Home » External Drives and Enclosures » OWC ThunderBay 4 mini with Thunderbolt 2

We're sorry, but this item is no longer for sale. However, there may be more External Drives and Enclosures items available.

This was an Open Box product listing. For more great deals on Open Box, Refurbished and Used items, keep an eye on our Garage Sale page. Or join our email list and be the first to know when new items become available!

OWC ThunderBay 4 mini

Enclosure Portable 4-Bay External Drive

Dual Thunderbolt 2 | RAID Ready | 4 Drive Bays | Mac

New Condition | Open Box

The Speed You Need
  • Four 2.5" drive bays, perfect for SSDs
  • Breathtaking Thunderbolt 2 performance
  • RAID-ready
  • Up to 1346MB/s read / 1321MB/s write RAID 0 performance*
Empower your production workflow on-the-go with this super-fast, 4-Bay, RAID-ready enclosure kit. Optimized for 2.5" drives and perfect for SSDs, ThunderBay 4 mini takes your creativity to the next level by supporting the most demanding applications, including workflows involving 4K, 2K, uncompressed HD, and multi-stream SD video. Easily transport your data between production environments with this portable, professional-grade Thunderbolt 2 powerhouse.
Do more with a ThunderBay enhanced workflow.
Expand production capabilities in industry-leading creative platforms like Final Cut X, Avid Pro Tools, and Adobe Lightroom with this incredibly fast and portable 4-bay drive.

With the ThunderBay 4 mini enclosure kit, you can add up to four 2.5" hard drives, SSDs, or a mix of both to suit your performance needs. Utilize the drives independently, or use the software RAID configuration of your choice to achieve an optimal balance of storage, performance, and data-redundancy.
4 drive bays plus so much more.
Time-tested Cooling Cool + Whisper Quiet
A durable, heat-dissipating, aluminum unibody shell features a "flow-thru" vented design coupled with a 60 mm whisper-quiet fan.
DisplayPort 1.2 4K Display Support
Dual Thunderbolt 2 ports let you connect any display that your computer can support, including 4K displays.
Vibration Dampened Vibration Dampened
ThunderBay's drive isolating design reduces sonic resonance, and is aided by rugged, vibration-absorbing, non-skid feet.
Multi-Drive Flexible Expansion
Daisy-chain up to six ThunderBays on a single Thunderbolt port for expansive storage, RAID, and performance options.
Thunderbolt Cable OWC Thunderbolt Cable
ThunderBay comes with an OWC one-meter certified Thunderbolt cable, with other lengths from 0.5 meter to 30 meters available separately.


*Speed dependent on drive mechanism

Includes

  • OWC ThunderBay 4 mini High-performance 4-bay Thunderbolt 2 interface drive
  • High-Quality, Certified, Double-Shielded 1-Meter Thunderbolt cable
  • External UL listed 3-prong power cable
  • 2 keys for front panel lock
  • User guide
  • Utility software bundle for Mac and PC
  • 1 Year OWC Enclosure Limited Warranty

Gallery

Product Specifications

Mechanisms Supported

  • Four 2.5" 15mm SATA 6Gb/s drives

Chipset

  • Thunderbolt 2

Interfaces Supported

  • Thunderbolt 2

JBOD / RAID Support

  • JBOD: Utilize each of the four drives independently
  • RAID: Use any Software RAID of your choice to setup the ThunderBay 4 for multi-drive performance or data redundancy.

Port Configuration

  • Thunderbolt – (2) Thunderbolt 2 ports

Max Data Transfer Rate

  • Thunderbolt 2 – 20Gb/sec

Port/Interface Bootability

  • It can be used as a Thunderbolt startup drive on Macs running Mac OS X.

System Requirements

  • Any Mac with a Thunderbolt port running OS X 10.9 or later.
  • Any PC running Windows 7 Service Pack 1 or later with a Thunderbolt port. Driver required for proper installation. (3.3 MB ZIP)
  • Boot Camp is not supported. The Thunderbolt certification process does not include Macs running Windows through Boot Camp.

Power Supply

  • UL Listed U.S./International Auto Switching 100 ~ 240v, 50/60Hz input, 12 Volt 6.0 Amp output Power Supply (power cords for International use sold separately).

Software Included

Product Manual

External Case Dimensions

  • 7.6"(D) x 3.8"(W) x 4.6"(H)
  • 19.3cm x 9.6cm x 11.6cm

Enclosure Weight (no accessories)

  • Approximately 2.4 pounds (1.1kg)

Operating Environment:

Temperature

  • (operating) 5°C – 42°C (41°F – 107°F)
  • (non-operating) -40°C – 65°C (-40°F – 149°F)

Relative Humidity

  • (operating) 8% – 90% RH (Non-condensing)
  • (non-operating) 5% – 95% RH (Non-condensing)

Shock

  • 65G 2mS; (non-operating) 175G 2mS

Vibration

  • (operating) 1.0G (5 – 300Hz)
  • (non-operating) 5.0G (5 – 500Hz)

Warranty

1 Year OWC Enclosure Limited Warranty

The best warranty is one you never have to use, but should the need occur – OWC is proud to provide a superior level of support and warranty coverage to our customers. Even when not used, we understand the peace of mind afforded by a longer warranty period. OWC's industry leading coverage is a testament to our confidence in the reliability of the solutions that we offer. OWC solutions are engineered to demanding quality standards in order to deliver the most reliable, highest performance available on the market in each storage category.

View more information about the 1 Year OWC Enclosure Limited Warranty

Manufacturer provided specifications for Other World Computing p/n TB4MJB0GB UPC#: 812437020922

Software

Prosoft Macworld 4.5 miceProsoft
Prosoft Engineering® Data Backup 3 for OS X v10.2.8 or later
Backup Made Easy. Data Backup makes it easy to backup to FireWire and USB drives, network drives, CDs and even DVDs. Make schedules so you don't need to 'think' about backing up... It does it for you.
A $59.00 Value! View detailed software info, or click here to purchase softwareseparately from solution
Novastor
NovaStor NovaBACKUP® Solution for Windows®
NovaBACKUP has been helping millions of users recover from data loss and disasters for over 18 years. Feature rich, NovaBACKUP provides a powerful backup solution. Built-in support for hundreds of the most popular storage devices and a step-by-step backup and restore wizard makes NovaBACKUP extremely easy to use. Requires Windows 2000 or later.
A $49.95 Value! View detailed software info
Intech SpeedTools Utilities
Intech® SpeedTools Utilities™
Intech SpeedTools consists of a suite of utilities managed by an application which controls the launching, documentation and version control of each individual component utility, such as Disk Defrag and QuickBack. An easy-to-use installation and removal application is provided to make installation a snap, yet powerful enough to allow you to customize which utility component set you would like to create.
An $89.95 Value! View detailed software info, or click here to purchase software separately from solution

Reviews

Videos


Customer Ratings

Write a Review 4.7 / 5 14 out of 17 (82%) reviewers would recommend this product
1 2
Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous
Rating: 5/5 Does what it says on the tin August 3, 2015 The most efficient way for me to carry 4 2.5" drives. Thank you OWC

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC ThunderBay 4 mini RAID Ready Four-Bay External Thunderbolt 2 Storage Enclosure.

Verified Buyer Top 100 Contributor
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Rockville, MD Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Superior to other enclosures I've tried July 31, 2015 Replaced a Promise RAID enclosure that never worked properly. This one is high quality construction. Has been problem free since I installed my 4 SSDs as RAID 10. And of course with thunderbolt 2 it is extra fast. Nice product. Highly recommended.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC ThunderBay 4 mini RAID Ready Four-Bay External Thunderbolt 2 Storage Enclosure.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Age: 45-54 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 4/5 Works perfectly with OS X RAID July 10, 2015 I bought the 4 TB ThunderBay to work with my Mac Pro (2013) and Thunderbolt 2. I set it up as a striped and mirrored using the standard OS X Disk Utility RAID settings. This ends up with a 2 TB mirrored drive. With Black Magic Disk Speed Test I get about 155 MB/s write and 185 MB/s read. Not too bad for spinning rust on 2.5" drives. For reference I have an older 480 GB OWC Mercury Electra SSD in a USB 3 external case that only gets a little better than that (180 MB/s write & 230 MB/s read).

The 4 1 TB 2.5" drives are temporary until the price of 1 TB SSD comes down in a year or so. The ThunderBay enclosure should be useful long after the drives are obsolete.

If anyone has the same bay with SoftRAID and a similar setup, I would be curious to know what your performance numbers are (Black Magic Disk Speed Test is free on the Mac App store.)

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 4.0TB OWC ThunderBay 4 mini Four-Drive 7200RPM HDD External Thunderbolt 2 Storage Solution.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Ardmore pa Age: 35-44 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Great storage solution May 14, 2015 I'm an it guy. This was an inexpensive enterprise grade raid solution for a consumer price. I went with Speed and storage and used 7200 rpm laptop drives. This replaced my LaCie jbod storage. My storage performance went from 70mb per second to about 400mb not as fast as my 900mb raid0 ssd os solution but getting 3tb with the read rate it's worth it. SoftRaid 5 works great. And was worth the extra cost. Looking forward to grabbing an additional one of these storage arrays soon.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC ThunderBay 4 mini RAID Four-Bay External Thunderbolt 2 Storage Enclosure.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous
Rating: 3/5 Great size efficiency and overall solution mitigated by little annoyances May 3, 2015 My desk doesn't have a lot of available space, so the ThunderBay 4 mini seemed like a good fit (literally). It's small, fast, accommodates 4 drives and it is optimized for SSDs -- doesn't waste precious volume on accommodating 3.5" form factors. It's metal and feels rock-solid. Comes with a Thunderbolt cable. Works great, and the version with SoftRAID rounds it out for a great RAID 4/5 solution. I liked it a lot, at least until I powered it up.

The downsides are that you end up with an power brick -- I hate external transformers -- and that small fan that all the reviews and product information say is "quiet" really isn't if you have silent SSDs (like the Mercury Electra 6Gs that I also purchased) in it. You have audible low frequencies of air passing through the enclosure. Those don't bother me. However, the MB60201V3-0000-A99 fan (in theory, 23 dBA from OEM spec sheet) used in the enclosure has this soft, high-pitched whine that was distracting to both me and the other occupant of the room it lived in. As much as I'd like to keep it, that's a dealbreaker for it to be used where I need to.

Return RMA is underway, and I'm looking at the full-size ThunderBay 4 RAID edition as a replacement with its lower-RPM fan (20-23 dBA) and internal power supply, as well as its unfortunately much larger size and need to use 3.5"-to-2.5" step-down carriers for my SSDs.

This review is from OWC ThunderBay 4 mini RAID Four-Bay External Thunderbolt 2 Storage Enclosure.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Los Angeles, CA Age: 45-54 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Works great April 28, 2015 Easy to assemble, ordered SSD drives and popped them in, works flawlessly and is silent.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC ThunderBay 4 mini RAID Ready Four-Bay External Thunderbolt 2 Storage Enclosure.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous
Rating: 3/5 Super fast but noisy April 17, 2015 It's a super fast SSD RAID. The only drawback is the noises of fans (it's small fan so it has high-freq noises). Luckily you can use a long Thunderbolt cable to put the RAID far away from you. It would be nice if OWC can reduce the fan speed for SSD version. (HDD version is hotter)

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 1.0TB OWC ThunderBay 4 mini, four-drive SSD with dual Thunderbolt 2 ports, RAID-ready JBOD Solution.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Hangzhou, China Age: 45-54 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Very satisfied April 16, 2015 After comparing everything I could find in a reasonably compact Thunderbolt 2 drive array to connect to my Mac Pro I finally decided upon the ThunderBay 4 mini in a 4TB configuration. The unit is compact and well built. The fan is audible in a low noise environment, but not at all noticeable in an office.

I've currently opted for using Apple's built-in RAID facility and the drive is performing exactly as expected. Lightning fast and stable. I'm very satisfied with this purchase and would recommend it to anyone looking for a fast and compact DAS solution.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 4.0TB OWC ThunderBay 4 mini Four-Drive 7200RPM HDD External Thunderbolt 2 Storage Solution.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Cincinnati Age: 45-54 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Does what they say March 15, 2015 It's not a complex product. You stick in SSD drives and it works. I was interested because it had a Thunderbolt 2 connection. I've had it for a month or so and had no issues with it. I would recommend it to anyone looking for an external RAID array on a Mac.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC ThunderBay 4 mini RAID Ready Four-Bay External Thunderbolt 2 Storage Enclosure.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: SLC,UT Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Hobbiest Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Great Product March 11, 2015 This case is well made. I have four SSD,s in raid 0 with OS X installed and no problems. Black Magic test Read 1184 MB/s Write 1085 MB/s

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC ThunderBay 4 mini RAID Ready Four-Bay External Thunderbolt 2 Storage Enclosure.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Napa Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 4/5 The enclosure is awesome January 12, 2015 but hard drives stink. I've been wanting an enclosure like this for years, so I jumped on it as soon as it was announced. I wanted a fast, quiet, RAID hard drive, and this is all three. I was expecting faster performance than I got, but that's the fault of the four 2TB drives inside. I'm getting about 500MB/s in RAID 0. Once the cost of SSDs decline, then I'll make the switch.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC ThunderBay 4 mini RAID Ready Four-Bay External Thunderbolt 2 Storage Enclosure.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Tampa, FL Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 3-4 months
Rating: 5/5 Thunder bay Mini 4 - Outstanding Product January 3, 2015 Moved from a 2010 Mac Pro to a 2014 MacBook Pro. I delayed the moved because my Mac Pro was maxed out with 4 Disk Drives and I wasn't sure what to do migrating to the MBPro. I knew I could count on OWC and just about the time I was ready to move on the "Thunder Bay 4" the "Thunder Bay 4 mini" was introduced. I called tech support with questions on the mini and it seemed like what I was waiting for. I migrated two existing SSD's (One OWC) for the Mac Pro and bought two more SSD's from OWC to fill up the Thunder Bay mini 4. Mission accomplished!! As a bonus I have the option to boot from the Thunder Bay Mini vis a vie Thunderbolt2 should I choose(Contrary to what Mac Support said and it works, I tried it). The Thunder Bay Mini 4 is Fast, Quiet and Runs Cool.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC ThunderBay 4 mini RAID Ready Four-Bay External Thunderbolt 2 Storage Enclosure.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Gold Coast, Australia Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Excellent drive enclosure December 21, 2014 I have been using the Thunderbay 4 mini for just under a month now and it works exactly as advertised.

One of the best features is the cooling fan which maintains my SSDs at a comfortable 29° C vs 45° C in Akitio Neutrino Thunder Duo which I previously used.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC ThunderBay 4 mini RAID Ready Four-Bay External Thunderbolt 2 Storage Enclosure.

OWC Enclosure ThunderBay 4 mini Mfr P/N: TB4MJB0GB OWC SKU: OWCTB4MJB0GBOB High-Performance 4-bay External Drive 1 Year OWC Limited Warranty
Sold Out