Free Shipping available on most orders $49.00 & up.

Get Details. »

We're sorry, but this item is no longer for sale. However, there may be more Thunderbolt » Thunderbolt Docks, Hubs & Adapters » TB to Multi-Interface items available.

OWC
Thunderbolt 2 Dock with Thunderbolt Cable

Thunderbolt 2  | USB 3.1 Gen 1 | FireWire 800 | HDMI  
Gigabit Ethernet | Audio In & Out
  • 12 Ports of incredible connectivity
  • Dual Thunderbolt 2 ports for daisy-chain support
  • Includes Thunderbolt cable
  • Ultra-HD 4K and multiple display support
  • Five USB 3.1 Gen 1 ports, including two high-powered charging ports
  • FireWire 800 for connecting external storage and legacy devices
Finally, a Thunderbolt Dock Done Right
12 Ports of phenomenal flexibility, all united to your Mac with just one lightning-fast Thunderbolt 2 cable. OWC Thunderbolt 2 Dock is the new foundation for your perfect workspace. Awesome performance meets incredible connectivity, the OWC Thunderbolt 2 Dock offers the ultimate in convenience and flexibility to streamline any workflow. With just one Thunderbolt cable (included), connect up to five USB 3.1 Gen 1 devices, Gigabit Ethernet, a FireWire device, HDMI, audio in, and audio out.
The Amazing Performance of Thunderbolt 2
Capable of an astounding 20 Gbps of throughput, the OWC Thunderbolt 2 Dock utilizes this phenomenal bandwidth to eliminate data bottlenecks, and effortlessly supports direct connection of up to ten devices, as well as daisy-chaining five additional Thunderbolt devices.
Connect More Displays
Configure the ultimate display setup to meet the needs of your workflow. Add a dazzling ultra HD 4K display, two high definition displays, or one 4K display and one high definition display. Even connect a VGA, DVI, or DisplayPort monitor utilizing the Thunderbolt 2 Dock's built-in HDMI and Thunderbolt ports.*
More Power to Work
The Thunderbolt 2 Dock's side-mounted, high-powered USB 3.1 Gen 1 ports provide up to 1.5 amps of power and are perfect for charging iPhone, iPad, tablets, smartphones, and other USB-charged devices, as well as powering bus-powered hard drives, SSDs, or optical drives.
Everything You Need in a Dock. And More.
The OWC Thunderbolt 2 Dock is the unmatched expansion platform for your Thunderbolt-equipped Mac, with exceptional connectivity, and dependable performance. Whether adding USB 3.1 Gen 1 to an older Mac, Gigabit Ethernet to a newer MacBook Pro, or ensuring backwards compatibility with your existing FireWire 800 peripherals, the Thunderbolt 2 Dock keeps you connected.

*Dual monitor support requires the use of at least one Thunderbolt display. If you connect a display to the HDMI port, then the only display that will work through the Thunderbolt port is a Thunderbolt display. If you are not using the HDMI port, then you can use a Mini Display Port cable or adapter to connect a display to the Thunderbolt port.


OWC's upcoming Thunderbolt 2 Dock puts all other docks to shame. Derek Kessler, iMore.com & Managing Editor of Mobile Nations

Includes

Gallery

Reviews

  • "The dock is my point of connectivity for all of the many OWC Products that I own as well as every piece of hardware that I review." — Dan East, Freelance Writer

OWC Thunderbolt 2 Dock Specifications:

Chipset

  • Thunderbolt 2

Interface / Ports

  • 2 x Thunderbolt 2 (20 Gb/s) 1
  • 5 x USB 3.1 Gen 1 (5 Gb/s)
    • (3) USB 3.1 Gen 1
    • (2) USB 3.1 Gen 1 high-power charging
  • 1 x FireWire 800
  • 1 x HDMI 1.4b
  • 1 x Gigabit Ethernet
  • 1 x 3.5mm Mono Audio Input
  • 1 x 3.5mm Stereo Audio Output

Power Supply

  • Universal auto-switching
  • Input: AC 100-240V
  • Output: 12V 6.0A

Display Support

  • DisplayPort 1.2 with support for up to 4K/60Hz, or HDMI 1.4b with support for up to 4K/30Hz

Max Data Rate

  • 20 Gb/s

System Requirements

  • Works with any Thunderbolt equipped Mac running OS X 10.9.5 or later
  • Windows is not supported

Dimensions

  • Width: 9.05 in / 23 cm
  • Height: 0.98 in / 2.5 cm
  • Depth: 3.54 in / 9 cm

Weight

  • 0.85 lbs / 0.38 kg

Product Drivers

  • High-power USB support is required for compatibility with the Apple SuperDrive and Apple USB keyboard, and is required to enable high-speed charging for Apple iPads, iPhones and other higher-power capable devices. To enable high-power USB support, an easy software update is required, including restart following this installation. Click here to download

Notes

  • Dual monitor support requires the use of at least one Thunderbolt display.
  • DVI, VGA, DisplayPort, or other connection requires the use of a mini DisplayPort adapter.
  • USB 3.1 Gen 1 ports are only bootable on Mid 2013 and later Macs.
  • Thunderbolt, FireWire, and Ethernet are bootable on all Macs with a Thunderbolt port.



1. One Thunderbolt 2 port must be connected to the computer.

Customer Ratings

Write a Review 4.8 / 5 185 out of 197 (94%) reviewers would recommend this product
1 2 3 4 5 6 7
Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Japan Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Very satisfied for what it does March 3, 2016 I received the product in a very timely fashion and have used it primarily as a file transfer medium. It increases the speed of file transfer by a magnitude of 3-4 times the speed of my USB 2.0, and I am very happy with that as I do quite a bit of transfer. I also use it to charge my devices. Overall, very happy with the product.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC 12-Port Thunderbolt 2 Dock.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Netherland, EU Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 OWC Thunderbolt 2 Dock February 17, 2016 It works nicely with my new MacBook Pro and my older iMac 27" . It works very well with osx and windows 10. The only think i dislike is the black pannel on the top. Im adding maybe shortly a other thunderbolt 2 dock to my setting for my iMac27 so i have more flexibly.

And i would like usb-c added to the box :) but maybe im dreaming.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC 12-Port Thunderbolt 2 Dock.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: New York, NY Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Great desktop mate for MacBook Pro February 13, 2016 I carry my laptop home every night and now when I come into the office I simply connect the power cord and Thunderbolt cord from the OWC 12 Port Dock. Instantly my wireless mouse, keyboard, Time Machine drive, external monitor and extra external drive become connected. The powered USB3 ports are great for charging my wireless mouse and iPhone. I highly recommend this unit.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC 12-Port Thunderbolt 2 Dock.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Northwest Lower Peninsula of Michigan Age: 55-65 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 3-4 months
Rating: 5/5 Excellant expansion for MacBook Pro February 8, 2016 Does exactly what I wanted. Added Thunderbolt and USB 3.0 ports and works flawlessly.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC 12-Port Thunderbolt 2 Dock.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: KC, MO Age: 55-65 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Excellent product February 7, 2016 The thunderbolt 2 Dock is an example of the quality I expect and always get from OWC. Fast shipping, excellent quality and a customer service department dedicated to being the best ambassadors for the company.

I have yet to have a bad or even less than great experience with OWC and I don't expect that to change.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC 12-Port Thunderbolt 2 Dock.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Age: 25-34 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 3/5 Lots of Options, bad design February 7, 2016 It a good product but the way this dock connect to my computer creates cable clusters because the ports of the dock end up facing the ports of my computer. I think is a better idea to put the main thuderbolt cable that conect to the dock in the opposite side. I did like that it has plenty of USB, but I certainly would not be using it with my laptop.

This review is from OWC 12-Port Thunderbolt 2 Dock.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Tampa, FL Age: 25-34 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 4/5 Great tool February 2, 2016 Besides the power supply being kind of bulky it has been great so far. I have been using for two months with almost no issues. The 1/8" headphone out seems a little flimsy and really didn't want to take my stereo ipod cable. Thats why the 4 stars

This review is from OWC 12-Port Thunderbolt 2 Dock.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Columbia, Missouri Age: 55-65 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 3-4 months
Rating: 5/5 ThunderBolt 2 Dock February 2, 2016 I've always wanted one of these to expand my ports but the cost of a new one it was a bit out of my reach.

I was a little leery about this order for a couple of reasons.

1. I ordered a used (new condition) Dock because of the price. It came with a few scratches and a fair amount of dirt marks on it.

2. I had never used ThunderBolt before and wasn't totally convinced that my USB 3.0 devices would work from the dock through the ThunderBolt cable.

I have it all hooked up and it is working just great. Everything runs through the ThunderBolt cable like they said, Even my Time Machine backup USB 3.0 HD.

I was a bit disappointed that it was not as clean as would be expected in a "New Condition" product but with a little elbow grease I did get it looking much better.

Overall I am very pleased with the way this dock works with my iMac and I would highly recommend it to anyone who needs to expand their ports.

For the price I can live with a few scratches.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from (*) OWC 12-Port Thunderbolt 2 Dock - FW800, USB3, HDMI, GIGE, Audio.

Verified Buyer Top 100 Contributor
Reviewer: Anonymous Age: 45-54 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 Perfect Dock January 29, 2016 It is a perfect dock for my needs. Can have monitor and multiple peripherals. I love the compact design.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from (*) OWC 12-Port Thunderbolt 2 Dock - FW800, USB3, HDMI, GIGE, Audio.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Souther California Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 4/5 Just what I was looking for January 28, 2016 This hub is great, It makes docking extremely easy. The only reason I didn't give it a 5 star is because I still need to daisy chain another USB hub off of this to get all of the USB ports I need. The only other recommendation I would have is to reorganize the layout a little. There are some connectors that I need to get to all the time and then some that you set them up and never have to touch again. I would say that the ethernet, one of the thunderbolt and HDMI could go on the back side and the USB, the other thunderbolt and firewire could go on the front based off of the most common applications of those ports.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC 12-Port Thunderbolt 2 Dock.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Old Bridge, NJ Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 3-4 months
Rating: 5/5 Works as advertised with El Capitan January 21, 2016 I wanted to reduce the number of cables I need to plug into my 2011 MacBook Pro when I work at home. Due to some software incompatibilities I still use Snow Leopard as my primary operating system. The Thunderbolt 2 Dock works great with Snow Leopard with the exception of the ethernet port. I've tested the dock with El Capitan and everything works perfectly including the ethernet port with that operating system. I especially like the speed boost I get when using USB 3 portable hard drives. The built in USB on the 2011 Macbook Pro is only USB2 and boy, was that slow. My portable drives are much more usable now. I would recommend the 12 Port Thunderbolt 2 Dock . I like it's feature set. It is truly plug and play and makes working with a laptop much more convenient.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC 12-Port Thunderbolt 2 Dock.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Philadelphia, PA Age: 55-65 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Great product January 19, 2016 This dock works great using 1 thunderbolt port. I have 2 USB 3 drives attached to it and a couple of USB items which frees up both my USB ports on my MacBook Pro laptop. I do some home recording and kept running out of USB ports and trying a couple of USB hubs didn't really work for me. A new audio interface I bought uses Firewire and I can plug that right into the dock (since the newer MacBook Pros don't have Firewire ports anymore). Everything works through the dock without any apparent performance problems so far.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC 12-Port Thunderbolt 2 Dock.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: New Jersey Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Excellent product with one possible exception January 18, 2016 I have two Belkin Thunderbolt Express Docks at two other workstations and I thought that was the perfect solution. But the OWC 12 is just that much better. The two side USB 3 ports are the icing on the cake. Plus my MacBook Air is noticeably quicker doing I/O functions vs. the Belkin However, one thing to note: the power cord from the power brick to the OWC dock is a bit short. If you want to rest the power brick on the floor, the cable up to the dock is only long enough to reach desktop height with few inches to spare. That limits the placement of the dock on your desk

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC 12-Port Thunderbolt 2 Dock.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Kailua HI Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 best of them all January 15, 2016 Had a TB1 Belkin that while a reliable and good device was easily eclipsed but this--better speed, better quality and more flexible. Best TB dock on the market....

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC 12-Port Thunderbolt 2 Dock.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Cape Canaveral, FL Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Must have accessory for MacBook Pro January 14, 2016 I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC 12-Port Thunderbolt 2 Dock.
Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Cleveland, Ohio Age: 35-44 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Love it! January 12, 2016 Ever since it came out I've wanted this Dock - and now that I have it I love it. The only issue I ran into was that, on my system (which is tweaked a lot) the driver seemed to cause an issue. Once I deleted the driver all was ok. I didn't really need the driver since I'm not attaching a superdrive or charging iPads.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from (*) OWC 12-Port Thunderbolt 2 Dock - FW800, USB3, HDMI, GIGE, Audio.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Thunderbolt 2 Dock January 11, 2016 This dock works perfectly and provides great flexibility! Thank you.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC 12-Port Thunderbolt 2 Dock.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Los Angeles Age: 45-54 Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 4/5 Great Dock for MacBook Pro January 8, 2016 Great dock for MacBook Pro. Nice to connect everything at my office with single thunderbolt cable. I have video, wired ethernet and several USB items all plugged into the dock, with USB to spare.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC 12-Port Thunderbolt 2 Dock.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Hobbiest Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Awesome Product January 1, 2016 Fast shipping and no issues with the item. Very Satisfied!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC 12-Port Thunderbolt 2 Dock.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Thousand Oaks, CA Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Home User
Rating: 5/5 Worked just as advertised December 29, 2015 Great to have all of the cables go to one place. Nice high power USB outlets on the side.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC 12-Port Thunderbolt 2 Dock.

Verified Buyer Top 50 Contributor
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: San Francisco Bay area Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 A must for the new iMac December 14, 2015 The new iMac is great but it has only Thunderbolt and USB 3. So, I needed more USB ports plus Firewire. From the dock I can daisy chain additional Firewire and Thunderbolt devices. It is also relatively inexpensive compare to adding an additional USB 3 hub plus a Thunderbolt to Firewire converter.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC 12-Port Thunderbolt 2 Dock.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Muscat, Oman Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 Effective Port Expansion December 14, 2015 I have never been a fan of adding docking ports to my computers as they never seem to work as advertised. This, however, has to be the exception. I bought one a year ago to try out on my iMac and not only does it look good under the monitor but it also works flawlessly. It also allows me to have all the connecting cables stowed away neatly rather than have everything sprouting from the back of the monitor. I bought the latest one for my wife's iMac so she could stream training films to a screen in her training room as well as expanding the connectivity of her mac. I would recommend this to anyone looking for additional ports.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC 12-Port Thunderbolt 2 Dock.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Sweet Device December 7, 2015 I have a project studio with USB and thunderbolt audio devices. The back of my iMac was loaded to the gills. This device got rid of a dongle, freed up some USB ports, and gave me an "extra" thunderbolt port. It looks great on the desk. Glad I purchased it on sale! Free shipping too! Yippee! Got here a day earlier than expected!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC 12-Port Thunderbolt 2 Dock.

Reviewer: Anonymous
Rating: 4/5 Everything good, one minor surprise December 5, 2015 Great little device. One definite downside to it is that the sound level coming out of the audio output port is significantly lower than out of my iMac or Mac Pro's audio out ports. After contacting OWC support I learned that it's because the port lacks a pre-amp.

Meanwhile I've gone back to plugging in my speakers to my computer direct. Hopefully this will be addressed in the future.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC 12-Port Thunderbolt 2 Dock.

Verified Buyer Top 250 Contributor
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Mentor, Ohio Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 5-6 months
Rating: 5/5 This is perfect for my set up November 29, 2015 I have truly enjoyed using this product. It fits perfectly on my desktop and gives me the extra thunderbolt ports that I needed. It also is the perfect size and takes up so little room. The two side usb3 ports have been perfect for charging my iPads and iPhones. I can do this while working on the computer. Thanks for this great product!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC 12-Port Thunderbolt 2 Dock.

OWC Thunderbolt 2 Dock with Thunderbolt Cable Mfr P/N: TB2DOCK12T1 OWC SKU: OWCTB2DOCK12T1 2 Year OWC Limited Warranty Sold Out