Get exclusive deals delivered to your inbox!

Start saving today. »

We're sorry, but this item is no longer for sale. However, there may be more Thunderbolt » Thunderbolt Docks, Hubs & Adapters » TB to Multi-Interface items available.

OWC
Thunderbolt 2 Dock with Thunderbolt Cable

Thunderbolt 2  | USB 3.1 Gen 1 | FireWire 800 | HDMI  
Gigabit Ethernet | Audio In & Out
  • 12 Ports of incredible connectivity
  • Dual Thunderbolt 2 ports for daisy-chain support
  • Includes Thunderbolt cable
  • Ultra-HD 4K and multiple display support
  • Five USB 3.1 Gen 1 ports, including two high-powered charging ports
  • FireWire 800 for connecting external storage and legacy devices
Finally, a Thunderbolt Dock Done Right
12 Ports of phenomenal flexibility, all united to your Mac with just one lightning-fast Thunderbolt 2 cable. OWC Thunderbolt 2 Dock is the new foundation for your perfect workspace. Awesome performance meets incredible connectivity, the OWC Thunderbolt 2 Dock offers the ultimate in convenience and flexibility to streamline any workflow. With just one Thunderbolt cable (included), connect up to five USB 3.1 Gen 1 devices, Gigabit Ethernet, a FireWire device, HDMI, audio in, and audio out.
The Amazing Performance of Thunderbolt 2
Capable of an astounding 20 Gbps of throughput, the OWC Thunderbolt 2 Dock utilizes this phenomenal bandwidth to eliminate data bottlenecks, and effortlessly supports direct connection of up to ten devices, as well as daisy-chaining five additional Thunderbolt devices.
Connect More Displays
Configure the ultimate display setup to meet the needs of your workflow. Add a dazzling ultra HD 4K display, two high definition displays, or one 4K display and one high definition display. Even connect a VGA, DVI, or DisplayPort monitor utilizing the Thunderbolt 2 Dock's built-in HDMI and Thunderbolt ports.*
More Power to Work
The Thunderbolt 2 Dock's side-mounted, high-powered USB 3.1 Gen 1 ports provide up to 1.5 amps of power and are perfect for charging iPhone, iPad, tablets, smartphones, and other USB-charged devices, as well as powering bus-powered hard drives, SSDs, or optical drives.
Everything You Need in a Dock. And More.
The OWC Thunderbolt 2 Dock is the unmatched expansion platform for your Thunderbolt-equipped Mac, with exceptional connectivity, and dependable performance. Whether adding USB 3.1 Gen 1 to an older Mac, Gigabit Ethernet to a newer MacBook Pro, or ensuring backwards compatibility with your existing FireWire 800 peripherals, the Thunderbolt 2 Dock keeps you connected.

*Dual monitor support requires the use of at least one Thunderbolt display. If you connect a display to the HDMI port, then the only display that will work through the Thunderbolt port is a Thunderbolt display. If you are not using the HDMI port, then you can use a Mini Display Port cable or adapter to connect a display to the Thunderbolt port.


OWC's upcoming Thunderbolt 2 Dock puts all other docks to shame. Derek Kessler, iMore.com & Managing Editor of Mobile Nations

Includes

Gallery

Reviews

  • "The dock is my point of connectivity for all of the many OWC Products that I own as well as every piece of hardware that I review." — Dan East, Freelance Writer

OWC Thunderbolt 2 Dock Specifications:

Chipset

  • Thunderbolt 2

Interface / Ports

  • 2 x Thunderbolt 2 (20 Gb/s) 1
  • 5 x USB 3.1 Gen 1 (5 Gb/s)
    • (3) USB 3.1 Gen 1
    • (2) USB 3.1 Gen 1 high-power charging
  • 1 x FireWire 800
  • 1 x HDMI 1.4b
  • 1 x Gigabit Ethernet
  • 1 x 3.5mm Mono Audio Input
  • 1 x 3.5mm Stereo Audio Output

Power Supply

  • Universal auto-switching
  • Input: AC 100-240V
  • Output: 12V 6.0A

Display Support

  • DisplayPort 1.2 with support for up to 4K/60Hz, or HDMI 1.4b with support for up to 4K/30Hz

Max Data Rate

  • 20 Gb/s

System Requirements

  • Works with any Thunderbolt equipped Mac running OS X 10.9.5 or later
  • Windows is not supported

Dimensions

  • Width: 9.05 in / 23 cm
  • Height: 0.98 in / 2.5 cm
  • Depth: 3.54 in / 9 cm

Weight

  • 0.85 lbs / 0.38 kg

Product Drivers

  • High-power USB support is required for compatibility with the Apple SuperDrive and Apple USB keyboard, and is required to enable high-speed charging for Apple iPads, iPhones and other higher-power capable devices. To enable high-power USB support, an easy software update is required, including restart following this installation. Click here to download

Notes

  • Dual monitor support requires the use of at least one Thunderbolt display.
  • DVI, VGA, DisplayPort, or other connection requires the use of a mini DisplayPort adapter.
  • USB 3.1 Gen 1 ports are only bootable on Mid 2013 and later Macs.
  • Thunderbolt, FireWire, and Ethernet are bootable on all Macs with a Thunderbolt port.



1. One Thunderbolt 2 port must be connected to the computer.

Customer Ratings

Write a Review 4.8 / 5 185 out of 197 (94%) reviewers would recommend this product
1 2 3 4 5 6 7
Verified Buyer
Reviewer: MichaelO Location: L.A., CA Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Totally Awesome January 19, 2017 I previously wrote a review with 4 stars and I want to correct it now. The dock does work out very well and my audio out problem was due to my equipment NOT the dock. It is made to high standards and well worth the price to be able to use all my externals with my MBP Retina 13" 2015.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC 12-Port Thunderbolt 2 Dock. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Municher Location: Munich, Germany Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Nicely tucked away... January 19, 2017 I installed my Dock, integrating it into my desk and am now benefitting from much simplified connections for my MacBook Pro! Now I am more apt to take the MBP away from my desk and use it in other contexts. Ever since getting an iPad, my e-mail organization is a catastrophe, since it's much easier managing emails on the laptop. Now that my MBP is happily more mobile, I'll be using it more frequently and ultimately getting productive again! My only gripe is that I have to go into the System Prefs for Sound to activate USB audio CODEC each time I remount.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from (*) OWC 12-Port Thunderbolt 2 Dock. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Babydoc Location: New Jersey Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Great dock for cord consolidation January 16, 2017 This Thunderbolt 2 Dock is great for consolidating many of my computer connections. It can handle just about everything going into/coming out of my iMac. Now my desk is clear and I have additional ports for other peripherals. There is a newer, more expensive Thunderbolt 3 dock, but I find this more than wonderful, for my needs (3 y/o tricked out iMac) for less money. If you have a brand spanking new Mac of any flavor, I would probably recommend the T3 dock.

I would recommend this item to a friend! Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: ken1w Location: San Francisco, CA Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Adds life to my "old" Mac January 11, 2017 This is one of OWC's best products. I've been using it for a few months now with no problems, which is saying a lot considering it does so much.

My primary Mac is an aging but reliable 2011 Mac mini. It has the original Thunderbolt (1) port and slower USB 2 ports; it's old enough to have a "real" Firewire 800 port, which is still useful to me. This Thunderbolt dock has added extra years of life my old Mac, by giving it FIVE much faster USB 3 ports. One of those USB 3 ports on dock is connected to a 7-port powered USB 3 hub.

In addition to many USB 3 ports, I appreciate the additional FireWire 800 port I now have. My display uses DisplayPort connection, and it's connected to dock's second Thunderbolt port using Mini DisplayPort (same connector shape as Thunderbolt) to DisplayPort cable. I also use the separate audio output on dock; I can now easily switch between headphones (on Mac's build-in audio output) and powered speakers (on dock's audio output) using a software "switch" (in System Preferences Sound pane) instead of changing a physical connection.

The Thunderbolt dock has several other significant capabilities that I don't use currently. It's remarkable that this one device can do all of those things, and do it through a single thin Thunderbolt cable to the Mac. It "just works." And it looks pretty good sitting next to my Mac mini too.

NOTES: There's no Thunderbolt cable in the box; be sure to include one (of desire length) with your order. The USB 3 ports on dock are described as “USB 3.1 Gen 1.” I found out this is the somewhat confusing new name for the previous "USB 3.0" port specification, which is how dock's ports are identified in the System Information app on the Mac.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC 12-Port Thunderbolt 2 Dock. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Denmobile Location: Mobile, AL Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Love this Dock! January 4, 2017 The 12 Port Thunderbolt Dock has allowed me to upgrade my early 2011 MacBook Pro for a fraction of the cost of buying a new laptop. I love it! OWC remains my go-to company for all my Mac needs.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC 12-Port Thunderbolt 2 Dock. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: BeachBum Location: New Smyrna Beach, FL Age: 55-65 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Great for connecting multiple devices at one time January 2, 2017 I bought this for my wife's MacBook Pro. she has dual external monitors and several USB devices, so disconnecting everything to use it portably was a pain. Now it is simple and she doesn't have to remember where everything needs to reconnect.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC 12-Port Thunderbolt 2 Dock. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Kenchan Location: Shizuoka, JAPAN Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 5-6 months
Rating: 5/5 If you use the Mac you should have it! January 1, 2017 This is wonderfully useful. When you take out the MacBook Pro, you only need to disconnect one Thunderbolt cable. You can connect to the old type hard disk. You will not get in the way of connecting headphones. You should have it if you are using a MacBook.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from (*) OWC 12-Port Thunderbolt 2 Dock - FW800, USB3, HDMI, GIGE, Audio. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: TerryG Location: Brisbane, Australia Age: 45-54 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Thunderbolt Dock Happiness December 18, 2016 I travel frequently for work and visit customers. The rest of the time I work from my desk with a multiple monitor setup. Unplugging and plugging in many cables each time I moved my MacBook Pro was becoming a chore. With my new Thunderbolt Dock I now have 3 cables to plug in to the MBP: Power for charging, thunderbolt to the dock and a HDMI for my 3rd monitor. I love this setup.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC 12-Port Thunderbolt 2 Dock. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: BJGSD Location: San Diego, CA Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Plug and GO December 15, 2016 I recently upgraded to MacOS Sierra on my MacBook Air (2013), when my Belkin Thunderbolt Dock (also 2013) started acting flakey (external monitor non-synch; HD USB camera not found; USB external drives spontaneously "ejected").... I called Belkin Tech Support and they acknowledged incompatibility with Sierra. I ordered the OWC Thunderbolt 2 Dock from MacSales which was delivered pronto, and moved the cables from the Belkin to the OWC; plugged in; and BAMM! Everything worked!!! This unit has 2 additional powered USB ports as well. Thank you OWC!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC 12-Port Thunderbolt 2 Dock. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Jamiekins Location: San Diego Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Great piece of equipment November 27, 2016 I use to have several cables attached to my computer it was awkward just moving around or even changing positions with my laptop pro. Now it's all tidy and easy with my thunderbolt 2 dock. I only have two cables, my power charger and my thunderbolt connection. it's just great and I have several USB 3.0 outs to use and my dock makes it all so easy and clean. And with my SSD drive and thunderbolt 2 dock my computer is a beast ! It is so fast I am amazed.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC 12-Port Thunderbolt 2 Dock. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: TG05 Location: Kansas Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 4/5 It does the job November 22, 2016 A nice piece of equipment to attach three external legacy drives to my new iMac. It would be nice to have a small on/off switch on it. The upper surface is a glossy black plastic that is soft, mine arrived with some scratches on it.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC 12-Port Thunderbolt 2 Dock. Customer Videos:

Response from MacSales.com, Marketing November 22, 2016 That's actually a common misconception - the upper surface is protected by a later of protective plastic (much like the screen on an iPhone) - the plastic should be removed before use and will reveal a pristine, scratch-free surface.
Verified Buyer
Reviewer: macstein23 Location: Phoenix, AZ Age: 35-44 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Must Have for Pro Users November 14, 2016 This dock is a must have for Pro Users! Having the ability to have my computer hard wired to the internet and have access to an HDMI port, multiple usb ports, and another thunderbolt port.... I can finally have all of my tools plugged into my mac at the same time and have extra ports to spare! Awesome product!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC 12-Port Thunderbolt 2 Dock. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: BobM Location: Long Island, NY Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Awesome product November 8, 2016 Plugged it in, let it go. All my devices were recognized with no problem & it continues to work perfectly

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC 12-Port Thunderbolt 2 Dock. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: HaleVideo Location: Murray, Utah Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 A Smorgasbord of Inputs November 8, 2016 A very versatile addition to my Mac which I believe should be standard. Construction is tops. Performance has been so far flawless. USB charge ports are useful. Would like to see the pilot light visible on the rear of the device as I like to plug in from the front instead of stretching to the back. Of course it's expensive but if you consider all the options available that you don't have to purchase separately it's reasonably priced. 5 Stars!!

This review is from OWC 12-Port Thunderbolt 2 Dock. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: mpsan
Rating: 4/5 Working Great, Would Love 3 Thunderbolt Ports November 8, 2016 No complaints on this product aside from I wish it had more than 2 Thunderbolt ports! Since one is necessary to connect to the computer, you're basically left with 1 Thunderbolt port available for peripherals. Great if that peripheral has multiple Thunderbolt ports so you can daisy-chain, but not all do. Thing is rather big, too, so you'd think there would be enough room for one more. USB charging ports are great and fast at charging. Awesome that it has the Firewire 800 port too for legacy drives! Overall great, just that one issue.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC 12-Port Thunderbolt 2 Dock. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: ColoradoBound Location: Colorado Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 No problems so far November 7, 2016 I purchased 2 of these docks and have been using them for a couple of months. I have not had any issues with them and it is nice to only have one cable to connect to my Mac.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC 12-Port Thunderbolt 2 Dock. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer Top 100 Contributor
Reviewer: philharve Location: Falmouth, Cornwall, UNITED KINGDOM Age: 55-65 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 3-4 months
Rating: 5/5 OWC 12 Port Thunderbolt 2 Dock November 4, 2016 I ordered this item mainly as an afterthought and because it was in a sale and offered at an affordable price. I possess many Macintosh items: 4x MacBook Pros, 1x MacBook Air, 3x printers and countless HDDs and related equipment. As one might imagine, I sometimes have an interface problem, which is not always solved by buying yet another cable, of which I have a great many. Something more is often required and I chose to buy the 12 Port Thunderbolt 2 Dock as that special item. It is not in constant use and I incorporate it, as needed, usually when I have an interfacing problem. It has not let me down by not offering the interconnect option I require. It is well-made, functional, has plenty of interconnect options and is surprisingly attractive.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC 12-Port Thunderbolt 2 Dock. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: DrDuck Location: Sioux Falls, SD Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 number two of these November 3, 2016 I purchased one but it worked so well and did exactly what it said it would do and so I got another.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC 12-Port Thunderbolt 2 Dock. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Emmanouil
Rating: 4/5 Great September 22, 2016 It's a great product but unfortunately can't support my Audio Interface. I was kind of disappointed

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC 12-Port Thunderbolt 2 Dock. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: LennyO
Rating: 5/5 This is a great product, and it performs as indicated and much more. September 12, 2016 I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC 12-Port Thunderbolt 2 Dock. Customer Videos:
Verified Buyer
Reviewer: shigechan2008 Location: Yokohama, JAPAN Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Very useful multiple interface dock September 8, 2016 It's very useful multiple interface dock and has become my best MacPro center hub. Seems to be an outlet, but works quite fine. Very good product !

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from (*) OWC 12-Port Thunderbolt 2 Dock - FW800, USB3, HDMI, GIGE, Audio. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: shopsonline Location: Boston Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 4/5 Works and reasonably priced August 27, 2016 I bought two VGA/HDMI monitors (they have both connections). I needed a dock so I could run my Mac in clamshell mode. The dock works. The one "problem" is that it does not have a daisy-chain for either VGA or HDMI. I have to manually turn on the HDMI monitor plugged into my Mac, not the dock. Not terrible, but a little inconvenient.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC 12-Port Thunderbolt 2 Dock. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: MacGreg Location: Orlando, FL Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Awesome Dock! August 21, 2016 After using for about a month now, this 12 Port Thunderbolt 2 Dock is simply the best dock I have ever used, and in 20 years of Mac experience I have tried quite a few to mixed results. The only thing I have not done is connect a Display but have all the media ports full of hard drive storage. The USB 3 docks are fast as is the FW800. Don't have a TB2 drive to test.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC 12-Port Thunderbolt 2 Dock. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: hmalba Location: Elm Grove, WI Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 OWC Thunderbolt 2 Dock August 6, 2016 I plugged everything I had into it. My ViewSonic 21" monitor HDMI, AudioEngine 2 speakers, MacBook Pro 15" Core i7,LaCie USB terabyte backup drive, Demo Labelwriter 450 Twin Turbo, and my new iPadPro 12.9"

Everything worked like a charm!!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from (*) OWC 12-Port Thunderbolt 2 Dock with 1.0M Thunderbolt Cable Included. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: goodvibes88
Rating: 5/5 Works great, but runs hot August 5, 2016 I've been using this dock for all my peripherals for over a month now and it has never failed to mount my drives, monitor, and speakers. I've got two USB external drives, a thunderbolt drive, a FW 800 drive, speakers, and a Dell monitor (1920 X 1280) connected through it. My only negative comment is that it heats up a lot, like burning hot (so much that I worry about fire hazards and shut off the dock's power supply each night), and sometimes makes the speakers hum oddly. Otherwise it is pretty great.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC 12-Port Thunderbolt 2 Dock. Customer Videos:

OWC Thunderbolt 2 Dock with Thunderbolt Cable Mfr P/N: TB2DOCK12T1 OWC SKU: OWCTB2DOCK12T1 2 Year OWC Limited Warranty Sold Out