Free Shipping available on most orders $49.00 & up.

Get Details. »

OWC

Envoy Pro EX
Thunderbolt 3

240GB External Solid-state Drive

Mac / PC / Thunderbolt 3
Your Future is Faster
Envoy Pro EX Thunderbolt 3 is the extreme performance portable SSD that works as fast as you do.

Super fast, portable, bus-powered and bootable, all at the phenomenal speed of Thunderbolt 3 — up to 40 Gbps. Rugged, stylish, and compact, Envoy Pro EX Thunderbolt 3 delivers professional-grade portable SSD performance, wherever you are. And with an integrated cable, it's the perfect package to match your Thunderbolt 3 workflow on site, on set, or in the wilderness.
Faster than anything before
The phenomenal new Envoy Pro EX Thunderbolt 3 is fast, capable of a total bandwidth of 40Gb/s and a sustained data rate up to 2600MB/s. The secret is the perfect combination of phenomenal bandwidth offered by the Thunderbolt 3 interface and ultra high-performance single-blade M.2 SSD, wrapped up in the rugged, stylish Envoy Pro EX enclosure. Now you can work in real-time with the most I/O heavy transfer tasks like working directly with multistream video.
Tough enough to keep up
A portable drive isn't much good if it can't handle what you throw at it. Envoy Pro EX Thunderbolt 3 excels at keeping on keeping on. Fully bus powered, and with no moving parts, it's already light years ahead of the competition. Add into the equation MIL-STD-810G drop test compliance, and you've got a true portable powerhouse that won't let you down on the road.
It's the drive you need.
Whether you need a high-performance project drive to edit dailies on set, or a perfect, portable boot drive, Envoy Pro EX Thunderbolt 3 has you covered, doing double duty as both. Designed for details, it always runs cool and quiet, and looks great in matte black. And with the integrated Thunderbolt 3 cable, you're always ready to go. Available in multiple capacities, there's an Envoy Pro EX Thunderbolt 3 designed to suit your portable Thunderbolt 3 workflow.

Product Specifications:

OS Requirements

  • macOS 10.13
  • Windows 10
  • Windows Server 2016

Hardware Requirements

  • Thunderbolt 3 host port

Total Capacity

  • 240GB

Device Port

  • (1) Thunderbolt 3 Integrated (Captive) Cable

Performance

  • Read: Up to 2600MB/s
  • Write: Up to 1600MB/s

Interface (chipset)

  • Thunderbolt 3 (Intel DSL 6340)

Drive Interface

  • M.2 (NVMe - PCIe 3.0 x4)

I/O Bandwidth

  • 40 Gb/s

Plug and Play Support

  • Yes

Environment

  • Environmental (Operating)
    • Temperature (°F) 32° — 158°
    • Temperature (°C) 0° — 70°
  • Environmental (Non-Operating)
    • Temperature (°F) −40° — 167°
    • Temperature (°C) −40° — 75°

Dimensions

  • Height: 65 mm (2.6 in)
  • Width: 292 mm (11.5 in)
  • Length: 20 mm (0.8 in)
  • Cable Length: 150 mm (5.9 in)

Weight

  • 300 g (10.6 oz)
Manufacturer provided specifications for Other World Computing p/n TB3ENVPR02 UPC#: 812437025675

Gallery

NOTE: The Envoy Pro EX with Thunderbolt 3 cannot be used with Thunderbolt/Thunderbolt 2 enabled systems via the the Apple Thunderbolt 3 (USB-C) to Thunderbolt 2 Adapter. The Apple adapter does not support Thunderbolt 3 or USB-C devices with captive cables.
This product is compatible with... Learn how to find your Mac's model ID
iMac Intel
iMac Pro
(27-inch Late 2017)
(December 2017)
Model ID: iMacPro1,1
3.2GHz 8-core, 3.0GHz 10-core, 2.3GHz 14-core, 2.5GHz 18-core
Install Videos coming soon
iMac Intel
iMac w/Retina 5K display
(27-inch Early 2019)
(March 2019)
Model ID: iMac19,1
3.0GHz i5, 3.1GHz i5, 3.7GHz i5, 3.6GHz i9
iMac Intel
iMac w/Retina 4K display
(21.5-inch Early 2019)
(March 2019)
Model ID:iMac19,2
3.6GHz i3, 3.0GHz i5, 3.2GHz i7
iMac Intel
iMac w/Retina 5K display
(27-inch Mid 2017)
(June 2017)
Model ID:iMac18,3
3.4GHz i5, 3.5GHz i5, 3.8GHz i5, 4.2GHz i7
iMac Intel
iMac w/Retina 4K display
(21.5-inch Mid 2017)
(June 2017)
Model ID:iMac18,2
3.0GHz i5, 3.4GHz i5, 3.6GHz i7
iMac Intel
iMac (21.5-inch Mid 2017)
(June 2017)
Model ID:iMac18,1
2.3GHz i5
MacBook Pro Retina w/ Touch Bar
MacBook Pro (15-inch Touch Mid 2019)
(May, 2019)
Model ID: MacBookPro15,3
2.6GHz i7, 2.3GHz i9, 2.4GHz i9
Install Videos coming soon
MacBook Pro Retina
MacBook Pro (13-inch Touch Mid 2019)
(July, 2019)
Model ID: MacBookPro15,4
1.4GHz i5, 1.7GHz i7
Install Videos coming soon
MacBook Pro Retina
MacBook Pro (13-inch Touch Mid 2019)
(May, 2019)
Model ID: MacBookPro15,2
2.4GHz i5, 2.8GHz i7
Install Videos coming soon
MacBook Pro Retina w/ Touch Bar
MacBook Pro (15-inch Touch Mid 2018)
(July, 2018)
Model ID: MacBookPro15,1
2.2GHz i7, 2.6GHz i7, 2.9GHz i9
Install Videos coming soon
MacBook Pro Retina
MacBook Pro (13-inch Touch Mid 2018)
(July, 2018)
Model ID: MacBookPro15,2
2.3GHz i5, 2.7GHz i7
Install Videos coming soon
MacBook Pro Retina w/ Touch Bar
MacBook Pro (15-inch Touch Mid 2017)
(June, 2017)
Model ID: MacBookPro14,3
2.8GHz i7, 2.9GHz i7, 3.1GHz i7
MacBook Pro Retina
MacBook Pro (13-inch Touch Mid 2017)
(June, 2017)
Model ID: MacBookPro14,2
3.1GHz i5, 3.3GHz i5, 3.5GHz i7
MacBook Pro Retina
MacBook Pro (13-inch Retina display Mid 2017)
(June, 2017)
Model ID: MacBookPro14,1
2.3GHz i5, 2.5GHz i7
MacBook Pro Retina
MacBook Pro (15-inch Touch Late 2016)
(October, 2016)
Model ID: MacBookPro13,3
2.6GHz, 2.7GHz, 2.9GHz
MacBook Pro Retina
MacBook Pro (13-inch Touch Late 2016)
(October, 2016)
Model ID: MacBookPro13,2
2.9GHz, 3.1GHz, 3.3GHz
MacBook Pro Retina
MacBook Pro (13-inch Retina display Late 2016)
(October, 2016)
Model ID: MacBookPro13,1
2.0GHz, 2.4GHz
Mac mini 2018
NOT COMPATIBLE
Mac mini (Late 2018)
(November, 2018)
Model ID: Macmini8,1
3.6GHz i3, 3.0GHz i5, 3.2GHz i7

Includes

  • OWC Envoy Pro EX with captive Thunderbolt 3 cable
  • Carrying case
  • User guide

Customer Ratings

Write a Review 4.3 / 5 2 out of 3 (67%) reviewers would recommend this product
Verified Buyer
Reviewer: USArmyRangerVet Location: Georgetown, SC Age: 55-65 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 An excellent all around product September 18, 2019 I have a 2017 5k iMac which has an internal fusion drive. (1TB drive spinning at 7200rpm with a 32GB SSD). Although the stock internal drive is certainly speedy, as compared to a 5400rpm hard drive that is, this external TB3 drive is exceptional. I got very close to the advertised throughput and couldn't be happier. I well made product which I intend on using for many years to come. Highly recommended.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 1.0TB OWC Envoy Pro EX with Thunderbolt 3 - Rugged High-Performance Ultra-Compact External SSD. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Macaholic Location: Fort Worth, Texas Age: Over 65 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 4/5 Excellent Performance July 12, 2019 I bought this drive to use as an alternate system drive while beta testing Catalina with Catalina on the internal drive and Mojave on this one. There was an issue with the built-in cnnectubg cabal ion the first one I receive but an on-line chat with OWC promptly had a replacement on the way. The replacement has exceeded my expectations. According to a drive test utility, Read/Write speeds are more than 90% of those from the internal drive on my MacBook Pro and for all practical purposes the difference is imperceptible in day to day use. The only negative is the built-in TB 3 cable. A TB 3 port would be more versatile and potentially offer more structural integrity, but then read/write performance would be at the mercy of a third party TB 3 cable.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 1.0TB OWC Envoy Pro EX with Thunderbolt 3 - Rugged High-Performance Ultra-Compact External SSD. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: tomd181 Location: San Tan Valley, AZ Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 4/5 Significant upgrade without melting my credit card May 10, 2019 I own a 2017 27" iMac with the 3TB Fusion setup. I bought the 1TB dive to use as my startup disk. If you trust Blackmagic, Write improved from 600 to 1400 MBs, and Read from 1400 to 2350. Another benefit is that Apple Watch unlock happens within 3 or 4 seconds, where before it seldom worked at all.

The integrated cable is a short as you have heard, so I had to use a shelf to support the drive near the Thunderbolt port. It would be nice to achieve the 2500MBs speeds mentioned, but this is already a big improvement. I have not noticed the drive exceeding 105F, but I removed the silicone sleeve it arrived in.

This review is from 1.0TB OWC Envoy Pro EX with Thunderbolt 3 - Rugged High-Performance Ultra-Compact External SSD. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: TAHe Location: Detroit, MI Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Very fast external drive January 1, 2019 I have an iMac with a thunderbolt 3 port. I am now using this drive, instead of the 5400 RPM internal drive as my boot drive. Very happy. File access is almost instantaneous.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from (*) 1.0TB OWC Envoy Pro EX High-Performance Bus-Powered SSD w/Thunderbolt 3 - *up to 1800MBs/!*. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: EmileB Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Great product, a bit worried about fixed cable December 17, 2018 Great product. I don't get the claimed 1800MB/s when copying large PSD files to the finder but more like 1150MB/s to a iMac 5K. That's good enough for my needs. I guess this could be a Mac limitation. I'm a bit worried about the longevity of the cable thas is attached and fixed to the unit and could brake in the long term because of constant bending so I treat it with lots of care. Time will tell. So far fantastic product. Many thanks OWC

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from (*) 2.0TB OWC Envoy Pro EX Portable Solid-state Drive (SSD) with Thunderbolt 3. Customer Videos:

Reviewer: KJB631 Location: Alexandria, VA Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Excellent as External Boot Drive for New MacMini December 10, 2018 I bought a new 2018 Mac mini, and am using this Envoy Pro EX as the boot drive. Once you enable the T2 chip to allow external booting, it is clear sailing. The drive is fast and flawless. By purchasing this instead of the 1TB internal chip, and getting the 32 GB of OWC RAM, I saved over $700!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from (*) 1.0TB OWC Envoy Pro EX High-Performance Bus-Powered SSD w/Thunderbolt 3 - *up to 1800MBs/!*. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: MGGfriend Location: NJ Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Matches my new iMac April 30, 2018 My new iMac is a 27 in running High Sierra with a 1 TB SSD. I then purchased a 1 TB external SSD with thunderbolt 3. I then divided the external SSD into 2 partitions one for Time Machine and one for external storage needs.

The whole thing was about as easy as it could be.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from (*) 1.0TB OWC Envoy Pro EX High-Performance Bus-Powered SSD w/Thunderbolt 3 - *up to 1800MBs/!*. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: bazz
Rating: 5/5 This product lives up to its specifications March 20, 2018 I bought this 1TB OWC Envoy Pro EX to compliment my Apple iMac Pro. It performs as advertised. It's small, solid and easily carried about when needed. It has to be last unit in a Thunderbolt daisy chain or can be connected directly to a TB3 port on the iMac Pro. I like that it's bus powered and requires no outside power cable and big brick.... a big plus IMO. I would strongly recommend this product to others that require a bus powered fast TB3 device.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from (*) 1.0TB OWC Envoy Pro EX High-Performance Bus-Powered SSD w/Thunderbolt 3 - *up to 1800MBs/!*. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: iWotever Location: Mississauga Ontario Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Performs as you stated March 7, 2018 The drive was packed well and no damage, I have divided it into 3 sections 1st is APFS and the other 2 are Max OS enabled. I am using its an external drive for my iMacPro. Thanks iWotever

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 1.0TB OWC Envoy Pro EX (VE) Extreme-Performance Bus-Powered SSD w/Thunderbolt 3 - *up to 2600MBs/!*. Customer Videos: