Home » External Drives and Enclosures » OWC ThunderBay 4 RAID with Thunderbolt 2

OWC Special Offer Available

$70.99 off *NOW* Get Parallels Desktop Pro Edition - Windows/Multi OS Compatibility software for Mac - Only $29.00 with select OWC SSDs, HDDs, Memory, External Storage, and Optical Drives! (Limit 3 rebates, 1 rebate per qualifying item)
Must purchase with: PPDPROSUB1Y-REB29

OWC

ThunderBay 4 - RAID 5 Edition
8.0TB 4-bay external drive

Featuring SoftRAID XT
Edit, Experiment, Create, Design
With ThunderBay's performance capabilities you can complete projects faster, have more time to experiment, and push your creations to the next level. Edit, view, stream, and produce more with ThunderBay in your 2K, 4K, and audio production workflow. Enhance editing capabilities in video apps like Apple Final Cut Pro, Adobe Premiere, and Avid Media Composer. Empower greater audio production capabilities in audio apps like Avid Pro Tools and Logic Pro X. Edit large photos in apps like Adobe Photoshop, and browse large photo libraries in apps like Apple Aperture and Adobe Lightroom. Simply put, you can do more with a ThunderBay 4 enhanced workflow, and with a RAID 5 array you get data redundancy on top of great performance!
Includes SoftRAID XT: Easy and Complete Drive Management
SoftRAID XT is the most powerful, intuitive software RAID utility on the market. Multiple RAID levels let you select the RAID level that fits you or your project’s needs best. If you need maximum volume capacity, optimum drive performance, data protection, or a combination of attributes, SoftRAID has you covered.
Packed with features like drive validation, verification and failure prediction—SoftRAID includes features you simply don’t get with hardware RAID. It’s like having a datacenter on your desktop! From home users looking to protect photos and documents to professionals needing to protect and quickly access projects, SoftRAID is the perfect solution.
  • Compatible: Works with macOS 11 Big Sur, M1 Macs and Windows 10
  • Advanced: Create RAID 0/1/4/5/1+0 (10) with Macs, RAID 0/1 with Windows machines
  • Protected: SoftRAID Monitor constantly watches your disks and alerts you if problems are detected
  • Validated: Volume validation ensures sectors can be read and parity is correct
  • Certified: Checks disks before use to ensure they are safe for data storage
  • Vigilant: Error prediction helps protect against unexpected failure
  • Universal: Move SoftRAID arrays seamlessly between Macs and PCs with built-in OWC MacDrive technology

SoftRAID provides a level of performance that you simply can’t get with hardware RAID. Learn more about the power of SoftRAID XT.
The RAID 5 Advantage
RAID 5 merges the four drives inside ThunderBay together for exponential performance gains over a single drive, the combined capacity of three of the drives, and data redundancy that allows the array to still work even if one drive were to fail!
Certified and Tested
Each ThunderBay 4 solution undergoes OWC's multi-hour drive "burn-in" performance certification procedure prior to shipping. This ensures your ThunderBay 4 arrives operating properly, ready for demanding use.
4 drive bays plus so much more. Time-tested Cooling
Built on OWC's time-tested enclosure cooling technology, ThunderBay 4 utilizes an open "flow-thru" vented design with an oversized 92 mm, low-turbulence, noise-quieting fan to keep the drives running cool and reliably.
Multi-Drive
Daisy-chain up to six ThunderBays for massive storage capabilities and increased performance, or connect multiple ThunderBays to multiple Thunderbolt 2 ports to achieve exponential speed capabilities.
Vibration Dampened
ThunderBay 4's drive isolating design reduces sonic resonance, and is aided by over-sized, rugged, vibration-absorbing, non-skid feet.
DisplayPort 1.2 Support
Dual Thunderbolt 2 ports let you connect the display of your choice that your computer can support, including 4K displays.
Backed by OWC
Should you ever have a question or troubleshooting need, you can rely on OWC's award-winning support.
Your Digital Life…Protected for FREE
Your data is irreplaceable, and we take protecting it seriously. That’s why this OWC Solution includes Acronis True Image OEM — the world’s only combination backup and antimalware solution that keeps your data protected from accidents, failures, and malware/ransomware attacks.
  • Easy: Protect everything – photos, files, applications, systems, and the devices they’re on in just a few clicks
  • Efficient: create “set and forget” backups to recover and restore files and folders
  • Secure: Stop ransomware and cryptojacking attacks from harming your device data and backup

Learn more about Acronis True Image OEM
  • SoftRAID XT works with macOS 10.12 or later and Windows 10. Intel-based Macs require macOS 10.12 or later. M1 Macs require macOS 11.1 or 11.3 and later. macOS 11.3 is currently available as a public beta. SoftRAID is licensed per computer. The SoftRAID serial number will work with both Mac and Windows but can only be active on one computer at a time. Additional seats can be purchased. RAID 4/5/1+0 (10) are currently Mac only at this time.

Product Specifications

Specifications
  • Total Storage Capacity
    • 8.0TB
  • Total Solution Cache Size
    • 1024 MB
  • Standard Mechanism
    • (4) 2TB Seagate BarraCuda 7,200RPM Hard Disk Drives with 256 MB cache
    • *1GB = 1,000,000,000 bytes. Total accessible capacity varies depending upon operating environment (typically 5-10% less). The actual total capacity will depend on your own defined file settings/preferences.
    • **OWC reserves the right to replace or upgrade to equivalent or better components.
  • Display Support
    • Up to one 4K display @ 60Hz,
    • or one 4K display @ 30Hz
  • Display Support by Port
    • Mini DisplayPort 1.2: Up to 4K @ 60Hz
    • DisplayPort 1.2: Up to 4K @ 60Hz
  • Bootable
    • Independent volumes bootable in macOS
  • Hot Plug Support
    • Yes
  • Chipset
    • Thunderbolt 2: Intel Falcon Ridge
    • SATA Controller (2): ASMedia ASM-1062
  • Drive Interface
    • SATA
  • Format
  • Rotational Speed
    • 7,200RPM
  • Data Transfer Rate (Maximum)
    • Thunderbolt 2 : 20 Gb/s (or 2500 MB/s)
    • Thunderbolt : 10 Gb/s (or (1250 MB/s)
  • Plug and Play
    • Yes
RAID
  • RAID Capable
    • Yes
  • Default Raid Level
    • JBOD
  • RAID Levels Supported
    • RAID 0
    • RAID 1
    • RAID 4
    • RAID 5
    • RAID 10
    • JBOD
  • RAID Features
    • Software RAID
Reliability
  • MTBF (Mean Time Between Failures)
    • 300,000 hours
  • Contact Start Stops
    • 300,000
Compatibility
  • Mac OS Compatibility
    • Mac OS X 10.6 Snow Leopard
    • Mac OS X 10.7 Lion
    • Mac OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion
    • OS X 10.9 Mavericks
    • OS X 10.10 Yosemite
    • OS X 10.11 El Capitan
    • macOS 10.12 Sierra
    • macOS 10.13 High Sierra
    • macOS 10.14 Mojave
    • macOS 10.15 Catalina
    • macOS 11.0 Big Sur
  • PC OS Compatibility
    • Windows 7 32-bit Edition
    • Windows 7 64-bit Edition
    • Windows 8 32-bit Edition
    • Windows 8 64-bit Edition
    • Windows 8.1 32-bit Edition
    • Windows 8.1 64-bit Edition
    • Windows 10 32-bit Edition
    • Windows 10 64-bit Edition
  • Other Requirements
    • SoftRAID XT works with macOS 10.12 or later and Windows 10. Intel-based Macs require macOS 10.12 or later. M1 Macs require macOS 11.1 or 11.3 and later. macOS 11.3 is currently available as a public beta. SoftRAID is licensed per computer. The SoftRAID serial number will work with both Mac and Windows but can only be active on one computer at a time. Additional seats can be purchased. RAID 4/5/1+0 (10) are currently Mac only at this time. PCs running Windows 7 Service Pack 1 or later with a Thunderbolt port. Driver required for proper installation.
  • Host Port Requirements
    • Designed for hosts with a Thunderbolt 2 port. Will work with Thunderbolt hosts at slower speeds.
  • Driver Required
    • SoftRAID Only
Power
  • Power Supply
    • Internal UL-listed universal auto-switching power supply
  • AC Input
    • 90-264V, 47-63Hz, 1.8-3.5A
  • DC Output
    • +12V, 16.67A
  • Wattage
    • 200W Watts
  • External Power Adapter
    • No
  • Power Requirements
    • None
Physical
  • Number of Bays
    • 4
  • Device Ports
    • (2) Thunderbolt 2 Ports
  • Cooling
    • (1) 92mm No cooling fan
  • Security Slot
    • Yes
  • Power Button
    • Yes
  • Power/Activity LED
    • Yes
  • Housing Color
    • Black
  • Housing Material
    • Aluminum
  • Dimensions
    • Height: 17.7 cm (7.0 in)
    • Length: 24.5 cm (9.6 in)
    • Width: 13.5 cm (5.3 in)
  • Weight
    • 3.9 kg (8.60 lbs)
Environmental
  • Ambient Temperature
    • Operating: 41°F to 107.6°F (5°C to 42°C)
    • Non-Operating: -40°F to 149°F (-40°C to 65°C)
  • Altitude
    • Operating: -304.8 m to 3,048.0 m (-1,000 ft to 10,000 ft)
    • Non-Operating: -304.8 m to 12,192.0 m (-1,000 ft to 40,000 ft)
  • Humidity
    • Operating: 8% to 90% non-condensing
    • Non-Operating: 5% to 95% non-condensing
  • Shock
    • Operating: 65 G max at 2 ms
    • Non-Operating: 175 G max at 2 ms
Manufacturer provided specifications for OWC p/n OWCTB2SRT08.0S

Gallery

Videos


This product is compatible with... Learn how to find your Mac's model ID
Mac Pro
Mac Pro
(December, 2013)
Model ID: MacPro6,1
2.7GHz 3.0GHz, 3.5GHz, 3.7GHz
iMac Intel
iMac w/Retina 5K display
(27-inch Mid 2015)
(May 2015)
Model ID: iMac15,1
3.3GHz i5, 3.5GHz i5, 4.0GHz i7
iMac Intel
iMac w/Retina 5K display
(27-inch Late 2014)
(October 2014)
Model ID: iMac15,1
3.5GHz i5, 4.0GHz i7
iMac Intel
iMac (27-inch Late 2013)
(September 2013)
Model ID: iMac14,2
3.2GHz i5, 3.4GHz i5, 3.5GHz i7
iMac Intel
iMac (27-inch Late 2012)
(October 2012)
Model ID: iMac13,2
2.9GHz i5, 3.2GHz i5, 3.4GHz i7
iMac Intel
iMac (27-inch Mid 2011)
(May 2011)
Model ID: iMac12,2
2.7GHz i5, 3.1GHz i5, 3.4GHz i7
iMac Intel
iMac (21.5-inch Mid 2014)
(June 2014)
Model ID: iMac14,4
1.4GHz i5
iMac Intel
iMac (21.5-inch Late 2013)
(September 2013)
Model ID: iMac14,3
2.9GHz i5 or 3.1GHz i7
iMac Intel
iMac (21.5-inch Late 2013)
(September 2013)
Model ID: iMac14,1
2.7GHz i5
iMac Intel
iMac (21.5-inch Early 2013)
(March 2013)
Model ID: iMac13,1
3.3GHz i3
iMac Intel
iMac (21.5-inch Late 2012)
(October 2012)
Model ID: iMac13,1
2.7GHz i5 , 2.9GHz i5, 3.1GHz i7
iMac Intel
iMac (21.5-inch Late 2011)
(August 2011)
Model ID: iMac12,1
3.1GHz i3
iMac Intel
iMac (21.5-inch Mid 2011)
(May 2011)
Model ID: iMac12,1
2.5GHz i5 , 2.7GHz i5, 2.8GHz i7
Mac mini Intel
Mac mini (Late 2014)
(October, 2014)
Model ID: Macmini7,1
1.4GHz, 2.6GHz, 2.8GHz, 3.0GHz
Mac mini Intel
Mac mini (Late 2012)
(October, 2012)
Model ID: Macmini6,1 & Macmini6,2
2.3GHz, 2.5GHz, 2.6GHz
Mac mini Intel
Mac mini (Late 2012 Server)
(October, 2012)
Model ID: Macmini6,2
2.3GHz, 2.6GHz
Mac mini Intel
Mac mini (Mid 2011)
(July, 2011)
Model ID: Macmini5,1 & Macmini5,2
2.3GHz, 2.5GHz, 2.7GHz
Mac mini Intel
Mac mini (Mid 2011 Server)
(July, 2011)
Model ID: Macmini5,3
2.0GHz
MacBook Pro Retina
MacBook Pro (15-inch Retina display Mid 2015)
(May, 2015)
Model ID: MacBookPro11,4; MacBookPro11,5
2.2GHz, 2.5GHz, 2.8GHz
MacBook Pro Retina
MacBook Pro (13-inch Retina display Early 2015)
(March, 2015)
Model ID: MacBookPro12,1
2.7GHz, 2.9GHz, 3.1GHz
MacBook Pro Retina
MacBook Pro (13-inch Retina Display 2013 - 2014)
(October, 2013 - July, 2014)
Model ID: MacBookPro11,1
2.4GHz, 2.6GHz, 2.8GHz, 2.9GHz, 3.0GHz
MacBook Pro Retina
MacBook Pro (15-inch Retina Display 2013 - 2014)
(October, 2013 - July, 2014)
Model ID: MacBookPro11,2
2.0GHz, 2.2GHz, 2.5GHz, 2.8GHz
MacBook Pro Retina
MacBook Pro (15-inch Retina Display 2013 - 2014)
(October, 2013 - July, 2014)
Model ID: MacBookPro11,3
2.3GHz, 2.5GHz, 2.6GHz, 2.8GHz
MacBook Pro Retina
MacBook Pro (15-inch Retina Display 2013)
(January, 2013)
Model ID: MacBookPro10,1
2.4GHz, 2.7GHz, 2.8GHz
MacBook Pro Retina
MacBook Pro (13-inch Retina Display 2013)
(January, 2013)
Model ID: MacBookPro10,2
2.5GHz, 2.6GHz, 2.9GHz, 3.0GHz
MacBook Pro Retina
MacBook Pro (13-inch Retina Display 2012-2013)
(October, 2012)
Model ID: MacBookPro10,2
2.5GHz, 2.9GHz
MacBook Pro Retina
MacBook Pro (15-inch Retina Display 2012)
(June, 2012)
Model ID: MacBookPro10,1
2.3GHz, 2.6GHz, 2.7GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (15-inch 2012)
(June, 2012)
Model ID: MacBookPro9,1
2.3GHz, 2.6GHz, 2.7GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (13-inch 2012)
(June, 2012)
Model ID: MacBookPro9,2
2.5GHz, 2.9GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (17-inch 2011)
(October, 2011)
Model ID: MacBookPro8,3
2.4GHz, 2.5GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (15-inch 2011)
(October, 2011)
Model ID: MacBookPro8,2
2.2GHz, 2.4GHz, 2.5GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (13-inch 2011)
(October, 2011)
Model ID: MacBookPro8,1
2.4GHz, 2.8GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (17-inch Early 2011)
(February, 2011)
Model ID: MacBookPro8,3
2.2GHz, 2.3GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (15-inch Early 2011)
(February, 2011)
Model ID: MacBookPro8,2
2.0GHz, 2.2GHz, 2.3GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (15-inch Early 2011)
(February, 2011)
Model ID: MacBookPro8,2
2.0GHz, 2.2GHz, 2.3GHz
MacBook Air
MacBook Air (13-inch Mid 2017)
(June 2017)
Model ID: MacBookAir7,2
1.8GHz i5, 2.2GHz i7
MacBook Air
MacBook Air (13-inch Early 2015)
(March 2015)
Model ID: MacBookAir7,2
1.6GHz i5, 2.2GHz i7
MacBook Air
MacBook Air (11-inch Early 2015)
(March 2015)
Model ID: MacBookAir7,1
1.6GHz i5, 2.2GHz i7
MacBook Air
MacBook Air (13-inch Mid 2013)
(June, 2013)
Model ID: MacBookAir6,2
1.3GHz, 1.7GHz
MacBook Air
MacBook Air (11-inch Mid 2013)
(June, 2013)
Model ID: MacBookAir6,1
1.3GHz, 1.7GHz
MacBook Air
MacBook Air (13-inch Mid 2012)
(June, 2012)
Model ID: MacBookAir5,2
1.8GHz, 2.0GHz
MacBook Air
MacBook Air (11-inch Mid 2012)
(June, 2012)
Model ID: MacBookAir5,1
1.7GHz, 2.0GHz
MacBook Air
MacBook Air (13-inch Mid 2011)
(July, 2011)
Model ID: MacBookAir4,2
1.7GHz, 1.8GHz
MacBook Air
MacBook Air (11-inch Mid 2011)
(July, 2011)
Model ID: MacBookAir4,1
1.6GHz, 1.8GHz

Benchmarks

Click any of the benchmarks below to view the results.
macOS RAID 0 Test Results
macOS RAID 5 Test Results
Windows RAID 0 Test Results

Includes

  • (1) OWC ThunderBay 4 High-performance 4-bay Thunderbolt™ 2 interface drive
  • (1) SoftRAID 5 for ThunderBay
  • (1) High-Quality, Certified, Double-Shielded 1-Meter Thunderbolt™ cable
  • (1) External UL listed 3-prong power cable
  • (2) keys for front panel lock
  • 60 Day OWC Limited Warranty

Customer Ratings

Write a Review 4.7 / 5 65 out of 68 (96%) reviewers would recommend this product
1 2 3
Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Bull Valley, IL Age: 35-44 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Awesome! March 24, 2015 Bought a new iMac Retina for photo processing. Needed external storage to be as quick as possible. I ordered a ThunderBay 4 and (4) 5TB Toshiba drives. It was extremely easy to assemble (add drives to). No external power brick, just a standard "PC" power cord. 1 awesome little thunderbolt connection and I was good to go. I'm using the SoftRAID 5 software, configured for RAID 5. It took less than 5 minutes to setup/configure before I was copying my Lightroom catalogs from my old computer to this bad boy. One 15TB drive as far as OSX is concerned and its been humming along super fast for a few weeks now. Couldn't be happier with this enclosure, the quality of OWC's products or how quickly it arrived (I live nearby, it showed up next day with their free ground day shipping).

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC ThunderBay 4, four-bay drive enclosure with dual Thunderbolt 2 ports, RAID 5 Solution.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: California Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Using as main HD Raid5 to brand new iMac with SD and LOVE IT!!! March 20, 2015 I am using this hard drive as the main drive for my brand-new 2015 iMac. It works very very well and I have had zero issues with this drive. I definately recommend this set up. I currently have the drive set up as a Raid5 configuration with 12 TB of storage. I have moved all of my programs my home folder and all large files to this drive and it didn't slow down the Lightning speed of my new computer. An extremely solid drive for a fantastic price. Again I would HIGHLY recommend this drive to anyone I repeat anyone with an Apple computer.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC ThunderBay 4, four-bay drive enclosure with dual Thunderbolt 2 ports, RAID 5 Solution.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Richmond, B.C. Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 4/5 Well built! March 20, 2015 An all round nice unit.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 16TB OWC ThunderBay 4, four-drive HDD with dual Thunderbolt 2 ports, RAID 5 Solution.

Verified Buyer Top 50 Contributor
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Star Prairie, WI Age: 35-44 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Awesome Product March 6, 2015 The OWC ThunderBay 4 is a fantastic product, well worth the investment. The use of Thunderbolt 2 and RAID 5 is a fantastic improvement to workflow efficiency and data storage.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC ThunderBay 4, four-bay drive enclosure with dual Thunderbolt 2 ports, RAID 5 Solution.

Response from OWC, Marketing March 11, 2015 Although the physical components are made in China, the final assembly and testing is performed in the USA. To boot, the ThunderBay’s development and support is also 100% US-based. The SoftRAID software is 100% coded, designed, and supported in the USA as well. We aren't able to do everything in the USA... Yet... But more more than you may be aware of we do here including now the manufacturing of our SSDs and Memory outside Austin, TX. And we are bringing home more and more everyday .
Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Los Angeles, CA Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 3-4 months
Rating: 5/5 Great form and function so far March 2, 2015 Love this raid. It's very simple and seems well built. I have had multiple lacie raids die over the last 3 years and I've sworn them off. With all of these raids, it's time that will tell, but so far I like this set up. I am using it in Raid 5 for 9TBs of space. It's very very fast and relatively quiet.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 12TB OWC ThunderBay 4, four-drive HDD with dual Thunderbolt 2 ports, RAID 5 Solution.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: San Diego, CA Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 4/5 Great product, software limited February 21, 2015 Let me start by saying this is a great product. I've used Drobos for years and, after switching to the ThunderBay 4 RAID5, will never look back. Faster, quieter, and confidence knowing that the data isn't stored in a proprietary format that means I may or may not be able to recover my data if the unit itself fails instead of just a drive.

With that said, I do have one big complaint. I don't recall reading in advance that I am only able to use this External RAID on one computer. I have multiple external hard drives as well as multiple Drobos. I have been a Mac user since the late 80s. Never have I had a problem plugging any of my drives into any of my computers. I have 3 computers and was planning on using a portion of it as a redundant backup location for these computers. However, SoftRAID's license included with the ThunderBay only allows access by one computer. Long story short, unless I pay an additional $179 (per computer!) for additional licenses I have no way to use it with my other computers. The exception to this is if I'm running Mavericks on the other computers. I'm not, so I was given the choice of using a hobbled drive accessible by only one of my computers or pay over $300 to use it with all of them.

Overall, this is a fantastic hardware product (hence 4 stars). But the SoftRAID licensing limitation is a major negative that cannot be ignored nor can it not be mentioned until after you put up so much money to purchase the product. It's not sufficient to say after the fact "that's the way this type of software license works." One reason I love the Mac so much is that hardware and software just works seamlessly. I've used RAIDs for years (using the Disk Utility setup) and those have all just worked. Why would I suspect that a product advertised as a more advanced, more feature packed competitor to Apple's RAID utility (and designed by some of the same people) would not allow me to use it across all of my computers when my other RAIDs using the "inferior" product always have?

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC ThunderBay 4, four-bay drive enclosure with dual Thunderbolt 2 ports, RAID 5 Solution.

Response from OWC, Marketing February 23, 2015 There seems to be a little confusion over how the SoftRAID licensing works. The license governs the SoftRAID volume itself, and does not relate to the number of computers you can use the SoftRAID volume with. You can definitely install SoftRAID on each of your computers and move your ThunderBay amongst them, you just cannot take that one license and use it in multiple set-ups concurrently.
Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Honolulu, HI Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 OWC goes beyond the call.... February 17, 2015 So I ordered this as one of the things you have to understand doing video with a new Mac Pro... you will probably order dozens of these within a couple of years. With 4K video, the amount of space files take is insane. First, I bought a DROBO 4 drive bay, Thunderbolt and USB3. That was a H U G E mistake. Everything is so proprietary, with some giant buggy, loud power adapter. Wow. HUGE mistake. Did you know if you want to make room and add more drives at some point you'll need to buy another one, the exact same one, to feed your old drives in to access. That is lame. Next I bought the uber expensive Promise Pegasus R4. Wonderful drive, comes with 2TB stacked in there, but very expensive. I buy spare drives all the time so OWC's ThunderBay is EXACTLY what I should've bought in the first place. Fast, comes with cables, put in whatever size drives you want, comes with SoftRaid (which is awesome). It's one third the price of the Pegasus, half the price of the DROBO. HIGHLY RECOMMEND THIS DRIVE BAY!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC ThunderBay 4, four-bay drive enclosure with dual Thunderbolt 2 ports, RAID 5 Solution.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Fantastic Product January 16, 2015 The Thunderbay 4 is an awesome RAID unit. 16TB of fast and dependable storage. Highly recommended!!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC ThunderBay 4, four-bay drive enclosure with dual Thunderbolt 2 ports, RAID 5 Solution.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Hong Kong Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Stable, Versatile, and Fast January 13, 2015 I did a lot of research on external RAIDs, and this ThunderBay 4 seemed to provide the best price/performance. It's also very quiet. I configured 3 Bays as a RAID 5, where the 4th Bay is a single drive as a backup of the RAID - all in one unit! Also running SoftRaid from the bundle package from OWC.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC ThunderBay 4, four-bay drive enclosure with dual Thunderbolt 2 ports, RAID 5 Solution.

Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Alexandria, VA Age: 45-54 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 This thing is fast January 12, 2015 I've got a 2011 iMac that was lagging in speed, so I purchased an SSD to replace the hard drive. It was FAST again. Faster than I ever imagined it could be. It was like I stuck a new computer on my desk.

My problem? the SSD wasn't nearly large enough to hold all my junk collected over the last so many years.

So I bought one of these and moved my home folder to it. Now I've got all my system, library, and applications on the SSD, and my home folder can grow to 6TB.

The best part? the stinking 6TB drive connected via Thunderbolt is FASTER than my SSD!

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Brampton, Ontario Canada Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 ThunderBay4 with SoftRAID5 is surprisingly good January 8, 2015 Bought the ThunderBay4 and tried creating RAID 0 arrays with one disk, two disks, three disks and four disks. Naturally each faster than the previous. Then I added Softraid to the mix for a RAID 5 volume spanning the four disks and I expected it to be no faster than maybe three of the four disks in RAID 0, or even a bit slower.

What I saw was that RAID 5 with Softraid was very close to the speed of a four disk RAID 0 volume. Almost identical. I was very impressed.

So impressed I may buy another Thunderbay and span the two chassis.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC ThunderBay 4, four-bay drive enclosure with dual Thunderbolt 2 ports, RAID 5 Solution.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Columbia, SC Age: 25-34 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Fast, Reliable and Affordable November 12, 2014 I moved to the OWC ThunderBay 4 with Softraid 5 from my Drobo system and haven't looked back. It has been under heavy use for almost 6-weeks now, and I've really come wonder how I functioned prior to owning it. I really love this drive. I can access all of my Lightroom catalogs quickly and efficiently, in addition to being able to quickly edit current and access past Adobe Premiere projects faster than ever before.

The drive is well made and feels very solid. I had a photo assistant pick it up the first time and remark how sturdy it felt.

I hope that OWC has a Thunder Bay 8 in the works as my needs continue to grow.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC ThunderBay 4, four-bay drive enclosure with dual Thunderbolt 2 ports, RAID 5 Solution.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: California Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 3-4 months
Rating: 5/5 Extremely happy with this purchase November 11, 2014 The ThunderBay 4 has been a lifesaver. I was having huge issues with my old NAS device running SUPER SLOW under Mavericks on my network. Thunderbolt is super fast on my iMac, and sharing on my network it is also very fast. What a difference!!! The ThunderBay is an excellent solution for a fast, high capacity device with the added security of data redundancy with RAID 5. It is working very well as a shared network drive for me as well.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC ThunderBay 4, four-bay drive enclosure with dual Thunderbolt 2 ports, RAID 5 Solution.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Foster City, CA Age: 45-54 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Fast, stable, and silent November 1, 2014 I have now used the ThunderBay for more than a month and can speak from experience. I really like it. I was using a Pegasus R2 before and had constant issues with it not waking up. And when it was awake, it was pretty noisy. Conversely, the ThunderBay is rock solid, never fails to wake up, and never shows any signs of stress. Also, the SoftRaid software that I got with it is easy to use. I highly recommend the combination.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC ThunderBay 4, four-bay drive enclosure with dual Thunderbolt 2 ports, RAID 5 Solution.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Central New Jersey Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Easy to Setup and Works Great October 26, 2014 I've had this RAID5 enclosure for about a month now, and so far it has worked flawlessly.

I populated it myself with four 4TB Western Digital Black drives. Installing the drives and configuring the software was very straightforward, and everything worked as expected from the start. No special technical expertise is required, and the instructions are very clear.

The unit seems well designed and carefully manufactured. It is solid, and the fit and finish is excellent.

I'm using it for a large collection of high-res photos, and it has been wonderful to consolidate everything in one place, with the speed of Thunderbolt and the security of RAID5.

Based on my experience, I recommend this solution without hesitation.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC ThunderBay 4, four-bay drive enclosure with dual Thunderbolt 2 ports, RAID 5 Solution.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Malibu Age: 45-54 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Very pleased. September 16, 2014 1. Packaging was amazing. I don't think the individual disk drives could have been better protected.

2. Much quieter than I expected. Very much appreciate that it detects when the Mac is shutdown and the drives go into a sleep mode.

3. Using a RAID 5 configuration and still very pleased with the BlackMagic disk speed test results. Disturbingly better than the cheap little SSD drive I bought. That purchase probably would have worked out better if I had purchased the OWC SSD drive.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 12.0TB OWC ThunderBay IV, four-drive HDD with dual Thunderbolt ports, RAID 5 Solution.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Arizona Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Flawless So Far August 22, 2014 The ThunderBay IV with the 5 TB hard drives and SoftRAID software has been a breeze to set up and start regular Time Machine backups of my system.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 20.0TB OWC ThunderBay IV, four-drive HDD with dual Thunderbolt ports, RAID 5 Solution.

Reviewer: Anonymous Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Solid build, easy setup August 8, 2014 We purchased the 16 TB ThunderBay 4 to replace a several-years-old Qx2 model whose power supply started to go bad after a power surge hit our house. The ThunderBay unit itself is very solid and it was a snap to get the drives in and everything set up. The noise level from the fans is minimal and we definitely appreciate the data redundancy that the RAID 5 array gives us; the SoftRaid software was useful and easy to install as well. In terms of speed we are seeing anywhere from 150MB/s to about 190MB/s in everyday use - but as we currently only have Thunderbolt "1" machines we're not realizing the full potential of the array. The fact that the ThunderBay should perform even better as we upgrade computers in the future was a selling point for us as we expect to use the unit for many years.

I'd definitely recommend the Thunderbay 4 to others (and already have!)

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 16TB OWC ThunderBay 4, four-drive HDD with dual Thunderbolt 2 ports, RAID 5 Solution.

OWC ThunderBay 4 - RAID 5 Edition 8.0TB 4-bay external drive Mfr P/N: TB2SRT08.0S OWC SKU: OWCTB2SRT08.0S Powered by SoftRAID. 1 meter certified Thunderbolt cable included 3 Year OWC Limited Warranty Ships: Same Day only $769.00
Add to CartOther World Computing TB2SRT08.0S In Stock, Click to Buy Now
Additional Capacities & Kits: DIY Enclosure
  • 0TB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $379.99
    • OWC Price $319.00
DIY Enclosure with SoftRAID XT
  • 0TB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $499.99
    • Cyber Saver $419.00
Enterprise Hard Drive Models with SoftRAID XT
  • 16TB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • OWC Price $1,099.00
  • 24TB
    • Ships: 14 Days
    • OWC Price $1,499.00
  • 32TB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • OWC Price $1,679.00
  • 48TB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • OWC Price $2,199.00
  • 64TB
    • Ships: 9 Days
    • OWC Price $2,899.00
  • 72TB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • OWC Price $3,199.00
Hard Drive Models with SoftRAID XT
  • 4TB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $719.99
    • OWC Price $669.00
  • 8TB
  • 16TB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $949.99
    • Cyber Saver $929.00
  • 24TB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • OWC Price $1,269.00
  • 32TB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • OWC Price $1,479.00
  • 48TB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • OWC Price $1,979.00
  • 64TB
    • Ships: 9 Days
    • OWC Price $2,679.00
  • 72TB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • OWC Price $2,999.00