Home » External Drives & Enclosures » OWC Drive Dock

We're sorry, but this item is no longer for sale. However, there may be more External Drives & Enclosures items available.

We recommend OWC Drive Dock with USB-C (USB 3.1 Gen 2) Dual Drive Bay Solution (Mfr P/N: TCDRVDCK) from Other World Computing for $97.99 as a suitable alternative.

OWC

Drive Dock
Dual Drive Bay Solution

Mac / PC / Thunderbolt 2 / USB 3.1 Gen 1
For Bare 2.5" and 3.5" SATA Drives
You Need the OWC Drive Dock
The Ultimate Drive Dock
Drive Dock is the ultimate, high-performance bare drive access tool. For creative workflows, backup, or other tasks requiring constant access to multiple drives, Drive Dock delivers a compact, easy solution with the exceptional performance of Thunderbolt™ 2 technology.
An Essential Workflow Solution
OWC Drive Dock is the fastest way to access bare SATA drives. Hot swap, read multiple drives simultaneously, or boot from bare drives, all at the speed of the Thunderbolt 2 and USB 3.0 interfaces.

For video and audio content pros working with multiple bare drives on big projects, Drive Dock delivers extreme transfer speeds with amazing flexibility and convenience, making it an indispensable drive tool.
Designed to Accommodate Your Life
Drive Dock's unique design makes hot-swapping a breeze. Two drive bays accommodate both 2.5" and 3.5" drives and can access a drive in each simultaneously.

Each bay features its own independent power switch and LED activity monitor. Dual Thunderbolt 2 ports deliver extreme-speed data transfers, and support daisy-chain expansion with up to five additional Thunderbolt devices.

Drive Dock also includes a USB 3.1 Gen 1 port for versatile compatibility and the auto-switching internal power supply is compatible with any dual prong cable.
Customized Flexibility
Drive Dock is flexible enough to use on almost any system. It works perfectly as an on-location backup solution, or for industry professionals using multiple bare drives. Featuring rugged aluminum construction, quiet, fanless operation, and complete with USB 3.0 and Thunderbolt cables, the OWC Drive Dock is an essential component to any high-demand workflow.

Product Specifications:

Software Requirements

  • OS
    • Thunderbolt
      • OS X 10.10 or later
      • Windows 7 SP1 or later
    • USB 3.1 Gen 1
      • OS X 10.6 or later
      • Windows XP or later
      • Linux Kernel v. 2.6.31 or later
  • Driver
  • Note(s)
    • Thunderbolt connectivity for OWC Drive Dock is not supported in Boot Camp.

Hardware Requirements

  • Minimum
    • Mac or PC featuring Thunderbolt or USB 2.0 interface
  • Recommended (Best Performance
    • Mac or PC featuring Thunderbolt 2 or USB 3.0 interface

Bootability

  • Thunderbolt: OS X 10.10 or later
  • USB: Any Mac that supports booting via USB

UASP (USB Attached SCSI Protocol) Compliant

  • Yes

Interface (Chipset)

  • (2) Thunderbolt 20Gbps
  • (1) USB 3.1 Gen 1 (ASMedia ASM1153E)

Drives Supported

  • (2) 3.5" SATA 6Gb/s drives
  • or (2) 2.5" SATA 6Gb/s drives

Performance

  • Benchmarks
    • Single Drive
      • Thunderbolt: 522 MB/s Read and 477 MB/s Write1
      • USB 3.0: 427 MB/s Read and 347 MB/s Write2
    • RAID 0
      • Thunderbolt: 521 MB/s Read and 482 MB/s Write3
      • USB 3.0: 429 MB/s Read and 352 MB/s Write4
  • Note(s)
    • Speeds will vary based on drives used, setup, and other factors.

Power

  • Power Supply
    • Internal UL-listed universal auto-switching
    • AC input: 100 ~ 240V, 50/60Hz
    • DC output: 12V, 6.25A
    • Adapter plugs for international use sold separately.

Hot-Swapping

  • Thunderbolt only5

Operating Environment

  • Environmental (Operating)
    • Temperature (°F) 41° – 86°
    • Temperature (°C) 5° – 30°
  • Environmental (Non-Operating)
    • Temperature (°F) −4° – 122°
    • Temperature (°C) −20 – 50°
  • Relative Humidity (Operating)
    • 8 – 90% (non-condensing)
  • Relative Humidity (Non-Operating)
    • 5 – 95% (non-condensing)

Dimensions

  • Height: 3.3 in (8.4 cm)
  • Width: 6.3 in (16.0 cm)
  • Length: 5.8 in (15.0 cm)

Weight (Without Drives)

  • 2.15 lb (0.975 kg)
  1. Thunderbolt benchmark testing performed by OWC in September 2015 using a 2.6GHz Intel quad-core i7 15-inch MacBook Pro with 16GB RAM and 1TB SSD. Tests conducted on 1 TB OWC Mercury Electra 6G SSDs. Tested using QuickBench™ 5.0 Extended Test (20-100 MB) over 10 cycles, cache disabled. Results represent the extended test average.

  2. USB 3.0 benchmark testing performed by OWC in September 2015 using a 2.6GHz Intel quad-core i7 15-inch MacBook Pro with 16GB RAM and 1TB SSD. Tests conducted on 1 TB OWC Mercury Electra 6G SSDs. Tested using QuickBench™ 5.0 Extended Test (20-100 MB) over 10 cycles, cache disabled. Results represent the extended test average.

  3. RAID 0 Thunderbolt benchmark testing performed by OWC in November 2015 using a 2.6GHz Intel quad-core i7 15-inch MacBook Pro with 16 GB RAM and 1 TB SSD. Tests conducted on two 1 TB Toshiba DT01ACA Series hard drives with 32 MB data buffers in a SoftRAID 5.1 Lite RAID 0configuration. Tested using QuickBench™ 5.0 Extended Test (20-100 MB) over 10 cycles, cache disabled. Results represent the extended test average.

  4. RAID 0 USB 3.0 benchmark testing performed by OWC in November 2015 using a 2.6GHz Intel quad-core i7 15-inch MacBook Pro with 16 GB RAM and 1 TB SSD. Tests conducted on two 1 TB Toshiba DT01ACA Series hard drives with 32 MB data buffers in a SoftRAID 5.1 Lite RAID 0 configuration. Tested using QuickBench™ 5.0 Extended Test (20-100 MB) over 10 cycles, cache disabled. Results represent the extended test average.

  5. When connected via USB, it is possible to unmount either drive from the OS without impacting the other drive, but you cannot power a bay on or off, or physically connect or disconnect one of the drives, without causing the other drive to temporarily unmount.

Manufacturer provided specifications for Other World Computing p/n TB2U3DKR2 UPC#: 812437022483

Gallery

Includes

  • OWC Drive Dock Dual Bay Solution
  • 0.6 meter (24") USB 3.1 Gen 1 cable (Standard-A to Standard-B)
  • 1 meter (39") Thunderbolt cable
  • Internal power supply and power cable
  • User Guide (Download Only)

Videos


Customer Ratings

Write a Review 4.7 / 5 62 out of 71 (87%) reviewers would recommend this product
1 2 3
Verified Buyer
Reviewer: FineCrocodile-28515
Rating: 3/5 No Australian Power Cable?? September 14, 2021 My doc arrived without a compatible 240 volt Australian power cable so I will need to contact the seller to send one out…

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC Drive Dock with USB-C (USB 3.1 Gen 2) Dual Drive Bay Solution.

Response from OWC, Support September 15, 2021 Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry for any troubles this has caused you. Please reach out to us directly by emailing support@owc.com and we would be happy to look into getting the compatible power cable shipped out for you.
Verified Buyer
Reviewer: EasyHummingbird-39258
Rating: 5/5 Great product September 2, 2021 Adds flexibility to my system.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC Drive Dock with USB-C (USB 3.1 Gen 2) Dual Drive Bay Solution.

Response from OWC, Support September 2, 2021 Thank you for providing us with your feedback. Please feel free to reach out to our support team if further assistance is needed.
Verified Buyer
Reviewer: EmeJotaCe
Rating: 3/5 Easy to plug drives, but probably only useful for temporary or short-term use. August 17, 2021 Had hoped to use this for two surveillance hard drives connected via Thunderbolt 3 / USC-C connection to an M1 Mac mini running security spy after the older enclosure I'd used for years without any problems finally failed. Unfortunately, after about three weeks of use, the hard drives have just disconnected from the Mini four times, which is too high of an error rate for a headless Mac mini that is recording 24/7.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC Drive Dock with USB-C (USB 3.1 Gen 2) Dual Drive Bay Solution.

Response from OWC, Support August 18, 2021 Thank you so much for your feedback EmejotaCe we appreciate it. We apologize for the issues you have been having with our Drive Dock. Our drive dock should not be unmounting frequently, If you can reach out to us at support@macsales.com or via phone (800)275-4576 and we should be able to assist you with troubleshooting the unit or setting up an RMA Replacement.
Verified Buyer
Reviewer: shazam
Rating: 5/5 Trusted Products August 17, 2021 It is a convenient and stable product.

I want to be able to use it for a long time without breaking down. It's OWC.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC Drive Dock with USB-C (USB 3.1 Gen 2) Dual Drive Bay Solution.

Response from OWC, Support August 18, 2021 Thanks very much for the review and rating! Hopefully we see you again soon!
Verified Buyer
Reviewer: psvet
Rating: 5/5 Great solution August 10, 2021 I needed to rescue the drives from my 2008 Mac Pro tower that would no longer boot. Pulled the drives out and mounted them in the Dual Drive Bay and there was all my data. Easy solution.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC Drive Dock with USB-C (USB 3.1 Gen 2) Dual Drive Bay Solution.

Response from OWC, Support August 11, 2021 Hi psvet! I'm glad to hear that the Drive Dock helped you retrieve your data. It's great to hear from happy customers!
Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Scott
Rating: 5/5 Just Works! July 25, 2021 I've have 5+ cheap docks over the years and I often end up with poor read/write performance and eventual disk corruption. I finally ponied up and just bought this, even though it's twice the price of a normal dock; I wish I had done this years ago. It just works! For the first time I am getting full write/speeds from my SMB server to an external dock, and no random disk ejects. It feels like I am on an internal sata connection. If you're on the fence, just buy it.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC Drive Dock with USB-C (USB 3.1 Gen 2) Dual Drive Bay Solution.

Response from OWC, Support July 26, 2021 Thank you for your awesome review!
Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Athos411
Rating: 5/5 Dual Drive Dock is the perfect solution! July 19, 2021 So far the Dual Drive Dock is the perfect solution to my need to reuse hard drives from my tower to the Mac Mini.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC Drive Dock with USB-C (USB 3.1 Gen 2) Dual Drive Bay Solution.

Response from OWC, Support July 20, 2021 Thank you for your review! We are so pleased to hear that the Dual Drive dock has become the perfect solution to allow you to still utilize and access your old hard drives!
Verified Buyer
Reviewer: TiredLizard-74094
Rating: 5/5 Great system for backup July 12, 2021 Very well designed and works perfectly.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC Drive Dock with USB-C (USB 3.1 Gen 2) Dual Drive Bay Solution.

Response from OWC, Support July 13, 2021 Thanks for the review! We are very glad to hear that this is working nicely for you and couldn't be happier. Each product we make we craft with the intent to make it not only high quality but user friendly as well. In short we try to keep our user in mind. :) With that comment we thank you as the encourages us to keep going making great products for customers like you. As always if you ever need anything, reach out to us anytime, we are always happy to help. :)
Verified Buyer
Reviewer: EncouragingChameleon-43429
Rating: 5/5 Productivity continues! July 10, 2021 I LOVE THIS DRIVE DOCK! WORKS PERFECTLY AS DESCRIBED.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC Drive Dock with USB-C (USB 3.1 Gen 2) Dual Drive Bay Solution.

Response from OWC, Support July 12, 2021 We are so happy to hear that you are loving your new OWC drive dock! Thank you for your review and for being apart of our OWC family!
Verified Buyer
Reviewer: fbeacham
Rating: 5/5 Very Good Quality Product June 22, 2021 Worked flawlessly and that's all one can ask!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC Drive Dock with USB-C (USB 3.1 Gen 2) Dual Drive Bay Solution.

Response from OWC, Support June 22, 2021 Glad to hear you are satisfied with your purchase, please let us know if we can help you with anything else!
Verified Buyer
Reviewer: waylonis
Rating: 5/5 Fast and works great! June 9, 2021 It's a simple plug and play with modern macOS. And USB-C is so fast, that copying things (using rsync or Finder) take no time at all!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC Drive Dock with USB-C (USB 3.1 Gen 2) Dual Drive Bay Solution.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: SuccessfulAnteater-21223
Rating: 5/5 This thing rocks! June 7, 2021 I've owned a lot of drive docks over the years and this is perhaps the last one I'll ever want. It is well built, self powered, has great transfer speeds and it is every bit as good as the other products I've purchased from OWC over the years. They are awesome and make such good products I almost want to move to MacOS from Windows so I can really embrace all of the products they sell and more importantly the ones they engineer and make.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC Drive Dock with USB-C (USB 3.1 Gen 2) Dual Drive Bay Solution.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: GlamorousEagle-95661
Rating: 5/5 Great, flexible solution June 4, 2021 Good performance for USB 3.1 Gen 2 that would only be improved upon by Thunderbolt 3 or USB 4.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC Drive Dock with USB-C (USB 3.1 Gen 2) Dual Drive Bay Solution.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: EnergeticDolphin-16702
Rating: 5/5 Outstanding tool June 3, 2021 Very well built and flexible design

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC Drive Dock with USB-C (USB 3.1 Gen 2) Dual Drive Bay Solution.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: FoolishBat-17957
Rating: 5/5 Works Great May 31, 2021 Works Great No Problems I have three.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC Drive Dock with USB-C (USB 3.1 Gen 2) Dual Drive Bay Solution.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: FrankKriegseis
Rating: 5/5 NAS BU May 27, 2021 Bought this to be able to back up my NAS. Works great, plug in bare drive, BU and then store in the faraday box.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC Drive Dock with USB-C (USB 3.1 Gen 2) Dual Drive Bay Solution.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: BraveZebra-84405
Rating: 5/5 Excelente May 26, 2021 Excelente, muy rápida entrega, excelente producto

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC Drive Dock with USB-C (USB 3.1 Gen 2) Dual Drive Bay Solution.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Bayu
Rating: 4/5 Power LED indicator broken after 1 month. May 23, 2021 The drive worked just as I'd expected. It's solid, fast and reliable. But the power led indicator of the 1st drive bay stop blinking within a month of use (while the data transfer indicator led still works fine). So now when I'm turning off the 1st drive bay, I have to press-hold the power button while "manually" count for 4-5 seconds before releasing it, to make sure it's properly turned off. Contacted OWC and they told me to send the drive back, but it's just to complicated to do it as I'm an international customer. So, I just hope that the led indicator faulty won't have any excess toward other parts of the dock.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC Drive Dock with USB-C (USB 3.1 Gen 2) Dual Drive Bay Solution.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: VastCobra-35763
Rating: 4/5 Good product so far. May 19, 2021 Good product so far. Easy to set up and use. Does have some vibration and noise issues when the drives are spinning. Not the fastest data transfer in the world. But, overall, it serves the purpose I needed it to serve.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC Drive Dock with USB-C (USB 3.1 Gen 2) Dual Drive Bay Solution.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: johnrbrand
Rating: 5/5 Excellent tool May 10, 2021 Allowed quick analysis and reformatting of several hard drives. Even supported checking out a two-drive mirrored combo from a RAID set. Exactly the functionality I needed.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC Drive Dock with USB-C (USB 3.1 Gen 2) Dual Drive Bay Solution.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: GentleChipmunk-64794
Rating: 5/5 Constantly high quality, plus outstanding staff May 10, 2021 Constantly high quality, plus outstanding staff professional make my days special, expect more sales once new Mac Pro 2022 has m Apple chips

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC Drive Dock with USB-C (USB 3.1 Gen 2) Dual Drive Bay Solution.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: SuccessfulDeer-23293
Rating: 5/5 Great hub April 26, 2021 This was perfect for the task i needed to accomplish

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from (*) OWC Drive Dock with USB-C (USB 3.1 Gen 2) Dual Drive Bay Solution.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: magneticarrow
Rating: 5/5 Good dock August 4, 2020 Was looking for an upgrade to an old eSata and the USB 3 from OWC hit the sweet spot. Seems rugged and well built. I trust OWC build.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from (*) OWC Dual Drive Dock w/USB 3 - Load in and out up to 2 drives, 2.5" or 3.5".

Verified Buyer Top 50 Contributor
Reviewer: GregS Location: Vero Beach Florida Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Perfect answer after getting a new Mac December 9, 2019 I purchased a 2019 iMac to replace my 2012 Mac Pro. My old Mac Pro had 4 hard drives and 2 SSD drives. I did not want to buy additional drives and this enables me to use them as backups when needed. Great to be able to insert an SSD as well as HD into the dock.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Reviewer: drsound Location: Hollywood, CA Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Love It! July 14, 2019 We are using this in Post Production Sound and the speeds are great. Gives us flexibility and is very reliable. Never had an issue. Allows us to hook up to Thunderbolt 2 or USB 3.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

OWC Drive Dock Dual Drive Bay Solution Mfr P/N: TB2U3DKR2 OWC SKU: OWCTB2U3DKR2 High-performance, swappable, bare drive access tool for reading multiple 3.5" and/or 2.5" drives simultaneously 2 Year OWC Limited Warranty
Sold Out
Additional Options: