Home » External Drives and Enclosures » OWC Envoy Pro FX

We're sorry, but this item is no longer for sale. However, there may be more External Drives and Enclosures items available.

This was an Open Box product listing. For more great deals on Open Box, Refurbished and Used items, keep an eye on our Garage Sale page. Or join our email list and be the first to know when new items become available!

We sell this item brand new for $499.00, view our listing.

OWC

Envoy Pro FX
2.0TB Portable NVMe M.2 SSD

New Condition | Open Box

The Fastest Most Compatible Drive Ever Made with Speeds up to 2800MB/s
The Portable SSD For All Computerkind™
The first portable SSDs on the market were truly one small step in mobile storage advancement, often with limited capacity, speeds, and reliability. The Envoy Pro FX is one giant leap For All Computerkind™ as it’s the first portable SSD with out-of-this-world performance and compatibility. Plug into yesterday’s and today’s Thunderbolt and USB equipped Macs and PCs. Plug into tomorrow’s Thunderbolt 4 and USB4 machines. You can even plug it into iPad Pro, Chromebook, and Surface devices. Imagine…never having to worry about what your external drive works with or what interface your drive has!
Xtreme Performance
The X in Envoy Pro FX means you can enjoy Xtreme max performance from any interface you connect to with speeds up to 2800MB/s. Whether you’re looking to access and save files from an older machine, backup up personal files, or do some in-field large format video editing, the Envoy Pro FX can handle every audio, video, photo, graphics, and gaming task you throw at it.
Ideal for Everyone and Every Need
Mac and PC compatibility back to 2010. Fast. Tough. Portable. That’s a lot of features boxes checked off. The Envoy Pro FX then goes to the next level by being the ideal drive for a wide variety of uses:
  • Photo, video, and document storage
  • Backups via Time Machine or File History
  • Secondary/portable OS boot drive
  • On-set project drive for editing dailies
  • Multi-angled camera editing
  • Explore your photo's potential in Affinity Photo and Adobe Photoshop
  • Utilize large sample libraries within audio projects 
  • A portable Steam games library
  • Maximize the experience of your Intel® Evo™ Laptop with Thunderbolt accessories
Certified Tough
Flexible uses in Xtreme environments is a defining attribute of the Envoy Pro FX. Its sleek heat dissipating aluminum housing is IP67 rated so you can work in the dirtiest and wettest environments. Take on the urban jungle or a chaotic set with supreme confidence that your data is protected by MIL-STD810G certified military-level drop toughness. It's so tough that we sent it into space aboard the Blue Origin New Shepard rocket! Whether you’re dropping it or suspending it in zero G, the Envoy Pro FX has all the right stuff.
Difference Making Truth
Big theoretical performance numbers are certainly eye-catchers…but they rarely reflect real-world performance. That’s why we take the extra time to run OWC storage solutions through intensive performance testing. Truthfully listing the Envoy Pro FX’s up to 2800MB/s real-world test results defines our commitment to the “OWC Difference” which ensures you’ll be completely satisfied the Envoy Pro FX will handle your most demanding needs.
Form Meets Function
The deeply grooved fins on the Envoy Pro FX’s charcoal grey aluminum chassis aren’t there just for good looks. They turn the entire enclosure into a highly effective heat sink for maximum heat dissipation and performance. Even after prolonged top speed file transfers, the silent Envoy Pro FX remains reliably cool.
Lock It Up
Protect client project files or personal information with ease. Fully compatible with macOS and Windows built-in encryption, the Envoy Pro FX lets you add peace of mind password security to your data whenever you need it.
  1. Up to 2711MB/s sequential read/write (max) performance based on testing a 4.0TB OWC Aura Pro P12 equipped Envoy Pro FX connected to a Windows 10 PC equipped with a Gigabyte Technology motherboard with an AMD 3960X 3.8GHz processor and 32GB RAM running AJA System Test (4K-Full resolution, 4GB file size, 16bit RGB codec, single file test). Performance will vary depending on drive and application used.
  2. Dropped over 25 times at every angle from a height of four feet by a third-party testing and certification service. IP67 rated water resistant for up to 30 minutes at < 1 meter

Product Specifications

Specifications
  • Total Storage Capacity
    • 2.0TB
  • Standard Mechanism
    • (1) 2TB OWC Aura P12 Pro NVMe M.2 SSD
    • *1GB = 1,000,000,000 bytes. Total accessible capacity varies depending upon operating environment (typically 5-10% less). The actual total capacity will depend on your own defined file settings/preferences.
    • **OWC reserves the right to replace or upgrade to equivalent or better components.
  • Bootable
    • Mac only
  • Chipset
    • Thunderbolt: Intel Titan Ridge
    • USB: Realtek RTL9210
  • Certifications
    • BSMI
    • CE
    • FCC
    • RCM
    • VCCI
  • Data Transfer Rate (Maximum)
    • Thunderbolt 3 : 40 Gb/s (or 5000 MB/s)
    • USB 3.2 Gen 2 : 10 Gb/s (or 1250 MB/s)
  • Plug and Play
    • Yes
  • Reach Certification
    • Yes
Compatibility
  • Mac OS Compatibility
    • macOS 10.13 High Sierra
    • macOS 10.14 Mojave
    • macOS 10.15 Catalina
    • Mac OS X 10.7 Lion
    • Mac OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion
    • OS X 10.9 Mavericks
    • OS X 10.10 Yosemite
    • OS X 10.11 El Capitan
    • macOS 10.12 Sierra
    • macOS 11.0 Big Sur
  • PC OS Compatibility
    • Windows 10 64-bit Edition
    • Windows Server 2016
  • Linux OS Compatibility
    • Yes
  • Mobile OS Compatibility
    • iPadOS 13
    • iPadOS 14
  • Other OS Compatibility
    • Chrome OS
  • Other Requirements
    • For Thunderbolt 3 or later on the Mac, OS version 10.13 or later is required.
    • For USB connections on a Mac, OS version 10.7.5 or later is required.
    • For Chrome OS (USB), version 85 or later is required.
    • For Linux, this device was tested on Ubuntu version 20.04.1 LTS. Earlier versions of Ubuntu or other Linux distributions may not support this device.
  • Host Port Requirements
    • Requires a host with either a Thunderbolt 3 or later port, or a USB Type-C or Type-A port.
  • Driver Required
    • No
Power
  • Power Supply
    • Bus-powered
  • External Power Adapter
    • No
Physical
  • Number of Bays
    • 1
  • Device Ports
    • (1) Thunderbolt 3 (USB-C) Port
  • Security Slot
    • No
  • Housing Color
    • Black
  • Housing Material
    • Aluminum
  • Dimensions
    • Height: 2.0 cm (0.8 in)
    • Length: 11.0 cm (4.3 in)
    • Width: 6.5 cm (2.6 in)
Environmental
  • Ambient Temperature
    • Operating: 41°F to 95°F (5°C to 35°C)
    • Non-Operating: -4°F to 140°F (-20°C to 60°C)
  • Altitude
    • Operating: -304.8 m to 3,048.0 m (-1,000 ft to 10,000 ft)
    • Non-Operating: -304.8 m to 12,192.0 m (-1,000 ft to 40,000 ft)
  • Humidity
    • Operating: 8% to 90% non-condensing
    • Non-Operating: 5% to 95% non-condensing
Acoustics
  • Noise
    • 0dB

Notes

  • For USB setups, a 10Gb/s host connection is recommended even though the device will function normally over a 5Gb/s connection.
Manufacturer provided specifications for OWC p/n OWCTB3ENVPFX02O

Gallery

This product is compatible with... Learn how to find your Mac's model ID
Mac Pro
Mac Pro Rack (Early 2020)
(January 2020)
Model ID: MacPro7,1
3.5GHz 8-Core
Install videos coming soon
Mac Pro
Mac Pro Rack (Early 2020)
(January 2020)
Model ID: MacPro7,1
3.3GHz 12-Core
Install videos coming soon
Mac Pro
Mac Pro Rack (Early 2020)
(January 2020)
Model ID: MacPro7,1
3.2GHz 16-Core
Install videos coming soon
Mac Pro
Mac Pro Rack (Early 2020)
(January 2020)
Model ID: MacPro7,1
2.7GHz 24-Core
Install videos coming soon
Mac Pro
Mac Pro Rack (Early 2020)
(January 2020)
Model ID: MacPro7,1
2.5GHz 28-Core
Install videos coming soon
Mac Pro
Mac Pro (Late 2019)
(December 2019)
Model ID: MacPro7,1
3.5GHz 8-Core
Mac Pro
Mac Pro (Late 2019)
(December 2019)
Model ID: MacPro7,1
3.3GHz 12-Core
Mac Pro
Mac Pro (Late 2019)
(December 2019)
Model ID: MacPro7,1
3.2GHz 16-Core
Mac Pro
Mac Pro (Late 2019)
(December 2019)
Model ID: MacPro7,1
2.7GHz 24-Core
Mac Pro
Mac Pro (Late 2019)
(December 2019)
Model ID: MacPro7,1
2.5GHz 28-Core
MacBook Pro Retina w/ Touch Bar
MacBook Pro (13-inch Touch Late 2020)
(November, 2020)
Model ID: MacBookPro17,1
Apple M1
MacBook Pro Retina w/ Touch Bar
MacBook Pro (13-inch Touch Mid 2020)
(May, 2020)
Model ID: MacBookPro16,3
1.4GHz i5, 1.7GHz i7
Detailed specs coming soon
Install Videos coming soon
MacBook Pro Retina w/ Touch Bar
MacBook Pro (13-inch Touch Mid 2020)
(May, 2020)
Model ID: MacBookPro16,2
2.0GHz i5, 2.3GHz i7
Detailed specs coming soon
Install Videos coming soon
MacBook Pro Retina w/ Touch Bar
MacBook Pro (16-inch Touch Mid 2019)
(November, 2019)
Model ID: MacBookPro16,1 or MacBookPro16,4
2.6GHz i7, 2.3GHz i9, 2.4GHz i9
Install Videos coming soon
MacBook Pro Retina w/ Touch Bar
MacBook Pro (15-inch Touch Mid 2019)
(May, 2019)
Model ID: MacBookPro15,1; MacBookPro15,3
2.6GHz i7, 2.3GHz i9, 2.4GHz i9
Install Videos coming soon
MacBook Pro Retina
MacBook Pro (13-inch Touch Mid 2019)
(July, 2019)
Model ID: MacBookPro15,4
1.4GHz i5, 1.7GHz i7
Install Videos coming soon
MacBook Pro Retina
MacBook Pro (13-inch Touch Mid 2019)
(May, 2019)
Model ID: MacBookPro15,2
2.4GHz i5, 2.8GHz i7
Install Videos coming soon
MacBook Pro Retina w/ Touch Bar
MacBook Pro (15-inch Touch Mid 2018)
(July, 2018)
Model ID: MacBookPro15,1
2.2GHz i7, 2.6GHz i7, 2.9GHz i9
Install Videos coming soon
MacBook Pro Retina
MacBook Pro (13-inch Touch Mid 2018)
(July, 2018)
Model ID: MacBookPro15,2
2.3GHz i5, 2.7GHz i7
Install Videos coming soon
MacBook Pro Retina w/ Touch Bar
MacBook Pro (15-inch Touch Mid 2017)
(June, 2017)
Model ID: MacBookPro14,3
2.8GHz i7, 2.9GHz i7, 3.1GHz i7
MacBook Pro Retina
MacBook Pro (13-inch Touch Mid 2017)
(June, 2017)
Model ID: MacBookPro14,2
3.1GHz i5, 3.3GHz i5, 3.5GHz i7
MacBook Pro Retina
MacBook Pro (13-inch Retina display Mid 2017)
(June, 2017)
Model ID: MacBookPro14,1
2.3GHz i5, 2.5GHz i7
MacBook USB-C 12-inch Unibody
MacBook (12-inch Retina Display 2017)
(June, 2017)
Model ID: MacBook10,1
1.2GHz Core m3, 1.3GHz i5, 1.4GHz i7
MacBook Pro Retina
MacBook Pro (15-inch Touch Late 2016)
(October, 2016)
Model ID: MacBookPro13,3
2.6GHz, 2.7GHz, 2.9GHz
MacBook Pro Retina
MacBook Pro (13-inch Touch Late 2016)
(October, 2016)
Model ID: MacBookPro13,2
2.9GHz, 3.1GHz, 3.3GHz
MacBook Pro Retina
MacBook Pro (13-inch Retina display Late 2016)
(October, 2016)
Model ID: MacBookPro13,1
2.0GHz, 2.4GHz
MacBook USB-C 12-inch Unibody
MacBook (12-inch Retina Display 2016)
(April, 2016)
Model ID: MacBook9,1
1.1GHz Core m3, 1.2GHz Core m5, 1.3GHz Core m7
MacBook SG 12-inch Unibody
MacBook (12-inch Retina Display 2015)
(April, 2015)
Model ID: MacBook8,1
1.1GHz Core M, 1.2GHz Core M, 1.3GHz Core M
MacBook Air
MacBook Air (13-inch Late 2020)
(November, 2020)
Model ID: MacBookAir10,1
Apple M1
MacBook Air
MacBook Air (13-inch Early 2020)
(March 2020)
Model ID: MacBookAir9,1
1.1GHz i3, 1.1GHz i5, 1.2GHz i7
MacBook Air
MacBook Air (13-inch Mid 2019)
(July 2019)
Model ID: MacBookAir8,2
1.6GHz i5
MacBook Air
MacBook Air (13-inch Late 2018)
(November 2018)
Model ID: MacBookAir8.1
1.6GHz i5
Mac mini 2020
Mac mini (Late 2020)
(November, 2020)
Model ID: Macmini9,1
Apple M1
Mac mini 2018
Mac mini (Late 2018)
(November, 2018)
Model ID: Macmini8,1
3.6GHz i3, 3.0GHz i5, 3.2GHz i7
iMac Intel
iMac Pro
(27-inch Late 2017)
(December 2017)
Model ID: iMacPro1,1
3.2GHz 8-core, 3.0GHz 10-core, 2.3GHz 14-core, 2.5GHz 18-core
iMac Intel
iMac w/Retina 4.5K display
(24-inch Mid 2021)
(May 2021)
Model ID: iMac21,1; iMac21,2
Apple M1
iMac Intel
iMac w/Retina 5K display
(27-inch Mid 2020)
(August 2020)
Model ID: iMac20,1; iMac20,2
3.1GHz i5, 3.3GHz i5, 3.8GHz i7, 3.6GHz i9
Detailed specs coming soon
iMac Intel
iMac w/Retina 5K display
(27-inch Early 2019)
(March 2019)
Model ID: iMac19,1
3.0GHz i5, 3.1GHz i5, 3.7GHz i5, 3.6GHz i9
iMac Intel
iMac w/Retina 4K display
(21.5-inch Early 2019)
(March 2019)
Model ID:iMac19,2
3.6GHz i3, 3.0GHz i5, 3.2GHz i7
iMac Intel
iMac w/Retina 5K display
(27-inch Mid 2017)
(June 2017)
Model ID:iMac18,3
3.4GHz i5, 3.5GHz i5, 3.8GHz i5, 4.2GHz i7
iMac Intel
iMac w/Retina 4K display
(21.5-inch Mid 2017)
(June 2017)
Model ID:iMac18,2
3.0GHz i5, 3.4GHz i5, 3.6GHz i7
iMac Intel
iMac (21.5-inch Mid 2017)
(June 2017)
Model ID:iMac18,1
2.3GHz i5
PC Laptop
PC Laptops
Compatible with Windows/Chrome OS/Linux based PCs with USB Type-C ports. Will ONLY charge laptops which require up to 60W of power. All other functionality is still available even if the computer requires more than 60W and doesn't charge via the USB-C Dock.

Customer Ratings

Write a Review 4.7 / 5 14 out of 15 (93%) reviewers would recommend this product
Verified Buyer
Reviewer: dlinkeg-59061
Rating: 5/5 Outstanding SSD, though included software caused problems with M1 MacBook Air September 14, 2021 The SSD was all that I could expect. I did have problems with the included software, which did not work with the new M1 MacBook Air. I erased the drive and changed it to APFS, which solved the problem. I then formatted the drive to allow it to be used simultaneously as my TimeMachine backup and for external data purposes. It has worked flawlessly since and I would definitely recommend it to any and all users.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 1.0TB OWC Envoy Pro FX Thunderbolt 3 + USB-C Portable NVMe SSD.

Response from OWC, Support September 14, 2021 Thank you for providing us with your feedback. Please feel free to reach out to our support team if further assistance is needed.
Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Jflo29796
Rating: 5/5 The best portable SSD ever! September 13, 2021 I can work and edit right from this SSD!!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 1.0TB OWC Envoy Pro FX Thunderbolt 3 + USB-C Portable NVMe SSD.

Response from OWC, Support September 14, 2021 We are thrilled to hear that you are happy with your new portable SSD and now have the ability to work and edit right from the SSD at any place at anytime!
Verified Buyer
Reviewer: JonGrimes
Rating: 1/5 Received a 2TB OWC Envoy Pro FX NVMe SSD w/ extremely slow, poor Write performance. July 8, 2021 Connected to my Thunderbolt 3 port on my updated MSI GT76 Titan dt-039 4K Windows 10 Pro notebook with top notch system specs (i9-9900K 3.6GHz desktop processor, 128GB DDR4 2667GHz RAM, Nvidia RTX 2080 Desktop Graphics Card) the slow Write performance was terrible. It must have shipped w/ bad firmware because it only got 982.85 MB/sec sequential Write & even worse 5.45 MB/sec random 4K Write connected to my high performance gaming system's Thunderbolt 3 port. Sequential Write should have been over 2000 MB/sec for this drive connected to my fast notebooks Thunderbolt 3 port. Had to ship drive back for refund at my own expense. Extremely disappointed because I have OWC 128GB DDR4 2666GHz RAM 32GB x4 kit installed in my new iMac 27" 5K Retina that works perfectly, but received a defective, slow 2.0TB OWC Envoy Pro FX NVMe SSD.

This review is from 2.0TB OWC Envoy Pro FX Thunderbolt 3 + USB-C Portable NVMe SSD.

Response from OWC, Support July 9, 2021 We're sorry to hear you aren't satisfied with your purchase, if you need any assistance please contact us at support@owc.com!
Verified Buyer
Reviewer: drwilliambowen
Rating: 5/5 Fast July 8, 2021 I used this as a bootable external hard drive on a 2017 iMac with a sloooow hard drive that made the computer unusable. Now it runs nearly as fast as the latest machines.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 1.0TB OWC Envoy Pro FX Thunderbolt 3 + USB-C Portable NVMe SSD.

Response from OWC, Support July 9, 2021 Amazing to hear! Always nice to hear about customer solutions--very good thinking. Thank you!
Verified Buyer
Reviewer: NiceRaven-26440
Rating: 5/5 Fast! And small! July 6, 2021 Great performance from this little drive. So versatile!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 2.0TB OWC Envoy Pro FX Thunderbolt 3 + USB-C Portable NVMe SSD.

Response from OWC, Support July 8, 2021 Magnificent to hear! Very much appreciate the positive feedback and taking time to speed test with screenshot! Enjoy the drive!
Verified Buyer
Reviewer: FoolishRattlesnake-51871
Rating: 5/5 Fast and reliable SSD June 29, 2021 It’s a great , small and highly efficient drive

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 2.0TB OWC Envoy Pro FX Thunderbolt 3 + USB-C Portable NVMe SSD.

Response from OWC, Support June 29, 2021 Thank you FoolishRattlesnake-51871!!
Verified Buyer
Reviewer: AndyM1
Rating: 5/5 Excellent SSD. June 15, 2021 I'm using the Envoy Pro FX as a boot drive for a 2017 iMac 27" to replace the internal Fusion drive. It's given the iMac a new lease on life - it's like a brand new computer. It stays nice and cool. Highly recommended! I've attached a disk speed test result.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 2.0TB OWC Envoy Pro FX Thunderbolt 3 + USB-C Portable NVMe SSD.

Response from OWC, Support June 16, 2021 Thank you for your review! We are excited to hear that the Envoy Pro FX is working great as your boot drive for your 2017 iMac! We appreciate you being a loyal OWC customer!
Verified Buyer
Reviewer: ToughAnt-11704
Rating: 5/5 Awesome Drive June 10, 2021 Out of the gate, this drive smokes the competition. Very satisfied with purchase.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 1.0TB OWC Envoy Pro FX Thunderbolt 3 + USB-C Portable NVMe SSD.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Asatosan
Rating: 5/5 It’s as fast as the say it is April 30, 2021 Great SSD, transfer speeds are awesome and it’s beautiful too!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 2.0TB OWC Envoy Pro FX Thunderbolt 3 + USB-C Portable NVMe SSD.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: george-14651
Rating: 5/5 Silent and dependable April 30, 2021 I was having all kinds of problems on my iMac consisting of crashes, spontaneous restarts/logins, freezes, and kernel panics. I narrowed the causes down to 2 external drives. I replaced them with the Envoy and all those problems disappeared instantly. I can also ouse it on my iPad Air 4 without any issues as well. Great little drive that was worth the money.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 2.0TB OWC Envoy Pro FX Thunderbolt 3 + USB-C Portable NVMe SSD.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: DizzyCamel-59061
Rating: 5/5 Happy. April 29, 2021 So far it appears to be a great product.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 2.0TB OWC Envoy Pro FX Thunderbolt 3 + USB-C Portable NVMe SSD.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: ElegantJaguar-78188
Rating: 5/5 Excellent little drive April 27, 2021 This little drive is super fast. It took about 1 hour to back up my old mac using USB-A, but then less than 15 minutes to restore on my Mac Mini M1 using USB-C.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 480GB OWC Envoy Pro FX Thunderbolt 3 + USB-C Portable NVMe SSD.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: EasyFalcon-12273
Rating: 5/5 Trustworthy April 26, 2021 It is very speedy and always works as it was advertised. Stable and easy to use.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 1.0TB OWC Envoy Pro FX Thunderbolt 3 + USB-C Portable NVMe SSD.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: kensutin
Rating: 5/5 Outstanding Drive April 25, 2021 Excellent build quality, durable, practical, super-fast, works perfectly, highly recommend. I have tried several external drives and this is by far, the best!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 2.0TB OWC Envoy Pro FX Thunderbolt 3 + USB-C Portable NVMe SSD.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: BlushingBobcat-52760
Rating: 5/5 Excellent April 25, 2021 Three things: Very very fast!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 2.0TB OWC Envoy Pro FX Thunderbolt 3 + USB-C Portable NVMe SSD.

OWC Envoy Pro FX 2.0TB Portable NVMe M.2 SSD Mfr P/N: TB3ENVPFX02 OWC SKU: OWCTB3ENVPFX02O The fastest, most compatible portable drive ever made that works with yesterday’s, today’s and tomorrow’s Thunderbolt and USB computers and devices. *New Condition | Open Box* 3 Year OWC Limited Warranty
Sold Out