Home » External Drives and Enclosures » OWC ThunderBay 4 with Thunderbolt 2

OWC ThunderBay 4

4-bay Professional-Grade Enclosure

Dual Thunderbolt 2 | RAID Ready | 4 Drive Bays | Mac
The Speed You Need
  • Fits both 2.5" and 3.5" drives
  • Incredible Thunderbolt 2 throughput
  • Plug and play RAID-ready
  • Up to 733MB/s read / 742MB/s write RAID 0 performance 1
Empower your creative production workflow with this super-fast, 4-Bay, RAID-ready drive with dual Thunderbolt ports. Add vast amounts of high-performance storage with ThunderBay 4. Utilize each of the four internal drives independently, or use the software RAID of your choice to setup a multi-drive array for high-performance or data-redundancy.
Edit, Experiment, Create, Design
With ThunderBay's performance capabilities you can complete projects faster, have more time to experiment, and push your creations to the next level.

Enhance editing capabilities in video apps like Apple Final Cut Pro, Adobe Premiere, and Avid Media Composer. Empower greater audio production capabilities in audio apps like Avid Pro Tools and Logic Pro X. Edit large photos in apps like Adobe Photoshop, and browse large photo libraries in apps like Apple Aperture and Adobe Lightroom. Simply put, you can do more with a ThunderBay 4 enhanced workflow, and with a RAID 5 array you get data redundancy on top of great performance!
Certified and Tested
Each ThunderBay undergoes OWC's multi-hour drive "burn-in" performance certification procedure prior to shipping. This ensures your ThunderBay arrives operating properly and ready for demanding use.
Includes SoftRAID: Easy and Complete Drive Management
Now you can quickly access and robustly protect your data with SoftRAID XT. SoftRAID easy setup makes it a breeze to create RAID volumes by helping you through the entire process. With multiple RAID options, you decide what you’re using your RAID volume for and how much space to allocate to it. It's that simple to create your preference of speed and/or redundancy for your data volume.
SoftRAID Highlights
  • Flexible: create RAID 0 and 1 volumes with SoftRAID Lite XT (Windows and Mac)
  • Advanced: create RAID 0, 1, 4, 5, 1+0 (10) volumes (RAID 6, 6+ coming in 2020) and get email notifications for drive and RAID volume health with SoftRAID XT (Mac only)
  • Verify: volume validation ensures sectors can be read, parity is correct, and any potential volume failure is minimized
  • Certified: drives are validated before use to ensure they are safe for data storage
  • Vigilant: predictive warnings help protect against unexpected drive failure
  • Cross-platform ready: SoftRAID Lite includes built-in MacDrive technology that lets you  read/write SoftRAID RAID 0 and RAID 1 arrays and use them interchangeably with Windows and macOS computers
  • Outperforms: up to 86% faster than AppleRAID
  • Thorough: full TRIM support improves internal and external SSD performance in all RAID levels
  • Risk-free: 30-day free trial of fully functional application

4 drive bays plus so much more.
Time-tested Cooling Time-Tested Cooling
Built on OWC's time-tested enclosure cooling technology, ThunderBay utilizes an open "flow-thru" vented design with an oversized 92 mm, low-turbulence, noise-quieting fan to keep the drives running cool and reliably.
Multi-Drive Multi-Drive
Daisy-chain up to six ThunderBays for massive storage capabilities and increased performance, or connect multiple ThunderBays to multiple Thunderbolt 2 ports to achieve exponential speed capabilities.
Vibration Dampened Vibration Dampened
ThunderBay's drive isolating design reduces sonic resonance, and is aided by over-sized, rugged, vibration-absorbing, non-skid feet.
DisplayPort 1.2 DisplayPort 1.2 Support
Dual Thunderbolt ports let you connect the display of your choice that your computer can support, including 4K displays.
Thunderbolt Cable OWC Thunderbolt Cable
ThunderBay comes with an OWC one-meter certified Thunderbolt cable, with other lengths from 0.5 meter to 30 meters available separately.
1. Read and write speeds of sequential, incompressible data.

Includes

  • OWC ThunderBay 4 high performance hard drive enclosure
  • SoftRAID Lite XT (Mac and Windows)
  • Thunderbolt cable
  • UL-certified 3-prong power cable
  • 2 keys for front panel lock
  • ThunderBay 4 Assembly Manual & User Guide (Download Only)
  • SoftRAID Lite XT Quick Start Guide
  • ThunderBay 4 Quick Start Guide

Gallery

Product Specifications

Mechanisms Supported

  • Four 3.5" SATA hard drives
  • Four 2.5" SATA hard drives or SSDs

Chipset

  • Thunderbolt 2

Interfaces Supported

  • Thunderbolt 2

JBOD / RAID Support

  • JBOD: Utilize each of the four drives independently
  • RAID: Use any Software RAID of your choice to setup the ThunderBay 4 for multi-drive performance or data redundancy.

Port Configuration

  • Thunderbolt – (2) Thunderbolt 2 ports

Max Data Transfer Rate

  • Thunderbolt 2 – 20Gb/sec

Port/Interface Bootability

  • It can be used as a Thunderbolt startup drive on Macs running Mac OS X.

System Requirements

  • Any Mac with a Thunderbolt port running OS X 10.9 or later.
  • Any PC running Windows 7 Service Pack 1 or later with a Thunderbolt port. Driver required for proper installation. (3.3 MB ZIP)
  • Boot Camp is not supported. The Thunderbolt certification process does not include Macs running Windows through Boot Camp.

Power Supply

  • Internal UL Listed U.S./International Auto Switching 100 ~ 240v, 50/60Hz input, 12 Volt 16.66 Amp output Power Supply (power cords for International use sold separately).

Product Manual

External Case Dimensions

  • 9.65″(D) x 5.31″(W) x 6.96″(H)
  • 245.11mm x 134.87mm x 176.78mm

Enclosure Weight (no accessories)

  • Approximately 8.6 pounds (3.9kg)

Operating Environment:

Temperature

  • (operating) 5°C – 42°C (41°F – 107°F)
  • (non-operating) -40°C – 65°C (-40°F – 149°F)

Relative Humidity

  • (operating) 8% – 90% RH (Non-condensing)
  • (non-operating) 5% – 95% RH (Non-condensing)

Shock

  • 65G 2mS; (non-operating) 175G 2mS

Vibration

  • (operating) 1.0G (5 – 300Hz)
  • (non-operating) 5.0G (5 – 500Hz)

Warranty

1 Year OWC Enclosure Limited Warranty

The best warranty is one you never have to use, but should the need occur – OWC is proud to provide a superior level of support and warranty coverage to our customers. Even when not used, we understand the peace of mind afforded by a longer warranty period. OWC's industry leading coverage is a testament to our confidence in the reliability of the solutions that we offer. OWC solutions are engineered to demanding quality standards in order to deliver the most reliable, highest performance available on the market in each storage category.

View more information about the 1 Year OWC Enclosure Limited Warranty

Manufacturer provided specifications for Other World Computing p/n TB2IVKIT0GB UPC#: 812437020410

Benchmarks

Click any of the benchmarks below to view the results.
macOS RAID 0 Test Results

Reviews

Videos


Customer Ratings

Write a Review 4.8 / 5 76 out of 80 (95%) reviewers would recommend this product
1 2 3 4
Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Concord, CA and New York, NY Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Excellent; can be made very quiet July 3, 2014 Fast as expected, and excellent build quality, sharing a design with the Elite Pro Qx2 which I own at a different location. I purchased this after attempting to survey the entire market.

I use this drive as bulk storage and backup for an SSD-based Mac mini, in my study where I am very sensitive to noise. The design is both hefty and fairly open (unlike the cramped Elite Pro Dual), easing cooling demands, but any aluminum chamber like this is going to behave like a musical instrument. I have successfully applied computer dampening sheets to similar devices, but I haven't tried that with this series.

The included fan is a 92mm Zalman ZM-F2 Plus(SF), without the RC56 in-line resistor. (The unit may be providing variable voltage to the fan; I'm not sure. One could buy another fan, to obtain this resister.) This is a 2800 RPM, 55.9 CFM, 36 dB fan. I'm making fairly mild use of these drives compared to the worst-case scenario for which this unit is designed, so I'm willing to risk a lower CFM to silence this unit as far as possible. My solution, with both the Qx2 and this unit, is to remove the existing fan and mount outboard a "Nexus 80mm or 92mm Fan Slot to 120mm Fan Converter" and a quiet 120mm fan. (As builders know, larger fans do the same work with less noise.) My choice here was an 800 rpm Scythe Gentle Typhoon, 28.2 CFM, 9 dB, and a silicon 120mm fan gasket. One could be conservative here and go with a higher CFM Typhoon. Assembly is a mild puzzle; one wishes one had a small right angle philips screwdriver for the two tiny screws (circled in red) that reattach the fan plate. One can improvise with a very short philips head bit, and pliers; it may be necessary to back out the external fan screws to make room.

Drives spinning are far louder than any fan. This unit does respect disk sleep requests over Thunderbolt, as expected and desired. (It is possible to buy competing products where the hard drives never spin down, until the computer actually goes to sleep!) On a Mac, study the man page for pmset; I used "sudo pmset -a disksleep 2" to shorten the wait time till drives spin down.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from (*) OWC ThunderBay IV, four-bay drive enclosure with dual Thunderbolt ports, RAID-ready Enclosure.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Va. Beach, VA Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 3/5 Nice design, quiet, but relies on software for RAID June 9, 2014 I replaced our Mercury Elite Pro with this box because the Elite Pro drives were 4 years old and I wanted a faster interface. I prefer the hardware RAID of the Elite Pro, but would buy this drive again because of the interface. It is really quiet and fast. I'm hoping OWC puts the Hardware RAID configuration on a Thunderbolt box soon.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from (*) 12.0TB OWC ThunderBay IV, four-drive HDD with dual Thunderbolt ports, RAID-ready Solution.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: California Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Best Thunderbolt Raid Solution May 30, 2014 I am using 2 regular (mechanical) Hard drives in Raid0 with capacity of 2 times 4 TB. doubleing my readind speed ( 300 MB/sec). The other two slots I have 2 SSD drives with around 700 MB/sec read speed! So my first pair is 8TB and my second pair is 500 GB. The Raid is software raid configured on my Mac. I was waiting for this to come for over a year. I can't believe that none of the companies could do a decent one before. Pegazus has really bad reviews and you can't put your own drives ( as far as I know) what really sucks. This drive finally can do it!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from (*) OWC ThunderBay IV, four-bay drive enclosure with dual Thunderbolt ports, RAID-ready Enclosure.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Nashville, TN Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Amazing piece of gear May 29, 2014 I bought this drive bay without putting my hands on it, something I don't like to do, but I have been very pleased with the purchase. The build quality is very good and robust, and looks like it will last forever. Transfers are smoking fast and four bays give you plenty of room. Very highly recommended...!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from (*) OWC ThunderBay IV, four-bay drive enclosure with dual Thunderbolt ports, RAID-ready Enclosure.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Gold Coast, Australia Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 4/5 Excellent JBOD/RAID Enclosure May 25, 2014 I have this setup with 4 x 2TB Toshiba HDDs in Software RAID0. Disappointed that OWC doesn't have a hardware RAID enclosure with thunderbolt, hope that's in the pipeline.

Despite not having hardware RAID, the performance from the Software RAID0 is extraordinarily good, achieving over 720MB/sec read & 690MB/sec write (using BlackMagic Disk Speed Test)

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from (*) OWC ThunderBay IV, four-bay drive enclosure with dual Thunderbolt ports, RAID-ready Enclosure.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Midwest Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Thunderbay IV good unit April 28, 2014 I received this unit to use with my 2013 i7 iMac. I have 6 WD Enterprise drives/ This unit holds 4 of them. I have 2 of the drives in a RAID 0 config (Softraid) and the other 2 as JBOD. The unit is plenty fast with 4 drives in RAID 0. It gives big bang for the buck. and the power supply is internal. No external bricks. It does use 4 individual data channels to get this fast performance. But BE WARNED, this is not in the manual. If you run Windows via Bootcamp, (I run Win 7) and this device is plugged into your thunderbolt port, you WILL NOT be able to get Windows to boot. If you run another external box that uses 3 data channels then no problem. But 4 and it's not gonna work. If you have a Mac w/Thunderbolt 2 not a problem. Thunderbolt 1 and there's this limitation.Good product other than that misgiving. They said they would change their advertising to state this .... Soon all Macs will be thunderbolt 2. Let me repeat, this limitation is only if you run Windows via bootcamp. (parallels I don't know?) But it works great on the Mac side of things.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from (*) OWC ThunderBay IV, four-bay drive enclosure with dual Thunderbolt ports, RAID-ready Enclosure.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Miami, Fl.
Rating: 5/5 Fantastic Box April 28, 2014 Fill this up with big SSD's and you will love it. It works perfectly and is much quieter than I thought it would be. Very low fan noise, so low, I can't hear it and that's what I wanted. I got so tired of listening to loud spinning hard drives and the fan to cool them. This box with SSD's is not only fast with Raid 0 but is quiet too. It is so nice.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from (*) OWC ThunderBay IV, four-bay drive enclosure with dual Thunderbolt ports, RAID-ready Enclosure.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Scottsdale, AZ Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Flawless operation March 27, 2014 I used the ThunderBay IV to migrate two hard drives from my 2006 MacPro (1.1 version) and added a 3TB and 4TB Toshiba drive. The larger of the Toshiba drives is being utilized for Time Machine. This arrangement has worked very well in conjunction with the new Mac Pro (2013.) I have placed my iTunes library on the smaller of the Toshiba drives and there is no apparent latency in playback. The fan is rather quiet. The quality of the enclosure is very robust.

Excellent product and very pleased with its function. Highly recommended.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from (*) OWC ThunderBay IV, four-bay drive enclosure with dual Thunderbolt ports, RAID-ready Enclosure.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Hawaii Age: 25-34 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Just what I've been waiting for March 11, 2014 Not many people I know are familiar with the Netgear ReadyNAS NV+ V2(the system before my ThunderBay IV). I got that system a while back but there was always one thing about it that bothered me. It was soooooooooooooo slow! I kept looking for something with similar features but with a speed boost, possibly one to take advantage of my unused (until now) Thunderbolt ports. Leave it to my good friends at OWC to not only offer EXACTLY what I wanted at a comparable price, but to also give me the option to use my already purchased HDDs from my previous ReadyNAS. Most of the other companies selling comparable products don't give the consumer that option. I've had this for a good month now and it's still going strong. I'm streaming movies, using it for Time Machine backups and all through the Thunderbolt ports. I love it!

Thanks OWC!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from (*) OWC ThunderBay IV, four-bay drive enclosure with dual Thunderbolt ports, RAID-ready Enclosure.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: The Netherlands Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 4/5 Fast and Noisy March 5, 2014 The Thunderbay is very well build! It's very fast, but i'm now thinking of how to get rid of the blowing sound of the TBay. After buying the Mac Pro 6core i needed to bring back my capacity of storage, and the TBay did that PERFECT! But it also brought back the same Decibels as my old Mac Pro 2009 ..

Now i need a 7 meter Thunderbolt cable in white to fix that, which isn't easy to get! If there was a 100$ option to fix that i would have given the ThunderBay iV a 5 star rating!

ps. Service of OWC is AWESOME! I had a problem with one HDD bay inside the Thunderbay, i send in a photo of the problem and i had a new bay within 4 days send to The Netherlands!

.... get it! If you need the space, but also get a very long Thunderbolt cable! I need to find one in white of 7 meters... If anyone knows something :D ...

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from (*) OWC ThunderBay IV, four-bay drive enclosure with dual Thunderbolt ports, RAID-ready Enclosure.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Central NY Age: Over 65 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 4/5 A well made product February 26, 2014 I am using the device as a RAID 0 array for backup storage and temporary files. It performs well and is extremely quiet in operation. Data throughput is extremely fast for an external unit, far exceeding the firewire 800 units I have used in the past. Like all Thunderbolt units it is a little pricey.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 8.0TB OWC ThunderBay IV, four-drive HDD with dual Thunderbolt ports, RAID-ready JBOD Solution.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Saint Louis, MO Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 It's a speed demon February 26, 2014 I just upgraded my office computer to the new Mac Pro and was forced to upgrade my RAID. After looking at Pegasus 2 and LaCie products I decided I just needed the fastest possible RAID 0 setup possible. I checked out all of the speed benchmarks and it looked like the Thunderbay was winning. I purchased it with 8 TB of storage and I'm getting between 700-725 Mb/s on Read and Write speeds. Couldn't be happier at this point. No sleep issues or ejection problems in Mavericks. If I had the cash I'd quickly buy another for backup.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 8.0TB OWC ThunderBay IV, four-drive HDD with dual Thunderbolt ports, RAID-ready JBOD Solution.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: NY Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 4/5 This product is well built and fast! February 11, 2014 The first thing I noticed as I was unboxing this unit was the excellent build quality of the unit. The aluminum enclosure is heavy gauge, the drive sleds are easy to pop in and out and feel very solid when in place. I did receive a unit with a cross threaded quick release screw but it still works well. I striped 4 7200rpm seagate barracuda drives and ran Blackmagic Disk Speed Test. I was able to get sustained read and write scores that hovered between 550-600Mbs! I found this very impressive for only using medium quality drives in the enclosure. I can only imagine the speed I would get with Raptors or ssds. The fan is a bit noisy but not terrible and it moves a lot of air through the machine making me feel safe about keeping those disks cool. I have it on a daisy chain with another TB drive and everything works great. I do wish there was the ability for hardware raid on the unit but for the money, this enclosure gave me the best bang for my buck considering that I already owned all those drives.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from (*) OWC ThunderBay IV, four-bay drive enclosure with dual Thunderbolt ports, RAID-ready Enclosure.

OWC Enclosure ThunderBay 4 Mfr P/N: TB2IVKIT0GB OWC SKU: OWCTB2IVKIT0GB High-Performance 4-bay External Drive 1 Year OWC Limited Warranty Ships: Same Day Only $399.99OWC Price $349.00
Add to CartOther World Computing TB2IVKIT0GB In Stock, Click to Buy Now
Additional Capacities & Kits: Enclosure Only
  • 0GB
Hard Drive Models
  • 4.0TB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $649.99
    • OWC Price $599.00
  • 8.0TB
    • Ships: 4 Days
    • Only $729.99
    • OWC Price $699.00
  • 16.0TB
    • Ships: 4 Days
    • Only $979.99
    • OWC Price $949.00
  • 24.0TB
    • Ships: 4 Days
    • Only $1,199.99
    • OWC Price $1,149.00
  • 32.0TB
    • Ships: 4 Days
    • Only $1,379.99
    • OWC Price $1,319.00
  • 40.0TB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $1,529.99
    • OWC Price $1,449.00
  • 48.0TB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $1,779.99
    • OWC Price $1,699.00
  • 56.0TB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $2,099.99
    • OWC Price $1,999.00
  • 64.0TB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $2,469.99
    • OWC Price $2,349.00
-->