Get exclusive deals delivered to your inbox!

Start saving today. »

OWC ThunderBay 4

24.0TB 4-bay external drive

Dual Thunderbolt 2 | RAID Ready | 4 Drive Bays | Mac
The Speed You Need
  • Fits both 2.5" and 3.5" drives
  • Incredible Thunderbolt 2 throughput
  • Plug and play RAID-ready
  • Up to 777MB/s read / 780MB/s write RAID 0 performance 1
Empower your creative production workflow with this super-fast, 4-Bay, RAID-ready drive with dual Thunderbolt ports. Add vast amounts of high-performance storage with ThunderBay 4. Utilize each of the four internal drives independently, or use the software RAID of your choice to setup a multi-drive array for high-performance or data-redundancy.
Edit, Experiment, Create, Design
With ThunderBay's performance capabilities you can complete projects faster, have more time to experiment, and push your creations to the next level.

Enhance editing capabilities in video apps like Apple Final Cut Pro, Adobe Premiere, and Avid Media Composer. Empower greater audio production capabilities in audio apps like Avid Pro Tools and Logic Pro X. Edit large photos in apps like Adobe Photoshop, and browse large photo libraries in apps like Apple Aperture and Adobe Lightroom. Simply put, you can do more with a ThunderBay 4 enhanced workflow, and with a RAID 5 array you get data redundancy on top of great performance!
Certified and Tested
Each ThunderBay undergoes OWC's multi-hour drive "burn-in" performance certification procedure prior to shipping. This ensures your ThunderBay arrives operating properly and ready for demanding use.
SoftRAID Lite XT for ThunderBay Included
Discover the power and performance of the SoftRAID engine, the most advanced software RAID for Mac with RAID 0 and 1.

4 drive bays plus so much more.
Time-tested Cooling Time-Tested Cooling
Built on OWC's time-tested enclosure cooling technology, ThunderBay utilizes an open "flow-thru" vented design with an oversized 92 mm, low-turbulence, noise-quieting fan to keep the drives running cool and reliably.
Multi-Drive Multi-Drive
Daisy-chain up to six ThunderBays for massive storage capabilities and increased performance, or connect multiple ThunderBays to multiple Thunderbolt 2 ports to achieve exponential speed capabilities.
Vibration Dampened Vibration Dampened
ThunderBay's drive isolating design reduces sonic resonance, and is aided by over-sized, rugged, vibration-absorbing, non-skid feet.
DisplayPort 1.2 DisplayPort 1.2 Support
Dual Thunderbolt ports let you connect the display of your choice that your computer can support, including 4K displays.
Thunderbolt Cable OWC Thunderbolt Cable
ThunderBay comes with an OWC one-meter certified Thunderbolt cable, with other lengths from 0.5 meter to 30 meters available separately.
1. Read and write speeds of sequential, incompressible data.

Includes

Gallery

Product Specifications

Chipset

  • Thunderbolt 2

Interfaces Supported

  • Thunderbolt 2

JBOD / RAID Support

  • JBOD: Utilize each of the four drives independently
  • RAID: Use any Software RAID of your choice to setup the ThunderBay 4 for multi-drive performance or data redundancy.

Standard Mechanism

  • 6.0TB Toshiba MD04ACA600 Specifications:

    Specifications

    Form Factor
    3.5″ HDD
    Interface
    SATA 6.0Gb/s
    Capacity1
    6.0TB
    Formatted Capacity2
    5580GiB
    Rotational Speed
    7,200 RPM
    Cache / Data Buffer
    128MB
    Manufacturer Model Number
    MD04ACA600
    Format

    Physical

    Height (max)
    26.1mm (1.027″)
    Width (max)
    101.6mm (4.0″)
    Length (max)
    147mm (5.787″)
    Weight (typical)
    720g (1.587 lbs.)
    Bytes per Sector
    512 / 4096

    Reliability3

    MTBF (Mean Time Between Failures)
    1,400,000 hours
    Load/Unload
    600,000 times
    Warranty
    2 Year Toshiba Limited Warranty

    Performance

    Transfer Rate (Max)
    6.0Gb/s
    Average Seek Time
    8.5ms
    Average Latency
    4.17ms

    Power

    Read Power
    11.3 Watts
    Write Power
    11.3 Watts
    Idle Mode
    6.0 Watts

    Environmental (Operating)

    Shock
    70 G max at 2ms
    Ambient Temperature (°F)
    32°F to 140°F
    Ambient Temperature (°C)
    0°C to 60°C
    Vibration
    0.75 G (5 to 500 Hz)
    Relative Humidity (non-condensing)
    8% to 90%
    Altitude
    -304.8 m to 3,048 m (-1,000 ft to 10,000+ ft)

    Environmental (Non-Operating)

    Shock
    300 G max at 1ms
    Ambient Temperature (°F)
    -40°F to 158°F
    Ambient Temperature (°C)
    -40°C to 70°C
    Vibration
    1.04 G (5 to 500 Hz)
    Relative Humidity (non-condensing)
    5% to 95%
    Altitude
    -304.8 m to 12,192 m (-1000 ft to 40,000+ ft)

    Acoustics

    Idle (Typical)
    3.1 bels
    1. 1GB = 1,000,000,000 bytes. Total accessible capacity varies depending upon operating environment (typically 5-10% less). The actual total capacity will depend on your own defined file settings/preferences.
    2. In terms of standard gigabytes, 1GiB ≈ 1.074GB and refers to the actual formatted capacity of shown under Mac OS 10.5 or earlier and Microsoft Windows OS.
    3. Specific application environments such as temperature and duty cycle will affect the overall reliability rates.
    4 x 6.0TB* Toshiba MD04ACA Hard Disk Drives**
    • *1GB = 1,000,000,000 bytes. Total accessible capacity varies depending upon operating environment (typically 5-10% less). The actual total capacity will depend on your own defined file settings/preferences.

      **OWC reserves the right to replace or upgrade to equivalent or better components.

Drive Rotation Speed

  • 7200 RPM

Drive Cache Size

  • 128MB per drive, 512MB total for the solution

Port Configuration

  • Thunderbolt – (2) Thunderbolt 2 ports

Max Data Transfer Rate

  • Thunderbolt 2 – 20Gb/sec

Port/Interface Bootability

  • It can be used as a Thunderbolt startup drive on Macs running Mac OS X.

System Requirements

  • Any Mac with a Thunderbolt port running OS X 10.9 or later.
  • Any PC running Windows 7 Service Pack 1 or later with a Thunderbolt port. Driver required for proper installation. (3.3 MB ZIP)
  • Boot Camp is not supported. The Thunderbolt certification process does not include Macs running Windows through Boot Camp.

Power Supply

  • Internal UL Listed U.S./International Auto Switching 100 ~ 240v, 50/60Hz input, 12 Volt 16.66 Amp output Power Supply (power cords for International use sold separately).

External Case Dimensions

  • 9.65″(D) x 5.31″(W) x 6.96″(H)
  • 245.11mm x 134.87mm x 176.78mm

Enclosure Weight (no accessories)

  • Approximately 8.6 pounds (3.9kg)

Product Manual

Operating Environment:

Temperature

  • (operating) 5°C – 42°C (41°F – 107°F)
  • (non-operating) -40°C – 65°C (-40°F – 149°F)

Relative Humidity

  • (operating) 8% – 90% RH (Non-condensing)
  • (non-operating) 5% – 95% RH (Non-condensing)

Shock

  • 65G 2mS; (non-operating) 175G 2mS

Vibration

  • (operating) 1.0G (5 – 300Hz)
  • (non-operating) 5.0G (5 – 500Hz)

Warranty

3 Year OWC Solution Limited Warranty

The best warranty is one you never have to use, but should the need occur – OWC is proud to provide a superior level of support and warranty coverage to our customers. Even when not used, we understand the peace of mind afforded by a longer warranty period. OWC's industry leading coverage is a testament to our confidence in the reliability of the solutions that we offer. OWC solutions are engineered to demanding quality standards in order to deliver the most reliable, highest performance available on the market in each storage category.

View more information about the 3 Year OWC Solution Limited Warranty

Note: Do not disassemble or otherwise open your OWC solution prior to the conclusion of the 3 Year OWC Solution Limited Warranty period. Doing so will void the remainder of the OWC warranty.

Manufacturer provided specifications for Other World Computing p/n TB2IVT24.0S UPC#: 812437023442

Reviews

Customer Ratings

Write a Review 4.8 / 5 75 out of 79 (95%) reviewers would recommend this product
1 2 3 4
Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: England Age: 25-34 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 ordered from the UK February 23, 2015 I ordered this product from the uk and it arrived in 3 days!!

well packaged, works perfectly!

THANK YOU!!!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC ThunderBay 4, four-bay drive enclosure with dual Thunderbolt 2 ports, RAID-ready w/cable.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Great Storage Housing February 10, 2015 Moved over from a Mac Pro with four drive bays to an iMac. This enclosure was a must. So far it has been a great purchase. Easy to set up and configure; I don't even miss my internal drives

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC ThunderBay 4, four-bay drive enclosure with dual Thunderbolt 2 ports, RAID-ready w/cable.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous
Rating: 5/5 Works as advertised. Very happy customer January 27, 2015 I really love that it ThunderBolt comes out of my Mac, goes to my Thunder Bay and then passes through to my external apple monitor No problems!

This review is from OWC ThunderBay 4, four-bay drive enclosure with dual Thunderbolt 2 ports, RAID-ready w/cable.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Texas Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Ideal for use with New Mac Pro December 27, 2014 I have used the ThunderBay for about 2 months and am very pleased with it. I am currently using it as JBOD: disk A for video scratch and production; disk B for media storage; disk C for future use; and disk D for Time Machine backups. It is well designed, solidly constructed, easy to set up with my new Mac Pro, and performs very well. The owners manual is clear and well organized.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 4.0TB OWC ThunderBay 4, four-drive HDD with dual Thunderbolt 2 ports, RAID-ready Solution.

Verified Buyer Top 250 Contributor
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Oakland, CA Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 Works great December 22, 2014 I got this when I finally converted from eSata to Thunderbolt after purchasing a new iMac. It woks without a hitch. I have it set up with two 4 TB drives bonded into an 8 TB striped RAID (RAID created in Apple's Disk Utility) and a couple of external drives. I get the kind of read-write speeds I expect from a striped RAID (about 200 MB/s for large files). The only problem with this drive, and I have seen it for all multi-bay external drives is that the drives spin up sequentially. This means that if they spin down, the Finder can appear to hang as it waits for them. Also, other programs that are using the RAID need to wait for both drives to spin up in order to access it. My biggest annoyance is the key on the front. It is ugly (and perhaps risky) to have it sticking out of the front panel. But I think it is even riskier to take it out because I might lose it! OWC, consider replacing the key with a latch. I don't see what security is gained with a key, and a latch would be so much better in every other way. PS--if you are considering buying this, remember that OWC actually has a tech support department that knows their products. Not all the competitors do.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC ThunderBay 4, four-bay drive enclosure with dual Thunderbolt 2 ports, RAID-ready w/cable.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Solid product with great speed and very low noise November 3, 2014 Purchased the empty 4-drive case and populated it with 2x 3 TB Seagate drives and 2x 4 TB Seagate drives and setup 3 TB and 4 TB OS X software-mirrored volumes. The unit is connected to a 2011 iMac and is used to serve a 3 TB shared volume and a 4 TB Time Machine volume that is used for once-a-day network-based/"remote" backups of 7 complete Macs and their external drives.

I'm very sensitive to noise and had planned to place the drives well "down 'n off" the large computer desk in my office/"man cave" but actually ended up leaving the unit on my desk sitting within a few feet of my right ear ... it's really that quiet (and, yes, my hearing is good)!

I also run a popular temperature-monitoring software application and really like the fact that this unit keeps the drives very cool. During the past 7 days, the 3 TB 7200 RPM drives have peaked at 91 deg. F and the 4 TB 5600 RPM drives have peaked at 84 deg. F with the normal temperatures running at 84 deg. F and 82 deg. F, respectively. This is with an ambient/room temperature that typically ranges from 68-72 deg. F, at this time of year. By comparison, the 1 TB 7200 RPM Western Digital drive in the iMac has peaked at 111 deg. F and normally runs at about 105 deg. F (I use fan-speed controlling software to help keep the iMac running cool). All other things being equal, cooler temperatures will help increase the life of electronic components, so this is all good.

I did some initial speed testing where I "hammered" both mirrored sets and, even with the RAIDs doing their initial sync, the read/write performance was always limited by the speed of the drives, not by the interface speed ... nice.

Of course, the shipping was quick and service is excellent (had to chat about accessing the download software because of my confusion about the account info) ... but, if you've dealt with OWC for any length of time, you never fret about either of those aspects.

If this unit lasts as well as the many other OWC drive-case products I've used throughout the years, I know I'll continue to be very satisfied with this purchase for a long time. The only "problem" is that now I really want to get another one. $;-)

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC ThunderBay 4, four-bay drive enclosure with dual Thunderbolt 2 ports, RAID-ready w/cable.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Canal Winchester, Ohio Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 Great Product October 22, 2014 After a year, and hot swapping drives, everything still feels solid. Have another brand, and this outshines it 100% Why? Because it performs as it should. Running it on my iMac 27" i7 Intel. When it's time to sleep it sleeps, cannot say that of the other product. I also bought extra drive trays, and this is why I bought it. To swap out drives so I could Backup, Edit, and use them instead off waisting room on my SSD (Life cycles). No slow down when using Parallels, Final Cut Pro, or Photoshop C6. Love it!! What noise? I also love this site...I have several computer stores in the area, none of which carry what I am looking for 3/4's of the time. I stopped waisting gas and order everything from here anymore.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from (*) OWC ThunderBay IV, four-bay drive enclosure with dual Thunderbolt ports, RAID-ready Enclosure.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Orlando, FL Age: 45-54 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Very Happy So Far October 20, 2014 I've had this drive about 6 weeks and so far it has worked flawlessly. The transfer speeds are great and I am very happy with this purchase. Using it on a 6-core late 2013 Mac Pro

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 4.0TB OWC ThunderBay 4, four-drive HDD with dual Thunderbolt 2 ports, RAID-ready Solution.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Quebec, Canada Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 4/5 Powerfull but somewhat noisy October 20, 2014 Very good enclosure, Quality materials and easy to set up. Powerfull as described and I just love it for video editing.

One major problem is the noise. It's so noisy that I can't do my voice overs. I used to do my video editing and voice overs in FCPx but now I do them in Garage Band and shut down my Thunderbay. It's just too loud. Mic is a Rode Podcaster siting about one meter from the thunderbay. I would put the thunderbay further away but the thunderbolt cable is too short. Too give you an idea, I hear the fan even with my professional Sony headset. I would still recommend the Thunderbay. For the price, the performance and for the quality of the materials, I know I can't get better anywhere else

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from (*) OWC ThunderBay IV, four-bay drive enclosure with dual Thunderbolt ports, RAID-ready Enclosure.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: SF Bay Area Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Great value for a really solid, well-designed enclosure October 19, 2014 This is a well-designed, really solid piece of hardware. One addition I'd like to see is a Kensington lock adapter or similar (actually, for something as important as my HDs, I prefer full-on chains and locks, not those flimsy and easy-to-cut cord locks).

Set up was a snap. Slotting drives in doesn't take long; just screwing them into the trays and then sliding them in.

The drive is also smart enough to go into power save mode when my Mac goes to sleep. Apparently the drives are also hot-swappable, although I haven't tried.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from (*) OWC ThunderBay IV, four-bay drive enclosure with dual Thunderbolt ports, RAID-ready Enclosure.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous
Rating: 5/5 Rock Solid October 13, 2014 Have had this for about a month now - use it daily to stream music, movies, TV shows. It's fast, always works and has not had a single glitch. Highly recommended!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from (*) OWC ThunderBay IV, four-bay drive enclosure with dual Thunderbolt ports, RAID-ready Enclosure.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Boston, MA Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 3-4 months
Rating: 5/5 Great addition to Mac Pro October 10, 2014 replaced two external Firewire enclosures (total 3 bays). Faster, quieter, takes less space. All pluses. It is not cheap -- really good things rarely are.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC ThunderBay 4, four-bay drive enclosure with dual Thunderbolt 2 ports, RAID-ready w/cable.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Tenerife, Canary Islands Age: 45-54 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Excellent October 5, 2014 Looks solid as a rock, built too last!!! Works smooth, noiseless, cool, no vibrations Excellent product!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC ThunderBay 4, four-bay drive enclosure with dual Thunderbolt 2 ports, RAID-ready w/cable.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Arizona Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Beyond great. . . September 20, 2014 Holy cow is this a great product. I am using it with a 2012 Mac mini. It is quiet, reliable and fast.

It really does sleep and wake with the mini flawlessly, hasn't missed a beat yet. The drives (WD RE 4TB are definitely noisy when operating as there is really nothing between them and the outside. I especially like the internal power supply and no on/off button.

I use single drives for different categories of data (photography, movies, etc.) so a high-quality unit at a decent price without spending money on useless RAID technology works very well. I want more of these things.

A couple of niggles; Does not work with Windows, something about TB2 on TB1 port with Windows 8.1 or so I've read. Also would have been great in silver as not everybody wants or can afford a Mac Pro so the rush to black is kind of dumb. If the front opened a little easier and the drive just slid in and out of their bays like on the Mercury Rack Pros (that I hate) I would have appreciated it.

Niggles aside the ThunderBay 4 is a spectacularly great product. Way to go OWC!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC ThunderBay 4, four-bay drive enclosure with dual Thunderbolt 2 ports, RAID-ready w/cable.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Colorado Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 A great addition to the new Mac Pro September 3, 2014 I love my new Mac Pro, but it only has limited internal storage. Even at 1 Tb, the Mac Pro's internal storage is just not enough if you work with video and large photographic files. The ThunderBay IV makes adding additional storage easy, and the response times for sending and retrieving information from the drives in the ThunderBay are fast. Daisy chaining two or more ThunderBays is also easy and the downstream drives are equally as fast. I also have a 4-bay USB 3 enclosure, and the ThunderBay IV is a better solution. The only knock I have against the ThunderBay is the price, though waiting to buy a ThunderBay when it goes on sale or shows up in one of OWC's garage sales is definitely the better way to go. Buy the barebones unit and add your own drives for storage. This is a great solution for a great computer system.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from (*) OWC ThunderBay IV, four-bay drive enclosure with dual Thunderbolt ports, RAID-ready Enclosure.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Dunstable, MA Age: Over 65 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Simply awesome! September 1, 2014 This sucker rocks. I moved from a 2010 Mac Pro to a Mac mini (i wanted the Thunderbolt and USB 3). I formatted a 2.5-inch SSD and installed Mavericks on it. I wanted it to be my boot drive so I installed it in the Thunderbay 4 via the NewerTech Adaptadrive. I removed my Time Machine drive from the Mac Pro and installed that in the Thunderbay 4. Then I turned on the Thunderbay 4 and booted up the Mac mini for the first time, holding down the Option key to select the Startup Manager and selected the SSD to boot from. Then in the Startup Assistant I chose the Time Machine drive to move everything onto the boot SSD. Perfect. So I now have the Thunderbay populated with 4 drives: (1) starup SSD; (2) Time Machine 3.5" drive; (3) 3.5" data drive; (4) SSD dedicated to iPhoto. I'll be ready soon for another Thunderbay 4. The Thunderbay 4 is plugged in to the Mac mini via Thunderbolt cable and my 27-inch Apple Cinema Display LED is plugged into the Thunderbay 4. All works like a charm.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC ThunderBay 4, four-bay drive enclosure with dual Thunderbolt 2 ports, RAID-ready w/cable.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: NB, Canada Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Excellent and fast !!! August 28, 2014 The Thunderbay IV is the perfect add-on to my new Mac Pro for storage and blazingly fast with the thunderbolt connection. Easy to load the drives and quite silent. Highly recommend this time !

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from (*) OWC ThunderBay IV, four-bay drive enclosure with dual Thunderbolt ports, RAID-ready Enclosure.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: New Jersey Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Excellent drive enclosure, great customer service August 24, 2014 I was waiting for Thunderbolt 2 enclosure, looking for something of high quality and reasonably priced. Finally OWC had it available (pretty confusing, ThunderBay IV is Thunderbolt 1 and ThunderBay 4 is Thunderbolt 2 ? Are you playing with us OWC? ). The order arrived fast, I installed four 4Tb Seagate drives and SoftRAID software... alas, it did not support RAID5 that I wanted. Disappointed, I called OWC for an RMA, and received it with no hassle.

Later that night I decided to ask the SoftRAID developers; they were really helpful and offered me free beta of their newest software that supports RAID5 with ThunderBay. Well, as reluctant as I was to use beta software, I took a chance, and I must report that both ThunderBay 4 and SoftRAID 5 work and support RAID5! So I cancelled my RMA.

Since then SoftRAID v.5 has been released. I am a happy customer of both companies. Great job OWC and SoftRAID!

I would recommend (and have done so!) all three: OWC, ThunderBay 4, and SoftRAID to my friends without any reluctance.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC ThunderBay 4, four-bay drive enclosure with dual Thunderbolt 2 ports, RAID-ready w/cable.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Easy setup August 22, 2014 Migrating to new Mac Pro was effortless thanks to OWC Thunderbay. I have 4 SSD's installed, fast data transfer, bootable and quiet. Great product.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from (*) OWC ThunderBay IV, four-bay drive enclosure with dual Thunderbolt ports, RAID-ready Enclosure.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Northern California Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Elcellent July 23, 2014 I am very pleased with the ThunderBay IV enclosure. First, it was easy to install the SATA drives I needed from my old Mac Pro and some external FireWire 800 enclosures. Most multi-drive Thunderbolt enclosures, designed solely for use as a RAID, won't accept unmatched drives. The TB IV came to market just in time for me to use with a new 27" iMac. I recommend it for anyone upgrading from an old Mac Pro to a new Mac Pro or iMac. It will, of course, work with other new Macs as well. And it provides TB passthrough and sufficient power to support other devices in a chain.

Apropos of which, I am also quite happy with its performance as a Thunderbolt hub. The second Thunderbolt port is, in fact, more stable than the TB ports on my iMac when it comes to supporting FireWire drives via an Apple Thunderbolt to Firewire adaptor.

It's a valuable Otherworld practice to provide empty enclosures for the drives they sell. I particularly appreciate it in this case.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from (*) OWC ThunderBay IV, four-bay drive enclosure with dual Thunderbolt ports, RAID-ready Enclosure.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Fresno, Ca Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Fantastic Product! July 16, 2014 This enclosure is ultra fast on my MacBook Pro 11,3 I can boot into other drives and OS's now it's like I'm on my MacPro. I can't tell the difference from the thunderbolt drive and my internal SSD. I have as of yet to check my real through put, but I'm excited to see the results. The enclosure is a solid build I expect it to last for years to come.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from (*) OWC ThunderBay IV, four-bay drive enclosure with dual Thunderbolt ports, RAID-ready Enclosure.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Concord, CA and New York, NY Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Excellent; can be made very quiet July 3, 2014 Fast as expected, and excellent build quality, sharing a design with the Elite Pro Qx2 which I own at a different location. I purchased this after attempting to survey the entire market.

I use this drive as bulk storage and backup for an SSD-based Mac mini, in my study where I am very sensitive to noise. The design is both hefty and fairly open (unlike the cramped Elite Pro Dual), easing cooling demands, but any aluminum chamber like this is going to behave like a musical instrument. I have successfully applied computer dampening sheets to similar devices, but I haven't tried that with this series.

The included fan is a 92mm Zalman ZM-F2 Plus(SF), without the RC56 in-line resistor. (The unit may be providing variable voltage to the fan; I'm not sure. One could buy another fan, to obtain this resister.) This is a 2800 RPM, 55.9 CFM, 36 dB fan. I'm making fairly mild use of these drives compared to the worst-case scenario for which this unit is designed, so I'm willing to risk a lower CFM to silence this unit as far as possible. My solution, with both the Qx2 and this unit, is to remove the existing fan and mount outboard a "Nexus 80mm or 92mm Fan Slot to 120mm Fan Converter" and a quiet 120mm fan. (As builders know, larger fans do the same work with less noise.) My choice here was an 800 rpm Scythe Gentle Typhoon, 28.2 CFM, 9 dB, and a silicon 120mm fan gasket. One could be conservative here and go with a higher CFM Typhoon. Assembly is a mild puzzle; one wishes one had a small right angle philips screwdriver for the two tiny screws (circled in red) that reattach the fan plate. One can improvise with a very short philips head bit, and pliers; it may be necessary to back out the external fan screws to make room.

Drives spinning are far louder than any fan. This unit does respect disk sleep requests over Thunderbolt, as expected and desired. (It is possible to buy competing products where the hard drives never spin down, until the computer actually goes to sleep!) On a Mac, study the man page for pmset; I used "sudo pmset -a disksleep 2" to shorten the wait time till drives spin down.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from (*) OWC ThunderBay IV, four-bay drive enclosure with dual Thunderbolt ports, RAID-ready Enclosure.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Va. Beach, VA Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 3/5 Nice design, quiet, but relies on software for RAID June 9, 2014 I replaced our Mercury Elite Pro with this box because the Elite Pro drives were 4 years old and I wanted a faster interface. I prefer the hardware RAID of the Elite Pro, but would buy this drive again because of the interface. It is really quiet and fast. I'm hoping OWC puts the Hardware RAID configuration on a Thunderbolt box soon.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from (*) 12.0TB OWC ThunderBay IV, four-drive HDD with dual Thunderbolt ports, RAID-ready Solution.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: California Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Best Thunderbolt Raid Solution May 30, 2014 I am using 2 regular (mechanical) Hard drives in Raid0 with capacity of 2 times 4 TB. doubleing my readind speed ( 300 MB/sec). The other two slots I have 2 SSD drives with around 700 MB/sec read speed! So my first pair is 8TB and my second pair is 500 GB. The Raid is software raid configured on my Mac. I was waiting for this to come for over a year. I can't believe that none of the companies could do a decent one before. Pegazus has really bad reviews and you can't put your own drives ( as far as I know) what really sucks. This drive finally can do it!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from (*) OWC ThunderBay IV, four-bay drive enclosure with dual Thunderbolt ports, RAID-ready Enclosure.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Nashville, TN Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Amazing piece of gear May 29, 2014 I bought this drive bay without putting my hands on it, something I don't like to do, but I have been very pleased with the purchase. The build quality is very good and robust, and looks like it will last forever. Transfers are smoking fast and four bays give you plenty of room. Very highly recommended...!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from (*) OWC ThunderBay IV, four-bay drive enclosure with dual Thunderbolt ports, RAID-ready Enclosure.

OWC 24.0TB ThunderBay 4 Mfr P/N: TB2IVT24.0S OWC SKU: OWCTB2IVT24.0S High-Performance 4-bay External Drive 3 Year OWC Limited Warranty Ships: Same Day only $1,299.99
Add to CartOther World Computing TB2IVT24.0S In Stock, Click to Buy Now
Additional Capacities: Add Your Own Drives
  • 0GB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $399.99
    • OWC Price $379.99
w/ Hard Drives
  • 4.0TB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $679.99
    • OWC Price $629.99
  • 8.0TB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $799.99
    • OWC Price $749.99
  • 12.0TB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $929.99
    • OWC Price $849.99
  • 16.0TB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $1,019.99
    • OWC Price $949.99
  • 24.0TB
  • 32.0TB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $1,779.99
    • OWC Price $1,679.99
  • 40.0TB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $2,199.99
    • OWC Price $2,099.99
  • 48.0TB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $2,899.99
    • OWC Price $2,799.99
Related Items: