Quality Solutions. Expert Support. Since 1988.

MacSales.com Logo

OWC ThunderBay 4

4-bay Professional-Grade Enclosure

Dual Thunderbolt 2 | RAID Ready | 4 Drive Bays | Mac
The Speed You Need
  • Four 3.5" drive bays
  • Incredible Thunderbolt 2 performance
  • Plug and play RAID-ready
  • Up to 859MB/s read / 838MB/s write RAID 0 performance*
Empower your creative production workflow with this super-fast, 4-Bay, RAID-ready drive with dual Thunderbolt ports. Add vast amounts of high-performance storage with ThunderBay 4. Utilize each of the four internal drives independently, or use the software RAID of your choice to setup a multi-drive array for high-performance or data-redundancy.
Edit, Experiment, Create, Design
With ThunderBay's performance capabilities you can complete projects faster, have more time to experiment, and push your creations to the next level.

Enhance editing capabilities in video apps like Apple Final Cut Pro, Adobe Premiere, and Avid Media Composer. Empower greater audio production capabilities in audio apps like Avid Pro Tools and Logic Pro X. Edit large photos in apps like Adobe Photoshop, and browse large photo libraries in apps like Apple Aperture and Adobe Lightroom. Simply put, you can do more with a ThunderBay 4 enhanced workflow, and with a RAID 5 array you get data redundancy on top of great performance!
Mix & Match Drives & RAID
With four drive bays you can choose to install all hard drives, all SSDs, or a mixture of both hard drives and SSDs. You can setup two or three drives as a software RAID and leave any remaining drives in independent mode, or setup two software RAIDs.

4 drive bays plus so much more.
Time-tested Cooling Time-Tested Cooling
Built on OWC's time-tested enclosure cooling technology, ThunderBay utilizes an open "flow-thru" vented design with an oversized 92 mm, low-turbulence, noise-quieting fan to keep the drives running cool and reliably.
Multi-Drive Multi-Drive
Daisy-chain up to six ThunderBays for massive storage capabilities and increased performance, or connect multiple ThunderBays to multiple Thunderbolt 2 ports to achieve exponential speed capabilities.
Vibration Dampened Vibration Dampened
ThunderBay's drive isolating design reduces sonic resonance, and is aided by over-sized, rugged, vibration-absorbing, non-skid feet.
DisplayPort 1.2 DisplayPort 1.2 Support
Dual Thunderbolt ports let you connect the display of your choice that your computer can support, including 4K displays.
Thunderbolt Cable OWC Thunderbolt Cable
ThunderBay comes with an OWC one-meter certified Thunderbolt cable, with other lengths from 0.5 meter to 30 meters available separately.


*Speed dependent on drive mechanism

Includes

  • OWC ThunderBay 4 High-performance 4-bay Thunderbolt 2 interface drive
  • High-Quality, Certified, Double-Shielded 1-Meter Thunderbolt cable
  • External UL listed 3-prong power cable
  • 2 keys for front panel lock
  • User guide
  • Utility software bundle for Mac and PC
  • 1 Year OWC Enclosure Limited Warranty

Gallery

Product Specifications

Mechanisms Supported

  • Four 3.5" SATA hard drives
  • Four 2.5" SATA hard drives or SSDs (NewerTech AdaptaDrive required for install, sold separately)

Chipset

  • Thunderbolt 2

Interfaces Supported

  • Thunderbolt 2

JBOD / RAID Support

  • JBOD: Utilize each of the four drives independently
  • RAID: Use any Software RAID of your choice to setup the ThunderBay 4 for multi-drive performance or data redundancy.

Port Configuration

  • Thunderbolt – (2) Thunderbolt 2 ports

Max Data Transfer Rate

  • Thunderbolt 2 – 20Gb/sec

Port/Interface Bootability

  • It can be used as a Thunderbolt startup drive on Macs running Mac OS X.

System Requirements

  • Any Mac with a Thunderbolt port running OS X 10.9 or later.
  • Any PC running Windows 7 Service Pack 1 or later with a Thunderbolt port. Driver required for proper installation. (3.3 MB ZIP)
  • Boot Camp is not supported. The Thunderbolt certification process does not include Macs running Windows through Boot Camp.

Power Supply

  • Internal UL Listed U.S./International Auto Switching 100 ~ 240v, 50/60Hz input, 12 Volt 16.66 Amp output Power Supply (power cords for International use sold separately).

Software Included

Product Manual

External Case Dimensions

  • 9.65″(D) x 5.31″(W) x 6.96″(H)
  • 245.11mm x 134.87mm x 176.78mm

Enclosure Weight (no accessories)

  • Approximately 8.6 pounds (3.9kg)

Operating Environment:

Temperature

  • (operating) 5°C – 42°C (41°F – 107°F)
  • (non-operating) -40°C – 65°C (-40°F – 149°F)

Relative Humidity

  • (operating) 8% – 90% RH (Non-condensing)
  • (non-operating) 5% – 95% RH (Non-condensing)

Shock

  • 65G 2mS; (non-operating) 175G 2mS

Vibration

  • (operating) 1.0G (5 – 300Hz)
  • (non-operating) 5.0G (5 – 500Hz)

Warranty

1 Year OWC Enclosure Limited Warranty

The best warranty is one you never have to use, but should the need occur – OWC is proud to provide a superior level of support and warranty coverage to our customers. Even when not used, we understand the peace of mind afforded by a longer warranty period. OWC's industry leading coverage is a testament to our confidence in the reliability of the solutions that we offer. OWC solutions are engineered to demanding quality standards in order to deliver the most reliable, highest performance available on the market in each storage category.

View more information about the 1 Year OWC Enclosure Limited Warranty

Manufacturer provided specifications for Other World Computing p/n TB2IVKIT0GB UPC#: 812437020410

Software

Prosoft Macworld 4.5 miceProsoft
Prosoft Engineering® Data Backup 3 for OS X v10.2.8 or later
Backup Made Easy. Data Backup makes it easy to backup to FireWire and USB drives, network drives, CDs and even DVDs. Make schedules so you don't need to 'think' about backing up... It does it for you.
A $59.00 Value! View detailed software info, or click here to purchase softwareseparately from solution
Novastor
NovaStor NovaBACKUP® Solution for Windows®
NovaBACKUP has been helping millions of users recover from data loss and disasters for over 18 years. Feature rich, NovaBACKUP provides a powerful backup solution. Built-in support for hundreds of the most popular storage devices and a step-by-step backup and restore wizard makes NovaBACKUP extremely easy to use. Requires Windows 2000 or later.
A $49.95 Value! View detailed software info
Intech SpeedTools Utilities
Intech® SpeedTools Utilities™
Intech SpeedTools consists of a suite of utilities managed by an application which controls the launching, documentation and version control of each individual component utility, such as Disk Defrag and QuickBack. An easy-to-use installation and removal application is provided to make installation a snap, yet powerful enough to allow you to customize which utility component set you would like to create.
An $89.95 Value! View detailed software info, or click here to purchase software separately from solution

Benchmarks

Click any of the benchmarks below to view the results.
RAID 0 (Striped) Test Results

Reviews

Customer Ratings

Write a Review 4.8 / 5 66 out of 70 (94%) reviewers would recommend this product
1 2 3
Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Boston, MA Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 3-4 months
Rating: 5/5 Great addition to Mac Pro October 10, 2014 replaced two external Firewire enclosures (total 3 bays). Faster, quieter, takes less space. All pluses. It is not cheap -- really good things rarely are.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Tenerife, Canary Islands Age: 45-54 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Excellent October 5, 2014 Looks solid as a rock, built too last!!! Works smooth, noiseless, cool, no vibrations Excellent product!

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Arizona Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Beyond great. . . September 20, 2014 Holy cow is this a great product. I am using it with a 2012 Mac mini. It is quiet, reliable and fast.

It really does sleep and wake with the mini flawlessly, hasn't missed a beat yet. The drives (WD RE 4TB are definitely noisy when operating as there is really nothing between them and the outside. I especially like the internal power supply and no on/off button.

I use single drives for different categories of data (photography, movies, etc.) so a high-quality unit at a decent price without spending money on useless RAID technology works very well. I want more of these things.

A couple of niggles; Does not work with Windows, something about TB2 on TB1 port with Windows 8.1 or so I've read. Also would have been great in silver as not everybody wants or can afford a Mac Pro so the rush to black is kind of dumb. If the front opened a little easier and the drive just slid in and out of their bays like on the Mercury Rack Pros (that I hate) I would have appreciated it.

Niggles aside the ThunderBay 4 is a spectacularly great product. Way to go OWC!

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Colorado Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 A great addition to the new Mac Pro September 3, 2014 I love my new Mac Pro, but it only has limited internal storage. Even at 1 Tb, the Mac Pro's internal storage is just not enough if you work with video and large photographic files. The ThunderBay IV makes adding additional storage easy, and the response times for sending and retrieving information from the drives in the ThunderBay are fast. Daisy chaining two or more ThunderBays is also easy and the downstream drives are equally as fast. I also have a 4-bay USB 3 enclosure, and the ThunderBay IV is a better solution. The only knock I have against the ThunderBay is the price, though waiting to buy a ThunderBay when it goes on sale or shows up in one of OWC's garage sales is definitely the better way to go. Buy the barebones unit and add your own drives for storage. This is a great solution for a great computer system.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC ThunderBay IV, four-bay drive enclosure with dual Thunderbolt ports, RAID-ready Enclosure.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Dunstable, MA Age: Over 65 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Simply awesome! September 1, 2014 This sucker rocks. I moved from a 2010 Mac Pro to a Mac mini (i wanted the Thunderbolt and USB 3). I formatted a 2.5-inch SSD and installed Mavericks on it. I wanted it to be my boot drive so I installed it in the Thunderbay 4 via the NewerTech Adaptadrive. I removed my Time Machine drive from the Mac Pro and installed that in the Thunderbay 4. Then I turned on the Thunderbay 4 and booted up the Mac mini for the first time, holding down the Option key to select the Startup Manager and selected the SSD to boot from. Then in the Startup Assistant I chose the Time Machine drive to move everything onto the boot SSD. Perfect. So I now have the Thunderbay populated with 4 drives: (1) starup SSD; (2) Time Machine 3.5" drive; (3) 3.5" data drive; (4) SSD dedicated to iPhoto. I'll be ready soon for another Thunderbay 4. The Thunderbay 4 is plugged in to the Mac mini via Thunderbolt cable and my 27-inch Apple Cinema Display LED is plugged into the Thunderbay 4. All works like a charm.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: NB, Canada Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Excellent and fast !!! August 28, 2014 The Thunderbay IV is the perfect add-on to my new Mac Pro for storage and blazingly fast with the thunderbolt connection. Easy to load the drives and quite silent. Highly recommend this time !

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC ThunderBay IV, four-bay drive enclosure with dual Thunderbolt ports, RAID-ready Enclosure.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: New Jersey Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Excellent drive enclosure, great customer service August 24, 2014 I was waiting for Thunderbolt 2 enclosure, looking for something of high quality and reasonably priced. Finally OWC had it available (pretty confusing, ThunderBay IV is Thunderbolt 1 and ThunderBay 4 is Thunderbolt 2 ? Are you playing with us OWC? ). The order arrived fast, I installed four 4Tb Seagate drives and SoftRAID software... alas, it did not support RAID5 that I wanted. Disappointed, I called OWC for an RMA, and received it with no hassle.

Later that night I decided to ask the SoftRAID developers; they were really helpful and offered me free beta of their newest software that supports RAID5 with ThunderBay. Well, as reluctant as I was to use beta software, I took a chance, and I must report that both ThunderBay 4 and SoftRAID 5 work and support RAID5! So I cancelled my RMA.

Since then SoftRAID v.5 has been released. I am a happy customer of both companies. Great job OWC and SoftRAID!

I would recommend (and have done so!) all three: OWC, ThunderBay 4, and SoftRAID to my friends without any reluctance.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Easy setup August 22, 2014 Migrating to new Mac Pro was effortless thanks to OWC Thunderbay. I have 4 SSD's installed, fast data transfer, bootable and quiet. Great product.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC ThunderBay IV, four-bay drive enclosure with dual Thunderbolt ports, RAID-ready Enclosure.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Northern California Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Elcellent July 23, 2014 I am very pleased with the ThunderBay IV enclosure. First, it was easy to install the SATA drives I needed from my old Mac Pro and some external FireWire 800 enclosures. Most multi-drive Thunderbolt enclosures, designed solely for use as a RAID, won't accept unmatched drives. The TB IV came to market just in time for me to use with a new 27" iMac. I recommend it for anyone upgrading from an old Mac Pro to a new Mac Pro or iMac. It will, of course, work with other new Macs as well. And it provides TB passthrough and sufficient power to support other devices in a chain.

Apropos of which, I am also quite happy with its performance as a Thunderbolt hub. The second Thunderbolt port is, in fact, more stable than the TB ports on my iMac when it comes to supporting FireWire drives via an Apple Thunderbolt to Firewire adaptor.

It's a valuable Otherworld practice to provide empty enclosures for the drives they sell. I particularly appreciate it in this case.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC ThunderBay IV, four-bay drive enclosure with dual Thunderbolt ports, RAID-ready Enclosure.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Fresno, Ca Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Fantastic Product! July 16, 2014 This enclosure is ultra fast on my MacBook Pro 11,3 I can boot into other drives and OS's now it's like I'm on my MacPro. I can't tell the difference from the thunderbolt drive and my internal SSD. I have as of yet to check my real through put, but I'm excited to see the results. The enclosure is a solid build I expect it to last for years to come.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC ThunderBay IV, four-bay drive enclosure with dual Thunderbolt ports, RAID-ready Enclosure.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Concord, CA and New York, NY Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Excellent; can be made very quiet July 3, 2014 Fast as expected, and excellent build quality, sharing a design with the Elite Pro Qx2 which I own at a different location. I purchased this after attempting to survey the entire market.

I use this drive as bulk storage and backup for an SSD-based Mac mini, in my study where I am very sensitive to noise. The design is both hefty and fairly open (unlike the cramped Elite Pro Dual), easing cooling demands, but any aluminum chamber like this is going to behave like a musical instrument. I have successfully applied computer dampening sheets to similar devices, but I haven't tried that with this series.

The included fan is a 92mm Zalman ZM-F2 Plus(SF), without the RC56 in-line resistor. (The unit may be providing variable voltage to the fan; I'm not sure. One could buy another fan, to obtain this resister.) This is a 2800 RPM, 55.9 CFM, 36 dB fan. I'm making fairly mild use of these drives compared to the worst-case scenario for which this unit is designed, so I'm willing to risk a lower CFM to silence this unit as far as possible. My solution, with both the Qx2 and this unit, is to remove the existing fan and mount outboard a "Nexus 80mm or 92mm Fan Slot to 120mm Fan Converter" and a quiet 120mm fan. (As builders know, larger fans do the same work with less noise.) My choice here was an 800 rpm Scythe Gentle Typhoon, 28.2 CFM, 9 dB, and a silicon 120mm fan gasket. One could be conservative here and go with a higher CFM Typhoon. Assembly is a mild puzzle; one wishes one had a small right angle philips screwdriver for the two tiny screws (circled in red) that reattach the fan plate. One can improvise with a very short philips head bit, and pliers; it may be necessary to back out the external fan screws to make room.

Drives spinning are far louder than any fan. This unit does respect disk sleep requests over Thunderbolt, as expected and desired. (It is possible to buy competing products where the hard drives never spin down, until the computer actually goes to sleep!) On a Mac, study the man page for pmset; I used "sudo pmset -a disksleep 2" to shorten the wait time till drives spin down.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC ThunderBay IV, four-bay drive enclosure with dual Thunderbolt ports, RAID-ready Enclosure.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Va. Beach, VA Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 3/5 Nice design, quiet, but relies on software for RAID June 9, 2014 I replaced our Mercury Elite Pro with this box because the Elite Pro drives were 4 years old and I wanted a faster interface. I prefer the hardware RAID of the Elite Pro, but would buy this drive again because of the interface. It is really quiet and fast. I'm hoping OWC puts the Hardware RAID configuration on a Thunderbolt box soon.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from (*) 12.0TB OWC ThunderBay IV, four-drive HDD with dual Thunderbolt ports, RAID-ready Solution.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: California Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Best Thunderbolt Raid Solution May 30, 2014 I am using 2 regular (mechanical) Hard drives in Raid0 with capacity of 2 times 4 TB. doubleing my readind speed ( 300 MB/sec). The other two slots I have 2 SSD drives with around 700 MB/sec read speed! So my first pair is 8TB and my second pair is 500 GB. The Raid is software raid configured on my Mac. I was waiting for this to come for over a year. I can't believe that none of the companies could do a decent one before. Pegazus has really bad reviews and you can't put your own drives ( as far as I know) what really sucks. This drive finally can do it!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC ThunderBay IV, four-bay drive enclosure with dual Thunderbolt ports, RAID-ready Enclosure.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Nashville, TN Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Amazing piece of gear May 29, 2014 I bought this drive bay without putting my hands on it, something I don't like to do, but I have been very pleased with the purchase. The build quality is very good and robust, and looks like it will last forever. Transfers are smoking fast and four bays give you plenty of room. Very highly recommended...!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC ThunderBay IV, four-bay drive enclosure with dual Thunderbolt ports, RAID-ready Enclosure.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Gold Coast, Australia Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 4/5 Excellent JBOD/RAID Enclosure May 25, 2014 I have this setup with 4 x 2TB Toshiba HDDs in Software RAID0. Disappointed that OWC doesn't have a hardware RAID enclosure with thunderbolt, hope that's in the pipeline.

Despite not having hardware RAID, the performance from the Software RAID0 is extraordinarily good, achieving over 720MB/sec read & 690MB/sec write (using BlackMagic Disk Speed Test)

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC ThunderBay IV, four-bay drive enclosure with dual Thunderbolt ports, RAID-ready Enclosure.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Midwest Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Thunderbay IV good unit April 28, 2014 I received this unit to use with my 2013 i7 iMac. I have 6 WD Enterprise drives/ This unit holds 4 of them. I have 2 of the drives in a RAID 0 config (Softraid) and the other 2 as JBOD. The unit is plenty fast with 4 drives in RAID 0. It gives big bang for the buck. and the power supply is internal. No external bricks. It does use 4 individual data channels to get this fast performance. But BE WARNED, this is not in the manual. If you run Windows via Bootcamp, (I run Win 7) and this device is plugged into your thunderbolt port, you WILL NOT be able to get Windows to boot. If you run another external box that uses 3 data channels then no problem. But 4 and it's not gonna work. If you have a Mac w/Thunderbolt 2 not a problem. Thunderbolt 1 and there's this limitation.Good product other than that misgiving. They said they would change their advertising to state this .... Soon all Macs will be thunderbolt 2. Let me repeat, this limitation is only if you run Windows via bootcamp. (parallels I don't know?) But it works great on the Mac side of things.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC ThunderBay IV, four-bay drive enclosure with dual Thunderbolt ports, RAID-ready Enclosure.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Miami, Fl.
Rating: 5/5 Fantastic Box April 28, 2014 Fill this up with big SSD's and you will love it. It works perfectly and is much quieter than I thought it would be. Very low fan noise, so low, I can't hear it and that's what I wanted. I got so tired of listening to loud spinning hard drives and the fan to cool them. This box with SSD's is not only fast with Raid 0 but is quiet too. It is so nice.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC ThunderBay IV, four-bay drive enclosure with dual Thunderbolt ports, RAID-ready Enclosure.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Scottsdale, AZ Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Flawless operation March 27, 2014 I used the ThunderBay IV to migrate two hard drives from my 2006 MacPro (1.1 version) and added a 3TB and 4TB Toshiba drive. The larger of the Toshiba drives is being utilized for Time Machine. This arrangement has worked very well in conjunction with the new Mac Pro (2013.) I have placed my iTunes library on the smaller of the Toshiba drives and there is no apparent latency in playback. The fan is rather quiet. The quality of the enclosure is very robust.

Excellent product and very pleased with its function. Highly recommended.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC ThunderBay IV, four-bay drive enclosure with dual Thunderbolt ports, RAID-ready Enclosure.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Hawaii Age: 25-34 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Just what I've been waiting for March 11, 2014 Not many people I know are familiar with the Netgear ReadyNAS NV+ V2(the system before my ThunderBay IV). I got that system a while back but there was always one thing about it that bothered me. It was soooooooooooooo slow! I kept looking for something with similar features but with a speed boost, possibly one to take advantage of my unused (until now) Thunderbolt ports. Leave it to my good friends at OWC to not only offer EXACTLY what I wanted at a comparable price, but to also give me the option to use my already purchased HDDs from my previous ReadyNAS. Most of the other companies selling comparable products don't give the consumer that option. I've had this for a good month now and it's still going strong. I'm streaming movies, using it for Time Machine backups and all through the Thunderbolt ports. I love it!

Thanks OWC!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC ThunderBay IV, four-bay drive enclosure with dual Thunderbolt ports, RAID-ready Enclosure.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: The Netherlands Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 4/5 Fast and Noisy March 5, 2014 The Thunderbay is very well build! It's very fast, but i'm now thinking of how to get rid of the blowing sound of the TBay. After buying the Mac Pro 6core i needed to bring back my capacity of storage, and the TBay did that PERFECT! But it also brought back the same Decibels as my old Mac Pro 2009 ..

Now i need a 7 meter Thunderbolt cable in white to fix that, which isn't easy to get! If there was a 100$ option to fix that i would have given the ThunderBay iV a 5 star rating!

ps. Service of OWC is AWESOME! I had a problem with one HDD bay inside the Thunderbay, i send in a photo of the problem and i had a new bay within 4 days send to The Netherlands!

.... get it! If you need the space, but also get a very long Thunderbolt cable! I need to find one in white of 7 meters... If anyone knows something :D ...

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC ThunderBay IV, four-bay drive enclosure with dual Thunderbolt ports, RAID-ready Enclosure.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Central NY Age: Over 65 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 4/5 A well made product February 26, 2014 I am using the device as a RAID 0 array for backup storage and temporary files. It performs well and is extremely quiet in operation. Data throughput is extremely fast for an external unit, far exceeding the firewire 800 units I have used in the past. Like all Thunderbolt units it is a little pricey.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 8.0TB OWC ThunderBay IV, four-drive HDD with dual Thunderbolt ports, RAID-ready JBOD Solution.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Saint Louis, MO Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 It's a speed demon February 26, 2014 I just upgraded my office computer to the new Mac Pro and was forced to upgrade my RAID. After looking at Pegasus 2 and LaCie products I decided I just needed the fastest possible RAID 0 setup possible. I checked out all of the speed benchmarks and it looked like the Thunderbay was winning. I purchased it with 8 TB of storage and I'm getting between 700-725 Mb/s on Read and Write speeds. Couldn't be happier at this point. No sleep issues or ejection problems in Mavericks. If I had the cash I'd quickly buy another for backup.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 8.0TB OWC ThunderBay IV, four-drive HDD with dual Thunderbolt ports, RAID-ready JBOD Solution.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: NY Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 4/5 This product is well built and fast! February 11, 2014 The first thing I noticed as I was unboxing this unit was the excellent build quality of the unit. The aluminum enclosure is heavy gauge, the drive sleds are easy to pop in and out and feel very solid when in place. I did receive a unit with a cross threaded quick release screw but it still works well. I striped 4 7200rpm seagate barracuda drives and ran Blackmagic Disk Speed Test. I was able to get sustained read and write scores that hovered between 550-600Mbs! I found this very impressive for only using medium quality drives in the enclosure. I can only imagine the speed I would get with Raptors or ssds. The fan is a bit noisy but not terrible and it moves a lot of air through the machine making me feel safe about keeping those disks cool. I have it on a daisy chain with another TB drive and everything works great. I do wish there was the ability for hardware raid on the unit but for the money, this enclosure gave me the best bang for my buck considering that I already owned all those drives.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC ThunderBay IV, four-bay drive enclosure with dual Thunderbolt ports, RAID-ready Enclosure.

OWC Enclosure ThunderBay 4 Mfr P/N: TB2IVKIT0GB MacSales.com SKU: OWCTB2IVKIT0GB High-Performance 4-bay External Drive 1 Year OWC Limited Warranty Ships: Same Day Only $479.99CyberSaver $397.50
Add to CartOther World Computing TB2IVKIT0GB In Stock, Click to Buy Now
Additional capacities: Add Your Own Drives
  • 0GB
w/ Hard Drives
  • 4.0TB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $749.99
    • MacSales.com Price $649.88
  • 8.0TB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $899.99
    • MacSales.com Price $794.99
  • 12.0TB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $999.99
    • MacSales.com Price $897.99
  • 16.0TB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $1,249.99
    • MacSales.com Price $1,129.99
  • 20.0TB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $1,369.99
    • MacSales.com Price $1,257.50
  • 24.0TB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $1,679.99
    • MacSales.com Price $1,529.99
  • 32.0TB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $2,429.99
    • MacSales.com Price $2,299.99
  • 40.0TB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $3,079.99
    • MacSales.com Price $2,799.99