot-swapping. Accelsior_E2 eSATA ports are bootable.

**A sleep conflict may be encountered when using certain eSATA chipsets via the eSATA ports when booted to the Accelsior_E2. See the specifications tab for affected solutions where System Sleep mode MUST be disabled in order to ensure reliable operation. Allowing system sleep to occur while one of the affected external drives is connected via the Accelsior_E2 eSATA ports could result in loss of data following wake from sleep. Although the above are our general recommendations for use, wake from sleep has been determined to only be an issue when the Accelsior PCIe is used for startup (SSD or eSATA connected device). We are working with our partners to see that the sleep/wake function is fully supported with all solutions and startup scenarios.

Release Candidate (RC) firmware set

There are two kinds of firmware for SSDs Mass Production (MP) and Release Candidate (RC). Prior to an MP firmware release, there are beta firmware releases and an RC firmware release. Often, the RC is the same as the MP release, however there can be small changes and bug fixes made between the two. OWC has evaluated the RC for the 6Gb/s SandForce 2281 Processor and found it to be stable with no issues reported during our testing. However, as with any evolutionary product, issues may surface as different usages and configurations are employed and it is important to understand that there will be further updates and revisions.

Since no firmware update is currently offered for the OWC Mercury EXTREME Pro 6G SSD, no update page exists. To see the typical steps involved with a self performed field firmware update, please visit our 3Gb/s product update page at: http://eshop.macsales.com/Customized_Pages/Framework.cfm?page=sf_firmware.html

It is important to note that the current firmware update tool requires the use of Windows XP/Vista/7. OWC is currently working on a Mac OS based update tool, but we do not have an exact availability date.

480GB Mercury Accelsior E2 PCI Express SSD Specifications:

Specifications

Controller
Dual LSI® SandForce SF-228x series processors with 7% Over Provisioning
NAND
Tier 1 Major Multi-Level Cell (MLC) High-Performance Sync-NAND Flash
Form Factor
Low Profile PCI Express
Interface
PCIe 2.0 x2
Expansion Ports1
Two eSATA 6Gb/s ports
Capacity2
480GB useable capacity
Total Flash Memory Components - 512GB
32GB allocated to real-time data redundancy & error correction
Formatted Capacity3
447GiB
SMART Attributes
Not Supported
Native Command Queuing
up to 32 commands
AHCI Compliant7
Plug and Play installation, no drivers required
Manufacturer Model Number
OWCSSDPHWE2R480
RoHS Compliant
Yes
Format

Physical

Height (max)
120mm (4.74″)
Width (max)
20.7mm (0.81″)
Length (max)
180mm (7.1″)
Weight
85 grams +/- 4 grams
0.18 lbs +/- 3.0 oz

Reliability4

Data Reliability
ECC Recovery: Up to 55 bytes correctable per 512-byte sector
Security
Chip Based Data Encryption: 128-bit AES-compliant
Warranty
3 Year OWC Warranty
(Standard return policy applies.)

Performance5

Sustained Sandy Bridge PC
Reads (up to)
780MB/s
Sustained Sandy Bridge PC
Writes (up to)
763MB/s
Sustained Ivy Bridge PC
Reads (up to)
823MB/s
Sustained Ivy Bridge PC
Writes (up to)
783MB/s
Sustained Mac Pro
Reads (up to)
677MB/s
Sustained Mac Pro
Writes (up to)
686MB/s
Random 4K Read
Up to 100,000 IOPS
Random 4K Write
Up to 100,000 IOPS
Write Latency
less than 0.1ms
Read Latency
less than 0.1ms

External Enclosure Qualification6

Qualified and Supported Solutions:
 
Oxford 924
NewerTech miniStack V3
Oxford 934
OWC Mercury Elite Pro Classic-Prev.
Oxford 936
OWC Mercury Elite Pro Dual-Prev.
OWC Mercury Elite Pro Dual Mini-Prev.
OWC Mercury Elite Pro Qx2
NewerTech Guardian Maximus Mini
JMicron 355
Passthrough
All solutions with both
  1. Only eSATA ports
  2. One drive per port
Such as
OWC Mercury Elite Pro RAID Ready
Not recommended due to sleep limitation:
 
Oxford 944
Oxford 946

Environmental (Operating)

Temperature (°F)
32°F to 158°F
Temperature (°C)
0°C to 70°C

Environmental (Non-Operating)

Temperature (°F)
-67°F to 302°F
Temperature (°C)
-55°C to 150°C

Acoustics

Idle (Typical)
0.0 bels
Seek (Typical)
0.0 bels

Operating System Compatibility7

Windows
Vista and higher
Server 2008 and higher
Mac OS X
10.6 and higher
Mac OS X Server
10.6 and higher
Ubuntu Linux
9.04 and higher
Fedora Linux
14 and higher
*All versions of VMWare ESXi are not supported.

Manual

Driver8

Required for Accelsior E2 SSDs purchased before 3/24/2016.
Driver for Apple Mac Pro

Firmware

  1. Requires 6Gb/s certified cables for connecting to eSATA drives - available separately. Not compatible with port-multiplier enclosures. The eSATA ports do not support hot-swapping. Accelsior_E2 eSATA ports are bootable. A sleep conflict may be encountered when using certain eSATA chipsets via the eSATA ports when booted to the Accelsior_E2. See the specifications tab for affected solutions where System Sleep mode MUST be disabled in order to ensure reliable operation. Allowing system sleep to occur while one of the affected external drives is connected via the Accelsior_E2 eSATA ports could result in loss of data following wake from sleep. Although the above are our general recommendations for use, wake from sleep has been determined to only be an issue when the Accelsior PCIe is used for startup (SSD or eSATA connected device). We are working with our partners to see that the sleep/wake function is fully supported with all solutions and startup scenarios. 
  2. 1GB = 1,000,000,000 bytes. Total accessible capacity varies depending upon operating environment (typically 5-10% less). The actual total capacity will depend on your own defined file settings/preferences. 
  3. In terms of standard gigabytes, 1GiB ≈ 1.074GB and refers to the actual formatted capacity of shown under Mac OS 10.5 or earlier and Microsoft Windows OS.
  4. Specific application environments such as temperature and duty cycle will affect the overall reliability.
  5. Performance may vary by machine - see compatibility tab for details.
  6. A sleep conflict may be encountered when using certain eSATA chipsets via the eSATA ports when booted to the Accelsior_E2. See the specifications tab for affected solutions where System Sleep mode MUST be disabled in order to ensure reliable operation. Allowing system sleep to occur while one of the affected external drives is connected via the Accelsior_E2 eSATA ports could result in loss of data following wake from sleep. Although the above are our general recommendations for use, wake from sleep has been determined to only be an issue when the Accelsior PCIe is used for startup (SSD or eSATA connected device). We are working with our partners to see that the sleep/wake function is fully supported with all solutions and startup scenarios. 
  7. OWC Dual Boot Enabler for Apple Boot Camp required for use with Boot Camp utility. Download here.
  8. Driver ensures proper power-down of Accelsior E2 during sleep, restart, and shutdown actions that may otherwise not occur in the Mac Pro with PCIe connected drive volumes. This driver does not affect or interact with other drivers, software applications, hardware devices, etc. This driver is not required for use of Accelsior E2 in Thunderbolt to PCIe Expansion chassis (such as OWC Helios). No driver is required for use of Accelsior E2 for Windows or Linux operating systems.


Note: The use of two or more Accelsior SSDs requires OS X 10.6.8 or later.
Note: While using Windows with an Accelsior, only one Accelsior SSD can be installed.
       

Gallery

Benchmarks

Click any of the benchmarks below to view the results.

Customer Ratings

Write a Review 4.9 / 5 109 out of 112 (97%) reviewers would recommend this product
1 2 3 4 5
Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Age: 25-34 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Completely insane speed! July 21, 2014 The mercury accelsior is the best upgrade I've ever bought for my mid 2010 Mac Pro. It faster than I thought it was going to be, makes you wonder how on earth you survived for so long working with a silly old 7200rpm drive. The time I've saved opening and working in big programs like the adobe cc apps, final cut x, transferring files rendering etc. the accelsior has more than payed for itself, I'm going to buy another. With this speed increase, I"ll easily get another few years out of this computer. Highly highly recommended!!!

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Nuuk, Greenland Age: 35-44 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 Great upgrade July 12, 2014 I don't know why it says 480GB, as it is the 960GB version I have, but anywyays;

This is the best upgrade I ever made on my Mac Pro 2008. Without a doubt. It extended EOL by at least two years, and it really makes the MP3,1 fly.

Easy installation as well.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 480GB OWC Mercury Accelsior PCIe SSD for Mac Pro 2008-12 & PC. High-Performance, Bootable.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Montreal, QC Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 probably the best upgrade ever June 18, 2014 I would recommend this item to a friend!
Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Hollywood Ca Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Epic June 14, 2014 Easy to install, simple format with disk utility was all it took. Now have 2 startup discs. The old OS and this one. App startup seek and write times are as fast as I can imagine possible. Thanks OWC!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 240GB OWC Mercury Accelsior E2 PCI Express High-Performance SSD with eSATA Expansion Ports.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Paramount Ca Age: 25-34 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 the best upgrade for a mac pro 2009 June 5, 2014 combined with 64gb owc memory my mac pro have new life no need for the 2013 mac pro

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Reseda, CA Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Amazing Boost In Performance! June 2, 2014 The item arrived quickly, was exactly as advertised and installed in a snap! Gave new life to my older Mac Pro.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 120GB OWC Mercury Accelsior E2 PCI Express High-Performance SSD with eSATA Expansion Ports.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: CT Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Best Performance boost for a Mac Pro May 29, 2014 Bought this SSD PCI card after reading many Mac Pro user's comments on SSD vs PCIe based SSD. Using the 480GB PCIe SSD as the boot drive, the OSX boot up is under 8 seconds and applications open quite fast. Running Parallels with windows environment with no issues. Photos and Data transfers are the fastest I've seen on this machine. Installation was plug and play, having only to do a migration from an old SATA drive including Mavericks . Card is of a good quality and does not require any additonal cables or hardware.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 480GB OWC Mercury Accelsior PCIe SSD for Mac Pro 2008-12 & PC. High-Performance, Bootable.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Switzerland Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 works as expected May 25, 2014 no problems, works already for one year

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 960GB OWC Mercury Accelsior E2 PCI Express High-Performance SSD with eSATA Expansion Ports.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous
Rating: 4/5 It works. May 15, 2014 It's worth it. The only negative issue is that your computer will no longer enter the sleep mode.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 240GB OWC Mercury Accelsior E2 PCI Express High-Performance SSD with eSATA Expansion Ports.

Response from MacSales.com, Technical Support May 16, 2014 Sleep is supported with this card. A driver is included that extends the time between the sleep command and the powering down on the PCIe bus by a few milliseconds.
Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Switzerland Age: 45-54 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 4/5 Very Good - but compatability not so great May 4, 2014 Very good hardware - no issues there.

My issue is that with the Mac Pro 3.1 (early 2008) is that this has to go in one of the 16x lanes (lane #1 & ‹2) to give full speed, but if done so it does not support Boot Camp - it only support Boot Camp in lanes #3 & #4. This was not obvious at the time I bought it and feel the compatability issues could have been highlighted at little better - now I am stuck with a card running at less than top speed so I can still play games in Windows.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 480GB OWC Mercury Accelsior PCIe SSD for Mac Pro 2008-12 & PC. High-Performance, Bootable.

Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Roswell, GA Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Accelsior 240Gb SSD April 19, 2014 It has been a month since I installed my second Accelsior 240Gb SSD.. The first one was a problem with sleeping and locking up. OWC Larry went out of his way to convince me to try a second one with OWC's help. After a clean OS install the drive has worked flawlessly. My system now boots quickly. Lightroom, Photoshop, Perfect Photo Suite, DXO, and all my NIC plugs run faster. It is a solid addition to my system. My thanks to everyone at OWC that helped me.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 240GB OWC Mercury Accelsior PCIe SSD for Mac Pro 2008-12 & PC. High-Performance, Bootable.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: 24590 Age: 55-65 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 3-4 months
Rating: 5/5 This will change your machine! April 16, 2014 I went from a boot of about 2 minutes to 30 seconds. My old drives were Seagate 15k rpm scsi. Now I have a 2009 MacPro with 24gb ram, 3.0 quad, Quadro 4000, ProTools HD2 and the Mercury PCI-e. Runs like nothing I've used before. Really, really fast rendering now and can use even more plugs in ProTools. The Mercury E2 PCI Express drive made a crazy amazing difference in speed and stability and I absolutely recommend this to anyone who is doing the 'heavy duty thing they do' with their Macs!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 240GB OWC Mercury Accelsior E2 PCI Express High-Performance SSD with eSATA Expansion Ports.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: NH, USA Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 5-6 months
Rating: 5/5 Worth the price if you need/want speed March 2, 2014 I installed this in an early 2009 2.93 GHz Quad-Core Intel Xeon Mac Pro that is currently running OSX 10.9.2. What a screamer in comparison to the original hard disks.

I use it as the boot drive and there has been no regret. It is much faster on boot and any disk related task, so the entire machine got a bountiful speed up. Very noticeable and enjoyable. I have no regrets in the several months that I've now been using it.

It wouldn't hurt to add RAM at the same time if you have room.

It is not cheap, but is of great value.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 960GB OWC Mercury Accelsior E2 PCI Express High-Performance SSD with eSATA Expansion Ports.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Alberta Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 This thing tears. February 28, 2014 Now we're talking!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 240GB OWC Mercury Accelsior E2 PCI Express High-Performance SSD with eSATA Expansion Ports.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Nova Scotia, Canada Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 3-4 months
Rating: 4/5 One caveat February 26, 2014 I didn't realize the eSATA port does not support port-multipling (ie, only single external drive allowed). Fortunately I still had another eSATA card. SSD portion of card works very well. Pretty pleased

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 120GB OWC Mercury Accelsior E2 PCI Express High-Performance SSD with eSATA Expansion Ports.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: baton rouge la Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 3-4 months
Rating: 5/5 noticeably faster February 26, 2014 I already had SSD in my 2008 mac pro but wanted to increase the capacity from 240 GB tp 480. I looked at the prices and decided that for a slight premium I would try the Accelsior. Instalation was easy but directions could have been a little more precise. There has been a very notable speed difference. I feel like I have a new computer. So far great product and I am happy I made the right decision.

Verified Buyer Top 50 Contributor
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Bella Vista,ar Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 Great Product! February 20, 2014 You can't go wrong with OWC Accelsior! Screaming fast.Tech support is VERY GOOD!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 240GB OWC Mercury Accelsior E2 PCI Express High-Performance SSD with eSATA Expansion Ports.

Verified Buyer Top 250 Contributor
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Ontario, Canads Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Brilliant and surpasses expectations! January 9, 2014 I was hoping that this upgrade to my 2008 Mac Pro would put off the arduous and costly task of replacing my computer for at least another year and I have to say it has far surpassed any expectations I had before receiving and installing it. Blackmagic speed test was off the charts with the SSD's read capability while the write capability settled in at around 600MB/s. This is amazing when you consider my 1TB Western Digital Drive was testing at less than 100MB/s...simply astounding. AS OWC promised, installation is plug n' play and simpler than adding additional RAM with less guess work involved. It copied all of the 400 GB from my old drive via Migration Assistant in less than an hour with zero glitches. Time will tell regarding it's dependability but I'm not worried, as OWC offers a 3 year guarantee with the drive and from past experience, they stand behind their promises. My only regret is that I had not made this upgrade a year ago, but I feel fortunate that I have this now. A quick test of processing large audio files in Digital Performer was about 5x as fast as previously experienced with my other drive. Wow...OWC...can't say enough great things about this upgrade as wait times are now a thing of the past. You have saved me a ton of money and when I finally do shell out for a new system, you can bet I will be keeping the Accelsior E2 to install in whatever system that is, as it is bound to make it quicker and more responsive! 5 Stars easy!!!

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Phoenix, AZ Age: 35-44 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Great experience December 31, 2013 Shipping was fast, package arrived safely.

Installed, downloaded the OWC driver and then proceeded with a fresh Mavericks install. Boot time is dramatically faster than the platter drive. Got 211+MB/s writes and 516+ MB/s reads (2GB test file).

Overall I am pleased so far. Have only had it for a few days so I can't speak to reliability.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 120GB OWC Mercury Accelsior E2 PCI Express High-Performance SSD with eSATA Expansion Ports.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Uppsala, Sweden Age: 55-65 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 From old to new December 22, 2013 I was seriously considering a new Mac Pro, the black 2013 model, but coming up with that amount of money isn't a simple thing. I decided to invest a bit more in my old 2008 Mac Pro instead, and started with the Accelsior card, the biggest I could afford, which turns out to be the 480 GB model. I combined it with a Seagate ES.2 2 TB drive into a Fusion Drive, and boy, is this a snappy system now! Before adding in the card, it had gotten to the point that disk delays in the Mac Pro exceeded my attention span (which is increasingly converging with that of a gnat), so much so that for every compile I did, I started doing other stuff while waiting, completely forgetting what I was intending to do next. A clear case of induced ADD. Now, with the SSD card in there, I really don't get the time to switch to something else, so I can stay in the flow for much longer. Sometimes it feels kind of empty not having to wait for the machine, but I guess I'll get over it… :) I figure I'll be getting another year or two out of this machine now. By then, maybe I'll be able to affort a new Mac Pro. Or maybe I won't even want to switch anymore.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Texas Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 WOW! Very,Very Fast October 17, 2013 Couldn't believe that my old 4,1 quad core machine could run this well. Do yourself a favor and upgrade. Easy install, mounts just like a regular disk volume and I promise you will not believe the speed.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 960GB OWC Mercury Accelsior E2 PCI Express High-Performance SSD with eSATA Expansion Ports.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Chuzpah Location: Southern California Age: 35-44 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 3-4 months
Rating: 5/5 Ultra Fast Mac Pro boot times/performance November 27, 2012 I've been using my 240GB Mercury Accelsior for several months now as my main boot drive and it has exceeded my expectations. My 2010 Mac Pro (8 Core) boots in less than 20 seconds and applications such as Illustrator, Photoshop, and Final Cut Pro X start nearly instantaneously! I can transfer large files to my internal OWC 240GB 6G SSD in seconds as well. I'm going to get another 240GB Accelsior and RAID 0 them for maximum performance! The only small complaint I have is if the drive is not setup as a boot drive it will show as an external hard drive and you can accidentally eject it.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 240GB OWC Mercury Accelsior PCIe SSD for Mac Pro 2008-12 & PC. High-Performance, Bootable.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: dnorris Location: Carolina Beach, NC Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Completely Worth it! November 14, 2012 With a little trepidation, I bought the 480GB Accelsior for my 2009 Mac Pro. I was considering buying a new iMac this January but wanted to give my very well equipped and reliable Mac Pro one more chance. It has been sluggish but still has plenty horsepower. Just feels pokey. Well — Pokey NO MORE! I’ve never had a SSD but this thing is screamingly fast. It is just what the doctor ordered. It saved me over $6000 in upgrading my Mac Pro. I cannot believe how snappy my Mac Pro is now. If you have an older Mac Pro and need to give it a boost, don’t buy a new one - give this a try. Installation was completely painless and I’m only fairly techy. I used Carbon Copy Cloner to clone my boot drive. Photoshop just screams now. OWC is highly recommended and they even had icons for the desktop that represent the PCIe card. What a nice touch. I cannot be more satisfied.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 480GB OWC Mercury Accelsior PCIe SSD for Mac Pro 2008-12 & PC. High-Performance, Bootable.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: joeshmoe Location: Hawaii Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Made me keep my Mac Pro 2008 Dual Xeons November 4, 2012 I never even knew this existed until one day browsing OWC's website. I had bought my memory for both my Mac Pro (back in 2009) and more recently for my Mac Mini. I was actually thinking of doing SSD in my Mac Mini so I could get that "instant on" like you find on Macbook Pros and Macbook Airs. Decided to take the leap and boy do I just love it ! That spinning thingy doesn't even make it to two loops and I am at my desktop and ready to go ! Insanely fast ! Data loads at literally a blink of an eye (could actually be faster but hey it's plenty crazy fast.) Nothing like bypassing the SATA bottleneck for speed that is nothing short of insane. I was planning on selling my Mac Pro 2008 with dual Xeons. Now I don't ever want to lose this baby because I can load up 4 hard drives in this puppy along with the space I have leftover on my 120GB OWC Mercury Accelsior PCI Express SSD which blazes with Parallels too! Windows run way, way faster than on my Dell 3.2Ghz i7 with 12GB RAM PC ! Although I am running an old version of Photoshop (version 7) under Windows it runs so fast that even major changes to photos have no delay even worth mentioning! I am a VERY satisfied customer. Kudos to OWC who helped this not so computer savy guy get Mountain Lion installed on my Accelsior PCI Express SSD and my Mac Pro 2008 flying ! Aloha and Mahalo to all at OWC !

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 120GB OWC Mercury Accelsior PCI Express SSD for Mac & PC. High-Performance, Fully Bootable..

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: BGPictures Location: Santa Monica, CA Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 3-4 months
Rating: 5/5 New life for Mac Pro October 24, 2012 After researching SSDs for a while, I realized that unlike a MacBook Pro, my Mac Pro tower would turn a 6G SSD into a 3G -- I went for the Mercury. No problems. I want more of these!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 480GB OWC Mercury Accelsior PCIe SSD for Mac Pro 2008-12 & PC. High-Performance, Bootable.

OWC 480GB Mercury Accelsior E2 PCI Express Solid State Drive Mfr P/N: SSDPHWE2R480 MacSales.com SKU: OWCSSDPHWE2R480 Hardware RAID Solid State Drive 3 Year OWC SSD Limited Warranty Ships: Same Day Only $499.99CyberSaver $449.75
Add to CartOther World Computing SSDPHWE2R480 In Stock, Click to Buy Now
Additional capacities:
  • 0GB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $199.99
    • MacSales.com Price $144.00
  • 240GB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $379.99
    • MacSales.com Price $349.75
  • 480GB
  • 960GB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $749.99
    • MacSales.com Price $649.75