Get exclusive deals delivered to your inbox!

Start saving today. »

OWC ThunderBay 4

24.0TB 4-bay external drive

Dual Thunderbolt 2 | RAID Ready | 4 Drive Bays | Mac
The Speed You Need
  • Fits both 2.5" and 3.5" drives
  • Incredible Thunderbolt 2 throughput
  • Plug and play RAID-ready
  • Up to 777MB/s read / 780MB/s write RAID 0 performance 1
Empower your creative production workflow with this super-fast, 4-Bay, RAID-ready drive with dual Thunderbolt ports. Add vast amounts of high-performance storage with ThunderBay 4. Utilize each of the four internal drives independently, or use the software RAID of your choice to setup a multi-drive array for high-performance or data-redundancy.
Edit, Experiment, Create, Design
With ThunderBay's performance capabilities you can complete projects faster, have more time to experiment, and push your creations to the next level.

Enhance editing capabilities in video apps like Apple Final Cut Pro, Adobe Premiere, and Avid Media Composer. Empower greater audio production capabilities in audio apps like Avid Pro Tools and Logic Pro X. Edit large photos in apps like Adobe Photoshop, and browse large photo libraries in apps like Apple Aperture and Adobe Lightroom. Simply put, you can do more with a ThunderBay 4 enhanced workflow, and with a RAID 5 array you get data redundancy on top of great performance!
Certified and Tested
Each ThunderBay undergoes OWC's multi-hour drive "burn-in" performance certification procedure prior to shipping. This ensures your ThunderBay arrives operating properly and ready for demanding use.
SoftRAID Lite XT for ThunderBay Included
Discover the power and performance of the SoftRAID engine, the most advanced software RAID for Mac with RAID 0 and 1.

4 drive bays plus so much more.
Time-tested Cooling Time-Tested Cooling
Built on OWC's time-tested enclosure cooling technology, ThunderBay utilizes an open "flow-thru" vented design with an oversized 92 mm, low-turbulence, noise-quieting fan to keep the drives running cool and reliably.
Multi-Drive Multi-Drive
Daisy-chain up to six ThunderBays for massive storage capabilities and increased performance, or connect multiple ThunderBays to multiple Thunderbolt 2 ports to achieve exponential speed capabilities.
Vibration Dampened Vibration Dampened
ThunderBay's drive isolating design reduces sonic resonance, and is aided by over-sized, rugged, vibration-absorbing, non-skid feet.
DisplayPort 1.2 DisplayPort 1.2 Support
Dual Thunderbolt ports let you connect the display of your choice that your computer can support, including 4K displays.
Thunderbolt Cable OWC Thunderbolt Cable
ThunderBay comes with an OWC one-meter certified Thunderbolt cable, with other lengths from 0.5 meter to 30 meters available separately.
1. Read and write speeds of sequential, incompressible data.

Includes

Gallery

Product Specifications

Chipset

  • Thunderbolt 2

Interfaces Supported

  • Thunderbolt 2

JBOD / RAID Support

  • JBOD: Utilize each of the four drives independently
  • RAID: Use any Software RAID of your choice to setup the ThunderBay 4 for multi-drive performance or data redundancy.

Standard Mechanism

  • 6.0TB Toshiba MD04ACA600 Specifications:

    Specifications

    Form Factor
    3.5″ HDD
    Interface
    SATA 6.0Gb/s
    Capacity1
    6.0TB
    Formatted Capacity2
    5580GiB
    Rotational Speed
    7,200 RPM
    Cache / Data Buffer
    128MB
    Manufacturer Model Number
    MD04ACA600
    Format

    Physical

    Height (max)
    26.1mm (1.027″)
    Width (max)
    101.6mm (4.0″)
    Length (max)
    147mm (5.787″)
    Weight (typical)
    720g (1.587 lbs.)
    Bytes per Sector
    512 / 4096

    Reliability3

    MTBF (Mean Time Between Failures)
    1,400,000 hours
    Load/Unload
    600,000 times
    Warranty
    2 Year Toshiba Limited Warranty

    Performance

    Transfer Rate (Max)
    6.0Gb/s
    Average Seek Time
    8.5ms
    Average Latency
    4.17ms

    Power

    Read Power
    11.3 Watts
    Write Power
    11.3 Watts
    Idle Mode
    6.0 Watts

    Environmental (Operating)

    Shock
    70 G max at 2ms
    Ambient Temperature (°F)
    32°F to 140°F
    Ambient Temperature (°C)
    0°C to 60°C
    Vibration
    0.75 G (5 to 500 Hz)
    Relative Humidity (non-condensing)
    8% to 90%
    Altitude
    -304.8 m to 3,048 m (-1,000 ft to 10,000+ ft)

    Environmental (Non-Operating)

    Shock
    300 G max at 1ms
    Ambient Temperature (°F)
    -40°F to 158°F
    Ambient Temperature (°C)
    -40°C to 70°C
    Vibration
    1.04 G (5 to 500 Hz)
    Relative Humidity (non-condensing)
    5% to 95%
    Altitude
    -304.8 m to 12,192 m (-1000 ft to 40,000+ ft)

    Acoustics

    Idle (Typical)
    3.1 bels
    1. 1GB = 1,000,000,000 bytes. Total accessible capacity varies depending upon operating environment (typically 5-10% less). The actual total capacity will depend on your own defined file settings/preferences.
    2. In terms of standard gigabytes, 1GiB ≈ 1.074GB and refers to the actual formatted capacity of shown under Mac OS 10.5 or earlier and Microsoft Windows OS.
    3. Specific application environments such as temperature and duty cycle will affect the overall reliability rates.
    4 x 6.0TB* Toshiba MD04ACA Hard Disk Drives**
    • *1GB = 1,000,000,000 bytes. Total accessible capacity varies depending upon operating environment (typically 5-10% less). The actual total capacity will depend on your own defined file settings/preferences.

      **OWC reserves the right to replace or upgrade to equivalent or better components.

Drive Rotation Speed

  • 7200 RPM

Drive Cache Size

  • 128MB per drive, 512MB total for the solution

Port Configuration

  • Thunderbolt – (2) Thunderbolt 2 ports

Max Data Transfer Rate

  • Thunderbolt 2 – 20Gb/sec

Port/Interface Bootability

  • It can be used as a Thunderbolt startup drive on Macs running Mac OS X.

System Requirements

  • Any Mac with a Thunderbolt port running OS X 10.9 or later.
  • Any PC running Windows 7 Service Pack 1 or later with a Thunderbolt port. Driver required for proper installation. (3.3 MB ZIP)
  • Boot Camp is not supported. The Thunderbolt certification process does not include Macs running Windows through Boot Camp.

Power Supply

  • Internal UL Listed U.S./International Auto Switching 100 ~ 240v, 50/60Hz input, 12 Volt 16.66 Amp output Power Supply (power cords for International use sold separately).

External Case Dimensions

  • 9.65″(D) x 5.31″(W) x 6.96″(H)
  • 245.11mm x 134.87mm x 176.78mm

Enclosure Weight (no accessories)

  • Approximately 8.6 pounds (3.9kg)

Product Manual

Operating Environment:

Temperature

  • (operating) 5°C – 42°C (41°F – 107°F)
  • (non-operating) -40°C – 65°C (-40°F – 149°F)

Relative Humidity

  • (operating) 8% – 90% RH (Non-condensing)
  • (non-operating) 5% – 95% RH (Non-condensing)

Shock

  • 65G 2mS; (non-operating) 175G 2mS

Vibration

  • (operating) 1.0G (5 – 300Hz)
  • (non-operating) 5.0G (5 – 500Hz)

Warranty

3 Year OWC Solution Limited Warranty

The best warranty is one you never have to use, but should the need occur – OWC is proud to provide a superior level of support and warranty coverage to our customers. Even when not used, we understand the peace of mind afforded by a longer warranty period. OWC's industry leading coverage is a testament to our confidence in the reliability of the solutions that we offer. OWC solutions are engineered to demanding quality standards in order to deliver the most reliable, highest performance available on the market in each storage category.

View more information about the 3 Year OWC Solution Limited Warranty

Note: Do not disassemble or otherwise open your OWC solution prior to the conclusion of the 3 Year OWC Solution Limited Warranty period. Doing so will void the remainder of the OWC warranty.

Manufacturer provided specifications for Other World Computing p/n TB2IVT24.0S UPC#: 812437023442

Reviews

Customer Ratings

Write a Review 4.8 / 5 75 out of 79 (95%) reviewers would recommend this product
1 2 3 4
Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous
Rating: 4/5 Noisy or what? January 15, 2016 These 20b drives are doing the job, fast and well priced. But they make SO MUCH NOISE that I spent a long time on the phone with engineers at OWC trying to figure out what was wrong. Hopefully nothing will go wrong, but they sound like a broken wheel axel on a 58 chevy.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 20.0TB OWC ThunderBay 4, four-drive HDD with dual Thunderbolt 2 ports, RAID-ready Solution.

Verified Buyer Top 250 Contributor
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Idaho Falls, ID Age: 45-54 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 A wonderful expansion device January 13, 2016 This cool device allows us to add massive terabytes to our new iMac. It is quiet, and the drives were easy to install. Very solidly built.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC ThunderBay 4, four-bay drive enclosure with dual Thunderbolt 2 ports, RAID-ready w/cable.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Canada Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 4/5 Does what it says January 9, 2016 Little louder than I had hoped, but that's just nitpicking. Only complaint is the door mechanism is not a great design and kind of awkward, but how often are you going inside anyways?

This review is from OWC ThunderBay 4, four-bay drive enclosure with dual Thunderbolt 2 ports, RAID-ready w/cable.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Thousand Oaks, CA Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Perfect for my needs December 29, 2015 Replaced my Mac Pro with an iMac and this allowed me to use all of my existing drives, Very seamless transition. Great product!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC ThunderBay 4, four-bay drive enclosure with dual Thunderbolt 2 ports, RAID-ready w/cable.

Top 250 Contributor
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Washington, VA Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 4/5 Quality RAID with one exception December 29, 2015 Bought this enclosure to go on my wife's new 27" iMac so we could move all of her files off of her old MacPro that I had added 4TB drives to. The quality of this enclosure is excellent. It is heavy and solid. The build quality is excellent and quiet in operation. We have it set up on the other side of a wall with our NAS unit, running the Thunderbolt cable through the wall so the office is completely quiet.

Setting the unit up using the SoftRAID software was easy. I bought 2 new 4TB drives and installed them along with one of the 4TB drives from the MacPro. So I had 3 large 4TB drives which under a RAID 5 setup gave me 8TB of storage. My plan was to move all of the files from the remaining 4TB drive plus other stuff to the Thnderbolt drive then pull the other 4TB drive from the Pro and add it to the Thunderbolt enclosure, increasing my total capacity to 12TB.

I got everything moved and installed the 4th drive to the Thunderbolt enclosure, but I couldn't figure out how to add it to the other drives. I contacted support for SoftRAID only to find out the software does not allow you to increase the number of drives in the array once you have initially set up the unit.

My solution was to backup everything from the Thunderbolt RAID to my NAS, delete the. Volume on the Thunderbolt and create a new volume that used all 4 drives. It's taken over 48 hours so far and another 8 to 10 to be finished.

So be aware that when you set up your RAID under SoftRAID you cannot expand the number of drives used. I highly recommend that you buy 4 drives to fill all four bays, and go with the largest drives you can afford, you won't regret it. The software only allows a failed drive to be replaced and the RAID rebuilt. I am not saying the software is bad or anything. I am sure I am going to be very pleased when everything is where it is supposed to be. I just wish I had known this up front and I would have bought the extra new drive. To supoort's credit I got a response from them within about 30 minutes and this was on a Sunday after Christmas, thanks for excellent service.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC ThunderBay 4, four-bay drive enclosure with dual Thunderbolt 2 ports, RAID-ready w/cable.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 4/5 Nice, but DIY RAID November 28, 2015 The system is fast solidly built, seems to send the drives to sleep correctly (unlike some of the other OWC RAID enclosures, esp. the Qx2 USB 3). It does not include either hardware RAID nor SoftRAID, so you'll have to use a software RAID of you own. I used Apple RAID (striped), and data is backed up on another drive.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC ThunderBay 4, four-bay drive enclosure with dual Thunderbolt 2 ports, RAID-ready w/cable.

Response from MacSales.com, Customer Service November 30, 2015 The RAID 5 version does come with SoftRAID: http://eshop.macsales.com/item/OWC/TB2SRKIT0GB/
Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Missouri
Rating: 5/5 Very Nice November 26, 2015 Moving from a Mac Pro to an iMac means you will have four drives that need to be used and this beauty was the one that met the requirement.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC ThunderBay 4, four-bay drive enclosure with dual Thunderbolt 2 ports, RAID-ready w/cable.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Landenberg, PA Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 A definite solution to a problem. November 19, 2015 I just migrated from a 2912 MacPro with a 500GB SSD and three 4 TB hard drives to a 5K iMac with only a 500GB SSD. I knew it was going to happen, but it was still quite a change. Love the iMac, hate the storage options - none. In comes the Thunderbay 4. Put the SSD and thee 4 TB hard drives in it and attached to my Thunderbolt 2 port! Mounts instantly, comes on and goes off with my iMac, works perfectly with Sleep mode - AND - the drives perform noticeably better than when they were internalto the older MacPro. Love it!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC ThunderBay 4, four-bay drive enclosure with dual Thunderbolt 2 ports, RAID-ready w/cable.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Normal, IL Experience Level: Power User
Rating: 5/5 OWC ThunderBay 4 October 29, 2015 Excellent enclosure! A big plus, the fans are almost silent when in operation. Solid construction. Highly recommend this product to anyone looking to add and external drive set-up.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC ThunderBay 4, four-bay drive enclosure with dual Thunderbolt 2 ports, RAID-ready w/cable.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Nashville Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 OWC ThunderBay 4 October 24, 2015 My only wish is for ONE MORE BAY :-) I'm running (4) One Terrebyte SATA DRIVES and this box rocks. For Pro Tools, this box works great. It's not very loud as far as the fan goes....I can live with it right on the desk top. Most of my work is editing & mixing. If I need to record, I'd Just use a long thunderbolt cable and stick the box in the closet. But honestly, the noise is a non issue IMO.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC ThunderBay 4, four-bay drive enclosure with dual Thunderbolt 2 ports, RAID-ready w/cable.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Twin Cities, MN Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Outstanding October 24, 2015 This package holds four out of five external drives (the fifth is for Time Machine) and has done outstanding work. (I just wish there might be something visible to tell me what's going on when one or another drive starts spinning around even though I haven't sent a direct command to it.) There have been other reviewers who have said it's noisy. Well, they either improved the fan design or product or those other folks were overly sensitive: it isn't particularly noisy, in my opinion. I love the thing.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from (*) OWC ThunderBay IV, four-bay drive enclosure with dual Thunderbolt ports, RAID-ready Enclosure.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Gothenburg, Sweden Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Works like a charm October 16, 2015 Got this a month ago to replace the drive bays when switching to new Mac Pro. I wanted to just plug and play my Mac formatted drives, worked great. Operation is flawless. Sleep when computer sleeps is great.

The only stupid thing is the lock and key. The key is bound to break or get lost ...

Shipping was super super fast, I ordered Tuesday and by Thursday I had it up and running in my office - in Sweden!!!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC ThunderBay 4, four-bay drive enclosure with dual Thunderbolt 2 ports, RAID-ready w/cable.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Singapore Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Works great August 15, 2015 I bought this to house the hard drives that used to be internal to my 2008 Mac Pro. It was easy to set up and works great. It's also fast over the Thunderbolt 2 connection to my new Mac than it was internally on the old one, which was limited to SATA 2 compatibility. The only con I'd note is that the fan is a bit noisy relative to the rest of my setup but that's it. The product is great value and well built.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC ThunderBay 4, four-bay drive enclosure with dual Thunderbolt 2 ports, RAID-ready w/cable.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Greenville, S.C. Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Hobbiest Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Works Great July 30, 2015 I had to upgrade to the new Mac Pro (late 2013) and needed bays for three internal drives from my old Mac Pro. I It was worked well. Setting it up and installing the hard drives was a no brain er. It is very quiet. The price was reasonable.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC ThunderBay 4, four-bay drive enclosure with dual Thunderbolt 2 ports, RAID-ready w/cable.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Toronto, Canada Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Solid, simple, quiet, works flawlessly! July 5, 2015 Shipping was super-fast -- even to Canada! I was pleasantly surprised at the build quality -- this thing is military-grade tough. Installing my own drives into the Thunderbay's "sleds" was quick and easy with the supplied installation and operation manual. Best of all, everything works perfectly, just the way it did when these drives lived in my old MacPro. The drives sleep when not needed, and spin up when necessary, all controlled by my new MacMini, and all automatically. I re-formatted one of the four drives and am using it as my TimeMachine backup. As the drives need to be replaced, it's a simple matter of swapping out the old ones for new ones. This is my first OWC product, but I would certainly not hesitate to try others based on my experience. Highly recommended.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC ThunderBay 4, four-bay drive enclosure with dual Thunderbolt 2 ports, RAID-ready w/cable.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: island Age: 55-65 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 4/5 Thunderbay 4 June 28, 2015 Nice product. Fast & simple to set up.

One peeve, you cannot see the drives's led activity. Way too weak. In some cases it does not matter, but in others it's useful.

This review is from OWC ThunderBay 4, four-bay drive enclosure with dual Thunderbolt 2 ports, RAID-ready w/cable.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Chicagoland Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 Excellent Drive for Video Editing June 22, 2015 When we first got our MacPro 2013, we had a lot of difficulty with the hardware. We were using our existing OWC FW800 RAID Drives, high end footage, Mavericks and the new PPCC. One by one we made adjustments -- Apple upgraded Mavericks several times, CC went from CC to CC2014 almost overnight, but we still had some quirky restarts, crashes and things just didn't work right. Then we purchased this drive, got rid of the Thunderbolt to FW800 adapter and everything has been smooth as silk -- so far. We have loaded this up several times to near capacity and it runs flawlessly. We have since purchased the 20TB model because this 12TB has worked out so well. It is quiet, it spins down when not needed, and it has a very tough build. I have shipped it across country several times with no issues. Thoroughly satisfied user.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 12.0TB OWC ThunderBay 4, four-drive HDD with dual Thunderbolt 2 ports, RAID-ready JBOD Solution.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: CT Age: Over 65 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Expands the capability of iMac 5K June 21, 2015 Given the limited hardware that will fit in to a modern iMac, this TBolt connected external drive bay let me install both traditional HDD AND SSD drives with the high TBolt throughput. In addition TBolt passes the proper data to allow a third party TRIM program work with the external SSD.. Great addition to my new system.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC ThunderBay 4, four-bay drive enclosure with dual Thunderbolt 2 ports, RAID-ready w/cable.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Canada Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 A must if you own the latest Mac Pro May 12, 2015 A necessary addition to the late 2013 Mac Pro. It was nice to transfer the four disks that resided inside my earlier Mac Pro without any other intervention. The TB interface made me forget that they were not internal anymore. The only thing that could have made this quicker would have been a switch to SSD. Well-built all metal enclosure. The unit is always on, 24/7, yet remains cool and is easy to clean up if the dust starts collecting inside. Tried to find a con and the closest thing I could think of was the form factor: I would have preferred a lower profile but that's just me. My impression, after 6 months without a glitch, is that we have another great OWC winner here: not cheap but well-priced, simple to set-up and reliable. Now, if only they made a replacement for the Apple TB monitor...

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC ThunderBay 4, four-bay drive enclosure with dual Thunderbolt 2 ports, RAID-ready w/cable.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 5-6 months
Rating: 5/5 Outstanding Product May 4, 2015 I moved up to a 27inch iMac 5k from a 2008 MacPro. I had four drives in the MacPro and wanted to keep them to use with the new iMac. I chose the OWC ThunderBay 4. I am so pleased that I chose this housing! I use these drives just the way I did with my old tower. It is quiet and very easy to swap drives if I need to. What a great product. Thanks.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC ThunderBay 4, four-bay drive enclosure with dual Thunderbolt 2 ports, RAID-ready w/cable.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Inman, SC Age: Over 65 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Excellent product April 6, 2015 The quality of this product is outstanding. I cannot think of any con. Always glad to do business with OWC. They are first-rate!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC ThunderBay 4, four-bay drive enclosure with dual Thunderbolt 2 ports, RAID-ready w/cable.

Verified Buyer Top 250 Contributor
Reviewer: Valobal Location: Mexico DF Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Great RAID for New MacPros April 2, 2015 It was easy to setup with 4 drives inside, Plus I purchased a SoftRAID monitor software to complete this solution, and works great. I recommend to manage and work with huge files transfers like videos and workflows in postproduction. Another comment about this purchase with OWC, is about faster delivery to my country. It takes about 2 days on International delivey! Thanks!!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC ThunderBay 4, four-bay drive enclosure with dual Thunderbolt 2 ports, RAID-ready w/cable.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Dallas, TX Age: 55-65 Owned Product: 3-4 months
Rating: 5/5 Incredible speed and reliability. March 31, 2015 Purchased the unit for Time Machine and extra storage on a single, high data volume MacBook Pro Retina. Installed quickly and flawlessly and performs beyond our expectations. We would definitely recommend this device for anyone needing a high capacity ThunderBolt 2 drive system,.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC ThunderBay 4, four-bay drive enclosure with dual Thunderbolt 2 ports, RAID-ready w/cable.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Chestnut Ridge, NY Age: 55-65 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Working better than DataTale Smart Thunderbolt March 23, 2015 On a MacPro (late 2013) I had a DataTale Smart Thunderbolt 4 bay enclosure. It is designed to do the same thing as OWC ThunderBay 4. I consistently had problems with the DataTale enclosure. Errors included some or all of the disks dropping out of ready or troubles booting with the DataTale connected.

I purchased the OWC ThunderBay 4 and have been using it for about 6 weeks with no issues (instead of almost daily issues with the DataTale Smart Thunderbolt 4 bay enclosure).

It was also much easier to insert drives into the OWC ThunderBay 4.

The only design change I would make would be to eliminate the key / lock.

I'm happy! A great device.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC ThunderBay 4, four-bay drive enclosure with dual Thunderbolt 2 ports, RAID-ready w/cable.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Hannibal, Missouri Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Fantastic March 7, 2015 I can think of only one word 'Fantastic' to describe this product. Quiet and Fast.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC ThunderBay 4, four-bay drive enclosure with dual Thunderbolt 2 ports, RAID-ready w/cable.

OWC 24.0TB ThunderBay 4 Mfr P/N: TB2IVT24.0S OWC SKU: OWCTB2IVT24.0S High-Performance 4-bay External Drive 3 Year OWC Limited Warranty Ships: Same Day only $1,299.99
Add to CartOther World Computing TB2IVT24.0S In Stock, Click to Buy Now
Additional Capacities: Add Your Own Drives
  • 0GB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $399.99
    • OWC Price $379.99
w/ Hard Drives
  • 4.0TB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $679.99
    • OWC Price $629.99
  • 8.0TB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $799.99
    • OWC Price $749.99
  • 12.0TB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $929.99
    • OWC Price $849.99
  • 16.0TB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $1,019.99
    • OWC Price $949.99
  • 24.0TB
  • 32.0TB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $1,779.99
    • OWC Price $1,679.99
  • 40.0TB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $2,199.99
    • OWC Price $2,099.99
  • 48.0TB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $2,899.99
    • OWC Price $2,799.99
Related Items: