Get exclusive deals delivered to your inbox!

Start saving today. »

We're sorry, but this item is no longer for sale. However, there may be more Thunderbolt » Thunderbolt Docks, Hubs & Adapters » TB to Multi-Interface items available.

This was an Open Box product listing. For more great deals on Open Box, Refurbished and Used items, keep an eye on our Garage Sale page. Or join our email list and be the first to know when new items become available!

OWC Thunderbolt 2 Dock

New Condition | Open Box

Thunderbolt 2  | USB 3.0 | FireWire 800 | HDMI  
Gigabit Ethernet | Audio In & Out
Unite Your Peripherals. Plug in to Your Possibilities.
  • 12 Ports of incredible connectivity
  • Dual Thunderbolt 2 ports for daisy-chain support
  • Ultra-HD 4K and multiple display support
  • 5 USB 3.0 ports, including 2 high-power ports
  • FireWire 800 for storage and legacy devices
Finally, a Thunderbolt Dock Done Right
12 Ports of phenomenal flexibility, all united to your Mac or PC with just one lightning-fast Thunderbolt 2 cable. OWC Thunderbolt 2 Dock is the new foundation for your perfect workspace. Awesome performance meets incredible connectivity, the OWC Thunderbolt 2 Dock offers the ultimate in convenience and flexibility to streamline any workflow. With just one Thunderbolt cable, connect up to five USB 3.0 devices, Gigabit Ethernet, a FireWire device, HDMI, audio in, and audio out.
The Amazing Performance of Thunderbolt 2
Capable of an astounding 20 Gbps of throughput, the OWC Thunderbolt 2 Dock utilizes this phenomenal bandwidth to eliminate data bottlenecks, and effortlessly supports direct connection of up to ten devices, as well as daisy-chaining five additional Thunderbolt devices.
Connect More Displays
Configure the ultimate display setup to meet the needs of your workflow. Add a dazzling ultra HD 4K display, two high definition displays, or one 4K display and one high definition display. Even connect a VGA, DVI, or DisplayPort monitor utilizing the Thunderbolt 2 Dock's built-in HDMI and Thunderbolt ports.*
More Power to Work
The Thunderbolt 2 Dock features 5 fully-powered USB 3.0 ports for powering hard drives, SSDs, or optical drives, including 2 side-mounted, high-powered ports providing up to 1.5 Amps of power – perfect for charging iPhone, iPad, tablets, smartphones, and other USB-charged devices.
Everything You Need in a Dock. And More.
The OWC Thunderbolt 2 Dock is the unmatched expansion platform for your Thunderbolt-equipped Mac, with exceptional connectivity, and dependable performance. Whether adding USB 3.0 to an older Mac, Gigabit Ethernet to a newer MacBook Pro, or ensuring backwards compatibility with your existing FireWire 800 peripherals, the Thunderbolt 2 Dock keeps you connected.

*Dual monitor support requires the use of at least one Thunderbolt display. If you connect a display to the HDMI port, then the only display that will work through the Thunderbolt port is a Thunderbolt display. If you are not using the HDMI port, then you can use a Mini Display Port cable or adapter to connect a display to the Thunderbolt port.


OWC's upcoming Thunderbolt 2 Dock puts all other docks to shame. Derek Kessler, iMore.com & Managing Editor of Mobile Nations

Includes

  • Thunderbolt 2 Dock
  • Quick Start Guide
  • User Guide (Download Only)
  • AC Power Adapter

Gallery

Reviews

  • "The dock is my point of connectivity for all of the many OWC Products that I own as well as every piece of hardware that I review." — Dan East, Freelance Writer

OWC Thunderbolt 2 Dock Specifications:

Chipset

  • Thunderbolt 2

Interface / Ports

  • 2 x Thunderbolt 2 (20 Gb/s)1
  • 5 x USB 3.0 (5 Gb/s)
    • (3) USB 3.0
    • (2) USB 3.0 high-power charging
  • 1 x FireWire 800
  • 1 x HDMI 1.4b
  • 1 x Gigabit Ethernet
  • 1 x 3.5mm Mono Audio Input
  • 1 x 3.5mm Stereo Audio Output

Power Supply

  • Universal auto-switching
  • Input: AC 100-240V
  • Output: 12V 6.0A
  • Adapter plugs for international use sold separately.

AC Input

  • AC 100-240V

DC Output

  • 12V, 6.0A

Display Support

  • DisplayPort 1.2 with support for up to 4K/60Hz, or HDMI 1.4b with support for up to 4K/30Hz

Max Data Rate

  • 20 Gb/s

System Requirements

  • Works with any Thunderbolt equipped Mac running OS X 10.9.5 or later

Dimensions

  • Width: 9.05 in / 23 cm
  • Height: 0.98 in / 2.5 cm
  • Depth: 3.54 in / 9 cm

Weight

  • 0.85 lbs / 0.38 kg

Product Drivers

Notes

  • Dual monitor support requires the use of at least one Thunderbolt display.
  • DVI, VGA, DisplayPort, or other connection requires the use of a mini DisplayPort adapter.
  • USB 3.0 ports are only bootable on Mid 2013 and later Macs.
  • Thunderbolt, FireWire, and Ethernet are bootable on all Macs with a Thunderbolt port.
  • Charging iPad 1, 2, 3 and also Apple SuperDrive support are enabled by a driver. Driver is coming soon.



1. One Thunderbolt 2 port must be connected to the computer.
2. Driver enables support for the Apple SuperDrive, Apple USB keyboard, and iPad 1 and 2, and iPad 3rd Generation charging. You will need to restart your computer afterward.

Customer Ratings

Write a Review 4.8 / 5 185 out of 197 (94%) reviewers would recommend this product
1 2 3 4 5 6 7
Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Winchester, VA Age: Over 65 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Fantastic addition to my setup! August 1, 2016 The Dock works exactly as advertised. I have it connected to my MBP through the TB port, then fan out from there to a second Thunderbolt monitor, seven (yes, seven) external drives and two ports used for syncing an iPhone and iPad. I also use the Ethernet port for connection to the ISP Modem. All of this works just as it is described, with no discernible performance issues. Great piece of hardware!

This review is from OWC 12-Port Thunderbolt 2 Dock.

Verified Buyer Top 250 Contributor
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Rochester New York Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Indispensable, makes life much easier July 24, 2016 I use the dock with a MacBook Pro. When I get ready to travel I only have to disconnect the one thunderbolt cable. It also gives me the option of using two FireWire 800s+ all the extra USB connections. It makes up for what you're MacBook Pro is missing. This is my number one accessory would not want to be without it

Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Pittsburgh, PA Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Hobbiest Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Finally, one Dock to Rule them All July 18, 2016 Upgrading from 2010 MBP to a 2016 MBP brought along technological challenges, with the new MBP not having any Firewire port for connection. This dock will do it (for Migration Assistant), if you also get an ethernet cable and Thunderbolt to ethernet adapter. And it has all the ports for everything you need - USB2/3, FW800, HDMI, Audio and Thunderbolt. It is powered externally, with light indicators. And OWC customer service is phenomenal. I had a simple question and called customer service. Phone was picked up immediately, Gerald K., customer service rep., not only answered my question with competence, he followed up with an email review what we went over.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC 12-Port Thunderbolt 2 Dock.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Kelowna, BC Age: 18-24 Experience Level: Hobbiest Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Works very well July 1, 2016 I have been looking for a Thunderbolt dock for quite a while, and this one seemed to fit the bill due to its plethora of USB ports. Now that I have used it for over a month, it works well and keeps my peripherals connected continually. The dock is also designed very well from a structural standpoint and is quite durable. I would definitely recommend someone to buy this if they are looking for a use for their Mac's Thunderbolt port.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC 12-Port Thunderbolt 2 Dock.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Big Lake, MN Age: Over 65 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 5-6 months
Rating: 5/5 Doing what I need it to do June 30, 2016 I purchased this dock to replace a similar dock from another manufacturer that was giving me grief with the USB 3 busses. This one from OWC is what I should've gotten in the first place. USB 3 is now reliable, and fast! Now I have a used, somewhat working Thunderbolt dock that can't be trusted. Oh well, OWC comes through again. I just wish Thunderbolt hardware was more reasonably priced. All I really need now is a couple of eSATA to USB adapters.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC 12-Port Thunderbolt 2 Dock.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Plano, Texas Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Excellent! June 28, 2016 I bought this Thunderbolt dock so I could replace my MacPro, which won't be supported on MacOS Sierra, with my MacBook Pro. Everything is perfect and even better than I hoped for. I use two Dell U2410 24-inch displays on the MacPro and they work fine on the dock along with an external Thunderbolt 4-bay disk enclosure. The whole setup is faster than my old MacPro and now it is easier to move my photos from an outside photoshoot into Lightroom. I could not be happier.

Thank you OWC. Y'all have been helping me with Mac peripherals, memory, disks and software for more than 10 years now. Always quality products and great support

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC 12-Port Thunderbolt 2 Dock.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Cambridge, MA Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Very covenient indeed June 27, 2016 Tames the wire tangle. Makes best possible use of Thunderbolt port.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC Thunderbolt 2 Dock with Thunderbolt Cable Included.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Los Angeles, CA Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Perfect Solution! June 26, 2016 This product just works... Period! Solid unit. Integrated immediately. Allowed me to avoid a computer upgrade by giving me the additional, updated ports I need for my current setup. It's sleek and looks great with all my other Apple components, too.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC 12-Port Thunderbolt 2 Dock.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: New Jersey
Rating: 4/5 More USB & Thunderbolt Ports June 23, 2016 I'm using this dock with a 15" MacBook Pro (mid 2015). Plugged into the dock are 2 USB printers, a USB 3 portable drive, a G-Tech 1TB Thunderbolt drive and an Ethernet connection.

I edit video that is stored on the G-Tech and have no delay problems.

I have a second display connected to the second Thunderbolt port directly on the laptop.

I do wish there were more Thunderbolt ports so that I could add one or two more Thunderbolt drives.

I would recommend it.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Evanston, IL Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 5-6 months
Rating: 5/5 Great Dock May 26, 2016 I bought this to help clean up all the wires running to and from my Mac and it does the job well. I connect everything to this, including my ThunderBay, and then one thunderbolt cable to my Mac. Really helped clean-up my workspace.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: rockford il Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 thunderbolt dock May 20, 2016 love this dock plug everything up to it and have increased my speeds dramaticaly only thing that frustrates me is you can only plug one external monitor up to it. would love to see a work around on this to where u can plug one monitor in via thunderbolt and the other with the hdmi but it wasnt a deal breaker as it freed up a ton on my laptop and again my transfer speeds to my externals are up as well. the only other thing that i would consider a negative is the price but that wasnt a real deal breaker either very happy i took the plunge and bought it have already recomended it to several people

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC 12-Port Thunderbolt 2 Dock.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Valle Hermoso - Cordoba - ARGENTINA Age: 55-65 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 4/5 Excelente dispositivo May 8, 2016 Me permitió actualizar mi Macbook pro 15 late 2011 dandole opciones de conectividad mas actuales como USB 3, y HDMI.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from (*) OWC 12-Port Thunderbolt 2 Dock with Thunderbolt Cable Included.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Hollywood, CA Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 3-4 months
Rating: 4/5 In a timely fashion May 5, 2016 This dock is a nice addition to my iMac setup. Thing I really despise these days is the phasing out of FW800 ports. I'm an audio editor, and have been in the game for close to 20 years. I've had to upgrade all drives over time, and now the FW800 is pretty much all but disappeared. The Thunderbolt hub is a relief. Plenty of spots for everything since it mirrors the back of my computer. HOWEVER, and this is a big however...the dock now injects a high but low (aprox 7K) tone into my speakers, when the system sits idle. No audio, no vid, just on the desktop. The tone will intermittently come in and out. So, that's a pain, but other than that...good times.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC 12-Port Thunderbolt 2 Dock.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: San Francisco, CA Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Does exactly what you expect April 24, 2016 This ia an excellent dock for current Macs that have a Thunderbolt port. Operates very well. Powered USB ports charge phones and tablets quickly. This one little item has solved all of my connection issues to my new iMac regarding my legacy firewire drives etc. I would recommend this dock to others.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC 12-Port Thunderbolt 2 Dock.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Los Angeles, CA Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 5 Stars for Thunderbolt 2 Dock. April 21, 2016 My Brand Spankin' New 27" iMac 5K was filled with glitches. One was that it was ejecting my external HD randomly. I was getting error messages you have ejected your HD improperly.Could it be my iMac-El Capitan???? Incompatibility problems. I read the Thunderbolt 2 dock claims to be the most powerful dock. I tried it and have not had the connectivity problem again. Direct connectivity to the iMac did not work but the T2Dock did the trick. Thank You. I love that I can use my FW800, USB 2 - 3 and Thunderbolt devices through this unit.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Sioux Falls, SD Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 works--great April 11, 2016 works as it was supposed to. Thanks so much. You have made this work when no one else has been able to get it to work.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from (*) OWC 12-Port Thunderbolt 2 Dock with Thunderbolt Cable Included.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: LA area Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 5-6 months
Rating: 5/5 Not only convenient but powered dock. April 11, 2016 Would recommend, especially for iMacs. easy access to macs in cabinets

This review is from OWC 12-Port Thunderbolt 2 Dock.

Verified Buyer Top 100 Contributor
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Rockville, MD Age: Over 65 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Bought one for work, too April 10, 2016 I already had one at home and loved it so much I added this second one for work. It's just perfect and makes connecting my MBP so easy.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Taipei, Taiwan Age: 25-34 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 4/5 Highly Recommended April 10, 2016 I bought the OWC Thunderbolt 2 Dock to replace my ageing Belkin USB 2.0 Hub and so far it works wonderfully. It's a great complement to the MacBook Pro Retina mid-2012. Pro: Great selection and placement of ports, great built, great overall design that matches the MacBook's aluminium/black colour scheme. Con: All external drives (USB 3.0 and Firewire 800) get warmer than if they're connected separately through my Belkin hub and to the MacBook directly, audio out only available up to 16-bit, not recommended for audiophiles, awkward placement of power light.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC 12-Port Thunderbolt 2 Dock.

Verified Buyer Top 250 Contributor
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Chicago Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 This Rocks April 9, 2016 With this device I was able to attach multiple external devices, (drives, monitor, ethernet, etc.) to my MacBook Pro. Everything works and runs well with this device. Makes my MacBook into a desktop quickly and easily, or I disconnect and take it on the road.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from (*) OWC 12-Port Thunderbolt 2 Dock with 1.0M Thunderbolt Cable Included.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Western colorado Age: 35-44 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Nice product! March 25, 2016 Have used this for about a month now, and am quite happy with it -- it Just Works.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC 12-Port Thunderbolt 2 Dock.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Edmonton Canada Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Pricey but superb. March 18, 2016 Having tried two other Thunderbolt docks from other companies, and experiencing nothing but frustration with them, I decided to try OWC's version.

Magnificent. The data transfer speeds easily exceed the other docks I've owned. The dock itself is well designed and compact, aesthetically pleasing. The option of running HDMI through it is very welcome. The two high-powered USB ports on the side (rather than the back) is a very nice addition (and quick to charge even my iPad Pro).

The only complaints would be that the microphone and headphone jacks are in the back rather than the front, and I would like at least one more USB port in back; three is not quite enough despite the extra two on the side.

Do not be fooled. If you are looking for a Thunderbolt dock, this is the one to buy. No one else comes close.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC 12-Port Thunderbolt 2 Dock.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Ottawa, ON, Canada Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Useful device for current and legacy hardware March 16, 2016 I bought this device because I have a variety of older but still useful hardware devices, such as FireWire hard drives and a analogue to digital bridge. The dock has to be connected to the Mac via a thunderbolt cable so it's a good idea to purchase this unit with the cable. Now, it seems current interfaces will eventually be replaced by USB-C, which this unit doesn't support. That doesn't affect me so is not a drawback for me.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from (*) OWC 12-Port Thunderbolt 2 Dock with 1.0M Thunderbolt Cable Included.

Reviewer: Smokerz Location: Detroit, Mi Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 4/5 Best of all the TB Docks March 14, 2016 I would have rated this 5 star except for these items: 1- bought it at a third party store and paid more than full OWC price. Got it home and it was most likely used and returned. Has lots of scratches on the top 2- the two lights are difficult to see so I addeed two small plastic stick ons to raise the front slightly. 3- the two charging usb3 ports are not reliable for booting and especially for an OSX install. The three back ports do the job but this situation reduces my usb port usage to other devices. Other than those three this is absolutely the best TB dock out there. I've bought three others and not going to name them. Where does this OWC shine: 1- daisy chain my LaCie LBD with multiple OSX and its boots. 2- does not black out my 2013 Mac Pro when attached at the end of the LaCie LBD chain and booted from usb. 3- very reliable OSX install and complete the install boot The others failed at these three.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC 12-Port Thunderbolt 2 Dock.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: SF,CA Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 4/5 Multiple ports and easy access. March 10, 2016 Great addition to my new 5K iMac. Besides providing ports for FW800 and HDMI, USB3 and others are easy to access. Only minor gripe is a 'pop' through my powered monitors when the iMac enters sleep.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

OWC Thunderbolt 2 Dock Mfr P/N: TB2DOCK12P OWC SKU: OWCTB2DOCK12POB 1 Year OWC Limited Warranty
Sold Out