Quality Solutions. Expert Support. Since 1988.

MacSales.com Logo

OWC

480GB
Mercury Accelsior E2
PCI Express Solid State Drive

The PCIe SSD drive built for the most demanding needs of video editing and creative professionals.
3 Year OWC SSD Limited Warranty
Boot, Launch, Create, and Save Faster
With its simultaneous internal and external storage performance, the Mercury Accelsior E2 offers the the best combination of speed, capacity, and connectivity available today.

Stop waiting for I/O-intensive apps like Photoshop, Final Cut Pro, or Avid Pro Tools to render, capture or process. Start working faster with near instantaneous boots and app launches. And save your work faster than ever before.

The Accelsior E2 utilizes the PCIe slot in Mac Pros and PC towers, the fastest data interface available, to deliver up to 820MB/s of blistering performance. That's nearly 3x faster than an SSD equipped Mac Pro 3Gb/s drive bay, and well beyond 6Gb/s drive speeds.

When your work is completed, transfer it for backup or archival purposes at speeds up to 600MB/s via the two eSATA expansion ports to any external storage device with an eSATA port.
Boost Server and Gaming Data Speeds
In addition to video-editing and multimedia creation / management deployment, the Accelsior E2 takes servers and gaming to entirely new levels of performance with it's extreme data speeds.

With up to 100,000 IOPS, business-critical applications like online transaction processing databases are given an instant boost. For gamers, Accelsior E2's speed dramatically reduces game level-loading, object streaming, and save times for more playing and less waiting.
And Laptops, Mac mini, & iMac Too...
The Accelsior E2 isn't just for desktop computing. With an external PCIe expansion chassis, such as the OWC Helios, you can enjoy the Accelsior E2's performance benefits with any Thunderbolt port equipped Mac or PC.
Efficient, Reliable, and Upgradeable SSD Blades
Accelsior E2's SandForce Driven™ SSD blades provide a more responsive and productive computing experience with cooler, quieter, and more energy efficient operation compared to standard hard drives. SandForce RAISE™ technology provides RAID-like data redundancy protection and reliability.

And with the future introduction of higher capacity Mercury Accelsior SSD blades, you'll be able to meet expanding storage needs while extending the useful life of your investment.
Easy-to-Install & Robust
Accelsior is as easy-to-install as memory a upgrade, yet robust enough to handle the rigors of pro environments.

This game-changing, high-performance upgrade comes backed by a 3 Year OWC SSD Limited Warranty.
Trade in Program Accelsior Trade-Up Program Previous Accelsior owners can trade-up to E2:
View rebate details.
Add Up to 32TB Externally
with Two eSATA Expansion Ports
In addition to the ultimate SSD upgrade, the Accelsior E2 adds two eSATA storage expansion interfaces to any Mac Pro. Achieve faster than internal drive speeds with up to 600MB/s performance per drive. That's a whopping 6x faster than the fastest stock Mac Pro external interface of FireWire 800 with up to 100MB/s data rates.
RAID or Single Drives,
The Choice is Yours
A variety of single and multi-drive RAID solutions can be connected via Accelsior E2's two eSATA expansion ports. You can also create a RAID array with Apple's Disk Utility, SoftRAID, or various software RAID applications for PCs.

Includes

Note about compatibility and throughput:
  • Compatibility:
    • Compatible with all eSATA equipped storage solutions.
  • PC Throughput:
    • PCIe 2.0 x4 slot or better is required. Use of a PCIe 1.0 x4 slot will reduce performance.
  • Mac Pro Throughput:
    • 2009-2010 Mac Pro. Installing Accelsior into any open x4 or x16 PCIe 2.0 slot will deliver full throughput up to 785MB/s.
    • 2008 Mac Pro. These models have two x16 PCIe 2.0 slots, which enable Accelsior E2 to deliver full throughput up to 785MB/s. Installing Accelsior E2 into of the two x4 PCIe 1.0 slots will result in Accelsior E2 being addressed as a gen one, one-lane card with performance limited to real world 190-200MB/s data rates.
    • 2006-2007 Mac Pro. These models utilize PCIe 1.0 slot which cannot be configured (even with the Expansion Utility in OS X) to address Accelsior E2 as anything but as a first generation one-lane card. As a result, Accelsior_E2 performance will be limited to 190-200MB/s data rates. If maximum data rate speed up to 285MB/s is desired, we recommend the installation of a 2.5" OWC Mercury SSD in an open Mac Pro drive bay.
  • eSATA Expansion Ports:
    • Compatible with all eSATA equipped storage solutions.*
    • A sleep conflict may be encountered when using certain eSATA chipsets via the eSATA ports when booted to the Accelsior E2. See the specifications tab for affected solutions where System Sleep mode MUST be disabled in order to ensure reliable operation. Allowing system sleep to occur while one of the affected external drives is connected via the Accelsior E2 eSATA ports could result in loss of data following wake from sleep. Although the above are our general recommendations for use, wake from sleep has been determined to only be an issue when the Accelsior E2 is used for startup (SSD or eSATA connected device). We are working with our partners to see that the sleep/wake function is fully supported with all solutions and startup scenarios.
  • Dual Card Use/Booting:
    • Dual Accelsior_E2 Usage. The use of two or more Accelsior_E2 SSDs requires OS X 10.6.8 or later.
    • Windows booting is only supported in slot #3 on a 2008 Mac Pro (with model ID MacPro3,1). To boot Windows on an Accelsior E2, only one Accelsior E2 can be installed at a time. OWC Dual Boot Enabler for Apple Boot Camp required for use with Boot Camp utility. Download here.
    • 2006-2008 Mac Pro (with model ID MacPro1,1; MacPro2,1; MacPro3,1). Due to an Apple limitation, any volume located on a Mercury Accelsior_E2 SSD will not appear in the "option boot" menu. A volume installed on an Accelsior_E2 can be set as the Mac Pro's boot volume through the "Startup Disk" pane in System Preferences.

*Requires 6Gb/s certified cables for connecting to eSATA drives - available separately. Not compatible with port-multiplier enclosures. The eSATA ports do not support hot-swapping. Accelsior_E2 eSATA ports are bootable.
This OWC SSD is compatible with: Learn how to find your Mac's model ID
Mac Pro
Mac Pro (Mid 2010 Quad-Core)
(July, 2010)
Model ID: MacPro5,1
2.8GHz, 3.2GHz, 3.33GHz
Mac Pro
Mac Pro 6-Core
(Mid 2010-2012)
(July, 2010 / June 2012)
Model ID: MacPro5,1
3.33GHz
Mac Pro
Mac Pro 8-Core (Mid 2010)
(July, 2010)
Model ID: MacPro5,1
2.4GHz
Mac Pro
Mac Pro 12-Core
(Mid 2010-2012)
(July, 2010 / June 2012)
Model ID: MacPro5,1
2.40GHz, 2.66GHz, 2.93GHz, 3.06GHz
Mac Pro
Mac Pro (Early 2009 Quad-Core)
(March, 2009)
Model ID: MacPro4,1
2.66GHz, 2.93GHz, 3.33GHz
Mac Pro
Mac Pro (Early 2009 8-Core)
(March, 2009)
Model ID: MacPro4,1
2.26GHz, 2.66GHz, 2.93GHz
Mac Pro
Mac Pro (Early 2008)
(January, 2008)
Model ID: MacPro3,1
2.8GHz, 3.0GHz, 3.2GHz
Mac Pro
Mac Pro (8-core)
(April, 2007)
Model ID: MacPro2,1
3.0GHz
Mac Pro
Mac Pro
(August, 2006)
Model ID: MacPro1,1
2.0GHz, 2.66GHz, 3.0GHz
Xserve Intel
Xserve (Late 2006)
(August, 2006)
Model ID: Xserve1,1
dual 2.0GHz, dual 2.66GHz, dual 3.0GHz
Xserve Intel
Xserve (Early 2008)
(January, 2008)
Model ID: Xserve2,1
2.8GHz, dual 2.8GHz, dual 3.0GHz
Xserve Intel
Xserve Quad-Core (Early 2009)
(April, 2009)
Model ID: Xserve3,1
2.26GHz
Xserve Intel
Xserve 8-Core (Early 2009)
(April, 2009)
Model ID: Xserve3,1
2.26GHz, 2.66GHz, 2.93GHz
PC Desktop
PC Desktops
Compatible with Intel / AMD Process based PCs capable with the specifications listed above.
PC Servers
PCIe capable servers
Compatible with PCIe expandable servers with the specifications listed above.
OWC Helios
OWC Mercury Helios
Thunderbolt PCIe
expansion chassis
HP DL 380 G7
NOT COMPATIBLE
HP DL 380 G7
HP DL 380 G8
Dell PowerEdge R620
NOT COMPATIBLE
Dell PowerEdge R620
Dell PowerEdge R620
NOT COMPATIBLE
Dell PowerEdge T620
* Not compatible with port-multiplier enclosures. The eSATA ports do not support hot-swapping. Accelsior_E2 eSATA ports are bootable.

**A sleep conflict may be encountered when using certain eSATA chipsets via the eSATA ports when booted to the Accelsior_E2. See the specifications tab for affected solutions where System Sleep mode MUST be disabled in order to ensure reliable operation. Allowing system sleep to occur while one of the affected external drives is connected via the Accelsior_E2 eSATA ports could result in loss of data following wake from sleep. Although the above are our general recommendations for use, wake from sleep has been determined to only be an issue when the Accelsior PCIe is used for startup (SSD or eSATA connected device). We are working with our partners to see that the sleep/wake function is fully supported with all solutions and startup scenarios.

Release Candidate (RC) firmware set

There are two kinds of firmware for SSDs Mass Production (MP) and Release Candidate (RC). Prior to an MP firmware release, there are beta firmware releases and an RC firmware release. Often, the RC is the same as the MP release, however there can be small changes and bug fixes made between the two. OWC has evaluated the RC for the 6Gb/s SandForce 2281 Processor and found it to be stable with no issues reported during our testing. However, as with any evolutionary product, issues may surface as different usages and configurations are employed and it is important to understand that there will be further updates and revisions.

Since no firmware update is currently offered for the OWC Mercury EXTREME Pro 6G SSD, no update page exists. To see the typical steps involved with a self performed field firmware update, please visit our 3Gb/s product update page at: http://eshop.macsales.com/Customized_Pages/Framework.cfm?page=sf_firmware.html

It is important to note that the current firmware update tool requires the use of Windows XP/Vista/7. OWC is currently working on a Mac OS based update tool, but we do not have an exact availability date.

480GB Mercury Accelsior E2 PCI Express SSD Specifications:

Specifications

Controller
Dual LSI® SandForce SF-228x series processors with 7% Over Provisioning
NAND
Tier 1 Major Multi-Level Cell (MLC) High-Performance Sync-NAND Flash
Form Factor
Low Profile PCI Express
Interface
PCIe 2.0 x2
Expansion Ports1
Two eSATA 6Gb/s ports
Capacity2
480GB useable capacity
Total Flash Memory Components - 512GB
32GB allocated to real-time data redundancy & error correction
Formatted Capacity3
447GiB
SMART Attributes
Not Supported
Native Command Queuing
up to 32 commands
AHCI Compliant7
Plug and Play installation, no drivers required
Manufacturer Model Number
OWCSSDPHWE2R480
RoHS Compliant
Yes
Format

Physical

Height (max)
120mm (4.74″)
Width (max)
20.7mm (0.81″)
Length (max)
180mm (7.1″)
Weight
85 grams +/- 4 grams
0.18 lbs +/- 3.0 oz

Reliability4

Data Reliability
ECC Recovery: Up to 55 bytes correctable per 512-byte sector
Security
Chip Based Data Encryption: 128-bit AES-compliant
Warranty
3 Year OWC Warranty
(Standard return policy applies.)

Performance5

Sustained Sandy Bridge PC
Reads (up to)
780MB/s
Sustained Sandy Bridge PC
Writes (up to)
763MB/s
Sustained Ivy Bridge PC
Reads (up to)
823MB/s
Sustained Ivy Bridge PC
Writes (up to)
783MB/s
Sustained Mac Pro
Reads (up to)
677MB/s
Sustained Mac Pro
Writes (up to)
686MB/s
Random 4K Read
Up to 100,000 IOPS
Random 4K Write
Up to 100,000 IOPS
Write Latency
less than 0.1ms
Read Latency
less than 0.1ms

External Enclosure Qualification6

Qualified and Supported Solutions:
 
Oxford 924
NewerTech miniStack V3
Oxford 934
OWC Mercury Elite Pro Classic-Prev.
Oxford 936
OWC Mercury Elite Pro Dual-Prev.
OWC Mercury Elite Pro Dual Mini-Prev.
OWC Mercury Elite Pro Qx2
NewerTech Guardian Maximus Mini
JMicron 355
Passthrough
All solutions with both
  1. Only eSATA ports
  2. One drive per port
Such as
OWC Mercury Elite Pro RAID Ready
Not recommended due to sleep limitation:
 
Oxford 944
Oxford 946

Environmental (Operating)

Temperature (°F)
32°F to 158°F
Temperature (°C)
0°C to 70°C

Environmental (Non-Operating)

Temperature (°F)
-67°F to 302°F
Temperature (°C)
-55°C to 150°C

Acoustics

Idle (Typical)
0.0 bels
Seek (Typical)
0.0 bels

Operating System Compatibility7

Windows
Vista and higher
Server 2008 and higher
Mac OS X
10.6 and higher
Mac OS X Server
10.6 and higher
Ubuntu Linux
9.04 and higher
Fedora Linux
14 and higher
*All versions of VMWare ESXi are not supported.

Manual

Driver8

Required for Accelsior E2 SSDs purchased before 3/24/2016.
Driver for Apple Mac Pro

Firmware

  1. Requires 6Gb/s certified cables for connecting to eSATA drives - available separately. Not compatible with port-multiplier enclosures. The eSATA ports do not support hot-swapping. Accelsior_E2 eSATA ports are bootable. A sleep conflict may be encountered when using certain eSATA chipsets via the eSATA ports when booted to the Accelsior_E2. See the specifications tab for affected solutions where System Sleep mode MUST be disabled in order to ensure reliable operation. Allowing system sleep to occur while one of the affected external drives is connected via the Accelsior_E2 eSATA ports could result in loss of data following wake from sleep. Although the above are our general recommendations for use, wake from sleep has been determined to only be an issue when the Accelsior PCIe is used for startup (SSD or eSATA connected device). We are working with our partners to see that the sleep/wake function is fully supported with all solutions and startup scenarios. 
  2. 1GB = 1,000,000,000 bytes. Total accessible capacity varies depending upon operating environment (typically 5-10% less). The actual total capacity will depend on your own defined file settings/preferences. 
  3. In terms of standard gigabytes, 1GiB ≈ 1.074GB and refers to the actual formatted capacity of shown under Mac OS 10.5 or earlier and Microsoft Windows OS.
  4. Specific application environments such as temperature and duty cycle will affect the overall reliability.
  5. Performance may vary by machine - see compatibility tab for details.
  6. A sleep conflict may be encountered when using certain eSATA chipsets via the eSATA ports when booted to the Accelsior_E2. See the specifications tab for affected solutions where System Sleep mode MUST be disabled in order to ensure reliable operation. Allowing system sleep to occur while one of the affected external drives is connected via the Accelsior_E2 eSATA ports could result in loss of data following wake from sleep. Although the above are our general recommendations for use, wake from sleep has been determined to only be an issue when the Accelsior PCIe is used for startup (SSD or eSATA connected device). We are working with our partners to see that the sleep/wake function is fully supported with all solutions and startup scenarios. 
  7. OWC Dual Boot Enabler for Apple Boot Camp required for use with Boot Camp utility. Download here.
  8. Driver ensures proper power-down of Accelsior E2 during sleep, restart, and shutdown actions that may otherwise not occur in the Mac Pro with PCIe connected drive volumes. This driver does not affect or interact with other drivers, software applications, hardware devices, etc. This driver is not required for use of Accelsior E2 in Thunderbolt to PCIe Expansion chassis (such as OWC Helios). No driver is required for use of Accelsior E2 for Windows or Linux operating systems.


Note: The use of two or more Accelsior SSDs requires OS X 10.6.8 or later.
Note: While using Windows with an Accelsior, only one Accelsior SSD can be installed.
       

Gallery

Benchmarks

Click any of the benchmarks below to view the results.

Customer Ratings

Write a Review 4.9 / 5 109 out of 112 (97%) reviewers would recommend this product
1 2 3 4 5
Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Brunei Darussalam Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Very Good September 28, 2012 Lighting fast! SSD's made my 2009 Mac Pro fast, but the read/write speed with the 960GB OWC Mercury Accelsior is phenomenal! Installed it in 15min, format the 960GB using partitian journaled, duplicated my 480GB SSD and my mac feels like a 12 core:-)

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from (*) 960GB OWC Mercury Accelsior PCI Express SSD for Mac & PC. High-Performance, Fully Bootable..

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Surfincolin Location: Seattle, WA Experience Level: Power User
Rating: 5/5 Awesome! Install was..."fun"... September 20, 2012 This is an extremely fast drive to operate off of. It took a little fiddling around to get it install and running the operating system. Once I got it going though it has been nothing but awesome. Running a clean install of OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion on it. Shows up looking like an external drive but does not give you the option to eject it. I have a non-Mac Nvidia card in the system that I had to swap with the original systems video card to get the drive initialized. But like I said once I got past that and got the Nvidia card back in, it has been great. The downside I can see is I use a lot of the PCI slots for video capture cards and it takes one of those slots.

Over all the computer is snappy and more responsive coming from a traditional 7200 rpm drive. I now store all my user files on the old operating drive.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 240GB OWC Mercury Accelsior PCIe SSD for Mac Pro 2008-12 & PC. High-Performance, Bootable.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: KW123 Location: Austin tx Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 installation simple, one tricky part with itunes & Users/Shared August 31, 2012 hardware setup was very simple, disk utility setup also- one issue with iTunes

here the setup Mac Pro 2008 with 4 * 2 TB disk setup as 2 set of 4 TB striped, 2. set is used as back up for 1. set Every night a complete back is done with super duper from 1. set to 2. set

after addition of SSD the system and some parts of the user directories were copied - without the biggest directories (ie itunes)- from 1. set to SSD with superduper.

then boot to ssd (preference Users & Groups set startup disk to SSD) After boot. The MS Office licenses had to be reentered - after start of word or excel.

with sym-links the itunes directory was linked to the old place in terminal sudo ln -s /Volumes/old-drive/Users/abcxyz/Music/itunes /Volumes/new-SSD/Users/my-id/Music/

you might need to configure iTunes to find the itunes directory depending on your setup (iTunes /preferences/advanced)

Itunes worked but always started with error message "access are not sufficient"

Solution: iTunes looks for a directory /Users/Shared on new SSD, if it does not exist you get the error message. There is some discussion on MAC forums.

in Terminal: sudo mkdir /Users/Shared can not be done in Finder

right click in finder on Users/Shared and add rights to all (Read & Write)

now every thing works fine.

boot time is factor of 3++ faster, benchmark shows between 2 and 10 faster speed, Word come up in 1-2 Seconds...

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 480GB OWC Mercury Accelsior PCIe SSD for Mac Pro 2008-12 & PC. High-Performance, Bootable.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: lkmd Location: dallas Age: 45-54 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 great August 30, 2012 I compared a ssd raid and the accelsior 960 on my mac pro 3,1 The results showed that the Accelsior read/write times were faster on the large files. The ssd raid did handle the smaller 4k files faster... I am very pleased as apple has failed in supporting the mac pro and is still using SATA 2, Thats embarrassing ...

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from (*) 960GB OWC Mercury Accelsior PCI Express SSD for Mac & PC. High-Performance, Fully Bootable..

Verified Buyer Top 250 Contributor
Reviewer: GregS Location: Branford CT Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Mercury Accelsior PCI Express August 27, 2012 So very FAST. Apps boot in a few seconds. Widows 7 with Parallels is up in 10 Seconds.Boot time from the chime on a Mac Pro with 4 internal and 3 external drives is 31 seconds. Boot time from power button press to all login apps is 56 seconds ( my logins include Air vid server, scan snap,cafine, default folders, slidefolders drop copy, zinio alert drop box Microsoft auto updater eye tv helper fantastical chrono sync iTunes sharpshooter shutdown pro ).

Truly amazing.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from (*) 960GB OWC Mercury Accelsior PCI Express SSD for Mac & PC. High-Performance, Fully Bootable..

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Vizsla1086 Location: NYC Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Lightning in a bottle...... August 25, 2012 I bought a 2009 Mac Pro to use strictly as a file server, with an eye to then purchasing a new mac to use as my primary machine. I found the 2009 Mac Pro just what I needed for server duties, but just not fast enough to be comfortable using on a daily basis (and I was booting from a 256 GB Intel 510 ssd, but the SATA 2 limitation of the Mac Pro plus the GT 120 Video card made the machine slugglish ny 2012 standards.

So....I switched out the Intel 510 for a Mercury Acelsior 240 GB PCIe SSD.

Holy Scorched Motherboard, Batman! This machine flies. No. I take that back. It soars, it shoots the rapids, it's on it's way to the Moon. Talk about revitalizing!! I can't do much about the stock 2.6 Ghz Zeon quad core chip, but CPU speed is the least important of any of my variables when considering throughput. By putting archive data on the on-board SATA 2 drives and moving everything to the acelsior, I figure I've save $1,500 of more, even with the $800 I spent in upgrades, because this machine will do me for another two to three years now.

I'm literally staggered by the increase in perceptible speed. I'm writing this in the first hours of use, so I can't say much just yet about reliability and/or durability, but I can say the speed promises are spot on.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 240GB OWC Mercury Accelsior PCIe SSD for Mac Pro 2008-12 & PC. High-Performance, Bootable.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: chubad Location: Minneapolis Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 WOW!!! August 23, 2012 An easy install, no drivers and a huge performance boost. Photoshop CS 6 launches in 1.5 seconds! This is a "no brainer" if you own a Mac Pro. I originally installed a standard SSD 6G not realizing that the Mac Pro did not support 6G speeds. I returned it and added this. Night and day!! Very happy camper!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 240GB OWC Mercury Accelsior PCIe SSD for Mac Pro 2008-12 & PC. High-Performance, Bootable.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: mrrjm Location: Illinois Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Fast Fast Fast! August 15, 2012 I have an early 2009 MacPro. After downloading Mountain Lion the install bar said it was going to take 34 minutes to install. Well it actually took less then 10 minutes to do the full install. This card is Fast!

I was using the Apple raid and 3 15,000 rpm SAS drives in raid 5. The problem is these drives are noisy along with the cooling fans. With the Mercury Accelsior PCI Express SSD the MacPro is now almost silent. And I can put it to sleep. Something I couldn't do with the Raid 5. I highly recommend this card!!

Ray

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 120GB OWC Mercury Accelsior PCI Express SSD for Mac & PC. High-Performance, Fully Bootable..

Verified Buyer Top 50 Contributor
Reviewer: joevt Location: Langley, B.C. Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Excellent speed if your Mac or PC supports PCIe 2.0 x2 May 31, 2012 I use this card in the second PCIe 2.0 slot of a Mac Pro 2008. It's very fast at reading and writing and booting Mac OS X.

I would not recommend this card if you only have a PCIe 1.0 slot because it will work only at half speed (still faster than the Mac Pro's SATA II drive bays so it may be acceptable to you) or quarter speed (slower than the Mac Pro's SATA II drive bays) depending on whether or not the controller chip of the slot can negotiate x2.

Some PCIe 2.0 slots on some PCs (such as those controlled directly by the 2nd Generation Core Processor Family Desktop CPU's) cannot negotiate x2. They will use the Accelsior at half speed so check your PC's specs before buying.

The Mac Pro 2008 cannot boot into Boot Camp while the Accelsior is installed. Newer Mac Pros don't have this problem. OWC says Boot Camp can also run from the Accelsior but only if the entire drive is formatted for Boot Camp.

The Accelsior also comes with both a standard-length and a low profile bracket which is easily changeable with two screws.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 480GB OWC Mercury Accelsior PCIe SSD for Mac Pro 2008-12 & PC. High-Performance, Bootable.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: badalca Location: FR
Rating: 5/5 Excellent Product May 28, 2012 Understandably the price of this drive is extremely high, however after over a month of use the increase in performance in comparison to standard sata connected drives is unbelievable.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from (*) 960GB OWC Mercury Accelsior PCI Express SSD for Mac & PC. High-Performance, Fully Bootable..

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: PaulZ Location: Paris, France Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 6 (six) stars ! May 3, 2012 Excellent ! Your experience with any Mac Pro will be elevated to a new level. Put your Accelsior into any available slot (Mac Pro 2010), and voila ! Whichever reads and writes are just extremely fast. Trim is not supported (the drive is recognized as an rotating HDD !) but Sandforce Garbage Collection is doing OK, and performance is steady stable after days of intensive use. I will certainly appreciate having the option to change the « blades » (identical physical format to the one available at OWC for the MacBook Air, once larger capacities (ie 960GB per blade) are available.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 480GB OWC Mercury Accelsior PCIe SSD for Mac Pro 2008-12 & PC. High-Performance, Bootable.

Response from MacSales.com, Marketing May 3, 2012 While physically similar, the "blades" are NOT identical to the OWC Mercury Aura Pro drives for the MacBook Air.
Verified Buyer
Reviewer: PaulZ Location: Paris, France Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Excellent, but Raid-1 is NOT available for Mac OSX April 22, 2012 Excellent, but Raid-1 is NOT available for Mac OSX, while at the time of purchase, this was NOT mentioned. It has been corrected since. The product has just to be put into any available slot (Mac Pro 2010), and voila ! Boot, read write are just very, very fast. Trim is not supported (the drive is recognized as an rotating HDD !) but Sandforce Garbage Collection is doing OK, and performance seems to be steady stable after a few days of intensive use. Only caveat : sometimes after puting the mac Pro to sleep, the beachball appears for a few seconds before we can really do something.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from (*) 960GB OWC Mercury Accelsior PCI Express SSD for Mac & PC. High-Performance, Fully Bootable..

OWC 480GB Mercury Accelsior E2 PCI Express Solid State Drive Mfr P/N: SSDPHWE2R480 MacSales.com SKU: OWCSSDPHWE2R480 Hardware RAID Solid State Drive 3 Year OWC SSD Limited Warranty Ships: 14 Days Only $499.99CyberSaver $449.75
Add to CartOther World Computing SSDPHWE2R480, Click to Buy Now
Additional capacities:
  • 0GB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $199.99
    • MacSales.com Price $144.00
  • 240GB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $379.99
    • MacSales.com Price $349.75
  • 480GB
  • 960GB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $749.99
    • MacSales.com Price $649.75