Free Shipping available on most orders $49.00 & up.

Get Details. »

We're sorry, but this item is no longer for sale. However, there may be more Thunderbolt » Thunderbolt Docks, Hubs & Adapters » TB to Multi-Interface items available.

OWC
Thunderbolt 2 Dock with Thunderbolt Cable

Thunderbolt 2  | USB 3.1 Gen 1 | FireWire 800 | HDMI  
Gigabit Ethernet | Audio In & Out
  • 12 Ports of incredible connectivity
  • Dual Thunderbolt 2 ports for daisy-chain support
  • Includes Thunderbolt cable
  • Ultra-HD 4K and multiple display support
  • Five USB 3.1 Gen 1 ports, including two high-powered charging ports
  • FireWire 800 for connecting external storage and legacy devices
Finally, a Thunderbolt Dock Done Right
12 Ports of phenomenal flexibility, all united to your Mac with just one lightning-fast Thunderbolt 2 cable. OWC Thunderbolt 2 Dock is the new foundation for your perfect workspace. Awesome performance meets incredible connectivity, the OWC Thunderbolt 2 Dock offers the ultimate in convenience and flexibility to streamline any workflow. With just one Thunderbolt cable (included), connect up to five USB 3.1 Gen 1 devices, Gigabit Ethernet, a FireWire device, HDMI, audio in, and audio out.
The Amazing Performance of Thunderbolt 2
Capable of an astounding 20 Gbps of throughput, the OWC Thunderbolt 2 Dock utilizes this phenomenal bandwidth to eliminate data bottlenecks, and effortlessly supports direct connection of up to ten devices, as well as daisy-chaining five additional Thunderbolt devices.
Connect More Displays
Configure the ultimate display setup to meet the needs of your workflow. Add a dazzling ultra HD 4K display, two high definition displays, or one 4K display and one high definition display. Even connect a VGA, DVI, or DisplayPort monitor utilizing the Thunderbolt 2 Dock's built-in HDMI and Thunderbolt ports.*
More Power to Work
The Thunderbolt 2 Dock's side-mounted, high-powered USB 3.1 Gen 1 ports provide up to 1.5 amps of power and are perfect for charging iPhone, iPad, tablets, smartphones, and other USB-charged devices, as well as powering bus-powered hard drives, SSDs, or optical drives.
Everything You Need in a Dock. And More.
The OWC Thunderbolt 2 Dock is the unmatched expansion platform for your Thunderbolt-equipped Mac, with exceptional connectivity, and dependable performance. Whether adding USB 3.1 Gen 1 to an older Mac, Gigabit Ethernet to a newer MacBook Pro, or ensuring backwards compatibility with your existing FireWire 800 peripherals, the Thunderbolt 2 Dock keeps you connected.

*Dual monitor support requires the use of at least one Thunderbolt display. If you connect a display to the HDMI port, then the only display that will work through the Thunderbolt port is a Thunderbolt display. If you are not using the HDMI port, then you can use a Mini Display Port cable or adapter to connect a display to the Thunderbolt port.


OWC's upcoming Thunderbolt 2 Dock puts all other docks to shame. Derek Kessler, iMore.com & Managing Editor of Mobile Nations

Includes

Gallery

Reviews

  • "The dock is my point of connectivity for all of the many OWC Products that I own as well as every piece of hardware that I review." — Dan East, Freelance Writer

OWC Thunderbolt 2 Dock Specifications:

Chipset

  • Thunderbolt 2

Interface / Ports

  • 2 x Thunderbolt 2 (20 Gb/s) 1
  • 5 x USB 3.1 Gen 1 (5 Gb/s)
    • (3) USB 3.1 Gen 1
    • (2) USB 3.1 Gen 1 high-power charging
  • 1 x FireWire 800
  • 1 x HDMI 1.4b
  • 1 x Gigabit Ethernet
  • 1 x 3.5mm Mono Audio Input
  • 1 x 3.5mm Stereo Audio Output

Power Supply

  • Universal auto-switching
  • Input: AC 100-240V
  • Output: 12V 6.0A

Display Support

  • DisplayPort 1.2 with support for up to 4K/60Hz, or HDMI 1.4b with support for up to 4K/30Hz

Max Data Rate

  • 20 Gb/s

System Requirements

  • Works with any Thunderbolt equipped Mac running OS X 10.9.5 or later
  • Windows is not supported

Dimensions

  • Width: 9.05 in / 23 cm
  • Height: 0.98 in / 2.5 cm
  • Depth: 3.54 in / 9 cm

Weight

  • 0.85 lbs / 0.38 kg

Product Drivers

  • High-power USB support is required for compatibility with the Apple SuperDrive and Apple USB keyboard, and is required to enable high-speed charging for Apple iPads, iPhones and other higher-power capable devices. To enable high-power USB support, an easy software update is required, including restart following this installation. Click here to download

Notes

  • Dual monitor support requires the use of at least one Thunderbolt display.
  • DVI, VGA, DisplayPort, or other connection requires the use of a mini DisplayPort adapter.
  • USB 3.1 Gen 1 ports are only bootable on Mid 2013 and later Macs.
  • Thunderbolt, FireWire, and Ethernet are bootable on all Macs with a Thunderbolt port.



1. One Thunderbolt 2 port must be connected to the computer.

Customer Ratings

Write a Review 4.8 / 5 185 out of 197 (94%) reviewers would recommend this product
1 2 3 4 5 6 7
Verified Buyer Top 100 Contributor
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Benicia, CA Age: Over 65 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 This Dang Hub Beats Them All August 14, 2015 This is the ideal hub for all your needs. I have 4 external drives, CD/DVD Reader, and external monitor that all demand a different interface, i.e Thunderbolt, USB, Firewire, and I still have room to grow my arsenal of peripherals for my MacBook Air. At first I was hesitant to purchase because of the price, but I have to admit it is well worth the indulgence if you string a lot of external devices to your computer.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC 12-Port Thunderbolt 2 Dock.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Florida, USA Age: Over 65 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Great convenience for Thunderbolt enabled MacBook August 7, 2015 This device is a great convenience for folks that use their MacBook or MacBook Pro on the desk, assuming you have a Thunderbolt connector available. In my case I hid the Thunderbolt 2 Dock under the desk and connected all the ancillary devices to it so it's a single wire to my MBP. With that one connection I have my all my desktop devices plugged in (LAN, MDP monitor, USB type 3 and 2 devices, Lightning devices for charging). They operate at full speed. In the picture, not that I velcro'd the unit to my desk so it can be removed and used portably (although I don't think it's likely). It hides all the wires quite neatly. Note that the Dock was reverse mounted to expose the lights under the unit to give status indications of power and Thunderbolt connection so they can be seen. Pro: High quality connectivity to Thunderbolt capable computers between many devices- has LAN, USB, HDMI, analog audio in/out, others. Looping capability to other Thunderbolt devices (or Mini-Display monitor with restrictions). Metallic case. Power to charge and interface (2) USB connected iDevices or similar devices that can use both a USB and high power (10W) 5V connection. Requires use of external wall wart. Status LED's for power and Thunderbolt connection. Hot pluggable. Status display. Con: Status LED display under the unit (although it can be seen as a glow when the unit is right side up).

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC 12-Port Thunderbolt 2 Dock.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Denville, NJ Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Thunderbolt 2 Dock Rocks August 6, 2015 A great purchase at a great price. Love how this item has opened up versatility with all the appliances I need to run when I use my X-Plane flight program. I have nothing but praise for its design and features.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC 12-Port Thunderbolt 2 Dock.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Eugene, OR Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 3-4 months
Rating: 5/5 works as advertised, very handy used with a MacBook retina August 4, 2015 I use this in conjunction with a 4K monitor (Samsung SM SA850), a nice set of desktop powered speakers, an external backup drive (USB 3), and RJ45 (wired) ethernet. First, audio out is great in that my keyboard +/- and mute controls work again. They don't when you send audio to the 4K for forwarding, a pain. Next, good results with the 4K, supporting full resolution on the display (as if my old eyes can handle that!). 4K is connected using TB to display port adapter. Finally, one thunderbolt plugin to plug into the MB retina daily vs. many plugins. Worth it. Great product.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC 12-Port Thunderbolt 2 Dock.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: San Carlos - CA Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 works great requires laptop to be plugged in August 3, 2015 This is a plug and play item and all the ports work as expected. Two things to know: 1: requires laptop to be plugged into power or it will not work 2. it takes about 15-20 seconds for the monitor to work each time you come back to your computer.

I use the HDMI to my monitor, works with monitor speakers or headphone from laptop

USB to my back up hard drive

USB mouse

USB keyboard

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC 12-Port Thunderbolt 2 Dock.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: EDMONTON AB Canada Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Works very well/ no problems August 3, 2015 I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC 12-Port Thunderbolt 2 Dock.
Verified Buyer Top 250 Contributor
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Sydney, Australia Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 4/5 A great solution to a busy desktop August 1, 2015 The dock works well most of the time. Occasionally I think I exceed its power capabilities, as I have a USB hub connected to it as well. However, it is sleek, tidy and works as a dock should. I had some issues with getting an external hard drive to power up, and the after sales service was excellent - turned out that it was the USB cable and not the dock that was the issue.

This review is from OWC 12-Port Thunderbolt 2 Dock.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Albuquerque, NM Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 Works great, I highly recommend. August 1, 2015 I use the Thunderbolt 2 dock to connect my MacBook Pro to an external monitor, keyboard and back-up hard drive for Time Machine back-ups. Having this set-up has allowed me to retire and old windows pc (I have a boot camp partition on my MacBook Pro) and de-clutter my workspace. The Thunderbolt Dock 2 works great and looks good on my desktop.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC 12-Port Thunderbolt 2 Dock.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Bristol, CT Age: 45-54 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 4/5 Certainly a great addition July 30, 2015 This works flawless with my MacBook Pro and Cinema Display. Haven't daisy chained thunderbolt devices, but no issues detecting my drives or audio hardware. Only four stars due to connections in back of device. If you don't need to see the indication light that it is on you can just turn it around. Also the power cord section connecting to the brick is short so the brick has to set on your desk or the weight can potentially drag the device off the desk. Minor first generation design issues but the performance is great.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC 12-Port Thunderbolt 2 Dock.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Philadelphia, PA Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Amazing and invaluable device July 28, 2015 I do audio engineering on a MacBook Pro with Pro Tools in backstage and remote locations. I have multiple copy protection dongles, external hard drives, ethernet, phone, monitor, card reader and monitor. You can imagine all the hubs and adapters involved. It makes for a very complex and fragile rats nest of wires. I went looking for a good USB 3.0 hub to eliminate SOME of the clutter and came upon the OWC 12 Prot Thunderbolt 2 Dock. I had no idea there was such a versatile and comprehensive product available. Now everything connects solidly to the dock and I have only 1 Thunderbolt cable running to my laptop. I have not maxed out every connection yet, but I'm close. It worked perfectly for 12 hard hours of production on its first outing. I love it and can't imagine how I got by without it in the past. I'm totally blown away. It exceeded my needs and expectations so I can look forward to adding more peripherals in the future. I felt the price was extremely reasonable for all the functionality it provides. I would highly recommend it and wouldn't leave home without it.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC 12-Port Thunderbolt 2 Dock.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Ngunguru, Whangarei, New Zealand Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 4/5 Performs as Advertised July 24, 2015 I had initial problems installing the Dock, expecting to plug and go. It does need a driver download. Even then, there were initial and unexplained problems to get the Dock to work with my 2015 Retina 27" iMac. The support from OWC was excellent. The problem resolved! The dock has worked as expected ever since!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC 12-Port Thunderbolt 2 Dock.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Sydney, NSW Age: 35-44 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Smooths out the transition July 22, 2015 This thunderbolt dock allows you to quickly and easily convert your laptop into a desktop when you return from a presentation or client visit. Plug in power, plug in Thunderbolt, and you're done. Network, monitor, external keyboard/mouse, external hard drive - all stay plugged into the dock while you're gone. Leaving and returning are made smoother and simpler by giving you just one connection to worry about. Superb product at a reasonable price.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC 12-Port Thunderbolt 2 Dock.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 The BEST dock available out there July 20, 2015 This is an amazing dock. It works superbly, everything works as expected and the added benefit of being able to connect usb3 device to my 2011mbp is phenomenal. Thunderbolt chaining works just fine. The only downside is that the dock tends to get quite hot.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC 12-Port Thunderbolt 2 Dock.

Verified Buyer Top 250 Contributor
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Cupertino, CA Age: 35-44 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Great thunderbolt dock! July 17, 2015 Great dock. I use this with my large display and works great with secondary displays. The USB and firewire ports are extremely useful and have proven to be very reliable. The always powered USB ports on the side are great if you have a display port to large display or a tablet that needs to be powered.

Overall, I love this dock and would highly recommend it to anyone with a thunderbolt/thunderbolt2 system and wants access to just about every kind of port they might need.

Only gotcha is that it runs a bit warm. So keep it somewhere where there is good airflow. I've got mine on a wire rack shelf.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC 12-Port Thunderbolt 2 Dock.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: gerry522 Location: Denver CO Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Flawless operation. July 17, 2015 i have just bought a new iMac and needed a way to hook up all my USB 3.0 hard drives. I had more then the amount of ports on the back of the iMac. I bought this so I could plug into the lighting port of the iMac. Plugged my hard drives in and have absolutely not problems with it at all. It has just about any kind of port on it and it just plain works. I love it. I do not have to do anything with it and everything just works. So easy even I can do it. Leave it to OWC to come up with something like this. I know when I buy something from them it will work well and if not they take care of it without fail.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC 12-Port Thunderbolt 2 Dock.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Memphis TN Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 4/5 Good but could be better July 10, 2015 All new Mac Pros need to handle lots of add-ons since Apple decided to eliminate expandability in this new model. I took all of the load off the computer buses and now have just the thunderbolt drive dock and the 12 port thunderbolt 2 dock hooked up directly to the Pro.

This dock does very well handling the load with the exception of the HIGH POWER USB ports. While 1.5 Amps will charge an iPad, it is painfully slow about it. OWC could do a lot better by investing a few extra pennies in parts and boosting the high power usb port output to 2.1 Amps. This would charge the iPad A LOT FASTER.

I am pleased with the performance of the dock but will continue to charge my iPad separately instead of at the same time as I sync it to iTunes.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC 12-Port Thunderbolt 2 Dock.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Melbourne Australia Age: 55-65 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 3-4 months
Rating: 4/5 Mostly great July 3, 2015 Mostly great. I use this with a macbook pro retina 15" late 2013. I have a thunderbolt1 raid array, gbit Ethernet, USB to fw800 scanner, external amp, USB external drive, USB printer and an HDMI monitor. I also have a 4k display port monitor connectted directly to the Mac. There is one serious issue. When the computer comes out of sleep the monitors go into a cycle of flashing on and off. I then need to unplug the HDMI and plug it directly into the Mac. The behaviour will start again if I plug it back into the dock. The only way I've found to resolve it is to reboot the computer. Aside from this issue, the dock is great and very convenient. It is however a shame it doesn't have digital audio out like one of the competing products.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC 12-Port Thunderbolt 2 Dock.

Verified Buyer Top 50 Contributor
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Camarillo, CA Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 OWC Thunderbolt Dock July 3, 2015 The OWC Thunderbolt Dock works well in conjunction with my 27" Apple iMac. Minimizes cords coming from iMac to Thunderbolt port for cleaner appearance on desk. Get the dock!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC 12-Port Thunderbolt 2 Dock.

Verified Buyer Top 250 Contributor
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Los Angeles Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 I Love This Thing July 2, 2015 Before this dock, I had 6 connections to make at least once/day, many times twics. The dock plus the USB3 capability makes my old MBP simply SING.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC 12-Port Thunderbolt 2 Dock.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Newburgh NY Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Best in class June 30, 2015 Started researching docks after being frustrated about Apple scaling back on the amount of ports for their MacBooks. While I was ready to buy, none of the competitors had the configurations I wanted. Either not enough USBs or Firewire missing or not enough Thunderbolt ports. Almost gave up, when I saw a dock review headlined "Puts all other docks to shame" I can honestly say that statement is true. OWCs dock is well thought out, complete with all the ports one could want. If there was anything to improve on or better said put on a wish list it would be for one USB port to be able to be switched on and off. I have a Fujitsu Scan Snap scanner which goes to sleep after 15 minutes of non use. (Weak software) Fastest way to wake it up then is to pull out the USB cable and re-insert it. An on/off USB switch would do the same without having to pull out the cable. I will have to buy a USB cable with an on/off switch, but a switch on the dock would be more elegant. All in all great job OWC and I am ready to buy your SSDs for the latest MacBooks come Fall. Thank you for a really well thought out product.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC 12-Port Thunderbolt 2 Dock.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Daytona, Fl Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 You need that for Mac. June 29, 2015 Yes, i'm glad I can add USB 3 ports to my mac. Work pretty good. Only I will recommended put this thunderbolt dock somewhere where could be cool down. Otherwise great job OWC.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC 12-Port Thunderbolt 2 Dock.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Fallbrook, CA Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 OWC 12 Port Thunderbolt 2 Dock June 29, 2015 I came across this item while browsing the OWC website. It was a bit more than I expected to pay, but oh am I pleased than I went for it. Let me say above all the performance of this dock has been flawless. Everything works, including the USB 3.0 ports .I have been unable to use my USB 3.0 ports, because the USB 3.0 devises that I plugged in would continually disconnect, and then reconnect.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC 12-Port Thunderbolt 2 Dock.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: San Antonio, TX Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Works perfectly right out of the box June 26, 2015 Owned a Thunderbolt dock from another manufacturer. While that product worked great it did not have enough USB 3.0 ports. OWC's 12 Port Thunderbolt 2 Dock fixed that problem. Fantastic product.

This review is from OWC 12-Port Thunderbolt 2 Dock.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous
Rating: 3/5 Overall good, does it's job June 22, 2015 Only 3 stars because of the fact that the cable is not included, squeezing another $30 + shipping from your pocket. I was initially upset about that and wanted to return (I don't like that kind of trickery). Works as expected - I have a NEC PA301W connected to the only available TB port (remember it lists 2 but you only get 1 - the other must connect to the computer) and has occasional issues waking up from sleep - maybe 1 of 10 times I have to disconnect the hub and reconnect in order for the screens to wake up. My scenario is that I always have the MacBook closed while I use my main screen. That also applies when the laptop's lid is opened - the laptop screen remains off until I disconnect the hub. As I said 1 of 10 - not a huge issue. But still, costs 1 star. Decent speed, using it with the 1GB ethernet and USB drives and the screen.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC 12-Port Thunderbolt 2 Dock.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: CT Age: Over 65 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Great way to add connectivity June 21, 2015 I like Apple's products, but I don't like the way they change their access to peripherals. The Thunderbolt 2 Dock lets my iMac 5K connect to an external monitor, firewire disk drives, USB accessories audio in/out and more. Rather than have a separate USB hub as before and several adapters for my firewire and hdmi cables, this dock concentrates it all in one spot. Definitely plug and play.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC 12-Port Thunderbolt 2 Dock.

OWC Thunderbolt 2 Dock with Thunderbolt Cable Mfr P/N: TB2DOCK12T1 OWC SKU: OWCTB2DOCK12T1 2 Year OWC Limited Warranty Sold Out