Home » External Drives & Enclosures » OWC ThunderBay 4 RAID with Thunderbolt 2

OWC Special Offer Available

$70.99 off *NOW* Get Parallels Desktop Pro Edition - Windows/Multi OS Compatibility software for Mac - Only $29.00 with select OWC SSDs, HDDs, Memory, External Storage, and Optical Drives! (Limit 3 rebates, 1 rebate per qualifying item)
Must purchase with: PPDPROSUB1Y-REB29

OWC

ThunderBay 4 - RAID 5 Edition
4.0TB 4-bay external drive

Featuring SoftRAID XT
Edit, Experiment, Create, Design
With ThunderBay's performance capabilities you can complete projects faster, have more time to experiment, and push your creations to the next level. Edit, view, stream, and produce more with ThunderBay in your 2K, 4K, and audio production workflow. Enhance editing capabilities in video apps like Apple Final Cut Pro, Adobe Premiere, and Avid Media Composer. Empower greater audio production capabilities in audio apps like Avid Pro Tools and Logic Pro X. Edit large photos in apps like Adobe Photoshop, and browse large photo libraries in apps like Apple Aperture and Adobe Lightroom. Simply put, you can do more with a ThunderBay 4 enhanced workflow, and with a RAID 5 array you get data redundancy on top of great performance!
Includes SoftRAID XT: Easy and Complete Drive Management
SoftRAID XT is the most powerful, intuitive software RAID utility on the market. Multiple RAID levels let you select the RAID level that fits you or your project’s needs best. If you need maximum volume capacity, optimum drive performance, data protection, or a combination of attributes, SoftRAID has you covered.
Packed with features like drive validation, verification and failure prediction—SoftRAID includes features you simply don’t get with hardware RAID. It’s like having a datacenter on your desktop! From home users looking to protect photos and documents to professionals needing to protect and quickly access projects, SoftRAID is the perfect solution.
  • Compatible: Works with macOS 11 Big Sur, M1 Macs and Windows 10
  • Advanced: Create RAID 0/1/4/5/1+0 (10) with Macs, RAID 0/1 with Windows machines
  • Protected: SoftRAID Monitor constantly watches your disks and alerts you if problems are detected
  • Validated: Volume validation ensures sectors can be read and parity is correct
  • Certified: Checks disks before use to ensure they are safe for data storage
  • Vigilant: Error prediction helps protect against unexpected failure
  • Universal: Move SoftRAID arrays seamlessly between Macs and PCs with built-in OWC MacDrive technology

SoftRAID provides a level of performance that you simply can’t get with hardware RAID. Learn more about the power of SoftRAID XT.
The RAID 5 Advantage
RAID 5 merges the four drives inside ThunderBay together for exponential performance gains over a single drive, the combined capacity of three of the drives, and data redundancy that allows the array to still work even if one drive were to fail!
Certified and Tested
Each ThunderBay 4 solution undergoes OWC's multi-hour drive "burn-in" performance certification procedure prior to shipping. This ensures your ThunderBay 4 arrives operating properly, ready for demanding use.
4 drive bays plus so much more. Time-tested Cooling
Built on OWC's time-tested enclosure cooling technology, ThunderBay 4 utilizes an open "flow-thru" vented design with an oversized 92 mm, low-turbulence, noise-quieting fan to keep the drives running cool and reliably.
Multi-Drive
Daisy-chain up to six ThunderBays for massive storage capabilities and increased performance, or connect multiple ThunderBays to multiple Thunderbolt 2 ports to achieve exponential speed capabilities.
Vibration Dampened
ThunderBay 4's drive isolating design reduces sonic resonance, and is aided by over-sized, rugged, vibration-absorbing, non-skid feet.
DisplayPort 1.2 Support
Dual Thunderbolt 2 ports let you connect the display of your choice that your computer can support, including 4K displays.
Backed by OWC
Should you ever have a question or troubleshooting need, you can rely on OWC's award-winning support.
Your Digital Life…Protected for FREE
Backing up and protecting your data is critically important. But all too often it’s a task that falls to the bottom of the “to do” list, and you don’t realize it until it is too late. That’s why OWC has partnered with Acronis to give you 1 full year of the #1 personal backup and antivirus software to integrate into your workflow.
Acronis Cyber Protect Home Office safeguards you from today’s data threats—from accidents to failures to attacks. With easy, intuitive backup and Ai-enhanced antimalware technology, your digital life is protected—photos, files, applications, systems, and the devices they are on.
  • Complete Backup and Fast Recovery: quickly restore your files or entire system at any time
  • Easy Disk Cloning and Full Image Backup: just two clicks to start a full disk image backup
  • Cloud, Local or Hybrid Cloud: back up locally, to the cloud, or both. It’s your choice

Learn more about Acronis Cyber Protect Home Office
  • SoftRAID XT works with macOS 10.12 or later and Windows 10. M1 Macs require macOS 11.3 or later. SoftRAID is licensed per computer.

Product Specifications

Specifications
  • Total Capacity
    • 4.0TB
  • Total Solution Cache Size
    • 256 MB
  • Standard Mechanism
    • (4) 1TB Western Digital WD Blue 7,200RPM Hard Disk Drives with 64 MB cache
    • *OWC reserves the right to replace or upgrade to equivalent or better components.
  • Display Support
    • Up to one 4K display @ 60Hz,
    • or one 4K display @ 30Hz
  • Display Support by Port
    • Mini DisplayPort 1.2: Up to 4K @ 60Hz
    • DisplayPort 1.2: Up to 4K @ 60Hz
  • Bootable
    • Independent volumes bootable in macOS
  • Hot Plug Support
    • Yes
  • Chipset
    • Thunderbolt 2: Intel Falcon Ridge
    • SATA Controller (2): ASMedia ASM-1062
  • Drive Interface
    • SATA
  • Format
  • Rotational Speed
    • 7,200RPM
  • Data Transfer Rate (Maximum)
    • Thunderbolt 2 : 20 Gb/s (or 2500 MB/s)
    • Thunderbolt : 10 Gb/s (or (1250 MB/s)
  • Plug and Play
    • Yes
RAID
  • RAID Capable
    • Yes
  • Default RAID Level
    • JBOD
  • RAID Levels Supported
    • RAID 0
    • RAID 1
    • RAID 4
    • RAID 5
    • RAID 10
    • JBOD
  • RAID Features
    • Software RAID
Reliability
  • MTBF (Mean Time Between Failures)
    • 300,000 hours
  • Contact Start Stops
    • 300,000
Compatibility
  • Mac OS Compatibility
    • Mac OS X 10.6 Snow Leopard
    • Mac OS X 10.7 Lion
    • Mac OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion
    • OS X 10.9 Mavericks
    • OS X 10.10 Yosemite
    • OS X 10.11 El Capitan
    • macOS 10.12 Sierra
    • macOS 10.13 High Sierra
    • macOS 10.14 Mojave
    • macOS 10.15 Catalina
    • macOS 11.x Big Sur
  • PC OS Compatibility
    • Windows 7 32-bit Edition
    • Windows 7 64-bit Edition
    • Windows 8 32-bit Edition
    • Windows 8 64-bit Edition
    • Windows 8.1 32-bit Edition
    • Windows 8.1 64-bit Edition
    • Windows 10 32-bit Edition
    • Windows 10 64-bit Edition
  • Other Requirements
    • SoftRAID is compatible with Windows 10, or macOS 10.12 or later. Apple Silicon M1 Macs require macOS 11.3 or later. SoftRAID is licensed per computer. Additional seats available.
  • Host Port Requirements
    • Designed for hosts with a Thunderbolt 2 port. Will work with Thunderbolt hosts at slower speeds.
  • Driver Required
    • SoftRAID Only
Power
  • Power Supply
    • Internal UL-listed universal auto-switching power supply
  • AC Input
    • 90-264V, 47-63Hz, 1.8-3.5A
  • DC Output
    • +12V, 16.67A
  • Wattage
    • 200W Watts
  • External Power Adapter
    • No
  • Power Requirements
    • None
Physical
  • Number of Bays
    • 4
  • Device Ports
    • (2) Thunderbolt 2 Ports
  • Cooling
    • (1) 92mm No cooling fan
  • Security Slot
    • Yes
  • Power Button
    • Yes
  • Power/Activity LED
    • Yes
  • Housing Color
    • Black
  • Housing Material
    • Aluminum
  • Dimensions
    • Height: 17.7 cm (7.0 in)
    • Length: 24.5 cm (9.6 in)
    • Width: 13.5 cm (5.3 in)
  • Weight
    • 3.9 kg (8.60 lbs)
Environmental
  • Ambient Temperature
    • Operating: 41°F to 107.6°F (5°C to 42°C)
    • Non-Operating: -40°F to 149°F (-40°C to 65°C)
  • Altitude
    • Operating: -304.8 m to 3,048.0 m (-1,000 ft to 10,000 ft)
    • Non-Operating: -304.8 m to 12,192.0 m (-1,000 ft to 40,000 ft)
  • Humidity
    • Operating: 8% to 90% non-condensing
    • Non-Operating: 5% to 95% non-condensing
  • Shock
    • Operating: 65 G max at 2 ms
    • Non-Operating: 175 G max at 2 ms
Manufacturer provided specifications for OWC p/n OWCTB2SRT04.0S

Gallery

Videos


This product is compatible with... Learn how to find your Mac's model ID
Mac Pro
Mac Pro
(December, 2013)
Model ID: MacPro6,1
2.7GHz 3.0GHz, 3.5GHz, 3.7GHz
iMac Intel
iMac w/Retina 5K display
(27-inch Mid 2015)
(May 2015)
Model ID: iMac15,1
3.3GHz i5, 3.5GHz i5, 4.0GHz i7
iMac Intel
iMac w/Retina 5K display
(27-inch Late 2014)
(October 2014)
Model ID: iMac15,1
3.5GHz i5, 4.0GHz i7
iMac Intel
iMac (27-inch Late 2013)
(September 2013)
Model ID: iMac14,2
3.2GHz i5, 3.4GHz i5, 3.5GHz i7
iMac Intel
iMac (27-inch Late 2012)
(October 2012)
Model ID: iMac13,2
2.9GHz i5, 3.2GHz i5, 3.4GHz i7
iMac Intel
iMac (27-inch Mid 2011)
(May 2011)
Model ID: iMac12,2
2.7GHz i5, 3.1GHz i5, 3.4GHz i7
iMac Intel
iMac (21.5-inch Mid 2014)
(June 2014)
Model ID: iMac14,4
1.4GHz i5
iMac Intel
iMac (21.5-inch Late 2013)
(September 2013)
Model ID: iMac14,3
2.9GHz i5 or 3.1GHz i7
iMac Intel
iMac (21.5-inch Late 2013)
(September 2013)
Model ID: iMac14,1
2.7GHz i5
iMac Intel
iMac (21.5-inch Early 2013)
(March 2013)
Model ID: iMac13,1
3.3GHz i3
iMac Intel
iMac (21.5-inch Late 2012)
(October 2012)
Model ID: iMac13,1
2.7GHz i5 , 2.9GHz i5, 3.1GHz i7
iMac Intel
iMac (21.5-inch Late 2011)
(August 2011)
Model ID: iMac12,1
3.1GHz i3
iMac Intel
iMac (21.5-inch Mid 2011)
(May 2011)
Model ID: iMac12,1
2.5GHz i5 , 2.7GHz i5, 2.8GHz i7
Mac mini Intel
Mac mini (Late 2014)
(October, 2014)
Model ID: Macmini7,1
1.4GHz, 2.6GHz, 2.8GHz, 3.0GHz
Mac mini Intel
Mac mini (Late 2012)
(October, 2012)
Model ID: Macmini6,1 & Macmini6,2
2.3GHz, 2.5GHz, 2.6GHz
Mac mini Intel
Mac mini (Late 2012 Server)
(October, 2012)
Model ID: Macmini6,2
2.3GHz, 2.6GHz
Mac mini Intel
Mac mini (Mid 2011)
(July, 2011)
Model ID: Macmini5,1 & Macmini5,2
2.3GHz, 2.5GHz, 2.7GHz
Mac mini Intel
Mac mini (Mid 2011 Server)
(July, 2011)
Model ID: Macmini5,3
2.0GHz
MacBook Pro Retina
MacBook Pro (15-inch Retina display Mid 2015)
(May, 2015)
Model ID: MacBookPro11,4; MacBookPro11,5
2.2GHz, 2.5GHz, 2.8GHz
MacBook Pro Retina
MacBook Pro (13-inch Retina display Early 2015)
(March, 2015)
Model ID: MacBookPro12,1
2.7GHz, 2.9GHz, 3.1GHz
MacBook Pro Retina
MacBook Pro (13-inch Retina Display 2013 - 2014)
(October, 2013 - July, 2014)
Model ID: MacBookPro11,1
2.4GHz, 2.6GHz, 2.8GHz, 2.9GHz, 3.0GHz
MacBook Pro Retina
MacBook Pro (15-inch Retina Display 2013 - 2014)
(October, 2013 - July, 2014)
Model ID: MacBookPro11,2
2.0GHz, 2.2GHz, 2.5GHz, 2.8GHz
MacBook Pro Retina
MacBook Pro (15-inch Retina Display 2013 - 2014)
(October, 2013 - July, 2014)
Model ID: MacBookPro11,3
2.3GHz, 2.5GHz, 2.6GHz, 2.8GHz
MacBook Pro Retina
MacBook Pro (15-inch Retina Display 2013)
(January, 2013)
Model ID: MacBookPro10,1
2.4GHz, 2.7GHz, 2.8GHz
MacBook Pro Retina
MacBook Pro (13-inch Retina Display 2013)
(January, 2013)
Model ID: MacBookPro10,2
2.5GHz, 2.6GHz, 2.9GHz, 3.0GHz
MacBook Pro Retina
MacBook Pro (13-inch Retina Display 2012-2013)
(October, 2012)
Model ID: MacBookPro10,2
2.5GHz, 2.9GHz
MacBook Pro Retina
MacBook Pro (15-inch Retina Display 2012)
(June, 2012)
Model ID: MacBookPro10,1
2.3GHz, 2.6GHz, 2.7GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (15-inch 2012)
(June, 2012)
Model ID: MacBookPro9,1
2.3GHz, 2.6GHz, 2.7GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (13-inch 2012)
(June, 2012)
Model ID: MacBookPro9,2
2.5GHz, 2.9GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (17-inch 2011)
(October, 2011)
Model ID: MacBookPro8,3
2.4GHz, 2.5GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (15-inch 2011)
(October, 2011)
Model ID: MacBookPro8,2
2.2GHz, 2.4GHz, 2.5GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (13-inch 2011)
(October, 2011)
Model ID: MacBookPro8,1
2.4GHz, 2.8GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (17-inch Early 2011)
(February, 2011)
Model ID: MacBookPro8,3
2.2GHz, 2.3GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (15-inch Early 2011)
(February, 2011)
Model ID: MacBookPro8,2
2.0GHz, 2.2GHz, 2.3GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (15-inch Early 2011)
(February, 2011)
Model ID: MacBookPro8,2
2.0GHz, 2.2GHz, 2.3GHz
MacBook Air
MacBook Air (13-inch Mid 2017)
(June 2017)
Model ID: MacBookAir7,2
1.8GHz i5, 2.2GHz i7
MacBook Air
MacBook Air (13-inch Early 2015)
(March 2015)
Model ID: MacBookAir7,2
1.6GHz i5, 2.2GHz i7
MacBook Air
MacBook Air (11-inch Early 2015)
(March 2015)
Model ID: MacBookAir7,1
1.6GHz i5, 2.2GHz i7
MacBook Air
MacBook Air (13-inch Mid 2013)
(June, 2013)
Model ID: MacBookAir6,2
1.3GHz, 1.7GHz
MacBook Air
MacBook Air (11-inch Mid 2013)
(June, 2013)
Model ID: MacBookAir6,1
1.3GHz, 1.7GHz
MacBook Air
MacBook Air (13-inch Mid 2012)
(June, 2012)
Model ID: MacBookAir5,2
1.8GHz, 2.0GHz
MacBook Air
MacBook Air (11-inch Mid 2012)
(June, 2012)
Model ID: MacBookAir5,1
1.7GHz, 2.0GHz
MacBook Air
MacBook Air (13-inch Mid 2011)
(July, 2011)
Model ID: MacBookAir4,2
1.7GHz, 1.8GHz
MacBook Air
MacBook Air (11-inch Mid 2011)
(July, 2011)
Model ID: MacBookAir4,1
1.6GHz, 1.8GHz

Benchmarks

Click any of the benchmarks below to view the results.
macOS RAID 0 Test Results
macOS RAID 5 Test Results
Windows RAID 0 Test Results

Includes

  • (1) OWC ThunderBay 4 High-performance 4-bay Thunderbolt™ 2 interface drive
  • (1) SoftRAID XT
  • (1) High-Quality, Certified, Double-Shielded Thunderbolt™ cable
  • (1) External UL listed 3-prong power cable
  • (2) keys for front panel lock
  • 3 Year OWC Limited Warranty

Customer Ratings

Write a Review 4.7 / 5 72 out of 76 (95%) reviewers would recommend this product
1 2 3 4
Verified Buyer
Reviewer: TimFrazier69 Location: Nashville, NC Age: 45-54 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 Best price for a super fast drive. October 24, 2016 I have been using this item for the past few months now and it has worked flawlessly and been super fast with RAID 5 configuration.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 20TB OWC ThunderBay 4, four-drive HDD with dual Thunderbolt 2 ports, RAID 5 Solution.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: WebHarmony Location: Washington, DC Age: 45-54 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Excellent Product October 17, 2016 Easy to use, works great and is fairly quiet.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC ThunderBay 4, four-bay drive enclosure with dual Thunderbolt 2 ports, RAID 5 Solution.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: CurtD Location: Washington, Missouri Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 Even Better September 29, 2016 Even better than this enclosure, is this enclosure pre-loaded with drives! Even better than that is the RAID 5 performance. I now have two of these attached to my late 2013 Mac Pro (trash can mac), via Lightning cable.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 20TB OWC ThunderBay 4, four-drive HDD with dual Thunderbolt 2 ports, RAID 5 Solution.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Damian
Rating: 5/5 Excellent piece of hardware! Fast! August 11, 2016 I've had this for about a month now and it is super fast and an excellently made piece of hardware. In RAID5 config it is almost as fast as my internal SSD drive.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 16TB OWC ThunderBay 4, four-drive HDD with dual Thunderbolt 2 ports, RAID 5 Solution.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: bkayne Location: San Francisco Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Works perfectly, easy to set up August 11, 2016 No complaints whatsoever. Nice to also be able to use the lightning port to daisy chain.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC ThunderBay 4, four-bay drive enclosure with dual Thunderbolt 2 ports, RAID 5 Solution.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Ontario NY Age: 55-65 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 5-6 months
Rating: 5/5 Fast and reliable August 1, 2016 It was time to retire my Windows Home Sever and build a proper MAC home server. I purchased a well equipped Mac mini and a 20TB raid thunderbolt unit for storage. Great combination, installation was very simple, reliability and speed have been great. Recommend A+++

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 20TB OWC ThunderBay 4, four-drive HDD with dual Thunderbolt 2 ports, RAID 5 Solution.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Wisconsin Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Looking for RAID 5 solution? Look no further July 31, 2016 I've been using this 4 bay raid enclosure for about 6 weeks now. I bought the enclosure without drives as I already had four 2TB Hitachi hard drives. Installation was quick and easy. Being it was the RAID 5 Solution, it came with SoftRAID software which is very easy to use. If you are looking for a RAID 5 solution look no furture as this is inexpensive and works splendidly.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from (*) OWC ThunderBay 4, four-bay drive enclosure with dual Thunderbolt 2 ports, RAID 5 Solution.

Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Los Angeles Age: 35-44 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 Great Solution July 10, 2016 So far, this has been the best solution to my data storage needs. I bought this unit, then found 4 5TB Drives on sale...and now have an awesome 15TB Raid 5 External Drive for about half the cost of buying a similar unit pre-configured. The RAID5 configuration slows the read and write times down a bit...but it's fast enough for my needs. In fact, I've already filled it up and need to get another one soon. :-)

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC ThunderBay 4, four-bay drive enclosure with dual Thunderbolt 2 ports, RAID 5 Solution.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Evanston, IL Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Great Storage Solution May 26, 2016 After 2 months the ThunderBay 4 works flawlessly. It has a beautiful design and contrary to other reviews I do not find it to be to loud. I purchased the enclosure and then added 4 5TB WD Black drives. Could not me happier

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC ThunderBay 4, four-bay drive enclosure with dual Thunderbolt 2 ports, RAID 5 Solution.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: New Jersey/Philadelphia Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 Working Great! May 1, 2016 As a Photo and Video Professional, this is my second ThunderBay 4. I use it for storage and have had zero problems and support when I had questions was great also.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC ThunderBay 4, four-bay drive enclosure with dual Thunderbolt 2 ports, RAID 5 Solution.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Malaysia Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 3-4 months
Rating: 5/5 A very good product from OWC April 24, 2016 Bought the drive enclosure and arrived here in 1 week. Then bought 4 units of Toshiba 5 TB hardisk from local computer shop. Installing hardisks and setup with RAID5 is fast and easy. Working great right now with my New MacPro.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC ThunderBay 4, four-bay drive enclosure with dual Thunderbolt 2 ports, RAID 5 Solution.

Verified Buyer Top 50 Contributor
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Florida Age: Over 65 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 SoftRAID 5 at a Great Price April 5, 2016 Some have said it is noisy. It is NOT. In my opinion the fan could be larger, but is keeps the unit cool and the only time I am aware there is a fan is when the unit has to be shutdown and it makes a whine as it spins down. The SoftRaid just works. I was skeptical, but not any more. The "proper" setup takes some time to verify your drives, but found a bad drive for me before I had the unit in service. I would definitely buy it again. The cherry on the top is Thunderbolt. Fast, Fast, Fast!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC ThunderBay 4, four-bay drive enclosure with dual Thunderbolt 2 ports, RAID 5 Solution.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Plainville, MA Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 I am impressed! April 2, 2016 I upgraded my Mac Pro 5,1 to a 6,1 3.5 GHz 6-Core Intel Xeon E5. My old Mac Pro had a Sapphire 7950 video card, 32gb ram and an 1TB OWC Aura PCI SSD and internally ran a 16tb 4 disk raid using Soft Raid 5,

It is always a pain to manually transfer data from one computer to a new computer but I was up for the challenge. What intrigued and surprised me the most was thinking I was going to purchase the OWC ThunderBay 4 RAID and install the 4 drives from my old Mac Pro (they are only weeks old) into the new enclosure and have to format the drives as a RAID again and then copy all my data to the new RAID. However, when I installed the drives and booted my computer it recognized the 4 disk as the raid it was in my old Mac nullifying the need to copy the data. This made me very happy! Simply installing my old RAID Disks into the enclosure and Soft raid recognized the old RAID.

I was super impressed with the performance compared to the performance I got in old Mac Pro with the same drives and driver. The read write speeds are incredible. I don't have numbers to show, only that it was very noticeable in my everyday usage. In the future I will purchase another one of these drive enclosures.

BTW: MacSales/OWC has been my go to company for a few years now and they are the best. Support is wonderful and their products are very reliable. I have no problem buying new technologies from OWC .

Keep up the great work....

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC ThunderBay 4, four-bay drive enclosure with dual Thunderbolt 2 ports, RAID 5 Solution.

Verified Buyer Top 250 Contributor
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Alaska Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 4/5 Great RAID Solution February 21, 2016 I'm a professional landscape photographer. If I'm not out in the field (literally) I'm immersed within Photoshop digitally processing and/or archiving photo files. Having access to a RAID system which provides both ample storage space and great speed is a must.

I highly recommend the Thunderbolt RAID systems. Overall performance is very impressive.

I was also particularly pleased that OWC made the installation/setup of this RAID system quick and easy by pre-installing each individual drive to its RAID housing unit.

The reason I do not give it 5 stars out of 5 is simply because of one factor: noise. This noise pertains directly to the RAID case – the enclosure itself. After a short period of time of use it started rattling. The rattling is not "loud," per se, but it does become quickly irritating. I have therefore ordered an extended cable and will be storing the unit as far from the computer terminal as possible. (If you press down upon the unit with a bit of force the rattling immediately stops. The case itself, therefore, needs to be redesigned to prevent this rattling.)

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 8TB OWC ThunderBay 4, four-drive HDD with dual Thunderbolt 2 ports, RAID 5 Solution.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Melbourne, Australia Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Super fast and quiet! February 16, 2016 So happy with this purchase. It's super fast, quiet and looks great my the studio!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 20TB OWC ThunderBay 4, four-drive HDD with dual Thunderbolt 2 ports, RAID 5 Solution.

Reviewer: Anonymous Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 Fast and reliable! February 13, 2016 I've been using my ThunderBay 4 for about 14 months now with four Hitachi DeskStar 4TB drives in RAID 5 for 12TB of usable drive space. It has been fast and absolutely rock solid with my 2011 MacBook Pro. No annoying random dismounts. I'm very pleased. If I had any complaints, it would be that the fan is a bit louder than I expected, and I had to buy an extra long Thunderbolt cable to be able to keep this under the guest bed on the far side of my home office so that the noise isn't distracting. Otherwise, it's very well built and has worked flawlessly for over a year. Here's to many more!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 16TB OWC ThunderBay 4, four-drive HDD with dual Thunderbolt 2 ports, RAID 5 Solution.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Dubai, UAE Age: 25-34 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Very impressed December 20, 2015 I purchased the Thunderbay 4 RAID 5 edition and i've very happy with it. I bought 4 x 5TB drives with it so in RAID 5 i have 15TB of total storage which is actually a massive amount compared to trying to work with a single internal drive. People complained about it being noisy but i don't hear much more than a light fan spinning and it doesn't bother me at all. The best part of all is that Backblaze recognises it as a drive that can form part of your backup so i still have my second level of backup (the first being the RAID) which is a relief. It's pricey, but when compared to everything else on the market it's actually very well priced. I would definitely recommend it to anyone who needs more storage space. Important to mention that i work in video and animation (Premiere and After Effects)

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC ThunderBay 4, four-bay drive enclosure with dual Thunderbolt 2 ports, RAID 5 Solution.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Sacramento, CA Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Excellent 4 Bay Option December 10, 2015 I just picked up the new iMac and that makes my eSata drive enclosure somewhat obsolete so I decided to try the ThunderBay 4 based on some folks at the MacRumors forum recommending it. I have been running the ThunderBay for 3 weeks now and it has been flawless. Fans are quiet, drives are running fast and the sleep feature when not in use is a nice bonus. Great enclosure for any Mac owner.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC ThunderBay 4, four-bay drive enclosure with dual Thunderbolt 2 ports, RAID 5 Solution.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Seattle, WA Age: 55-65 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Fast, trouble-free peace of mind December 8, 2015 I've been using my 20GB ThunderBay 4 in RAID 5 configuration for about 6 weeks now. So far it has been flawless. The SoftRAID 5 software was easy to install and configure. The fan noise is negligible, though I saw a recommended alternative fan that is supposedly quieter if noise is an issue for you - unfortunately I don't think I'm allowed to post that info here. (I have not upgraded my fan.)

The bottom line is that I am very happy with the device and would recommend it to my friends.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 20TB OWC ThunderBay 4, four-drive HDD with dual Thunderbolt 2 ports, RAID 5 Solution.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Nagoya JP Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Hobbiest Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 This is amazing fast! December 3, 2015 I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC ThunderBay 4, four-bay drive enclosure with dual Thunderbolt 2 ports, RAID 5 Solution.
Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Los Angeles Age: 25-34 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 2/5 The enclosure works but is very loud November 19, 2015 Not very happy that the enclosure is louder than my old mac tower. This should be used in machine rooms only.

This review is from OWC ThunderBay 4, four-bay drive enclosure with dual Thunderbolt 2 ports, RAID 5 Solution.

Response from OWC, Technical Support November 23, 2015 Sound level can vary depending on the drives installed. Different drives have varying decibel levels. While the enclosure itself is fan-cooled, it uses an oversized 92 mm, low-turbulence, noise-quieting fan.
Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Ventura Co. CA. Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Very Fast and Quiet November 5, 2015 Unit was already set-up in Raid 5, TB4 and hard drives were packaged very securely. I selected free shipping and expected to receive it days later, it arrived the next day, Wow! I will definitely do business again.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 12TB OWC ThunderBay 4, four-drive HDD with dual Thunderbolt 2 ports, RAID 5 Solution.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Singapore Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 4/5 Fast and reliable but a little noisy October 26, 2015 Been using this for more than a year and I am happy with its performance except that I hated the noise it creates when I am turn on my mac or when I am reading/writing it.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 16TB OWC ThunderBay 4, four-drive HDD with dual Thunderbolt 2 ports, RAID 5 Solution.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Indianapolis, IN Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Up and running in a minute October 17, 2015 Now I can quite worrying about loosing client's videos. This RAID replaces a very random JOB cart system I've used with pretty good results for years but the new Drive Genius keeps finding problems with the attached drives. I haven't lost anything but have been stressing about the possibility.

Some people claim it is noisy but I expected some fan noise to keep 4 dives spinning and cool. Certainly not bothersome and isn't too loud for good video editing.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 12TB OWC ThunderBay 4, four-drive HDD with dual Thunderbolt 2 ports, RAID 5 Solution.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Dallas, Texas Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 4/5 The backup that I needed. October 15, 2015 As an experienced professional photographer with many TB of crucial data, I have tried numerous storage options over the years. The ThunderBay 4 is the best that I've used as it is both quick and quiet. There is some minimal fan noise, but it's quieter than my previous multi-bay storage unit, and the Thunderbolt connection is, in practice, two or three times as fast as that of my older eSATA 3 box. Best of all, this unit is a third of the size and has twice the storage capacity of it's predecessor at about a third of the price. Isn't technology grand?!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 20TB OWC ThunderBay 4, four-drive HDD with dual Thunderbolt 2 ports, RAID 5 Solution.

OWC ThunderBay 4 - RAID 5 Edition 4.0TB 4-bay external drive Mfr P/N: TB2SRT04.0S OWC SKU: OWCTB2SRT04.0S Powered by SoftRAID. 1 meter certified Thunderbolt cable included 3 Year OWC Limited Warranty Ships: Same Day only $669.00
Add to CartOther World Computing TB2SRT04.0S In Stock, Click to Buy Now
Additional Capacities & Kits: DIY Enclosure
  • 0TB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $379.99
    • OWC Price $319.00
DIY Enclosure with SoftRAID XT
  • 0TB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $499.99
    • Cyber Saver $419.00
Enterprise Hard Drive Models with SoftRAID XT
  • 16TB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $1,199.95
    • OWC Price $1,149.95
  • 24TB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • OWC Price $1,499.00
  • 32TB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • OWC Price $1,679.00
  • 48TB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • OWC Price $2,199.00
  • 56TB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • OWC Price $2,349.00
  • 64TB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • OWC Price $2,799.00
  • 72TB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • OWC Price $3,099.00
Hard Drive Models with SoftRAID XT
  • 4TB
  • 8TB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $819.99
    • OWC Price $769.00
  • 16TB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Cyber Saver $999.00
  • 24TB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • OWC Price $1,269.00
  • 32TB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • OWC Price $1,479.00
  • 48TB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • OWC Price $1,979.00
  • 56TB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • OWC Price $2,079.00
  • 64TB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • OWC Price $2,579.00
  • 72TB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • OWC Price $2,779.00