Home » External Drives & Enclosures » OWC ThunderBay 4 mini with Thunderbolt 2

OWC

ThunderBay 4 mini
16.0TB Professional Grade 4-Drive HDD Thunderbolt 2 Solution For Mac and Windows PC

Big RAID System Performance in a Compact Design
The ThunderBay 4 mini SSD equipped solution is big on performance and flexibility yet sized about the length of a pencil. The rugged heat-dissipating aluminum enclosure features two Thunderbolt 2 (Thunderbolt 10Gb/s backward compatible) ports for up to 1346MB/s real-world speeds, so you have more than enough bandwidth to handle personal and business backups — all the way up to today's highest resolution audio, photo, and video formats. If you are seeking big RAID performance that's small enough to fit on a desk, in a rack, or on a DIT cart, your wish is now a reality.
A New World of Drive Flexibility
With four hard drive populated bays, you can use the drives independently or combine drives as a RAID with the included SoftRAID setup and management software. The ThunderBay 4 mini is also perfect for repurposing or maximizing bare 2.5-inch HDDs and SSDs you already own.
Expand production capabilities in industry-leading creative platforms like Final Cut X, Avid Pro Tools, Apple Pro Logic, and Adobe Lightroom, edit large images, manage massive photo and audio libraries, store drone videos, use it as a transport drive…whatever the day or project demands, the ThunderBay 4 mini is the perfect workflow solution.
Install or Swap in Minutes
Want to access another drive or expand your storage capacity? Simply open the front panel security lock to access the four individual bays. Drives mount to a tray that slides back in and automatically plugs into a drive connector so you can get back to work in minutes.
Store More, Go Faster
With the ability to daisy-chain you can add up to five additional ThunderBay 4 mini solutions to create massive storage capacities. Merge them with SoftRAID for even more flexibility, capacity, and capability. Or if speed is what you’re after, connect multiple ThunderBay 4 mini solutions to multiple Thunderbolt 3 ports on your Mac or PC to achieve exponential speed capabilities.
Includes SoftRAID XT: Easy and Complete Drive Management
SoftRAID XT is the most powerful, intuitive software RAID utility on the market. Multiple RAID levels let you select the RAID level that fits you or your project’s needs best. If you need maximum volume capacity, optimum drive performance, data protection, or a combination of attributes, SoftRAID has you covered.
Packed with features like drive validation, verification and failure prediction—SoftRAID includes features you simply don’t get with hardware RAID. It’s like having a datacenter on your desktop! From home users looking to protect photos and documents to professionals needing to protect and quickly access projects, SoftRAID is the perfect solution.
  • Compatible: Works with macOS 11 Big Sur, M1 Macs and Windows 10
  • Advanced: Create RAID 0/1/4/5/1+0 (10) with Macs, RAID 0/1 with Windows machines
  • Protected: SoftRAID Monitor constantly watches your disks and alerts you if problems are detected
  • Validated: Volume validation ensures sectors can be read and parity is correct
  • Certified: Checks disks before use to ensure they are safe for data storage
  • Vigilant: Error prediction helps protect against unexpected failure
  • Universal: Move SoftRAID arrays seamlessly between Macs and PCs with built-in OWC MacDrive technology

SoftRAID provides a level of performance that you simply can’t get with hardware RAID. Learn more about the power of SoftRAID XT.
Professional Grade = Ready to Work
We understand having confidence in gear reliability is paramount to creative professionals. That’s why every ThunderBay 4 mini SSD solution a multi-step performance certification prior to shipping. This ensures your ThunderBay 4 mini arrives operating properly and immediately ready for demanding use.
Support You Can Trust
Like all OWC products, the ThunderBay 4 mini is fully backed by OWC's award-winning support team.
Speed, size, and convenience — the OWC ThunderBay 4 mini provides everything a demanding workflow requires.
Your Digital Life…Protected for FREE
Backing up and protecting your data is critically important. But all too often it’s a task that falls to the bottom of the “to do” list, and you don’t realize it until it is too late. That’s why OWC has partnered with Acronis to give you 1 full year of the #1 personal backup and antivirus software to integrate into your workflow.
Acronis Cyber Protect Home Office safeguards you from today’s data threats—from accidents to failures to attacks. With easy, intuitive backup and Ai-enhanced antimalware technology, your digital life is protected—photos, files, applications, systems, and the devices they are on.
  • Complete Backup and Fast Recovery: quickly restore your files or entire system at any time
  • Easy Disk Cloning and Full Image Backup: just two clicks to start a full disk image backup
  • Cloud, Local or Hybrid Cloud: back up locally, to the cloud, or both. It’s your choice

Learn more about Acronis Cyber Protect Home Office
SoftRAID XT works with macOS 10.12 or later and Windows 10. M1 Macs require macOS 11.3 or later. SoftRAID is licensed per computer.

Product Specifications

Specifications
  • Total Capacity
    • 16TB
  • Total Solution Cache Size
    • 512 MB
  • Standard Mechanism
    • (4) 4.0TB Toshiba Laptop 5,400RPM Hard Disk Drives with 128 MB cache
    • *OWC reserves the right to replace or upgrade to equivalent or better components.
  • Bootable
    • Independent volumes bootable in macOS.
  • Chipset
    • Thunderbolt 2: Intel JHL5520
    • SATA Controller: ASMedia ASM-1062
  • Drive Interface
    • SATA
  • Certifications
    • CE
    • FCC
    • VCCI
    • RCM
    • BSMI
  • Data Transfer Rate (Maximum)
    • Thunderbolt 2 : 20 Gb/s (or 2500 MB/s)
    • Thunderbolt : 10 Gb/s (or (1250 MB/s)
RAID
  • RAID Capable
    • Yes
  • Default RAID Level
    • RAID 5
  • RAID Levels Supported
    • RAID 0
    • RAID 1
    • RAID 4
    • RAID 5
    • RAID 10
    • JBOD
  • RAID Features
    • Software RAID
Reliability
  • Contact Start Stops
    • Varies depending on drive mechanism installed
Compatibility
  • Mac OS Compatibility
    • macOS 10.12 Sierra
    • macOS 10.13 High Sierra
    • macOS 10.14 Mojave
    • macOS 10.15 Catalina
    • macOS 11.x Big Sur
  • PC OS Compatibility
    • Windows 7 32-bit Edition
    • Windows 7 64-bit Edition
    • Windows 8 32-bit Edition
    • Windows 8 64-bit Edition
    • Windows 8.1 32-bit Edition
    • Windows 8.1 64-bit Edition
    • Windows Server 2012
    • Windows 10 32-bit Edition
    • Windows 10 64-bit Edition
    • Windows Server 2016
  • Other Requirements
    • SoftRAID is compatible with Windows 10, or macOS 10.12 or later. Apple Silicon M1 Macs require macOS 11.3 or later. SoftRAID is licensed per computer. Additional seats available.
  • Host Port Requirements
    • Thunderbolt ™ 2 port
  • Driver Required
    • SoftRAID Only
Power
  • Power Supply
    • External UL-listed universal auto-switching power supply
  • AC Input
    • 100-240V, 50-60Hz, 2.0A
  • DC Output
    • +12V, 6A
  • Wattage
    • 72 Watts
  • External Power Adapter
    • Yes
Physical
  • Number of Bays
    • 4
  • Device Ports
    • (2) Thunderbolt 2 Ports
  • Cooling
    • (1) 60mm cooling fan
  • Security Slot
    • Yes
  • Power/Activity LED
    • Yes
  • Housing Color
    • Black
  • Housing Material
    • Aluminum
  • Dimensions
    • Height: 11.7 cm (4.6 in)
    • Length: 19.1 cm (7.5 in)
    • Width: 9.6 cm (3.8 in)
  • Weight
    • 1.1 kg (2.51 lbs)
Environmental
  • Ambient Temperature
    • Operating: 41°F to 95°F (5°C to 35°C)
    • Non-Operating: -4°F to 140°F (-20°C to 60°C)
  • Altitude
    • Operating: -304.8 m to 3,048.0 m (-1,000 ft to 10,000 ft)
    • Non-Operating: -304.8 m to 12,192.0 m (-1,000 ft to 40,000 ft)
  • Humidity
    • Operating: 8% to 90% non-condensing
    • Non-Operating: 5% to 95% non-condensing

Notes

  • macOS 10.12.6 or later required
  • Will work with Macs that have 10Gbps Thunderbolt and support 10.12.6 or later, at slower speeds.
Manufacturer provided specifications for OWC p/n OWCTB4MSRH16T5

Gallery

Videos



This product is compatible with... Learn how to find your Mac's model ID
Mac Pro
Mac Pro
(December, 2013)
Model ID: MacPro6,1
2.7GHz 3.0GHz, 3.5GHz, 3.7GHz
iMac Intel
iMac w/Retina 5K display
(27-inch Mid 2015)
(May 2015)
Model ID: iMac15,1
3.3GHz i5, 3.5GHz i5, 4.0GHz i7
iMac Intel
iMac w/Retina 5K display
(27-inch Late 2014)
(October 2014)
Model ID: iMac15,1
3.5GHz i5, 4.0GHz i7
iMac Intel
iMac (27-inch Late 2013)
(September 2013)
Model ID: iMac14,2
3.2GHz i5, 3.4GHz i5, 3.5GHz i7
iMac Intel
iMac (27-inch Late 2012)
(October 2012)
Model ID: iMac13,2
2.9GHz i5, 3.2GHz i5, 3.4GHz i7
iMac Intel
iMac (27-inch Mid 2011)
(May 2011)
Model ID: iMac12,2
2.7GHz i5, 3.1GHz i5, 3.4GHz i7
iMac Intel
iMac (21.5-inch Mid 2014)
(June 2014)
Model ID: iMac14,4
1.4GHz i5
iMac Intel
iMac (21.5-inch Late 2013)
(September 2013)
Model ID: iMac14,3
2.9GHz i5 or 3.1GHz i7
iMac Intel
iMac (21.5-inch Late 2013)
(September 2013)
Model ID: iMac14,1
2.7GHz i5
iMac Intel
iMac (21.5-inch Early 2013)
(March 2013)
Model ID: iMac13,1
3.3GHz i3
iMac Intel
iMac (21.5-inch Late 2012)
(October 2012)
Model ID: iMac13,1
2.7GHz i5 , 2.9GHz i5, 3.1GHz i7
iMac Intel
iMac (21.5-inch Late 2011)
(August 2011)
Model ID: iMac12,1
3.1GHz i3
iMac Intel
iMac (21.5-inch Mid 2011)
(May 2011)
Model ID: iMac12,1
2.5GHz i5 , 2.7GHz i5, 2.8GHz i7
Mac mini Intel
Mac mini (Late 2014)
(October, 2014)
Model ID: Macmini7,1
1.4GHz, 2.6GHz, 2.8GHz, 3.0GHz
Mac mini Intel
Mac mini (Late 2012)
(October, 2012)
Model ID: Macmini6,1 & Macmini6,2
2.3GHz, 2.5GHz, 2.6GHz
Mac mini Intel
Mac mini (Late 2012 Server)
(October, 2012)
Model ID: Macmini6,2
2.3GHz, 2.6GHz
Mac mini Intel
Mac mini (Mid 2011)
(July, 2011)
Model ID: Macmini5,1 & Macmini5,2
2.3GHz, 2.5GHz, 2.7GHz
Mac mini Intel
Mac mini (Mid 2011 Server)
(July, 2011)
Model ID: Macmini5,3
2.0GHz
MacBook Pro Retina
MacBook Pro (15-inch Retina display Mid 2015)
(May, 2015)
Model ID: MacBookPro11,4; MacBookPro11,5
2.2GHz, 2.5GHz, 2.8GHz
MacBook Pro Retina
MacBook Pro (13-inch Retina display Early 2015)
(March, 2015)
Model ID: MacBookPro12,1
2.7GHz, 2.9GHz, 3.1GHz
MacBook Pro Retina
MacBook Pro (13-inch Retina Display 2013 - 2014)
(October, 2013 - July, 2014)
Model ID: MacBookPro11,1
2.4GHz, 2.6GHz, 2.8GHz, 2.9GHz, 3.0GHz
MacBook Pro Retina
MacBook Pro (15-inch Retina Display 2013 - 2014)
(October, 2013 - July, 2014)
Model ID: MacBookPro11,2
2.0GHz, 2.2GHz, 2.5GHz, 2.8GHz
MacBook Pro Retina
MacBook Pro (15-inch Retina Display 2013 - 2014)
(October, 2013 - July, 2014)
Model ID: MacBookPro11,3
2.3GHz, 2.5GHz, 2.6GHz, 2.8GHz
MacBook Pro Retina
MacBook Pro (15-inch Retina Display 2013)
(January, 2013)
Model ID: MacBookPro10,1
2.4GHz, 2.7GHz, 2.8GHz
MacBook Pro Retina
MacBook Pro (13-inch Retina Display 2013)
(January, 2013)
Model ID: MacBookPro10,2
2.5GHz, 2.6GHz, 2.9GHz, 3.0GHz
MacBook Pro Retina
MacBook Pro (13-inch Retina Display 2012-2013)
(October, 2012)
Model ID: MacBookPro10,2
2.5GHz, 2.9GHz
MacBook Pro Retina
MacBook Pro (15-inch Retina Display 2012)
(June, 2012)
Model ID: MacBookPro10,1
2.3GHz, 2.6GHz, 2.7GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (15-inch 2012)
(June, 2012)
Model ID: MacBookPro9,1
2.3GHz, 2.6GHz, 2.7GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (13-inch 2012)
(June, 2012)
Model ID: MacBookPro9,2
2.5GHz, 2.9GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (17-inch 2011)
(October, 2011)
Model ID: MacBookPro8,3
2.4GHz, 2.5GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (15-inch 2011)
(October, 2011)
Model ID: MacBookPro8,2
2.2GHz, 2.4GHz, 2.5GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (13-inch 2011)
(October, 2011)
Model ID: MacBookPro8,1
2.4GHz, 2.8GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (17-inch Early 2011)
(February, 2011)
Model ID: MacBookPro8,3
2.2GHz, 2.3GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (15-inch Early 2011)
(February, 2011)
Model ID: MacBookPro8,2
2.0GHz, 2.2GHz, 2.3GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (15-inch Early 2011)
(February, 2011)
Model ID: MacBookPro8,2
2.0GHz, 2.2GHz, 2.3GHz
MacBook Air
MacBook Air (13-inch Mid 2017)
(June 2017)
Model ID: MacBookAir7,2
1.8GHz i5, 2.2GHz i7
MacBook Air
MacBook Air (13-inch Early 2015)
(March 2015)
Model ID: MacBookAir7,2
1.6GHz i5, 2.2GHz i7
MacBook Air
MacBook Air (11-inch Early 2015)
(March 2015)
Model ID: MacBookAir7,1
1.6GHz i5, 2.2GHz i7
MacBook Air
MacBook Air (13-inch Mid 2013)
(June, 2013)
Model ID: MacBookAir6,2
1.3GHz, 1.7GHz
MacBook Air
MacBook Air (11-inch Mid 2013)
(June, 2013)
Model ID: MacBookAir6,1
1.3GHz, 1.7GHz
MacBook Air
MacBook Air (13-inch Mid 2012)
(June, 2012)
Model ID: MacBookAir5,2
1.8GHz, 2.0GHz
MacBook Air
MacBook Air (11-inch Mid 2012)
(June, 2012)
Model ID: MacBookAir5,1
1.7GHz, 2.0GHz
MacBook Air
MacBook Air (13-inch Mid 2011)
(July, 2011)
Model ID: MacBookAir4,2
1.7GHz, 1.8GHz
MacBook Air
MacBook Air (11-inch Mid 2011)
(July, 2011)
Model ID: MacBookAir4,1
1.6GHz, 1.8GHz

Benchmarks

Click any of the benchmarks below to view the results.
macOS RAID 0 Test Results
macOS RAID 5 Test Results

Includes

  • (1) ThunderBay 4 mini
  • (1) Thunderbolt 2 cable
  • (1) External power supply
  • (2) Keys for front panel lock
  • (1) Quick start guide
  • (1) SoftRAID XT

Customer Ratings

Write a Review 4.6 / 5 35 out of 41 (85%) reviewers would recommend this product
1 2
Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous
Rating: 5/5 Great value enclosure. October 12, 2015 Fully loaded with Samsung Pro SSDs, I can verify read speed over 1GB/s using the included SoftRAID driver over a Thunderbolt 2 connection to a Mac Mini.

The enclosure itself is fantastic. I'll ding SoftRAID slightly for not having a driver for El Capitan ready at launch, but the current beta driver has been working fine. This isn't a fault of the enclosure itself, though, and the enclosure works fine with SoftRAID if you want to stick with the standard Apple drivers.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC ThunderBay 4 mini RAID Four-Bay External Thunderbolt 2 Storage Enclosure.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Tokyo, JP Age: 35-44 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 4/5 Good performance for the price. October 10, 2015 I like the ThunderBay 4 Mini SSD RAID box. It is a lot of storage in a small package. The software made it really easy to setup everything. I was able to easily chain in a monitor in TDM. The major benefit with the mini is the power unit is external and that heat is not in the enclosure and it is all very small. The fan is not as "whisper-quiet" as advertised, but it is fairly quiet. If one of your reasons for using SSDs is to avoid noise, the fan might bother you. The overall benefit of the RAID enclosure far outweighs the small noise issues.

Write speeds for four drives in RAID 10 (1+0) were slightly faster than two original Mac SM256E SSDs in RAID 1. Read speeds were about the same with double the drives, but it is still fast enough for my needs so no real complaint about it.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 2.0TB OWC ThunderBay 4 mini RAID 4 Four-Drive SSD External Thunderbolt 2 Storage Solution.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Switzerland Age: 35-44 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 4/5 Fast and sturdy, but not silent September 11, 2015 I'm running four SSDs (Samsung SSD 840 EVO Basic 1 TB) inside my ThunderBay mini, which is connected to a 5K iMac, with an OpenZFS RAID-Z over all drives.

While the enclosure is sturdy and transfers are fast, I'm a bit disappointed about the fan noise. Its fan is rather small, and as such has to spin fast to generate a respectable air flow.

I could disconnect the fan, but I'd most likely lose warranty and would worry about temperatures (though I suspect that in my environment and with SSDs rather than HDDs it might be OK).

Because of the noise there are times I want to switch the unit off, and because it has no power switch one has to disconnect the Thunderbolt cable to do so.

For comparison: I used to have one of OWCs bigger enclosures (for four 3.5" drives; with eSATA, Firewire 800 and USB 2 connectors), which also had some fan noise, however its larger fan would spin slower, generating less noise that could more easily be ignored.

So if you care about noise a lot I'd suggest thinking about this enclosure's bigger sibling, even though it "wastes" a lot of space if you use 2.5" drives with it.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC ThunderBay 4 mini RAID Four-Bay External Thunderbolt 2 Storage Enclosure.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous
Rating: 5/5 Does what it says on the tin August 3, 2015 The most efficient way for me to carry 4 2.5" drives. Thank you OWC

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC ThunderBay 4 mini RAID Ready Four-Bay External Thunderbolt 2 Storage Enclosure.

Verified Buyer Top 100 Contributor
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Rockville, MD Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Superior to other enclosures I've tried July 31, 2015 Replaced a Promise RAID enclosure that never worked properly. This one is high quality construction. Has been problem free since I installed my 4 SSDs as RAID 10. And of course with thunderbolt 2 it is extra fast. Nice product. Highly recommended.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC ThunderBay 4 mini RAID Ready Four-Bay External Thunderbolt 2 Storage Enclosure.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Age: 45-54 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 4/5 Works perfectly with OS X RAID July 10, 2015 I bought the 4 TB ThunderBay to work with my Mac Pro (2013) and Thunderbolt 2. I set it up as a striped and mirrored using the standard OS X Disk Utility RAID settings. This ends up with a 2 TB mirrored drive. With Black Magic Disk Speed Test I get about 155 MB/s write and 185 MB/s read. Not too bad for spinning rust on 2.5" drives. For reference I have an older 480 GB OWC Mercury Electra SSD in a USB 3 external case that only gets a little better than that (180 MB/s write & 230 MB/s read).

The 4 1 TB 2.5" drives are temporary until the price of 1 TB SSD comes down in a year or so. The ThunderBay enclosure should be useful long after the drives are obsolete.

If anyone has the same bay with SoftRAID and a similar setup, I would be curious to know what your performance numbers are (Black Magic Disk Speed Test is free on the Mac App store.)

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 4.0TB OWC ThunderBay 4 mini Four-Drive 7200RPM HDD External Thunderbolt 2 Storage Solution.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Ardmore pa Age: 35-44 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Great storage solution May 14, 2015 I'm an it guy. This was an inexpensive enterprise grade raid solution for a consumer price. I went with Speed and storage and used 7200 rpm laptop drives. This replaced my LaCie jbod storage. My storage performance went from 70mb per second to about 400mb not as fast as my 900mb raid0 ssd os solution but getting 3tb with the read rate it's worth it. SoftRaid 5 works great. And was worth the extra cost. Looking forward to grabbing an additional one of these storage arrays soon.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC ThunderBay 4 mini RAID Four-Bay External Thunderbolt 2 Storage Enclosure.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous
Rating: 3/5 Great size efficiency and overall solution mitigated by little annoyances May 3, 2015 My desk doesn't have a lot of available space, so the ThunderBay 4 mini seemed like a good fit (literally). It's small, fast, accommodates 4 drives and it is optimized for SSDs -- doesn't waste precious volume on accommodating 3.5" form factors. It's metal and feels rock-solid. Comes with a Thunderbolt cable. Works great, and the version with SoftRAID rounds it out for a great RAID 4/5 solution. I liked it a lot, at least until I powered it up.

The downsides are that you end up with an power brick -- I hate external transformers -- and that small fan that all the reviews and product information say is "quiet" really isn't if you have silent SSDs (like the Mercury Electra 6Gs that I also purchased) in it. You have audible low frequencies of air passing through the enclosure. Those don't bother me. However, the MB60201V3-0000-A99 fan (in theory, 23 dBA from OEM spec sheet) used in the enclosure has this soft, high-pitched whine that was distracting to both me and the other occupant of the room it lived in. As much as I'd like to keep it, that's a dealbreaker for it to be used where I need to.

Return RMA is underway, and I'm looking at the full-size ThunderBay 4 RAID edition as a replacement with its lower-RPM fan (20-23 dBA) and internal power supply, as well as its unfortunately much larger size and need to use 3.5"-to-2.5" step-down carriers for my SSDs.

This review is from OWC ThunderBay 4 mini RAID Four-Bay External Thunderbolt 2 Storage Enclosure.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Los Angeles, CA Age: 45-54 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Works great April 28, 2015 Easy to assemble, ordered SSD drives and popped them in, works flawlessly and is silent.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC ThunderBay 4 mini RAID Ready Four-Bay External Thunderbolt 2 Storage Enclosure.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous
Rating: 3/5 Super fast but noisy April 17, 2015 It's a super fast SSD RAID. The only drawback is the noises of fans (it's small fan so it has high-freq noises). Luckily you can use a long Thunderbolt cable to put the RAID far away from you. It would be nice if OWC can reduce the fan speed for SSD version. (HDD version is hotter)

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 1.0TB OWC ThunderBay 4 mini, four-drive SSD with dual Thunderbolt 2 ports, RAID-ready JBOD Solution.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Hangzhou, China Age: 45-54 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Very satisfied April 16, 2015 After comparing everything I could find in a reasonably compact Thunderbolt 2 drive array to connect to my Mac Pro I finally decided upon the ThunderBay 4 mini in a 4TB configuration. The unit is compact and well built. The fan is audible in a low noise environment, but not at all noticeable in an office.

I've currently opted for using Apple's built-in RAID facility and the drive is performing exactly as expected. Lightning fast and stable. I'm very satisfied with this purchase and would recommend it to anyone looking for a fast and compact DAS solution.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 4.0TB OWC ThunderBay 4 mini Four-Drive 7200RPM HDD External Thunderbolt 2 Storage Solution.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Cincinnati Age: 45-54 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Does what they say March 15, 2015 It's not a complex product. You stick in SSD drives and it works. I was interested because it had a Thunderbolt 2 connection. I've had it for a month or so and had no issues with it. I would recommend it to anyone looking for an external RAID array on a Mac.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC ThunderBay 4 mini RAID Ready Four-Bay External Thunderbolt 2 Storage Enclosure.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: SLC,UT Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Hobbiest Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Great Product March 11, 2015 This case is well made. I have four SSD,s in raid 0 with OS X installed and no problems. Black Magic test Read 1184 MB/s Write 1085 MB/s

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC ThunderBay 4 mini RAID Ready Four-Bay External Thunderbolt 2 Storage Enclosure.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Napa Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 4/5 The enclosure is awesome January 12, 2015 but hard drives stink. I've been wanting an enclosure like this for years, so I jumped on it as soon as it was announced. I wanted a fast, quiet, RAID hard drive, and this is all three. I was expecting faster performance than I got, but that's the fault of the four 2TB drives inside. I'm getting about 500MB/s in RAID 0. Once the cost of SSDs decline, then I'll make the switch.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC ThunderBay 4 mini RAID Ready Four-Bay External Thunderbolt 2 Storage Enclosure.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Tampa, FL Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 3-4 months
Rating: 5/5 Thunder bay Mini 4 - Outstanding Product January 3, 2015 Moved from a 2010 Mac Pro to a 2014 MacBook Pro. I delayed the moved because my Mac Pro was maxed out with 4 Disk Drives and I wasn't sure what to do migrating to the MBPro. I knew I could count on OWC and just about the time I was ready to move on the "Thunder Bay 4" the "Thunder Bay 4 mini" was introduced. I called tech support with questions on the mini and it seemed like what I was waiting for. I migrated two existing SSD's (One OWC) for the Mac Pro and bought two more SSD's from OWC to fill up the Thunder Bay mini 4. Mission accomplished!! As a bonus I have the option to boot from the Thunder Bay Mini vis a vie Thunderbolt2 should I choose(Contrary to what Mac Support said and it works, I tried it). The Thunder Bay Mini 4 is Fast, Quiet and Runs Cool.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC ThunderBay 4 mini RAID Ready Four-Bay External Thunderbolt 2 Storage Enclosure.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Gold Coast, Australia Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Excellent drive enclosure December 21, 2014 I have been using the Thunderbay 4 mini for just under a month now and it works exactly as advertised.

One of the best features is the cooling fan which maintains my SSDs at a comfortable 29° C vs 45° C in Akitio Neutrino Thunder Duo which I previously used.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC ThunderBay 4 mini RAID Ready Four-Bay External Thunderbolt 2 Storage Enclosure.

OWC ThunderBay 4 mini 16.0TB Professional Grade 4-Drive HDD Thunderbolt 2 Solution Mfr P/N: TB4MSRH16T5 OWC SKU: OWCTB4MSRH16T5 Powered by SoftRAID. RAID-4 Pre-configured. Thunderbolt cable included 3 Year OWC Limited Warranty Ships: Same Day only $899.00
Add to CartOther World Computing TB4MSRH16T5 In Stock, Click to Buy Now
Additional Capacities & Kits: DIY Enclosure
  • 0TB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $299.99
    • Cyber Saver $279.00
DIY Enclosure with SoftRAID XT
  • 0GB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $399.99
    • OWC Price $379.00
Hard Drive Models with SoftRAID XT
  • 4TB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $699.99
    • OWC Price $679.00
  • 8TB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $719.99
    • OWC Price $699.00
  • 16TB
Solid-State Drive Models with SoftRAID XT
  • 2TB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • OWC Price $799.00
  • 4TB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • OWC Price $1,199.00
  • 8TB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • OWC Price $1,999.00
  • 16TB
    • Ships: 49 Days
    • OWC Price $3,999.00