Free Shipping available on most orders $49.00 & up.

Get Details. »

We're sorry, but this item is no longer for sale. However, there may be more Thunderbolt » Thunderbolt Docks, Hubs & Adapters » TB to Multi-Interface items available.

This was a used product listing. For more great deals on Open Box, Refurbished and Used items, keep an eye on our Garage Sale page. Or join our email list and be the first to know when new items become available!

OWC
Thunderbolt 2 Dock

Used | OWC Tested

Thunderbolt 2  | USB 3.0 | FireWire 800 | HDMI  
Gigabit Ethernet | Audio In & Out
  • 12 Ports of incredible connectivity
  • Dual Thunderbolt 2 ports for daisy-chain support
  • Ultra-HD 4K and multiple display support
  • 5 USB 3.0 ports, including 2 high-power ports
  • FireWire 800 for storage and legacy devices
Finally, a Thunderbolt Dock Done Right
12 Ports of phenomenal flexibility, all united to your Mac with just one lightning-fast Thunderbolt 2 cable. OWC Thunderbolt 2 Dock is the new foundation for your perfect workspace. Awesome performance meets incredible connectivity, the OWC Thunderbolt 2 Dock offers the ultimate in convenience and flexibility to streamline any workflow. With just one Thunderbolt cable, connect up to five USB 3.0 devices, Gigabit Ethernet, a FireWire device, HDMI, audio in, and audio out.
The Amazing Performance of Thunderbolt 2
Capable of an astounding 20 Gbps of throughput, the OWC Thunderbolt 2 Dock utilizes this phenomenal bandwidth to eliminate data bottlenecks, and effortlessly supports direct connection of up to ten devices, as well as daisy-chaining five additional Thunderbolt devices.
Connect More Displays
Configure the ultimate display setup to meet the needs of your workflow. Add a dazzling ultra HD 4K display, two high definition displays, or one 4K display and one high definition display. Even connect a VGA, DVI, or DisplayPort monitor utilizing the Thunderbolt 2 Dock's built-in HDMI and Thunderbolt ports.*
More Power to Work
The Thunderbolt 2 Dock features 5 fully-powered USB 3.0 ports for powering hard drives, SSDs, or optical drives, including 2 side-mounted, high-powered ports providing up to 1.5 Amps of power – perfect for charging iPhone, iPad, tablets, smartphones, and other USB-charged devices.
Everything You Need in a Dock. And More.
The OWC Thunderbolt 2 Dock is the unmatched expansion platform for your Thunderbolt-equipped Mac, with exceptional connectivity, and dependable performance. Whether adding USB 3.0 to an older Mac, Gigabit Ethernet to a newer MacBook Pro, or ensuring backwards compatibility with your existing FireWire 800 peripherals, the Thunderbolt 2 Dock keeps you connected.

*Dual monitor support requires the use of at least one Thunderbolt display. If you connect a display to the HDMI port, then the only display that will work through the Thunderbolt port is a Thunderbolt display. If you are not using the HDMI port, then you can use a Mini Display Port cable or adapter to connect a display to the Thunderbolt port.


Includes

  • Thunderbolt 2 Dock
  • Quick Start Guide
  • User Guide (Download Only)
  • AC Power Adapter

Gallery

Reviews

  • "The dock is my point of connectivity for all of the many OWC Products that I own as well as every piece of hardware that I review." — Dan East, Freelance Writer

OWC Thunderbolt 2 Dock Specifications:

Chipset

  • Thunderbolt 2

Interface / Ports

  • 2 x Thunderbolt 2 (20 Gb/s)1
  • 5 x USB 3.0 (5 Gb/s)
    • (3) USB 3.0
    • (2) USB 3.0 high-power charging
  • 1 x FireWire 800
  • 1 x HDMI 1.4b
  • 1 x Gigabit Ethernet
  • 1 x 3.5mm Mono Audio Input
  • 1 x 3.5mm Stereo Audio Output

Power Supply

  • Universal auto-switching
  • Input: AC 100-240V
  • Output: 12V 6.0A
  • Adapter plugs for international use sold separately.

Display Support

  • DisplayPort 1.2 with support for up to 4K/60Hz, or HDMI 1.4b with support for up to 4K/30Hz

Max Data Rate

  • 20 Gb/s

System Requirements

  • Works with any Thunderbolt equipped Mac running OS X 10.9.4 or later
  • Windows is not supported

Dimensions

  • Width: 9.05 in / 23 cm
  • Height: 0.98 in / 2.5 cm
  • Depth: 3.54 in / 9 cm

Weight

  • 0.85 lbs / 0.38 kg

Product Drivers

Notes

  • Dual monitor support requires the use of at least one Thunderbolt display.
  • DVI, VGA, DisplayPort, or other connection requires the use of a mini DisplayPort adapter.
  • USB 3.0 ports are only bootable on Mid 2013 and later Macs.
  • Thunderbolt, FireWire, and Ethernet are bootable on all Macs with a Thunderbolt port.
  • Charging iPad 1, 2, 3 and also Apple SuperDrive support are enabled by above driver.



1. One Thunderbolt 2 port must be connected to the computer.
2. Driver enables support for the Apple SuperDrive, Apple USB keyboard, and iPad 1 and 2, and iPad 3rd Generation charging. You will need to restart your computer afterward.

Customer Ratings

Write a Review 4.8 / 5 185 out of 197 (94%) reviewers would recommend this product
1 2 3 4 5 6 7
Verified Buyer
Reviewer: agoraproductions Location: Switzerland Age: 45-54 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Really usefull product November 16, 2017 Now I can extend all my mac connections and get everything I need at the same place. Thanks to Macsales

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from (*) OWC 12-Port Thunderbolt 2 Dock with 1.0M Thunderbolt Cable Included. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: crevassier Location: Nevada Age: 35-44 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Making life a little simpler & cleaner. November 1, 2017 I feel like I am going to hold on to my mid 2012 non retina until the day I die. I've hit the upper ceiling with internal HDD storage (2TB for my video library in the OPTIBAY). I knew I was going to need to go external soon since 4TB SSDs are still prohibitively expensive. I needed a way to hook up a solid external HDD while having an HDMI output and being able to hook up my Pioneer DDJ-SX controller for use with Serato DJ and Mix Emergency.

It was getting very crowded on the left side of my MacBook Pro and I started worrying about stuff getting tugged on or pulling out. The dock has remedied that and now I can just keep an eye on the single Thunderbolt connection running under my laptop stand.

So far no latency issues with my controller and the DJ software, video output has been great and I will be testing an external TB drive of 4TB or larger around the holidays this year (2017) as the sales pop up!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC Thunderbolt 2 Dock with Thunderbolt Cable Included. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: StanR Location: Ocean Isle, NC Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Thunderbolt 2 Dock October 25, 2017 This is a good product. I use it with my iMac. It has all the ports I neerd. It works well and I highly recommend it.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC 12-Port Thunderbolt 2 Dock. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: gbsATyeg Location: Edmonton, AB Age: 55-65 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Thunderbold 2 Dock Improves Performance October 23, 2017 I recently received a TB 2 dock to expand my Mac Pro 2013 peripheral connectivity. The primary reasons for the purchase is that I have 2 Drobo 2nd Gen RAIDs attached to the Mac Pro, and I wanted to free up a TB2 port (with FW800 adapter), and add some addition USB3 ports.

Before attaching the TB2 dock, my Mac Pro would take up to 10 minutes to boot up, delayed because (I assume) the Mac Pro was waiting for the Drobos to mount. After attaching the TB2 dock and attaching the Drobos to the Dock, my start up time is the same as when I don't have the Drobos attached at all.

There are two deficiencies I wish were included: 1. I can not find a status light on the dock to indicate that the dock is receiving power. Having a power status light would be helpful in trouble shooting faulty devices.

2. Optical audio input. The latest generations of Macs have dropped Optical Input, although (oddly) optical outputs are still included. I have a number of optical devices that I can no longer attach to my new Macs, which necessitates keeping at least one older Mac in working condition to connect to my optical devices.

I give the TB2 dock 5 stars because it performs as advertised, although the above mention enhancements would be greatly appreciated, If #2 were added, I would definitely buy another TB2 dock!

Otherwise, the TB2 dock is performing great.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC 12-Port Thunderbolt 2 Dock. Customer Videos:

Response from MacSales.com, Call Center October 23, 2017 Hello! There is a power light on the dock, as well as a connection light. These are located on the bottom towards the front. Blue would be for power and green is an active Thunderbolt connection. They may be a little hard to see and I do apologize about that!
Verified Buyer
Reviewer: JMCG Location: Mexico and Germany Age: 35-44 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 OWC 12 Port Thunderbolt 2 Dock October 12, 2017 Excellent and let me tell you something good.

This product works very very good with the thunderbolt 3 to thunder bolt 2 adapter the performance is really really good no delays no overheats this product is very recommended.

Mac Sales OWC you are the best mac hardware seller int he world :D

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC 12-Port Thunderbolt 2 Dock. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Mercible2E Location: Olympia, WA Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 All the In's and Out's I need September 30, 2017 Had a much cheaper USB hub, but it was only USB 2.0. I needed something with Thunderbolt, Firewire, HDMI, and some additional USB 3.0 ports. This little bad boy did the trick! Plug and play... just plugged all my stuff in, and it worked great!

If you own an iMac and need Firewire and HDMI that your current setup doesn't have, I recommend this.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC 12-Port Thunderbolt 2 Dock. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: technologyfan Location: Portland, OR Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Thunderbolt 2 Dock September 28, 2017 This is a great plug and play dock. I am connecting a MacBook Air 2014 to this dock and plugging in a monitor via hdmi. It works great. No issues. I would highly recommend.

Jen

I would recommend this item to a friend! Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: ReallyNorm Location: LaGrange, GA Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 My desk is finally clean! September 19, 2017 My desk was looking like someone had spilled a bowl of spaghetti on it. There were cords everywhere! Monitor cords, USB extension cords, hubs, HDD cords; it was a huge mess. Now my desktop is nice and neat. Everything is plugged into this stylish aluminum dock and I only have one Thunderbolt cable coming to my MacBook Pro. One cable is piping in everything at USB 3.0 and Firewire speed. Very nice! I would highly recommend this dock.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC 12-Port Thunderbolt 2 Dock. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: AzNative
Rating: 5/5 Necessary for Expansion August 6, 2017 Out stand product as it allows variety of plugins to be used, speed with the iMac minimizes any delay anticipated.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC 12-Port Thunderbolt 2 Dock. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: 8uddy Location: Odgen, Utah Age: 18-24 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 4/5 Works great after setup July 20, 2017 This product works great once I realized there was an additional driver that I needed (never mentioned on any website except the original vendor). Once the driver was installed, I haven't had a problem at all.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC 12-Port Thunderbolt 2 Dock. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: WTDM Location: Manitoba, Canada Age: 45-54 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Awesome July 18, 2017 I love the dock! With only 2 USB ports on my MBP I was really limited as I like to leave an external Time Machine drive plugged in and my mouse used the other USB. Not I have lots of room for devices. I tried a couple other USB hubs, but they were flaky in that they disconnected often. This dock is rock solid. Plus being able to plug in my Ethernet means only having to unplug 1 cable to take my Mac with me. Sounds like a small thing, but it's convenient, and it works flawlessly. Totally happy with my purchase.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC Thunderbolt 2 Dock with Thunderbolt Cable Included. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: diarma Location: Serbia | Europe Age: 55-65 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 5+ Product July 12, 2017 OWC Thunderbolt Dock is Fantastic & extremely useful thing. Finally I have all of my peripherals at one place. Quality is 5+ also.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC Thunderbolt 2 Dock with Thunderbolt Cable Included. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: TomForMacsAndOWC Location: Falls Church VA Age: Over 65 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Meets all expectations June 16, 2017 This dock does everything described although I did not realize that a driver was required for CD readers and writers and USB powered hard drives until I found it didn't work and read the manual. It would be nice if it was mentioned more prominently in the advertisements. I actually find this also useful to keep cables in place as moving the monitor can cause dropouts when things are plugged into the computer USB ports on the iMac.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC 12-Port Thunderbolt 2 Dock. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: SSMan577682 Location: Scottsdale, AZ Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 Fantastic!!!! June 11, 2017 This is a very nice accessory for the versatile user. USB, thunderbolt etc. It's here for you in one place. A nice piece of gear.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC 12-Port Thunderbolt 2 Dock. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: EddieM Location: New Jersey Age: 55-65 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 3-4 months
Rating: 5/5 Great Dock May 29, 2017 The OWC Thunderbolt 2 Dock was a replacement for another dock from a different manufacture that had failed. I find that the connection speed and transfer rate is much higher with this dock. I highly recommend this dock and OWC service and support is amazing.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC 12-Port Thunderbolt 2 Dock. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Rodneysax Location: Arcadia Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 3-4 months
Rating: 5/5 Great Addition May 28, 2017 This product adds so much flexibility to my system. It allows me to use older FireWire devices along side of Thunderbolt units, assisting in bridging the older with the newer. Well worth the money!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC 12-Port Thunderbolt 2 Dock. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: MattHawaii Location: Hawaii
Rating: 5/5 Exactly what I needed May 15, 2017 This unique product has firewire, many usb3 inputs, mic input, and others that I need to use now that apple iMac has limited or done away with those things altogether.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC Thunderbolt 2 Dock with Thunderbolt Cable Included. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Mpetit
Rating: 4/5 Useful expansion of ports May 12, 2017 The Thunderbolt Dock has worked perfectly for me to easily connect a wide variety of devices, such as getting old data off a lot of different legacy drives. It makes for very easy, visible access to connect and disconnect many things without disturbing my basic back of the computer setup. I know that Thunderbolt lets devices link to one another but it would be nice if the Dock had one more Thunderbolt port since one of its two has to be used to connect to the computer.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC 12-Port Thunderbolt 2 Dock. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: toomanyrestrictions Location: EARTH... I'm mobile all of the time Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Everything attached via ONE cable March 12, 2017 Works great, 20TB becomes available with just one convenient cable and it's really fast!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC 12-Port Thunderbolt 2 Dock. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Music4Life Location: Vancouver, Canada Age: 18-24 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Exactly What I Needed March 7, 2017 Great product. Came fast and works perfectly. All of the connectivity of these are amazing, I just wish they had another Thunderbolt port!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC 12-Port Thunderbolt 2 Dock. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: mkarbon Location: Ossining, NY Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User
Rating: 5/5 Awesome Dock February 24, 2017 Just got this unit yesterday and I am totally happy with it. Looks nice and clean tucked in behind my MacBook Pro. Makes all my peripheral connection much neater and now only have 2 connections to unplug when I take my Laptop with me. Works Great !!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC 12-Port Thunderbolt 2 Dock. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: vidman Location: Florida Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 Another great and necessary expansion product February 7, 2017 This particular dock expands the capabilities of the Mac, especially laptops as it offers additional ports and functions that are either impossible of the laptop or more difficult with a stand-alone mac. I was so happy with my first one, that I purchased another for my other location. One feature I especially like is the ability to use both a microphone and headset simultaneously while doing pod broadcast. It is a great addition. The newer version will also work, but I do not currently use those ports. Consider it a must.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC 12-Port Thunderbolt 2 Dock. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer Top 250 Contributor
Reviewer: shortimer Location: Ellington, Connecticut Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Command Central February 1, 2017 This TB2 dock has been functioning very well in my recording studio for a little less than a year. As with many OWC products, it just works. I have NOT had one glitch with anything regarding my use with this dock. I do not use the headphone output, ethernet, and very little with firewire. I do have a passel of FW800/400 drives but I'm phasing them out for bigger USB3 drives in my setup. Bought a second TB2 dock for my musician son.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from (*) OWC 12-Port Thunderbolt 2 Dock - FW800, USB3, HDMI, GIGE, Audio. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: mordicai Location: San Diego Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 The Best DockEver January 29, 2017 Its expensive but it gets the jos done. My computer now sees everything . No more problems trying to get my Mac to see the DAC. Great product. Be even greater for a hundred buck less, but the problem is its the only game in town.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC Thunderbolt 2 Dock with Thunderbolt Cable Included. Customer Videos:

Reviewer: Mountaineer Location: WV Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 3-4 months
Rating: 5/5 Great Product! January 21, 2017 Works great, looks great!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC 12-Port Thunderbolt 2 Dock. Customer Videos:

OWC Thunderbolt 2 Dock Mfr P/N: TB2DOCK12P OWC SKU: OWCTB2DOCK12PU 90 Day OWC Limited Warranty
Sold Out